DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed May 8, 2026, have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues with respect to U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0009731 to O’Callaghan et al. that drive circuitry 114 is not stretchable, and that pixel driver 126 is not stretchable, and that reflector 112 is metallic and can not be considered the third stretchable electrode layer, and thus O’Callaghan fails to provide teachings of the claimed “a third stretchable electrode layer, disposed on the insulation layer and electrically connected to the plurality of second stretchable electrode layers through the plurality of conductive materials, respectively” (pages 3–5 of the Reply).
O’Callaghan is not relied on for teaching the stretchable feature. Instead, WO 2018/020856 A1 to Katsuhara supplies the motivation for the stretchable feature (e.g., pages 27–28 teach that the display may be applied to a stretchable or flexible display, and page 36 teaches “display device 1 . . . is flexible against deformations such as bending and stretching,” making it suitable for applications where the display is stretched over curved surfaces rather than flat surfaces, and substrates and electrodes of the device are described as having elasticity, pages 7 and 8, “first substrate 11 is preferably made of . . . a material that has elasticity (stretchability)” and “first electrode 21 is preferably made of a conductive material having elasticity”). Because Katsuhara teaches that the device includes stretchable components to achieve an overall stretchable device, when combining the components and corresponding functions taught by O’Callaghan, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form those additional components to also have stretchable properties to match the elasticity through the device. That is, O’Callaghan teaches an insulation layer 110 disposed on a second electrode layer 108/128 and having a plurality of through holes (corresponding to 124), and a third electrode layer 126 disposed on the insulation layer and electrically connected to the second electrode layer through a plurality of conductive materials 124 in the through holes; then Katsuhara provides the motivation for the third electrode layer of O’Callaghan to be stretchable to match the existing design of Katsuhara. So combined, the claimed features would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, as outlined in the rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1–3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/020856 A1 to Katsuhara (cited in Applicant’s February 11, 2025, IDS; a machine translation was provided with the February 12, 2026, Office action, and citations are made to the provided translation) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0009731 to O’Callaghan et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Katsuhara discloses (e.g., at least Fig. 1 and its description in the translation, pages 6–9) an electrophoretic display device 1 (page 1, display device includes electrophoretic element), comprising: a first stretchable material layer 31 (substrates 11/31 are described as having elasticity or stretchability, pages 7 and 19)1; a first stretchable electrode layer 32 (“first electrode 21 is preferably made of a conductive material having elasticity,” page 8, and “second electrode 32 is preferably made of a conductive material . . . having the same stretchability as the first electrode 21,” page 19), disposed on the first stretchable material layer (Fig. 1); a stretchable electrophoretic display medium layer 20 (page 20 teaches that it is “desirable that the material constituting partition wall 23 contains an elastic material, similar to that of first substrate 11 and second substrate 31,” and then lists suitable stretchable materials, which means that the display medium layer 20, which includes partition walls 23, will have a degree of elasticity or be stretchable), disposed on the first stretchable electrode layer (Fig. 1); a plurality of second stretchable electrode layers 21, separately disposed on the stretchable electrophoretic display medium layer (Fig. 1), allowing the stretchable electrophoretic display medium layer to form a plurality of display regions (pages 6–8 and 27, segment type display or active matrix type display).
Katsuhara does not explicitly disclose an insulation layer, disposed on the plurality of second stretchable electrode layers and having a plurality of through holes, wherein the plurality of through holes are respectively filled with a plurality of conductive materials; and a third stretchable electrode layer, disposed on the insulation layer and electrically connected to the plurality of second stretchable electrode layers through the plurality of conductive materials, respectively.
O’Callaghan (e.g., Figs. 3 and 4 and their description) discloses a display, and teaches an insulation layer 110 formed on an electrode layer 108/128 having a plurality of through holes (aligned with 132, where electrode conductors 124 pass) filled with a plurality of conductive materials 124, and a third electrode layer 126 disposed on the insulation layer and electrically connected to the plurality of electrodes 128 of the electrode layer 108 through the through holes by means of electrode conductors 124, in order to improve brightness when used as a reflection display (e.g., paragraphs [0002]–[0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Katsuhara to include an insulation layer, disposed on the plurality of second stretchable electrode layers and having a plurality of through holes, wherein the plurality of through holes are respectively filled with a plurality of conductive materials; and a third stretchable electrode layer, disposed on the insulation layer and electrically connected to the plurality of second stretchable electrode layers through the plurality of conductive materials, respectively, as suggested by O’Callaghan, in order to improve brightness of the display, and where forming the third electrode layer to be stretchable similar to the first and second electrode layers would have been obvious as a matter of design choice to match the elasticity through the device.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Katsuhara and O’Callaghan would have rendered obvious a second stretchable material layer (11 of Katsuhara) disposed on the third stretchable electrode layer (Fig. 1 of Katsuhara).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Katsuhara and O’Callaghan would have rendered obvious wherein a material of the first stretchable material layer and the second stretchable material layer is amorphous polyethylene terephthalate (where Katsuhara discloses suitable materials for the first and second stretchable material layers, including “include polyimides, polyamides, polyacetals, polycarbonate (PC), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethyl ether ketone (PEEK), polyethersulfone (PES), and polyolefin,” similar to APET, such that selecting APET would have been obvious as a matter of design choice, yielding predictable results, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results from the claim features).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Katsuhara and O’Callaghan would have rendered obvious wherein a material of the first stretchable material layer is amorphous polyethylene terephthalate (where Katsuhara discloses suitable materials for the first and second stretchable material layers, including “include polyimides, polyamides, polyacetals, polycarbonate (PC), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethyl ether ketone (PEEK), polyethersulfone (PES), and polyolefin,” similar to APET, such that selecting APET would have been obvious as a matter of design choice, yielding predictable results, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results from the claim features).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Katsuhara and O’Callaghan would have rendered obvious wherein a material of the first stretchable electrode layer, the plurality of second stretchable electrode layers, and the third stretchable electrode layer is poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) (e.g., page 8 of Katsuhara lists suitable materials, including “metal nanofibers (silver nanofibers, copper nanofibers, etc.), carbon (carbon nanofibers, graphene, etc.), polythiophene-based conductive polymers (PEDOT-PSS), and mixtures thereof”).
