112(f) Invocation
Claims 1, 2, 5, 17, 19 and 20 invoke 112th (f) by recitation of “display unit” and/or “reception unit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kawaura
(2021/0377724).
With respect to claim 1, Kawaura teaches a control method executed by an information processing apparatus (computer 200), comprising: acquiring SSID information of a communication apparatus (printer 250) from the printer 250.
Kawaura teaches executing setup information (see figure 3A). Kawaura teaches connecting to an external apparatus (Access Point 100) illustrated by figure 1A.
Kawaura teaches displaying guidance regarding the execution of the set up. See display setting failure screen at step S316 of figure 3A. See also the last 10 lines of para. 59.
Kawaura teaches a difference in guidance in which a wireless communication can be performed. See Step 307 at figure 3A. which leads to terminal 2 of figure 3B in which the success of the communication is displayed on the screen (See Step S313). Moreover, Kawaura teaches a difference in guidance in which a wireless communication cannot be performed. See Step 307 and Step S316. See also para. 59, last 10 lines.
With respect to claim 2, Kawaura teaches at step S307 whether the wireless setup succeeded or failed. See figure 3A.
With respect to claim 3, Kawaura teaches a determination (Step S307) as to whether a wireless connection (Steps 301-306) can be executed within the process of attempting to communicate between the personal computer 200 and printer 250 (external apparatus)..
With respect to claim 4, Kawaura teaches that when the setup has failed, the setup instruction has been cancelled.
At figure 3B, Kawaura teaches that when the connection has failed, no other attempts are made because the process ends after Step 360, as illustrated by figure 3B.
With respect to claim 5, Kawaura teaches a first guidance is displayed (See Step 313) that the external device (printer 250) has a wireless transmission component.
Kawaura teaches executing setup information (see figure 3A). Kawaura teaches connecting to an external apparatus (Access Point 100) illustrated by figure 1A.
Kawaura teaches displaying a second guidance regarding the execution of the set up. See Display setting failure screen at step S316 of figure 3A. See also the last 10 lines of para. 59.
With respect to claim 7, at para. 33, lines 3-7 Kawaura teaches a display user interface with at least one touch panel, touch pad and a button to start a communication via a communication circuit (see para. 33, beginning at line 13) .
With respect to claim 8, the Examiner contends that a hardware button, as claimed, is taught at para. 33, lines 5 and 6. For example, a keyboard and mouse is recited at line 5. A keyboard has several physical buttons as does a mouse. Moreover, at line 6, the reference recites a physical button. See also para. 33, lines 17-20, smart phones, PCs and digital assistants and tables which all have physical buttons Therefore, the limitation is taught by Kawaura.
With respect to claim 9, the Examiner contends that software buttons are contemplated by Kawaura. At para. 33, lines 6, the Kawaura reference teaches a tough panel and touch pad which are generated by a display interface 205.
With respect to claim 11, Kawaura teaches where the setup mode operates by means of an Access Point (100), see at least, figures 1A and 1B.
With respect to claim 12, Kawaura teaches setup processing information includes transmitting information, see figures 3a and 3b, concerning an external apparatus (Access Point 100) to the communication apparatus (200) to an information processing device (250) while the terminal device 200 is operating in a setup process. See figures 3a and 3b.
With respect to claim 13, Kawaura teaches that a user may select any of a plurality of buttons generated from an interface 205 in which a keyboard, mouse or button may be activated, see para. 33, lines 1-5.
With respect to claim 15, Kawaura teaches device information (passwords and network identifier information (SSID)), see para. 39, beginning at line 6, see also Step 305 at figure 3A. The device information includes communication apparatus (printer 250) that is inquired from a computer 200 as the first communication apparatus that includes a wireless component (Step S307, see figure 3A) and device ID which could indicate that the communication apparatus (printer 250) does not have the component (wireless capability), see “no” at step S307 at figure 3A.
With respect to claim 16, Kawaura teaches searching (see step S301) at figure 3a for a communication apparatus (printer 250) in which it is possible to execute a setup, see figure 3A illustrating the setup process in operation. Kawaura teaches wherein device information (password and network identification SSID) of printing device 250 is found, see for example “Yes” at step S307 of figure 3A.
With respect to claim 17, Kawaura teaches a display unit via interface 215 for selecting the printer 250 to execute a setup process, see figure 3A. Guidance is displayed on display device 204, see para. 33.
With respect to claim 18, Kawaura teaches a communication apparatus as a printer. See printer 250 illustrated by figures 1A and 2B.
With respect to claim 19, Kawaura teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium, see the last 6 lines of page 85. See also para 35. Kawaura teaches storing a program (para. 85, line 4) which causes a computer (computer at para. 85, line 3 or processor at para. 85, lines 17-19).
Kawaura teaches wherein the program when executed by a computer/processor executed by an information processing causes the execution steps of acquiring SSID information of a communication apparatus (printer 250) from the printer 250.
Kawaura teaches executing setup information (see figure 3A). Kawaura teaches connecting to an external apparatus (Access Point 100) illustrated by figure 1A.
Kawaura teaches displaying guidance regarding the execution of the set up. See Display setting failure screen at step S316 of figure 3A. See also the last 10 lines of para. 59.
Kawaura teaches a difference in guidance in which a wireless communication can be performed. See Step 307 at figure 3A. which leads to terminal 2 of figure 3B in which the success of the communication is displayed on the screen (See Step S313). Moreover, Kawaura teaches a different in guidance in which a wireless communication cannot be performed. See Step 307 and Step S316. See also para. 59, last 10 lines.
