Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites a "machine-readable storage device". The "machine-readable storge device" as defined in the specification states
"The terms computer-readable medium, machine readable medium, and storage device do not include carrier waves or signals to the extent carrier waves and signals are deemed too transitory" [0041]. As such, "machine-readable storage device" will be interpreted to exclude carrier waves and signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawana et al, US 20200288035 A1 (hereinafter Kawana) in view of Bhansali et al., US 20050044404 A1 (hereinafter Bhansali).
Regarding Claim 1, Kawana discloses a method comprising:
A method comprising: establishing a communication connection between an electronic device and a computer;
("A device 103 and a device 104 are used by being connected to the computer 102. While, in the present exemplary embodiment, a universal serial bus (USB) printer is described as an example, the device is not limited thereto" [0029])
connecting the computer via a web browser to a remote management (server 101);
(“In FIG. 1, a web server 101 has a function to provide a web application to a client computer (hereinafter, “computer”) 102” [0027]. “In step S601, the user designates the URL (e.g., URL presented in URL 501 of FIG. 5) of the web site including the web application server 411 to the browser 425, and opens the print web application” [0073]. “A web application server 411 is realized and functions when the CPU 201 of the server 101 loads the program stored in the auxiliary storage device 203 to the main storage device 202 and executes the program” [0045].” The web application server 411 is installed in the server 101” [0046]. “A web API 412 is provided by the web application server 411. A web user interface (UI) is provided by the web application server 411” [0047]) (“In FIG. 1, a web server 101 has a function to provide a web application to a client computer (hereinafter, “computer”) 102” [0027]. The web application server 411 is installed in the server 101” [0046]. “A web API 412 is provided by the web application server 411. A web user interface (UI) is provided by the web application server 411” [0047])
detecting the electronic device;
(Kawana discloses automatic WebUSB-based detection of the connected USB device through an acquisition request to the operating system. “In step S605, the web application 426 executed in step S604 commands usb.requestDevice to the browser 425. In other words, the web application 426 requests access to a connected device” [0077].” In step S606, in response to the command in step S605, the browser 425 requests the OS 422 to acquire information on the connected device” [0078]. “In step S607, in response to the request in step S606, the OS 422 requests idVendor and idProduct of Device Descriptor and productName and serialNumber of String Descriptor to the connected device (connected device 103 in example of FIG. 6)” [0079]. “In step S608, in response to the request in step S607, the device 103 returns idVendor and idProduct of Device Descriptor and productName and serialNumber of String Descriptor to the OS 422.” [0080])
providing a user interface via the computer displaying an identification of the electronic device;
(Kawana discloses connection permission prompt 502 displayed in browser 425, precenting a list of connected devices with their identification information. “The browser 425 generates a list of all of the USB devices connected to the computer 102, based on the information returned from the OS 422 in step S609. Further, in step S610, the browser 425 displays the connection permission prompt 502 that presents the list of USB devices as the option 503, on the browser screen 500” [0084]. “A connection destination device option 503 is an option of a WebUSB connection destination device. In a case where a plurality of devices is connected to the computer 102, the plurality of devices is displayed as options.” [0066]))
receiving a registration request for the electronic device via the user interface;
and registering the electronic device with the remote management system responsive to the registration request;
(Kawana discloses the user registering the selected device by inputting an identification name in input field 512 and pressing REGISTER button 513. “An input field 512 receives input of the device name (identification name) from the user. As an input example a case in which the name ‘laser printer for business A’ is assigned to the device having a product name ‘Caxxn Color Laser Printer Model 9’ is illustrated” [0070]. “A ‘REGISTER’ button 513 is a button control for the user to execute registration of the identification name assigned to the device. When the user inputs the device name in the input field 512 and then presses the ‘REGISTER’ button 513, the identification name is assigned to the device together with the connection permission setting instructed in the screen 500” [0071]; "In step S614, in response to the device name registration operation in step S613, the browser 425 stores, in USBPermissionStorage, the domain name of the web application server 411, information on AllowedUSBDevice, and the device name (identification name) in association with one another. As the information on AllowedUSBDevice, the information on idVendor, idProduct, and serialNumber are stored" [0090]. "In step S620, the browser 425 permits the web application 426 to access the USB device selected in step S611" [0097])
