DETAILED ACTION
Contents
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 2
Allowable Subject Matter 10
Conclusion 11
This action is responsive to applicant’s claim set received on 5/26/24. Claims 17-26 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-20, 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajemba et al (US 9,286,505) in view of Nyul et al (US 6,584,216).
Regarding claim 17, Ajemba teaches a method comprising A. normalizing pixel intensities in a region of interest of a medical image (see col. 13, lines 1-67; At stage 208, tissue background in a tissue image is subtracted from the image using, for example, a top hat filter. In some embodiments, tissue background may correspond to a gray-level in the tissue image, which is in contrast to brighter regions of the tissue image that represent tissue foreground (e.g., nuclei and/or cytoplasm). The top hat filter may remove smooth regions that are larger than most, if not all, tissue and/or cellular components of interest in the image (e.g., nuclei clusters, or cytoplasm clusters when, for example, stage 208 is applied to CK18 images). In some embodiments of the present invention, a filter size (e.g., 30 pixels) may be set for the top-hat filter for use for non-uniform illumination correction. In some embodiments, nuclei and/or cytoplasm clusters have a size range from three to five small nuclei clumps (e.g., occupying roughly 100-200 pixels) to 10-30 nuclei large clumps (e.g., occupying roughly 500-2000 pixels)),
B. determining an average intensity of pixels within a shape that falls at least partially, if not wholly, within the region of interest (see col. 14, lines 1-50, col. 34, lines 1-50; At stage 218, a watershed transformation is performed using the distance map from stage 216 as input. The watershed transformation divides the image into small components or cells around the local maxima (e.g., local maxima of the nuclei). A suitable example of a watershed transformation process according to some embodiments of the present invention is described in above-incorporated Gonzalez R. C and Woods R. E., Digital Image Processing, Second Edition, Prentice-Hall Inc, 2002. (66) In some embodiments, the intensity inside each component or cell is set to its average intensity at stage 220 (“field estimation”)),
C. determining average determined in step (B) (see col. 35, lines 1-30, col. 34, lines 50-67; At stages 1506 and 1508, after positive object identification, sub-compartment histogram generation (stage 1506) and feature extraction (stage 1508) may be performed. In some embodiments of the present invention, histograms (e.g., epithelial and stroma histograms H.sub.E and H.sub.S) are extracted by binning the actual signal colored objects (e.g., nuclei B.sub.r), for example, separately in each sub-compartment. In some embodiments, the binning could also involve using compartments such as, for example, peri-epithelium and sub-compartments of the stroma. The histograms (e.g., epithelia and stroma histograms) may be analyzed separately to obtain relative intensity features such as, for example, cumulative expressions at each α-th percentile. Alternatively or additionally, the histograms may be analyzed in relation to each other to obtain features related to the relative expression of, for example, epithelia and stroma nuclei at each a position),
D. any of enhancing the medical image or identifying a morphology of a tissue imaged in the medical image as a function of the percentile ranking (see col. 14, lines 1-50, col. 36, lines 1-67; At stage 224, correction for non-uniform intensity is accomplished by multiplying the original image by the inverse of the intensity field obtained as a result of stage 220. In some embodiments, process 200 includes an additional stage (e.g., after stage 224) of enhancing the separation between clustered components (e.g., nuclei), for example, along the thin dark ridges that separate them using a morphological top-hat transform on the intensity corrected nuclei image. In some embodiments, this top-hat transform may be the same as, or similar to, the top-hat filter described above in connection with stage 208 (e.g., having a filter size of 30 pixels)). Ajemba does not teach expressly C. determining a percentile ranking determined in step (B) is relative to the normalized intensities of pixels determined in step (A).
Nyul, in the same field of endeavor, teaches C. determining a percentile ranking determined in step (B) is relative to the normalized intensities of pixels determined in step (A) (see col. 7, lines 40-67, col. 8,l ines 30-67, col. 11, lines 40-67; cut off the tails of the histogram of the image because they often cause problems. Usually the high intensity tail corresponds to artifacts and other intensities, and causes considerable inter- and intra-patient/scanner variations. With this in mind, the following assumptions are made. Let pc.sub.1 and pc.sub.2 denote the minimum and maximum percentile values, respectively, that are used to select a range of intensity of interest (IOI). Let the actual intensity values, corresponding to pc.sub.1 and pc.sub.2 in the histogram, be p.sub.1 and p.sub.1. The percentiles pc.sub.1 and pc.sub.2 are a number between 0 and 100 which represent the percent of the total number of voxels in the image. By comparison, p.sub.1 and p.sub.2 represent the intensity values, such that the number of voxels with an intensity value less than or equal to these values are pc.sub.1 and pc.sub.2 percent of the total number of voxels in the image. Thus, the following relationship is provided: ##EQU1## (20) The determination of pc.sub.1 and pc.sub.2 will be discussed in a subsequent section).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ajemba to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Nyul. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to standardize image intensity scales without specialized acquisition protocols and calibrations (see col. 2, lines 25-45). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Ajemba, while the teaching of Nyul continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 18, Ajemba with Nyal teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 17. Ajemba further teaches ii. determining a scaling factor and offset that would extend those minimum and maximum values to applicable normalization targets (see col. 13, lines 30-67), iii. applying that factor and offset to the intensity values of the pixels in the region of interest (see col. 13, lines 30-67, col. 10, lines 40-67). Ajemba with Nyal does not teach expressly surveying intensities of pixels in the region of interest to identify minimum and maximum intensity values.
