Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Figure 5, there appears to be an editorial error and that reference numeral “48A” should instead recite --48B--.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in instant applicant’s corresponding US20240310487 PGPUB [0066], there appears to be an editorial error and that the reference numeral “58A-B” in the statement “FIG. 9, legs 58A-B” should instead recite --54A-B--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested to replace the article “a” with --the-- for the claim term “a planar base surface” in the last 2 lines in order to improve clarity by addressing a double inclusion issue.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested to replace the article “a” with --the-- for each of the claim terms “a sensor unit”, “a module housing”, the first instance of “a planar base surface”, “a three-dimenstional contour”, and the second instance of “a planar base surface” in order to improve clarity by addressing a double inclusion issue.
Claims 2-12 are also objected to due to dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 13-24, the claims do not appear to have a clear method/process step in the form of a gerund (a verb ending with the suffix “-ing”); thus, the claims do not appear to positively recite process steps as written. It is suggested to use gerunds to recite process steps for each claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-11, 13-14, 16-17, 19, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsunaga US20110113879.
Regarding independent claim 1, Matsunaga discloses, in Figures 1-4,
A sensor module (Matsunaga; Fig. 1-4) for a sensor that has a sensor unit (Matsunaga; sensor 10) having a detection direction (Matsunaga; detection axis G) and a detection height (Matsunaga; vertical direction V), as well as a module housing (Matsunaga; resin part 2) having at least a first outer wall (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the assembly of the bottom surface of the resin part 2 and the two lead terminals 3 which is consistent with the 18603437 instant application which describes the first outer wall as comprising the inner housing wall and the intermediate piece together per instant applicant’s corresponding US20240310487 PGPUB [0027] “so that the inner housing wall and the intermediate piece together form the first outer wall”) for arranging at a planar base surface (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the upper surface of the mount board 51), whereby then an orientation and a height position of the module housing and thus the detection direction and detection height of the sensor unit are fixed (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A), wherein the first outer wall has a three-dimensional contour (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the 3rd direction is in the vertical direction V) that is adapted to the individual detection direction and/or detection height of the sensor unit and tolerances of the sensor unit in the detection direction and/or detection height are compensated by the three-dimensional contour on an arrangement of the first outer wall at a planar base surface (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 4, Matsunaga discloses The sensor module in accordance with claim 1, wherein the sensor module is the sensor (Matsunaga; [0116] “sensor 10 housing the sensor”) and the module housing (Matsunaga; resin part 2) simultaneously acts as a sensor housing (Matsunaga; resin part 2).
Regarding claim 6, Matsunaga discloses The sensor module in accordance with claim 1, wherein the first outer wall (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the assembly of the bottom surface of the resin part 2 and the two lead terminals 3 which is consistent with the 18603437 instant application which describes the first outer wall as comprising the inner housing wall and the intermediate piece together per instant applicant’s corresponding US20240310487 PGPUB [0027] “so that the inner housing wall and the intermediate piece together form the first outer wall”) is integrated (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A) into the module housing (Matsunaga; resin part 2).
Regarding claim 7, Matsunaga discloses The sensor module in accordance with claim 1, wherein the first outer wall (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the assembly of the bottom surface of the resin part 2 and the two lead terminals 3 which is consistent with the 18603437 instant application which describes the first outer wall as comprising the inner housing wall and the intermediate piece together per instant applicant’s corresponding US20240310487 PGPUB [0027] “so that the inner housing wall and the intermediate piece together form the first outer wall”) has an inner housing wall (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the bottom surface of the resin part) and an intermediate piece (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the two lead terminals 3) arranged thereat.
Regarding claim 8, Matsunaga discloses The sensor module in accordance with claim 7, wherein the intermediate piece is formed in one part (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the two lead terminals 3 are formed into one assembly part as shown in Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 9, Matsunaga discloses The sensor module in accordance with claim 7, wherein the intermediate piece is connected to the inner housing wall and is formed in multiple parts (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the two lead terminals 3).