Kawana fails to expressly teach displaying, via the user interface, a first status of the electronic device indicating the electronic device is inactive following the registering;
and displaying, via the user interface, a second status of the electronic device indicating the electronic device is online, the second status displayed responsive to the electronic device connecting to the remote management system via a network connection between the electronic device and the remote management system. However, Bhansali teaches [a remote ESTSM server system] displaying, via the user interface (‘Device Status’ page), a first status (Current State) of the electronic device indicating the electronic device is inactive following the registering (registered and not activated state 3730);
(“After the user goes through the registration process 3720, an electronic device in the not registered state 3710 transitions into the registered and not activated state 3730. Once the user clicks on an activation email 3740 on the electronic device or calls an activation telephone number, the device becomes registered and active 3750.” [0146] “By clicking on a device image from the ‘Device Registry’ page of the ESTSM website, the user is taken to the ‘Device Status’ page shown in FIG. 7.” [0106]“the ‘Device Status’ page shows for each electronic device, the Model Name, System Description, Current State, ESTSM Services Active on the Device, and Last Connection to ESTSM Server. Depending on the Current State and the services selected by the user, certain task buttons will appear below the electronic device information. These task buttons let you perform different operations on the device (e.g. report the electronic device stolen and so forth.”[0107])
and displaying, via the user interface (‘Device Status’ page) , a second status (Current State) of the electronic device indicating the electronic device is online (a registered and active state), the second status displayed responsive to the electronic device connecting to the remote management system via a network connection between the electronic device and the remote management system
(“the ‘Device Status’ page shows for each electronic device, the Model Name, System Description, Current State, ESTSM Services Active on the Device, and Last Connection to ESTSM Server. Depending on the Current State and the services selected by the user, certain task buttons will appear below the electronic device information. These task buttons let you perform different operations on the device (e.g. report the electronic device stolen and so forth.”[0107] “If the ESTSM application program is successful in contacting the primary ESTSM server, the application program will then send an encrypted query to the primary ESTSM server 5520.”[0198] “the states and transitions of an electronic device in ESTSM from a registered and active state to override state are shown. As described above, to continue using the electronic device if the Application component on the electronic device is unable to communicate with the ESTSM server computer system, the user must enter an activation password 4120. ESTSM on the electronic device is then bypassed in the override state 4130. If the electronic device is not reported stolen and the ESTSM Application component re-establishes communication with the ESTSM server computer system 4140, the electronic device returns back to the registered and active state 4110.”[0150])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the device status display and state transitions technique of Bhansali into Kawana’s browser based electronic device registration system in order to provide a user with an indication of the registered electronic device’s post registration connection state. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply this known status reporting technique to Kawana’s registration system to provide predictable confirmation of whether a registered device had subsequently established communication with the remote management system.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 19, claim 19 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 2, 3, 11, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawana in view of Bhansali in further view of Subin, How to Run ADB From Your Web Browser (hereinafter Subin).
Regarding Claim 2, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Subin discloses
wherein the communication connection comprises a universal serial bus (USB) cable and wherein the method further comprises enabling USB debugging.
