DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (i.e., claims 29-38) in the reply filed on 06/02/25 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II-A-1 and II-B-2 [i.e., claims 29-30, 33 and 37-40 (note that Species II-A-1: claims 31/34 vs. Species II-A-2: claims 32/35-36; and Species II-B-2: claim 33 vs. Species II-B-1: claim 29)] in the reply filed on 12/29/25 is acknowledged. Note that claim 36 depends from non-elected claim 35, as such, claim 36 is also withdrawn from consideration. The traversal is on the ground(s) that (as best understood by the examiner) “…a microprocessor is one species of a generic ‘battery condition determining circuit’…Therefore, a microprocessor and a generic term (i.e., ‘battery condition determining circuit’) that encompasses a microprocessor cannot be mutually exclusive species, because a microprocessor is subsumed within the scope of a battery condition determining circuit” and “…because ‘battery condition determining circuit’ necessarily overlaps ‘microprocessor’…” and “…claim 29 is in no way restricted to a battery pack that is not configured to output an electrical signal that indicates whether or not the battery pack is in a discharge-capable state and thus claim 29 should properly be interpreted under Section 112(d)as generically covering both (a) an embodiment in which the battery pack is not configured to output an electrical signal that indicates whether or not the battery pack is in a discharge-capable state and (b) an embodiment in which the battery pack is configured to output an electrical signal that indicates whether or not the battery pack is in a discharge-capable state…”. This is not found persuasive because as set forth in the 06/18/25 election of species, Species II-A-1 encompasses a structural/mechanical feature different from that of Species II-A-2 (refer to the election of species dated 06/18/25 for details); similarly, Species II-B-1 encompasses a structural/mechanical feature different from that of Species II-B-2 (refer to the election of species dated 06/18/25 for details). In this respect, applicant has not yet provided any specific technical reason(s) or objective explanation to clearly support that Species II-A-1/2 and Species II-B-1/2 are not mutually exclusive in terms of either their structures, functional aspects, cooperative relationship, material/compositions, chemical properties and/or mechanical features and the likes within the context of the claimed invention. Further, (emphasis supplied) applicant has not yet admitted on the written record that, or submitted or identified evidence to show, Species II-A-1/2 and Species II-B-1/2 are obvious variants. Therefore, the embodiments of Species II-A-1/2 and Species II-B-1/2 represent distinct and mutually exclusive species which do not overlap in scope. Moreover, applicant's attention is particularly directed to MPEP 809.02(a) which indicates how to identify species by illustrative figures, examples, mechanical means, particular materials, or other distinguishing characteristics. Accordingly, serious burden would be raised if the search of such different species was made as required for the separate, distinct and mutually exclusive species or embodiments.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application is a division of application S/N 17/550091, filed 12/14/21 which is also a division of application S/N 16/884322, filed 05/27/20.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (e).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/14/24, 12/31/24 and 12/29/25 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 03/13/24.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the current status of all the parent applications (whether abandoned or patented/patent #) must be updated. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 29-30, 33 and 37-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11233282. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
US Patent’282 claims the following (see claims 1-13):
1. A battery-powered portable tool, comprising: a battery pack containing at least one all-solid-state battery cell within a housing; a tool main body, on which and/or inside which the battery pack is mountable and from which the battery pack is demountable; and a battery temperature-measurement circuit disposed only in the battery pack or partially in the tool main body and partially in the battery pack; wherein the battery temperature-measurement circuit comprises: a high-temperature measurement circuit that outputs accurate measurement results in a high-temperature range but is less accurate in a low-temperature range, the high-temperature range differing from the low-temperature range; a low-temperature measurement circuit that outputs accurate measurement results in the low-temperature range but is less accurate in the high-temperature range; and a switching apparatus configured to select and/or output a signal representative or indicative of the battery temperature based on (i) an output of the low-temperature measurement circuit when an output value of the high-temperature measurement circuit enters a first abnormal range and (ii) an output of the high-temperature measurement circuit when an output value of the low-temperature measurement circuit enters a second abnormal range.
2. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 1, wherein: the high-temperature measurement circuit comprises a first circuit in which a thermistor and a first voltage-divider resistance for high temperature are connected in series; and the low-temperature measurement circuit comprises a second series circuit in which the thermistor and a second voltage-divider resistance for low temperature are connected in series.
3. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 2, wherein the resistance value of the first voltage-divider resistance for high temperature is lower than the resistance value of the second voltage-divider resistance for low temperature.
4. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 1, wherein a portion of the high-temperature measurement circuit and a portion of the low-temperature measurement circuit are contained within the tool main body.
5. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 1, wherein the high-temperature measurement circuit and the low-temperature measurement circuit are contained within the battery pack.
6. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 1, wherein the lower-limit temperature at which the high-temperature measurement circuit outputs accurate measurement results is higher than the upper-limit temperature at which the low-temperature measurement circuit outputs accurate measurement results.
7. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 1, further comprising: an actuator configured to operate using electric power supplied by the battery pack, the actuator being contained within the interior of the tool main body; wherein the following relationship is satisfied: (maximum output of the actuator at −20° C.)/(maximum output of the actuator at +50° C.) >0.5.
8. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 1, further comprising: an actuator configured to operate using electric power supplied by the battery pack, the actuator being contained within the interior of the tool main body; wherein the portable tool is configured to operate the actuator even if the ambient temperature is 0° C. or lower, as long as the ambient temperature is −30° C. or higher.
9. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 1, further comprising: an actuator configured to operate using electric power supplied by the battery pack, the actuator being contained with the interior of the tool main body; wherein the portable tool is configured to operate the actuator even if the ambient temperature is +50° C. or higher, as long as the battery temperature is +100° C. or lower.
10. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 1, wherein the battery pack has an electric energy storage capacity per unit of battery pack weight of 200 Watt-hours/kg or more.
11. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 1, wherein the battery pack has an electric energy storage capacity per unit of battery pack volume of 300 Watt-hours/l or more.
12. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 2, further comprising: an actuator configured to operate using electric power supplied by the battery pack, the actuator being contained within the interior of the tool main body; wherein: the maximum output of the actuator at −20° C. is at least 50% of the maximum output of the actuator at +50° C., the portable tool is configured to operate the actuator even if the ambient temperature is 0° C. or lower, as long as the ambient temperature is −30° C. or higher; the portable tool is configured to operate the actuator even if the ambient temperature is +50° C. or higher, as long as the battery temperature is +100° C. or lower; and the battery pack has an electric energy storage capacity per unit of battery pack weight of 200 Watt-hours/kg or more.
13. A battery pack configured to be mounted on a tool main body, wherein when the battery pack is mounted on the tool main body, a battery-powered portable tool according to claim 1 is completed.
In this case, the claims of US Patent’282 fully encompass the more generic/broader subject matter recited in the claims of the present application. In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 1053, 29 USPQ2d 2010, 2016 (Fed. Cir. t993); In re Braithwaite, 379 F.2d 594, 154 USPQ 29 (CCPA 1967). Further, combinations of independent claim 1 with any one of dependent claims 2-13 are obvious variations and/or modifications.
Claims 29-30, 33 and 37-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11955615. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
US Patent’615 claims the following (see claims 1-20):
1. A battery-powered portable tool comprising: a battery pack containing at least one all-solid-state battery cell; a tool main body, on which and/or inside which the battery pack is mountable and from which the battery pack is demountable; and a plurality of components; wherein the plurality of components is disposed in a first layout when the temperature is low and is disposed in a second layout when the temperature is high, the first layout differing from the second layout; the plurality of components is configured to automatically switch from the first layout to the second layout and vice versa in accordance with a temperature change; and the plurality of components includes: a warming-required component, which requires warming when the temperature is lower than a first boundary temperature, and a heat-dissipation-required component, which requires heat dissipation when the temperature is higher than a second boundary temperature; the warming-required component and the heat-dissipation-required component are both disposed in one of the battery pack or the tool main body; the first boundary temperature is lower than the second boundary temperature, and the plurality of components is switched from the first layout to the second layout and vice versa within a temperature range between the first boundary temperature and the second boundary temperature.
2. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 1, further comprising: a bimetal or bimetal strip configured to switch the plurality of components between the first layout and the second layout.
3. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 1, wherein the temperature range, in which the plurality of components is switched between the first layout and the second layout and vice versa, is between −5° C. and +50° C.
4. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 2, further comprising: a heat-dissipating member, wherein the bimetal or bimetal strip has the property of changing its shape between a first configuration and a second configuration in accordance with temperature, and the bimetal or bimetal strip is configured such that: the heat-dissipation-required component and the heat-dissipating member are in a noncontacting state in the first configuration due to the temperature being equal to or lower than the first boundary temperature, and the heat-dissipation-required component and the heat-dissipating member are brought into contact in the second configuration due to the temperature being equal to or higher than the second boundary temperature.
5. The battery-powered tool according to the claim 4, wherein the bimetal or bimetal strip changes shape such that it switches between the contact state and the noncontacting state at the first boundary temperature.
