DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see remarks, filed 06/04/2026, with respect to claims 1-21, have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current references and current combinations of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 14 Line 2, the term “wherein the second guidance” should be changed to, “wherein a In order to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7-9, 11-13, and 16-21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sekiguchi (US 20230161717 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sekiguchi.
Regarding claim 1, Sekiguchi teaches a control method executed by an information processing apparatus (Fig. 1, #101 called an information processing apparatus. Paragraph [0018]), comprising:
acquiring device information of a communication apparatus (Fig. 1, #151 called a communication apparatus. Paragraph [0023]) from the communication apparatus (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0057]- Sekiguchi discloses the setting application preliminarily recognizes that a beacon of an SSID including a predetermined character string is issued from a communication apparatus 151 operating in the network setup mode. Thus, by discovering an SSID including a predetermined character string, the CPU 103 can discover the communication apparatus 151 operating in the network setup mode. Further in paragraph [0067]-Sekiguchi discloses in step S210, the CPU 103 acquires information regarding a model of the communication apparatus 151 from the discovered communication apparatus 151 via the target I/F.);
executing setup processing for connecting the communication apparatus to an external apparatus outside the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0023]- Sekiguchi discloses the setting application is installed from an external server (wherein the external server is an external apparatus) and stored into the external storage device 106 by internet communication via the communication unit 110, for example. The external storage device 106 stores various programs, such as transmission/reception control programs for information to be transmitted to and received from the communication apparatus 151 connected via the communication unit 110, and various types of information to be used by the programs. Please also read paragraph [0033]-wherein the access point is an external apparatus also.);
and displaying, on a display (Fig. 1, #108 called a display unit. Paragraph [0049]), a guidance (Fig. 4A-B and Fig. 8, illustrates a display screen for connection selection method for a printer device. Paragraph [0102]) for executing the setup processing based on the acquired device information of the communication apparatus (Fig. 1-3. Paragraph [0053]-Sekiguchi discloses the processing in the flowchart illustrated in FIG. 2 is started in response to a predetermined operation that is performed on a screen displayed by the setting application to execute the initial setting processing (hereinafter, will be referred to as a setting operation). Please also see Fig. 8 and Paragraph [0102]),
wherein the guidance is made different between a case where the device information of the communication apparatus indicates that the communication apparatus includes a predetermined component for accepting an instruction to start, in the communication apparatus (Fig. 1, #151 called a communication apparatus. Paragraph [0023]), an operation in a mode of executing the setup processing and a case where the device information indicates that the communication apparatus does not include the predetermined component (Fig. 4A-B and Fig. 8, illustrates a display screen for connection selection method of operation for a printer device showing the availability of connection method based on the predetermined component for wired or wireless etc. Paragraph [0102]- Sekiguchi discloses in a case where the CPU 103 determines in step S204 that the communication apparatus 151 can use a wireless LAN interface, but administrator authentication is required, the CPU 103 adds information indicating a state in which administrator authentication is required, to a choice of wireless LAN connection. Then, in a case where the user selects a connection I/F requiring administrator authentication, the CPU 103 display an administrator authentication screen. A notification screen can include a software button for opening the administrator authentication screen, for example, and the administrator authentication screen can be displayed in response to a pressing operation on the software button. Furthermore, in a case where the CPU 103 determines in the processing in the flowchart in FIG. 7 (step S204 of FIG. 2) that the communication apparatus 151 cannot use a wired LAN interface, for example, a message notifying that wired LAN connection is unavailable, and a choice of wired LAN connection that is in an un-selectable state are displayed in the notification. FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a notification for prompting the user to select a connection I/F to be used in communication with the target communication apparatus 151, from among connection I/Fs determined as available connection I/Fs. While a notification screen 800 is a selection screen including radio buttons, the notification screen 800 can have a drop-down list or use another selection method, and a display state of an unavailable connection I/F can be changed to a non-displayed state.).
Regarding claim 5, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 1, Sekiguchi further teaches wherein a first guidance is displayed on the display (Fig. 4 and 8, illustrates a display screen for connection selection method of operation for a printer device showing the availability of connection method based on the predetermined component for wired or wireless etc. Paragraph [0102]) in a case where the device information of the communication apparatus indicates that the communication apparatus includes the predetermined component (Fig. 4B. Paragraph [0059]-Sekiguchi discloses In step S211, the CPU 103 displays, on the display unit 108 (notifies the user of), a connection I/F available to the information processing apparatus 101, and receives a selection of a connection I/F to be used in initial setting processing, from the user. Specifically, the CPU 103 displays a notification screen 450 as illustrated in FIG. 4B, on the display unit 108. The notification screen 450 is a selection screen including radio buttons, but a notification screen that includes a drop-down list or uses another selection method can be displayed.),
and a second guidance is displayed on the display in a case where the device information of the communication apparatus indicates that the communication apparatus does not include the predetermined component (Fig. 4A, illustrates the wired lan connection is not available on target printer. Paragraph [0062]-Sekiguchi discloses the notification screen 400 can include a region for describing the details of an operation for turning on the switch, or a software button for newly displaying the region, for example. In a case where the software button is pressed, for example, the region can be displayed on a web browser as internet content. The switch can be a physical button, or can be a switch that causes control of enabling or disabling of communication via a connection I/F to be executed by an operation of a menu displayed on a display unit (not illustrated) included in the communication apparatus 151.),
and the first guidance is a guidance for prompting to execute the setup processing using the predetermined component (Fig. 4B. Paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 7, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 1, Sekiguchi further teaches wherein the predetermined component is a button that can accept an instruction to start, in the communication apparatus, the operation in the mode of executing the setup processing (Fig. 4 and 8, illustrates selected buttons to setup the processing mode of the device. Paragraph [0059]- Sekiguchi discloses the CPU 103 displays a notification screen 450 as illustrated in FIG. 4B, on the display unit 108. The notification screen 450 is a selection screen including radio buttons, but a notification screen that includes a drop-down list or uses another selection method can be displayed. Further in paragraph [0062]- Sekiguchi discloses FIG. 4A illustrates an example of a notification for prompting the user to select a connection I/F determined as a connection I/F available on the target communication apparatus 151. A notification screen 400 is a selection screen including radio buttons. Alternatively, the notification screen 400 can include a drop-down list or use another selection method. In a case where the communication apparatus 151 includes a switch for controlling enabling or disabling of communication via a connection UF, and the user can operate the switch, for example, a description notifying that a switch of a connection I/F unavailable on the communication apparatus 151 is turned off can be displayed on the notification screen 400.).
