DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Oh (US 20210029187 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, representative of Claims 18-20, Oh teaches a method for point cloud coding, comprising:
determining, during a conversion between a point cloud sequence and a bitstream of the point cloud sequence, an information unit for a current sample of the point cloud sequence and at least one parameter value, the information unit being obtained by coding the current sample with the at least one parameter value, the at least one parameter value being absent from the information unit (see Fig. 21, information unit as the slice information (geometry/attribute) in the bitstream, is separate from the parameter sets (SPS, GPS, APS, and TPS) that were used to encode the slice information); and
performing the conversion based on the information unit and the at least one parameter value ([0110]: The point cloud video encoder 10002 may output a bitstream containing the encoded point cloud video data. The bitstream may contain not only the encoded point cloud video data, but also signaling information related to encoding of the point cloud video data, [0234]: signaling information including a sequence parameter set (SPS) for signaling of a sequence level, a geometry parameter set (GPS) for signaling of geometry information coding, an attribute parameter set (APS) for signaling of attribute information coding, and a tile parameter set (TPS or tile inventory) for signaling of a tile level).
Regarding Claim 2, Oh teaches the method of claim 1. In addition, Oh teaches wherein the at least one parameter value comprises at least one set of values of a group of sequence level parameters, the group of sequence level parameters comprise one or more sequence level parameters for coding all of samples in the point cloud sequence ([0234]: signaling information including a sequence parameter set (SPS) for signaling of a sequence level. See Fig. 21, SPS coded in front of the remaining bitstream information).
Regarding Claim 3, Oh teaches the method of claim 2. In addition, Oh teaches wherein the at least one set of values are encapsulated in a type-length-value (TLV) format ([0032]: a G-PCC bitstream composed of Type-Length-Value (TLV) encapsulation structures including geometry, attributes, and signaling information may be stored in a single track or multiple tracks in a file), or
wherein the at least one set of values are indicated in the bitstream before information units for all of samples of the point cloud sequence, or
the at least one set of values are indicated in the bitstream after information units for all of samples of the point cloud sequence, or
wherein the at least one set of values are indicated at a first level structure, or
wherein the at least one set of values comprise all of sets of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding the point cloud sequence, the number of sets of the all of sets of values is indicated in the bitstream, or
wherein the at least one set of values are indicated in the bitstream before a second level structure, a level of the second level structure being lower than a sequence level.
Regarding Claim 4, Oh teaches the method of claim 3. In addition, Oh teaches wherein at least one indication of the at least one set of values is indicated in the bitstream at the second level structure ([0234]: The geometry bitstream may contain a header and a payload. The header of the geometry bitstream according to the embodiments may contain a parameter set identifier (geom_parameter_set_id). See Fig. 21, a slice contains geometry and attribute information, geometry information includes a geometry slice header storing the geometry parameter set id. This id is used to retrieve respective parameter set stored in GPS see Fig. 22 which is further used to retrieve SPS. Examiner interpreting indication to be a parameter index stored, and second level structure to be a slice), or
wherein information on whether at least one indication of the at least one set of values is indicated in the bitstream is determined based on the number of sets of all of sets of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding the point cloud sequence.
Regarding Claim 5, Oh teaches the method of claim 4. In addition, Oh teaches wherein the at least one indication comprises an index indicating one set of the at least one set of values to be applied on processing the second level structure ([0234]: The geometry bitstream may contain a header and a payload. The header of the geometry bitstream according to the embodiments may contain a parameter set identifier (geom_parameter_set_id), [0334]: GPS may include an identifier (geom_parameter_set_id) for identifying the GPS and an identifier (seq_parameter_set_id) indicating an active SPS to which the GPS belongs. See Fig. 21, a slice contains geometry and attribute information, geometry information includes a geometry slice header storing the geometry parameter set id. This id is used to retrieve respective parameter set stored in GPS see Fig. 22 which is further used to retrieve SPS.), or
wherein the at least one indication is coded with one of: fixed-length coding, unary coding, or truncated unary coding, or
wherein the at least one indication is coded in a predictive manner, or
wherein the at least one indication comprises an indication of a single set of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding the current sample, the indication is indicated in a geometry data unit header (GSH) or an attribute data unit header (ASH) associated with the current sample, or
wherein the at least one indication comprises an indication of a single set of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding the current sample, the indication is indicated in a configuration box in the information unit of the current sample.
