DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 11, & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2018149580A hereafter referred to as Iwata.
In regards to claim 1, Iwata discloses
An electronic component structure, comprising:
a first electronic component (16 – fig. 1; first paragraph of [Multi-layer sheet for bonding] section);
a second electronic component (17 – fig. 1; first paragraph of [Multi-layer sheet for bonding] section);
a low melting point layer (12 – fig. 1; first paragraph of [Multi-layer sheet for bonding] section) located between the first electronic component and the second electronic component and containing a first metal material having a melting point of 300°C or lower; and
a high melting point layer (11 and/or 13 – fig. 1; first paragraph of [Multi-layer sheet for bonding] section) located between the first electronic component and the second electronic component and containing a second metal material having a melting point of 400°C or higher, wherein
the first electronic component and the second electronic component are connected to each other by a multilayer connection portion formed by overlapping the low melting point layer and the high melting point layer (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 5, Iwata discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 1, wherein the first metal material comprises Sn alone or a solid solution containing Sn as a main component (first paragraph of [Multi-layer sheet for bonding] section).
In regards to claim 7, Iwata discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 1, wherein the multilayer connection portion includes a stacked structure of three or more layers with one high melting point layer sandwiched between two low melting point layers (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 11, Iwata discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 1, wherein the first metal material comprises Sn alone or a solid solution containing Sn as a main component (first paragraph of [Multi-layer sheet for bonding] section), and
the high melting point layer (11) contains the first metal material at a content ratio smaller than that of the low melting point layer (first paragraph of [Multi-layer sheet for bonding] section).
In regards to claim 15, Iwata discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 1, wherein an average thickness of the low melting point layer is 10 μm to 60 μm (third paragraph of [Multi-layer sheet for bonding] section).
Claim(s) 2, 6, 8, & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2007019360A hereafter referred to as Taniguchi.
In regards to claim 2, Taniguchi discloses
An electronic component structure, comprising:
a first electronic component (20 – fig. 2; [0030]);
a metal plate (11 – fig. 2; [0030]);
a low melting point layer (31 and/or 32 – fig. 2; [0030]) located between the first electronic component and the metal plate and containing a first metal material having a melting point of 300°C or lower; and
a high melting point layer (33 – fig. 2; [0049]) located between the first electronic component and the metal plate and containing a second metal material having a melting point of 400°C or higher, wherein
the first electronic component and the metal plate are connected to each other by a multilayer connection portion formed by overlapping the low melting point layer and the high melting point layer (fig. 2).
In regards to claim 6, Taniguchi discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 2, wherein the first metal material is Sn alone or a solid solution containing Sn as a main component ([0022]).
In regards to claim 8, Taniguchi discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 2, wherein the multilayer connection portion includes a stacked structure of three or more layers with one high melting point layer sandwiched between two low melting point layers (fig. 2).
In regards to claim 12, Taniguchi discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 2, wherein the first metal material comprises Sn alone or a solid solution containing Sn as a main component ([0022]), and
the high melting point layer contains the first metal material at a content ratio smaller than that of the low melting point layer ([0022] – noting the high melting point layer is Cu, Ni, or Au and is silent to having any Sn (i.e. has less Sn than the low melting point layer)).
Claim(s) 1-8 & 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noguchi (US 2018/0297152).
In regards to claim 1, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
An electronic component structure, comprising:
a first electronic component (14a is a busbar of an electronic component and thus includes the electronic component – fig. 2A & 2B; [0057]);
a second electronic component (14b is a busbar of an electronic component and thus includes the electronic component – fig. 2A & 2B; [0057]);
a low melting point layer (11 – fig. 2A & 2B; [0049]) located between the first electronic component and the second electronic component and containing a first metal material having a melting point of 300°C or lower; and
a high melting point layer (12 or 12 & 15 – fig. 2A & 2B; [0052] & [0063]) located between the first electronic component and the second electronic component and containing a second metal material having a melting point of 400°C or higher, wherein
the first electronic component and the second electronic component are connected to each other by a multilayer connection portion formed by overlapping the low melting point layer and the high melting point layer (fig. 2A & 2B).