Regarding claim 8, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 7, Sekiguchi further teaches wherein the button is a hardware button (Fig. 1-4. Paragraph [0043]- Sekiguchi discloses the input interface 158 is an interface for receiving a data input and an operation instruction from the user by the operation unit 159, such as a physical button, being operated. The operation unit 159 can be a software keyboard or a software button that is displayed on the display unit 161.).
Regarding claim 9, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 7, Sekiguchi further teaches wherein the button is a software button (Fig. 1-4. Paragraph [0043]- Sekiguchi discloses the input interface 158 is an interface for receiving a data input and an operation instruction from the user by the operation unit 159, such as a physical button, being operated. The operation unit 159 can be a software keyboard or a software button that is displayed on the display unit 161.).
Regarding claim 11, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 7, Sekiguchi further teaches wherein the mode of executing the setup processing is a mode in which the communication apparatus operates as an access point (Fig. 1-3. Paragraph [0047]- Sekiguchi discloses the network interface 162 includes an access point to connect with an apparatus, such as the information processing apparatus 101, as an access point in the communication apparatus 151. The access point can connect to the network interface 112 of the information processing apparatus 101. When the network interface 162 activates the internal access point, the communication apparatus 151 operates as an access point. Please also read paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 12, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 7, Sekiguchi further teaches wherein the setup processing includes processing of transmitting information concerning the external apparatus to the communication apparatus via connection between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus operating in the mode of executing the setup processing (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0030]- Sekiguchi discloses the information processing apparatus 101 can execute network setup processing of another apparatus. The network setup processing of another apparatus is processing of connecting another apparatus with an access point that forms a network. Specifically, the information processing apparatus 101 transmits connection information on an access point to the communication apparatus 151 via Wi-Fi connection established between the information processing apparatus 101 and the communication apparatus 151 operating in a network setup mode to be described below. Then, the communication apparatus 151 can connect to a network formed by the access point, by connecting to the access point using the received connection information on the access point.).
Regarding claim 13, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 7, Sekiguchi further teaches wherein the guidance displayed in a case where the device information of the communication apparatus indicates that the communication apparatus includes the predetermined component includes a region for prompting a user to operate the button (Fig. 4 and 8, illustrates a display screen for connection selection method of operation for a printer device showing the availability of connection method based on the predetermined component for wired or wireless etc. Paragraph [0102]- Sekiguchi discloses FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a notification for prompting the user to select a connection I/F to be used in communication with the target communication apparatus 151, from among connection I/Fs determined as available connection I/Fs. While a notification screen 800 is a selection screen including radio buttons, the notification screen 800 can have a drop-down list or use another selection method, and a display state of an unavailable connection I/F can be changed to a nondisplayed state. In a case where the communication apparatus 151 includes a switch for controlling enabling or disabling of communication via a connection I/F, and the user can operate the switch, for example, description notifying that a switch of a connection I/F unavailable on the communication apparatus 151 is turned off can be displayed on the notification screen 800.).
Regarding claim 16, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 1, Sekiguchi further teaches further comprising searching for a communication apparatus in a state in which it is possible to execute the setup processing (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0054]- Sekiguchi discloses First of all, in step S201, the CPU 103 instructs an OS of the information processing apparatus 101 to search for the communication apparatus 151 existing around the information processing apparatus 101, and acquires a search result using the setting application.),
wherein the device information of the communication apparatus is acquired from the found communication apparatus (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0055]- Sekiguchi discloses the CPU 103 acquires information regarding the communication apparatus 151 that can communicate with the information processing apparatus 101, using an application program interface (API) of an OS included in the information processing apparatus 101. For example, the communication apparatus 151 to be discovered as the communication apparatus 151 that can communicate with the information processing apparatus 101 is the communication apparatus 151 belonging to a network to which the information processing apparatus 101 belongs (for example, at least one of a network formed by the AP 131, and a network to which the information processing apparatus 101 connects via a wired LAN interface).).
Regarding claim 17, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 1, Sekiguchi further teaches wherein the display displays a screen (Fig. 4A-B, #400 and #450 called notification screen. Paragraph [0059]) for accepting selection of a communication apparatus (Fig. 1, #151 called a communication apparatus. Paragraph [0058]) for which the setup processing is to be executed (Fig. 1-3. Paragraph [0053]-Sekiguchi discloses the processing in the flowchart illustrated in FIG. 2 is started in response to a predetermined operation that is performed on a screen displayed by the setting application to execute the initial setting processing (hereinafter, will be referred to as a setting operation). Please also see Fig. 8 and Paragraph [0102]), and the guidance for executing the setup processing is displayed on the screen based on the acquired device information of the communication apparatus (Fig. 4A-B and Fig. 8, illustrates a display screen for connection selection method of operation for a printer device showing the availability of connection method based on the predetermined component for wired or wireless etc. Paragraph [0102]- Sekiguchi discloses in a case where the CPU 103 determines in step S204 that the communication apparatus 151 can use a wireless LAN interface, but administrator authentication is required, the CPU 103 adds information indicating a state in which administrator authentication is required, to a choice of wireless LAN connection. Then, in a case where the user selects a connection I/F requiring administrator authentication, the CPU 103 display an administrator authentication screen.).
