Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority to PRO 63/489920, filed on 03/13/2023.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 were rejected in the Final Office action mailed on 11/20/2025. Applicant’s amended claimset, entered on 02/18/2026, amended Claims 1-2, 7-9, and 14-16. Herein this Non-Final Office Action, Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/18/2026, with respect to Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 for Claims 1-20, have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
On pages 12-15, Applicant summarizes the amendments, previous rejection, and previous citations to prior art, and asserts that the new limitations are not taught by the cited prior art. Applicant argues “While FIGS. 3 and 4 of Collins teach a checkout page, FIGS. 3 and 4 teach a checkout page with a single remuneration vehicle. A checkout page with a single remuneration vehicle is different from the above-noted features of amended claim 1 because Collins does not notify a user of a third-party server regarding "interaction differences," much less "the first digital notification indicating a first interaction difference between the first remuneration vehicle and the other remuneration vehicles relative to the supplier" and "the second digital notification indicating a second interaction difference between the second remuneration vehicle and the other remuneration vehicles relative to the supplier." Thus, Watkins and Collins fail to establish a prima facie case of obviousness with respect to amended claim 1 because Watkins and Collins fail to disclose or suggest all of the features of amended claim 1, and provide no apparent reason for modification to include such features.” Examiner does not agree.
Examiner responds that, Fig. 3 of Collins explicitly shows a plurality of remuneration vehicles in the “SELECT A PAYMENT OPTION” portion labeled. Fig. 3 shows an example user interface with four payment options. One of those options, to the exclusion of the other options, is linked with an offer to finance the payment. The displayed offer to finance the payment when using one of the options, but not others, teaches an “interaction difference” under the broadest reasonable interpretation (See Specification ¶43).
Additionally, the text of Collins explicitly states that Fig. 3 is a non-limiting example (C31L01-18), that the purpose of Collins is to provide the customer with payment options, each of which have different offers associated with them (Fig. 3 showing “graphical element 306.”), and that the user interface displays multiple payment options with their offers (C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various [(i.e. multiple)] payment options.”).
Perhaps even more importantly, the primary art of Watkins, explicitly teaches providing a customer card-linked offers during the execution of a transaction so that the customer can select the payment method while being informed with the differences, i.e. unique offers, between each of the payment options (¶29 shows “Electronically correlating offers to transaction details, and electronically integrating the correlated offers as described herein advantageously obviates the need for performing manual processes (e.g., manual searches for offers, rewards, coupons, etc.) prior to purchasing a good or service.”).
However, because Watkins seems to be more focused on the back-end processing, Watkins only generally states that the card linked offers are provided to the customer during a transaction (¶80 shows “consumer” “views” “offers” “via” “user interface.”), leaving the specific GUI configuration open to what is available in the art. Collins merely remedies the GUI aspects of Watkins by providing details regarding the GUI. Examiner asserts the rhetorical question of: how else would a person of ordinary skill in the art provide the multiple card-linked offers of Watkins using the payment option selection GUI, which displays multiple payment options and their adjoining offers, of Collins, besides displaying both of the payment option offers in a GUI?
Therefore, both Watkins and Collins, individually, teaches providing multiple card-linked offers to a customer so that the customer can be informed in their selection of a remuneration vehicle. Examiner notes that if Collins had not taught this limitation, other cited prior art also teach this limitation (See Szollar, Gantert, Jones, and Sampalo in the Conclusion Section below.), and would have been used as the basis of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/18/2026, with respect to Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 for Claims 1-20, have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
On Pages 15-16, Applicant argues that the amended claims provide a technical solution to a technical problem, “Specifically, claim 1, as amended, address the identified security and real-time processing problems including: eliminating the need for card-on-file storage or sharing of sensitive card data by relying on remuneration-vehicle identifiers; enabling real-time sourcing and delivery of payment options at checkout, rather than relying on offline file exchanges between merchants and card issuers; and controlling inter-system communication timing and scope by outputting only contextually valid, vehicle-specific notifications during a defined checkout state. The limitations of amended claim 1 meaningfully limit system behavior and improve the functioning of networked transaction platforms.” Examiner does not agree.
MPEP 2106.05(a) states “If it is asserted that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification. That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement.”
MPEP 2106.05(a)II states “[I]t is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology.”
MPEP 2106.05(a)II states “To show that the involvement of a computer assists in improving the technology, the claims must recite the details regarding how a computer aids the method, the extent to which the computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology.”
Examiner responds that the “problems” asserted by the Applicant are either (1) improvements to the abstract idea itself, or (2) insufficient to integrate the abstract into a practical application based on the level of technical explanation in the original disclosure.
First, protecting personal information by providing the information to certain companies, but withholding the information from other companies, is a part of the abstract idea (i.e. business relations). Additionally, Applicants specification does not limit the “identifiers” to protecting certain information.
Second, performing online payments with a computer, as claimed, is merely using a computer in its ordinary capacity to apply the abstract idea (i.e. advertising certain remuneration vehicles and selecting a payment for executing a purchase). The specification does not provide a sufficient “technical explanation” for Examiner to determine that the additional elements integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application. Additionally, the specification and claims do not discuss or relate to performing certain operations “offline.”
On Pages 16-17, Applicant argues that claims do not merely recite generic computer functions. Applicant argues “The inventive concept lies in the non-conventional ordered combination of elements that enables: secure, real-time determination of eligible payment options without exchanging sensitive card data; selective, vehicle-specific notification generation and transmission; and synchronized delivery of those notifications during a defined checkout state. The architecture of amended claim 1 solves a technical problem arising specifically in computer-implemented transaction systems and is not shown to be well-understood, routine, or conventional. Under BASCOM and Berkheimer, the ordered combination of amended claim 1 supplies an inventive concept.” Thus, Applicant argues patent eligible subject matter. Examiner does not agree.
MPEP 2106.05(d) states “In addition [to considering MPEP 2106.05(a) and MPEP 2106.05(f)], examiners should keep in mind the following points when determining whether additional elements define only well-understood, routine, conventional activity. . . 2. A factual determination is required to support a conclusion that an additional element (or combination of additional elements) is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 1368, 125 USPQ2d 1649, 1654 (Fed. Cir. 2018). However, this does not mean that a prior art search is necessary to resolve this inquiry. Instead, examiners should rely on what the courts have recognized, or those in the art would recognize, as elements that are well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the relevant field when making the required determination. For example, in many instances, the specification of the application may indicate that additional elements are well-known or conventional. See, e.g., Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1317; 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("The written description is particularly useful in determining what is well-known or conventional"); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1418 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (relying on specification’s description of additional elements as "well-known", "common" and "conventional"); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 614, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (Specification described additional elements as "either performing basic computer functions such as sending and receiving data, or performing functions ‘known’ in the art.") . . . 3. Even if one or more additional elements are well-understood, routine, conventional activity when considered individually, the combination of additional elements may amount to an inventive concept. Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. at 188, 209 USPQ at 9 (1981) ("[A] new combination of steps in a process may be patentable even though all the constituents of the combination were well known and in common use before the combination was made."). . . . For example, in BASCOM, even though the court found that all of the additional elements in the claim recited generic computer network or Internet components, the elements in combination amounted to significantly more because of the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement that provided a technical improvement in the art. BASCOM Global Internet Servs. v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1350-51, 119 USPQ2d 1236, 1243-44 (2016). . .”
Examiner responds that, as discussed above, the claims do not provide a patent eligible improvement under MPEP 2106.05(a). Further, the rejection is not based on determining that the claims are well-understood, route, and conventional under MPEP 2106.05(d).
Security, i.e. preventing the exchange of sensitive information, is not necessarily a technical problem, as protection of information pre-dates the invention of the computer and is a common concern of commercial interactions (i.e. a part of an abstract idea).
The real-time determination of payment options and synchronized display of payment options (along with additional information related to the payment options) during an online checkout are performed using a computer in its ordinary capacity. Applicant’s specification fails to provide sufficient technical explanation regarding the computer functionality for Examiner to determine that the claims provide a patent eligible improvement under MPEP 2106.05(a).
Such determination remains when viewing the claim “as a whole,” as required by BASCOM. The instant claims are distinguishable from BASCOM, because Applicant has failed to provide the necessary “technical explanation” in order for a patent eligible improvement to be present.
Therefore, the claims do not recite patent eligible subject matter, and the rejection remains.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-20 recite or depend upon a “remuneration vehicle.” The broadest reasonable interpretation of “remuneration vehicle,” in light of the specification, includes any means for “remuneration” (i.e. payment for services) such as a credit account, bank account, cash, or any other payment account or means.
Claims 1-20 recite, depend upon, or recite a similar concept to “vehicle-linked notification service.” The broadest reasonable interpretation of “vehicle-linked notification service,” in light of the specification (¶30), includes customer or account loyalty programs or services (e.g. providing a special personalized offer to a certain customer).
Claims 1-20 recite, depend upon, or recite a similar concept to a “checkout process.” The broadest reasonable interpretation of a “checkout process,” includes any process that a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand as a “checkout process,” e.g. a confirmation webpage that a user finalizes a transaction, or backend processing that effectuates the payment or order fulfilment, as the Specification does not provide a special definition of this term.
Claim 1 recite “[notify a user] of interaction differences between the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and other remuneration vehicles that are distinct from the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles relative to the supplier” at the third last paragraph. Claims 2-20 recite, depend upon, or recite a similar concept to this limitation. The broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation, in light of the specification ¶43, includes “a personalized offer that is presented to a user of the vehicle holder device during a remuneration vehicle selection process just prior to a checkout process.” However, the “difference” is “relative to,” i.e. dependent on or based on, the “supplier,” e.g. a supplier loyalty program offer. Such interpretation is extended to “first” and “second” “interaction difference[s]” of Claim 1 and the limitations of Claims 2-20.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the remuneration vehicle selection process displays a first digital notification of the portion of the plurality of digital notifications with only aClaims 2-20 recite, depend upon, or recite a similar concept to this limitation. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation of “with only a first remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” limits the scope of the “first digital notification.” It would be unreasonable to apply the limitation of “only a first remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” to the entire output the portion of the plurality of digital notifications to the third-party server (i.e. the “display”) in light of the Specification. (Fig. 3 and ¶33 shows example digital notifications. Specification ¶65 states “Unless the context of their usage unambiguously indicates otherwise, the articles ‘a,’ ‘an,’ and ‘the’ should not be interpreted to mean ‘only one.’ Rather, these articles should be interpreted to mean ‘at least one’ or ‘one or more.’”). Such interpretation is extended to the “second digital notification” of Claim 1 and the limitations of Claims 2-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-7 recite a server (i.e. a machine or manufacture), Claims 8-14 recite a method (i.e. a process), Claims 15-20 recite a non-transitory computer-readable medium (i.e. a machine or manufacture). Therefore, Claims 1-20 all fall within the one of the four statutory categories of invention of 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 2A, Prong One
Independent Claim 1 recites the abstract idea of:
“. . . communicate with a supplier . . . , and communicate with a third-party . . . ;
. . . storing a vehicle-linked notification service; and
. . . receive supplier information and a plurality of . . . notifications from the supplier . . . , each of the plurality of . . . notifications linked to one or more remuneration vehicles of a plurality of remuneration vehicles and the supplier information,
store the supplier information and the plurality of . . . notifications . . . , the supplier information being associated with the plurality of digital notifications,
receive a request for the plurality of . . . notifications from the third-party . . . , the request including the supplier information and a plurality of remuneration vehicle identifiers that identify a portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles,
retrieve a portion of the plurality of . . . notifications . . . based on the supplier information and the plurality of remuneration vehicle identifiers, and
output the portion of the plurality of digital notifications to the third-party . . . ,
wherein the portion of the plurality of . . . notifications notify a user of the third-party server, during a remuneration vehicle selection process just prior to a checkout process of at least one of goods or services from a supplier associated with the supplier interface deviceinteraction differences difference between the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and other remuneration vehicles that are distinct from the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles relative to the supplier,
wherein the remuneration vehicle selection process displays a first . . . notification of the portion of the plurality of . . . notifications with only a , the first digital notification indicating a first interaction difference between the first remuneration vehicle and the other remuneration vehicles relative to the supplier, and
wherein the remuneration vehicle selection process displays a second . . . notification of the portion of the plurality of . . . notifications with only a , the second digital notification indicating a second interaction difference between the second remuneration vehicle and the other remuneration vehicles relative to the supplier.”
