DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 19, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/21/2025 and 04/23/2025 have been entered and considered. Initialed copies of the PTO-1449 by the Examiner are attached.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the down-sampling an input non-contrast image to output a down-sampled non-contrast image for each of a plurality of channels; generating a contrast image for each channel corresponding to the down-sampled non-contrast image for each channel using a pre-trained image transformation model; and up-sampling the generated contrast image for each channel to generate a contrast-enhanced image corresponding to the input non-contrast image must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by.
Zaharchuk et al (Pub No.: 20190108634).
Regarding independent claim 1, Zaharchuk teaches a method for generating contrast-enhanced images using a neural network (method to enhance image quality of diagnostic imaging modalities using a lower dose of contrast than is currently possible using a for e.g. a Convolutional Neural Network – see [p][0006][0008]), the method comprising:
down-sampling an input non-contrast image to output a down-sampled non-contrast image for each of a plurality of channels (multi-contrast image which is a combination of contrast and non-contrast image is fed into a model is an encoder-decoder convolutional neural network with 3 encoder layer 500, 502, 504, wherein each layer down-samples the multi-contrast image – see [p][0030-0031] and Fig 1 and Fig 5);
generating a contrast image for each channel corresponding to the down-sampled non-contrast image for each channel using a pre-trained image transformation model (non-contrast (zero-dose) MRI and the 10% low-dose CE-MRI are provided to the network as inputs, and the output of the network is an approximation of the full-dose CE-MRI -see [p][0030] and preprocessed images are then used to train the deep learning network to predict the full-contrast image from the pre-contrast and low-contrast images. The trained network is then used to synthesize full-contrast images from clinical scans of pre-contrast and low-contrast images -see [p][0009]); and
up-sampling the generated contrast image for each channel to generate a contrast-enhanced image corresponding to the input non-contrast image (note that the network contained 3 decoder layers 506, 508, 510, which upsampled the image received from 504 – see [p][0031] and Fig 5).
Regarding claim 7, Zaharchuk teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the up-sampling the generated contrast image for each channel includes: up-sampling the contrast image for each channel to generate a first contrast image for each channel corresponding to the up-sampled contrast image (this model is an encoder-decoder convolutional neural network with 3 encoder steps 500, 502, 504 and 3 decoder steps 506, 508, 510 – see [p][0031]); generating a second contrast image for each channel corresponding to the first contrast image for each channel using the pre-trained image transformation model (there are 3 convolutional layers connected by 3×3 Conv-BN-ReLU. Encoding steps are connected in sequence by 2×2 max-pooling, and decoder steps are connected in sequence by 2×2 up-sampling – see [p][0031]); and up-sampling the second contrast image for each channel to generate the contrast-enhanced image corresponding to the input non-contrast image using the up-sampled second contrast image ([b]ypass concatenate connections 512, 514, 516 combine symmetric layers to avoid resolution loss. The residual connections 518, 520, 522, 524, 526, 528, 530 enable the model to synthesize a full-dose image by predicting the enhancement signal 540 from a difference between pre-dose image 542 and low-dose image 544. The cost function 532 compares the predicted full-dose image 534 and the reference ground-truth full-dose image 536, which enables the optimization of the network parameters via error backpropagation 538 – see [p][0031]).
Regarding independent claim 8, Zaharchuk teaches a contrast-enhanced image generation device using a neural network (system to enhance image quality of diagnostic imaging modalities using a lower dose of contrast than is currently possible using a for e.g. a Convolutional Neural Network – see [p][0006][0008]), the device comprising: a memory ([p][0036]) configured to store one or more instructions (algorithms – see [p][0036][0044]); and a processor (2 NVIDIA GTX 1080-TI GPUs – see [p][0036]) configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor (see [p][0036]), cause the processor to
down-sample an input non-contrast image to output a down-sampled non-contrast image for each of a plurality of channels (multi-contrast image which is a combination of contrast and non-contrast image is fed into a model is an encoder-decoder convolutional neural network with 3 encoder layer 500, 502, 504, wherein each layer down-samples the multi-contrast image – see [p][0030-0031] and Fig 1 and Fig 5);
generate a contrast image for each channel corresponding to the down-sampled non-contrast image for each channel using a pre-trained image transformation model (non-contrast (zero-dose) MRI and the 10% low-dose CE-MRI are provided to the network as inputs, and the output of the network is an approximation of the full-dose CE-MRI -see [p][0030] and preprocessed images are then used to train the deep learning network to predict the full-contrast image from the pre-contrast and low-contrast images. The trained network is then used to synthesize full-contrast images from clinical scans of pre-contrast and low-contrast images -see [p][0009]); and
up-sample the generated contrast image for each channel to generate a contrast-enhanced image corresponding to the input non-contrast image (note that the network contained 3 decoder layers 506, 508, 510, which upsampled the image received from 504 – see [p][0031] and Fig 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaharchuk et al (Pub No.: 20190108634) in view of Li (Pub No.: US20220208355A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zaharchuk teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the image transformation model is trained by receiving a training non-contrast image for each channel ([t]he preprocessed images are then used to train the deep learning network to predict the full-contrast image from the pre-contrast and low-contrast images – see [p][0009]) and, Zaharchuk does not explicitly teach a training contrast-enhanced image serving as label data for each channel and transforming the training non-contrast image for each channel to a training contrast image for each image.
