DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11, 14, and 23-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the Applicant maps claim 1 to the configuration shown in figure 11 but figure 11 does not show a lead frame as claimed.
Applicant maps claim 6 to the configuration shown in figure 12 but figure 12 does not show a magnetic field sensing element (324) is disposed in the second surface (328b), one or more solder balls (334) attached to the first surface (328a), and the lead frame as claimed.
Applicant maps claim 23 to the configuration shown in figure 13 but figure 13 does not show a magnetic field sensing element (348) is disposed in the second surface (344b), and the lead frame as claimed.
The limitations mentioned above must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, 14, and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al. (US2008/0297138) In view of Theuss et al. (US 20100276769 A1).
As to claims 1 Taylor discloses a magnetic field sensor comprising:
a semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166 discloses a current sensor 150 also includes a substrate 166 Paragraph [0067]) having a first surface and a second opposing surface (Fig. 6 Item 166 discloses a substrate 166 a first surface and a second opposing surface 166a & 166b Paragraph [0067]) wherein a magnetic field sensing element (Fig. 6 Item 158 discloses sensing element 158 Paragraph [0067]) is disposed in the first surface (Fig. 6 Item 166 a) and wherein the semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166) is configured for attachment to a lead frame (Fig. 6 Item 152);
a layer of ferromagnetic material (Fig. 6 Item 184 discloses a 184 can each be
comprised of a variety of materials, including Permalloy, and iron in Paragraph [0074]) formed over the second surface of the semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166), the layer of ferromagnetic material (Fig. 6 Item 184 discloses a 184 can each be
comprised of a variety of materials, including Permalloy, and iron in Paragraph [0074]) are aligned (Fig. 6 Item 158 discloses sensing element 158 substantially aligned with a maximum response axis of the Hall effect element 158 Paragraph [0067-0068]) with each other in the layer (Fig. 6 Item 184 discloses a flux concentrating layer 184 Paragraph [0075]); and
one or more solder balls (Fig. 6 Item 160 a-160 c discloses a solder balls 160 a-
160 c couple directly to the leads 152 e-152 Paragraph [0067]) attached to the first surface of the semiconductor die and configured to contact the lead frame (see e.g. figs. 6;6A; para 0040;0067; note that the substrate is a semiconductor material).
However Taylor does not explicitly teach the layer of ferromagnetic material
including a polymer with hard magnetic particles;
However, Theuss teaches the layer of ferromagnetic material
including a polymer with hard magnetic particles; (Fig. 2 Item 46 & 48 discloses, hard magnetic particles may be magnetized before or after curing of the polymer matrix material. Suitable hard magnetic particles include NdFeB, SmCo, AlNiCo, ferrites or similar magnetic particles. The particles (whether soft or hard magnetic particles) are distributed in polymer 46 and have a mean particle diameter of between approximately 20-150 micrometers Paragraph [0030])
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify an integrated circuit current sensor includes a lead frame having at least two leads coupled to provide a current conductor portion is unfoldedin Taylor to include the layer of ferromagnetic material including a polymer with hard magnetic particles as taught by Theuss in order to provide a polymer bonded permanent magnetic material that is magnetized during or after deposition over chip in Paragraph [0030]).
As to claims 2 Taylor discloses the magnetic field sensor of claim 1 wherein the magnetic field sensing element (Fig. 6 Item 158 discloses sensing element 158 Paragraph [0067]) is coupled to the lead frame (Fig. 6 Item 152) from the first surface of the semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166).
As to claims 3 Taylor discloses the magnetic field sensor of claim 2 wherein the one or more solder balls (Fig. 6 Item 160 a-160 c discloses a solder
balls 160 a-160 c couple directly to the leads 152 e-152 Paragraph [0067]) configured to contact the lead frame (Fig. 6 Item 152) in a flip-chip arrangement.
As to claims 4 Taylor discloses the magnetic field sensor of claim 1 wherein the magnetic field sensing element (Fig. 6 Item 158) is to lead frame (Fig. 6 Item 152) from the second surface of the semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166).
