DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed 2/26/2026.
Election/Restrictions
In the response from applicant on the restriction requirement on 1/23/2026, applicants agree to withdraw inventions of specie 2 and elect specie 1 (claims 1-24). Hence Claims 25-46 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant's election with traverse of specie 1 (claims 1-24) in the reply filed on 2/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that species are not mutually exclusive and no burden on the prior art search. In this invention application, applicants claim two distinct groups of apparatus/method for an optical image capturing lens which specifying different structures/steps in languages and figures (see office file on restriction of 1/23/2026), corresponding to different embodiments as indicated in instant specification disclosure. The species are independent or distinct because two different combinations, not disclosed as capable of use together, having different structures/operation steps, different functions and different effects are independent. There is an examination and search burden for these patentably distinct species due to their mutually exclusive characteristics in structures. The species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species; and/or the species are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aoki et al (US 20090079863).
Regarding Claim 1, Aoki teaches an optical image capturing lens (abstract; fig. 3), comprising:
a first lens positioning unit, wherein an interior of the first lens positioning unit is hollow (fig. 3, 3/3a), and the first lens positioning unit is made of an opaque material (¶[0074], line 1-5, the barrel 2a of the lens unit 2 and the pedestal mount 3 have a light shielding performance); one end of the first lens positioning unit has an object-side opening communicating with the interior of the first lens positioning unit (fig. 2, 3/3a; fig. 3, 3/3a);
an imaging lens assembly installed within the first lens positioning unit (fig. 3, 2),
wherein the imaging lens assembly, along an optical axis from an object side to an image side starting from the object-side opening, comprises at least one lens and an image plane (fig. 3, 2bs, 5a); the at least one lens has refractive power (fig. 3, 2b); the at least one lens has an optical effective area (fig. 3, 2b, center area of 2b) and an optical ineffective area (fig. 3, 2b, peripheral area of 2b); the optical effective area is surrounded by the optical ineffective area (fig. 3, 2b, center area of 2b and peripheral area under 2a/2e of 2b) ; the optical axis passes through the at least one lens via the optical effective area (fig. 3, central line pass through 2bs); the at least one lens defines a maximum effective diameter at the optical effective area (fig. 3, 2b(top) or 2b(bottom)); the image plane is located on one side of the at least one lens opposite to the object-side opening (fig. 3, 5a); and
at least one light entrance member made of an opaque material (fig. 3, 2a/2e/2f; ¶[0064], line 1-4, an inner side of the barrel 2a is provided with an intermediate ring 2e positioned between two lenses 2b, and a lens presser foot 2f positioned in a lower side of two lenses 2b; ¶[0074], line 1-5, the barrel 2a of the lens unit 2 and the pedestal mount 3 have a light shielding performance),
wherein the at least one light entrance member is installed within the first lens positioning unit and is disposed on either an object-side surface, which faces the object side, or an image-side surface, which faces the image side, of the at least one lens (fig. 3, 2a/2e/2f); the at least one light entrance member surrounds the optical axis and faces the optical ineffective area (fig. 3, 2bs; 2a/2e/2f); the at least one light entrance member has a light entrance hole facing the optical effective area of the at least one lens to allow the optical axis to pass through (fig. 3, 2a/2e/2f); a diameter of the light entrance hole is smaller than or equal to the maximum effective diameter of the at least one lens (fig. 3, 2bs; 2a/2e/2f; --central holes of 2a/2e/2f are smaller than 2bs).
Claims 1-2, 4, 19-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Jung (WO 2023121316, US equivalent US 20250060564; all the line numbers cited below are line numbers in the US equivalent).
