Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyamae (DE 112016004399).
As to claim 19, Miyamae discloses a rotor assembly (Fig. 1) comprising: a rotating shaft having a rotation axis that defines an axial direction (Fig. 1); permanent magnets attached to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1); a sleeve ring configured to radially retain the permanent magnets (Fig. 1); wherein the sleeve ring comprises a front end and a rear end (Fig. 1), and is sealed both at the front end and the rear end, such that a hermetically sealed enclosure in which the permanent magnets are located is provided (“An end element 31 is on the rotor shaft 9 attached, and the other end element 32 is mother-shaped. A female screw thread 321 is on the inner circumference of the other end element 32 educated. A male screw thread 91 at the rotor shaft 9 is formed in the female screw thread 321 screwed”).
As to claim 20, Miyamae discloses the rotor assembly of claim 19, further comprising: a front axial stop; and a rear axial stop attached to or part of the rotating shaft, wherein the permanent magnets are attached to the rotating shaft between the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, and wherein the sleeve ring is sealed at the front end to the front axial stop and at the rear end to the rear axial stop (Fig. 1: “An end element 31 is on the rotor shaft 9 attached, and the other end element 32 is mother-shaped. A female screw thread 321 is on the inner circumference of the other end element 32 educated. A male screw thread 91 at the rotor shaft 9 is formed in the female screw thread 321 screwed”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae (DE 112016004399) and in view of Shen (CN 108390484).
As to claim 1, Miyamae discloses a rotor assembly (Fig. 1) comprising: a rotating shaft having a rotation axis that defines an axial direction (Fig. 1); permanent magnets attached to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1); at least one sleeve ring configured to radially retain the permanent magnets (Fig. 1); wherein the sleeve comprises a front end and a rear end (Fig. 1), and is sealed both at the front end and the rear end, such that a hermetically sealed enclosure in which the permanent magnets are located is provided (“An end element 31 is on the rotor shaft 9 attached, and the other end element 32 is mother-shaped. A female screw thread 321 is on the inner circumference of the other end element 32 educated. A male screw thread 91 at the rotor shaft 9 is formed in the female screw thread 321 screwed”).
Miyamae fails to disclose a sealing sleeve arranged between the permanent magnets and the at least one sleeve ring.
Shen, however, discloses a sealing sleeve arranged between the permanent magnets and the at least one sleeve ring (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with a sealing sleeve arranged between the permanent magnets and the at least one sleeve ring, as disclosed by Shen, to improve heat dissipation of the rotor.
As to claim 2, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 1, further comprising a front axial stop and a rear axial stop attached to or being part of the rotating shaft (Fig. 1 of Miyamae), wherein the permanent magnets are attached to the rotating shaft between the front axial stop and the rear axial stop (Fig.1 of Miyamae), and wherein the sealing sleeve is sealed at the front end to the front axial stop and at the rear end to the rear axial stop (Fig.1 of Miyamae).
As to claim 4, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 2, wherein a connection of the front axial stop and rear axial stop to the rotating shaft is sealed (Miyamae: “An end element 31 is on the rotor shaft 9 attached, and the other end element 32 is mother-shaped. A female screw thread 321 is on the inner circumference of the other end element 32 educated. A male screw thread 91 at the rotor shaft 9 is formed in the female screw thread 321 screwed”).
As to claim 17, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 1, wherein the permanent magnets are segmented in the axial direction (Fig. 1 of Miyamae).
As to claim 18, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 1, wherein the thickness of the sealing sleeve is smaller than a thickness of the at least one sleeve ring (Fig. 2 of Shen).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae, Shen and in view of Ferrara (US 20230051422).
As to claim 3, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 2.
Miyamae fails to disclose wherein the front axial stop is a front disc, and the rear axial stop is a rear disc, and wherein the front disc and the rear disc extend in a radial direction from the rotating shaft.
Ferrara discloses the front axial stop is a front disc, and the rear axial stop is a rear disc, and wherein the front disc and the rear disc extend in a radial direction from the rotating shaft (Para 0038).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with the front axial stop is a front disc, and the rear axial stop is a rear disc, and wherein the front disc and the rear disc extend in a radial direction from the rotating shaft, as disclosed by Ferrara, in order to properly secure the sleeve and the magnets.
As to claim 5, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 2.
Miyamae fails to disclose wherein the front axial stop and the rear axial stop are made of a same material as the rotating shaft.
Ferrara, however, discloses the front axial stop and the rear axial stop are made of a same material as the rotating shaft (Para 0036 and 0038).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with the front axial stop and the rear axial stop are made of a same material as the rotating shaft, as disclosed by Ferrara, to reduce manufacturing cost and simplify material inquiry.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae, Shen and in view of Moon (US 20230193917).
As to claim 6, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 2.
Miyamae fails to disclose the sealing sleeve is welded, brazed, or soldered at the front end and at the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively, to achieve the sealing.
Moon, however, discloses the sealing sleeve is welded at the front end and at the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively, to achieve the sealing (Para 0238).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with the sealing sleeve is welded at the front end and at the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively, to achieve the sealing, as disclosed by Moon, to establish a more secure connection.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae, Shen and in view of Wang (CN 114421701).
As to claim 7, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 2.
Miyamae fails to disclose wherein the sealing sleeve is sealed by a first gasket at the front end and by a second gasket at the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively.
Wang, however, discloses the sealing sleeve (3; Fig. 8) is sealed by a first gasket at the front end and by a second gasket (g; Fig. 8) at the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with the sealing sleeve is sealed by a first gasket at the front end and by a second gasket at the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively, as disclosed by Wang, to properly secure the sleeve.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae, Shen and in view of Boxberg (US 20220209598).
As to claim 9, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 2.