As to claims 6 Taylor discloses a magnetic field sensor comprising:
a semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166 discloses a current sensor 150 also includes a substrate 166 Paragraph [0067]) having a first surface and a second opposing surface (Fig. 6 Item 166 discloses a substrate 166 a first surface and a second opposing surface 166a & 166b Paragraph [0067]), wherein a magnetic field sensing element (Fig. 6 Item 158 discloses sensing element 158 Paragraph [0067]) is disposed in the second surface (Fig. 6 Item 166 b) and wherein the semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166) is configured for attachment to a lead frame (Fig. 6 Item 152);
a layer of ferromagnetic material (Fig. 6 Item 184 discloses a 184 can each be
comprised of a variety of materials, including Permalloy, and iron in Paragraph
[0074]) formed over the first surface (Fig. 6 Item 166 a) of the semiconductor die
(Fig. 6 Item 166), the layer of ferromagnetic material (Fig. 6 Item 184 discloses a
184 can each be comprised of a variety of materials, including Permalloy, and iron in Paragraph [0074]) are aligned (Fig. 6 Item 158 discloses sensing element 158 substantially aligned with a maximum response axis of the Hall effect element 158 Paragraph [0068]) with each other in the layer; and
one or more solder balls (Fig. 6 Item 160 a-160 c discloses a solder balls 160 a-
160 c couple directly to the leads 152 e-152 Paragraph [0067]) attached to the first of the semiconductor die and configured to contact the lead frame (see e.g. figs. 6;6A; para 0040;0067; note that the substrate is a semiconductor material).
However Taylor does not explicitly teach the layer of ferromagnetic material
including a polymer with hard magnetic particles;
However, Theuss teaches the layer of ferromagnetic material
including a polymer with hard magnetic particles; (Fig. 2 Item 46 &48 discloses, hard magnetic particles may be magnetized before or after curing of the polymer matrix material. Suitable hard magnetic particles include NdFeB, SmCo,AlNiCo, ferrites or similar magnetic particles. The particles (whether soft or hard magnetic particles) are distributed in polymer 46 and have a mean particle diameter of between approximately 20-150 micrometers Paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify an integrated circuit current sensor includes a lead frame having at least two leads coupled to provide a current conductor portion is unfoldedin Taylor to include the layer of ferromagnetic material including a polymer with hard magnetic particles as taught by Theuss in order to provide a polymer bonded permanent magnetic material that is magnetized during or after deposition over chip in Paragraph [0030]).
As to claims 7 Taylor discloses the magnetic field sensor of claim 6 further comprising one or more through silicon vias (Fig. discloses a substrate can be comprised of a semiconductor material, e.g., silicon Paragraph [0040]) coupled between the first surface of the semiconductor die and the second surface of the semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166 discloses a substrate 166 a first surface and a second opposing surface 166a & 166b Paragraph [0067]),
As to claims 8 Taylor discloses the magnetic field sensor of claim 7
wherein the layer of ferromagnetic material (Fig. 6 Item 184 discloses a 184 can each be comprised of a variety of materials, including Permalloy, and iron in Paragraph [0074]) formed is formed over the second surface of the semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166).
As to claims 9 Taylor discloses the magnetic field sensor of claim 8 wherein the
As to claims 9 Taylor discloses the magnetic field sensor of claim 8 wherein the
As to claims 11 Taylor discloses the magnetic field sensor of claim 6, wherein the layer of ferromagnetic material (Fig. 6 Item 184) is formed over the second surface of the semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166) further comprising a protective layer (Fig. 6 Item 164) disposed between the second surface of the semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166) and the layer of ferromagnetic material (Fig. 6 Item 184).
As to claims 14 Taylor discloses the magnetic field sensor of claim 1 wherein the layer of ferromagnetic material comprises a molded polymer (Fig. Item 250 discloses a frame 250 is molded into a plastic Paragraph [0092]).