Regarding Claim 1, Jung teaches an optical image capturing lens (abstract; figs. 1-2), comprising:
a first lens positioning unit, wherein an interior of the first lens positioning unit is hollow (fig. 1, 500; fig. 3, 500), and the first lens positioning unit is made of an opaque material (fig. 3, 500); one end of the first lens positioning unit has an object-side opening communicating with the interior of the first lens positioning unit (fig. 1, 500; fig. 3, 500);
an imaging lens assembly installed within the first lens positioning unit (fig. 1, 111, 113s, 115, 500),
wherein the imaging lens assembly, along an optical axis from an object side to an image side starting from the object-side opening, comprises at least one lens and an image plane (fig. 1, 111, 113s, 115, 192); the at least one lens has refractive power (fig. 2, 111, 113s, 115); the at least one lens has an optical effective area and an optical ineffective area (fig. 2, 111, 113s, 115; central areas of 111, 113s, 115 and peripheral area of the lenses under SP1 and SP3); the optical effective area is surrounded by the optical ineffective area (fig. 1, 111, 113s, 115; SP1,SP3); the optical axis passes through the at least one lens via the optical effective area (fig. 1 OA); the at least one lens defines a maximum effective diameter at the optical effective area (fig. 1, 113, 115); the image plane is located on one side of the at least one lens opposite to the object-side opening (fig. 1, 192); and
at least one light entrance member made of an opaque material (fig. 1, SP1,SP3, SP5; ¶[0048], line 1-12, The flange portions LF1, LF3, LF5 of the lenses 111, 113, and 115 may be non-effective regions. The non-effective region may be a region where light is blocked by a spacer SP1, SP3, and SP5);
wherein the at least one light entrance member is installed within the first lens positioning unit and is disposed on either an object-side surface, which faces the object side, or an image-side surface, which faces the image side, of the at least one lens (fig. 1, 111, 113s, SP1,SP3, SP5); the at least one light entrance member surrounds the optical axis and faces the optical ineffective area (fig. 1, SP1,SP3, SP5, OA); the at least one light entrance member has a light entrance hole facing the optical effective area of the at least one lens to allow the optical axis to pass through (fig. 1, SP1,SP3, SP5, OA and central areas of 111, 113s, 115); a diameter of the light entrance hole (fig. 1, 501) is smaller than or equal to the maximum effective diameter of the at least one lens (fig. 1, central areas of 113s, 115).
Regarding Claim 2, Jung teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first lens positioning unit comprises a lens barrel and a lens holder that are formed as an integrated structure (fig. 1, 500); one end of the lens barrel has the object-side opening (fig. 1, 501), and the lens holder is located on another end of the lens barrel opposite to the object-side opening (fig. 1, low portion of 500); the imaging lens assembly (fig. 1, 190, 195, 195) and the at least one light entrance member (fig. 1, SP1,SP3, SP5) are installed within the lens barrel (fig. 1, 500).
Regarding Claim 4, Jung teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 2, further comprising a second lens positioning unit (fig. 1, 198), wherein the second lens positioning unit is made of an opaque material (¶[0047], line 10-13, a thicker light blocking member 198 than the spacer SP5 may be combined on some lenses…) and is installed within the lens barrel of the first lens positioning unit (fig. 1, 198, 500); the second lens positioning unit has an annular portion and an abutting portion; the annular portion contacts the at least one lens (fig. 1, 198, 113, 115), and the abutting portion surrounds an outer periphery of the annular portion and abuts against an inner wall of the lens barrel (fig. 1, 198, 500).
Regarding Claim 19, Jung teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one light entrance member satisfies: 0 µm ≤ CONP ≤ 50 µm; the light entrance hole has a light entrance central axis; CONP is a distance between the light entrance central axis at the light entrance hole and the optical axis in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (fig. 1, OA, 501, 111, 113, 115, SP1, SP3, SP5; ---all of the components are aligned along OA axis, CONP = 0 µm).
Regarding Claim 20, Jung teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first lens positioning unit satisfies: 0 µm ≤ CONE ≤ 50 µm; the object-side opening has an opening central axis; CONE is a distance between the opening central axis at the object-side opening and the optical axis in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (fig. 1, OA, 501, 111; ---501 and 111 are aligned along OA axis, CONE = 0 µm).
Regarding Claim 21, Jung teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 1, wherein the optical image capturing lens satisfies: 0 µm ≤ CON ≤ 50 µm; the light entrance hole has a light entrance central axis, and the object-side opening has an opening central axis; CON is a maximum distance between the light entrance central axis at the light entrance hole and the opening central axis at the object-side opening in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (fig. 1, OA, 501, 111, 113, 115, SP1, SP3, SP5; ---all of the components are aligned along OA axis, CON= = 0 µm).
