Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 1/9/2026 has been fully considered. Claim 1 was amended. Claims 15-20 are cancelled. Claims 21-23 are newly added.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the left and right ends (claim 1) of the upper edge of the upper edge of the rear lower panel; the rear lower panel comprises a left edge and right edge (claim 21) and wherein the left and right edges of the rear lower panel are fixedly attached to the front portion along an entire length (claim 21) of the left and right edges; a seam (claim 23) attached the front upper and lower panel”, these feature must be shown or canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The originally filed specification is silent with respect to the following language; “left and right ends of the upper edge of the rear lower panel are fixedly attached at left and right points that are substantially aligned above a wearer’s buttocks”, “rear lower panel further comprises a left edge and a right edges; and wherein the left and right edges of the rear lower panel are fixedly attached to the front portion along an entire length of the left and right edges”, “waistline comprises a seam attaching the front upper panel and the front lower panel”. Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites: “left and right ends of the upper edge of the rear lower panel are fixedly attached at left and right points that are substantially aligned above a wearer’s buttocks”. This newly added limitation is not supported by the originally filed disclosure.
Claim 21 recites: “rear lower panel further comprises a left edge and a right edges; and wherein the left and right edges of the rear lower panel are fixedly attached to the front portion along an entire length of the left and right edges”. This language is not supported by the originally filed disclosure.
Claim 23 recites: “waistline comprises a seam attaching the front upper panel and the front lower panel” This newly added limitation is not supported by the originally filed disclosure.
Claims 1-14 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “substantially aligned” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 2-14 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). The language “left and right points that are substantially aligned above a wearer’s buttocks” is a positive recitation of human anatomy. This can be corrected by using “adapted to/configure for” type language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Kunieda (US 4,535,480). The device of Kunieda teaches, as best understood,
A garment, comprising:
A front portion (3) comprising a front upper panel (3, upper,); a front lower panel (3, lower);
a rear upper panel (1);a rear lower panel (2);
wherein the front lower panel and the rear lower panel at least partially define a crotch region and left and right leg spaces (Figures 1 and 4);
wherein the rear upper panel comprises a lower edge (at 1a), and the rear lower panel comprises an upper edge (near element 5) ;
wherein left and right ends (distal edges of the seat flap element 2a) of the upper edge of the rear lower panel are fixedly attached to the front portion at left and right points (Column 1, line 59) that are substantially aligned above a wearer’s buttocks (Figure 1);
wherein at least a portion of the rear upper panel at least partially externally overlaps at least a portion of the rear lower panel (Figure 4);
wherein at least a portion of the lower edge of the rear upper panel and at least a portion of the upper edge of the rear lower panel define a rear access space positioned at a wearer's lower back (Figure 2); and
wherein the upper edge of the rear lower panel is configured to be stretched (5) to widen the rear access space (column 2, lines 25-27).
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Blomkwist (US 8,359,663). The device of Blomkwist teaches, as best understood,
A garment (Figure 1) , comprising:
A front portion (1) comprising a front upper panel (1, upper half,); a front lower panel (1, lower half);
a rear upper panel (3);a rear lower panel (5);
wherein the front lower panel and the rear lower panel at least partially define a crotch region (Figure 1) and left and right leg spaces (Figures 1, 12);
wherein the rear upper panel comprises a lower edge (7) and the rear lower panel comprises an upper edge (10) ;
wherein left and right ends (left and right ends of element 10) of the upper edge of the rear lower panel are fixedly attached (at seams 8) to the front portion at left and right points (left and right sides, figure 2 and 3) that are substantially aligned above a wearer’s buttocks (Figure 1);
wherein at least a portion of the rear upper panel at least partially externally overlaps at least a portion of the rear lower panel (Figure 2);
wherein at least a portion of the lower edge of the rear upper panel and at least a portion of the upper edge of the rear lower panel define a rear access space (P1, P2, Figure 3) positioned at a wearer's lower back (Figure 3); and
wherein the upper edge of the rear lower panel is configured to be stretched (P1, P2) to widen the rear access space (Figure 3).
With respect to claim 2, wherein the upper edge of the rear lower panel extends inferiorly in a medial direction (10).
With respect to claim 3, wherein the lower edge of the rear upper panel extends superiorly in a medial direction (7).
With respect to claim 4, wherein the rear access space defines a shape selected from the group consisting of a rectangle, a half-oval, an oval (figure 3), a half-circle, a circle, a triangle, or a diamond .
