DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,6,8-11, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent 11,956,021 B1 to Rofougaran et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Rofougaran discloses a method for resolving connections among nodes of a dynamic network based on network conditions (Col. 34, ll. 45-55, P2P free space networks is dynamically reconfigured based on network monitoring and performance data), the method comprising:
determining connections among nodes of the dynamic network based on network conditions (Col. 35, ll. 40-60, processor (502) instructs the network to use a determined back-up path), wherein:
the nodes comprise free-space optical communication nodes and the connections among the nodes are dynamically modifiable (Col. 35, ll. 55-65, route of free-space optical network is dynamically changed), and
the connections among the nodes are determined by:
providing, to a trained machine learning model, A) one or more network conditions relative to the nodes and B) a representation of a universe of potential connections among the nodes (Fig. 5, processor (502) is controlled by ML model (512) with network condition inputs (516,518) and potential connection inputs (514, 514A, 514B); and
resolving, by the trained machine learning model, connections between pairs of the nodes, wherein the resolved connections define a first topology for the dynamic network (Fig. 5, processor (502) uses ML model (512) to determine the location and transmission angles of the backup path; Col. 36, ll. 50-67); and
instructing at least a portion of the nodes to modify or initiate point-to-point connections according to the resolved connections between pairs of the nodes (Col. 48, ll. 45-55, processor (502) causes nodes to establish P2P free-space laser links between each pair of optical nodes), wherein:
the instructing modifies the nodes to arrange the dynamic network according to the first topology (Fig. 12C, 1230, back-up optical path is selected from the determined options), and
data is communicated through the dynamic network arranged according to the first topology (Col. 35, ll. 54-60, the back-up optical path becomes the communications route).
Regarding Claim 2, Rofougaran discloses wherein the first topology for the dynamic network is arranged when the portion of the nodes are modified according to the instructing and another portion of nodes maintain previously established point-to-point connections (Fig. 6A, some nodes changes connection and some nodes stay the same when the obstruction only a portion of the network encounters a problem.)
Regarding Claim 6, Rofougaran discloses wherein one or more of the nodes a comprised by satellites and the instructing the portion of the nodes to modify or initiate point-to-point connections causes movement of the one or more nodes (Col. 30, ll. 15-20, satellite nodes; Col. 34, ll. 18-33, nodes configured to move.)
Regarding Claim 8, Rofougaran discloses wherein the network conditions relative to the nodes comprise environmental conditions (Fig. 5, sensor date (516,518) includes temperature data; Col. 24, ll. 34-38.)
Regarding Claim 9, Rofougaran discloses wherein the modifiable connections among the nodes comprise free-space optical communication connections and radio frequency connections (Col. 4, ll. 2-9, hybrid photonic/RF connections.)
Regarding Claim 10, Rofougaran discloses a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform a process for resolving connections among nodes of a dynamic network based on network conditions (Col. 48, ll. 55-Col. 49, ll. 1-20; processor running codes stored on a CRM; Col. 34, ll. 45-55, P2P free space networks is dynamically reconfigured based on network monitoring and performance data) the process comprising:
determining connections among nodes of the dynamic network based on network conditions (Col. 35, ll. 40-60, processor (502) instructs the network to use a determined back-up path), wherein:
the nodes comprise free-space optical communication nodes and the connections among the nodes are dynamically modifiable (Col. 35, ll. 55-65, route of free-space optical network is dynamically changed), and
the connections among the nodes are determined by:
providing, to a trained machine learning model, A) one or more network conditions relative to the nodes and B) a representation of a universe of potential connections among the nodes (Fig. 5, processor (502) is controlled by ML model (512) with network condition inputs (516,518) and potential connection inputs (514, 514A, 514B); and
resolving, by the trained machine learning model, connections between pairs of the nodes, wherein the resolved connections define a first topology for the dynamic network (Fig. 5, processor (502) uses ML model (512) to determine the location and transmission angles of the backup path; Col. 36, ll. 50-67); and
instructing at least a portion of the nodes to modify or initiate point-to-point connections according to the resolved connections between pairs of the nodes (Col. 48, ll. 45-55, processor (502) causes nodes to establish P2P free-space laser links between each pair of optical nodes), wherein:
the instructing modifies the nodes to arrange the dynamic network according to the first topology (Fig. 12C, 1230, back-up optical path is selected from the determined options), and
data is communicated through the dynamic network arranged according to the first topology (Col. 35, ll. 54-60, the back-up optical path becomes the communications route).
Regarding Claim 11, Rofougaran discloses wherein the modifiable connections among the nodes comprise free-space optical communication connections and/or radio frequency connections, the resolved connections comprise connections between pairs of nodes, and the connections that the portion of nodes are instructed to modify or initiate comprise point-to-point connections (Col. 4, ll. 2-9, hybrid photonic/RF connections; Col. 48, ll. 45-55, processor (502) causes nodes to establish P2P free-space laser links between each pair of optical nodes).
Regarding Claim 15, Rofougaran discloses wherein one or more of the nodes a comprised by satellites and the instructing the portion of the nodes to modify or initiate point-to-point connections causes movement of the one or more nodes (Col. 30, ll. 15-20, satellite nodes; Col. 34, ll. 18-33, nodes configured to move.)
Regarding Claim 16, Rofougaran discloses a computing system for resolving connections among nodes of a dynamic network based on network conditions (Col. 34, ll. 45-55, P2P free space networks is dynamically reconfigured based on network monitoring and performance data), the computing system comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 5, processor (502)); and
one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors Col. 48, ll. 55-Col. 49, ll. 1-20; processor running codes stored on a CRM), cause the computing system to perform a process comprising:
determining connections among nodes of the dynamic network based on network conditions (Col. 35, ll. 40-60, processor (502) instructs the network to use a determined back-up path), wherein:
the nodes comprise free-space optical communication nodes and the connections among the nodes are dynamically modifiable (Col. 35, ll. 55-65, route of free-space optical network is dynamically changed), and
the connections among the nodes are determined by:
providing, to a trained machine learning model, A) one or more network conditions relative to the nodes and B) a representation of a universe of potential connections among the nodes (Fig. 5, processor (502) is controlled by ML model (512) with network condition inputs (516,518) and potential connection inputs (514, 514A, 514B); and
resolving, by the trained machine learning model, connections between pairs of the nodes, wherein the resolved connections define a first topology for the dynamic network (Fig. 5, processor (502) uses ML model (512) to determine the location and transmission angles of the backup path; Col. 36, ll. 50-67); and
instructing at least a portion of the nodes to modify or initiate point-to-point connections according to the resolved connections between pairs of the nodes (Col. 48, ll. 45-55, processor (502) causes nodes to establish P2P free-space laser links between each pair of optical nodes), wherein:
the instructing modifies the nodes to arrange the dynamic network according to the first topology (Fig. 12C, 1230, back-up optical path is selected from the determined options), and
data is communicated through the dynamic network arranged according to the first topology (Col. 35, ll. 54-60, the back-up optical path becomes the communications route).
Regarding Claim 17, Rofougaran discloses wherein the modifiable connections among the nodes comprise free-space optical communication connections and/or radio frequency connections, the resolved connections comprise connections between pairs of nodes, and the connections that the portion of nodes are instructed to modify or initiate comprise point-to-point connections (Col. 4, ll. 2-9, hybrid photonic/RF connections; Col. 48, ll. 45-55, processor (502) causes nodes to establish P2P free-space laser links between each pair of optical nodes).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5,7,12-14,18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANIEL G DOBSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634 05/02/2026