DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 8-9, 12, 18, 21-24 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18601940 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of following:
- With respect to claims, the copending ’40 discloses a first access point (AP) device operating in a first basic service set (BSS) of wireless network, the first AP device comprising: at least one processor including processing circuitry and memory storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (see claim 1, lines 1-4 of copending ‘40), cause the first AP to: receive, from a second AP operating in a second BSS different from the first BSS, information related to a target wake time (TWT) schedule for the second BSS (see claim 1, lines 6-8 of copending ‘40) and advertise, in the first BSS, the TWT schedule for the second BSS (see claim 1, lines 12-13 of copending ‘40); and determine to end a transmit opportunity (TXOP) in the first BSS before a start time of each TWT SP of the TWT schedule (see claim 1, lines 9-11 of copending ‘40).
- Regarding to the different between the Application and the copending Application such as first channel, second channel are different and Application eliminate “a first BSS ends before a start time of TWT SP”. Therefore, it have been held that the omission of the element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd. App. 1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skill in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 15, 21, 23, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monajemi et al. (Pub. No. 20200229086) in view of Ajami et al. (Pub. No. 20230164709).
- With respect to claims 1, 15, and 21, Monajemi teaches a method performed by a first access point (AP) operating in a first basic service set (BSS) of a wireless network, the method comprising: receiving, from a second AP operating in a second BSS different from the first BSS, information related to a target wake time (TWT) schedule for the second BSS (e.g. Fig. 7 step 710 and par. 13 and Fig. 4C shows the AP 304b in 302b BSS receive TWT 408); advertising, in the first BSS, the TWT schedule for the second BSS (e.g. Fig. 4c discloses AP 304a transmit TWT 408 in 302a BSS); and Monajemi fails to teaches a determining to end a transmit opportunity (TXOP) in the first BSS before a start time of each TWT SP of the TWT schedule. Ajami teaches determining to end a transmit opportunity (TXOP) in the first BSS before a start time of each TWT SP of the TWT schedule (see par. 61, 67, 72, 78, Figs. 5-7 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the method of determing to end a TXOP in the first BSS before a start time of each TWT SP of the TWT schedule to prevent overlapping between transmission.
- With respect to claims 8, 23, Monajemi teaches wherein the first AP and the second AP are members of a TWT coordinating multi-AP set (see par. 43).
- With respect to claims 9,24, Monajemi teaches wherein the processor is configured to negotiate with the second AP to participate in TWT multi-AP coordination, wherein the first AP is a shared AP and the second AP is a sharing AP (see par. 3, 34, 39-40).
Claim(s) 4, 18, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monajemi et al. (Pub. No. 20200229086) and Ajami in further view of Zhang et al. (Pub No. 20240365414).
- With respect to claims 4, 18, 22, Monajemi teaches limitation of claim 1 but fails to teach the processor is configured to: continue a transmit opportunity (TXOP) established in the first BSS during the TWT SP of the TWT schedule. Zhang teaches TXOP during the TWT SP of the TWT schedule (see par. 219, 225). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the TXOP into Monajemi’s invention for increasing efficiency for communication.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471