With respect to claim 7, wherein the front upper panel and front lower panel each further comprise a left edge and a right edge (at left and right sides, side seams 8, figure 1);
wherein the lower edge of the rear upper panel and the upper edge of the rear lower panel each comprises a left end and a right end (left and right sides, side seams 8, figure 2), wherein the left end of the lower edge of the rear upper panel (Figure 2) is affixed to the right edge of the front lower panel (side seams Figures 1 and 2), and the right end of the lower edge of the rear upper panel is affixed to the left edge of the front lower panel (Side seams, Figure 1 and 2); and
wherein the left end of the upper edge of the rear lower panel is affixed to the right edge of the front upper panel (side seams, 8), and the right end of the upper edge of the rear lower panel is affixed to the left edge of the front upper panel (side seams 8).
With respect to claim 21, wherein the rear lower panel (5) further comprises a left edge (edge along seam 8, ) and a right edge (edge along seam 8, shown at L figure 2); and
Wherein the left and right edges (edges corresponding to seam 8) of the rear lower panel are fixedly attached (8) to the front portion (1) along an entire length of the left and right edges (L).
With respect to claim 22, the front upper and lower panel are seamlessly attached along a front waistline (line/area adjacent a waist) (Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blomkist in view of Blomberg (US 2014/0053314). The device of Blomkist substantially discloses the claimed invention but is lacking an elastic band. The device of Blomkist teaches that it is known to utilize an elastic at the free edge but is generally unnecessary (Column 3, lines 67).
The device of Blomberg teaches,
With respect to claim 5, wherein the garment further comprises an elastic band (508) positioned along the upper edge of the rear lower panel.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the also optional elastic band taught by Blomberg in order to provide improved elasticity and durability of the opening.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blomkist, and Blomberg, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Farrow (US 2013/0296763). The modified device of Blomkist substantially discloses the claimed invention but is lacking claimed percentage of elongation.
The device of Farrow teaches,
With respect to claim 6, wherein the upper edge of the rear lower panel has a maximum percent elongation of about 30-100%. (claim 17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the elastic material having maximum elongation at 100% as taught by Farrow in order to provide the right amount of compression and not become too loose (para 0007).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blomkist, in view of Flesh (US 2,018,665). The device of Blomkist substantially discloses the claimed invention but is lacking a front portion having a seam attaching the front upper and lower panels.
The device of Flesh teaches,
A seam (30, 29) attaching an upper front panel (10) to a lower front panel (20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the seam taught by Flesh in order to provide improved reinforcement for the strain applied when pulling on a drop seat (Column 3, lines 33-40).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that paragraph 0040 provides support for the claimed amendments. Applicants specification filed on 3/13/2024 is not labeled in paragraph numbers. Applicants specification is silent with respect to ends or edges and their entirety or partial connections at upper and lower edges of the upper and lower panels. The drawing are not clear as overlapping edges cover an area where edges/ends of these elements may be located.
Applicant argues that “fixedly” attached defines over a releasable fastener. The language “fixedly” is not defined by the specification. A zipper fastener as taught by Kunieda meets the language as currently recited. Merriam webster defines “fixed” as securely placed or fastened. A zipper fastener provides secure fastening and meets the language as currently recited.
Applicant argues that Blomkist fails to provide a teaching of an opening positioned on a wearer’s lower back. The position of the opening on the human body would be dependent on the size/shape of the human body wearing the garment. Further, Figure 3 shows an opening that clearly would align with at least a portion of an area that corresponds with a wearers lower back. The functional language argued that the device “allows the wearer to pull the rear lower panel below their buttocks in order to use the restroom” is not recited in the claim. However, the prior art meet the structure as recited an would be capable of being stretched to below a buttocks to allow for toileting.
Applicant argues the Blomkist is not “substantially aligned above a wearer’s buttocks”. The attachment points of the left and right edges of Blomkist are at an area that are above a buttocks and would substantially align with at least the side portion of a perspective users buttocks. Further it is noted that the buttocks and its alignment with a garment would be dependent on the size/shape/anatomy of the person’s buttocks. Applicant argues that the device of Blomkist teaches attachment at the armholes. However armhole are above a buttocks and substantially aligned with at least and outside area of a potential users buttocks.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892
Please Note, the art of recorded cited in the PTO-892 may be relevant to the features of the invention both claimed and unclaimed or are relevant to the overall inventive concept. The best art has been set forward in the office action, as determined by the examiner and the art references provided are to establish other significant and relevant art and to promote compact prosecution.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RICHALE LEE. QUINN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3765
/RICHALE L QUINN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732