The limitations stated above are processes/ functions that under broadest reasonable interpretation covers (1) communicating with parties, (2) storing a notification service (e.g. notifying a customer that they receive a benefit because the purchase exceeded $100), (3) receiving supplier information and a plurality of notifications linked to a remuneration vehicle, (4) storing supplier information and a plurality of notifications, (5) receiving a notification request from a third-party including the supplier information and one or more remuneration vehicle identifies, (6) retrieve, and output to the third-party, a portion of the notifications from storage based on the notification request, (7) the portion of notification notify the user of a difference between the portion of remuneration vehicles and the other remuneration vehicles before a checkout process, and (8) the notifications contain certain information, all of which are commercial or legal interactions (i.e. applying a stored supplier dependent vehicle-linked notification to a customer upon request from a supplies during a purchase operation is at least advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and/or business relations), which are certain methods of organizing human activity, an abstract idea, under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)II. The mere the recitation of generic computer components (i.e., the “server,” “communication interface,” “supplier interface device,” “third-party server,” “memory,” “electronic processor,” and “digital notification.”) implementing the identified abstract idea does not take the claim out of the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. MPEP 2106.04(d). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers “commercial or legal interactions” but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls in the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas. MPEP 2106.04. Therefore, Claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 as a whole amounts to: (i) merely invoking generic components as a tool to perform the abstract idea or “apply it” (or an equivalent) and (ii) generally links the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The claim recites the additional elements of:
(i) server,
(ii) communication interface,
(iii) supplier interface device,
(iv) third-party server,
(v) memory,
(vi) electronic processor, and
(vii) digital notification.
The additional elements of (i) server (Fig.1 and ¶17 shows “server 100.”), (ii) communication interface (Fig. 1 and ¶21 shows “communication interface 112 may include a port or connection for receiving a wired connection (for example, an Ethernet cable, fiber optic cable, a telephone cable, or the like), a wireless transceiver, or a combination thereof.”), (iii) supplier interface device (Fig. 1 and ¶21 shows “In some examples, the communication interface 112 may communicate with one or more of the third-party server 120 and the merchant interface device 160 via the internet.”),(iv) third-party server (Fig. 1 and ¶21 shows “In some examples, the communication interface 112 may communicate with one or more of the third-party server 120 and the merchant interface device 160 via the internet.”), (v) memory (Fig. 1 and ¶19 shows “memory 104.”), (vi) electronic processor (Fig. 1 and ¶18 shows “electronic processor 102.”), and (vii) digital notification (¶¶19-20, ¶25, and ¶28 shows storing and communicating “digital notifications.” See also Fig. 3-6 and ¶¶32-34 showing examples of “digital notification 300.”), are recited at a high-level of generality, such that, when viewed as whole/ordered combination (Fig. 1 shows elements in combination.), they amount to no more than mere instruction to apply the judicial exception using generic computer components or “apply it” (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The (i) server, (ii) communication interface, (iii) supplier interface device,(iv) third-party server, (v) memory, (vi) electronic processor, and (vii) digital notification when viewed as whole/ordered combination (Fig. 1 shows elements in combination.), does no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e. online computer environment) (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, these additional elements, when viewed as a whole/ordered combination (Fig. 1 shows elements in combination.), do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements amount to no more than: (i) “apply it” (or an equivalent) and (ii) generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, and are not a practical application of the abstract idea. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., (i) merely invoking the generic components as a tool to perform the abstract idea or “apply it” (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) and (ii) generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)), does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Furthermore, the (i) server, (ii) communication interface, (iii) supplier interface device, (iv) third-party server, (v) memory, (vi) electronic processor, and (vii) digital notification when viewed as whole/ordered combination (Fig. 1 and ¶¶17-21 shows elements in combination.) are recited at a high-level of generality and performs generic computer functions (i.e., i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, iii. Electronic recordkeeping, or iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory) that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)).
Therefore, the additional elements of the (i) server, (ii) communication interface, (iii) supplier interface device,(iv) third-party server, (v) memory, (vi) electronic processor, and (vii) digital notification, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination (Fig. 1 shows elements in combination.), nothing in the claims adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Dependent Claims 2-7 recite the abstract idea of:
. . . configured to communicate with a second supplier . . . , and (Claim 2)
. . . receive second supplier information and a second plurality of . . . notifications from the second supplier . . . , each of the second plurality of . . . notifications linked to a second one or more remuneration vehicles of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and the second supplier information, (Claim 2)
store the second supplier information and the second plurality of . . . notifications in the memory, the second supplier information being associated with the second plurality of . . . notifications, (Claim 2)
receive a second request for the second plurality of . . . notifications from the third-party . . . , the second request including the second supplier information and a second plurality of remuneration vehicle identifiers that identify a second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles, (Claim 2)
retrieve a portion of the second plurality of . . . notifications . . . based on the second supplier information and the second plurality of remuneration vehicle identifiers, and (Claim 2)
output the portion of the second plurality of . . . notifications to the third-party . . . ,
wherein the portion of the second plurality of . . . notifications notify a second user of the third-party server, during a second remuneration vehicle selection process just prior to a second checkout process of at least one of second goods or second services from a second supplier associated with the second supplier interface device, of ainteraction differences between the second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and second other remuneration vehicles that are distinct from the second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles relative to the second supplier, (Claim 2)
wherein the second remuneration vehicle selection process displays a third . . . notification of the portion of the second plurality of . . . notifications with only a , the third digital notification indicating a third interaction difference between the third remuneration vehicle and the second other remuneration vehicles relative to the second supplier, and (Claim 2)
wherein the second remuneration vehicle selection process displays a fourth . . . notification of the portion of the second plurality of . . . notifications with only a , the fourth digital notification indicating a fourth interaction difference between the fourth remuneration vehicle and the second other remuneration vehicles relative to the second supplier. (Claim 2)
wherein the plurality of . . . notifications is associated with a first supplier and one or more locations of the first supplier, and (Claim 3)
wherein the second plurality of . . . notifications is associated with a second supplier and one or more locations of the second supplier (Claim 3)
. . . receive an enrollment request by a vehicle holder . . . to enroll in a vehicle-linked notification service, (Claim 4)
store a first remuneration vehicle associated with the vehicle holder . . . in the plurality of remuneration vehicles, and (Claim 4)
send an enrollment confirmation that confirms enrollment of the first remuneration vehicle in the vehicle-linked notification service. (Claim 4)
wherein the enrollment request is received from the third-party . . . , and wherein the enrollment confirmation is sent to the third-party . . . . (Claim 5)
wherein the enrollment request is received from the vehicle holder . . . , and wherein the enrollment confirmation is sent to the vehicle holder . . . (Claim 6)
wherein the interaction differences between the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and the other remuneration vehicles that are distinct from the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles are personalized offers that are presented to a user of the vehicle holder device during the remuneration vehicle selection process just prior to the checkout process. (Claim 7)
Dependent Claims 2-7, have been given the full two-prong analysis including analyzing the further elements and limitations, both individually and in combination. When analyzed individually and in combination, these claims are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. The further limitation of Claims 2-7 fail to establish claims that are not directed to an abstract idea because the further limitations include (1) communicating and interacting with a second supplier similar to the first supplier, (2) the notifications are associated with a supplier and location, (3) enrolling a remuneration vehicle in a vehicle-linked notification service by sending requests and confirmations, and (4) communicating a personalized offer during a remuneration vehicle selection process, which merely limits the scope of the abstract idea. The further elements of Claims 2-7 (i.e. “second supplier interface device” of Claim 2 and “vehicle holder device” of Claims 4-7) fails to establish claims that are not directed to an abstract idea because the elements merely recite additional generic computer hardware similar to the generic computer hardware of Claim 1 (i.e. “devices”) or generally link the abstract idea to a particular technology or field of use (i.e. online computer environment) just as in Claim 1. The organization of the further limitations of Claims 2-7 fail to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application just as discussed above for Claim 1. Additionally, performing the abstract idea of Claim 1 as recited in each of the further limitations of Claims 2-7, individually or in combination, does not (1) impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas, or (2) provide improvements to the functioning of computing systems or to another technology or technical field, just as discussed above regarding Claim 1. Therefore, Claims 2-7 amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea (1) using generic computer components—using the computer, in its ordinary capacity, as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and (2) generally linked to a particular technology or field of use. Because the claims merely use a computer, in its ordinary capacity in a particular field of use, as a tool to perform the abstract idea cannot provide an inventive concept, the elements and limitations of Claims 2-7 fail to establish that the claims provide an inventive concept, just as in Claim 1. Therefore, Claims 2-7 fails the Subject Matter Eligibility Test and are consequently rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 8-14 recite elements and limitations that are substantially similar to Claims 1-7. Claims 8-14 recite a method embodied by the elements and limitations of Claims 1-7. Therefore, Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 just as Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as discussed above.
Claims 15-20 recite elements and limitations that are substantially similar to Claims 1-7. Independent Claim 15 recite “A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by an electronic processor, cause the electronic processor to perform a set of operations” substantially similar to the “server” of Claim 1. Therefore, Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 just as Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20170352051-A1 ("Watkins") in view of US-12229763-B1 ("Collins").
