DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s remarks received on 05/26/2026 with respect to the amended independent claims have been acknowledged and are moot in view of a new ground of rejection necessitated by the corresponding amendment. Currently claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, and 13-18 are rejected and claims 2, 7, and 12 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
Claim Interpretation – 35 U.S.C. § 112 (f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a storage unit, a processing determination unit, a process management unit, in claims 1-10 and 16-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al (US Pub: 2003/0128384) and in further view of Dokai et al (US Pub: 2017/0243229) and Kohara (US Pub: 2003/0191975).
Regarding claim 1 (currently amended), Nelson et al teaches: An industrial printing system that performs production printing having a plurality of print servers that performs distributed processing of a job, each of the plurality of print servers comprising [abstract]: a processing determination unit configured to determine other print server capable of processing the job based on the license information stored in the storage unit; and a processing management unit configured to send the job to the other print server determined to be capable of processing by the processing determination unit and requests processing [fig. 4: 43, 45, p0034].
Nelson et al does not disclose license information, in the same field of endeavor, Dokai teaches: a storage unit configured to store license information having date and time information of an available distribution destination for the distributed processing [p0035, p0036]; a processing determination unit configured to determine other print server capable of processing the job based on the license information stored in the storage unit [p0086-p0090].
Therefore, given Dokai’s prescription on controlling printing application based on validity/expiration of a license, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to decide whether to distribute jobs to a printer server based on status of its license for usage control purpose.
Dokai starts printing application operation based on date of a license rather than job event. In the same field of endeavor, Kohara teaches: wherein the processing management unit of the other print server is configured to activate a component apparatus connected with the other print server only at a date and time set in the date and time information and cause the component apparatus to process the job [p0040]. Therefore, given Kohara’s teaching on starting printer operation based on date and time of a scheduled job/event, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to activate a printer to print a job based on a predetermined date and time for convenience.
Claims 6 and 11 (currently amended) have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1.
6. Claims 4, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al (US Pub: 2003/0128384), Dokai et al (US Pub: 2017/0243229), and Kohara (US Pub: 2003/0191975); and in further view of Fukasawa (US Pub: 2011/0157629).
Regarding claim 4 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Dokai further teaches: The industrial printing system according to claim 1, wherein: the processing management unit of the print server is configured to transmits and receives the license information between the plurality of print servers and manages processing of the job [p0034]. Nelson in view of Dokai and Kohara does not specify license shared. In the same field on endeavor, Fukarawa teaches: wherein the license information is shared among the plurality of print servers [claims 1 and 2]. Therefore, given Fukarawa’s teaching, sharing license among devices would have been with grasp of an ordinary skilled in the art for improved operating efficiency.
Claims 9 and 14 (currently amended) have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 4
7. Claims 3, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al (US Pub: 2003/0128384), Dokai et al (US Pub: 2017/0243229), and Kohara (US Pub: 2003/0191975); and in further view of Eda et al (US Pub: 2016/0132897).
Regarding claim 3 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Dokai further teaches: The industrial printing system according to claim 1, wherein: the processing management unit of the other print server is configured to determines whether or not the job is possible to be outputted based on settings of the license information, and when outputting is not possible, allows requesting print server to choose whether to cancel a processing request for the job or acquire another license [p0042, fig. 10].
Nelson et al in view of Dokai does not specify cancelling a request. In the same field of endeavor, Eda et al teaches cancelling a processing request for the job [p0038], and transmit output-not-enabled notification, which is information indicating that the output is not possible [fig. 2: 228].
Therefore, given Eda et al’s exemplification on whether to cancel a job request depending on pre-assigned permission, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to choose to cancel a job request based on availability of license.
Claim 8 (currently amended) has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 3.
Claim 13 (currently amended) has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 3.
8. Claims 5, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al (US Pub: 2003/0128384), Dokai et al (US Pub: 2017/0243229), and Kohara (US Pub: 2003/0191975); and in further view of Yamada et al (US Pub: 2019/0079708) and Manohar et al (US Pub: 2016/0098231).
Regarding claim 5 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Nelson et al in view of Dokai and Kohara does not calculate processing time and cost of a job. In the same field of endeavor, Yamada et al further teaches: The industrial printing system according to claim 1, wherein: the processing management unit of the other print server calculates processing time and cost of the job based on the license information when requesting processing [abstract, p0017, p0018]. Therefore, given Yamada et al’s teaching on calculating cost of a print job and processing time by a print server, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to calculate cost and processing time of a print job to estimate profit associated with a license having specific features.
And Manohar et al in the same field of endeavor teaches: check whether the processing time and cost is within a range set in the license information [abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to make sure processing time and cost within a limit to maintain proper capacity.
Claim 10 (currently amended) has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 5.
Claim 15 (currently amended) has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 5.
9. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al (US Pub: 2003/0128384), Dokai et al (US Pub: 2017/0243229), and Kohara (US Pub: 2003/0191975); and in further view of Laing et al (WO Pub: 2020086088).
Regarding claim 16 (New), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Nelson et al in view of Dokai and Kohara does not encrypt a job using a public key. In the same field of endeavor, Laing et al teaches: The industrial printing system according to claim 1, wherein: the processing management unit of the print server is configured to encrypts the job by using a public key included in the license information and transmits the job [abstract]. Therefore, given Laing et al’s teaching on transmitting an encrypted print job using a public key, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to use public key to encrypt job for transmission for security purpose.
10. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al (US Pub: 2003/0128384), Dokai et al (US Pub: 2017/0243229), Kohara (US Pub: 2003/0191975), and Eda et al (US Pub: 2016/0132897); and in further view of Wozniak et al (US Patent: 10,115,134) and d’Entrecastaux (US Pub: 2011/0228313).
Regarding claim 17 (New), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 3 has been incorporated herein. Nelson et al in view of Dokai et al, Kohara, and Eda et al does not make adjustment when time/cost exceeds limit. In the same field of endeavor, Wozniak et al teaches: The industrial printing system according to claim 3, wherein: the processing determination unit of the print server is configured to notify a user of the output-not-enabled notification, allows the user to change a part that is not meet within the license, or, when the processing time exceeds an allowable cost of billing data, changes to the allowable cost or date and time to match the allowable cost [abstract]. And d’Entrecastaux changes date or time to obtain a lower cost [claims 4 and 5]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to change time and date to match allowable cost for budget control.
11. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al (US Pub: 2003/0128384), Dokai et al (US Pub: 2017/0243229), Kohara (US Pub: 2003/0191975), Yamada et al (US Pub: 2019/0079708), and Manohar et al (US Pub: 2016/0098231); and in further view of Rai et al (US Pub: 2007/0070379) and Rai 938’ (US Pub: 2011/0218938).
Regarding claim 18 (New), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 5 has been incorporated herein. Yamada et al and Manohar et al further teach: The industrial printing system according to claim 5, wherein: the processing management unit of the other print server is configured to generates estimation data that includes the processing time and cost of the job, along with weighting values [Yamada: figs. 8, 10, 11; Manohar: fig. 1].
In the same field of endeavor, Rai et al and 938’ further teach: after the job is processed, calculates difference data by comparing the processing time and cost data of the actually processing the job with the processing time and cost of the estimation data, and calculates the weighting values from the difference data [Rai: p0029 (time); Rai 938’: p0016 (cost)]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to calculate time and cost difference to improve weighting value for future estimates.
Conclusion
12. There is a new ground of rejection necessitated by the corresponding amendment presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682