Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the delivery device” should read “a delivery device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the feed water treatment” should read “the feed water treatment device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 11: “a merging means is provided for the steam phase of the feed water and the
raw steam”
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: “a consumer device (V) to form a condensate by at least partial condensation of the process steam”
Claim 9: “a delivery device to a consumer device (V) for forming a condensate by condensation of the process steam”
Claim 9: “a return device for supplying condensate”
Claim 9: “a feed water treatment device for treating the condensate to form the feed water”
With regards to the consumer device (V) of claims 1 and 9, the written disclosure and figures don’t clearly indicate what the corresponding structure of the consumer device is. At best, page 1 line 26 of the 03/13/2024 specification mention the “the type of consumer device may be vary largely” but don’t clearly indicate what the various consumer devices may be.
With regards to the delivery device of claim 9, the corresponding structure described in the 03/13/2024 specification as performing the claimed function is that of a delivery line (“the delivery device 2 and the return device 5 are designed in the form of a line, specifically a delivery line and a return line” [page 13 lines 24-26].
With regards to the return device of claim 9, the corresponding structure described in the 03/13/2024 specification as performing the claimed function is that of a return line (“the delivery device 2 and the return device 5 are designed in the form of a line, specifically a delivery line and a return line” [page 13 lines 24-26].
With regards to the feed water treatment device of claim 9, the corresponding structure described in subsequent claim 10 as performing the claimed function is that of a heating steam supply line and/or a vapor discharge line.
With regards to the merging means of claim 11, the corresponding structure described in the 03/13/2024 specification as performing the claimed function is that of a merger (“The steam phase 13 of the feed water 11 formed in the flash tank 12 as a result of the expansion of the treated feed water 11 via a throttle 22 is brought together with the raw steam in a merger 28” [page 15 lines 8-10].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 9 recite the limitations “a consumer device (V) to form a condensate by at least partial condensation of the process steam (claim 1), and “a consumer device (V) for forming a condensate by condensation of the process steam” (claim 9).
As noted in the 112(f) Claim Interpretation section, above, the disclosure doesn’t indicate what the corresponding structure of the “device” is, that performs the claimed function (i.e. “consumer” / consuming).
For this reason, the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the art that the Applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claims 2-8 are rejected based on their dependence upon claim 1. Claims 10-13 are rejected based on their dependence upon claim 9.
Claims 1-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, the claim limitations “a consumer device (V) to form a condensate by at least partial condensation of the process steam” (claim 1) and “a consumer device (V) for forming a condensate by condensation of the process steam” (claim 9) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. See the 112(f) Claim Interpretation section, above, for further explanation.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-8 are rejected based on their dependence upon claim 1. Claims 10-13 are rejected based on their dependence upon claim 9.
Claim 6 recites “in which the heating steam of the feed water treatment is at least partially provided by a process steam and/or raw steam”, wherein “heating steam” is not recited in claim 1 from which claim 6 depends. Thus, it is unclear the capacity in which the system comprises heating steam. This rejection may be overcome by amending claim 6 to depend upon claim 2, which discloses “in which, preferably, the condensate is fed to the feed water treatment system together with a heating steam for, in particular, direct heating of the condensate”, or amending the claim to recite “in which the condensate is fed to the feed water treatment system together with a heating steam, and in which the heating steam of the feed water treatment is at least partially provided by a process steam and/or raw steam”.
Claim 13 recites “wherein the geothermal fluid (G) has a temperature of at least 40 °C, preferably at least 60 °C, in particular at least 80 °C”, wherein “geothermal fluid” is not recited in claim 9 from which claim 13 depends. Thus, it is unclear the capacity in which the system comprises geothermal fluid. This rejection may be overcome by amending claim 13 to depend upon claim 12, which discloses “the evaporator has a supply line for geothermal fluid”, or amending the claim to recite “wherein the evaporator has a supply line for geothermal fluid, wherein the geothermal fluid (G) has a temperature of at least 40 °C, preferably at least 60 °C, in particular at least 80 °C”.
Regarding Claim 2, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
“Preferably” is also used in claim 3 (lines 3, 6, last line); claim 4 (line 3 and second to last line); claim 5 (second to last line); claim 7 (second to last line + last line); claim 8 (third to last line); claim 9 (line 2); claim 10 (second to last line); claim 11 (second to last line); claim 13 (second to last line).” Therefore, the same rejection applies.
