DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103:
Applicant's arguments filed 1/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references (i.e. Wang et al. (CN 116605223 A; hereinafter Wang) and Leone et al. (US 20190071067 A1; hereinafter Leone), the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, Leone cures the deficiencies of Wang. Leone is relied upon for the feature of determining an expected vehicle stop time based on a threshold. The idle-stop method of Leone can be applicable to an electric vehicle (e.g. [0035] vehicle 102 may be a hybrid vehicle…an electric vehicle with only electric machine(s)). Fig 3 shows the method for determining an expected stop time of the vehicle stopping driving based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information (e.g. Fig 3, step 304); in response to the expected stop time being less than a first threshold, maintaining an idling operation of the power system of the vehicle (e.g. Fig 3, step 312); and in response to the expected stop time being greater than or equal to a second threshold, stopping the operation of the power system of the vehicle (e.g. Fig 3, step 312).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to new dependent claims 21 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. For these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 116605223 A; hereinafter Wang) in view of Leone et al. (US 20190071067 A1; hereinafter Leone).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an intelligent stop control method, for a vehicle ([0004] an intelligent starting and stopping method, device, device and medium of vehicle engine), the intelligent stop control method comprising: in response to activation of a brake system of the vehicle (see at least, [0032] The brake master cylinder pressure sensor can be used for inputting brake master cylinder pressure sensor to ECU. The starting and stopping system can be used for receiving the control instruction sent by the ECU to close the engine to make it stop at idle speed), controlling operation of a power system of the vehicle based on the traffic status information (see at least, [0008] the ECU will judge the traffic road condition scene of the position of the current vehicle according to the received road condition information and the road condition information, and intelligently control whether the starting and stopping system is allowed to close the engine according to the judging result of the traffic road condition scene); wherein the step of controlling the operation of the power system of the vehicle based on the traffic status information comprises: determining a driving lane of the vehicle (see at least, [0040] The road condition information can be used for reflecting the traffic road condition information of the current position of the vehicle…lane information may be used to represent the lane in which the current vehicle is located) and intersection information (see at least, [0040] The road condition information can be used for reflecting the traffic road condition information of the current position of the vehicle…The distance information can be used for representing the distance between the current vehicle and the front intersection, or can be used for representing the distance between the current vehicle and the front intersection traffic light) and neighboring vehicle information related to a driving direction of the vehicle based on the traffic status information (see at least, [0040] The road condition information can be used for reflecting the traffic road condition information of the current position of the vehicle…The front vehicle information may indicate whether there is a vehicle in front of the current vehicle, and a distance from the front vehicle when there is a vehicle in front of the current vehicle).
Wang does not explicitly teach obtaining a traffic status information related to the vehicle through a vehicle-to-everything system when the vehicle is driving, determining an expected stop time of the vehicle stopping driving based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information; in response to the expected stop time being less than a first threshold, maintaining an idling operation of the power system of the vehicle; and in response to the expected stop time being greater than or equal to a second threshold, stopping the operation of the power system of the vehicle.
However, Leone teaches this limitation.
