DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9 does not have clear antecedent basis for “the area.” (For examination, this limitation is interpreted to refer to “a predetermined real area.”) Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an interface” and “a processer” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chowdhary et al. (US 2014/0141889).
Regarding claim 1, Chowdhary teaches: A method for rolling out a virtual environment to a person, the method comprising the steps of:
determining a weather prevailing in a region of a predetermined real environment (Chowdhary [0114] “if it is raining in the location where the player is based, the virtual world may simulate a storm to emulate the real world”);
rolling out a virtual environment to a person, wherein the virtual environment is rolled out based on the determined weather (Chowdhary [0114] “if it is raining in the location where the player is based, the virtual world may simulate a storm to emulate the real world”).
Regarding claim 3, Chowdhary teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the person is situated in the predetermined real environment (Chowdhary [0114] “if it is raining in the location where the player is based, the virtual world may simulate a storm to emulate the real world”).
Regarding claim 4, Chowdhary teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the virtual environment is referenced to a predetermined time, and the weather prevailing at the predetermined time is determined (Chowdhary [0114] “if it is raining in the location where the player is based, the virtual world may simulate a storm to emulate the real world”). The current time meets the predetermined time.
Regarding claim 7, Chowdhary teaches: The method according to claim 4, wherein the weather prevailing at the predetermined time is determined based on a weather model (Chowdhary [0114] “the local weather conditions may be used to create the ambiance in the virtual world … the weather forecast model may be used for changes to gameplay”).
Claim 8 recites limitation(s) similar in scope to those of claim 1, and is rejected for the same reason(s). Chowdhary further teaches a computer product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon program code (Chowdhary [0042] “A game or other simulations may be stored on a storage media such as a DVD, a CD, flash memory, USB memory or other type of memory media”).
Regarding claim 9, Chowdhary teaches: An apparatus for rolling out a virtual environment to a person, comprising:
a data memory containing weather data relating to a predetermined real area (Chowdhary [0042] “a memory for storing a control program and data” [0114] “the local weather conditions may be used to create the ambiance in the virtual world”);
an interface for determining a geographical position in the area (Chowdhary [0077] “Smartphones like iPhone include a built-in GPS sensor, have data coverage via mobile cellular network or WiFi, and are widely used for engaging in the gameplay of virtual worlds … to determine the player location, e.g. using the Wireless Assisted GPS (A-GPS), WiFi network, using IP address, player provided information, using billing address zip/area code, etc.”); and
a processer configured to roll out the virtual environment in consideration of a weather prevailing at the geographical position (Chowdhary [0042] “a processor (CPU) for executing the control program” [0114] “if it is raining in the location where the player is based, the virtual world may simulate a storm to emulate the real world”).
Regarding claim 10, Chowdhary teaches: The apparatus according to claim 9, further comprising:
means for determining a geographical position of the person (Chowdhary [0077] “Smartphones like iPhone include a built-in GPS sensor, have data coverage via mobile cellular network or WiFi, and are widely used for engaging in the gameplay of virtual worlds … to determine the player location, e.g. using the Wireless Assisted GPS (A-GPS), WiFi network, using IP address, player provided information, using billing address zip/area code, etc.”).
Regarding claim 11, Chowdhary teaches: The apparatus according to claim 10, further comprising:
means for imparting a prevailing weather to the person (Chowdhary [0042] “a processor (CPU) for executing the control program” [0114] “if it is raining in the location where the player is based, the virtual world may simulate a storm to emulate the real world”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chowdhary et al. (US 2014/0141889) in view of Rimon et al. (US 2016/0093105).
Regarding claim 2, Chowdhary does not teach/suggest: The method according to claim 1, wherein the virtual environment is rolled out to the person immersively. Rimon, however, teaches/suggests the virtual environment is rolled out to the person immersively (Rimon [0050] “The HMD 102 provides a very immersive experience to the user”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the virtual world of Chowdhary to be displayed on the HMD of Rimon for an immersive experience.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chowdhary et al. (US 2014/0141889) in view of Obradovich (US 2006/0267929).
Regarding claim 5, Chowdhary is silent regarding: The method according to claim 4, wherein the predetermined time is a future time and the weather prevailing at the predetermined time is determined based on a weather forecast. Obradovich, however, teaches/suggests the predetermined time is a future time (Obradovich [0060] “system 332 provides the user with a weather forecast if the specified time is in the future”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the virtual world of Chowdhary to be based on the future time of Obradovich for changes to gameplay in the future.
As such, Chowdhary as modified by Obradovich teaches/suggests the weather prevailing at the predetermined time is determined based on a weather forecast (Chowdhary [0114] “the local weather conditions may be used to create the ambiance in the virtual world … the weather forecast model may be used for changes to gameplay” Obradovich [0060] “system 332 provides the user with a weather forecast if the specified time is in the future”).
Regarding claim 6, Chowdhary does not teach/suggest: The method according to claim 4, wherein the weather prevailing at the predetermined time is determined based on historical weather data in the real environment. Obradovich, however, teaches/suggests historical weather data in the real environment (Obradovich [0060] “system 332 provides the user with a … weather history if it is in the past”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the virtual world of Chowdhary to be based on the past time of Obradovich for changes to gameplay in the past.
As such, Chowdhary as modified by Obradovich teaches/suggests the weather prevailing at the predetermined time is determined based on historical weather data in the real environment (Chowdhary [0114] “the local weather conditions may be used to create the ambiance in the virtual world … the weather forecast model may be used for changes to gameplay” Obradovich [0060] “system 332 provides the user with a … weather history if it is in the past”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2014/0208239 – virtual window displaying real-time weather
US 2018/0096532 – VR simulation including predicted weather
US 2018/0272235 – virtual environment including local weather
/ANH-TUAN V NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619