Regarding claim 18, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 1, Sekiguchi further teaches wherein the communication apparatus is a printer (Fig. 1, #151 called a communication apparatus. Paragraph [0016]- Sekiguchi discloses in the present example embodiment, a multifunction printer (hereinafter, will be referred to as a multifunction peripheral (MFP)) that can provide a copy service, a facsimile (FAX) service, and a print service is exemplified as a communication apparatus, but the communication apparatus is not limited to the examples. Various apparatuses can be used as long as the apparatuses can perform wireless communication with an information processing apparatus. For example, in a case where the communication apparatus is a printer, an inkjet printer, a full-color laser beam printer, or a monochrome printer can be used as the communication apparatus. The communication apparatus is not limited to printers. Further in paragraph [0049]- Sekiguchi discloses the initial setting processing is processing for enabling print data to be output to the communication apparatus 151, by installing a printer driver compatible with the communication apparatus 151, and generating a print queue.).
Regarding claim 19, Sekiguchi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing (Fig. 1, #104 called a ROM. Paragraph [0021]) a program causing a computer (Fig. 1, #101 called an information processing apparatus. Paragraph [0018]), to function to:
acquire device information of a communication apparatus (Fig. 1, #151 called a communication apparatus. Paragraph [0023]) from the communication apparatus (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0057]- Sekiguchi discloses the setting application preliminarily recognizes that a beacon of an SSID including a predetermined character string is issued from a communication apparatus 151 operating in the network setup mode. Thus, by discovering an SSID including a predetermined character string, the CPU 103 can discover the communication apparatus 151 operating in the network setup mode. Further in paragraph [0067]-Sekiguchi discloses in step S210, the CPU 103 acquires information regarding a model of the communication apparatus 151 from the discovered communication apparatus 151 via the target I/F.);
execute setup processing for connecting the communication apparatus to an external apparatus outside the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0023]- Sekiguchi discloses the setting application is installed from an external server (wherein the external server is an external apparatus) and stored into the external storage device 106 by internet communication via the communication unit 110, for example. The external storage device 106 stores various programs, such as transmission/reception control programs for information to be transmitted to and received from the communication apparatus 151 connected via the communication unit 110, and various types of information to be used by the programs.);
and display, on a display (Fig. 1, #108 called a display unit. Paragraph [0049]), a guidance (Fig. 4A-B and Fig. 8, illustrates a display screen for connection selection method for a printer device. Paragraph [0102]) for executing the setup processing based on the acquired device information of the communication apparatus (Fig. 1-3. Paragraph [0053]-Sekiguchi discloses the processing in the flowchart illustrated in FIG. 2 is started in response to a predetermined operation that is performed on a screen displayed by the setting application to execute the initial setting processing (hereinafter, will be referred to as a setting operation). Please also see Fig. 8 and Paragraph [0102]),
wherein the guidance is made different between a case where the device information of the communication apparatus indicates that the communication apparatus includes a predetermined component for accepting an instruction to start, in the communication apparatus (Fig. 1, #151 called a communication apparatus. Paragraph [0023]), an operation in a mode of executing the setup processing
and a case where the device information indicates that the communication apparatus does not include the predetermined component (Fig. 4A-B and Fig. 8, illustrates a display screen for connection selection method of operation for a printer device showing the availability of connection method based on the predetermined component for wired or wireless etc. Paragraph [0102]- Sekiguchi discloses in a case where the CPU 103 determines in step S204 that the communication apparatus 151 can use a wireless LAN interface, but administrator authentication is required, the CPU 103 adds information indicating a state in which administrator authentication is required, to a choice of wireless LAN connection. Then, in a case where the user selects a connection I/F requiring administrator authentication, the CPU 103 display an administrator authentication screen. A notification screen can include a software button for opening the administrator authentication screen, for example, and the administrator authentication screen can be displayed in response to a pressing operation on the software button. Furthermore, in a case where the CPU 103 determines in the processing in the flowchart in FIG. 7 (step S204 of FIG. 2) that the communication apparatus 151 cannot use a wired LAN interface, for example, a message notifying that wired LAN connection is unavailable, and a choice of wired LAN connection that is in an un-selectable state are displayed in the notification. FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a notification for prompting the user to select a connection I/F to be used in communication with the target communication apparatus 151, from among connection I/Fs determined as available connection I/Fs. While a notification screen 800 is a selection screen including radio buttons, the notification screen 800 can have a drop-down list or use another selection method, and a display state of an unavailable connection I/F can be changed to a non-displayed state.).
.