Leone teaches obtaining a traffic status information related to the vehicle through a vehicle-to-everything system when the vehicle is driving (see at least, [0040] the controller may retrieve traffic information from one or remote sources such as an external server, traffic cameras, on-board controller of one or more vehicles in a line of vehicles on a road immediately ahead of the vehicle
...via…vehicle to vehicle technology (V2V)…vehicle to infrastructure technology (I2V)); determining an expected stop time of the vehicle stopping driving based on the driving lane, the intersection information , and the neighboring vehicle information (see at least, [0098] the data further includes a cause for formation of the line of vehicles, the cause including one or more of a traffic light, a traffic stop sign…selectively deactivating the engine responsive to the thresholds and the data…a vehicle stopping time being higher than the threshold vehicle stopping time); in response to the expected stop time being less than a first threshold, maintaining an idling operation of the power system of the vehicle (see at least, [0092] Responsive to T1 being shorter than D1, an engine idle-stop is not initiated at time to, thereby reducing the occurrence of idle-stops having shorter than threshold durations); and in response to the expected stop time being greater than or equal to a second threshold, stopping the operation of the power system of the vehicle (see at least, [0095] In response to T3 being longer than D1, an engine idle-stop may be initiated at time t4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include obtaining a traffic status information related to the vehicle through a vehicle-to-everything system when the vehicle is driving; determining an expected stop time of the vehicle stopping driving based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information; in response to the expected stop time being less than a first threshold, maintaining an idling operation of the power system of the vehicle; and in response to the expected stop time being greater than or equal to a second threshold, stopping the operation of the power system of the vehicle as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control method of claim 2. Leone further teaches wherein the step of determining the expected stop time of the vehicle based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information comprises: In response to the neighboring vehicle information indicating that an average speed of vehicles in front of the vehicle in the driving lane is less than a preset speed (see at least, [0042] a line of vehicles may be determined present when a group of vehicles are arranged in the vehicle's path of travel, each vehicle in the group of vehicles is separated from a vehicle immediately in front of each vehicle…speeds of each of the vehicles is less than a predetermined speed…e.g., 36 kilometers/hr), determining that the expected stop time is greater than or equal to the second threshold (see at least, [0098] the data further includes a cause for formation of the line of vehicles... relative movement within the line...deactivating the engine by suspending fueling of the engine in response to one or more of the duration of engine shut-down for the vehicle being higher than a threshold duration, a vehicle stopping time being higher than the threshold vehicle stopping time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include In response to the neighboring vehicle information indicating that an average speed of vehicles in front of the vehicle in the driving lane is less than a preset speed, determining that the expected stop time is greater than or equal to the second threshold as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control method of claim 2, wherein the step of determining the expected stop time of the vehicle based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information. Wang further teaches comprises: in response to the intersection information indicating that an intersection in front of the driving lane comprises an activated red light signal, and a remaining time of the activated red light signal is less than a third threshold (see at least, [0068] the preset traffic light state condition can be that…the colour state of the front traffic light is red and the countdown time length corresponding to the red state is less than the preset time length).
Leone further teaches the neighboring vehicle information indicating that a number of vehicles in front of the vehicle to the intersection is less than a preset number, determining that the expected stop time is less than the first threshold (see at least, [0047] the threshold vehicle stopping time before the engine is deactivated may be adjusted based on the number of vehicles stopping on the road ahead of the reference vehicle…may be decreased with an increase in the number of vehicles stopping on the road ahead of the reference vehicle and the threshold vehicle stopping time may be increased with a decrease in the number of vehicles stopping on the road ahead of the reference vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include the neighboring vehicle information indicating that a number of vehicles in front of the vehicle to the intersection is less than a preset number, determining that the expected stop time is less than the first threshold as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control method of claim 2, wherein the step of determining the expected stop time of the vehicle based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information. Wang further teaches comprises: in response to the intersection information indicating that an intersection in front of the driving lane comprises an activated red light signal, and a remaining time of the activated red light signal is less than a third threshold (see at least, [0068] the preset traffic light state condition can be that…the colour state of the front traffic light is red and the countdown time length corresponding to the red state is less than the preset time length).