Regarding Claim 1, Watkins teaches “A server” (Fig. 1 and ¶59 shows “POIP 110 includes a processor 120, memory 122, an offer correlating & integrating engine (OCIE) 124, and storage 126.” See also ¶¶14-15 showing hardware and software configurations.) “comprising:”
“a communication interface configured to: communicate with a supplier interface device, and communicate with a third-party server” (Fig. 1 and ¶¶38-39 shows “each individual entity (e.g., 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114)” is configured to communicate with each other vial “Network N.” Fig 1 and ¶¶44-45 shows “merchant 108” and “merchants or agents 128” (i.e. supplier interface device). Fig. 1 and ¶46 shows “wallet system 104” (i.e. third-party server). See also ¶61 showing communication with other devices.);
“a memory storing a vehicle-linked notification service” (Fig. 1 and ¶63 shows “OCIE [(offer correlating & integrating engine)] 124 is configured to store the retrieved offers (e.g., offer details, offer codes, or offer data), rewards, metadata, criteria, and/or user preferences [(i.e. vehicle-linked notification service)] in storage 126.” See also Fig. 1-2, ¶44, and ¶75 showing “engines 112.”); and
“an electronic processor communicatively connected to the memory, the electronic processor” (Fig. 1 and ¶62 shows “OCIE [(offer correlating & integrating engine)] 124 is executed by processor 120 and stored in memory 122.”) “configured to”
“receive supplier information and a plurality of digital notifications from the supplier interface device, each of the plurality of digital notifications linked to one or more remuneration vehicles of a plurality of remuneration vehicles and the supplier information” (Fig. 2 and ¶75 shows “In line 208, merchants or agents 128 create or generate offers and inject the offers [(i.e. digital notifications)] into one or more offer engines or reward platforms. For example, merchants 108 or agents 128 may create [(i.e. from the supplier interface device)] offers and electronically inject the offers into one or more engines 112, which may comprise one or more offers platform(s) 112A, card-linked offers platform(s) 112B, and/or rewards system(s) 112C. Engines 112 may be platforms including a database, data table, cache, or other storage element containing offer or reward details. Offer or Reward details may include any type of information associated with an offer or reward, including but not limited to rebate information or rebate codes, promo codes, a merchant identifier, a customer (consumer) identifier, an offer code, an expiration date associated with the offer, offer qualifying details, a discount amount or percent, redeemable loyalty points, credits, location information, or the like.” (Emphasis added). ¶44 shows “engines 112 are configured to generate rewards for a plurality of different merchants or agents. POIP 110 may retrieve and integrate multiple offers from multiple, different engines 112, and present the offers to the consumer via UE 102 at the POS.” Thus, Watkins teaches a plurality of offers (i.e. digital notifications) received from the supplier. See also ¶72 and ¶¶80-81 showing that offers are digital messages (i.e. digital notifications).),
“store the supplier information and the plurality of digital notifications in the memory, the supplier information being associated with the plurality of digital notifications” (Fig. 2 and ¶75 shows Engines 112 may be platforms including a database, data table, cache, or other storage element containing offer or reward details. Offer or Reward details may include any type of information associated with an offer or reward, including but not limited to rebate information or rebate codes, promo codes, a merchant identifier, a customer (consumer) identifier, an offer code, an expiration date associated with the offer, offer qualifying details, a discount amount or percent, redeemable loyalty points, credits, location information, or the like.” (Emphasis added). See also Fig. 1 and ¶44 showing that offers are stored on “engines 112.”),
“receive a request for the plurality of digital notifications from the third-party server, the request including the supplier information and a plurality of remuneration vehicle identifiers that identify a portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 2 and ¶76 shows “In line 210, wallet system 104 or other EDS 114 [(i.e. third-party server)] may send an offer request [(i.e. request for the plurality of digital notifications)] to POIP 110 [(i.e. the server)] in response to any combination of events, which may be a consumer initiating a purchase transaction via UE 102, a consumer reviewing offers nearby via EDS 114, or a consumer initiating a payment via wallet 104. The offer request may be generated at a POS, when a consumer is conducting a payment transaction for purchasing at least one good or service or when initiating any request providing geographic-based location details. The offer request may include metadata ascribed to transaction details [(i.e. supplier information)], metadata ascribed to location details, and/or metadata ascribed to consumer preferences [(i.e. one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers)], where the metadata is indicative of and/or associated with SKU-details (SKU-data), a location, or other information regarding each item purchased, the time and/or location of the purchase, the day of the purchase, etc. In some embodiments, wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114 may also send consumer preferences (e.g., user preferences) to POIP 110 for optional storage at POIP 110.” (Emphasis added). ¶78 shows that a plurality of messages can be sent in response to the offer request. ¶46 and ¶83 shows “card information” is a part of consumer preference profile. ¶30 shows that “transaction details” includes “any unique code that is associated with a given item (good) and/or a given merchant.” (Emphasis added).),
“retrieve a portion of the plurality of digital notifications from the memory based on the supplier information and the plurality of remuneration vehicle identifiers” (Fig. 2 and ¶77 shows “In line 212, POIP 110 queries one or more engines 112 using a set of criteria that is determined using the metadata received from wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114.” Fig. 2 and ¶79 shows “In line 214, after querying engines 112, POIP 110 sends matching offers and/or rewards to wallet system 104 or EDS 114 via an offer response. The offer response may include offer details or data elements, which include information regarding one or more offers (e.g., a merchant code, an expiration date, an offer code, or the like).” Thus, Watkins teaches retrieving the offer messages from memory based on the offer request (i.e. the supplier information and the one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers).), and
“output the portion of the plurality of digital notifications to the third-party server” (Fig. 2 and ¶79 shows “In line 214, after querying engines 112, POIP 110 sends matching offers and/or rewards to wallet system 104 or EDS 114 via an offer response. The offer response may include offer details or data elements, which include information regarding one or more offers (e.g., a merchant code, an expiration date, an offer code, or the like).” Fig. 2 and ¶80 shows “In line 216, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers via a wallet system 104 [(i.e. third-party server)] user interface. In line 218, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers or rewards directly from their UE 102, or similarly, a consumer may view and/or consume the offers or rewards via messaging EDS 114 (e.g., as shown in line 202).” (Emphasis added). Thus, Watkins teaches outputting the offers (i.e. portion of the plurality of digital notifications.).),
“wherein the portion of the plurality of digital notifications notify a user of the third-party server, during [an offer] selection process just prior to a checkout process of at least one of goods or services from a supplier associated with the supplier interface deviceinteraction differences between the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and other remuneration vehicles that are distinct from the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles relative to the supplier” (Fig. 2 and ¶80 shows “In line 216, a consumer [(i.e. user of the third-party server)] views [(i.e. is notified)] and/or consumes the offers via a wallet system 104 [(i.e. third-party server)] user interface. In line 218, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers or rewards directly from their UE 102, or similarly, a consumer may view and/or consume the offers or rewards via messaging EDS 114 (e.g., as shown in line 202).” ¶¶26-27 shows that the merchant, card processing provider, or card issuer can create and inject offers to be integrated into a purchase process that provides offers based on the line-item goods and service purchasing information, consumer, and merchant information. ¶¶28-29 shows “[0028] In some embodiments, a payment platform or wallet system (e.g. MasterPass®, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, PayPal®, etc.) may communicate payload information including transaction details, location details, and/or consumer preferences in an offer request across a packet-based network. The offer request may be received at the POIP when a subscribed consumer is conducting a payment transaction for one or more goods or services at a point of sale (POS). . . [0029] Electronically correlating offers to transaction details, and electronically integrating the correlated offers as described herein advantageously obviates the need for performing manual processes (e.g., manual searches for offers, rewards, coupons, etc.) prior to purchasing a good or service. . .” ¶37 shows “During the purchase transaction [(i.e. before the transaction is finalized, i.e. before “at the conclusion.”)] and/or at the conclusion of the purchase transaction, multiple offers are correlated according to transaction details associated with the respective purchase, integrated, and presented to the consumer in real time at a point of sale (POS).” Therefore, ¶¶26-29 and ¶37 teaches that the offers are presented to be selected a checkout process of at least one of goods or services from a supplier associated with the supplier interface device. See also ¶75 and ¶92 showing that the offers are “card-linked.” ¶53 shows that the line-item or merchant specific offers may be based on “issuers 106. ¶90 shows that the offers may be different based on “merchants 108” and “issuers 106.” Thus, the interaction differences of each remuneration vehicle taught by Watkins are “relative to the supplier.” See also Fig. 4 and ¶¶108-10 showing the generation of a plurality of offers.).
Watkins does not explicitly teach, but Watkins in view of Collins teaches:
“wherein the portion of the plurality of digital notifications notify a user of the third-party server, during a remuneration vehicle selection process just prior to a checkout process of at least one of goods or services from a supplier associated with the supplier interface deviceinteraction differences between the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and other remuneration vehicles that are distinct from the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles relative to the supplier” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various payment options.” Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that some of the payment methods (i.e. remuneration vehicles) are linked with financial offers displayed in “interactive graphic element . . . 311” and other payment methods are not linked with such offers. Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 further shows that payment methods with associated offers can be denoted as “platinum/executive card” in “product name 321.” Additionally, Fig. 4 and C21L58-C22L35 shows that an “[awareness banner] 420” may be displayed that communicates which of the user’s credit cards are eligible for a financial offer. Thus, Collins teaches a digital notification that communicates the distinct differences between remuneration vehicles of the plurality of remuneration vehicles. Fig. 3 shows:
A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the “payment now” element 316 teaches “a checkout process.” See also C23L03-18 showing execution of the transaction (i.e. checkout process) after selecting payment method (i.e. remuneration vehicle selection process).), and
“wherein the remuneration vehicle selection process displays a first digital notification of the portion of the plurality of digital notifications with only a, the first digital notification indicating a first interaction difference between the first remuneration vehicle and the other remuneration vehicles relative to the supplier” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various [(i.e. multiple)] payment options.” Fig. 3 shows:
As discussed above, Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that the installment options are associated with a certain payment method, e.g. credit card. Thus, Collins teaches the “first digital notification” (e.g. installment option) is displayed “with only a first remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles.”), and
“wherein the remuneration vehicle selection process displays a second digital notification of the portion of the plurality of digital notifications with only a, the second digital notification indicating a second interaction difference between the second remuneration vehicle and the other remuneration vehicles relative to the supplier” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various [(i.e. multiple)] payment options.” Fig. 3 shows:
As discussed above, Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that the installment options are associated with a certain payment method, e.g. credit card. Thus, Collins teaches the “second digital notification” (e.g. installment option) is displayed “with only a second remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Collins with Watkins because Watkins teaches that the offers are presented as part of completing a transaction (¶37 and ¶96) and Collins teaches that displaying the unique benefits of each card at checkout enables users to select the preferred card and adjoining benefit (C01L13-C02L07). Thus, combining Collins with Watkins furthers the interest taught in Collins, and therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2, Watkins and Collins discloses “The server of claim 1,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches:
“wherein the communication interface is further configured to communicate with a second supplier interface device” (Fig. 1 and ¶¶38-39 shows “each individual entity (e.g., 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114)” is configured to communicate with each other vial “Network N.” Fig 1 and ¶¶44-45 shows “merchant 108” and “merchants or agents 128” (i.e. supplier interface device). ¶10 shows that POIP is “configured to generate rewards and/or offers for a plurality of different merchants or agents.” (Emphasis added). The “plurality of different merchants” of ¶10 teaches a first and second supplier.), and
“wherein the electronic processor is further configured to”
“receive second supplier information and a second plurality of digital notifications from the second supplier interface device, each of the second plurality of digital notifications linked to a second one or more remuneration vehicles of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and the second supplier information” (Fig. 2 and ¶75 shows “In line 208, merchants or agents 128 create or generate offers and inject the offers [(i.e. digital notifications)] into one or more offer engines or reward platforms. For example, merchants 108 or agents 128 may create [(i.e. from the supplier interface device)] offers and electronically inject the offers into one or more engines 112, which may comprise one or more offers platform(s) 112A, card-linked offers platform(s) 112B, and/or rewards system(s) 112C. Engines 112 may be platforms including a database, data table, cache, or other storage element containing offer or reward details. Offer or Reward details may include any type of information associated with an offer or reward, including but not limited to rebate information or rebate codes, promo codes, a merchant identifier, a customer (consumer) identifier, an offer code, an expiration date associated with the offer, offer qualifying details, a discount amount or percent, redeemable loyalty points, credits, location information, or the like.” (Emphasis added). ¶44 shows “engines 112 are configured to generate rewards for a plurality of different merchants or agents. POIP 110 may retrieve and integrate multiple offers from multiple, different engines 112, and present the offers to the consumer via UE 102 at the POS.” Thus, Watkins teaches a plurality of offers (i.e. digital notifications) received from the supplier. See also ¶72 and ¶¶80-81 showing that offers are digital messages (i.e. digital notifications).),
“store the second supplier information and the second plurality of digital notifications in the memory, the second supplier information being associated with the second plurality of digital notifications” (Fig. 2 and ¶75 shows Engines 112 may be platforms including a database, data table, cache, or other storage element containing offer or reward details. Offer or Reward details may include any type of information associated with an offer or reward, including but not limited to rebate information or rebate codes, promo codes, a merchant identifier, a customer (consumer) identifier, an offer code, an expiration date associated with the offer, offer qualifying details, a discount amount or percent, redeemable loyalty points, credits, location information, or the like.” (Emphasis added). See also Fig. 1 and ¶44 showing that offers are stored on “engines 112.”),
“receive a second request for the second plurality of digital notifications from the third- party server, the second request including the second supplier information and a second one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers that identify a second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 2 and ¶76 shows “In line 210, wallet system 104 or other EDS 114 [(i.e. third-party server)] may send an offer request [(i.e. request for the plurality of digital notifications)] to POIP 110 [(i.e. the server)] in response to any combination of events, which may be a consumer initiating a purchase transaction via UE 102, a consumer reviewing offers nearby via EDS 114, or a consumer initiating a payment via wallet 104. The offer request may be generated at a POS, when a consumer is conducting a payment transaction for purchasing at least one good or service or when initiating any request providing geographic-based location details. The offer request may include metadata ascribed to transaction details [(i.e. supplier information)], metadata ascribed to location details, and/or metadata ascribed to consumer preferences [(i.e. one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers)], where the metadata is indicative of and/or associated with SKU-details (SKU-data), a location, or other information regarding each item purchased, the time and/or location of the purchase, the day of the purchase, etc. In some embodiments, wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114 may also send consumer preferences (e.g., user preferences) to POIP 110 for optional storage at POIP 110.” (Emphasis added). ¶78 shows that a plurality of messages can be sent in response to the offer request. ¶46 and ¶83 shows “card information” is a part of consumer preference profile. ¶30 shows that “transaction details” includes “any unique code that is associated with a given item (good) and/or a given merchant.” (Emphasis added).),
“retrieve a portion of the second plurality of digital notifications from the memory based on the second supplier information and the second one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers” (Fig. 2 and ¶77 shows “In line 212, POIP 110 queries one or more engines 112 using a set of criteria that is determined using the metadata received from wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114.” Fig. 2 and ¶79 shows “In line 214, after querying engines 112, POIP 110 sends matching offers and/or rewards to wallet system 104 or EDS 114 via an offer response. The offer response may include offer details or data elements, which include information regarding one or more offers (e.g., a merchant code, an expiration date, an offer code, or the like).” Thus, Watkins teaches retrieving the offer messages from memory based on the offer request (i.e. the supplier information and the one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers).), and
“output the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications to the third-party server” (Fig. 2 and ¶79 shows “In line 214, after querying engines 112, POIP 110 sends matching offers and/or rewards to wallet system 104 or EDS 114 via an offer response. The offer response may include offer details or data elements, which include information regarding one or more offers (e.g., a merchant code, an expiration date, an offer code, or the like).” Fig. 2 and ¶80 shows “In line 216, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers via a wallet system 104 [(i.e. third-party server)] user interface. In line 218, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers or rewards directly from their UE 102, or similarly, a consumer may view and/or consume the offers or rewards via messaging EDS 114 (e.g., as shown in line 202).” (Emphasis added). Thus, Watkins teaches outputting the offers (i.e. portion of the plurality of digital notifications.).),
“wherein the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications notify a second user, during a second [offer] selection process just prior to a second checkout process of the third-party server of [a second offer]” (Fig. 2 and ¶80 shows “In line 216, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers via a wallet system 104 [(i.e. third-party server)] user interface. In line 218, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers or rewards directly from their UE 102, or similarly, a consumer may view and/or consume the offers or rewards via messaging EDS 114 (e.g., as shown in line 202).” ¶¶28-29 shows “[0028] In some embodiments, a payment platform or wallet system (e.g. MasterPass®, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, PayPal®, etc.) may communicate payload information including transaction details, location details, and/or consumer preferences in an offer request across a packet-based network. The offer request may be received at the POIP when a subscribed consumer is conducting a payment transaction for one or more goods or services at a point of sale (POS). . . [0029] Electronically correlating offers to transaction details, and electronically integrating the correlated offers as described herein advantageously obviates the need for performing manual processes (e.g., manual searches for offers, rewards, coupons, etc.) prior to purchasing a good or service. . .” Therefore, ¶¶28-29 teaches that the offers are presented to be selected prior to completing the purchase. Although ¶75 and ¶92 shows that the offers are “card-linked,” Watkins does not explicitly state that the notification includes this card-specific distinction.).