Regarding claim 20, Sekiguchi teaches a system comprising a communication apparatus (Fig. 1, #151 called a communication apparatus. Paragraph [0023]) and an information processing apparatus (Fig. 1, #101 called an information processing apparatus. Paragraph [0018]), the information processing apparatus including at least one memory (Fig. 1, #104 called a ROM. Paragraph [0021]) and at least one processor (Fig. 1, #103 called a CPU. Paragraph [0021]) which execute instructions to:
request the communication apparatus of device information of the communication apparatus (Fig. 1, #151 called a communication apparatus. Paragraph [0023]) and receive the device information of the communication apparatus (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0057]- Sekiguchi discloses the setting application preliminarily recognizes that a beacon of an SSID including a predetermined character string is issued from a communication apparatus 151 operating in the network setup mode. Thus, by discovering an SSID including a predetermined character string, the CPU 103 can discover the communication apparatus 151 operating in the network setup mode. Further in paragraph [0067]-Sekiguchi discloses in step S210, the CPU 103 acquires information regarding a model of the communication apparatus 151 from the discovered communication apparatus 151 via the target I/F.);
execute setup processing for connecting the communication apparatus to an external apparatus outside the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0023]- Sekiguchi discloses the setting application is installed from an external server (wherein the external server is an external apparatus) and stored into the external storage device 106 by internet communication via the communication unit 110, for example. The external storage device 106 stores various programs, such as transmission/reception control programs for information to be transmitted to and received from the communication apparatus 151 connected via the communication unit 110, and various types of information to be used by the programs.);
and display, on a display (Fig. 1, #108 called a display unit. Paragraph [0049]), a guidance (Fig. 4A-B and Fig. 8, illustrates a display screen for connection selection method for a printer device. Paragraph [0102]) for executing the setup processing based on the received device information of the communication apparatus (Fig. 1-3. Paragraph [0053]-Sekiguchi discloses the processing in the flowchart illustrated in FIG. 2 is started in response to a predetermined operation that is performed on a screen displayed by the setting application to execute the initial setting processing (hereinafter, will be referred to as a setting operation). Please also see Fig. 8 and Paragraph [0102]),
and the communication apparatus (Fig. 1, #151 called a communication apparatus. Paragraph [0023]) including at least one memory (Fig. 1, #152 and #153 called a ROM and RAM respectively. Paragraph [0031]) and at least one processor (Fig. 1, #154 called a CPU. Paragraph [0031]) which execute instructions to:
generate, in response to the request from the information processing apparatus, the device information of the communication apparatus (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0023]- Sekiguchi discloses the setting application is installed from an external server and stored into the external storage device 106 by internet communication via the communication unit 110, for example. The external storage device 106 stores various programs, such as transmission/reception control programs for information to be transmitted to and received from the communication apparatus 151 connected via the communication unit 110, and various types of information to be used by the programs.) based on whether the communication apparatus includes a predetermined component for accepting an instruction to start, in the communication apparatus, an operation in a mode of executing the setup processing (Fig. 1-3. Paragraph [0053]-Sekiguchi discloses the processing in the flowchart illustrated in FIG. 2 is started in response to a predetermined operation that is performed on a screen displayed by the setting application to execute the initial setting processing (hereinafter, will be referred to as a setting operation). Please also see Fig. 8 and Paragraph [0102]- Sekiguchi discloses in a case where the CPU 103 determines in step S204 that the communication apparatus 151 can use a wireless LAN interface, but administrator authentication is required, the CPU 103 adds information indicating a state in which administrator authentication is required, to a choice of wireless LAN connection. Then, in a case where the user selects a connection I/F requiring administrator authentication, the CPU 103 display an administrator authentication screen.);
and transmit, to the information processing apparatus, the generated device information of the communication apparatus (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0023]- Sekiguchi discloses transmission/reception control programs for information to be transmitted to and received from the communication apparatus 151 connected via the communication unit 110, and various types of information to be used by the programs.),
wherein the guidance is made different between a case where the device information of the communication apparatus indicates that the communication apparatus includes the predetermined component and a case where the device information indicates that the communication apparatus does not include the predetermined component (Fig. 4A-B and Fig. 8, illustrates a display screen for connection selection method of operation for a printer device showing the availability of connection method based on the predetermined component for wired or wireless etc. Paragraph [0102]- Sekiguchi discloses in a case where the CPU 103 determines in step S204 that the communication apparatus 151 can use a wireless LAN interface, but administrator authentication is required, the CPU 103 adds information indicating a state in which administrator authentication is required, to a choice of wireless LAN connection. Then, in a case where the user selects a connection I/F requiring administrator authentication, the CPU 103 display an administrator authentication screen. A notification screen can include a software button for opening the administrator authentication screen, for example, and the administrator authentication screen can be displayed in response to a pressing operation on the software button. Furthermore, in a case where the CPU 103 determines in the processing in the flowchart in FIG. 7 (step S204 of FIG. 2) that the communication apparatus 151 cannot use a wired LAN interface, for example, a message notifying that wired LAN connection is unavailable, and a choice of wired LAN connection that is in an un-selectable state are displayed in the notification. FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a notification for prompting the user to select a connection I/F to be used in communication with the target communication apparatus 151, from among connection I/Fs determined as available connection I/Fs. While a notification screen 800 is a selection screen including radio buttons, the notification screen 800 can have a drop-down list or use another selection method, and a display state of an unavailable connection I/F can be changed to a non-displayed state.).
Regarding claim 21, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 1, Sekiguchi further teaches further comprising determining, based on the acquired device information, whether the communication apparatus includes the predetermined component (Fig. 8, illustrates a display screen for connection selection method of operation for a printer device showing the availability of connection method based on the predetermined component for wired or wireless etc. Paragraph [0062]),
wherein the guidance displayed on the display is controlled based on a result of the determining (Fig. 4 and 8. Paragraph [0062]-Sekiguchi discloses FIG. 4A illustrates an example of a notification for prompting the user to select a connection I/F determined as a connection I/F available on the target communication apparatus 151. A notification screen 400 is a selection screen including radio buttons. Alternatively, the notification screen 400 can include a drop-down list or use another selection method. In a case where the communication apparatus 151 includes a switch for controlling enabling or disabling of communication via a connection UF, and the user can operate the switch, for example, a description notifying that a switch of a connection I/F unavailable on the communication apparatus 151 is turned off can be displayed on the notification screen 400.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, and 15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi (US 20230161717 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sekiguchi in view of Kawaura (US 20210377724 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kawaura.
Regarding claim 2, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 1, Although, Sekiguchi teaches the guidance for executing the setup processing is displayed on the display based on the acquired device information of the communication apparatus (Fig. 1-3. Paragraph [0053]-Sekiguchi discloses the processing in the flowchart illustrated in FIG. 2 is started in response to a predetermined operation that is performed on a screen displayed by the setting application to execute the initial setting processing (hereinafter, will be referred to as a setting operation). Further in paragraph [0062]- Sekiguchi discloses FIG. 4A illustrates an example of a notification for prompting the user to select a connection I/F determined as a connection I/F available on the target communication apparatus 151. A notification screen 400 is a selection screen including radio buttons. Alternatively, the notification screen 400 can include a drop-down list or use another selection method. Please also see Fig. 5 and 8 and Paragraph [0102]).