Leone further teaches the neighboring vehicle information indicating that a number of vehicles in front of the vehicle to the intersection is greater than a preset number (see at least, [0047] the threshold vehicle stopping time before the engine is deactivated may be adjusted based on the number of vehicles stopping on the road ahead of the reference vehicle), determining that the expected stop time is greater than or equal to the second threshold (see at least, [0048] values in the lookup table may increase the estimated amount of time the engine will be shut-down as time length of the line of vehicles increases).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include the neighboring vehicle information indicating that a number of vehicles in front of the vehicle to the intersection is greater than a preset number, determining that the expected stop time is greater than or equal to the second threshold as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control method of claim 2. Leone further teaches wherein the step of determining the expected stop time of the vehicle based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information comprises: in response to the intersection information indicating that an intersection in front of the driving lane comprises a stop and go sign (see at least, [0045] Retrieving traffic information from the remote sources also includes...determining the cause for traffic congestion (formation of the line of vehicles directly ahead of the reference vehicle...may be due to...a stop sign), determining that the expected stop time is less than the first threshold (see at least, [0048] values in the lookup table may provide a larger increase to the estimated amount of time the engine will be shut-down when a traffic accident is detected as compared to an adjustment to the estimated amount of time the engine will be shut-down when the road obstacle is a stop sign).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include in response to the intersection information indicating that an intersection in front of the driving lane comprises a stop and go sign, determining that the expected stop time is less than the first threshold as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Wang further teaches the neighboring vehicle information indicating that the vehicle has no front vehicle or an average speed of vehicles in front of the vehicle is greater than a preset speed (see at least, [0063] if there is traffic light at the intersection in front of the congestion section of the current
vehicle, and there is no moving vehicle at the front of the current vehicle, determining whether the current vehicle is in the straight or left-turning lane according to the lane information obtained by the ECU).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control method of claim 2, wherein the step of determining the expected stop time of the vehicle based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information. Wang further teaches comprises: in response to the intersection information indicating that a distance from the vehicle to an intersection in front of the driving lane is greater than a preset distance or the intersection does not contain an activated red light signal or a stop and go sign (see at least, [0068] the preset time length can be determined according to the distance information obtained by the ECU; the longer the distance between the current vehicle and the front intersection is, the smaller the preset time length is; the closer the current vehicle is to the front intersection, the larger the preset time length is), and the neighboring vehicle information indicating that the vehicle has no front vehicle or an average speed of neighboring vehicles of the vehicle is greater than a preset speed (see at least, [0063] if there is traffic light at the intersection in front of the congestion section of the current vehicle, and there is no moving vehicle at the front of the current vehicle, determining whether the current vehicle is in the straight or left-turning lane according to the lane information obtained by the ECU).
Leone further teaches determining that the expected stop time is less than the first threshold (see at least, (see at least, [0048] values in the lookup table may provide a larger increase to the estimated amount of time the engine will be shut-down when a traffic accident is detected as compared to an adjustment to the estimated amount of time the engine will be shut-down when the road obstacle is a stop sign).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include determining that the expected stop time is less than the first threshold as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control method of claim 2. Leone further teaches wherein the first threshold is equal to the second threshold (Fig 5 shows threshold duration of idle-stop D1 equal to a duration of a prospective idle-stop S1 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include wherein the first threshold is equal to the second threshold as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control method of claim 1. Leone further teaches wherein the traffic status information comprises a plurality of Vehicle-to-Vehicle messages and a plurality of Vehicle-to-Infrastructure messages ([0040] the controller may retrieve traffic information from one or remote sources such as an external server, traffic cameras, on-board controller of one or more vehicles in a line of vehicles on a road immediately ahead of the vehicle...via…vehicle to vehicle technology (V2V)...may be communicatively coupled to infrastructure such as traffic cameras, surveillance cameras, etc. via…vehicle to infrastructure technology (I2V)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include the traffic status information comprises a plurality of Vehicle-to-Vehicle messages and a plurality of Vehicle-to-Infrastructure messages as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches an intelligent stop control system for a vehicle ([0004] an intelligent starting and stopping method, device, device and medium of vehicle engine), the intelligent stop control system comprising: a processing unit; a storage unit, coupled to the processing unit, storing a program code, wherein the program code is used to instruct the processing unit to execute an intelligent stop control method ([0016] The memory stores a computer program executable by the at least one processor, the computer program being executed by the at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to perform the vehicle engine intelligent start-stop method according to any one of the embodiments of the invention), wherein the intelligent stop control method comprises the following steps: in response to activation of a brake system of the vehicle (see at least, [0032] The brake master cylinder pressure sensor can be used for inputting brake master cylinder pressure sensor to ECU. The starting and stopping system can be used for receiving the control instruction sent by the ECU to close the engine to make it stop at idle speed), controlling operation of a power system of the vehicle based on the traffic status information (see at least, [0008] the ECU will judge the traffic road condition scene of the position of the current vehicle according to the received road condition information and the road condition information, and intelligently control whether the starting and stopping system is allowed to close the engine according to the judging result of the traffic road condition scene); wherein the step of controlling the operation of the power system of the vehicle based on the traffic status information comprises: determining a driving lane of the vehicle (see at least, [0040] The road condition information can be used for reflecting the traffic road condition information of the current position of the vehicle…lane information may be used to represent the lane in which the current vehicle is located) and intersection information (see at least, [0040] The road condition information can be used for reflecting the traffic road condition information of the current position of the vehicle…The distance information can be used for representing the distance between the current vehicle and the front intersection, or can be used for representing the distance between the current vehicle and the front intersection traffic light) and neighboring vehicle information related to a driving direction of the vehicle based on the traffic status information (see at least, [0040] The road condition information can be used for reflecting the traffic road condition information of the current position of the vehicle…The front vehicle information may indicate whether there is a vehicle in front of the current vehicle, and a distance from the front vehicle when there is a vehicle in front of the current vehicle).