Regarding Claim 2, the phrase “in particular” (line 3 + last line) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
“In particular” is also used in claim 3 (line 3, second to last line, last line); claim 4 (line 3, second to last line); claim 5 (last line); claim 6 (line 3); claim 7 (line 3, last line); claim 8 (line 2); claim 10 (line 3); claim 13 (last line). Therefore, the same rejection applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koichiro (JP2013002708A), referring to the English translation dated 07/30/2026, in view of Sorida (US20140298809A1).
Regarding claim 1, Koichiro teaches
a method for generating process steam (via steam generator 1, fig. 2)
in which feed water is separated into a steam phase and a liquid phase in a flash tank (“a flash tank 7 for decompressing hot water flowing out from the condenser 3 and separating it into steam and hot water”) [0026],
in which the liquid phase of the feed water is evaporated in an evaporator to form a raw steam (condenser 3 operates as an evaporator for hot water from flash tank 7, as described in [0029-0030]), and
in which the steam phase of the feed water and the raw steam are compressed in at least one compressor to form process steam (“a steam compressor 17 that sucks, compresses and discharges the steam supplied from the flash tank 7 in the supply flow passage 11”) [0035]
Koichiro does not teach
a method for generating process steam using condensate recycled in the form of feed water,
in which the process steam is delivered to a consumer device (V) to form a condensate by at least partial condensation of the process steam,
in which the condensate is fed from the consumer device (V) to a feed water treatment system for treatment,
in which feed water from the feed water treatment system is separated into a steam phase and a liquid phase in a flash tank
Sorida teaches
a method for generating process steam (fig. 1) using condensate recycled in the form of feed water (via condenser 43),
in which the process steam is delivered to a consumer device (V) to form a condensate by at least partial condensation of the process steam (pipe 53 delivers to a steam turbine 41, fig. 1 (wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that an output of steam turbine 41 includes low pressure steam and condensate)),
in which the condensate is fed from the consumer device (V) to a feed water treatment system for treatment (fed to heat exchanger 61 from condenser 43, fig. 1),
in which feed water from the feed water treatment system is separated into a steam phase and a liquid phase in a flash tank (“warm water having been separated by the vacuum flasher 63”) [0052]
Koichiro teaches the method for generating process steam as claimed comprising a makeup feed water tank 12, however does not teach the system ) using condensate recycled in the form of feed water. Sorida teaches a similar system, wherein after use by a consumer device, the output steam and condensate is returned to the system for use, which is supplemented by a makeup tank 49. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the return line arrangement of Sorida to the demand facility 10 and makeup water tank 12 of Koichiro, in order to effectively reuse the fluid present in the system and thus reduce the demand on makeup water tank 12.
Regarding claim 3, Koichiro, as modified, teaches the method according to claim 1,
in which the condensate is fed to the feed water treatment system at a temperature of between 60° and 100°C (73° C, fig. 1), preferably between 70°C and 80°C, in particular of at least substantially 80°C (not required due to “preferably” terminology),
and/or in which the condensate is degassed in the feed water treatment system at a pressure of between 1 bar and 2 bar, preferably between 1.1 and 1.5 bar, in particular of at least essentially 1.2 bar and/or at a temperature of greater than 100 °C, preferably between 102 °C and 108 °C, in particular of at least essentially 105 °C (not required due to “or” terminology)
Regarding claim 4, Koichiro, as modified, does not teach the method according to claim 1,
in which the flash tank is operated at a pressure of between 0.07 bar and 0.9 bar, preferably between 0.12 bar and 0.8 bar, in particular of at least essentially 0.2 bar or 0.6 bar, and/or (not required due to “or” terminology),
in which the flash tank is operated at a temperature of between 40 °C and 96 °C, preferably between 50 °C and 93.5 °C, in particular of at least substantially 60 °C or 85.9 °C (“the PH heat exchanger 61 heats warm water of 73° C. supplied from the heat exchanger feed water pump 64 up to 85° C., and supplies the water of 85° C. to the vacuum flasher 63” [0054]; therefore, as modified by Sorida, the flash tank 7 of Koichiro is operating with supplied water of 85° C, thus reading on between 40 °C and 96 °C (and “substantially 85.9 °C”))
Regarding claim 7, Koichiro, as modified, does not teach the method according to claim 1,
in which the liquid phase of the feed water is evaporated in the evaporator by heat exchange with a heat transfer medium (heat exchange in condenser 3), in particular feed water (not required due to “or” terminology), heat flows from biomass plants and/or heat pumps (heat pump 6), waste heat flows, and/or geothermal fluid (G) (not required due to “or” terminology), and
in which, preferably, the geothermal fluid (G) has a temperature of at least 40 °C, preferably at least 60 °C, in particular at least 80 °C (not required due to “or” and “preferably” terminology)