(USB cable connection: “Plug your smartphone into your computer using a USB cable. When the prompt appears, set the USB preference to ‘File Transfer’ mode” (page 4, section: Connect your phone to WebADB, Step). USB debugging: “The first step to use ADB is to prepare your device for utilizing it. Hence, you should first activate developer options on your phone. To do so, head to your phone’s ‘About phone’ section in Settings and tap on ‘Build number’ seven times” (Page 1, section: Get your Android Device Ready for ADB, Step 1). “You will now see a new ‘Developer options’ section in your phone’s settings. While the option usually resides in Settings -> Developer options, it is likely to vary based on your device OEM. On OnePlus phones, you will find the new Developer options in Settings -> System -> Developer options. From Developer options, you will have to enable USB debugging. Your phone is now ready to interact with WebADB from your web browser.” (page 2, section: Get your Android Device Ready for ADB, Step 2))
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Subin’s USB debugging technique into the browser based device registration of Kawana and Bhansali so that the browser could establish authorized debugging communication with the USB connected electronic device during registration. For the benefit of allowing the browser to communicate with and configure the connected electronic device using a known debugging interface.
Regarding Claim 3, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above.
Subin teaches comprising accessing the electronic device via a web-based debug bridge executed within the web browser.
(“there exists a new website dubbed WebADB that lets you use ADB right from the comfort of your web browser” (page 1 section: introduction). “Simon Chan’s WebADB project makes use of WebUSB API that lets browsers communicate with devices over USB. As Chromium-based web browsers support WebUSB by default, it is recommended to use one such as Google Chrome, the new Chromium-based Edge, or Opera” (page 1, section: History of WebADB). “Open WebADB’s website and click on the ‘Add device’ button. If you’ve connected multiple Android devices to your computer, choose the right one from the list of available devices” (page 4, section: connect your phone to WebADB, Step 2). “After choosing the right device, click on ‘Connect’ to start using WebADB from your browser. On this page, your device may show up with the entire name or just the model number” (page 4, section: Connect your phone to WebADB, Step 3). “APK Installation; Interactive Shell; Screen Recording; Scrcpy Screen Mirroring; Device Information; File Manager; Enabling ADB over Wi-Fi” (page 1, section: features of WebADB))
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Subin’s browser based WebADB technique into the browser based device registration of Kawana and Bhansali so that the browser may access and communicate with the electronic device through a web based debug bridge, for the benefit of enabling browser based device access.
Regarding Claim 11, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Subin teaches wherein the method is performed on multiple additional devices to register the multiple devices with the remote management system.
(“If you’ve connected multiple Android devices to your computer, choose the right one from the list of available devices.” (page 4, Section: connect your phone to WebADB, step 2))
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Subin’s browser based device access technique into the browser based device registration of Kawana and Bhansali so that the registration process may be performed from multiple electronic devices, for the benefit of enabling browser based registration of multiple devices.
Regarding claim 13, Limitations of parent claim 12 have been discussed above. Claim 13 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 2 and 3 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 16, Limitations of parent claim 12 have been discussed above. Subin teaches
comprising provisioning the electronic device via the remote management system following registration.
(“I can now access my phone’s file manager, install apps, run ADB shell commands, capture screenshots, and more without having a full-fledged installation of ADB on my computer. You can switch between various features from the left side menu on the website.” (page 9, section: Run ADB from your Browser))
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Subin’s browser based management technique into the browser based device registration of Kawana and Bhansali so that the registered electronic device may be accessed and provisioned following registration, for the benefit of enabling browser based post registration device configuration.
Claims 4, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawana in view of Bhansali in further view of Freedman et al., US 20110252240 A1 (hereinafter Freedman).
Regarding Claim 4, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above.
Kawana teaches comprising: enabling network connectivity on the electronic device and computer;
(“A network 105 is a network to which the computer 102 is connected. The network 105 is not limited to a wired communication network, and may be a wireless communication network such as a wireless local area network (LAN) and a cellular phone communication network” [0030]. “the devices 103 and 104 each support wireless connection” [0035]. “Specific examples of the external apparatus include a USB device, a Bluetooth® device, a computer connected via the network, and the other network device” [0038]. “In the present exemplary embodiment, each of the devices 103 and 104 is connected to the computer 102 via USB, and the communication I/F unit 308 is a USB interface. Alternatively, the devices 103 and 104 may include a Bluetooth® interface, a network interface, etc., as the other functions” [0043].)