Regarding Claim 22, Jung teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one light entrance member comprises a first light entrance member and a second light entrance member; the first light entrance member contacts the object-side surface of the at least one lens, and the second light entrance member contacts the image-side surface of the at least one lens (fig. 1, SP1s, 113, --SP1 on both sides of first 113 lens).
Regarding Claim 24, Jung teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 1, further comprising an image sensing module, wherein the image sensing module is installed within the first lens positioning unit and is disposed correspondingly at a location on the image plane (fig. 1, 192, 190).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (WO 2023121316, US equivalent US 20250060564) in a view of Aoki et al (US 2009/0079863).
Regarding Claim 3, Jung discloses as set forth above, and further teaches that the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first lens positioning unit comprises a lens barrel and a lens holder (fig. 1, 500); one end of the lens barrel has the object-side opening, and the lens holder is combined with another end of the lens barrel opposite to the object-side opening (fig. 1 500); the imaging lens assembly and the at least one light entrance member are installed within the lens barrel (fig. 1, 115, 195, 192, 190).
But Jung does not specifically disclose that wherein the first lens positioning unit comprises a lens barrel and a lens holder; wherein the lens barrel is detachably combined with the lens holder.
However, Aoki teaches a camera module (abstract; fig. 3), wherein the first lens positioning unit comprises a lens barrel (fig. 3, 2) and a lens holder (fig. 3, 3); wherein the lens barrel is detachably combined with the lens holder (¶[0061], line 1-3, The lens unit 2 is attached by screwing to the cylinder portion 3a of the pedestal mount 3); one end of the lens barrel has the object-side opening (fig. 3, 2), and the lens holder is combined with another end of the lens barrel opposite to the object-side opening (fig. 3, 2, 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image capturing lens of Jung by the camera module of Aoki for a purpose to provide a camera module which can make a work for filling up a clearance between a pedestal mount and a circuit board in a post process unnecessary, can conduct a shield portion with a circuit board at a time of a reflow heating, and can intend to improve a productivity and reduce a material cost (¶[0011], line 1-8).
Regarding Claim 5, Jung- Aoki combination teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 3, further comprising a second lens positioning unit (fig. 1, 198, as disclosed in Jung), wherein the second lens positioning unit is made of an opaque material (¶[0047], line 10-13, a thicker light blocking member 198 than the spacer SP5 may be combined on some lenses…, as disclosed in Jung) and is installed within the lens barrel of the first lens positioning unit (fig. 1, 198, 500, as disclosed in Jung); the second lens positioning unit has an annular portion and an abutting portion; the annular portion contacts the at least one lens (fig. 1, 198, 113, 115, as disclosed in Jung), and the abutting portion surrounds an outer periphery of the annular portion and abuts against an inner wall of the lens barrel (fig. 1, 198, 500, as disclosed in Jung).
Claims 6-8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (WO 2023121316, US equivalent US 20250060564).
Regarding Claim 6, Jung discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one light entrance member satisfies: 0 µm < TILE ≤ 50 µm; TILE is a thickness of an inner peripheral edge of the at least one light entrance member corresponding to the light entrance hole.
However, Jung teaches in fig. 1 that shows that thicknesses of SP1, SP3 and SP5 are about 1/10 to 1/20 of thicknesses respective lenses (111, 113, 1115), also Jung listed lens thicknesses for lenses in laser barrel in fig. 19, which are in a range from about 200 µm to 600 µm. Hence, a thickness of a light entrance member can be in a range from about 10 µm to 60 µm. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image capturing lens of Jung to have 0 µm < TILE ≤ 50 µm, for a purpose to provide an optical system and a camera module that have improved resolution, improved illuminance, and improved optical characteristics and can be miniaturized. (¶[0008], line 1-8).
Regarding Claim 7, Jung teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 6, wherein the at least one light entrance member satisfies: 0.1 µm < TILE ≤ 10 µm (see above Regarding Claim 6; , a thickness of a light entrance member can be in a range from about 10 µm to 60 µm).
Regarding Claim 8, Jung teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 6, wherein the at least one light entrance member has an inner annular section and an outer annular section; the inner annular section surrounds the light entrance hole, and the outer annular section surrounds an outer periphery of the inner annular section; TILE is defined as a minimum thickness of the inner annular section (fig. 1, SP1,SP3, SP5).