Watkins does not explicitly teach, but Collins teaches:
“wherein the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications notify a second user, during a second remuneration vehicle selection process just prior to a second checkout process of the third-party server of a difference between the second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and second other remuneration vehicles that are distinct from the second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various payment options.” Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that some of the payment methods (i.e. remuneration vehicles) are linked with financial offers displayed in “interactive graphic element . . . 311” and other payment methods are not linked with such offers. Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 further shows that payment methods with associated offers can be denoted as “platinum/executive card” in “product name 321.” Additionally, Fig. 4 and C21L58-C22L35 shows that an “[awareness banner] 420” may be displayed that communicates which of the user’s credit cards are eligible for a financial offer. Thus, Collins teaches a digital notification that communicates the distinct differences between remuneration vehicles of the plurality of remuneration vehicles. Fig. 3 shows:
A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the “payment now” element 316 teaches “a checkout process.” See also C23L03-18 showing execution of the transaction (i.e. checkout process) after selecting payment method (i.e. remuneration vehicle selection process).),
“wherein the second remuneration vehicle selection process displays a third digital notification of the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications with only a corresponding third remuneration vehicle of the second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various [(i.e. multiple)] payment options.” Fig. 3 shows:
As discussed above, Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that the installment options are associated with a certain payment method, e.g. credit card. Thus, Collins teaches the “first digital notification” (e.g. installment option) is displayed “with only a corresponding first remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles.”), and
“wherein the second remuneration vehicle selection process displays a fourth digital notification of the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications with only a corresponding fourth remuneration vehicle of the second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various payment options.” Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various [(i.e. multiple)] payment options.” Fig. 3 shows:
As discussed above, Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that the installment options are associated with a certain payment method, e.g. credit card. Thus, Collins teaches the “second digital notification” (e.g. installment option) is displayed “with only a corresponding second remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Collins with Watkins because Watkins teaches that the offers are presented as part of completing a transaction (¶37 and ¶96) and Collins teaches that displaying the unique benefits of each card at checkout enables users to select the preferred card and adjoining benefit (C01L13-C02L07). Thus, combining Collins with Watkins furthers the interest taught in Collins, and therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 3, Watkins and Collins discloses “The server of claim 2,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches “wherein the plurality of digital notifications is associated with a first supplier and one or more locations of the first supplier, and wherein the second plurality of digital notifications is associated with a second supplier and one or more locations of the second supplier” (¶10 shows that POIP is “configured to generate rewards and/or offers for a plurality of different merchants or agents.” (Emphasis added). The “plurality of different merchants” of ¶10 teaches a first and second supplier. ¶72 shows that to offers may be merchant and location specific. See also Fig. 2 and ¶¶74-77 showing that the offer request includes location details, and the “engines 112” include location information for determining the offer.).
Regarding Claim 4, Watkins and Collins discloses “The server of claim 1,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches “wherein the electronic processor is further configured to”
“receive an enrollment request by a vehicle holder device to enroll in a vehicle-linked notification service” (¶26 shows “consumers may subscribe or ‘opt-in’ [(i.e. enroll)] to receive communications from the POIP or another device/system, which may interact with the POIP, so that offers received therefrom, conform to preferences and interests set by a respective consumer.” Fig. 1 and ¶63 shows “OCIE 124 is configured to store . . . user preferences in storage 126.” Fig. 1-2 and ¶72 shows “Referring to FIG. 2, a consumer, utilizing UE 102 or EDS 114 [(i.e. vehicle holder device)], may enroll in a service offered [(i.e. vehicle-linked notification service)] by a wallet system 104 (e.g., MasterPass™′ MDES™, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, AndroidPay®, PayPal®, or the like), which may be accessed via a website, a mobile application and/or any user interface programmed to do so. A consumer may utilize UE 102 or EDS 114 to enroll in a wallet system 104 at a payment platform, to set consumer, offer, reward, or location-based preferences or the like, as indicated by the series of messages denoted by lines 202 [(i.e. enrollment request)].” (Emphasis added). ¶76 shows “In some embodiments, wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114 may also send consumer preferences (e.g., user preferences) to POIP 110 for optional storage at POIP 110.”),
“store a first remuneration vehicle associated with the vehicle holder device in the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (¶46 and ¶83 shows “card information” is a part of consumer preference profile. Fig. 1 and ¶63 shows “OCIE 124 is configured to store . . . user preferences in storage 126.” Fig. 3A and ¶83 shows “The consumer may input payment card information [(i.e. first remuneration vehicle associated with the vehicle holder device)], which may optionally be stored as tokenized payment information at wallet system 104.” ¶76 shows “In some embodiments, wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114 may also send consumer preferences (e.g., user preferences) to POIP 110 for optional storage at POIP 110.”), and
“send an enrollment confirmation that confirms enrollment of the first remuneration vehicle in the vehicle-linked notification service” (¶81-82 shows that Fig. 3A-3B includes “process flow 300,” which is a more detailed version of Fig. 2. Fig. 3A and ¶83 shows that the “sign-up, enroll, or otherwise ‘opt-in’” process is performed at Lines 302 or 304. Fig. 3A shows data flow back to the “card holder” at Lines 302 or 304 (Examiner notes that not all flow arrows are bi-directional). Therefore, the back arrow of Lines 302 or 304 on Fig. 3A teaches an enrollment confirmation. See also ¶72 showing that the customer sets their preferences via “a website, a mobile application and/or any user interface programmed to do so.” Alternatively, the receipt of the notifications of the offers shown in ¶¶83-84 teaches an enrolment confirmation under the broadest reasonable interpretation.).
Regarding Claim 5, Watkins and Collins discloses “The server of claim 4,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches that “wherein the enrollment request is received from the third-party server, and wherein the enrollment confirmation is sent to the third-party server” (Fig. 1-2 and ¶72 shows “Referring to FIG. 2, a consumer, utilizing UE 102 or EDS 114, may enroll in a service offered by a wallet system 104 (e.g., MasterPass™′ MDES™, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, AndroidPay®, PayPal®, or the like), which may be accessed via a website, a mobile application and/or any user interface programmed to do so [(i.e. third party server)]. A consumer may utilize UE 102 or EDS 114 to enroll in a wallet system 104 at a payment platform, to set consumer, offer, reward, or location-based preferences or the like, as indicated by the series of messages denoted by lines 202.” (Emphasis added). Therefore, Watkins teaches that the enrollment communication occurs via third party server.).
Regarding Claim 6, Watkins and Collins discloses “The server of claim 4,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches that “wherein the enrollment request is received from the vehicle holder device, and wherein the enrollment confirmation is sent to the vehicle holder device” (Fig. 1-2 and ¶72 shows “Referring to FIG. 2, a consumer, utilizing UE 102 or EDS 114 [(i.e. vehicle holder device)], may enroll in a service offered by a wallet system 104 (e.g., MasterPass™′ MDES™, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, AndroidPay®, PayPal®, or the like), which may be accessed via a website, a mobile application and/or any user interface programmed to do so [(i.e. third party server)]. A consumer may utilize UE 102 or EDS 114 to enroll in a wallet system 104 at a payment platform, to set consumer, offer, reward, or location-based preferences or the like, as indicated by the series of messages denoted by lines 202.” (Emphasis added). Therefore, Watkins teaches that the enrollment communication occurs via vehicle holder device.).
Regarding Claim 7, Watkins and Collins discloses “The server of claim 4,” as shown above.