Regarding claim 10, Matsunaga discloses The sensor module in accordance with claim 7, wherein the multiple parts are formed as a plurality of pins, disks, or tapped bushes of the same kind (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the two lead terminals 3) that are introduced into the inner housing wall (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the bottom surface of the resin part) to different extents (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the two lead terminals 3 have different extent of overlap with resin part 2).
Regarding claim 11, Matsunaga discloses The sensor module in accordance with claim 7, wherein the intermediate piece is connected to the inner housing wall by mechanical interleaving, shape, pressing, magnetic force, screws, adhesive bonding, or welding (Matsunaga; welding solder 53).
Regarding independent claim 13, Matsunaga discloses, in Figures 1-4,
A method (Matsunaga; Fig. 1-4) of manufacturing an aligned sensor module (Matsunaga; Fig. 1-4) for a sensor (Matsunaga; sensor 10), in which a sensor unit (Matsunaga; sensor 10) is manufactured and is installed in a module housing (Matsunaga; resin part 2) having at least one outer wall (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the assembly of the bottom surface of the resin part 2 and the two lead terminals 3 which is consistent with the 18603437 instant application which describes the first outer wall as comprising the inner housing wall and the intermediate piece together per instant applicant’s corresponding US20240310487 PGPUB [0027] “so that the inner housing wall and the intermediate piece together form the first outer wall”) with an individual detection direction (Matsunaga; detection axis G) and detection height (Matsunaga; vertical direction V), wherein the individual detection direction and/or the individual detection height is/are measured on an arrangement of the module housing with the first outer wall at a planar base surface (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the upper surface of the mount board 51); wherein a deviation of the individual detection direction from a desired detection direction and/or of the individual detection height from a desired detection height is/are determined and the first outer wall is provided with a three-dimensional contour (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the 3rd direction is in the vertical direction V) that compensates the deviations (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 14, Matsunaga discloses The method in accordance with claim 13, wherein the sensor module has a sensor unit having a detection direction and a detection height, as well as a module housing having at least a first outer wall for arranging at a planar base surface, whereby then an orientation and a height position of the module housing and thus the detection direction and detection height of the sensor unit are fixed, wherein the first outer wall has a three-dimensional contour that is adapted to the individual detection direction and/or detection height of the sensor unit and tolerances of the sensor unit in the detection direction and/or detection height are compensated by the three-dimensional contour on an arrangement of the first outer wall at a planar base surface (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 16, Matsunaga discloses the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, Matsunaga discloses the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, Matsunaga discloses The method in accordance with claim 13, wherein the module housing is first manufactured with an inner housing wall (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the bottom surface of the resin part), an intermediate piece (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the two lead terminals 3) is manufactured with the three-dimensional contour and the intermediate piece is fastened to the inner housing wall or is arranged between the inner housing wall and the planar base surface so that the inner housing wall and the intermediate piece together form the first outer wall (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 24, Matsunaga discloses the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 12, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga in view of Rudmann US20170012069.
Regarding claim 2, Matsunaga teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The sensor module sensor module in accordance with claim 1, wherein the sensor module is configured for an sensor (Matsunaga; sensor 10).
Matsunaga does not teach wherein the sensor module is configured for an optoelectronic sensor.
Rudmann teaches wherein the sensor module is configured for an optoelectronic sensor (Rudmann; [0030] image sensor 32 is an active optoelectronic component).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor module as taught by Matsunaga to also be configured for an optoelectronic sensor as taught by Rudmann for the purpose of providing additional vehicle environmental data for vehicle navigation.
Regarding claim 5, Matsunaga teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The sensor module in accordance with claim 1, wherein the sensor is a having at least one scan plane whose orientation is fixed by the detection direction (Matsunaga; sensor 10).
Matsunaga does not teach wherein the sensor is a laser scanner or a radar having at least one scan plane whose orientation is fixed by the detection direction.
Rudmann teaches wherein the sensor is a laser scanner or a radar having at least one scan plane whose orientation is fixed by the detection direction (Rudmann; [0069] image sensor is VCSELs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor module as taught by Matsunaga to comprise a laser scanner as taught by Rudmann for the purpose of providing additional vehicle environmental data for vehicle navigation.