Regarding claim 9, Koichiro teaches
a steam generating device (steam generator 1, fig. 2) for generating process steam using condensate recycled in the form of feed water (via makeup water tank 12), preferably with a method according to claim 1 (not required due to use of term “preferably”),
with a flash tank for separating the feed water into a steam phase and a liquid phase (“a flash tank 7 for decompressing hot water flowing out from the condenser 3 and separating it into steam and hot water”) [0026],
with an evaporator for evaporating the liquid phase of the feed water to form a raw steam (condenser 3 operates as an evaporator for hot water from flash tank 7, as described in [0029-0030]),
with at least one compressor for compressing the steam phase of the feed water and the raw steam to form process steam (“a steam compressor 17 that sucks, compresses and discharges the steam supplied from the flash tank 7 in the supply flow passage 11”) [0035],
with a delivery device to a consumer device (V) (supply flow passage 11 to a demand facility 10)
Koichiro does not teach
with a delivery device to a consumer device (V) for forming a condensate by condensation of the process steam,
with a return device for supplying condensate and
with a feed water treatment device for treating the condensate to form the feed water
Sorida teaches
with a delivery device to a consumer device (V) for forming a condensate by condensation of the process steam (pipe 53 to a steam turbine 41, fig. 1 (wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that an output of steam turbine 41 includes low pressure steam and condensate)),
with a return device for supplying condensate (condenser 43 and heat exchanger feed water pump 64, fig. 1) and
with a feed water treatment device for treating the condensate to form the feed water (heat exchanger 61, fig. 1)
Koichiro teaches the steam generating device as claimed comprising a makeup water tank 12, however does not teach the system with a delivery device to a consumer device (V) for forming a condensate by condensation of the process steam and with a return device for supplying condensate and with a feed water treatment device for treating the condensate to form the feed water. Sorida teaches a similar system, wherein after use by a consumer device, the output steam and condensate is returned to the system for use, which is supplemented by a makeup tank 49. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the return line arrangement of Sorida to the demand facility 10 and makeup water tank 12 of Koichiro, in order to effectively reuse the fluid present in the system and thus reduce the demand on makeup water tank 12.
Regarding claim 10, Koichiro, as modified, teaches the steam generating device according to claim 9, wherein
the feed water treatment has a heating steam supply line for heating the condensate, in particular directly (line through heat exchanger 61, fig. 1 of Sorida), and/or a vapor discharge line for discharging gas expelled from the condensate (not required due to “or” terminology) and that, preferably, the heating steam supply line is assigned a throttle for forming heating steam by throttling of process steam (not required due to “preferably” terminology)
Regarding claim 11, Koichiro, as modified, teaches the steam generating device according to claim 9, wherein
a merging means is provided for the steam phase of the feed water and the raw steam (junction between outlet line from condenser 3 and flash tank 7 reads on “merging means”) and that, preferably, at least one compressor is provided for jointly compressing the steam phase of the feed water and the raw steam after the merging means (steam compressor 17 downstream of said junction ((despite not being required due to “preferably” terminology))
Regarding claim 12, Koichiro, as modified, teaches the steam generating device according to claim 9, wherein
the evaporator has a supply line for condensate for evaporating the liquid phase of the feed water and is configured for evaporating the liquid phase of the feed water by heat exchange with the condensate supplied via the supply line (line between compressor 2 and outlet of condenser 3 shown on fig. 2 of Koichiro, wherein high pressure chlorofluorocarbon gas that turns to condensate in condenser 3 evaporates the liquid phase of the feed water by heat exchange) and/or that the evaporator has a supply line for feed water for evaporating the liquid phase of the feed water and is configured for evaporating the liquid phase of the feed water by heat exchange with the feed water supplied via the supply line (not required due to “or” terminology) and/or that the evaporator has in supply line for feed water for evaporating the liquid phase of the feed water by heat exchange with the feed water supplied via the supply line (not required due to “or” terminology) and/or that the evaporator has a supply line for geothermal fluid (G) for evaporating the liquid phase of the feed water and is configured for evaporating the liquid phase of the feed water by heat exchange with the geothermal fluid (G) supplied via the supply line (not required due to “or” terminology)
Claim 1 may also be rejected over Koichiro and Sorida in view of the second embodiment of fig. 4 of Sorida. Regarding claim 1, Koichiro teaches
a method for generating process steam (via steam generator 1, fig. 2)