Watkins does not explicitly teach, but Collins further teaches that “wherein the interaction differences between the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and the other remuneration vehicles that are distinct from the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles are personalized offers that are presented to a user of the vehicle holder device during the remuneration vehicle selection process just prior to the checkout process” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various payment options.” Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that some of the payment methods (i.e. remuneration vehicles) are linked with financial offers displayed in “interactive graphic element . . . 311” and other payment methods are not linked with such offers. Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 further shows that payment methods with associated offers can be denoted as “platinum/executive card” in “product name 321.” Additionally, Fig. 4 and C21L58-C22L35 shows that an “[awareness banner] 420” may be displayed that communicates which of the user’s credit cards are eligible for a financial offer. Fig. 3 shows “payment now 316” on checkout page “300.” Thus, Collins teaches a personalized offer presented to the user during a remuneration vehicle selection process just prior payment (i.e. checkout) process.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Collins with Watkins because Watkins teaches that the offers are presented as part of completing a transaction (¶37 and ¶96) and Collins teaches that displaying the unique benefits of each card at checkout enables users to select the preferred card and adjoining benefit (C01L13-C02L07). Thus, combining Collins with Watkins furthers the interest taught in Collins, and therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 8, Watkins teaches “A method comprising:”
“controlling, with an electronic processor of a server, a communication interface of the server to receive supplier information and a plurality of digital notifications from a supplier interface device, each of the plurality of digital notifications linked to one or more remuneration vehicles of a plurality of remuneration vehicles and the supplier information” (Fig. 1 and ¶59 shows “POIP 110 includes a processor 120, memory 122, an offer correlating & integrating engine (OCIE) 124, and storage 126.” Fig. 1 and ¶¶38-39 shows “each individual entity (e.g., 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114)” is configured to communicate with each other vial “Network N.” Fig 1 and ¶¶44-45 shows “merchant 108” and “merchants or agents 128” (i.e. supplier interface device). Fig. 2 and ¶75 shows “In line 208, merchants or agents 128 create or generate offers and inject the offers [(i.e. digital notifications)] into one or more offer engines or reward platforms. For example, merchants 108 or agents 128 may create [(i.e. from the supplier interface device)] offers and electronically inject the offers into one or more engines 112, which may comprise one or more offers platform(s) 112A, card-linked offers platform(s) 112B, and/or rewards system(s) 112C. Engines 112 may be platforms including a database, data table, cache, or other storage element containing offer or reward details. Offer or Reward details may include any type of information associated with an offer or reward, including but not limited to rebate information or rebate codes, promo codes, a merchant identifier, a customer (consumer) identifier, an offer code, an expiration date associated with the offer, offer qualifying details, a discount amount or percent, redeemable loyalty points, credits, location information, or the like.” (Emphasis added). ¶44 shows “engines 112 are configured to generate rewards for a plurality of different merchants or agents. POIP 110 may retrieve and integrate multiple offers from multiple, different engines 112, and present the offers to the consumer via UE 102 at the POS.” Thus, Watkins teaches a plurality of offers (i.e. digital notifications) received from the supplier. See also ¶72 and ¶¶80-81 showing that offers are digital messages (i.e. digital notifications).);
“controlling, with the electronic processor, a memory of the server to store the supplier information and the plurality of digital notifications, the supplier information being associated with the plurality of digital notifications” (Fig. 1 and ¶59 shows “POIP 110 includes a processor 120, memory 122, an offer correlating & integrating engine (OCIE) 124, and storage 126.” Fig. 2 and ¶75 shows Engines 112 may be platforms including a database, data table, cache, or other storage element containing offer or reward details. Offer or Reward details may include any type of information associated with an offer or reward, including but not limited to rebate information or rebate codes, promo codes, a merchant identifier, a customer (consumer) identifier, an offer code, an expiration date associated with the offer, offer qualifying details, a discount amount or percent, redeemable loyalty points, credits, location information, or the like.” (Emphasis added). See also Fig. 1 and ¶44 showing that offers are stored on “engines 112.”);
“controlling, with the electronic processor, the communication interface to receive a request for the plurality of digital notifications from a third-party server, the request including the supplier information and one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers that identify a portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 1 and ¶¶38-39 shows “each individual entity (e.g., 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114)” is configured to communicate with each other vial “Network N.” Fig. 1 and ¶46 shows “wallet system 104” (i.e. third-party server). Fig. 2 and ¶76 shows “In line 210, wallet system 104 or other EDS 114 [(i.e. third-party server)] may send an offer request [(i.e. request for the plurality of digital notifications)] to POIP 110 [(i.e. the server)] in response to any combination of events, which may be a consumer initiating a purchase transaction via UE 102, a consumer reviewing offers nearby via EDS 114, or a consumer initiating a payment via wallet 104. The offer request may be generated at a POS, when a consumer is conducting a payment transaction for purchasing at least one good or service or when initiating any request providing geographic-based location details. The offer request may include metadata ascribed to transaction details [(i.e. supplier information)], metadata ascribed to location details, and/or metadata ascribed to consumer preferences [(i.e. one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers)], where the metadata is indicative of and/or associated with SKU-details (SKU-data), a location, or other information regarding each item purchased, the time and/or location of the purchase, the day of the purchase, etc. In some embodiments, wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114 may also send consumer preferences (e.g., user preferences) to POIP 110 for optional storage at POIP 110.” (Emphasis added). ¶78 shows that a plurality of messages can be sent in response to the offer request. ¶46 and ¶83 shows “card information” is a part of consumer preference profile. ¶30 shows that “transaction details” includes “any unique code that is associated with a given item (good) and/or a given merchant.” (Emphasis added).);
“controlling, with the electronic processor, the memory to retrieve a portion of the plurality of digital notifications from the memory based on the supplier information and the one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers” (Fig. 2 and ¶77 shows “In line 212, POIP 110 queries one or more engines 112 using a set of criteria that is determined using the metadata received from wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114.” Fig. 2 and ¶79 shows “In line 214, after querying engines 112, POIP 110 sends matching offers and/or rewards to wallet system 104 or EDS 114 via an offer response. The offer response may include offer details or data elements, which include information regarding one or more offers (e.g., a merchant code, an expiration date, an offer code, or the like).” Thus, Watkins teaches retrieving the offer messages from memory based on the offer request (i.e. the supplier information and the one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers).); and
“controlling, with the electronic processor, the communication interface to output the portion of the plurality of digital notifications to the third-party server” (Fig. 2 and ¶79 shows “In line 214, after querying engines 112, POIP 110 sends matching offers and/or rewards to wallet system 104 or EDS 114 via an offer response. The offer response may include offer details or data elements, which include information regarding one or more offers (e.g., a merchant code, an expiration date, an offer code, or the like).” Fig. 2 and ¶80 shows “In line 216, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers via a wallet system 104 [(i.e. third-party server)] user interface. In line 218, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers or rewards directly from their UE 102, or similarly, a consumer may view and/or consume the offers or rewards via messaging EDS 114 (e.g., as shown in line 202).” (Emphasis added). Thus, Watkins teaches outputting the offers (i.e. portion of the plurality of digital notifications.).),
“wherein the portion of the plurality of digital notifications notify a user, during [an offer] selection process just prior to a checkout process of the third-party server of [an offer]” (Fig. 2 and ¶80 shows “In line 216, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers via a wallet system 104 [(i.e. third-party server)] user interface. In line 218, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers or rewards directly from their UE 102, or similarly, a consumer may view and/or consume the offers or rewards via messaging EDS 114 (e.g., as shown in line 202).” ¶¶28-29 shows “[0028] In some embodiments, a payment platform or wallet system (e.g. MasterPass®, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, PayPal®, etc.) may communicate payload information including transaction details, location details, and/or consumer preferences in an offer request across a packet-based network. The offer request may be received at the POIP when a subscribed consumer is conducting a payment transaction for one or more goods or services at a point of sale (POS). . . [0029] Electronically correlating offers to transaction details, and electronically integrating the correlated offers as described herein advantageously obviates the need for performing manual processes (e.g., manual searches for offers, rewards, coupons, etc.) prior to purchasing a good or service. . .” Therefore, ¶¶28-29 teaches that the offers are presented to be selected prior to completing the purchase. Although ¶75 and ¶92 shows that the offers are “card-linked,” Watkins does not explicitly state that the notification includes this card-specific distinction.).
Watkins does not explicitly teach, but Collins teaches:
“wherein the portion of the plurality of digital notifications notify a user, during a remuneration vehicle selection process just prior to a checkout process of the third-party server of a difference between the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and other remuneration vehicles that are distinct from the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various payment options.” Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that some of the payment methods (i.e. remuneration vehicles) are linked with financial offers displayed in “interactive graphic element . . . 311” and other payment methods are not linked with such offers. Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 further shows that payment methods with associated offers can be denoted as “platinum/executive card” in “product name 321.” Additionally, Fig. 4 and C21L58-C22L35 shows that an “[awareness banner] 420” may be displayed that communicates which of the user’s credit cards are eligible for a financial offer. Thus, Collins teaches a digital notification that communicates the distinct differences between remuneration vehicles of the plurality of remuneration vehicles. Fig. 3 shows:
A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the “payment now” element 316 teaches “a checkout process.” See also C23L03-18 showing execution of the transaction (i.e. checkout process) after selecting payment method (i.e. remuneration vehicle selection process).),
“wherein the remuneration vehicle selection process displays a first digital notification of the portion of the plurality of digital notifications with only a corresponding first remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various [(i.e. multiple)] payment options.” Fig. 3 shows:
As discussed above, Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that the installment options are associated with a certain payment method, e.g. credit card. Thus, Collins teaches the “first digital notification” (e.g. installment option) is displayed “with only a corresponding first remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles.”), and
“wherein the remuneration vehicle selection process displays a second digital notification of the portion of the plurality of digital notifications with only a corresponding second remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various payment options.” Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various [(i.e. multiple)] payment options.” Fig. 3 shows:
As discussed above, Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that the installment options are associated with a certain payment method, e.g. credit card. Thus, Collins teaches the “second digital notification” (e.g. installment option) is displayed “with only a corresponding second remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Collins with Watkins because Watkins teaches that the offers are presented as part of completing a transaction (¶37 and ¶96) and Collins teaches that displaying the unique benefits of each card at checkout enables users to select the preferred card and adjoining benefit (C01L13-C02L07). Thus, combining Collins with Watkins furthers the interest taught in Collins, and therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 9, Watkins and Collins discloses “The method of claim 8,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches:
“controlling the communication interface to receive second supplier information and a second plurality of digital notifications from a second supplier interface device, each of the second plurality of digital notifications linked to a second one or more remuneration vehicles of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and the second supplier information” (Fig. 1 and ¶¶38-39 shows “each individual entity (e.g., 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114)” is configured to communicate with each other vial “Network N.” Fig 1 and ¶¶44-45 shows “merchant 108” and “merchants or agents 128” (i.e. supplier interface device). ¶10 shows that POIP is “configured to generate rewards and/or offers for a plurality of different merchants or agents.” (Emphasis added). The “plurality of different merchants” of ¶10 teaches a first and second supplier. Fig. 2 and ¶75 shows “In line 208, merchants or agents 128 create or generate offers and inject the offers [(i.e. digital notifications)] into one or more offer engines or reward platforms. For example, merchants 108 or agents 128 may create [(i.e. from the supplier interface device)] offers and electronically inject the offers into one or more engines 112, which may comprise one or more offers platform(s) 112A, card-linked offers platform(s) 112B, and/or rewards system(s) 112C. Engines 112 may be platforms including a database, data table, cache, or other storage element containing offer or reward details. Offer or Reward details may include any type of information associated with an offer or reward, including but not limited to rebate information or rebate codes, promo codes, a merchant identifier, a customer (consumer) identifier, an offer code, an expiration date associated with the offer, offer qualifying details, a discount amount or percent, redeemable loyalty points, credits, location information, or the like.” (Emphasis added). ¶44 shows “engines 112 are configured to generate rewards for a plurality of different merchants or agents. POIP 110 may retrieve and integrate multiple offers from multiple, different engines 112, and present the offers to the consumer via UE 102 at the POS.” Thus, Watkins teaches a plurality of offers (i.e. digital notifications) received from the supplier. See also ¶72 and ¶¶80-81 showing that offers are digital messages (i.e. digital notifications).),
“controlling the memory to store the second supplier information and the second plurality of digital notifications in the memory, the second supplier information being associated with the second plurality of digital notifications” (Fig. 2 and ¶75 shows Engines 112 may be platforms including a database, data table, cache, or other storage element containing offer or reward details. Offer or Reward details may include any type of information associated with an offer or reward, including but not limited to rebate information or rebate codes, promo codes, a merchant identifier, a customer (consumer) identifier, an offer code, an expiration date associated with the offer, offer qualifying details, a discount amount or percent, redeemable loyalty points, credits, location information, or the like.” (Emphasis added). See also Fig. 1 and ¶44 showing that offers are stored on “engines 112.”),
“controlling the communication interface to receive a second request for the second plurality of digital notifications from the third-party server, the second request including the second supplier information and a second one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers that identify a second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 2 and ¶76 shows “In line 210, wallet system 104 or other EDS 114 [(i.e. third-party server)] may send an offer request [(i.e. request for the plurality of digital notifications)] to POIP 110 [(i.e. the server)] in response to any combination of events, which may be a consumer initiating a purchase transaction via UE 102, a consumer reviewing offers nearby via EDS 114, or a consumer initiating a payment via wallet 104. The offer request may be generated at a POS, when a consumer is conducting a payment transaction for purchasing at least one good or service or when initiating any request providing geographic-based location details. The offer request may include metadata ascribed to transaction details [(i.e. supplier information)], metadata ascribed to location details, and/or metadata ascribed to consumer preferences [(i.e. one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers)], where the metadata is indicative of and/or associated with SKU-details (SKU-data), a location, or other information regarding each item purchased, the time and/or location of the purchase, the day of the purchase, etc. In some embodiments, wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114 may also send consumer preferences (e.g., user preferences) to POIP 110 for optional storage at POIP 110.” (Emphasis added). ¶78 shows that a plurality of messages can be sent in response to the offer request. ¶46 and ¶83 shows “card information” is a part of consumer preference profile. ¶30 shows that “transaction details” includes “any unique code that is associated with a given item (good) and/or a given merchant.” (Emphasis added).),
“controlling the memory to retrieve a portion of the second plurality of digital notifications from the memory based on the second supplier information and the second one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers” (Fig. 2 and ¶77 shows “In line 212, POIP 110 queries one or more engines 112 using a set of criteria that is determined using the metadata received from wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114.” Fig. 2 and ¶79 shows “In line 214, after querying engines 112, POIP 110 sends matching offers and/or rewards to wallet system 104 or EDS 114 via an offer response. The offer response may include offer details or data elements, which include information regarding one or more offers (e.g., a merchant code, an expiration date, an offer code, or the like).” Thus, Watkins teaches retrieving the offer messages from memory based on the offer request (i.e. the supplier information and the one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers).), and
“controlling the communication interface to output the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications to the third-party server” (Fig. 2 and ¶79 shows “In line 214, after querying engines 112, POIP 110 sends matching offers and/or rewards to wallet system 104 or EDS 114 via an offer response. The offer response may include offer details or data elements, which include information regarding one or more offers (e.g., a merchant code, an expiration date, an offer code, or the like).” Fig. 2 and ¶80 shows “In line 216, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers via a wallet system 104 [(i.e. third-party server)] user interface. In line 218, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers or rewards directly from their UE 102, or similarly, a consumer may view and/or consume the offers or rewards via messaging EDS 114 (e.g., as shown in line 202).” (Emphasis added). Thus, Watkins teaches outputting the offers (i.e. portion of the plurality of digital notifications.).),
“wherein the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications notify a second user, during a second [offer] selection process just prior to a second checkout process of the third-party server of [a second offer]” (Fig. 2 and ¶80 shows “In line 216, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers via a wallet system 104 [(i.e. third-party server)] user interface. In line 218, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers or rewards directly from their UE 102, or similarly, a consumer may view and/or consume the offers or rewards via messaging EDS 114 (e.g., as shown in line 202).” ¶¶28-29 shows “[0028] In some embodiments, a payment platform or wallet system (e.g. MasterPass®, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, PayPal®, etc.) may communicate payload information including transaction details, location details, and/or consumer preferences in an offer request across a packet-based network. The offer request may be received at the POIP when a subscribed consumer is conducting a payment transaction for one or more goods or services at a point of sale (POS). . . [0029] Electronically correlating offers to transaction details, and electronically integrating the correlated offers as described herein advantageously obviates the need for performing manual processes (e.g., manual searches for offers, rewards, coupons, etc.) prior to purchasing a good or service. . .” Therefore, ¶¶28-29 teaches that the offers are presented to be selected prior to completing the purchase. Although ¶75 and ¶92 shows that the offers are “card-linked,” Watkins does not explicitly state that the notification includes this card-specific distinction.).