Regarding Claim 6, Oh teaches the method of claim 2. In addition, Oh teaches wherein the at least one set of values are indicated in one sequence configuration box (see Fig. 49 G-PCC unit, the G-PCC unit payload can be one of the following: SPS, TPS, APS, TPS, geometry slice, attribute slice, or metadata slice) before information units for all of samples of the point cloud sequence (see Fig. 21, SPS is coded before information units respective to the slices), the sequence configuration box being a syntax structure containing at least one sequence level syntax element ([0645] FIG. 50 shows an exemplary syntax structure of each G-PCC unit, [00642]: each G-PCC unit payload may contain one of an SPS, a GPS, one or more APSs, TPS, a geometry slice, one or more attribute slices, and one or more metadata slices).
Regarding Claim 7, Oh teaches the method of claim 6. In addition, Oh teaches wherein the sequence configuration box is indicated at a sequence level structure ([0648] Referring to FIG. 52, according to an embodiment, gpcc_unit_type field equal to 0 indicates that the data contained in the G-PCC unit payload of the G-PCC unit is a sequence parameter set (GPCC_SPS), [00642]: each G-PCC unit payload may contain one of an SPS), or
wherein the at least one set of values comprise all of sets of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding the point cloud sequence, the number of sets of the all of sets of values is indicated in the bitstream.
Regarding Claim 8, Oh teaches the method of claim 6. In addition, Oh teaches wherein the at least one set of values are indicated before a second level structure, a level of the second level structure being lower than a sequence level (see Fig. 21, parameters encoded before slice/second level structure).
Regarding Claim 9, Oh teaches the method of claim 8. In addition, Oh teaches wherein at least one indication of the at least one set of values is indicated in the bitstream at the second level structure ([0234]: The geometry bitstream may contain a header and a payload. The header of the geometry bitstream according to the embodiments may contain a parameter set identifier (geom_parameter_set_id). See Fig. 21, a slice contains geometry and attribute information, geometry information includes a geometry slice header storing the geometry parameter set id. This id is used to retrieve respective parameter set stored in GPS see Fig. 22 which is further used to retrieve SPS. Examiner interpreting indication to be a parameter index stored, and second level structure to be a slice), or
wherein information on whether at least one indication of the at least one set of values is indicated in the bitstream is determined based on the number of sets of all of sets of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding the point cloud sequence.
Regarding Claim 10, Oh teaches the method of claim 9. In addition, Oh teaches wherein the at least one indication comprises an index indicating one set of the at least one set of values to be applied on processing the second level structure ([0234]: The geometry bitstream may contain a header and a payload. The header of the geometry bitstream according to the embodiments may contain a parameter set identifier (geom_parameter_set_id). See Fig. 21, a slice contains geometry and attribute information, geometry information includes a geometry slice header storing the geometry parameter set id. This id is used to retrieve respective parameter set stored in GPS see Fig. 22 which is further used to retrieve SPS. Examiner interpreting indication to be a parameter index stored, and second level structure to be a slice), or
wherein the at least one indication is coded with one of: fixed-length coding, unary coding, or truncated unary coding, or
wherein the at least one indication is coded in a predictive manner, or wherein the at least one indication comprises an indication of a single set of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding the current sample, the indication is indicated in the information unit of the current sample.
Regarding Claim 11, Oh teaches the method of claim 2. In addition, Oh teaches wherein the at least one set of values comprise a first set of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding a first sample of the point cloud sequence (see Fig. 21 SPS), the first sample is coded before all of other samples of the point cloud sequence (see Fig. 21 slice 0 in the bitstream is the first sample), the at least one set of values are indicated in the bitstream (see Fig. 21, SPS coded before slices), and wherein the at least one set of values further comprise a current set of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding the current sample ([0334] According to the embodiments, the SPS may include an identifier (seq_parameter_set_id) for identifying the SPS, and the GPS may include an identifier (geom_parameter_set_id) for identifying the GPS and an identifier (seq_parameter_set_id) indicating an active SPS to which the GPS belongs. The APS may include an identifier (attr_parameter_set_id) for identifying the APS and an identifier (seq_parameter_set_id) indicating an active SPS to which the APS belong), the current set of values are different from a second set of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding a coded sample immediately preceding the current sample ([0335]: the SPS lists available attributes, assigns an identifier to each of the attributes, and identifies a decoding method. The attribute slice is mapped to output attributes according to the identifier. Examiner notes there may be different available attributes per attribute slice, hence the use of the identifier. [0340]: different filtering (decoding) methods may be applied to the respective regions (regions partitioned into tiles or into slices), rather than a complexly decoding (filtering) method being applied to the entire point cloud data), or
wherein the at least one set of values comprise a first set of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding a first sample of the point cloud sequence, the first sample is coded before all of other samples of the point cloud sequence, the at least one set of values are indicated in the bitstream, and wherein the at least one set of values further comprise a current set of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding the current sample, the current set of values are different from all of previous sets of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding coded samples preceding the current sample.