6. The battery-powered tool according to claim 4, wherein the bimetal or bimetal strip changes shape such that it switches between the contact state and the noncontacting state at the second boundary temperature.
7. The battery-powered tool according to claim 1, wherein: the warming-required component includes a microprocessor, and the heat-dissipation-required component includes an inverter having at least one transistor.
8. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 7, further comprising: a bimetal or bimetal strip configured to switch the plurality of components between the first layout and the second layout by changing its shape between a first configuration and a second configuration and vice versa in accordance with temperature; and a heat-dissipating member, wherein: the temperature range, in which the plurality of components is switched by the bimetal or bimetal strip from the first layout to the second layout and vice versa, is between −5° C. and +50° C., and the bimetal or bimetal strip is configured such that: the heat-dissipation-required component and the heat-dissipating member are in a noncontacting state in the first configuration due to the temperature being equal to or lower than the first boundary temperature, and the heat-dissipation-required component and the heat-dissipating member are brought into contact in the second configuration due to the temperature being equal to or higher than the second boundary temperature.
9. A battery-powered portable tool comprising: a battery pack containing at least one all-solid-state battery cell; a tool main body, on which and/or inside which the battery pack is mountable and from which the battery pack is demountable; and a plurality of components; wherein: the plurality of components is arranged in a first physical configuration in a first temperature range, the plurality of components is arranged in a second physical configuration in a second temperature range that is higher than the first temperature range, the first physical configuration differs from the second physical configuration, the plurality of components is configured to automatically switch: from the first physical configuration to the second physical configuration in response to a change from the first temperature range to the second temperature range, and from the second physical configuration to the first physical configuration in response to a change from the second temperature range to the first temperature range, and the plurality of components comprises: a warming-required component that requires warming when the temperature is lower than a first boundary temperature, and a heat-dissipation-required component that requires heat dissipation when the temperature is higher than a second boundary temperature; and wherein: the warming-required component and the heat-dissipation-required component are both disposed in one of the battery pack or the tool main body; the first boundary temperature is lower than the second boundary temperature, and the plurality of components is configured to be switched from the first physical configuration to the second physical configuration and vice versa between the first boundary temperature and the second boundary temperature.
10. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 9, further comprising: a bimetal or bimetal strip configured to switch the plurality of components between the first physical configuration and the second physical configuration.
11. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 9, wherein the plurality of components is switched from the first physical configuration to the second layout and vice versa between −5° C. and +50° C.
12. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 10, further comprising: a heat-dissipating member, wherein the bimetal or bimetal strip changes from a first shape to a second shape and vice verso in accordance with a change in temperature, and the bimetal or bimetal strip is configured to cause: the heat-dissipation-required component to be spaced apart from the heat-dissipating member while the temperature is equal to or lower than the first boundary temperature and the bimetal or bimetal strip has assumed the first shape, and the heat-dissipation-required component to contact the heat-dissipating member while the temperature is equal to or higher than the second boundary temperature and the bimetal or bimetal strip has assumed the second shape.
13. The battery-powered tool according to the claim 12, wherein the bimetal or bimetal strip changes from the first shape to the second shape or vice versa in a temperature range encompassing the first boundary temperature.
14. The battery-powered tool according to the claim 12, wherein the bimetal or bimetal strip changes from the first shape to the second shape or vice versa in a temperature range encompassing the second boundary temperature.
15. The battery-powered tool according to claim 9, wherein: the warming-required component includes a microprocessor, and the heat-dissipation-required component includes an inverter having at least one transistor.
16. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 15, further comprising: a bimetal or bimetal strip configured to switch the plurality of components between the first physical configuration and the second physical configuration and vice versa by changing from a first shape to a second shape and vice versa in accordance with a change in temperature; and a heat-dissipating member, wherein: the temperature range, in which the plurality of components is switched by the bimetal or bimetal strip from the first physical configuration to the second physical configuration and vice versa, is between −5° C. and +50° C., and the bimetal or bimetal strip is configured to cause: the heat-dissipation-required component to be spaced apart from the heat-dissipating member while the temperature is equal to or lower than the first boundary temperature and the bimetal or bimetal strip has assumed the first shape, and the heat-dissipation-required component to directly contact the heat-dissipating member while the temperature is equal to or higher than the second boundary temperature and the bimetal or bimetal strip has assumed the second shape.