in which feed water is separated into a steam phase and a liquid phase in a flash tank (“a flash tank 7 for decompressing hot water flowing out from the condenser 3 and separating it into steam and hot water”) [0026],
in which the liquid phase of the feed water is evaporated in an evaporator to form a raw steam (condenser 3 operates as an evaporator for hot water from flash tank 7, as described in [0029-0030]), and
in which the steam phase of the feed water and the raw steam are compressed in at least one compressor to form process steam (“a steam compressor 17 that sucks, compresses and discharges the steam supplied from the flash tank 7 in the supply flow passage 11”) [0035]
Koichiro does not teach
a method for generating process steam using condensate recycled in the form of feed water,
in which the process steam is delivered to a consumer device (V) to form a condensate by at least partial condensation of the process steam,
in which the condensate is fed from the consumer device (V) to a feed water treatment system for treatment,
in which feed water from the feed water treatment system is separated into a steam phase and a liquid phase in a flash tank
Sorida, second embodiment, teaches
a method for generating process steam (fig. 4) using condensate recycled in the form of feed water (via condenser 43),
in which the process steam is delivered to a consumer device (V) to form a condensate by at least partial condensation of the process steam (pipe 53 from flasher 51 (ref. no. shown on fig. 1) delivers to a steam turbine 41, fig. 4 (wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that an output of steam turbine 41 includes low pressure steam and condensate)),
in which the condensate is fed from the consumer device (V) to a feed water treatment system for treatment (fed to heat exchanger 61 and heat exchanger 62 from condenser 43, fig. 1),
in which feed water from the feed water treatment system is separated into a steam phase and a liquid phase in a flash tank (“warm water having been separated by the vacuum flasher 63”) [0052]
Koichiro teaches the method for generating process steam as claimed comprising a makeup feed water tank 12, however does not teach the system using condensate recycled in the form of feed water. Sorida teaches a similar system, wherein after use by a consumer device, the output steam and condensate is returned to the system for use, which is supplemented by a makeup tank 49. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the return line arrangement of Sorida to the demand facility 10 and makeup water tank 12 of Koichiro, in order to effectively reuse the fluid present in the system and thus reduce the demand on makeup water tank 12.
Regarding claim 6, Koichiro, as modified by the second embodiment of Sorida, teaches the method according to claim 1,
in which the heating steam of the feed water treatment is at least partially provided by a process steam and/or raw steam (after “steam of the steam turbine 41 is cooled and condensed in the condenser 43” [0040 of Sorida], feed water is partially provided through heat exchanger 62 and boiler 31 as shown on fig. 4; “Warm water having been supplied from a boiler feeding pump 38 to the AQC boiler 31 is heated by the economizer 34 into hot water. A part of the hot water generated in the economizer 34 is supplied to the steam drum 35 through the control valve 36 . The hot water is passed through the evaporator 33 and the superheater 32 to become superheated steam” [0035 of Sorida]; therefore, the superheated steam created in boiler 31 is originally partially provided by a process steam from steam turbine 41, as applied to Koichiro), in particular throttled via a throttle (regulating valve 36)
Regarding claim 8, Koichiro, as modified by the second embodiment of Sorida, teaches the method according to claim 1,
in which the feed water (referring to fig. 4 of Sorida), in particular the liquid phase of the feed water from the flash tank (“Water separated by the vacuum flasher 63 is merged with condensed water of a low temperature, which is generated by the condenser 43 , and is then distributed to the PH heat exchanger 61 and the AQC heat exchanger 62”) [0062 of Sorida], is partially fed to at least one steam boiler and is evaporated in the at least one steam boiler to form a process steam (as shown on fig. 4, the outlet of AQC heat exchanger 62 is then supplied to AQC boiler 31; “Warm water having been supplied from a boiler feeding pump 38 to the AQC boiler 31 is heated by the economizer 34 into hot water. A part of the hot water generated in the economizer 34 is supplied to the steam drum 35 through the control valve 36 . The hot water is passed through the evaporator 33 and the superheater 32 to become superheated steam”) [0035 of Sorida], and
in which, preferably, the process steam from the at least one steam boiler and the process steam from the at least one compressor are at least partially combined and delivered to the consumer device (V) via the delivery device (not required due to “preferably” terminology; however, Sorida does teach both process steams being delivered to steam turbine 41 via pipe 53 and steam pipe 28, fig. 1 and 4)
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koichiro (JP2013002708A), referring to the English translation dated 07/30/2026, in view of Sorida (US20140298809A1), in further view of Deepyaman (US20210140627A1).