Miyamae fails to disclose wherein the sealing sleeve is connected by an adhesive joint at the front end and the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively, such that sealing is achieved.
Boxberg, however, discloses wherein the sealing sleeve is connected by an adhesive joint at the front end and the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively, such that sealing is achieved (Para 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with wherein the sealing sleeve is connected by an adhesive joint at the front end and the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively, such that sealing is achieved, as disclosed by Boxberg, in order to better secure the sleeve.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae, Shen and in view of Ono (US 20230402889).
As to claim 10, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 1.
Miyamae fails to disclose wherein the sealing sleeve is made of a carbon-fiber-reinforced polymer.
Ono, however, discloses the sealing sleeve is made of a carbon-fiber-reinforced polymer (Para 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with the sealing sleeve is made of a carbon-fiber-reinforced polymer, as disclosed by Ono, to allow for the rotor to operate at higher temperatures.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae, Shen and in view of Imahori (US 20230018843).
As to claim 11, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 1.
Miyamae fails to disclose wherein the sealing sleeve is made of stainless steel.
Imahori, however, discloses wherein the sealing sleeve is made of stainless steel (Para 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with the sealing sleeve is made of stainless steel, as disclosed by Imahori, to prevent reduction of magnetic properties.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae, Shen, Imahori and in view of Shiao (US 20090284093).
As to claim 12, the combination of Miyamae, Shen, and Imahori discloses the rotor assembly of claim 11, wherein the sealing sleeve is made of stainless steel, and wherein the at least one sleeve ring is formed by a carbon-fiber-reinforced polymer (Shen: “the metallic sheath ring 303 is carbon fibre material”).
Miyamae fails to disclose wherein the sealing sleeve is heat-shrunk on an outside of the permanent magnets.
Shiao, however, discloses wherein the sealing sleeve is heat-shrunk on an outside of the permanent magnets (Para 0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with wherein the sealing sleeve is heat-shrunk on an outside of the permanent magnets, as disclosed by Shiao, to better secure the magnets.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae, Shen and in view of Gehrke (US 20220329120).
As to claim 13, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 1.
Miyamae fails to disclose wherein the permanent magnets are neodymium iron boron magnets.
Gehrke, however, discloses wherein the permanent magnets are neodymium iron boron magnets (Para 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with the permanent magnets are neodymium iron boron magnets, as disclosed by Gehrke, in order to increase magnetic strength.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae, Shen and in view of Reddy (US 20180337565).
As to claim 14, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 1.
Miyamae fails to disclose wherein the at least one sleeve ring is press-fit or shrink-fit to the sealing sleeve, or attached by hydraulic dilation to the sealing sleeve.
Reddy, however, discloses wherein the at least one sleeve ring is shrink-fit to the sealing sleeve (Para 0038).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with the at least one sleeve ring is shrink-fit to the sealing sleeve, as disclosed by Reddy, in order to better secure the sleeve.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae, Shen and in view of Andonian (US 20180316246).
As to claim 15, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 1.
Miyamae fails to disclose wherein an outer surface of the sealing sleeve has been machined or ground for reducing surface roughness, improving interference fit tolerance, or a combination thereof.
Andonian, however, discloses wherein an outer surface of the sealing sleeve has been machined for reducing surface roughness and improving interference fit tolerance (Para 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with an outer surface of the sealing sleeve has been machined for reducing surface roughness and improving interference fit tolerance, as disclosed by Andonian, in order to allow for a better fit tolerance.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae, Shen and in view of Gyllensten (US 20220209599).
As to claim 16, the combination of Miyamae and Shen discloses the rotor assembly of claim 1.
Miyamae fails to disclose wherein the sealing sleeve is press-fit or shrink-fit to the permanent magnets.
Gyllensten, however, discloses wherein the sealing sleeve is shrink-fit to the permanent magnets (Para 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with the sealing sleeve is shrink-fit to the permanent magnets, as disclosed by Gyllensten, to increase the connection strength.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae and in view of Moon.
As to claim 21, Miyamae discloses the rotor assembly of claim 20.
Miyamae fails to disclose the sealing sleeve is welded, brazed, or soldered at the front end and at the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively, to achieve the sealing.
Moon, however, discloses the sealing sleeve is welded at the front end and at the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively, to achieve the sealing (Para 0238).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with the sealing sleeve is welded at the front end and at the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively, to achieve the sealing, as disclosed by Moon, to establish a more secure connection.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae and in view of Wang.
As to claim 21, Miyamae discloses the rotor assembly of claim 2.
Miyamae fails to disclose wherein the sealing sleeve is sealed by a first gasket at the front end and by a second gasket at the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively.
Wang, however, discloses the sealing sleeve (3; Fig. 8) is sealed by a first gasket at the front end and by a second gasket (g; Fig. 8) at the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with the sealing sleeve is sealed by a first gasket at the front end and by a second gasket at the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively, as disclosed by Wang, to properly secure the sleeve.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamae and in view of Boxberg.
As to claim 23, Miyamae discloses the rotor assembly of claim 20.
Miyamae fails to disclose wherein the sealing sleeve is connected by an adhesive joint at the front end and the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively, such that sealing is achieved.
Boxberg, however, discloses wherein the sealing sleeve is connected by an adhesive joint at the front end and the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively, such that sealing is achieved (Para 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the assembly of Miyamae with wherein the sealing sleeve is connected by an adhesive joint at the front end and the rear end to the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively, such that sealing is achieved, as disclosed by Boxberg, in order to better secure the sleeve.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be
allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any
intervening claims.
As to claim 8, the combination of Miyamae, Shen and Wang discloses the rotor assembly of claim 7.
Miyamae fails to disclose wherein the first gasket and the second gasket are arranged in recesses at radially outer faces of the front axial stop and the rear axial stop, respectively.
Conclusion
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834