DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claims 1-6 read on a method of preparing fibroblast are under consideration in the instant application
2. It is noted that during prosecution of the parent case 16/770495, now Patent 11,959,102 Applicant asserted that the data provided in originally filed specification showing the beneficial properties of carbon monoxide in combination with hypoxia was surprising and unexpected. The prior art references teach that carbon monoxide is a toxic gas to fibroblast. None of the prior art references teach that hypoxia can counter the toxic effects of carbon monoxide. Thus, one skilled in the art would not reasonably expect that carbon monoxide could be combined with hypoxia to culture fibroblast, much less that such combination would in fact enhance the therapeutic properties of the fibroblast.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of instantly claim 1 can read on a method of preparing fibroblast by culturing them either in the presence of hypoxia or carbon monoxide.
4. Claim 1rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1,2) as anticipated by Spitz et al., ( Methods in Molecular Biology, 2010,v.610, pages 183-199, IDS), Bohrn et al., ( Procedia Engineering, 2010, v.5 pages 17- 20 IDS), Pufe et at., ( J of Pathology, 2003, v.200, pages 130-136 and Saed et al., ( Fertility and Sterility, 2002, v.78 pages 137-143 IDS)
Spitz et al., teach a method of culturing fibroblast to a condition comprising oxidative stress. Spitz et al teach that said condition results in increasing heme oxygenase activity and/or expression ( see entire document, Abstract in particular).
Bohrn et at., teach a method of culturing fibroblast, comprising exposing said fibroblast to carbon monoxide ( see entire document, Abstract in particular).
Pufe et at., teach a method of culturing fibroblast, comprising exposing said fibroblast to hypoxia. Pufe et at., teach that said condition might be beneficial for inducing proliferation of fibroblast. ( see entire document, Abstract in particular).
Saet et at., teach a method of culturing fibroblast, comprising exposing said fibroblast to hypoxia. Saet et at teach that said condition can be beneficial for inducing proliferation and inhibiting apoptosis of fibroblast. ( see entire document, Abstract in particular).
The reference teaching anticipates the claimed invention.
6. Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No.11959102
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No.11959102 recited a method of generating fibroblast comprising a step of exposing fibroblast to hypoxia and carbon monoxide.
12. The claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of the claims 1-44 of copending Application No. 18/570530; claims 1-111 of copending Application 18/561979. claims 1-95 of copending Application 18/042323
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims claims 1-44 of copending Application No. 18/570530; claims 1-111 of copending Application 18/561979. claims 1-95 of copending Application 18/042323 each recited a method of augmenting efficacy of fibroblast comprising a step of exposing fibroblast to hypoxia and carbon monoxide.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
7. No claim is allowed.
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571/273-8300
/MICHAIL A BELYAVSKYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644