Regarding Claim 7, Katsuhara discloses (e.g., at least Fig. 1 and its description in the translation, pages 6–9) an electrophoretic display device 1 (page 1, display device includes electrophoretic element), comprising: a first stretchable material layer 31 (substrates 11/31 are described as having elasticity or stretchability, pages 7 and 19); a first stretchable electrode layer 32 (“first electrode 21 is preferably made of a conductive material having elasticity,” page 8, and “second electrode 32 is preferably made of a conductive material . . . having the same stretchability as the first electrode 21,” page 19), disposed on the first stretchable material layer (Fig. 1); a stretchable electrophoretic display medium layer 20 (page 20 teaches that it is “desirable that the material constituting partition wall 23 contains an elastic material, similar to that of first substrate 11 and second substrate 31,” and then lists suitable stretchable materials, which means that the display medium layer 20, which includes partition walls 23, will have a degree of elasticity or be stretchable), disposed on the first stretchable electrode layer (Fig. 1); a second stretchable electrode layer 21, disposed on the stretchable electrophoretic display medium layer (Fig. 1), allowing the stretchable electrophoretic display medium layer to form a display region (pages 6–8 and 27, segment type display or active matrix type display).
Katsuhara does not explicitly disclose an insulation layer, disposed on the second stretchable electrode layer and having a through hole, wherein the through hole is filled with a conductive material; and a third stretchable electrode layer, disposed on the insulation layer and electrically connected to the second stretchable electrode layer through the conductive material.
O’Callaghan (e.g., Figs. 3 and 4 and their description) discloses a display, and teaches an insulation layer 110 formed on an electrode layer 108/128 having a plurality of through holes (aligned with 132, where electrode conductors 124 pass) filled with a plurality of conductive materials 124, and a third electrode layer 126 disposed on the insulation layer and electrically connected to the plurality of electrodes 128 of the electrode layer 108 through the through holes by means of electrode conductors 124, in order to improve brightness when used as a reflection display (e.g., paragraphs [0002]–[0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Katsuhara to include an insulation layer, disposed on the second stretchable electrode layer and having a through hole, wherein the through hole is filled with a conductive material; and a third stretchable electrode layer, disposed on the insulation layer and electrically connected to the second stretchable electrode layer through the conductive material, as suggested by O’Callaghan, in order to improve brightness of the display, and where forming the third electrode layer to be stretchable similar to the first and second electrode layers would have been obvious as a matter of design choice to match the elasticity through the device.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuhara and O’Callaghan, further in view of CN 113641046 A to Wang (machine translation attached with the February 12, 2026, Office action).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Katsuhara and O’Callaghan does not explicitly disclose a decorative layer disposed on the first stretchable material layer, wherein the first stretchable material layer is disposed between the first stretchable electrode layer and the decorative layer.
Wang discloses that decorative film layers 300 and 400 may be included, having color, texture, and pattern, formed on substrates, to provide a pattern observable by a user (e.g., Fig. 13 and its associated description in the translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Katsuhara and O’Callaghan to include a decorative layer disposed on the first stretchable material layer, wherein the first stretchable material layer is disposed between the first stretchable electrode layer and the decorative layer, as suggested by Wang, in order to provide the function of a pattern observable by a user.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN CROCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871
1 The term “stretchable” is not further defined or explained, and no ranges or bounds are described in Applicant’s specification, so the term will be interpreted using its broadest reasonable interpretation of “capable of being stretched”, which the elements of Katsuhara appear to satisfy, e.g., pages 27–28 teach that the display may be applied to a stretchable or flexible display, and page 36 teaches “display device 1 . . . is flexible against deformations such as bending and stretching,” making it suitable for applications where the display is stretched over curved surfaces rather than flat surfaces, and substrates and electrodes of the device are described as having elasticity, pages 7 and 8.