DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kimpara et al. (PG Pub 2020/0208554).
Regarding claim 1, Kimpara teaches a breather chamber structure for an internal combustion engine, the breather chamber structure being applicable to a breather chamber for temporarily storing, inside an internal combustion engine, blowby gas generated during operation of the internal combustion engine (paragraph 37; figure 4, element 41) and to be recirculated to an intake passage (This is an intended use recitation; a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.),
the breather chamber structure comprising, in the breather chamber, a two-stage section (figures 4, 6, and 8, chambers A and B; paragraph 40) formed by a first plate (figures 4, 6, and 8, element 51; paragraphs 40 and 44-46) and a second plate perpendicular to the cylinder axis (figures 5 and 7, element 43; paragraphs 35, 38, 40, 44, and 46- 50) that are attached to a rear surface side of a cylinder head cover (figures 5 and 7, elements 46; paragraphs 36-38) attached to a cylinder head of the internal combustion engine (paragraph 38; figure 7, elements 46 attach element 15 to element 43) and that are parallel with and spaced apart from each other (figure 5, elements 14 and 43 are parallel and spaced apart), the two-stage section including a first chamber (figures 4, 6, and 8, chamber A; paragraphs 40-41 and 44) and a second chamber (figures 4, 6, and 8, chamber B, paragraphs 40-41 and 44) that are partitioned by the first plate (figures 4, 6, and 8, chambers A and B are partitioned by plate 51; paragraph 44)the breather chamber includes the first chamber into which the blowby gas is introduced first (figures 4, 6, and 8, chamber A and element 55; paragraph 48), the second chamber into which the blowby gas is introduced from the first chamber (figures 4, 6, and 8, chamber B and element 56; paragraph 49), and a third chamber into which the blowby gas is introduced from the second chamber (figures 4, 6, and 8, chamber C and element 57; paragraph 50),
the third chamber is disposed on a lateral side of the two-stage section (figures 4, 6, and 8 show chamber C disposed on two sides of chambers A and B),
the third chamber is provided with a discharge pipe that discharges the blowby gas to outside of the internal combustion engine (figures 6 and 8, element 58; paragraph 52), and
a height dimension of the third chamber is greater than a height dimension of each of the first chamber and the second chamber (figure 4 and 6 show the height of chamber C to be greater than that of chambers A and B).
Regarding claim 3, Kimpara teaches the breather chamber structure according to claim 2, further comprising:
a communication passage that establishes communication between the second chamber and the third chamber (paragraph 50; figures 4, 6, and 8, element 57),
wherein the discharge pipe is disposed at a position at which the discharge pipe does not overlap with the communication passage when viewed in a direction from the third chamber toward the second chamber (figure 6, elements 58 and 57 do not overlap with each other when viewed towards 52).
Regarding claim 5, Kimpara teaches the breather chamber structure according to claim 1,
wherein the second plate has a larger area than the first plate (figures 5 and 8 shows element 43 being larger than element 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimpara et al. (PG Pub 2020/0208554).
Regarding claim 4, Kimpara teaches the breather chamber structure according to claim 3.
Kimpara discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a lower end of the discharge pipe is at a position lower than the first plate in a side view of the internal combustion engine. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to lower the end of the discharge pipe, elements 58 and 59 below element 51 in figures 4, 6, and 8, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. Given the locations of element 15 and other engine elements in figure 1, it would be obvious to assume that the discharge of pipe 58, which is not shown in figure 1 or any of the figures in Kimpara, could be placed lower than element 51. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-5, filed November 6, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Susan E Scharpf/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747