Watkins does not explicitly teach, but Collins teaches:
“wherein the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications notify a second user, during a second remuneration vehicle selection process just prior to a second checkout process of the third-party server of a difference between the second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and second other remuneration vehicles that are distinct from the second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various payment options.” Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that some of the payment methods (i.e. remuneration vehicles) are linked with financial offers displayed in “interactive graphic element . . . 311” and other payment methods are not linked with such offers. Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 further shows that payment methods with associated offers can be denoted as “platinum/executive card” in “product name 321.” Additionally, Fig. 4 and C21L58-C22L35 shows that an “[awareness banner] 420” may be displayed that communicates which of the user’s credit cards are eligible for a financial offer. Thus, Collins teaches a digital notification that communicates the distinct differences between remuneration vehicles of the plurality of remuneration vehicles. Fig. 3 shows:
A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the “payment now” element 316 teaches “a checkout process.” See also C23L03-18 showing execution of the transaction (i.e. checkout process) after selecting payment method (i.e. remuneration vehicle selection process).),
“wherein the second remuneration vehicle selection process displays a third digital notification of the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications with only a corresponding third remuneration vehicle of the second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various [(i.e. multiple)] payment options.” Fig. 3 shows:
As discussed above, Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that the installment options are associated with a certain payment method, e.g. credit card. Thus, Collins teaches the “first digital notification” (e.g. installment option) is displayed “with only a corresponding first remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles.”), and
“wherein the second remuneration vehicle selection process displays a fourth digital notification of the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications with only a corresponding fourth remuneration vehicle of the second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various payment options.” Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various [(i.e. multiple)] payment options.” Fig. 3 shows:
As discussed above, Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that the installment options are associated with a certain payment method, e.g. credit card. Thus, Collins teaches the “second digital notification” (e.g. installment option) is displayed “with only a corresponding second remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Collins with Watkins because Watkins teaches that the offers are presented as part of completing a transaction (¶37 and ¶96) and Collins teaches that displaying the unique benefits of each card at checkout enables users to select the preferred card and adjoining benefit (C01L13-C02L07). Thus, combining Collins with Watkins furthers the interest taught in Collins, and therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 10, Watkins and Collins discloses “The method of claim 9,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches “wherein the plurality of digital notifications is associated with a first supplier and one or more locations of the first supplier, and wherein the second plurality of digital notifications is associated with a second supplier and one or more locations of the second supplier” (¶10 shows that POIP is “configured to generate rewards and/or offers for a plurality of different merchants or agents.” (Emphasis added). The “plurality of different merchants” of ¶10 teaches a first and second supplier. ¶72 shows that to offers may be merchant and location specific. See also Fig. 2 and ¶¶74-77 showing that the offer request includes location details, and the “engines 112” include location information for determining the offer.).
Regarding Claim 11, Watkins and Collins discloses “The method of claim 8,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches “wherein the electronic processor is further configured to”
“controlling the communication interface to receive an enrollment request by a vehicle holder device to enroll in a vehicle-linked notification service” (¶26 shows “consumers may subscribe or ‘opt-in’ [(i.e. enroll)] to receive communications from the POIP or another device/system, which may interact with the POIP, so that offers received therefrom, conform to preferences and interests set by a respective consumer.” Fig. 1 and ¶63 shows “OCIE 124 is configured to store . . . user preferences in storage 126.” Fig. 1-2 and ¶72 shows “Referring to FIG. 2, a consumer, utilizing UE 102 or EDS 114 [(i.e. vehicle holder device)], may enroll in a service offered [(i.e. vehicle-linked notification service)] by a wallet system 104 (e.g., MasterPass™′ MDES™, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, AndroidPay®, PayPal®, or the like), which may be accessed via a website, a mobile application and/or any user interface programmed to do so. A consumer may utilize UE 102 or EDS 114 to enroll in a wallet system 104 at a payment platform, to set consumer, offer, reward, or location-based preferences or the like, as indicated by the series of messages denoted by lines 202 [(i.e. enrollment request)].” (Emphasis added). ¶76 shows “In some embodiments, wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114 may also send consumer preferences (e.g., user preferences) to POIP 110 for optional storage at POIP 110.”),
“controlling the memory to store a first remuneration vehicle associated with the vehicle holder device in the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (¶46 and ¶83 shows “card information” is a part of consumer preference profile. Fig. 1 and ¶63 shows “OCIE 124 is configured to store . . . user preferences in storage 126.” Fig. 3A and ¶83 shows “The consumer may input payment card information [(i.e. first remuneration vehicle associated with the vehicle holder device)], which may optionally be stored as tokenized payment information at wallet system 104.” ¶76 shows “In some embodiments, wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114 may also send consumer preferences (e.g., user preferences) to POIP 110 for optional storage at POIP 110.”), and
“controlling the communication interface to send an enrollment confirmation that confirms enrollment of the first remuneration vehicle in the vehicle-linked notification service” (¶81-82 shows that Fig. 3A-3B includes “process flow 300,” which is a more detailed version of Fig. 2. Fig. 3A and ¶83 shows that the “sign-up, enroll, or otherwise ‘opt-in’” process is performed at Lines 302 or 304. Fig. 3A shows data flow back to the “card holder” at Lines 302 or 304 (Examiner notes that not all flow arrows are bi-directional). Therefore, the back arrow of Lines 302 or 304 on Fig. 3A teaches an enrollment confirmation. See also ¶72 showing that the customer sets their preferences via “a website, a mobile application and/or any user interface programmed to do so.” Alternatively, the receipt of the notifications of the offers shown in ¶¶83-84 teaches an enrolment confirmation under the broadest reasonable interpretation.).
Regarding Claim 12, Watkins and Collins discloses “The method of claim 11,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches that “wherein the enrollment request is received from the third-party server, and wherein the enrollment confirmation is sent to the third-party server” (Fig. 1-2 and ¶72 shows “Referring to FIG. 2, a consumer, utilizing UE 102 or EDS 114, may enroll in a service offered by a wallet system 104 (e.g., MasterPass™′ MDES™, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, AndroidPay®, PayPal®, or the like), which may be accessed via a website, a mobile application and/or any user interface programmed to do so [(i.e. third party server)]. A consumer may utilize UE 102 or EDS 114 to enroll in a wallet system 104 at a payment platform, to set consumer, offer, reward, or location-based preferences or the like, as indicated by the series of messages denoted by lines 202.” (Emphasis added). Therefore, Watkins teaches that the enrollment communication occurs via third party server.).
Regarding Claim 13, Watkins and Collins discloses “The method of claim 11,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches that “wherein the enrollment request is received from the vehicle holder device, and wherein the enrollment confirmation is sent to the vehicle holder device” (Fig. 1-2 and ¶72 shows “Referring to FIG. 2, a consumer, utilizing UE 102 or EDS 114 [(i.e. vehicle holder device)], may enroll in a service offered by a wallet system 104 (e.g., MasterPass™′ MDES™, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, AndroidPay®, PayPal®, or the like), which may be accessed via a website, a mobile application and/or any user interface programmed to do so [(i.e. third party server)]. A consumer may utilize UE 102 or EDS 114 to enroll in a wallet system 104 at a payment platform, to set consumer, offer, reward, or location-based preferences or the like, as indicated by the series of messages denoted by lines 202.” (Emphasis added). Therefore, Watkins teaches that the enrollment communication occurs via vehicle holder device.).
Regarding Claim 14, Watkins and Collins discloses “The method of claim 11,” as shown above.