Sekiguchi fails to explicitly teach further comprising determining whether the setup processing has succeeded or failed, wherein in a case where it is determined that the setup processing has failed.
However, Kawaura explicitly teaches further comprising determining whether the setup processing has succeeded or failed (Fig. 3A-B, illustrates at step 307 is the wireless setting instruction possible yes or no and step 358 wherein is “has connection to AP succeeded?”. Paragraph [0059]- Kawaura discloses More specifically, in step S358, the printer 250 establishes connection to the AP 100, and determines whether the DHCP service 150 of the AP 100 normally assigns an IP address to the NW IF 258 of the printer 250. If it is determined, by the processing in step S358, that the connection processing to the AP 100 has succeeded, the printer 250 ends wireless setting. On the other hand, if it is determined that the wireless setting processing has failed, the printer 250 displays, on the display device 254, information indicating that the connection processing has failed (S360), thereby ending wireless setting. Paragraph [0054]- Kawaura discloses if it is determined in step S312 that the printer 250 is connected to the AP 100, the personal computer 200 displays, on the display device 204, information indicating that wireless setting by the printer 250 has succeeded (S313), thereby ending the wireless setting instruction processing of the personal computer 200.), wherein in a case where it is determined that the setup processing has failed (Fig. 3A, illustrates at step 316 the display setting failure screen. Paragraph [0055]-Kawaura discloses if it is determined in step S307 that wireless setting in the printer 250 has failed, the personal computer 200 displays, on the display device 204, information indicating that wireless setting has failed (S316), and then performs reconnection to the AP 100 (S317), thereby ending the wireless setting instruction of the personal computer 200.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Sekiguchi of having a control method executed by an information processing apparatus, comprising: acquiring device information of a communication apparatus from the communication apparatus; executing setup processing for connecting the communication apparatus to an external apparatus outside the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, with the teachings of Kawaura of having wherein further comprising determining whether the setup processing has succeeded or failed, wherein in a case where it is determined that the setup processing has failed.
Wherein having Sekiguchi’s an information processing apparatus, wherein further comprising determining whether the setup processing has succeeded or failed, wherein in a case where it is determined that the setup processing has failed.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an information processing apparatus system that enhances usability in establishing connection even in a case where duplication assignment of an IP address occurs, since both Sekiguchi and Kawaura are systems that relate to communication device, and a communication control method. Wherein Sekiguchi’s systems that relate to communication device, and a communication control method to enhances usability in establishing connection with the target communication apparatus 151 via the target I/F, while Kawaura’s systems that relate to communication device, and a communication control method to establish connections normally even in a case where duplication assignment of an IP address occurs. Please see Sekiguchi (US 20230161717 A1), Paragraphs [0092] and Kawaura (US 20210377724 A1), Paragraphs [0004 and 0005]
Regarding claim 3, Sekiguchi in view Kawaura teaches the method according to claim 2, Although, Sekiguchi further teaches the communication apparatus. Sekiguchi fails to explicitly teach wherein the determination processing is performed based on an attempt to perform connection to the communication apparatus via the external apparatus.
However, Kawaura explicitly teaches wherein the determination processing is performed based on an attempt to perform connection to the communication apparatus via the external apparatus (Fig. 1 and 3A, illustrates the step 307 of determining of wireless setting instruction possible. Paragraph [0048]-Kawaura discloses if it is determined, in the processing of step S302, that the printer 250 in the wireless setting mode is detected (the wireless signal in which the SSID for the wireless setting processing is set is received from the AP 270), the personal computer 200 disconnects wireless connection from the AP 100 (S303). Further in paragraph [0051]- Kawaura discloses if it is determined in step S307 that the SSID of the AP 100 exists in the SSID list obtained from the printer 250 (YES in step S307), the personal computer 200 instructs the printer 250 to perform connection to the AP 100 (S308). For example, a connection instruction packet including the SSID of the AP 100 is transmitted to the printer 250. On the other hand, if the SSID of the AP 100 does not exist in the SSID list obtained from the printer 250 (NO in step S307), the personal computer 200 advances the process to step S306.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Sekiguchi in view Kawaura of having a control method executed by an information processing apparatus, comprising: acquiring device information of a communication apparatus from the communication apparatus; executing setup processing for connecting the communication apparatus to an external apparatus outside the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, with the teachings of Kawaura of having wherein the determination processing is performed based on an attempt to perform connection to the communication apparatus via the external apparatus.
Wherein having Sekiguchi’s an information processing apparatus, wherein the determination processing is performed based on an attempt to perform connection to the communication apparatus via the external apparatus.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an information processing apparatus system that enhances usability in establishing connections even in a case where duplication assignment of an IP address occurs, since both Sekiguchi and Kawaura are systems that relate to communication device, and a communication control method. Wherein Sekiguchi’s systems relate to communication device, and a communication control method to enhances usability in establishing connection with the target communication apparatus 151 via the target I/F, while Kawaura’s systems that relate to communication device, and a communication control method to establish connections normally even in a case where duplication assignment of an IP address occurs. Please see Sekiguchi (US 20230161717 A1), Paragraphs [0092] and Kawaura (US 20210377724 A1), Paragraphs [0004 and 0005]
Regarding claim 4, Sekiguchi in view Kawaura teaches the method according to claim 2, Sekiguchi fails to explicitly teach wherein the case where it is determined that the setup processing has failed includes a case where a cancel instruction of the setup processing has been accepted.
