DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Species A1, in the reply filed on 2/6/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 11-12 and 15-19 are withdrawn without traverse.
Additionally, Applicant’s election of Species B2 in the replay filed on 7/27/26 is acknowledged. Applicant asserts that because Species B1 and B2 are allegedly directed to methods of manufacture rather than to structure, and the applicant elected the product, the restriction requirement with respect to the Group should be removed. This argument is not persuasive for at least two reasons. First, it has no legal basis – there is nothing in statue to support applicant’s position. Second, it is not accurate – while Species B1 and B2 recite some method steps, both species also recite structure, and structural limitations are further implied by the method steps. Species B1 is withdrawn.
The requirements are still deemed proper and are therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “an adhesive and clayey fluid being applied to an inner circumferential surface of the attachment hole of the base member, dried into a gel form, and melted by heat.” The term “clayey”. It’s not a term of art, and no objective basis is provided, either the specification or the claims, for determining the difference between “clayey” and not clayey. Additionally, it’s not clear how an adhesive can be both dried into gel form and melted by heat.
Claims 8 and 10 recite “a second projection provided on a lower and outer side than the first projection”. It’s not clear to what reference location “than” refers. For the purposes of this examination, the examiner will assume than the first projection means other/different than the first projection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nagasawa et al. (US 2022/0291635).
The applied reference has a common Inventor and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As to claim 1, Nagasawa discloses a component mounting member 16 comprising: a base member 8 which has an attachment hole 20 and is capable of being attached to a case 1; an attachment member 17 which is attached to the base member by being inserted into the attachment hole of the base member (figs 7a-10, 4); and a terminal 18 which is inserted into the attachment member and has at least one portion exposed to outside, wherein the base member is formed of metal, and the attachment member is formed of an insulative resin (para 19-35, .41-54, 61-72, fogs 4, 7a-10).
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kazuaki (JP 2006-196544, see attached machine translation for text citations).
**The examiner notes that portions of the claims (e.g. insertion step, processing of adhesive in claim 5) are written in product-by-process claims. The examiner will evaluate these claims as directed by MPEP 2113: "The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product- by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." Additionally, "“The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature’ than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974)." MPEP 2113. Thus, the claims do not expressly require the method steps be performed - they only require the presence of a product that is the same as or obvious from the product in applicant's claim.
As to claims 1 and 13, Kazuaki discloses a case 12 comprising a component mounting member (fig 2), a base member 13 which has an attachment hole 15 and is attached to a case (figs 1-3, para 16); an attachment member 22 (para 17-10, figs 1-3, 5) which is attached to the base member by being inserted into the attachment hole of the base member (figs 1-3, 5, para 21-33); and a terminal 14 which is inserted into the attachment member and has at least one portion exposed to outside, wherein the base member is formed of metal (para 16), and the attachment member is formed of an insulative resin (para 49, para 16-32, 39-54, figs 1-3, 5).
As to claim 2, Kazuaki discloses the component mounting member wherein an adhesion layer 21 is provided at least on part of an area between the attachment member and the base member (figs 1-3, 5, para 15-24).
As to claims 3-4, Kazuaki discloses the component mounting member wherein the attachment member and the base member are integrally formed with an outer circumferential surface of the attachment member and an inner circumferential surface of the attachment hole of the base member being adhered to each other via the adhesion layer (figs 1-3, 5, para 15-35).
As to claim 5, Kazuaki discloses the component mounting member wherein the adhesive layer adheres the attachment member and the base member to each other by an adhesive and clayey fluid capable of being applied to an inner circumferential surface of the attachment hole of the base member, dried into a gel form, and melted by heat (para 19-30, 36-50) – note the application is product-by-process form, and the adhesive formed in Kazuaki meets the product-by-process standard as it performs sufficiently can be dried and heated, and does not drip in an unfavorable manner (para 35 of applicant’s publication).
As to claim 6, Kazuaki discloses the component mounting member wherein the base member includes a fitting projection formed by at least part of an inner circumferential surface of the attachment hole extending inward, and wherein the attachment member includes a main body into which the terminal is inserted and which is inserted into the attachment hole of the base member, and a groove which is formed in an outer circumferential part of the main body and into which the fitting projection of the attachment hole of the base member is fitted (para 16-32, 39-54, figs 1-3, 5 annotated fig below)
As to claim 7, Kazuaki discloses the component mounting member wherein the adhesion layer 21 is provided at least on part of an upper surface (upper surface of fitting projection labeled below) and undersurface (bottom surface of fitting projection below) of the fitting projection (para 16-32, 39-54, figs 1-3, 5, annotated fig below).
As to claim 8, Kazuaki discloses the component mounting member wherein the fitting projection includes a first projection provided on an upper side and a second projection provided on a lower and outer side than the first projection, wherein the adhesion layer 21 is provided on an upper surface and undersurface of the first projection, and not provided on a side surface of the first projection (para 16-32, 39-54, figs 1-3, 5, annotated fig).
As to claim 9, Kazuaki discloses the component mounting member wherein a length of the fitting projection of the base member in a vertical direction is substantially half of a length of the base member in the vertical direction, and wherein the fitting projection is provided on an upper side of the inner circumferential surface of the attachment hole (para 16-32, 39-54, figs 1-3, 5, annotated fig)..
As to claim 10, Kazuaki discloses the component mounting member wherein the fitting projection includes a first projection provided on an upper side and a second projection provided on a lower and outer side than the first projection, and wherein the first projection is included in part of an upper surface of the base member, and the second projection is provided on a middle portion of the base member in the vertical direction (para 16-32, 39-54, figs 1-3, 5, annotated fig).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuaki, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Xiao et al. (DE 102015106141, refer to attached machine translation for text citations).
Kazuaki does not disclose the case and mounting component including a timepiece. Xiao discloses a timepiece 116 (para 18, fig 1) wherein the timepiece enables timing control over the energy/power supplied to the heater when joining a terminal to an attachment member and case (para 14-22, fig 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kazuaki such that it is a timepiece comprising the case and mounting member as taught by Xiao above as such allows a strong bond by enabling control over the heating time.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746