DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Interpretation – 35 U.S.C. § 112 (f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a storage unit, a processing determination unit, a process management unit, in claims 1-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al (US Pub: 2003/0128384) and in further view of Dokai et al (US Pub: 2017/0243229).
Regarding claim 1, Nelson et al teaches: An industrial printing system that performs production printing having a plurality of print servers that performs distributed processing of a job, each of the plurality of print servers comprising [abstract]: a processing determination unit configured to determine other print server capable of processing the job based on the license information stored in the storage unit; and a processing management unit configured to send the job to the other print server determined to be capable of processing by the processing determination unit and requests processing [fig. 4: 43, 45, p0034].
Nelson et al does not disclose license information, in the same field of endeavor, Dokai teaches: a storage unit configured to store license information having date and time information of an available distribution destination for the distributed processing [p0035, p0036]; a processing determination unit configured to determine other print server capable of processing the job based on the license information stored in the storage unit [p0086-p0090].
Therefore, given Dokai’s prescription on controlling printing application based on validity/expiration of a license, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to decide whether to distribute jobs to a printer server based on status of its license for usage control purpose.
Regarding claim 2, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Dokai further teaches: The industrial printing system according to claim 1, wherein: the processing management unit of the other print server activates a connected component apparatus only at date and time set in the date and time information [p0032, p0036].
Regarding claim 4, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Dokai further teaches: The industrial printing system according to claim 1, wherein: the processing management unit transmits and receives the license information between the plurality of print servers and manages processing of the job [p0034].
Claims 6, 7, and 9 have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 1, 2, and 4 respectively.
Claims 11, 12, and 14 have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 1, 2, and 4 respectively.
5. Claims 3, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al (US Pub: 2003/0128384) and Dokai et al (US Pub: 2017/0243229); and in further view of Eda et al (US Pub: 2016/0132897).
Regarding claim 3, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Dokai further teaches: The industrial printing system according to claim 1, wherein: the processing management unit of the other print server determines whether or not the job is possible to be outputted based on settings of the license information, and when outputting is not possible, allows requesting print server to choose whether to cancel a processing request for the job or acquire another license [p0042, fig. 10].
Nelson et al in view of Dokai does not specify cancelling a request. In the same field of endeavor, Eda et al teaches cancelling a processing request for the job [p0038]. Therefore, given Eda et al’s exemplification on whether to cancel a job request depending on pre-assigned permission, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to choose to cancel a job request based on availability of license.
Claim 8 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 3.
Claim 13 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 3.
6. Claims 5, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al (US Pub: 2003/0128384) and Dokai et al (US Pub: 2017/0243229); and in further view of Yamada et al (US Pub: 2019/0079708).
Regarding claim 5, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Nelson et al in view of Dokai does not calculate processing time and cost of a job. In the same field of endeavor, Yamada et al further teaches: The industrial printing system according to claim 1, wherein: the processing management unit of the other print server calculates processing time and cost of the job based on the license information when requesting processing [abstract, p0017, p0018]. Therefore, given Yamada et al’s teaching on calculating cost of a print job and processing time by a print server, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to calculate cost and processing time of a print job to estimate profit associated with a license having specific features.
Claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 5.
Claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 5.
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682