However, Kawaura explicitly teaches wherein the case where it is determined that the setup processing has failed includes a case where a cancel instruction of the setup processing has been accepted (Fig. 3A-B, illustrates at step 360 display setting failure screen after step 358 wherein is “has connection to AP succeeded?”. Paragraph [0059]- Kawaura discloses More specifically, in step S358, the printer 250 establishes connection to the AP 100, and determines whether the DHCP service 150 of the AP 100 normally assigns an IP address to the NW IF 258 of the printer 250. If it is determined, by the processing in step S358, that the connection processing to the AP 100 has succeeded, the printer 250 ends wireless setting. On the other hand, if it is determined that the wireless setting processing has failed, the printer 250 displays, on the display device 254, information indicating that the connection processing has failed (S360), thereby ending wireless setting.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Sekiguchi in view Kawaura of having a control method executed by an information processing apparatus, comprising: acquiring device information of a communication apparatus from the communication apparatus; executing setup processing for connecting the communication apparatus to an external apparatus outside the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, with the teachings of Kawaura of having wherein the case where it is determined that the setup processing has failed includes a case where a cancel instruction of the setup processing has been accepted.
Wherein having Sekiguchi’s an information processing apparatus, wherein the case where it is determined that the setup processing has failed includes a case where a cancel instruction of the setup processing has been accepted.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an information processing apparatus system that enhances usability in establishing connections even in a case where duplication assignment of an IP address occurs, since both Sekiguchi and Kawaura are systems that relate to communication device, and a communication control method. Wherein Sekiguchi’s systems relate to communication device, and a communication control method to enhances usability in establishing connection with the target communication apparatus 151 via the target I/F, while Kawaura’s systems that relate to communication device, and a communication control method to establish connections normally even in a case where duplication assignment of an IP address occurs. Please see Sekiguchi (US 20230161717 A1), Paragraphs [0092] and Kawaura (US 20210377724 A1), Paragraphs [0004 and 0005]
Regarding claim 15, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 1, Sekiguchi further teaches wherein the device information of the communication apparatus (Fig. 1, #151 called a communication apparatus. Paragraph [0023]) indicating that the communication apparatus includes the predetermined component is acquired from a first communication apparatus that includes the predetermined component (Fig. 4A-B and Fig. 8, illustrates a display screen for connection selection method of operation for a printer device showing the availability of connection method based on the predetermined component for wired or wireless etc. Paragraph [0102]- Sekiguchi discloses in a case where the CPU 103 determines in step S204 that the communication apparatus 151 can use a wireless LAN interface, but administrator authentication is required, the CPU 103 adds information indicating a state in which administrator authentication is required, to a choice of wireless LAN connection. Then, in a case where the user selects a connection I/F requiring administrator authentication, the CPU 103 display an administrator authentication screen. A notification screen can include a software button for opening the administrator authentication screen, for example, and the administrator authentication screen can be displayed in response to a pressing operation on the software button. Furthermore, in a case where the CPU 103 determines in the processing in the flowchart in FIG. 7 (step S204 of FIG. 2) that the communication apparatus 151 cannot use a wired LAN interface, for example, a message notifying that wired LAN connection is unavailable, and a choice of wired LAN connection that is in an un-selectable state are displayed in the notification. FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a notification for prompting the user to select a connection I/F to be used in communication with the target communication apparatus 151, from among connection I/Fs determined as available connection I/Fs. While a notification screen 800 is a selection screen including radio buttons, the notification screen 800 can have a drop-down list or use another selection method, and a display state of an unavailable connection I/F can be changed to a non-displayed state.).
Sekiguchi fails to explicitly teach the device information of the communication apparatus indicating that the communication apparatus does not include the predetermined component is acquired from a second communication apparatus that does not include the predetermined component.
However, Kawaura explicitly teaches the device information of the communication apparatus indicating that the communication apparatus does not include the predetermined component is acquired from a second communication apparatus that does not include the predetermined component (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0060]-Kawaura discloses as described above, when the personal computer 200 transmits, to the printer 250, the wireless profile of the already connected AP 100, it is possible to connect the printer 250 and the AP 100 to each other without requiring the user to input the password via the input IF 255 of the printer 250. Further in paragraph [0059]- Kawaura discloses the printer 250 stands by for a wireless setting instruction from the personal computer 200 (S354), and determines whether the wireless setting instruction is received from the personal computer 200 within a predetermined time (S355). If it is determined in step S355 that no wireless setting instruction is received, the printer 250 re-executes the processing in step S354. If it is determined in step S355 that the wireless setting instruction is received, the printer 250 ends wireless setting, and clears (initializes) the DHCP table (FIG. 4B) saved as the data 257 of the printer 250 (S356). That is, the DHCP table of the AP 270 has no information remained. Next, the printer 250 executes connection processing to the AP 100 using the SSID and password included in the wireless profile received by the wireless setting instruction of the personal computer 200 (S357). If it is determined, by the processing in step S358, that the connection processing to the AP 100 has succeeded, the printer 250 ends wireless setting. On the other hand, if it is determined that the wireless setting processing has failed, the printer 250 displays, on the display device 254, information indicating that the connection processing has failed (S360), thereby ending wireless setting.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Sekiguchi in view Kawaura of having a control method executed by an information processing apparatus, comprising: acquiring device information of a communication apparatus from the communication apparatus; executing setup processing for connecting the communication apparatus to an external apparatus outside the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, with the teachings of Kawaura of having the device information of the communication apparatus indicating that the communication apparatus does not include the predetermined component is acquired from a second communication apparatus that does not include the predetermined component.
Wherein having Sekiguchi’s an information processing apparatus, the device information of the communication apparatus indicating that the communication apparatus does not include the predetermined component is acquired from a second communication apparatus that does not include the predetermined component.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an information processing apparatus system that enhances usability in establishing connections even in a case where duplication assignment of an IP address occurs, since both Sekiguchi and Kawaura are systems that relate to communication device, and a communication control method. Wherein Sekiguchi’s systems relate to communication device, and a communication control method to enhances usability in establishing connection with the target communication apparatus 151 via the target I/F, while Kawaura’s systems that relate to communication device, and a communication control method to establish connections normally even in a case where duplication assignment of an IP address occurs. Please see Sekiguchi (US 20230161717 A1), Paragraphs [0092] and Kawaura (US 20210377724 A1), Paragraphs [0004 and 0005].