Watkins does not explicitly teach, but Collins further teaches that “wherein the interaction differences between the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and the other remuneration vehicles that are distinct from the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles are personalized offers that are payment options.” Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that some of the payment methods (i.e. remuneration vehicles) are linked with financial offers displayed in “interactive graphic element . . . 311” and other payment methods are not linked with such offers. Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 further shows that payment methods with associated offers can be denoted as “platinum/executive card” in “product name 321.” Additionally, Fig. 4 and C21L58-C22L35 shows that an “[awareness banner] 420” may be displayed that communicates which of the user’s credit cards are eligible for a financial offer. Fig. 3 shows “payment now 316” on checkout page “300.” Thus, Collins teaches a personalized offer presented to the user during a remuneration vehicle selection process just prior payment (i.e. checkout) process.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Collins with Watkins because Watkins teaches that the offers are presented as part of completing a transaction (¶37 and ¶96) and Collins teaches that displaying the unique benefits of each card at checkout enables users to select the preferred card and adjoining benefit (C01L13-C02L07). Thus, combining Collins with Watkins furthers the interest taught in Collins, and therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 15, Watkins teaches “A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by an electronic processor, cause the electronic processor to perform a set of operations” (Fig. 1 and ¶59 shows “POIP 110 includes a processor 120, memory 122, an offer correlating & integrating engine (OCIE) 124, and storage 126.” Fig. 1 and ¶62 shows “OCIE [(offer correlating & integrating engine)] 124 is executed by processor 120 and stored in memory 122.” See also ¶¶14-15 showing hardware and software configurations.) comprising
“controlling a communication interface of a server to receive supplier information and a plurality of digital notifications from a supplier interface device, each of the plurality of digital notifications linked to one or more remuneration vehicles of a plurality of remuneration vehicles and the supplier information” (Fig. 1 and ¶59 shows “POIP 110 includes a processor 120, memory 122, an offer correlating & integrating engine (OCIE) 124, and storage 126.” Fig. 1 and ¶¶38-39 shows “each individual entity (e.g., 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114)” is configured to communicate with each other vial “Network N.” Fig 1 and ¶¶44-45 shows “merchant 108” and “merchants or agents 128” (i.e. supplier interface device). Fig. 2 and ¶75 shows “In line 208, merchants or agents 128 create or generate offers and inject the offers [(i.e. digital notifications)] into one or more offer engines or reward platforms. For example, merchants 108 or agents 128 may create [(i.e. from the supplier interface device)] offers and electronically inject the offers into one or more engines 112, which may comprise one or more offers platform(s) 112A, card-linked offers platform(s) 112B, and/or rewards system(s) 112C. Engines 112 may be platforms including a database, data table, cache, or other storage element containing offer or reward details. Offer or Reward details may include any type of information associated with an offer or reward, including but not limited to rebate information or rebate codes, promo codes, a merchant identifier, a customer (consumer) identifier, an offer code, an expiration date associated with the offer, offer qualifying details, a discount amount or percent, redeemable loyalty points, credits, location information, or the like.” (Emphasis added). ¶44 shows “engines 112 are configured to generate rewards for a plurality of different merchants or agents. POIP 110 may retrieve and integrate multiple offers from multiple, different engines 112, and present the offers to the consumer via UE 102 at the POS.” Thus, Watkins teaches a plurality of offers (i.e. digital notifications) received from the supplier. See also ¶72 and ¶¶80-81 showing that offers are digital messages (i.e. digital notifications).);
“controlling a memory of the server to store the supplier information and the plurality of digital notifications, the supplier information being associated with the plurality of digital notifications” (Fig. 1 and ¶59 shows “POIP 110 includes a processor 120, memory 122, an offer correlating & integrating engine (OCIE) 124, and storage 126.” Fig. 2 and ¶75 shows Engines 112 may be platforms including a database, data table, cache, or other storage element containing offer or reward details. Offer or Reward details may include any type of information associated with an offer or reward, including but not limited to rebate information or rebate codes, promo codes, a merchant identifier, a customer (consumer) identifier, an offer code, an expiration date associated with the offer, offer qualifying details, a discount amount or percent, redeemable loyalty points, credits, location information, or the like.” (Emphasis added). See also Fig. 1 and ¶44 showing that offers are stored on “engines 112.”);
“controlling the communication interface to receive a request for the plurality of digital notifications from a third-party server, the request including the supplier information and one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers that identify a portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 1 and ¶¶38-39 shows “each individual entity (e.g., 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114)” is configured to communicate with each other vial “Network N.” Fig. 1 and ¶46 shows “wallet system 104” (i.e. third-party server). Fig. 2 and ¶76 shows “In line 210, wallet system 104 or other EDS 114 [(i.e. third-party server)] may send an offer request [(i.e. request for the plurality of digital notifications)] to POIP 110 [(i.e. the server)] in response to any combination of events, which may be a consumer initiating a purchase transaction via UE 102, a consumer reviewing offers nearby via EDS 114, or a consumer initiating a payment via wallet 104. The offer request may be generated at a POS, when a consumer is conducting a payment transaction for purchasing at least one good or service or when initiating any request providing geographic-based location details. The offer request may include metadata ascribed to transaction details [(i.e. supplier information)], metadata ascribed to location details, and/or metadata ascribed to consumer preferences [(i.e. one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers)], where the metadata is indicative of and/or associated with SKU-details (SKU-data), a location, or other information regarding each item purchased, the time and/or location of the purchase, the day of the purchase, etc. In some embodiments, wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114 may also send consumer preferences (e.g., user preferences) to POIP 110 for optional storage at POIP 110.” (Emphasis added). ¶78 shows that a plurality of messages can be sent in response to the offer request. ¶46 and ¶83 shows “card information” is a part of consumer preference profile. ¶30 shows that “transaction details” includes “any unique code that is associated with a given item (good) and/or a given merchant.” (Emphasis added).);
“controlling the memory to retrieve a portion of the plurality of digital notifications from the memory based on the supplier information and the one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers” (Fig. 2 and ¶77 shows “In line 212, POIP 110 queries one or more engines 112 using a set of criteria that is determined using the metadata received from wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114.” Fig. 2 and ¶79 shows “In line 214, after querying engines 112, POIP 110 sends matching offers and/or rewards to wallet system 104 or EDS 114 via an offer response. The offer response may include offer details or data elements, which include information regarding one or more offers (e.g., a merchant code, an expiration date, an offer code, or the like).” Thus, Watkins teaches retrieving the offer messages from memory based on the offer request (i.e. the supplier information and the one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers).); and
“controlling the communication interface to output the portion of the plurality of digital notifications to the third-party server” (Fig. 2 and ¶79 shows “In line 214, after querying engines 112, POIP 110 sends matching offers and/or rewards to wallet system 104 or EDS 114 via an offer response. The offer response may include offer details or data elements, which include information regarding one or more offers (e.g., a merchant code, an expiration date, an offer code, or the like).” Fig. 2 and ¶80 shows “In line 216, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers via a wallet system 104 [(i.e. third-party server)] user interface. In line 218, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers or rewards directly from their UE 102, or similarly, a consumer may view and/or consume the offers or rewards via messaging EDS 114 (e.g., as shown in line 202).” (Emphasis added). Thus, Watkins teaches outputting the offers (i.e. portion of the plurality of digital notifications.).),
“wherein the portion of the plurality of digital notifications notify a user, during [an offer] selection process just prior to a checkout process of the third-party server of [an offer]” (Fig. 2 and ¶80 shows “In line 216, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers via a wallet system 104 [(i.e. third-party server)] user interface. In line 218, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers or rewards directly from their UE 102, or similarly, a consumer may view and/or consume the offers or rewards via messaging EDS 114 (e.g., as shown in line 202).” ¶¶28-29 shows “[0028] In some embodiments, a payment platform or wallet system (e.g. MasterPass®, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, PayPal®, etc.) may communicate payload information including transaction details, location details, and/or consumer preferences in an offer request across a packet-based network. The offer request may be received at the POIP when a subscribed consumer is conducting a payment transaction for one or more goods or services at a point of sale (POS). . . [0029] Electronically correlating offers to transaction details, and electronically integrating the correlated offers as described herein advantageously obviates the need for performing manual processes (e.g., manual searches for offers, rewards, coupons, etc.) prior to purchasing a good or service. . .” Therefore, ¶¶28-29 teaches that the offers are presented to be selected prior to completing the purchase. Although ¶75 and ¶92 shows that the offers are “card-linked,” Watkins does not explicitly state that the notification includes this card-specific distinction.).
Watkins does not explicitly teach, but Collins teaches:
“wherein the portion of the plurality of digital notifications notify a user, during a remuneration vehicle selection process just prior to a checkout process of the third-party server of a difference between the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and other remuneration vehicles that are distinct from the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various payment options.” Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that some of the payment methods (i.e. remuneration vehicles) are linked with financial offers displayed in “interactive graphic element . . . 311” and other payment methods are not linked with such offers. Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 further shows that payment methods with associated offers can be denoted as “platinum/executive card” in “product name 321.” Additionally, Fig. 4 and C21L58-C22L35 shows that an “[awareness banner] 420” may be displayed that communicates which of the user’s credit cards are eligible for a financial offer. Thus, Collins teaches a digital notification that communicates the distinct differences between remuneration vehicles of the plurality of remuneration vehicles. Fig. 3 shows:
A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the “payment now” element 316 teaches “a checkout process.” See also C23L03-18 showing execution of the transaction (i.e. checkout process) after selecting payment method (i.e. remuneration vehicle selection process).),
“wherein the remuneration vehicle selection process displays a first digital notification of the portion of the plurality of digital notifications with only a corresponding first remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various [(i.e. multiple)] payment options.” Fig. 3 shows:
As discussed above, Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that the installment options are associated with a certain payment method, e.g. credit card. Thus, Collins teaches the “first digital notification” (e.g. installment option) is displayed “with only a corresponding first remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles.”), and
“wherein the remuneration vehicle selection process displays a second digital notification of the portion of the plurality of digital notifications with only a corresponding second remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various payment options.” Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various [(i.e. multiple)] payment options.” Fig. 3 shows:
As discussed above, Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that the installment options are associated with a certain payment method, e.g. credit card. Thus, Collins teaches the “second digital notification” (e.g. installment option) is displayed “with only a corresponding second remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Collins with Watkins because Watkins teaches that the offers are presented as part of completing a transaction (¶37 and ¶96) and Collins teaches that displaying the unique benefits of each card at checkout enables users to select the preferred card and adjoining benefit (C01L13-C02L07). Thus, combining Collins with Watkins furthers the interest taught in Collins, and therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 16, Watkins and Collins discloses “The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches “wherein the set of operations further includes”
“receiving second supplier information and a second plurality of digital notifications from a second supplier interface device, each of the second plurality of digital notifications linked to a second one or more remuneration vehicles of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and the second supplier information” (Fig. 1 and ¶¶38-39 shows “each individual entity (e.g., 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114)” is configured to communicate with each other vial “Network N.” Fig 1 and ¶¶44-45 shows “merchant 108” and “merchants or agents 128” (i.e. supplier interface device). ¶10 shows that POIP is “configured to generate rewards and/or offers for a plurality of different merchants or agents.” (Emphasis added). The “plurality of different merchants” of ¶10 teaches a first and second supplier. Fig. 2 and ¶75 shows “In line 208, merchants or agents 128 create or generate offers and inject the offers [(i.e. digital notifications)] into one or more offer engines or reward platforms. For example, merchants 108 or agents 128 may create [(i.e. from the supplier interface device)] offers and electronically inject the offers into one or more engines 112, which may comprise one or more offers platform(s) 112A, card-linked offers platform(s) 112B, and/or rewards system(s) 112C. Engines 112 may be platforms including a database, data table, cache, or other storage element containing offer or reward details. Offer or Reward details may include any type of information associated with an offer or reward, including but not limited to rebate information or rebate codes, promo codes, a merchant identifier, a customer (consumer) identifier, an offer code, an expiration date associated with the offer, offer qualifying details, a discount amount or percent, redeemable loyalty points, credits, location information, or the like.” (Emphasis added). ¶44 shows “engines 112 are configured to generate rewards for a plurality of different merchants or agents. POIP 110 may retrieve and integrate multiple offers from multiple, different engines 112, and present the offers to the consumer via UE 102 at the POS.” Thus, Watkins teaches a plurality of offers (i.e. digital notifications) received from the supplier. See also ¶72 and ¶¶80-81 showing that offers are digital messages (i.e. digital notifications).),
“storing the second supplier information and the second plurality of digital notifications in the memory, the second supplier information being associated with the second plurality of digital notifications” (Fig. 2 and ¶75 shows Engines 112 may be platforms including a database, data table, cache, or other storage element containing offer or reward details. Offer or Reward details may include any type of information associated with an offer or reward, including but not limited to rebate information or rebate codes, promo codes, a merchant identifier, a customer (consumer) identifier, an offer code, an expiration date associated with the offer, offer qualifying details, a discount amount or percent, redeemable loyalty points, credits, location information, or the like.” (Emphasis added). See also Fig. 1 and ¶44 showing that offers are stored on “engines 112.”),
“receiving a second request for the second plurality of digital notifications from the third- party server, the second request including the second supplier information and a second one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers that identify a second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 2 and ¶76 shows “In line 210, wallet system 104 or other EDS 114 [(i.e. third-party server)] may send an offer request [(i.e. request for the plurality of digital notifications)] to POIP 110 [(i.e. the server)] in response to any combination of events, which may be a consumer initiating a purchase transaction via UE 102, a consumer reviewing offers nearby via EDS 114, or a consumer initiating a payment via wallet 104. The offer request may be generated at a POS, when a consumer is conducting a payment transaction for purchasing at least one good or service or when initiating any request providing geographic-based location details. The offer request may include metadata ascribed to transaction details [(i.e. supplier information)], metadata ascribed to location details, and/or metadata ascribed to consumer preferences [(i.e. one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers)], where the metadata is indicative of and/or associated with SKU-details (SKU-data), a location, or other information regarding each item purchased, the time and/or location of the purchase, the day of the purchase, etc. In some embodiments, wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114 may also send consumer preferences (e.g., user preferences) to POIP 110 for optional storage at POIP 110.” (Emphasis added). ¶78 shows that a plurality of messages can be sent in response to the offer request. ¶46 and ¶83 shows “card information” is a part of consumer preference profile. ¶30 shows that “transaction details” includes “any unique code that is associated with a given item (good) and/or a given merchant.” (Emphasis added).),
“retrieving a portion of the second plurality of digital notifications from the memory based on the second supplier information and the second one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers” (Fig. 2 and ¶77 shows “In line 212, POIP 110 queries one or more engines 112 using a set of criteria that is determined using the metadata received from wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114.” Fig. 2 and ¶79 shows “In line 214, after querying engines 112, POIP 110 sends matching offers and/or rewards to wallet system 104 or EDS 114 via an offer response. The offer response may include offer details or data elements, which include information regarding one or more offers (e.g., a merchant code, an expiration date, an offer code, or the like).” Thus, Watkins teaches retrieving the offer messages from memory based on the offer request (i.e. the supplier information and the one or more remuneration vehicle identifiers).), and
“outputting the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications to the third-party server” (Fig. 2 and ¶79 shows “In line 214, after querying engines 112, POIP 110 sends matching offers and/or rewards to wallet system 104 or EDS 114 via an offer response. The offer response may include offer details or data elements, which include information regarding one or more offers (e.g., a merchant code, an expiration date, an offer code, or the like).” Fig. 2 and ¶80 shows “In line 216, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers via a wallet system 104 [(i.e. third-party server)] user interface. In line 218, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers or rewards directly from their UE 102, or similarly, a consumer may view and/or consume the offers or rewards via messaging EDS 114 (e.g., as shown in line 202).” (Emphasis added). Thus, Watkins teaches outputting the offers (i.e. portion of the plurality of digital notifications.).),
“wherein the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications notify a second user, during a second [offer] selection process just prior to a second checkout process of the third-party server of [a second offer]” (Fig. 2 and ¶80 shows “In line 216, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers via a wallet system 104 [(i.e. third-party server)] user interface. In line 218, a consumer views and/or consumes the offers or rewards directly from their UE 102, or similarly, a consumer may view and/or consume the offers or rewards via messaging EDS 114 (e.g., as shown in line 202).” ¶¶28-29 shows “[0028] In some embodiments, a payment platform or wallet system (e.g. MasterPass®, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, PayPal®, etc.) may communicate payload information including transaction details, location details, and/or consumer preferences in an offer request across a packet-based network. The offer request may be received at the POIP when a subscribed consumer is conducting a payment transaction for one or more goods or services at a point of sale (POS). . . [0029] Electronically correlating offers to transaction details, and electronically integrating the correlated offers as described herein advantageously obviates the need for performing manual processes (e.g., manual searches for offers, rewards, coupons, etc.) prior to purchasing a good or service. . .” Therefore, ¶¶28-29 teaches that the offers are presented to be selected prior to completing the purchase. Although ¶75 and ¶92 shows that the offers are “card-linked,” Watkins does not explicitly state that the notification includes this card-specific distinction.).