With respect to claim 20, Kawaura teaches a system, illustrated by figures 1A and 1B, comprising a communication apparatus (printer 250) and an information processing apparatus (personal computer terminal 200) . Kawaura teaches the information processing apparatus having a memory ROM 202 and RAM 203 and a processor (CPU 201) which functions as a reception unit configured to request the communication apparatus (printer 250). Kawaura teaches network interfaces 208 and 209 for obtaining device information (password and network identification information – SSID), see para. 39.
Kawaura teaches a network interface unit 208 and 209 for setting up connection between the communication apparatus printer 250) and an external apparatus (Access Point 100) that is external from the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus. Kawaura teaches a display control unit 204 which helps display guidance with respect to the setup process for executing the setup process based on device information (the password and network identification) of the communication apparatus as received by the processor (CPU) of computer 200.
Kawaura teaches a communication apparatus (printer 250) having a memory ROM 252 and RAM 253 and processor 251 which functions as a generation unit in response to a request, see Figure 3A from the information processing apparatus (terminal 200), the device information of the communication apparatus based on whether a predetermined component is present (capability of operating in a wireless mode) – see step S307 at figure 3A.
Kawaura teaches a generation unit (processor at step S305) that requests from the computer terminal (information processing apparatus) – see para. 49, lines 1-3, the device information (SSID of the printer) based on the whether the printer has the predetermined component (ability to transmit wirelessly or has been identified in the SSID list of previous connections), see paras. 49-51.
Kawaura teaches a transmission unit (network interfaces 208 and 209) to transmit to the information processing apparatus device information of the printer which uses the CPU of the computer to detect from the SSID list that the printer credentials were listed with the AP 100.
Kawaura teaches a display control unit 204 which helps display guidance with respect to the setup process for executing the setup process based on device information (the password and network identification) of the communication apparatus as received by the processor (CPU) of computer 200.
Kawaura teaches displaying guidance regarding the execution of the set up. See Display setting failure screen at step S316 of figure 3A. See also the last 10 lines of para. 59.
Kawaura teaches a difference in guidance in which a wireless communication can be performed. See Step 307 at figure 3A. which leads to terminal 2 of figure 3B in which the success of the communication is displayed on the screen (See Step S313). Moreover, Kawaura teaches a different in guidance in which a wireless communication cannot be performed. See Step 307 and Step S316. See also para. 59, last 10 lines.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaura (20210377724) in view of Tsuchiya (20210405940).
With respect to claim 6, Kawaura teaches all of the subject matter upon which the claim depends except for a second connection in relation to the ink-tank, print-head, ink dispersion or cleaning of the printhead.
Tsuchiya teaches a method in which setup protocols are used between the printer 300, computer 200 and Access Point 400. At the bottom of page 43, Tsuchiya teaches updating the status information stored in RAM 604. The status of the print-head includes the ink level and the state of the print-head. Para, 43, lines 23-27. The state of the print-head includes jamming, in the event the ink has dried in the jet nozzle. A clogged inkjet suggests that a cleaning of the inkjet would be required. Hence, the last limitation of the claim has been addressed by the reference.
The print control unit 614 reads information about the printing unit (see para. 43, beginning at line 23). The main board 614 relays communicates information to wireless combination unit 616 which establishes communication with the MFP 300 performing using WLAN or Bluetooth communications. The main board includes RAM 604 which stores and updates the status information of the print heads. The print control unit 614 and the wireless combination unit 616 are connected as illustrated by figure 6.
Since, Tsuchiya teaches updating the status of print information, such as the status of the print-heads which include the ink level and the clogged or free status of the print nozzles, this information which can be stored in ROM 604, can also be communicated by printer control 614 to terminal 200, by mean of Blue tooth or WLAN communication, col. 40, line 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of Kawaura so that data stored in RAM 604 of the MFP stores status data regarding the print heads so that the information is communicated as part of a of a set up processes such that information is shared between MFP 300 and personal computer (communication apparatus) as taught by Tsuchiya.
Claim(s) 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaura in view of Tsuchiya further in view of KSR Teleflex 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
With respect to claim 10, Kawaura displaying a first set up processes but doesn’t teach the second.
Tsuchiya teaches the combination of a second process in relation to the status of ink tank of the status of the ink tank as it relates to cleaning if it the nozzle on the ink tank is possible clogged.
Neither Kawaura nor Tsuchiya teaches simultaneous display of both first and second set up processes.
Kawaura teaches display of the first set up process and Tsuchiya teaches displaying the status of a ink tank, which may include cleaning should the inkjet nozzle be clogged. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to try to combine the two setup process information on the same display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the software in the print controller (251, 252 and 253) taught by Kawaura so that it includes information from the printing device that addresses not only the status of whether the printer has wireless capabilities or not but as to the status of the ink-tanks, such as if they needed cleaning if the status indicates that the ink-jet nozzles are clogged as set forth by Tuschiya.
With respect to claim 14, Tsuchiya teaches the second process as identified in the rejection to claim 6. Kawaura taught the first setup process as set forth in the rejection to claim 6.
What is not specifically discussed by both references is a second guidance after the end of the second setup. The second set up was conditioned upon the status of the ink-tank, as to whether it needed to be cleaned, if it was properly attached or how the ink was dispersed on the discharge sheet.
The Examiner contends that should there have been an indication where an anomaly hindered the complete setup, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to attempt to execute additional guidance, by means of the computer’s CPU, upon a first attempt where the second setup procedures were unsuccessful in their implementation due to ink tanks that needed cleaning, ink that was dispersed causing splattering, or ink tanks that were not properly attached. For example, once the anomaly has been addressed, the printer may generate a signal indicating that all flags are clear, thus allowing the computer to make other attempts at communication with the printer device.
/JEROME GRANT II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664