Wang does not explicitly teach a transceiver module, coupled to the processing unit, configured to connect a vehicle-to-everything; system; obtaining a traffic status information related to the vehicle through the vehicle-to-everything system when the vehicle is driving; determining an expected stop time of the vehicle stopping driving based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information; in response to the expected stop time being less than a first threshold, maintaining an idling operation of the power system of the vehicle; and in response to the expected stop time being greater than or equal to a second threshold, stopping the operation of the power system of the vehicle. However, Leone teaches this limitation.
Leone teaches a transceiver module, coupled to the processing unit, configured to connect a vehicle-to-everything; system (Fig 1, [0017] The vehicle 110 may communicate with the network cloud 160
directly via the wireless communication device 152 coupled to the on-board control system 112); obtaining a traffic status information related to the vehicle through the vehicle-to-everything system when the vehicle is driving (see at least, [0040] the controller may retrieve traffic information from one or remote sources such as an external server, traffic cameras, on-board controller of one or more vehicles in a line of vehicles on a road immediately ahead of the vehicle...via…vehicle to vehicle technology (V2V)…vehicle to infrastructure technology (I2V)); determining an expected stop time of the vehicle stopping driving based on the driving lane, the intersection information , and the neighboring vehicle information (see at least, [0098] the data further includes a cause for formation of the line of vehicles, the cause including one or more of a traffic light, a traffic stop sign…selectively deactivating the engine responsive to the thresholds and the data…a vehicle stopping time being higher than the threshold vehicle stopping time); in response to the expected stop time being less than a first threshold, maintaining an idling operation of the power system of the vehicle (see at least, [0092] Responsive to T1 being shorter than D1, an engine idle-stop is not initiated at time to, thereby reducing the occurrence of idle-stops having shorter than threshold durations); and in response to the expected stop time being greater than or equal to a second threshold, stopping the operation of the power system of the vehicle (see at least, [0095] In response to T3 being longer than D1, an engine idle-stop may be initiated at time t4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include a transceiver module, coupled to the processing unit, configured to connect a vehicle-to-everything; system; obtaining a traffic status information related to the vehicle through the vehicle-to-everything system when the vehicle is driving; determining an expected stop time of the vehicle stopping driving based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information; in response to the expected stop time being less than a first threshold, maintaining an idling operation of the power system of the vehicle; and in response to the expected stop time being greater than or equal to a second threshold, stopping the operation of the power system of the vehicle as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control system of claim 12. Leone further teaches wherein the step of determining the expected stop time of the vehicle based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information comprises: In response to the neighboring vehicle information indicating that an average speed of vehicles in front of the vehicle in the driving lane is less than a preset speed (see at least, [0042] a line of vehicles may be determined present when a group of vehicles are arranged in the vehicle's path of travel, each vehicle in the group of vehicles is separated from a vehicle immediately in front of each vehicle…speeds of each of the vehicles is less than a predetermined speed…e.g., 36 kilometers/hr), determining that the expected stop time is greater than or equal to the second threshold (see at least, [0098] the data further includes a cause for formation of the line of vehicles... relative movement within the line...deactivating the engine by suspending fueling of the engine in response to one or more of the duration of engine shut-down for the vehicle being higher than a threshold duration, a vehicle stopping time being higher than the threshold vehicle stopping time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include In response to the neighboring vehicle information indicating that an average speed of vehicles in front of the vehicle in the driving lane is less than a preset speed, determining that the expected stop time is greater than or equal to the second threshold as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control system of claim 12, wherein the step of determining the expected stop time of the vehicle based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information. Wang further teaches comprises: in response to the intersection information indicating that an intersection in front of the driving lane comprises an activated red light signal, and a remaining time of the activated red light signal is less than a third threshold (see at least, [0068] the preset traffic light state condition can be that…
the colour state of the front traffic light is red and the countdown time length corresponding to the
red state is less than the preset time length).