Regarding claim 2, Koichiro, as modified, teaches the method according to claim 1,
in which, preferably, the condensate is fed to the feed water treatment system together with a heating steam for, in particular, direct heating of the condensate (not required due to “preferably” terminology)
Koichiro does not teach
in which the condensate is at least partially degassed in the feed water treatment to form feed water, in particular by separating off oxygen (O2) and/or carbon dioxide (CO2)
Deepyaman teaches
in which the condensate is at least partially degassed in the feed water treatment to form feed water, in particular by separating off oxygen (O2) and/or carbon dioxide (CO2) (“In some embodiments, the upstream feedstream processing system comprises a deaerator such that the feedstream F 1 is deaerated before being received by the second pump 124 , as described in more detail below. Deaeration may be desirable as some dissolved gases, such as oxygen and carbon dioxide, can increase the risk of corrosion of fluid lines and equipment of the systems described herein. In some embodiments, deaeration also heats the feedstream F 1 such that the feedstream F 1 is pre-heated before being received by the second pump 124” [0084]
Deepyaman teaches deaerating feed water prior to flash vessel 104 on fig. 1A, in coordination with pre-heating the feed water. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include deaeration as part of the feed water treatment of Koichiro, as modified by Sorida, since “some dissolved gases, such as oxygen and carbon dioxide, can increase the risk of corrosion of fluid lines and equipment of the systems described herein” [0084 of Deepyaman].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koichiro (JP2013002708A), referring to the English translation dated 07/30/2026, in view of Sorida (US20140298809A1), in further view of Link (US4438730A).
Regarding claim 5, Koichiro, as modified, does not teach the method according to claim 1,
in which the compressor draws a negative pressure in the flash tank at least in comparison with the pressure in the feed water treatment system and/or
in which the at least one compressor generates a process steam at a temperature of between 100 °C and 450 °C, preferably between 100 °C and 250 °C, in particular at least substantially 200 °C
Link teaches
in which the compressor draws a negative pressure in the flash tank at least in comparison with the pressure in the feed water treatment system and/or (not required due to “or” terminology)
in which the at least one compressor generates a process steam at a temperature of between 100 °C and 450 °C (“to which the steam was compressed mechanically and a temperature of from 140 DEG to 165 DEG C”) [claim 1], preferably between 100 °C and 250 °C, in particular at least substantially 200 °C (not required due to “preferably” terminology)
While Koichiro, as modified, teaches at least one compressor generates a process steam, it does not explicitly teach the particular temperature the steam is generated to. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generated the steam to 140°C to 165°C, as taught in Link, in order to generate the steam to a temperature taught in Link since Link discloses “The combination of mechanical and thermodynamic compression for the generation of superheated low-pressure steam is a method that has better results regarding energy and cost than any other known configuration” [abstract of Link].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koichiro (JP2013002708A), referring to the English translation dated 07/30/2026, in view of Sorida (US20140298809A1), in further view of Lu (US20220082091A1).
Regarding claim 13, Koichiro, as modified, does not teach the steam generating device according to claim 9, wherein
the geothermal fluid (G) has a temperature of at least 40 °C, preferably at least 60 °C, in particular at least 80 °C
Lu teaches
the geothermal fluid (G) has a temperature of at least 40 °C, preferably at least 60 °C, in particular at least 80 °C (geothermal water is 120°C or 180°C as disclosed in [0024-0025])
Koichiri, as modified, teaches the steam generating device as claimed, however teaches the heat source for evaporating the liquid phase of the feed water to form a raw steam as a condenser 3 of a steam generator 1a. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heat source as a geothermal water circuit, as taught in Lu, in order to reduce the power consumption of the system by utilizing a natural heating source.
Conclusion
The prior art of record not relied upon includes:
Kubota (WO2015068531A1), which teaches a similar steam generating device to that claimed
/BRETT P. MALLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762