Watkins does not explicitly teach, but Collins teaches:
“wherein the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications notify a second user, during a second remuneration vehicle selection process just prior to a second checkout process a second user of the third-party server of a difference between the second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles and second other remuneration vehicles that are distinct from the second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various payment options.” Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that some of the payment methods (i.e. remuneration vehicles) are linked with financial offers displayed in “interactive graphic element . . . 311” and other payment methods are not linked with such offers. Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 further shows that payment methods with associated offers can be denoted as “platinum/executive card” in “product name 321.” Additionally, Fig. 4 and C21L58-C22L35 shows that an “[awareness banner] 420” may be displayed that communicates which of the user’s credit cards are eligible for a financial offer. Thus, Collins teaches a digital notification that communicates the distinct differences between remuneration vehicles of the plurality of remuneration vehicles. Fig. 3 shows:
A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the “payment now” element 316 teaches “a checkout process.” See also C23L03-18 showing execution of the transaction (i.e. checkout process) after selecting payment method (i.e. remuneration vehicle selection process).),
“wherein the second remuneration vehicle selection process displays a third digital notification of the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications with only a corresponding third remuneration vehicle of the second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various [(i.e. multiple)] payment options.” Fig. 3 shows:
As discussed above, Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that the installment options are associated with a certain payment method, e.g. credit card. Thus, Collins teaches the “first digital notification” (e.g. installment option) is displayed “with only a corresponding first remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles.”), and
“wherein the second remuneration vehicle selection process displays a fourth digital notification of the portion of the second plurality of digital notifications with only a corresponding fourth remuneration vehicle of the second portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various payment options.” Fig. 3 and C20L38-39 shows “The checkout page 300 may include the graphical element 306 presenting the user various [(i.e. multiple)] payment options.” Fig. 3 shows:
As discussed above, Fig. 3 and C20L34-64 shows that the installment options are associated with a certain payment method, e.g. credit card. Thus, Collins teaches the “second digital notification” (e.g. installment option) is displayed “with only a corresponding second remuneration vehicle of the portion of the plurality of remuneration vehicles.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Collins with Watkins because Watkins teaches that the offers are presented as part of completing a transaction (¶37 and ¶96) and Collins teaches that displaying the unique benefits of each card at checkout enables users to select the preferred card and adjoining benefit (C01L13-C02L07). Thus, combining Collins with Watkins furthers the interest taught in Collins, and therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 17, Watkins and Collins discloses “The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches “wherein the plurality of digital notifications is associated with a first supplier and one or more locations of the first supplier, and wherein the second plurality of digital notifications is associated with a second supplier and one or more locations of the second supplier” (¶10 shows that POIP is “configured to generate rewards and/or offers for a plurality of different merchants or agents.” (Emphasis added). The “plurality of different merchants” of ¶10 teaches a first and second supplier. ¶72 shows that to offers may be merchant and location specific. See also Fig. 2 and ¶¶74-77 showing that the offer request includes location details, and the “engines 112” include location information for determining the offer.).
Regarding Claim 18, Watkins and Collins discloses “The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches “wherein the set of operations further includes”
“receiving an enrollment request by a vehicle holder device to enroll in a vehicle-linked notification service” (¶26 shows “consumers may subscribe or ‘opt-in’ [(i.e. enroll)] to receive communications from the POIP or another device/system, which may interact with the POIP, so that offers received therefrom, conform to preferences and interests set by a respective consumer.” Fig. 1 and ¶63 shows “OCIE 124 is configured to store . . . user preferences in storage 126.” Fig. 1-2 and ¶72 shows “Referring to FIG. 2, a consumer, utilizing UE 102 or EDS 114 [(i.e. vehicle holder device)], may enroll in a service offered [(i.e. vehicle-linked notification service)] by a wallet system 104 (e.g., MasterPass™′ MDES™, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, AndroidPay®, PayPal®, or the like), which may be accessed via a website, a mobile application and/or any user interface programmed to do so. A consumer may utilize UE 102 or EDS 114 to enroll in a wallet system 104 at a payment platform, to set consumer, offer, reward, or location-based preferences or the like, as indicated by the series of messages denoted by lines 202 [(i.e. enrollment request)].” (Emphasis added). ¶76 shows “In some embodiments, wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114 may also send consumer preferences (e.g., user preferences) to POIP 110 for optional storage at POIP 110.”),
“storing a first remuneration vehicle associated with the vehicle holder device in the plurality of remuneration vehicles” (¶46 and ¶83 shows “card information” is a part of consumer preference profile. Fig. 1 and ¶63 shows “OCIE 124 is configured to store . . . user preferences in storage 126.” Fig. 3A and ¶83 shows “The consumer may input payment card information [(i.e. first remuneration vehicle associated with the vehicle holder device)], which may optionally be stored as tokenized payment information at wallet system 104.” ¶76 shows “In some embodiments, wallet system 104, UE 102, or EDS 114 may also send consumer preferences (e.g., user preferences) to POIP 110 for optional storage at POIP 110.”), and
“sending an enrollment confirmation that confirms enrollment of the first remuneration vehicle in the vehicle-linked notification service” (¶81-82 shows that Fig. 3A-3B includes “process flow 300,” which is a more detailed version of Fig. 2. Fig. 3A and ¶83 shows that the “sign-up, enroll, or otherwise ‘opt-in’” process is performed at Lines 302 or 304. Fig. 3A shows data flow back to the “card holder” at Lines 302 or 304 (Examiner notes that not all flow arrows are bi-directional). Therefore, the back arrow of Lines 302 or 304 on Fig. 3A teaches an enrollment confirmation. See also ¶72 showing that the customer sets their preferences via “a website, a mobile application and/or any user interface programmed to do so.” Alternatively, the receipt of the notifications of the offers shown in ¶¶83-84 teaches an enrolment confirmation under the broadest reasonable interpretation.).
Regarding Claim 19, Watkins and Collins discloses “The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches that “wherein the enrollment request is received from the third-party server, and wherein the enrollment confirmation is sent to the third-party server” (Fig. 1-2 and ¶72 shows “Referring to FIG. 2, a consumer, utilizing UE 102 or EDS 114, may enroll in a service offered by a wallet system 104 (e.g., MasterPass™′ MDES™, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, AndroidPay®, PayPal®, or the like), which may be accessed via a website, a mobile application and/or any user interface programmed to do so [(i.e. third party server)]. A consumer may utilize UE 102 or EDS 114 to enroll in a wallet system 104 at a payment platform, to set consumer, offer, reward, or location-based preferences or the like, as indicated by the series of messages denoted by lines 202.” (Emphasis added). Therefore, Watkins teaches that the enrollment communication occurs via third party server.).
Regarding Claim 20, Watkins and Collins discloses “The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18,” as shown above.
Watkins further teaches that “wherein the enrollment request is received from the vehicle holder device, and wherein the enrollment confirmation is sent to the vehicle holder device” (Fig. 1-2 and ¶72 shows “Referring to FIG. 2, a consumer, utilizing UE 102 or EDS 114 [(i.e. vehicle holder device)], may enroll in a service offered by a wallet system 104 (e.g., MasterPass™′ MDES™, ApplePay®, SamsungPay®, AndroidPay®, PayPal®, or the like), which may be accessed via a website, a mobile application and/or any user interface programmed to do so [(i.e. third party server)]. A consumer may utilize UE 102 or EDS 114 to enroll in a wallet system 104 at a payment platform, to set consumer, offer, reward, or location-based preferences or the like, as indicated by the series of messages denoted by lines 202.” (Emphasis added). Therefore, Watkins teaches that the enrollment communication occurs via vehicle holder device.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is as follows:
US-20170032338-A1 (“Szollar”) shows displaying multiple credit cards, each with different rewards, some of which are linked to the merchant, before proceeding to checkout.
US-20170116635-A1 (“Gantert”) shows displaying multiple payment formats, each with an attribute package that is linked to the payment method.
US-20180108031-A1 (“Jones”) shows displaying multiple digital credit cards, each with their rewards balances, so that a user can select the card that achieves a rewards goal in the subsequent purchase process.
US-20150012425-A1 (“Mathew”) shows that credit card rewards can be merchant specific.
“15 Best Checkout Page Examples” (“Nixon” 01/05/2023, https://www.websitebuilderexpert.com/designing-websites/checkout-page-examples/) shows the advantage of multi-page checkout process and provides example user interfaces.
“Checkout page examples and best practices” (“Sampalo,” 08/15/2022, https://web.archive.org/web/20230205002805/https://outvio.com/blog/checkout-page/) shows the advantages of offering multiple payment methods and using a multi-page check out process.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW PARKER GOODMAN whose telephone number is (571) 272-5698. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 9:30 AM ET to 6:00 PM ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Zimmerman, can be reached at telephone number (571) 272-4602. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/MATTHEW PARKER GOODMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/JEFF ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3628