Leone further teaches the neighboring vehicle information indicating that a number of vehicles in front of the vehicle to the intersection is less than a preset number, determining that the expected stop time is less than the first threshold (see at least, [0047] the threshold vehicle stopping time before the engine is deactivated may be adjusted based on the number of vehicles stopping on the road ahead of the reference vehicle…may be decreased with an increase in the number of vehicles stopping on the road ahead of the reference vehicle and the threshold vehicle stopping time may be increased with a decrease in the number of vehicles stopping on the road ahead of the reference vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include the neighboring vehicle information indicating that a number of vehicles in front of the vehicle to the intersection is less than a preset number, determining that the expected stop time is less than the first threshold as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control system of claim 12, wherein the step of determining the expected stop time of the vehicle based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information. Wang further teaches comprises: in response to the intersection information indicating that an intersection in front of the driving lane comprises an activated red light signal, and a remaining time of the activated red light signal is less than a third threshold (see at least, [0068] the preset traffic light state condition can be that…
the colour state of the front traffic light is red and the countdown time length corresponding to the red state is less than the preset time length).
Leone further teaches the neighboring vehicle information indicating that a number of vehicles in front of the vehicle to the intersection is greater than a preset number (see at least, [0047] the threshold vehicle stopping time before the engine is deactivated may be adjusted based on the number of vehicles stopping on the road ahead of the reference vehicle), determining that the expected stop time is greater than or equal to the second threshold (see at least, [0048] values in the lookup table may increase the estimated amount of time the engine will be shut-down as time length of the line of vehicles increases).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include the neighboring vehicle information indicating that a number of vehicles in front of the vehicle to the intersection is greater than a preset number, determining that the expected stop time is greater than or equal to the second threshold as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control system of claim 12. Leone further teaches wherein the step of determining the expected stop time of the vehicle based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information comprises: in response to the intersection information indicating that an intersection in front of the driving lane comprises a stop and go sign (see at least, [0045] Retrieving traffic information from the remote sources also includes...determining the cause for traffic congestion (formation of the line of vehicles directly ahead of the reference vehicle...may be due to...a stop sign), determining that the expected stop time is less than the first threshold (see at least, [0048] values in the lookup table may provide a larger increase to the estimated amount of time the engine will be shut-down when a traffic accident is detected as compared to an adjustment to the estimated amount of time the engine will be shut-down when the road obstacle is a stop sign).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include in response to the intersection information indicating that an intersection in front of the driving lane comprises a stop and go sign, determining that the expected stop time is less than the first threshold as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Wang further teaches the neighboring vehicle information indicating that the vehicle has no front vehicle or an average speed of vehicles in front of the vehicle is greater than a preset speed (see at least, [0063] if there is traffic light at the intersection in front of the congestion section of the current
vehicle, and there is no moving vehicle at the front of the current vehicle, determining whether the current vehicle is in the straight or left-turning lane according to the lane information obtained by the ECU).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control system of claim 12, wherein the step of determining the expected stop time of the vehicle based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information. Wang further teaches comprises: in response to the intersection information indicating that a distance from the vehicle to an intersection in front of the driving lane is greater than a preset distance or the intersection does not contain an activated red light signal or a stop and go sign (see at least, [0068] the preset time length can be determined according to the distance information obtained by the ECU; the longer the distance between the current vehicle and the front intersection is, the smaller the preset time length is; the closer the current vehicle is to the front intersection, the larger the preset time length is), and the neighboring vehicle information indicating that the vehicle has no front vehicle or an average speed of neighboring vehicles of the vehicle is greater than a preset speed (see at least, [0063] if there is traffic light at the intersection in front of the congestion section of the current vehicle, and there is no moving vehicle at the front of the current vehicle, determining whether the current vehicle is in the straight or left-turning lane according to the lane information obtained by the ECU).