As to claims 23 Taylor discloses a magnetic field sensor comprising:
a semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166 discloses a current sensor 150 also includes a substrate 166 Paragraph [0067]) having a first surface and a second opposing surface (Fig. 6 Item 166 discloses a substrate 166 a first surface and a second opposing surface 166a & 166b Paragraph [0067]), wherein a magnetic field sensing element (Fig. 6 Item 158 discloses sensing element 158 Paragraph [0067]) is disposed in the second surface and wherein the semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166) is configured for attachment to a lead frame (Fig. 6 Item 152),
a layer of dielectric material (Fig. 6 Item 184 discloses a flux concentrating
layer 184 Paragraph [0075]) that is formed over the second surface (Fig. 6 Item 166 b) of the semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166) and the magnetic field sensing element (Fig. 6 Item 158 discloses sensing element 158 substantially aligned with a maximum response axis of the Hall effect element 158 Paragraph [0068]);
a layer of ferromagnetic material (Fig. 6 Item 184 discloses a 184 can each be
comprised of a variety of materials, including Permalloy, and iron in Paragraph [0074]) that is formed over the layer of dielectric material (Fig. 6 discloses current sensors include a Hall effect element mounted on a dielectric material Paragraph [0006]), the layer of ferromagnetic are aligned (Fig. 6 Item 158 discloses sensing element 158 substantially aligned with a maximum response axis of the Hall effect element 158 Paragraph [0068]) with each other in the layer; and
one or more solder balls (Fig. 6 Item 160 a-160 c discloses a solder balls 160 a-
160 c couple directly to the leads 152 e-152 Paragraph [0067]) attached to the first surface of the semiconductor die and configured to contact the lead frame (see e.g. figs. 6;6A; para 0040;0067; note that the substrate is a semiconductor material).
wherein the layer of dielectric material is arranged to provide an isolation barrier between the magnetic field sensing element and the magnetic particles.
However Taylor does not explicitly teach the layer of ferromagnetic material
including a polymer with hard magnetic particles;
a layer of ferromagnetic material that is formed over the layer of dielectric material,
However, Theuss teaches the layer of ferromagnetic material including a polymer
with hard magnetic particles; (Fig. 2 Item 46 & 48 discloses, hard magnetic particles may be magnetized before or after curing of the polymer matrix material. Suitable hard magnetic particles include NdFeB, SmCo, AlNiCo, ferrites or similar magnetic particles. The particles (whether soft or hard magnetic particles) are distributed in polymer 46 and have a mean particle diameter of between approximately 20-150 micrometers Paragraph [0030]),
a layer of ferromagnetic material (Fig. 1-2 Item magnet 32) that is formed over the layer of dielectric material (Fig. 1-2 Item dielectric 34),
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify an integrated circuit current sensor includes a lead frame having at least two leads coupled to provide a current conductor portion is unfoldedin Taylor to include the layer of ferromagnetic material including a polymer with hard magnetic particles as taught by Theuss in order to provide a polymer bonded permanent magnetic material that is magnetized during or after deposition over chip in Paragraph [0030]).
As to claims 24 Taylor discloses the magnetic field sensor of claim 23, wherein the layer of dielectric material includes a polyimide layer or a tape layer (Fig. 6 discloses current sensors include a Hall effect element mounted on a dielectric material Paragraph [0006]).
As to claims 25 Taylor discloses the magnetic field sensor of claim 1, wherein the magnetic field sensing element (Fig. 6 Item 158 discloses sensing element 158 Paragraph [0067]) is disposed on the first surface (Fig. 6 Item 166).
As to claims 26 Taylor discloses the magnetic field sensor of claim 25, wherein the solder balls (Fig. 6 Item 160) are embedded into the layer of ferromagnetic material (Fig. 6 Item 184).
As to claims 27 Taylor discloses the magnetic field sensor of claim 23, wherein the one or more solder balls (Fig. 6 Item 160) are attached to the first surface of the semiconductor die (Fig. 6 Item 166).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT J ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858