Regarding Claim 12, Oh teaches the method of claim 11. In addition, Oh teaches wherein the number of sets of the at least one set of values is larger than one ([0335]: the SPS lists available attributes, assigns an identifier to each of the attributes, and identifies a decoding method. The attribute slice is mapped to output attributes according to the identifier. Examiner notes there may be different available attributes per attribute slice, hence the use of the identifier), or
wherein an indication is indicated in the bitstream at a second level structure, a level of the second level structure being lower than a sequence level, the indication indicating whether the current set of values are different from the second set of values, or
wherein information on whether an indication is indicated in the bitstream is determined based on the number of sets of all of sets of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding the point cloud sequence, the indication indicating whether the current set of values are different from the second set of values, or
wherein a first indication is indicated in the bitstream at a second level structure, a level of the second level structure being lower than a sequence level, the first indication indicating whether the current set of values are different from all of the previous sets of values, or
wherein information on whether a first indication is indicated in the bitstream is determined based on the number of sets of all of sets of values of the group of sequence level parameters for coding the point cloud sequence, the first indication indicating whether the current set of values are different from all of the previous sets of values.
Regarding Claim 13, Oh teaches the method of claim 1. In addition, Oh teaches wherein the at least one parameter value comprises at least one set of values of a set of group of frame (GOF) level parameters, the set of GOF level parameters comprise one or more GOF level parameters for coding all of samples of a GOF in the point cloud sequence ([0328]: That is, a bitstream of point cloud data according to embodiments may include one or more tiles, and each of the tiles may be a group of slices including one or more slices (slice 0 to slice n). The TPS according to the embodiments may contain information about each of the one or more tiles. [0234]: The bitstream according to the embodiments may contain signaling information including a sequence parameter set (SPS) for signaling of a sequence level, a geometry parameter set (GPS) for signaling of geometry information coding, an attribute parameter set (APS) for signaling of attribute information coding, and a tile parameter set (TPS or tile inventory) for signaling of a tile level).
Regarding Claim 14, Oh teaches the method of claim 13. In addition, Oh teaches wherein the at least one set of values are encapsulated in a type-length-value (TLV) format and indicated in the bitstream before information units for samples of the GOF ([0032]: a G-PCC bitstream composed of Type-Length-Value (TLV) encapsulation structures including geometry, attributes, and signaling information may be stored in a single track or multiple tracks in a file, [0234]: signaling information including a sequence parameter set (SPS) for signaling of a sequence level, a geometry parameter set (GPS) for signaling of geometry information coding, an attribute parameter set (APS) for signaling of attribute information coding, and a tile parameter set (TPS or tile inventory) for signaling of a tile level. See Fig. 21, TPS encoded before slice information), or
wherein the at least one set of values are indicated in the bitstream before information units for samples in the GOF, or wherein the at least one set of values are applied to all of samples in the GOF.
Regarding Claim 15, Oh teaches the method of claim 13. In addition, Oh teaches wherein the at least one set of values are indicated in the bitstream at GOF level ([0032]: a G-PCC bitstream composed of Type-Length-Value (TLV) encapsulation structures including geometry, attributes, and signaling information may be stored in a single track or multiple tracks in a file, [0234]: signaling information including…a tile parameter set (TPS or tile inventory) for signaling of a tile level).
Regarding Claim 16, Oh teaches the method of claim 15. In addition, Oh teaches wherein each set of the at least one set of values is indicated in one TLV for one GOF ([0032]: a G-PCC bitstream composed of Type-Length-Value (TLV) encapsulation structures including geometry, attributes, and signaling information may be stored in a single track or multiple tracks in a file, [0234]: signaling information including…a tile parameter set (TPS or tile inventory) for signaling of a tile level).
Regarding Claim 17, Oh teaches the method of claim 1. In addition, Oh teaches wherein the conversion includes encoding the point cloud sequence into the bitstream ([0110]: The point cloud video encoder 10002 may output a bitstream containing the encoded point cloud video data. The bitstream may contain not only the encoded point cloud video data, but also signaling information related to encoding of the point cloud video data), or wherein the conversion includes decoding the point cloud sequence from the bitstream.
Conclusion
/JANICE E. VAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2667
/MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667