Leone further teaches determining that the expected stop time is less than the first threshold (see at least, (see at least, [0048] values in the lookup table may provide a larger increase to the estimated amount of time the engine will be shut-down when a traffic accident is detected as compared to an adjustment to the estimated amount of time the engine will be shut-down when the road obstacle is a stop sign).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include determining that the expected stop time is less than the first threshold as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control system of claim 12. Leone further teaches wherein the first threshold is equal to the second threshold (Fig 5 shows threshold duration of idle-stop D1 equal to a duration of a prospective idle-stop S1 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include wherein the first threshold is equal to the second threshold as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control system of claim 11. Leone further teaches wherein the traffic status information comprises a plurality of Vehicle-to-Vehicle messages and a plurality of Vehicle-to-Infrastructure messages ([0040] the controller may retrieve traffic information from one or remote sources such as an external server, traffic cameras, on-board controller of one or more vehicles in a line of vehicles on a road immediately ahead of the vehicle...via…vehicle to vehicle technology (V2V)...may be communicatively coupled to infrastructure such as traffic cameras, surveillance cameras, etc. via…vehicle to infrastructure technology (I2V)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include the traffic status information comprises a plurality of Vehicle-to-Vehicle messages and a plurality of Vehicle-to-Infrastructure messages as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 116605223 A; hereinafter Wang) in view of Leone et al. (US 20190071067 A1; hereinafter Leone) in further view of Ginsberg et al. (US 20160203717 A1; hereinafter Ginsberg).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control method of claim 2. The combination further teaches wherein the step of determining the expected stop time of the vehicle based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information (see at least, Leone, [0098] the data further includes a cause for formation of the line of vehicles, the cause including one or more of a traffic light, a traffic stop sign…selectively deactivating the engine responsive to the thresholds and the data…a vehicle stopping time being higher than the threshold vehicle stopping time) comprises: in response to the intersection information indicating that an intersection in front of the driving lane comprises an activated red light signal (see at least, Wang,
[0068] the preset traffic light state condition can be …the colour state of the front traffic light is red and the countdown time length corresponding to the red state is less than the preset time
length).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include the step of determining the expected stop time of the vehicle based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
The combination does not explicitly teach a remaining time of the activated red light signal is greater than or equal to a third threshold, determining that the expected stop time is greater than or equal to the second threshold. However, Ginsberg teaches this limitation.
Ginsberg teaches a remaining time of the activated red light signal is greater than or equal to a third threshold, determining that the expected stop time is greater than or equal to the second threshold (see at least, [0111] automatically shut off a vehicle's engine if the user is approaching or already stopped at an intersection that will have a red light lasting for a duration above some threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Wang and Leone to include a remaining time of the activated red light signal is greater than or equal to a third threshold, determining that the expected stop time is greater than or equal to the second threshold as taught by Ginsberg in order to enhance energy efficiency (Ginsberg, [0111]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control system of claim 12. The combination further teaches wherein the step of determining the expected stop time of the vehicle based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information (see at least, Leone, [0098] the data further includes a cause for formation of the line of vehicles, the cause including one or more of a traffic light, a traffic stop sign…selectively deactivating the engine responsive to the thresholds and the data…a vehicle stopping time being higher than the threshold vehicle stopping time) comprises: in response to the intersection information indicating that an intersection in front of the driving lane comprises an activated red light signal (see at least, Wang,
[0068] the preset traffic light state condition can be…the colour state of the front traffic light is red and the countdown time length corresponding to the red state is less than the preset time
length).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to include the step of determining the expected stop time of the vehicle based on the driving lane, the intersection information, and the neighboring vehicle information as taught by Leone so that upcoming periods of increased engine load may be estimated based on the retrieved traffic information and road segment characteristics (Leone, [0006]).
