DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: D2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because “have same structure” on line 2 should be changed to “have a same structure” and “in electrically” on line 3 should be changed to “in the electrically”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Czarnecki et al. [Czarnecki hereinafter, US 8,138,433].
In regard to claim 1, Czarnecki discloses [in Figs. 16 and 17] an electrical device, comprising: a first sub-mechanism [170], switchable between an electrically conductive state and an electrically isolated state, a second sub-mechanism [172], switchable between an electrically conductive state and an electrically isolated state, wherein when one of the first sub-mechanism [170] and the second sub-mechanism [172] is electrically isolated, the other of the first sub-mechanism [170] and the second sub-mechanism [173] is electrically conductive, wherein the electrical device is connected to a neutral line either by the first sub-mechanism [170] when the first sub-mechanism [170] is in the electrically conductive state or by the second sub-mechanism [172] when the second sub-mechanism [172] is in the electrically conductive state.
In regard to claims 8 and 9, Czarnecki discloses [in Figs. 16 and 17] the electrical device according to claim 1, wherein, the electrical device is a solid-state circuit breaker.
In regard to claim 10, Czarnecki discloses [in Figs. 16 and 17] a first
sub-mechanism [170], switchable between an electrically conductive state and an electrically isolated state, a second sub-mechanism [172], switchable between an electrically conductive state and an electrically isolated state, a third sub-mechanism [166], switchable between an electrically conductive state and an electrically isolated state, wherein when one of the first sub-mechanism [170] and the second sub-mechanism [172] is electrically isolated, the other of the first sub-mechanism [170] and the second sub-mechanism [172] is electrically conductive, and wherein the electrical device is connected to a neutral line either by the first sub-mechanism [170] when the first sub-mechanism [170] is in the electrically conductive state or by the second sub-mechanism [172] when the second sub-mechanism [172] is in the electrically conductive state, wherein and the third sub-mechanism [166] is connected to the live line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czarnecki et al. [Czarnecki hereinafter, US 8,138,433] in view of Powell [US 6,541,719]. Czarnecki discloses [in Figs. 16 and 17] the electrical device according to claim 1. Czarnecki does not disclose that the first sub-mechanism comprises a first stationary part and a first movable part which is movable relative to the first stationary part in a first direction and in a second direction opposite to the first direction to realize contact and separation between the first stationary part and the first movable part, wherein the movement in the first direction allows the first movable part to move towards the first stationary part, and the first sub-mechanism is electrically conductive when the first stationary part contacts with the first movable part; and second sub-mechanism comprises a second stationary part and a second movable part which is movable relative to the second stationary part in the first direction and in the second direction to realize contact and separation of the second stationary part and the second movable part, wherein the movement in the first direction allows the second movable part to move away from the second stationary part, and the second sub-mechanism is electrically conductive when the second stationary part contacts with the second movable part. Powell teaches [in Figs. 1-3] that the first sub-mechanism [2] comprises a first stationary part [15] and a first movable part [20] which is movable relative to the first stationary part in a first direction and in a second direction opposite to the first direction to realize contact and separation between the first stationary part [15] and the first movable part [20], wherein the movement in the first direction allows the first movable part [20] to move towards the first stationary part [15], and the first sub-mechanism [2] is electrically conductive when the first stationary part [15] contacts with the first movable part [20]; and the second sub-mechanism [3] comprises a second stationary part [15] and a second movable part [20] which is movable relative to the second stationary part [15] in the first direction and in the second direction to realize contact and separation of the second stationary part [15] and the second movable part [20], wherein the movement in the first direction allows the second movable part [20] to move away from the second stationary part [15], and the second sub-mechanism [3] is electrically conductive when the second stationary part contacts [15] with the second movable part [20]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the well-known first and second sub-mechanisms of Powell with the electrical device of Czarnecki in order to actuate the electrical device as desired.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czarnecki et al. [Czarnecki hereinafter, US 8,138,433] in view of Lanjekar et al. [Lanjekar hereinafter, US 2024/0096570]. Czarnecki discloses [in Figs. 16 and 17] the electrical system according to claim 10. Czarnecki does not disclose a main circuit and a sub- grid, wherein the main circuit and the sub-grid are connected through the electrical device, and the main circuit comprises the live line and the neutral line, wherein when the sub-grid is electrically conductive to the neutral line and the live line through the first sub-mechanism and the third sub-mechanism respectively, the main circuit supplies power to the sub-grid. Lanjekar teaches [in Fig. 1A] a main circuit [101] and a sub- grid [102], wherein the main circuit and the sub-grid are connected through the electrical device [110], wherein when the sub-grid is electrically conductive to the neutral line and the live line through the first sub-mechanism [in 110] and the third sub-mechanism [in 110] respectively, the main circuit supplies power to the sub-grid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the main circuit and sub-grid of Lanjekar with the electrical system of Czarnecki in order to enable the electrical system to perform and serve as required [Lanjekar, Par. 0034].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czarnecki et al. [Czarnecki hereinafter, US 8,138,433] in view of Lanjekar et al. [Lanjekar hereinafter, US 2024/0096570] further in view of Powell [US 6,541,719]. Czarnecki and Lanjekar teach the electrical system of claim 11. Czarnecki and Lanjekar do not teach that the first sub-mechanism comprises a first stationary part and a first movable part which is movable relative to the first stationary part in a first direction and in a second direction opposite to the first direction to realize contact and separation between the first stationary part and the first movable part, wherein the movement in the first direction allows the first movable part to move towards the first stationary part, and the first sub-mechanism is electrically conductive when the first stationary part contacts with the first movable part; and second sub-mechanism comprises a second stationary part and a second movable part which is movable relative to the second stationary part in the first direction and in the second direction to realize contact and separation of the second stationary part and the second movable part, wherein the movement in the first direction allows the second movable part to move away from the second stationary part, and the second sub-mechanism is electrically conductive when the second stationary part contacts with the second movable part. Powell teaches [in Figs. 1-3] that the first sub-mechanism [2] comprises a first stationary part [15] and a first movable part [20] which is movable relative to the first stationary part in a first direction and in a second direction opposite to the first direction to realize contact and separation between the first stationary part [15] and the first movable part [20], wherein the movement in the first direction allows the first movable part [20] to move towards the first stationary part [15], and the first sub-mechanism [2] is electrically conductive when the first stationary part [15] contacts with the first movable part [20]; and the second sub-mechanism [3] comprises a second stationary part [15] and a second movable part [20] which is movable relative to the second stationary part [15] in the first direction and in the second direction to realize contact and separation of the second stationary part [15] and the second movable part [20], wherein the movement in the first direction allows the second movable part [20] to move away from the second stationary part [15], and the second sub-mechanism [3] is electrically conductive when the second stationary part contacts [15] with the second movable part [20]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the well-known first and second sub-mechanisms of Powell with the electrical device of Czarnecki, as modified by Lanjekar, in order to actuate the electrical device as desired.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The objection to claim 5 must also be properly addressed. In regard to claims 3 and 13, in combination with other limitations, the third sub-mechanism comprising a third stationary part and a third movable part, the third movable part is movable relative to the third stationary part in the first direction and in the second direction to realize contact and separation between the third stationary part and the third movable part, wherein the movement in the first direction allows the third movable part to move towards the third stationary part, and the third sub-mechanism is electrically conductive when the third stationary part contacts with the third movable part is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 10have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LHEIREN MAE A CAROC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831