DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
101/ODP rejections withdrawn based on amendments.
Arguments regarding prior art rejections are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Glaser (US 20230153878 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Glaser discloses a commodity sales system, comprising:
A customer detection sensor to detect each customer that has entered a store and to track each customer in the store (paragraph 71 person tracking);
A commodity detection sensor to detect, for a customer in the store, a commodity that the customer takes from a commodity shelf in the store (paragraph 47);
A management apparatus including first processing circuitry configured to :
Associate, based on the tracking of the customer, the commodity with the customer that took the commodity from the commodity shelf (abstract virtual cart), and
Add, the commodity to an object of the transaction with the customer (abstract virtual cart); and
A settlement apparatus including second processing circuitry configured to perform a settlement process for an amount of transaction with the customer (fig. 2 s140), each commodity that the management apparatus has added to the object of transaction, wherein in a case that the commodity is a specific commodity requiring age verification, the first processing circuitry performs an age verification process for the customer before authorizing settlement of the commodity in the transaction (fig. 2 s130).
Regarding claim 10, Glaser discloses:
10. The commodity sales system according to claim 1, wherein the specific commodity includes at least one of alcohol and cigarettes (paragraph 22 alcohol).
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glaser (US 20230153878 A1) in view of Katayama (US 20190259014 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Glazer fails to clearly disclose and Katayama discloses:
2. The commodity sales system according to claim 1, further comprising: a discharge apparatus to discharge the commodity, wherein in a case that the age of the customer is verified by the age verification process, the discharge apparatus discharges the specific commodity (paragraph 119-120). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with those of Glaser by implementing a discharge apparatus. The motivation for the combination is to reduce labor (paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 6, Glazer fails to clearly disclose and Katayama discloses:
6. The commodity sales system according to claim 1, wherein the settlement apparatus includes an electronic payment device which acquires information for electronic payment from an electronic payment medium possessed by the customer (paragraph 63, 102, 152), and the first processing circuitry of the management apparatus is further configured to: request a server, which performs the electronic payment, to provide information on the age of the customer, based on the information acquired by the electronic payment device (paragraph 63, 102, 152), and perform the age verification process based on the information acquired from the server (paragraph 63, 102, 152). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with those of Glaser by implementing Katayama’s verification process. The motivation for the combination is to reduce labor (paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 7, Glazer fails to clearly disclose and Katayama discloses: 7. The commodity sales system according to claim 1, a selection device to receive a selection of the commodity at purchase (paragraph 119); wherein when an operation for selecting the commodity is performed with the selection device, the processing circuitry of the management apparatus performs a notification process of notifying that there is a customer who desires to purchase the commodity (paragraph 88, paragraph 220). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with those of Glaser by implementing Katayama’s verification process. The motivation for the combination is to reduce labor (paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 8, Glazer fails to clearly disclose and Katayama discloses:
8. The commodity sales system according to claim 1, wherein when the age of the customer is not verified in the age verification process, or when the customer has performed an operation with the settlement apparatus to cancel purchase of the commodity, the settlement apparatus excludes the commodity from the object of transaction, and performs the settlement process (paragraph 122). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with those of Glaser by implementing Katayama’s verification process. The motivation for the combination is to reduce labor (paragraph 32).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glaser (US 20230153878 A1) in view of Katayama (US 20190259014 A1) and further in view of Patel (US 20210406970 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Glaser as modified per claim 2 fails to disclose and Patel discloses wherein when the settlement apparatus has completed the settlement process for the amount of transaction, the discharge apparatus discharges the commodity (paragraph 174). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with those of Glaser as modified by dispensing after settlement completes. The motivation for the combination is an improved user experience (paragraph 40)
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glaser (US 20230153878 A1) in view of Patel (US 20210406970 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Glaser as per claim 1 fails to disclose and Patel discloses:
4. The commodity sales system according to claim 1, further comprising: a reading device to read information from a qualification certificate possessed by the customer, wherein the management apparatus performs the age verification process by reading information on the purchase qualification with the reading device (paragraphs 130 and 133), a selection device configured to receive a selection of the commodity at purchase wherein the reading device is included in the selection device (paragraphs 130 and 133) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with those of Glaser as modified by dispensing based on reading a driver’s license. The motivation for the combination is an improved user experience (paragraph 40)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kumar (US 20150019391 A1) discloses an autonomous checkout system. Glaser (US 20180232796 A1) discloses an autonomous checkout system including an age verification process. Ryner (US 20190050921 A1) discloses a checkout system including validating user identification for age-restricted items.
/NATHAN A MITCHELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627