In regards to claim 2, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
An electronic component structure, comprising:
a first electronic component(14a is a busbar of an electronic component and thus includes the electronic component – fig. 2A & 2B; [0057]);
a metal plate (14b is a metal busbar (i.e. metal plate) – fig. 2A & 2B; [0057]);
a low melting point layer (11 – fig. 2A & 2B; [0049]) located between the first electronic component and the metal plate and containing a first metal material having a melting point of 300°C or lower; and
a high melting point layer (12 or 12 & 15 – fig. 2A & 2B; [0052] & [0063]) located between the first electronic component and the metal plate and containing a second metal material having a melting point of 400°C or higher, wherein
the first electronic component and the metal plate are connected to each other by a multilayer connection portion formed by overlapping the low melting point layer and the high melting point layer (fig. 2A & 2B).
In regards to claim 3, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 1, wherein the second metal material comprises an intermetallic compound (15 – fig. 2B; [0063]).
In regards to claim 4, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 2, wherein the second metal material comprises an intermetallic compound (15 – fig. 2B; [0063]).
In regards to claim 5, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 1, wherein the first metal material comprises Sn alone or a solid solution containing Sn as a main component ([0049]).
In regards to claim 6, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 2, wherein the first metal material is Sn alone or a solid solution containing Sn as a main component ([0049]).
In regards to claim 7, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 1, wherein the multilayer connection portion includes a stacked structure of three or more layers with one high melting point layer sandwiched between two low melting point layers (fig. 2A & 2B).
In regards to claim 8, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 2, wherein the multilayer connection portion includes a stacked structure of three or more layers with one high melting point layer sandwiched between two low melting point layers (fig. 2A & 2B).
In regards to claim 11, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 1, wherein the first metal material comprises Sn alone or a solid solution containing Sn as a main component ([0049]), and
the high melting point layer contains the first metal material at a content ratio smaller than that of the low melting point layer (fig. 2A; [0052] – no Sn contained therein).
In regards to claim 12, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 2, wherein the first metal material comprises Sn alone or a solid solution containing Sn as a main component ([0049]), and
the high melting point layer contains the first metal material at a content ratio smaller than that of the low melting point layer (fig. 2A; [0052] – no Sn contained therein).
In regards to claim 13, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 1, wherein the first metal material comprises Sn alone or a solid solution containing Sn as a main component ([0049]), and
the high melting point layer contains the second metal material which is an intermetallic compound (15), the first metal material (portion of 11 formed at center region in thickness direction in line with 12/15 – fig. 2B and/or Sn contained in intermetallic compound), and a third metal material (12) comprising Cu alone or a solid solution containing Cu as a main component.
In regards to claim 14, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 2, wherein the first metal material comprises Sn alone or a solid solution containing Sn as a main component ([0049]), and
the high melting point layer contains the second metal material which is an intermetallic compound (15), the first metal material (portion of 11 formed at center region in thickness direction in line with 12/15 – fig. 2B and/or Sn contained in intermetallic compound), and a third metal material (12) comprising Cu alone or a solid solution containing Cu as a main component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi ‘152.
In regards to claim 15, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 1, wherein an average thickness of the low melting point layer is 10 μm to 60 μm ([0049]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, in re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); in re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed, Cir. 1990)
In regards to claim 16, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 2, wherein an average thickness of the low melting point layer is 10 μm to 60 μm ([0049]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, in re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); in re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed, Cir. 1990)
In regards to claim 17, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 1, wherein an average thickness of the high melting point layer is 30 μm to 100 μm ([0052]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, in re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); in re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed, Cir. 1990)
In regards to claim 18, Noguchi ‘152 discloses
The electronic component structure according to claim 2, wherein an average thickness of the high melting point layer is 30 μm to 100 μm ([0052]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, in re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); in re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed, Cir. 1990)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein the high melting point layer comprises a center portion disposed in a center in a first direction perpendicular to a stacking direction of the multilayer connection portion, and peripheral portions disposed on both sides of the center portion so as to sandwich the center portion along the first direction and having a thickness larger than that of the center portion, and the low melting point layers are continuously in contact with the high melting point layer from one of the peripheral portions sandwiching the center portion to the other of the peripheral portions via the center portion (claims 9-10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2014/0077376 – fig. 3 US 2017/0232562 – fig. 5
JP2019135734A – fig. 2 CN106378583A – fig. 1
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848