DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a final action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 1-19 are pending in this application.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 11, 13, and 15-17 are amended.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 29 May 2026 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicants amendments, the rejection of claims 11, and 16-18 under 35 USC 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn.
In view of Applicants amendments, the rejection of claim 1-15, and 19 under 35 USC 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 30 Jan. 2026.
Applicants Arguments
Applicants assert that PET imaging which the claimed method is directed to is a well-known technique used for differentiating between diseased cells and healthy cells based on differences in uptake of PET compounds, for example as a result of different metabolic activity in cancer cells compared to quiescent cells.
Applicant's arguments filed 29 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Differentiating between diseased and non-diseased cells based on observed differences in uptake is a mental activity or computer algorithm activity and not an activity performed by the claimed method of performing PET imaging on a subject. While the claimed method can allow for differentiating between disease or healthy cells, the method itself cannot differentiate between disease and healthy cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rumsey et al. (J. Biol. Chem.; published 1999), in view of Kniess et al. (Med. Chem. Commun.; published 2015) and Gazivoda et al. (Carbohydrate Res.; published 2006), in further view of Yamamoto et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 1996) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 30 Jan. 2026.
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rumsey et al. (J. Biol. Chem.; published 1999), in view of Kniess et al. (Med. Chem. Commun.; published 2015) and Gazivoda et al. (Carbohydrate Res.; published 2006), and Yamamoto et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 1996), in further view of Halliwell et al. (Annu. Rev. Nutri.; published 1996) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 30 Jan. 2026.
Applicants Arguments
Applicants assert that Rumsey fails to teach or suggest the use of any compounds of measuring intracellular ROS levels as recited in claim 1; for imaging/detecting/diagnosing a ROS modulated illness as recited in claim 13; or for performing PET imaging of a subject in need thereof as recited in claim 15. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a 6-halo substituted ascorbate as in Rumsey or Gazivoda for detecting intracellular ROS species because Rumsey teaches that transport of 6-deoxy-6-iodo-L-ascorbate is unaffected by an increased oxidation state induced by hydrogen peroxide. This is in direct contrast to the compounds of the present invention which demonstrated an increase in cellular uptake in hypoxic conditions. There is no indication in Rumsey of any advantage to using an ascorbate derivative that cannot cyclize into a hemi-ketal DHA for measuring intracellular ROS as recited in claim 1 or for imaging/detecting a ROS modulated illness as recited in claim 13 or for imaging oxidative stress in cells or for performing PET imaging of a subject in need thereof as recited in claim 15. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had no motivation based on the teachings of Yamamoto to use 18F-DFA in vivo outside of imaging for the cerebral cortex, hypothalamus, and amygdala. Halliwell fails to correct the deficiencies of Rumsey, Kniess, Gazivoda, and Yamamoto.
Applicant's arguments filed 29 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Rumsey provides for and identifies the 6-deoxy-6-chloro-L-ascorbic acid as most effective inhibitor of ascorbate transport with a Ki value of 2.9 and Rumsey teaches and motivates the use of the compounds therein to study ascorbate transport while showing no activity toward DHA transport mechanisms. In addition, Rumsey teaches and motivates radiolabeled forms and non-radiolabeled forms of the compound for discriminating ascorbate uptake. At ref. 4, Yamamoto teaches one electron oxidation of 6-chloro-6-deoxy-ascorbic acid. Regarding applicants’ assertion that Rumsey teaches that transport of 6-deoxy-6-iodo-L-ascorbate is unaffected by an increase in oxidation state by hydrogen peroxide, at pg. 23221, Rumsey is actually teaching that [125I]6-deoxy-6-iodo-L-ascorbate and its oxidized product are not transported by either GLUT1 or GLUT3 mediated mechanisms of DHA transport. Yamamoto teaches that 18F-FDA can is capable of accumulating in tissues associated with oxidative stress induced by postischemic reperfusion. According to Yamamoto, oxygen derived free radicals are involved in the pathogenesis of cerebral ischemic re-perfusion. At table 1, Yamamoto teaches increased uptake 18F-FDA in the brain and non-CNS tissues such as adrenal in the ischemic group subject to 5 d recirculation achieving statistical significance. The delayed change is related to a process causing further damage. A recognized advantage is the strongest reason to combine. It would have been to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the methods of Rumsey by contacting/administering the obvious 18F-labeled 6-deoxy-6-chloro-L-ascorbic acid derivative made obvious by Rumsey, Gazivoda, and Kniess to cells or a subject to image and/or diagnose oxidative stress as taught by Yamamoto with a reasonable expectation of success because the contacting/administering would have been expected to advantageously enable sensitive identification of oxidatively stressed tissues and/or ROS associated disease by PET. The combination of Rumsey, Gazivoda, Kniess, and Yamamoto teach and motivate all of the limitations of the pending claims. The basic technique of using an 18F-labeled 6-deoxy-6-chloro-L-ascorbic acid derivative to image oxidative stress yielded no more than an expected outcome and is therefore obvious. See Dann v. Johnston, 425 U.S. 219, 189 USPQ 257 (1976).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618