Claims 6, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi (US 20230161717 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sekiguchi in view of Kawaura (US 20220365731 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kawaura 1.
Regarding claim 6, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 1, Sekiguchi fails to explicitly teach further comprising executing second setup processing different from the setup processing, wherein the second setup processing includes at least one of confirmation of attachment of a printhead, confirmation of attachment of an ink tank, processing concerning processing of adjusting a landing position of ink on a sheet in printing, and processing concerning cleaning of the printhead.
However, Kawaura 1 explicitly teaches further comprising executing second setup processing different from the setup processing (Fig. 3, illustrates the setup processing of step 302 and step 311-313 wherein is different from executing second setup processing comprising of step 305 and 314 along with 307 and 315. Paragraph [0046-0047]), wherein the second setup processing includes at least one of confirmation of attachment of a printhead, confirmation of attachment of an ink tank, processing concerning processing of adjusting a landing position of ink on a sheet in printing, and processing concerning cleaning of the printhead (Fig. 1-3 and 5A-F. Paragraph [0051]-Kawaura 1 discloses if the cover-open error is occurring in the printer 110, the PC A 100 notifies the user of the cover-open error by using a notification screen (S323). If the ink non-attachment error is occurring in the printer 110, the PC A 100 notifies the user of the ink non-attachment error by using a notification screen (S324). It takes several minutes for the printer 110 to complete the cleaning process. Thus, the printer 110 transmits notification information to the PC A 100 to notify the user that the cleaning process is in progress. Then, the PC A 100 displays a notification screen on the display device 104 to notify the user that the printer 110 is executing a cleaning process (S325). If no error is occurring or an error that occurred has been fixed by a user operation, the printer 110 completes the printhead cleaning process (S314).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Sekiguchi of having a control method executed by an information processing apparatus, comprising: acquiring device information of a communication apparatus from the communication apparatus; executing setup processing for connecting the communication apparatus to an external apparatus outside the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, with the teachings of Kawaura 1 of having further comprising executing second setup processing different from the setup processing, wherein the second setup processing includes at least one of confirmation of attachment of a printhead, confirmation of attachment of an ink tank, processing concerning processing of adjusting a landing position of ink on a sheet in printing, and processing concerning cleaning of the printhead.
Wherein having Sekiguchi’s an information processing apparatus, further comprising executing second setup processing different from the setup processing, wherein the second setup processing includes at least one of confirmation of attachment of a printhead, confirmation of attachment of an ink tank, processing concerning processing of adjusting a landing position of ink on a sheet in printing, and processing concerning cleaning of the printhead.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an information processing apparatus system that enhances usability in establishing connections with user's experience and efficiency of interacting, since both Sekiguchi and Kawaura 1 are systems that relate to communication device, and a communication control method. Wherein Sekiguchi’s systems relate to communication device, and a communication control method to enhances usability in establishing connection with the target communication apparatus 151 via the target I/F, while Kawaura’s 1 systems that relate to communication device, that improves the user's experience and efficiency of interacting with the PC A 100 when operating the underlying printing apparatus. Please see Sekiguchi (US 20230161717 A1), Paragraphs [0092] and Kawaura (US 20220365731 A1), Paragraphs [0076]
Regarding claim 10, Sekiguchi teaches the method according to claim 9, Although, Sekiguchi further teaches wherein the button is displayed in a display portion of the communication apparatus. Sekiguchi fails to explicitly teach wherein the button is displayed in a display portion of the communication apparatus together with information concerning second setup processing including at least one of confirmation of attachment of a printhead, confirmation of attachment of an ink tank, processing concerning processing of adjusting a landing position of ink on a sheet in printing, and processing concerning cleaning of the printhead.
However, Kawaura 1 explicitly teaches wherein the button (Fig. 5, #501 called a next button. Paragraph [0064]) is displayed in a display portion (Fig. 5, #500 called a screen. Paragraph [0064]) of the communication apparatus together with information concerning second setup processing including at least one of confirmation of attachment of a printhead, confirmation of attachment of an ink tank, processing concerning processing of adjusting a landing position of ink on a sheet in printing, and processing concerning cleaning of the printhead (Fig. 1-3 and 5A-F. Paragraph [0051]-Kawaura 1 discloses if the cover-open error is occurring in the printer 110, the PC A 100 notifies the user of the cover-open error by using a notification screen (S323). If the ink non-attachment error is occurring in the printer 110, the PC A 100 notifies the user of the ink non-attachment error by using a notification screen (S324). It takes several minutes for the printer 110 to complete the cleaning process. Thus, the printer 110 transmits notification information to the PC A 100 to notify the user that the cleaning process is in progress. Then, the PC A 100 displays a notification screen on the display device 104 to notify the user that the printer 110 is executing a cleaning process (S325). If no error is occurring or an error that occurred has been fixed by a user operation, the printer 110 completes the printhead cleaning process (S314).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Sekiguchi of having a control method executed by an information processing apparatus, comprising: acquiring device information of a communication apparatus from the communication apparatus; executing setup processing for connecting the communication apparatus to an external apparatus outside the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, with the teachings of Kawaura 1 of having wherein the button is displayed in a display portion of the communication apparatus together with information concerning second setup processing including at least one of confirmation of attachment of a printhead, confirmation of attachment of an ink tank, processing concerning processing of adjusting a landing position of ink on a sheet in printing, and processing concerning cleaning of the printhead.