Kawana fails to expressly teach receiving, via the user interface, a status indication that the electronic device is online with the remote management system. However, Bhansali teaches [a web UI associated with its remote ESTSM system] receiving, via the user interface, a status indication that the electronic device is online (registered and active state 4110) with the remote management system (ESTSM server computer system 4140)
(“By clicking on a device image from the "Device Registry" page of the ESTSM website, the user is taken to the "Device Status" page shown in FIG. 7. On the "Device Status" web page for each device, the user can perform the following tasks: (1) View the status of the user's electronic devices running ESTSM… As shown in FIGS. 7, the "Device Status" page shows for each electronic device, the Model Name, System Description, Current State, ESTSM Services Active on the Device, and Last Connection to ESTSM Server.”[0106 -0107] “. If the electronic device is not reported stolen and the ESTSM Application component re-establishes communication with the ESTSM server computer system 4140, the electronic device returns back to the registered and active state 4110.”[0150])
Bhansali fails to teach the status indication being received based on the network connection between the electronic device and the remote management system that is independent of the communication connection between the electronic device and the computer, wherein the network connection between the electronic device and the remote management system does not travers the computer. However Freedman teaches the status indication (current status) being received based on the network connection between the electronic device (mobile device 111) and the remote management system (management server 101) that is independent of the communication connection between the electronic device and the computer, wherein the network connection between the electronic device and the remote management system does not travers the computer.
(“network 109 may allow network connections (e.g. for sending a push notification) to be established between management server 101 and mobile device 111 via the open Internet, an intranet, firewall protected secure networks, wide area cellular networks (e.g. a 3G network), etc. Networks 109 may be wired, wireless (such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth etc), or a combination of both.”[0033] “Subsequently, secure network connections may be established between management server 101 and mobile device 111 over network 109. Service manager 103 may communicate with mobile device 111 over the established network connection for device management, such as sending management commands to query current status (e.g. existing configurations) of mobile device 111, and/or to update/change a configuration of mobile device 111 accordingly.”[0036] “mobile device 111 may be a network enabled phone device, such as iPhone.RTM. device from Apple Inc. Mobile device 111 may freely participate or leave an enterprise service associated with management server 101, e.g. based on installing/uninstalling management profile 115. Typically, an enterprise may distribute management profile 115 (e.g. as one or more files) accessible for mobile devices to install locally (e.g. via USB connections) via desktop computers, storage devices, etc., remotely (e.g. over the air) via emails, web pages, etc., or using other communication mechanisms. For example, the web pages may be provided via a self-service web portal, such as based on OTA profile enrollment mechanisms from Apple Inc. Installation of management profile 115 into mobile device 111 may be independent of network 109.”[0037] “For example, device manager 113 may initiate secure network connections via network 109 with management server 101 as addressed in management profile 113 to perform management operations commanded by the management server 101 over the secure network connections.”[0040])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Freedman’s independent device to management server network communication technique into the device registration and status system of Kawana and Bhansali so that device status may be determined over a network connection independent of the computer connection, for the benefit of enabling continued remote device management.
Regarding Claim 8, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Freedman teaches
further comprising provisioning the electronic device via the remote management system over the network connection between the electronic device and the remote management system following registration.