Regarding Claim 14, Jung teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 8, wherein the at least one light entrance member satisfies: 0.008 mm ≤ TOLE ≤ 0.2 mm; TOLE is a maximum thickness of an outer peripheral edge of the at least one light entrance member corresponding to the outer annular section (see above Regarding Claim 6; , a thickness of a light entrance member can be in a range from about 10 µm to 60 µm).
Claim 9-13 and 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (WO 2023121316, US equivalent US 20250060564) in a view of Yu (US 20090279191).
Regarding Claim 9, Jung discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 8, wherein the inner annular section has an inner inclined portion sloping from the outer annular section towards the light entrance hole; the at least one light entrance member defines a horizontal reference plane; the horizontal reference plane passes through the inner annular section and the outer annular section in correspondence to the light entrance hole and is perpendicular to the optical axis; the at least one light entrance member satisfies: 10° ≤ ALE ≤ 90°; ALE is an inclination angle of the inner inclined portion relative to the horizontal reference plane.
However, Yu teaches a lens module (abstract; figs. 1-2), wherein the inner annular section has an inner inclined portion sloping from the outer annular section towards the light entrance hole (fig. 1, 1421); the at least one light entrance member defines a horizontal reference plane (fig. 1, 1431); the horizontal reference plane passes through the inner annular section and the outer annular section in correspondence to the light entrance hole and is perpendicular to the optical axis (fig. 1, 1431, 1432); the at least one light entrance member satisfies: 10° ≤ ALE ≤ 90°; ALE is an inclination angle of the inner inclined portion relative to the horizontal reference plane (fig. 1, 1421, -- an inclination angle 0f 1421, ALE ~ 45°).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image capturing lens of Jung by the lens module of Yu for a purpose of providing of a lens module wherein light beams noise in the lens module can be reduced, and an imaging quality of the lens module can be improved (¶[0020], line 16-21).
Regarding Claim 10, Jung-Yu combination teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 9, wherein the inner annular section has a flat portion extending along the optical axis and connected to the inner inclined portion; TILE is defined as a thickness of the flat portion (fig. 1, 143, 1431/1432, as disclosed in Yu).
Regarding Claim 11, Jung-Yu combination teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 8, wherein the inner annular section has a first inner inclined portion and a second inner inclined portion; the first inner inclined portion and the second inner inclined portion extend with opposite inclinations (fig. 1, 1421, 1422, as disclosed in Yu); the first inner inclined portion slopes from a top surface of the outer annular section towards the light entrance hole (fig. 1, 1421, as disclosed in Yu), and the second inner inclined portion slopes from a bottom surface of the outer annular section towards the light entrance hole (fig. 1 1422, as disclosed in Yu); the at least one light entrance member defines a horizontal reference plane; the horizontal reference plane passes through the inner annular section and the outer annular section in correspondence to the light entrance hole and is perpendicular to the optical axis (fig. 1, 1431, 1432, as disclosed in Yu); the at least one light entrance member satisfies: 10°≤ OALE ≤ 90°; 10°≤ IALE ≤ 90°; OALE is an inclination angle of the first inner inclined portion relative to the horizontal reference plane, and IALE is an inclination angle of the second inner inclined portion relative to the horizontal reference plane (fig. 1, 1421, -- an inclination angle of 1421, OALE ~ 45°; 1422, -- an inclination angle of 1422, IALE ~ 45°, as disclosed in Yu).
Regarding Claim 12, Jung-Yu combination teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 11, wherein the inner annular section has a flat portion; the flat portion extends along the optical axis and is connected to the first inner inclined portion and the second inner inclined portion; TILE is defined as a thickness of the flat portion (fig. 1, 143; 1421, 1422, 1431, 1432, as disclosed in Yu).
Regarding Claim 13, Jung-Yu combination teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 8, wherein a configuration of the inner annular section is trapezoidal, tapered, angular, or polygonal (fig. 1, 143; 1421, 1422, 1431, 1432, as disclosed in Yu).
Regarding Claim 23, Jung discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 1, wherein a material of the at least one light entrance member is metal, plastic, carbon, PET, or polyimide (PI).