Nyul, in the same field of endeavor, teaches surveying intensities of pixels in the region of interest to identify minimum and maximum intensity values (see col. 7, lines 1-40, col. 9, lines 40-67).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ajemba with Nyal to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Nyul. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to standardize image intensity scales without specialized acquisition protocols and calibrations (see col. 2, lines 25-45). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Ajemba with Nyal, while the teaching of Nyul continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 19, Ajemba teaches totaling intensities of pixels in the shape, following normalization, and dividing that total by a count of those pixels (see col. 34, lines 1-50, col. 35, lines 30-67).
Regarding claim 20, Ajemba with Nyal teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 17. Ajemba with Nyal does not teach expressly surveying normalized intensities of pixels in the region of interest and counting those having intensities any of above or below the average intensity determined in step (B).
Nyul, in the same field of endeavor, teaches surveying normalized intensities of pixels in the region of interest and counting those having intensities any of above or below the average intensity determined in step (B) (see col. 7, lines 1-67, col. 35, lines 1-35).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ajemba with Nyal to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Nyul. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to standardize image intensity scales without specialized acquisition protocols and calibrations (see col. 2, lines 25-45). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Ajemba with Nyal, while the teaching of Nyul continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 25, Ajemba teaches identifying the morphology of a tissue imaged in the medical image as a function of the percentile ranking (see col. 36, lines 1-50).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajemba et al (US 9,286,505) in view of Nyul et al (US 6,584,216), and further in view of Garcia (US 9,696,897 B2).
Regarding claim 21, Ajemba with Nyal teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 17. Ajemba with Nyal does not teach expressly displaying the percentile ranking.
Garcia, in the same field of endeavor, teaches displaying the percentile ranking (see col. 25, lines 40-67, col. 26, lines 1-30).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ajemba with Nyal to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Garcia. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been enable accurate measurement of items (see col. 1, lines 65-col. 2, lines 10). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Ajemba with Nyal, while the teaching of Garcia continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajemba et al (US 9,286,505) in view of Nyul et al (US 6,584,216), and further in view of Maier et al (US 2016/0203263 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Ajemba with Nyal teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 17. Ajemba with Nyal does not teach expressly any of re-shading, colorizing and/or otherwise enhancing display of the shape based on the percentile ranking.
Maier, in the same field of endeavor, teaches any of re-shading, colorizing and/or otherwise enhancing display of the shape based on the percentile ranking (see 0031, 0026, 0037, 0044).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ajemba with Nyal to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Maier. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been enable quantitative metrics regarding a patient’s current health status and risks in the future (see abstract). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Ajemba with Nyal, while the teaching of Maier continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajemba et al (US 9,286,505) in view of Nyul et al (US 6,584,216), and further in view of Eltonsy et al (IEEE: “A Concentric Morphology Model for the Detection of Masses in Mammography”).
Regarding claims 23-24, Ajemba with Nyal teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 17. Ajemba with Nyal does not teach expressly determining whether the shape is an outer boundary of a concentric set of shapes in the medical image based on the percentile ranking; determining characteristics of the concentric set of shapes and tissues imaged thereby based on the percentile ranking.
Eltonsy, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining whether the shape is an outer boundary of a concentric set of shapes in the medical image based on the percentile ranking (see abstract, section II, section III); determining characteristics of the concentric set of shapes and tissues imaged thereby based on the percentile ranking (see section 2, 3).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ajemba with Nyal to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Eltonsy. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to identify malignant masses while maintaining the detection rate of benign masses low (see abstract). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Ajemba with Nyal, while the teaching of Eltonsy continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 26, none of the references of record alone or in combination suggest or fairly teach wherein step (D) comprises identifying the morphology of the tissue imaged in the medical image as a function of the percentile ranking in combination with one or more of a spiculation characterization of the shape, a relative centralized distance percent of a series of concentric shapes of which the shape forms a part, a degree of balance of the series of concentric shapes, and a degree of pleomorphism of the series of concentric shapes.
Conclusion
Telephone: (571)270-1576 | Fax: 571.270.2576 | Edward.Park@uspto.gov
For email communications, please notate MPEP 502.03, which outlines procedures pertaining to communications via the internet and authorization. A sample authorization form is cited within MPEP 502.03, section II.
The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9-6 CST.
/EDWARD PARK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666