(“each device may voluntarily connect to a remote management server, e.g. an MDM (Mobile Device Management) server, of an enterprise service to enroll in the enterprise service on demand, e.g. based on a user operation to install a profile in the device. By joining the enterprise service, the device may grant a control (or a portion of its ownership), such as capability to update device configurations, installing and/or provisioning applications etc., and let the management server control the device over the air.”[0029] “Management profile 115 may indicate the existence of a relationship with the enterprise service to grant a control of mobile device 111 to a host, such as management server 101 of the enterprise service. The control may allow the management server to remotely command changes of the configuration in mobile device 111 while prohibiting, preventing or limiting possible updates directly from instructions of a device user.”[0043]” Management server 101 may include service manager 103 to manage mobile device 111 within an enterprise service if mobile device 111 has completed enrolling in the enterprise. For example, server manager 103 may notify mobile device 111 to contact management server 101 for device management operations by a push notification via network 109 according to device identifiers 107. Subsequently, secure network connections may be established between management server 101 and mobile device 111 over network 109. Service manager 103 may communicate with mobile device 111 over the established network connection for device management, such as sending management commands to query current status (e.g. existing configurations) of mobile device 111, and/or to update/change a configuration of mobile device 111 accordingly.”[0036])
Regarding claim 14, Limitations of parent claim 12 have been discussed above. Kawana teaches wherein the operations further comprise enabling network connectivity on the electronic device and computer
(“A network 105 is a network to which the computer 102 is connected. The network 105 is not limited to a wired communication network, and may be a wireless communication network such as a wireless local area network (LAN) and a cellular phone communication network” [0030]. “the devices 103 and 104 each support wireless connection” [0035]. “Specific examples of the external apparatus include a USB device, a Bluetooth® device, a computer connected via the network, and the other network device” [0038]. “In the present exemplary embodiment, each of the devices 103 and 104 is connected to the computer 102 via USB, and the communication I/F unit 308 is a USB interface. Alternatively, the devices 103 and 104 may include a Bluetooth® interface, a network interface, etc., as the other functions” [0043].)
Kawana fail to teach connecting the electronic device to a network to complete registration with the remote management system. However Freedman teaches connecting the electronic device (mobile device 111) to a network to complete registration with the remote management system.
(“each device may voluntarily connect to a remote management server, e.g. an MDM (Mobile Device Management) server, of an enterprise service to enroll in the enterprise service on demand, e.g. based on a user operation to install a profile in the device. By joining the enterprise service, the device may grant a control (or a portion of its ownership), such as capability to update device configurations, installing and/or provisioning applications etc., and let the management server control the device over the air.”[0029] “management server 101 may include enrollment manager 105 (e.g. a process or a module/handler) to enroll mobile device 111 into an enterprise service. Enrollment manager 105 may store device identifiers 107 for mobile device 111 in response to a check in request sent from mobile device 111 via network 109 (e.g. a HTTPS connection). Device identifiers 107 may include entities received from mobile device 111 during enrollment (or check in) operations, such as a UDID (unique device identifier) uniquely identifying mobile device 111, a push token for a push notification to reach mobile device 111, and/or a magic string for verifying a trust of the push notification.”[0035])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Freedman’s network based enrollment technique into the device registration and status system of Kawana and Bhansali so that the electronic device may connect to the complete registration, for the benefit of enabling remote device enrollment.
Claims 5-7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawana in view of Bhansali in further view of Freimark et al., US Patent 9705738 B2 (hereinafter Freimark).
Regarding Claim 5, limitations of parent claim 4 have been discussed above. Freimark teaches
comprising connecting the electronic device to a network to complete registration with the remote management system.
(” It is as easy as charging a mobile device or having the mobile device otherwise connect to the enterprise network” [col 3, lines 57-58].” Devices may also connect wirelessly these management computers or purpose-built hardware appliances. If devices do connect wirelessly, they may be managed just as if they were connected via USB or other similar hard-wire based medium.” [col 4, lines 54-58])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Freimark’s network based device management and status reporting technique into the device registration system of Kawana in view of Bhansali so that the registered electronic devices may connect to the management network and provide device status information, for the benefit of enabling continued remote device management.
Regarding Claim 6, limitations of parent claim 4 have been discussed above. Freimark teaches
wherein the user interface comprises a remote management system portal and further comprising displaying a status of the electronic device
(“The system may provide a real-time reporting for actions that are currently being performed by the improved system for cloud-managed mobile device administration. This activity may be available to the system administrator that an activity page within the administration console. The real-time activity data may include per-device status and deployment information, progress and completed steps, among other information. Errors detected by the system may be reported in a manner that prioritizes specific types of errors and diagnostic information displayed to the administrator, which may make it easier to determine root cause of problems and implement the appropriate resolution.” [col 8, lines 10-21]. )
Regarding Claim 7, limitations of parent claim 6 have been discussed above. Freimark teaches
wherein the status is an online status.