Li explicitly teaches a training contrast-enhanced image serving as label data for each channel and transforming the training non-contrast image for each channel to a training contrast image for each image (semi-supervised learning makes use of supervised and unsupervised techniques. Semi-supervised learning can involve having correct results for part, but not all, of training data. Therefore, semi-supervised learning typically involves partial inputs having corresponding labels, and other partial inputs having unknown labels (or no labels), and semi-supervised learning algorithms aim to use both types of inputs to learn a mapping from the input to the correct label. Semi-supervised learning algorithms can be suited for tasks where the label is difficult to annotate – see [p][0271]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zaharchuk of method for generating contrast-enhanced images using a neural network, the method comprising: down-sampling an input non-contrast image with the teachings of Li a training contrast-enhanced image serving as label data for each channel and transforming the training non-contrast image for each channel to a training contrast image for each image.
Wherein having Zaharchuk a training contrast-enhanced image serving as label data for each channel and transforming the training non-contrast image for each channel to a training contrast image for each image.
. The motivation behind the modification would have been for predicting a synthesized full-dose contrast agent image from a low-dose contrast agent image and a pre-dose image by concurrent and simultaneous synthesis of a medical CA-free-AI-enhanced image and medical diagnostic image analysis since both Zaharchuk and Li relates to create synthetic modality of image, wherein Zaharchuk to predict a synthesized full-dose contrast agent image from a low-dose contrast agent image and a pre-dose image while Li concurrently and simultaneously synthesis of a medical CA-free-AI-enhanced image and medical diagnostic image analysis (Please see Zaharchuk et al (Pub No.: 20190108634), see [p][007] and Li (Pub No.: US20220208355A1), see abstract).
Regarding claim 13, which corresponds to claim 6 except for reciting a different statutory category of a device. Therefore, the rejection analysis of claim 6 is fully applicable to claim 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PIETSCH et al (Pub No.: 20250078474) discloses the present invention relates to systems, methods and computer programs for training and using a machine learning model to generate synthetic contrast-enhanced computed tomography images with the help of magnetic resonance contrast agents.
Hooge et al (Pub No.: 20250191734) discloses systems, methods, and computer programs disclosed herein relate to training a machine learning model and using the trained machine learning model to generate synthetic images, preferably synthetic medical images.
PIETSCH et al (Pub No.: 20240407663) discloses systems, methods, and computer programs disclosed herein relate to training and using a machine learning model to generate contrast-enhanced magnetic resonance images.
JOST et al (Pub No.: 20240346718 ) discloses a systems and methods for generating artificial contrast-enhanced computed tomography (CT) images. An exemplary computer-implemented method involves receiving representations of an examination region of an examination object after administration of a contrast agent. The representations result from CT examination of the examination region at different X-ray energies. The method involves generating a representation of the contrast agent signals on the basis of the received representations (e.g., a signal intensity distribution brought about by the contrast agent in the examination region). The method involves generating a synthetic representation of the examination region comprising an α-fold addition of the representation of the contrast agent signals to one of the received representations or to a virtual non-contrast agent representation of the examination region. α is a negative or positive real number. The method involves outputting, storing, and/or transmitting the synthetic representation to a separate computer system.
Inquiries
/ANDRAE S ALLISON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2673
May 29, 2026