Wherein having Sekiguchi’s an information processing apparatus, wherein the button is displayed in a display portion of the communication apparatus together with information concerning second setup processing including at least one of confirmation of attachment of a printhead, confirmation of attachment of an ink tank, processing concerning processing of adjusting a landing position of ink on a sheet in printing, and processing concerning cleaning of the printhead.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an information processing apparatus system that enhances usability in establishing connections with user's experience and efficiency of interacting, since both Sekiguchi and Kawaura 1 are systems that relate to communication device, and a communication control method. Wherein Sekiguchi’s systems relate to communication device, and a communication control method to enhances usability in establishing connection with the target communication apparatus 151 via the target I/F, while Kawaura’s 1 systems that relate to communication device, that improves the user's experience and efficiency of interacting with the PC A 100 when operating the underlying printing apparatus. Please see Sekiguchi (US 20230161717 A1), Paragraphs [0092] and Kawaura (US 20220365731 A1), Paragraphs [0076]
Regarding claim 14, Sekiguchi in view of Kawaura 1 teaches the method according to claim 6, Sekiguchi fails to explicitly teach wherein the second guidance is a guidance for prompting to execute the setup processing after an end of the second setup processing.
However, Kawaura 1 explicitly teaches wherein the second guidance is a guidance for prompting to execute the setup processing after an end of the second setup processing (Fig. 5B-F, illustrates an end of the second setup processing in the display screen #510 follow by display screen #520 the guidance prompting to execute the setup processing in display screen #530. Paragraph [0065-0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Sekiguchi of having a control method executed by an information processing apparatus, comprising: acquiring device information of a communication apparatus from the communication apparatus; executing setup processing for connecting the communication apparatus to an external apparatus outside the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, with the teachings of Kawaura 1 of having wherein the second guidance is a guidance for prompting to execute the setup processing after an end of the second setup processing.
Wherein having Sekiguchi’s an information processing apparatus, wherein the second guidance is a guidance for prompting to execute the setup processing after an end of the second setup processing.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an information processing apparatus system that enhances usability in establishing connections with user's experience and efficiency of interacting, since both Sekiguchi and Kawaura 1 are systems that relate to communication device, and a communication control method. Wherein Sekiguchi’s systems relate to communication device, and a communication control method to enhances usability in establishing connection with the target communication apparatus 151 via the target I/F, while Kawaura’s 1 systems that relate to communication device, that improves the user's experience and efficiency of interacting with the PC A 100 when operating the underlying printing apparatus. Please see Sekiguchi (US 20230161717 A1), Paragraphs [0092] and Kawaura (US 20220365731 A1), Paragraphs [0076]
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
(a) Ehara (US 20230188660 A1)- If an operation of canceling a predetermined state includes an operation of powering off the device, even if communication between the device and the information processing apparatus becomes inexecutable after the screen for cancelling the predetermined state is displayed, the information processing apparatus does not execute a notification corresponding to a state in which the communication is inexecutable. If the operation of canceling the predetermined state does not include the operation of powering off the device, the information processing apparatus executes, based on a fact that the communication between the device and the information processing apparatus becomes inexecutable after the screen for cancelling the predetermined state is displayed, the notification corresponding to the state in which the communication is inexecutable............ Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
(b) Sumita (US 20230138231 A1)- A control method for an information processing apparatus connectable with a communication apparatus and an access point is provided. The method comprises acquiring a first search result acquired via a search for access points performed by the communication apparatus or the information processing apparatus; attempting to establish a connection between a first access point, from access points and the information processing apparatus;......... Fig. 1-2. Abstract.
(c) Iwayama (US 20230100389 A1)- An object of the present disclosure is to provide UI display that secures the visual recognizability of a user even in a case where the number of characters to be displayed is large. One embodiment of the present invention is a control method of an information processing apparatus, the method including: a specification step of specifying notification contents; and a notification step of performing, based on at least one of a number of line feeds included in the specified notification contents and a number of characters included in the specified notification contents, processing for notifying the specified notification contents by a predetermined notification method,............. Fig. 1-4. Abstract.
(d) Takaba (US 20220342612 A1)- An information processing apparatus performs setup processing of a first apparatus connected to the information processing apparatus; acquires setup data used in the setup processing and indicating a setup operation of the first apparatus from a second apparatus different from the first apparatus; determines whether display concerning the setup operation can be performed using the acquired setup data;............... Fig. 1. Abstract.
(e) Chew et al. (US 20210064387 A1)- In an information-processing device a controller executes a storage process to store a command program in a memory. The command program supports the target device and outputs commands to the target device. In a case where the memory does not store the command program, an OS executes a plug and play process for a target device triggered by connection of the target device to the communication interface, and records in the memory unspecified device information indicating that the target device is unknown................. Fig. 1. Abstract.
(f) Kawai (US 20190387128 A1)- There is provided a control method of an information processing apparatus that can execute authentication processing with a communication apparatus by authentication schemes. The method includes: performing display control to cause a display unit to display a guide for performing the authentication processing with the communication apparatus in accordance with one of the authentication schemes when the information processing apparatus has obtained information from the communication apparatus; and executing the authentication processing in accordance with an operation performed by a user after the guide is displayed.................. Fig. 1. Abstract.
(g) SUMIUCHI et al. (US 20170286134 A1)- Apparatus information of an external apparatus is obtained by a wireless communication, and a display unit is caused to display a screen that an application for causing the external apparatus to execute a function provides. The display unit is caused to display a guidance screen that guides to execution of a recommended function based on the obtained apparatus information................. Fig. 1. Abstract.
(h) Furuhashi (US 20210099597 A1)- An operation terminal is caused to perform: acquiring cumulative operation amounts of a plurality of items of each of a plurality of printing apparatuses, the cumulative operation amounts being transmitted from the plurality of printing apparatuses which are within a communication range of the communication unit; receiving, via an operation unit, a designation of at least one item of the plurality of items; determining a use frequency ranking of the plurality of printing apparatuses in accordance with the received designation; and performing, based on a result of the determined use frequency ranking................. Fig. 1. Abstract.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673