(“The client-side 140 keeps track of devices that are physically or logically connected, state of those devices, and statistics about the device—such as operating system, device name, amongst others. All of this information about the device is reported by the client-side to the server-side via the API. When a device is disconnected there is no information transfer.” [col 6, lines 35-41]).
Regarding claim 15, Limitations of parent claim 14 have been discussed above. Claim 15 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 6 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 9-10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawana in view of Bhansali in further view of Rezvani et al., US Patent Publication US 20040098515 A1 (hereinafter Rezvani).
Regarding Claim 9, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Rezvani teaches comprising: accessing connection information in the electronic device; and transferring the connection information to the remote management system.
("The monitoring modules and remote sites may use a registration protocol to transmit registration information. The registration information may get stored in a database at the remote site."[0006])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Rezvani’s security credential structure into the device registration system of Kawana and Bhansali so that connection and identifying information associated with the electronic device could be communicated to the remote management system and used to facilitate and authorize registration of the device, for the benefit of securely completing device registration.
Regarding Claim 10, limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above. Rezvani teaches wherein the connection information comprises security information to authorize registration of the electronic device.
(“Remote site 14 may process monitoring module registration messages and return confirmation messages to the monitoring module that initiated or generated the registration messages. The confirmation message may contain the original message's transaction identification, a version identification of the software being used at web server 46, database server 48, or both, and the name or other identification of the command to which the confirmation is responding. If desired, confirmation messages may include any other identification information or other suitable information instead of or in addition to those described” [0095]. “Registration protocol messages may include, or be accompanied by, the transaction identification, model identification code, monitoring module identification, and monitoring module password. The registration protocol message may include commands and any required command-specific parameters.” [0094])
Regarding claim 17, Limitations of parent claim 12 have been discussed above. Claim 17 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 9 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, Limitations of parent claim 17 have been discussed above. Claim 18 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 10 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawana in view of Bhansali in view of Subin in further view of Freedman.
Regarding claim 20, Limitations of parent claim 19 have been discussed above. Subin discloses
wherein the communication connection comprises a universal serial bus (USB) cable and wherein the operations further comprise enabling USB debugging, the operations further comprising: accessing the electronic device via a web-based debug bridge executed within the web browser;
(USB cable connection: “Plug your smartphone into your computer using a USB cable. When the prompt appears, set the USB preference to ‘File Transfer’ mode” (page 4, section: Connect your phone to WebADB, Step). USB debugging: “The first step to use ADB is to prepare your device for utilizing it. Hence, you should first activate developer options on your phone. To do so, head to your phone’s ‘About phone’ section in Settings and tap on ‘Build number’ seven times” (Page 1, section: Get your Android Device Ready for ADB, Step 1). “You will now see a new ‘Developer options’ section in your phone’s settings. While the option usually resides in Settings -> Developer options, it is likely to vary based on your device OEM. On OnePlus phones, you will find the new Developer options in Settings -> System -> Developer options. From Developer options, you will have to enable USB debugging. Your phone is now ready to interact with WebADB from your web browser.” (page 2, section: Get your Android Device Ready for ADB, Step 2) “there exists a new website dubbed WebADB that lets you use ADB right from the comfort of your web browser” (page 1 section: introduction). “Simon Chan’s WebADB project makes use of WebUSB API that lets browsers communicate with devices over USB. As Chromium-based web browsers support WebUSB by default, it is recommended to use one such as Google Chrome, the new Chromium-based Edge, or Opera” (page 1, section: History of WebADB). “Open WebADB’s website and click on the ‘Add device’ button. If you’ve connected multiple Android devices to your computer, choose the right one from the list of available devices” (page 4, section: connect your phone to WebADB, Step 2). “After choosing the right device, click on ‘Connect’ to start using WebADB from your browser. On this page, your device may show up with the entire name or just the model number” (page 4, section: Connect your phone to WebADB, Step 3). “APK Installation; Interactive Shell; Screen Recording; Scrcpy Screen Mirroring; Device Information; File Manager; Enabling ADB over Wi-Fi” (page 1, section: features of WebADB))
Subin fails to teach enabling network connectivity on the electronic device and computer; However Kawana teaches enabling network connectivity on the electronic device and computer;
(“A network 105 is a network to which the computer 102 is connected. The network 105 is not limited to a wired communication network, and may be a wireless communication network such as a wireless local area network (LAN) and a cellular phone communication network” [0030]. “the devices 103 and 104 each support wireless connection” [0035]. “Specific examples of the external apparatus include a USB device, a Bluetooth® device, a computer connected via the network, and the other network device” [0038]. “In the present exemplary embodiment, each of the devices 103 and 104 is connected to the computer 102 via USB, and the communication I/F unit 308 is a USB interface. Alternatively, the devices 103 and 104 may include a Bluetooth® interface, a network interface, etc., as the other functions” [0043].)