The combination does not explicitly teach a remaining time of the activated red light signal is greater than or equal to a third threshold, determining that the expected stop time is greater than or equal to the second threshold. However, Ginsberg teaches this limitation.
Ginsberg teaches a remaining time of the activated red light signal is greater than or equal to a third threshold, determining that the expected stop time is greater than or equal to the second threshold (see at least, [0111] automatically shut off a vehicle's engine if the user is approaching or already stopped at an intersection that will have a red light lasting for a duration above some threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Wang and Leone to include a remaining time of the activated red light signal is greater than or equal to a third threshold, determining that the expected stop time is greater than or equal to the second threshold as taught by Ginsberg in order to enhance energy efficiency (Ginsberg, [0111]).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 116605223 A; hereinafter Wang) in view of Leone et al. (US 20190071067 A1; hereinafter Leone) in further view of Camhi et al. (US 20200055402 A1; hereinafter Camhi).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches the intelligent stop control method of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach further comprising controlling a kinetic energy recovery system of the vehicle based on the traffic status information, which comprises: in response to the traffic status information indicating that an average speed of front vehicles is greater than zero but less than a preset crawling speed, reducing a recovery strength of the kinetic energy recovery system or turning off the kinetic energy recovery system so as to reduce jerk; and in response to the traffic status information indicating smooth traffic flow or the vehicle driving downhill, increasing the recovery strength of the kinetic energy recovery system or turning on the kinetic energy recovery system so as to extend cruising range and reduce wear of the brake system. However, Camhi teaches these limitations.
Camhi teaches controlling a kinetic energy recovery system of the vehicle (see at least, [0014] Regenerative braking is a mechanism that can be used by electric vehicles to recover electric energy when braking…transform the excess of the vehicle's kinetic energy, when slowing down, into electric energy that can be stored in the electric vehicle's battery for use at a later time) based on the traffic status information (see at least, [0016] The adaptive electric regeneration strategy can involve an understanding (or detection) of…traffic condition ahead of the vehicle), which comprises: in response to the traffic status information indicating that an average speed of front vehicles is greater than zero but less than a preset crawling speed (see at least, [0051] relatively slow traffic (e.g., average traffic
speed is smaller than the speed of the electric vehicle 100 by at least a predefined amount, such as 10, 15 or 20 miles per hour (MPH)), reducing a recovery strength of the kinetic energy recovery system or turning off the kinetic energy recovery system (see at least, [0015] In a case of a temporary slowdown
…a low level of regenerative braking may be desired) so as to reduce jerk (see at least, [0021] The adaptive off-throttle electric regeneration…allow for enhanced driver experience and comfort); and
in response to the traffic status information indicating smooth traffic flow or the vehicle driving downhill, increasing the recovery strength of the kinetic energy recovery system or turning on the kinetic energy recovery system (see at least, [0054] The electric regeneration triggering component
208 may use information indicative of road topology…downhill…to determine the level of regenerative braking…to be applied) so as to extend cruising range and reduce wear of the brake system (see at least, [0014] The electric vehicle can recover energy that would be otherwise lost, for example, to the brake discs as heat. By feeding the recovered energy back to the vehicle's battery, the electric vehicle can increase the driving range per full battery charge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Wang and Leone to include controlling a kinetic energy recovery system of the vehicle based on the traffic status information, which comprises: in response to the traffic status information indicating that an average speed of front vehicles is greater than zero but less than a preset crawling speed, reducing a recovery strength of the kinetic energy recovery system or turning off the kinetic energy recovery system so as to reduce jerk; and in response to the traffic status information indicating smooth traffic flow or the vehicle driving downhill, increasing the recovery strength of the kinetic energy recovery system or turning on the kinetic energy recovery system so as to extend cruising range and reduce wear of the brake system as taught by Camhi so that the vehicle can transition from one driving condition to another over the course of a single trip and none of the single electric regeneration modes may be optimal for the entire trip (Camhi, [0015).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Wang and Leone teaches an intelligent stop control system of claim 11. The combination does not explicitly teach intelligent stop control method further comprises controlling a kinetic energy recovery system of the vehicle based on the traffic status information, which comprises: in response to the traffic status information indicating that an average speed of front vehicles is greater than zero but less than a preset crawling speed, reducing a recovery strength of the kinetic energy recovery system or turning off the kinetic energy recovery system so as to reduce jerk; and in response to the traffic status information indicating smooth traffic flow or the vehicle driving downhill, increasing the recovery strength of the kinetic energy recovery system or turning on the kinetic energy recovery system so as to extend cruising range and reduce wear of the brake system. However, Camhi teaches these limitations.