Regarding claim 12, Matsunaga teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The sensor module in accordance with claim 7, wherein the intermediate piece (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the two lead terminals 3).
Matsunaga does not teach wherein the intermediate piece is machined by material removal or is 3D printed.
Rudmann teaches wherein the intermediate piece is machined by material removal (Rudmann; [0051] machining the sensor alignment edge 404 to provide accurate customization to correct the tilt angle for the sensor 432).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the intermediate piece as taught by Matsunaga to be machined as taught by Rudmann for the purpose of providing customization to correct the tilt angle for the sensor (Rudmann; [0051] machining the sensor alignment edge 404 to provide accurate customization to correct the tilt angle for the sensor 432).
Regarding claim 18, modified Matsunaga teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 12.
Regarding claim 20, modified Matsunaga teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 12.
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga in view of Sykula US20200298804.
Regarding claim 3, Matsunaga teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The sensor module in accordance with claim 1, wherein the module housing (Matsunaga; resin part 2).
Matsunaga does not teach wherein the module housing is arranged in a sensor housing of the sensor; and wherein the planar base surface is a wall of the sensor housing or is fixedly connected thereto.
Sykula teaches wherein the module housing is arranged in a sensor housing of the sensor (Sykula; Fig. 2; [0030] sensor 42 is housed within sensor housing 54 with corresponding sensor window 34; [0029] sensor housing 54 protects the sensor 42 from the ambient environment).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor module as taught by Matsunaga to comprise a sensor housing that houses the module housing as taught by Sykula for the purpose of providing additional protection for the sensor (Sykula; [0029] sensor housing 54 protects the sensor 42 from the ambient environment). Doing so would additionally yield wherein the planar base surface is fixedly connected to the wall of the sensor housing.
Regarding claim 15, modified Matsunaga teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 3.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga in view of Marukawa US20230415667.
Regarding claim 21, Matsunaga teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method in accordance with claim 19, wherein the intermediate piece is manufactured by an process (Matsunaga; Fig. 2A; the two lead terminals 3).
Matsunaga is silent regarding wherein the intermediate piece is manufactured by an additive process.
Marukawa teaches wherein the intermediate piece is manufactured by an additive process (Marukawa; [0020-0021] sensor frame 10 is made by additive manufacturing from a list of known manufacturing processes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the manufacturing process as taught by Matsunaga to be an additive process as taught by Marukawa for the purpose of providing a way to make minor adjustments without the need for retooling.
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga in view of Nagata US20210239833.
Regarding claim 22, Matsunaga teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method in accordance with claim 19.
Matsunaga is silent regarding wherein the intermediate piece is provided with a marking from which the association with the sensor can be seen.
Nagata teaches wherein the intermediate piece is provided with a marking from which the association with the sensor can be seen (Nagata; [0163] upper cover member 440 is written with identification marks for the light detection unit 400 as well as for providing an indication of direction/orientation such as up, down, front, back).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the intermediate piece as taught by Matsunaga to comprise a marking as taught by Nagata for the purpose of providing identification marks and direction/orientation marks (Nagata; [0163] upper cover member 440 is written with identification marks for the light detection unit 400 as well as for providing an indication of direction/orientation such as up, down, front, back).
Regarding claim 23, Matsunaga teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method in accordance with claim 19.
Matsunaga is silent regarding wherein the intermediate piece has a marking and/or structuring with reference to which it is attached in the correct orientation.
Nagata teaches wherein the intermediate piece has a marking and/or structuring with reference to which it is attached in the correct orientation (Nagata; [0163] upper cover member 440 is written with identification marks for the light detection unit 400 as well as for providing an indication of direction/orientation such as up, down, front, back).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the intermediate piece as taught by Matsunaga to comprise a marking as taught by Nagata for the purpose of providing identification marks and direction/orientation marks (Nagata; [0163] upper cover member 440 is written with identification marks for the light detection unit 400 as well as for providing an indication of direction/orientation such as up, down, front, back).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Turner US4848137 teaches “After the shim blank is face milled, the profile of the shim is cut based on predeveloped contour information related to the interface where the shim is to be installed.”.
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 6/17/26