Kawana teaches fails to teach connecting the electronic device to a network; and provisioning the electronic device via the remote management system following registration. However Freedman teaches connecting the electronic device to a network; and provisioning the electronic device via the remote management system following registration.
(“mobile device 111 may be a network enabled phone device, such as iPhone.RTM. device from Apple Inc. Mobile device 111 may freely participate or leave an enterprise service associated with management server 101, e.g. based on installing/uninstalling management profile 115. Typically, an enterprise may distribute management profile 115 (e.g. as one or more files) accessible for mobile devices to install locally (e.g. via USB connections) via desktop computers, storage devices, etc., remotely (e.g. over the air) via emails, web pages, etc., or using other communication mechanisms. For example, the web pages may be provided via a self-service web portal, such as based on OTA profile enrollment mechanisms from Apple Inc. Installation of management profile 115 into mobile device 111 may be independent of network 109.”[0037] “Networked systems 100 may include one or more servers (or hosts), such as management server 101, coupled to one or more devices, such as mobile device 111, via networks 109. Management server 101 may belong to a data processing infrastructure which provides an enterprise service to manage mobile device 111. In one embodiment, network 109 may allow network connections (e.g. for sending a push notification) to be established between management server 101 and mobile device 111 via the open Internet, an intranet, firewall protected secure networks, wide area cellular networks (e.g. a 3G network), etc. Networks 109 may be wired, wireless (such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth etc), or a combination of both.” [0033] “each device may voluntarily connect to a remote management server, e.g. an MDM (Mobile Device Management) server, of an enterprise service to enroll in the enterprise service on demand, e.g. based on a user operation to install a profile in the device. By joining the enterprise service, the device may grant a control (or a portion of its ownership), such as capability to update device configurations, installing and/or provisioning applications etc., and let the management server control the device over the air.”[0029] “Once a device has enrolled in an enterprise service (i.e. has become a managed device), according to one embodiment, management services may be delivered to the managed device from a management server of the enterprise service securely via a mechanism leveraging a push network coupling the management server and the mobile device. The push network may enable the management server to push a notification to wake up the mobile device (or a device manager waiting in the mobile device) for receiving management services. In turn, after verifying a trust of the notification pushed, the mobile device may poll the management server via separate secure network connections”[0031] “Management profile 115 may indicate the existence of a relationship with the enterprise service to grant a control of mobile device 111 to a host, such as management server 101 of the enterprise service. The control may allow the management server to remotely command changes of the configuration in mobile device 111 while prohibiting, preventing or limiting possible updates directly from instructions of a device user.”[0043])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Freedman’s network based remote provisioning technique and Subin’s browser based USB debugging technique into the device registration system of Kawana and Bhansali so that the electronic device may initially be accessed through browser based USB debugging and subsequently managed and provisioned over the network following registration, for the benefit of enabling flexible device configuration and management.
Conclusion
/F.O.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646