17. A battery-powered portable tool comprising: a battery pack containing at least one all-solid-state battery cell; a tool main body, on which and/or inside which the battery pack is mountable and from which the battery pack is demountable; a warming-required component, which requires warming when the temperature is lower than a first boundary temperature; and a heat-dissipation-required component, which requires heat dissipation when the temperature is higher than a second boundary temperature; wherein: the warming-required component and the heat-dissipation-required component are both disposed in one of the battery pack or the tool main body; the first boundary temperature is lower than the second boundary temperature; a first layout of the warming-required component and the heat-dissipation-required component automatically switches in response to a temperature change to a second layout of the warming-required component and the heat-dissipation-required component and vice versa within a temperature range between the first boundary temperature and the second boundary temperature; and the first layout differs from the second layout.
18. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 17, wherein: the warming-required component includes a microprocessor, and the heat-dissipation-required component includes an inverter having at least one transistor.
19. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 17, further comprising: a heat-dissipating member; and a bimetal or bimetal strip; wherein the bimetal or bimetal strip has the property of changing its shape between a first configuration and a second configuration in accordance with temperature, and the bimetal or bimetal strip is configured such that: the heat-dissipation-required component and the heat-dissipating member are in a noncontacting state in the first layout due to the temperature being equal to or lower than the first boundary temperature, and the heat-dissipation-required component and the heat-dissipating member are brought into contact in the second layout due to the temperature being equal to or higher than the second boundary temperature.
20. The battery-powered portable tool according to claim 17, wherein the temperature range, in which the plurality of components is switched between the first layout and the second layout and vice versa, is between −5° C. and +50° C.
In this case, the claims of US Patent’615 fully encompass the more generic/broader subject matter recited in the claims of the present application. In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 1053, 29 USPQ2d 2010, 2016 (Fed. Cir. t993); In re Braithwaite, 379 F.2d 594, 154 USPQ 29 (CCPA 1967). Further, combinations of independent claims 1, 9 and 17 with any one of dependent claims 2-8, 10-16 and 18-20 are obvious variations and/or modifications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-30, 33 and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the publication CN 206122746 (heretofore CN’746) in view of Hasegawa et al 2019/0140311.
As to claims 29, 33, 39:
CN’746 discloses that it is known in the art to make a battery-powered portable tool such as driller comprising a battery pack containing battery cells housed by a casing/enclosure; a tool main body on/inside which the battery pack is accommodated/mounted/demounted; a plurality of components/elements including a switching element, circuit components (i.e., microcontroller or processor) for indicating the state of charge/discharge of the battery; a first/second terminals or leads connected to the circuit components and to the portable tool and a locking component responsive to the temperature so that when the temperature increases or decreases the battery pack and the plurality of components is/are able to switch from a first position to a second position, or move/dislodge between different physical locations and/or first/second layouts (0017-0026; 0005-0007; Abstract; Claims 1-5; see Figure 1).
As to claims 30, 40:
In CN’746, the portable tool comprises a motor housed in the tool main body and is drivn by powered provided by the battery cells mounted thereon; and there are first/second terminals/leads connected to the circuit components and to the portable tool (0017-0026; 0005-0007; Abstract; Claims 1-5; see Figure 1).
CN’746 teaches a battery-powered portable tool according to the foregoing. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the battery pack containing at least one all-solid-state battery cell.
As to claims 29, 37-38:
In this respect, Hasegawa et al discloses that it is known in the art to use the disclosed all-solid-state battery in a wide range of power sources such as a small-sized power source for portable devices (0126; 0010; Abstract; Claim 1; Figures 1-3 & 9). With respect to the specific electric energy storage capacity per unit of battery weight/volume, it is noted that such specific properties and/or characteristics are inherent to the all-solid-state battery cells disclosed by Hasegawa et al. Thus, as per MPEP 2112 Requirements of Rejection Based on Inherency; Burden of Proof: "V. ONCE A REFERENCE TEACHING PRODUCT APPEARING TO BE SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL IS MADE THE BASIS OF A REJECTION, AND THE EXAMINER PRESENTS EVIDENCE OR REASONING TENDING TO SHOW INHERENCY, THE BURDEN SHIFTS TO THE APPLICANT TO SHOW AN UNOBVIOUS DIFFERENCE ....[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. 102, or prima facie obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same... [footnote omitted]." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (quoting In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433- 34 (CCPA 1977)).
By compounding the above teachings, it would have been within the purview of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the disclosed all-solid-state battery as the battery in the battery-powered portable tool of CN’746 because Hasegawa et al teach that all-solid-state battery cells can be widely use in multiple applications including portable tools for their effective and reliable energy/capacity characteristics. Further, the claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations, or based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a “base” device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way is prima-facie obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US- 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). KSR, 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Conclusion
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752