DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species depicted in fig. 2 in the reply filed on 7/8/26 is acknowledged. However, only claims 1-4 read on the elected species. Claims 5-6 are hereby withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gu (US 2022/0189848).
As to claim 1, Gu teaches a channel manufacturing method (figs. 1 and 2) for performing:
a first forming step of forming, on a first surface (top) of a first substrate (130), a slit (A1) and a first recess (OA1) to be separated from each other (fig. 2, [0016] and [0033]);
a first transfer step of transferring a first adhesive (120) applied to a first substrate (110) for application to the first surface of the first substrate (fig. 1, [0016]); and
a first bonding step of bonding a second substrate (110) to the first surface of the first substrate (130) via the first adhesive (120, step 530, fig. 5).
As to claim 3, Gu further teaches in the first forming step, the slit is formed to include a curved section and the first recess is formed in a vicinity of the curved section (fig. 4C, [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu.
As to claim 2, Gu further teaches a plurality of the first recesses are formed (A1 and A2) but does not teach the plurality of first recesses are formed zigzag. However, the purpose of the recesses A1 and A2 is to have more bonding material 120 for a more robust connection without increasing the size ([0012]). That is accomplished not only by more (thicker) bonding material 120 but also by surface area. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to vary the recesses to be zig zagged, even a little bit, so as to increase the robustness of the connection.
As to claim 4, Gu only teaches forming slits and bonding a semiconductor device 110 on one side of the substrate. However, the substrate is comprised of a dielectric layer 132 with a top metal layer 131 and a bottom metal layer 133 (fig. 1). The recesses are made into the top metal layer of the substrate (fig. 1).
However, doing the same thing on the bottom side of the substrate (i.e. forming recess ins the bottom metal layer 133 in the same manner as was done on the top metal layer) would have been obvious so as to fabricate a 3D device while minimizing footprint size.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-Delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
/KAREN KUSUMAKAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
8/7/26