However, Yu teaches a lens module (abstract; figs. 1-2), wherein a material of the at least one light entrance member is metal, plastic, carbon, PET, or polyimide (PI) (fig. 1, 14 (121, 142, 143); fig. 2, 24, 25, 27; ¶[0020], line 1-21, The flange 143 is made of an opaque material such as opaque plastic. Available examples of opaque plastic
include polyethylene terephthalate (PET), and polycarbonate (PC) with opaque pigments dispersed therein).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image capturing lens of Jung by the lens module of Yu for a purpose of providing of a lens module wherein light beams noise in the lens module can be reduced, and an imaging quality of the lens module can be improved (¶[0020], line 16-21).
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (WO 2023121316, US equivalent US 20250060564) in a view of Shinohara (US 20200183058).
Regarding Claim 15, Jung discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 2, wherein the lens barrel has a light blocking ring surrounding the optical axis, and an inner edge of the light blocking ring surrounds to form the object-side opening; the light blocking ring faces the object-side surface of the at least one lens and corresponds to the optical ineffective area; the at least one light entrance member is disposed on the object-side surface of the at least one lens and is fixed between the at least one lens and the light blocking ring.
However, Shinohara teaches a lens system (abstract; figs, 1 and 5-7), wherein the lens barrel has a light blocking ring surrounding the optical axis (fig. 7, cover on 701), and an inner edge of the light blocking ring surrounds to form the object-side opening; the light blocking ring faces the object-side surface of the at least one lens and corresponds to the optical ineffective area (fig. 7, cover, 701); the at least one light entrance member is disposed on the object-side surface of the at least one lens (fig. 11B, 1008, 1010) and is fixed between the at least one lens and the light blocking ring (fig. 7, cover, 701; fig. 11B, 1010; ---in case of lens 701 is similar as lens 1008 in fig. 11B; portion of the light entrance member (1010) is between the at least one lens (701/1008) and the light blocking ring (cover in fig. 7)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image capturing lens of Jung by the lens system of Shinohara for a purpose for a compact imaging lens system with improved imaging quality performance (¶[0002], line 13-15).
Regarding Claim 17, Jung - Shinohara combination teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 15, wherein the diameter of the light entrance hole is smaller than or equal to an inner diameter of the object-side opening of the lens barrel (fig. 7, 700, 701, cover, as disclosed in Shinohara; fig. 1, 501, as disclosed in Jung).
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (WO 2023121316, US equivalent US 20250060564) in a view of Aoki et al (US 2009/0079863), further in a view of Shinohara (US 2020/0183058).
Regarding Claim 16, Jung- Aoki combination discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 3, wherein the lens barrel has a light blocking ring surrounding the optical axis; an inner edge of the light blocking ring surrounds to form the object-side opening; the light blocking ring faces the object-side surface of the at least one lens and corresponds to the optical ineffective area; the light entrance member is disposed on the object-side surface of the lens and is fixed between the at least one lens and the light blocking ring.
However, Shinohara teaches a lens system (abstract; figs, 1 and 5-7), wherein the lens barrel has a light blocking ring surrounding the optical axis (fig. 7, cover on 701), and an inner edge of the light blocking ring surrounds to form the object-side opening; the light blocking ring faces the object-side surface of the at least one lens and corresponds to the optical ineffective area (fig. 7, cover, 701); the at least one light entrance member is disposed on the object-side surface of the at least one lens (fig. 11B, 1008, 1010) and is fixed between the at least one lens and the light blocking ring (fig. 7, cover, 701; fig. 11B, 1010; ---in case of lens 701 is similar as lens 1008 in fig. 11B; portion of the light entrance member (1010) is between the at least one lens (701/1008) and the light blocking ring (cover in fig. 7)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image capturing lens of Jung- Aoki combination by the lens system of Shinohara for a purpose for a compact imaging lens system with improved imaging quality performance (¶[0002], line 13-15).
Regarding Claim 18, Jung- Aoki - Shinohara combination teaches the optical image capturing lens as claimed in claim 16, wherein the diameter of the light entrance hole is smaller than or equal to an inner diameter of the object-side opening of the lens barrel (fig. 7, 700, 701, cover, as disclosed in Shinohara; fig. 1, 501, as disclosed in Jung).
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872