Camhi teaches controlling a kinetic energy recovery system of the vehicle (see at least, [0014] Regenerative braking is a mechanism that can be used by electric vehicles to recover electric energy when braking…transform the excess of the vehicle's kinetic energy, when slowing down, into electric energy that can be stored in the electric vehicle's battery for use at a later time) based on the traffic status information (see at least, [0016] The adaptive electric regeneration strategy can involve an understanding (or detection) of…traffic condition ahead of the vehicle), which comprises: in response to the traffic status information indicating that an average speed of front vehicles is greater than zero but less than a preset crawling speed (see at least, [0051] relatively slow traffic (e.g., average traffic
speed is smaller than the speed of the electric vehicle 100 by at least a predefined amount, such as 10, 15 or 20 miles per hour (MPH)), reducing a recovery strength of the kinetic energy recovery system or turning off the kinetic energy recovery system (see at least, [0015] In a case of a temporary slowdown
…a low level of regenerative braking may be desired) so as to reduce jerk (see at least, [0021] The adaptive off-throttle electric regeneration…allow for enhanced driver experience and comfort); and
in response to the traffic status information indicating smooth traffic flow or the vehicle driving downhill, increasing the recovery strength of the kinetic energy recovery system or turning on the kinetic energy recovery system (see at least, [0054] The electric regeneration triggering component
208 may use information indicative of road topology…downhill…to determine the level of regenerative braking…to be applied) so as to extend cruising range and reduce wear of the brake system (see at least, [0014] The electric vehicle can recover energy that would be otherwise lost, for example, to the brake discs as heat. By feeding the recovered energy back to the vehicle's battery, the electric vehicle can increase the driving range per full battery charge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Wang and Leone to include controlling a kinetic energy recovery system of the vehicle based on the traffic status information, which comprises: in response to the traffic status information indicating that an average speed of front vehicles is greater than zero but less than a preset crawling speed, reducing a recovery strength of the kinetic energy recovery system or turning off the kinetic energy recovery system so as to reduce jerk; and in response to the traffic status information indicating smooth traffic flow or the vehicle driving downhill, increasing the recovery strength of the kinetic energy recovery system or turning on the kinetic energy recovery system so as to extend cruising range and reduce wear of the brake system as taught by Camhi so that the vehicle can transition from one driving condition to another over the course of a single trip and none of the single electric regeneration modes may be optimal for the entire trip (Camhi, [0015).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miller et al. (US 20220176972 A1) discloses obtaining a traffic status information related to the vehicle through a vehicle-to-everything system when the vehicle is driving ([0035] the vehicle 5 may retrieve data from the vehicles…via the V2V network 13, such as road or traffic condition data from a vehicle traveling ahead of the vehicle 5 on a route of the vehicle 5; [0037] the vehicle 5 may retrieve data from the traffic lights…via the V2X network 15).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOYA PETTIEGREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662