DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The examiner notes that the ADS in the current application only claims priority back to PCT/US12/46740 with a filing date of 2011-07-15 (the earliest filing date of the documents listed for domestic benefit) and therefore only has continuity to that application (among other later filed domestic benefit cases). However, if applicant wishes to have priority back to 2007 with the earliest filing date of the parent applications. The applicant needs to fix the ADS to reflect this priority. If applicant were not to correct this priority United States Application Publication No. 2009/0025399 would apply as a 102(b) to many of the claims, including the independent claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Application Publication No. 2005/0016828, hereinafter Bednarek in view of United States Patent No. 4,480,683, hereinafter Wollbeck.
Regarding claim 21, Bednarek teaches a fluid vapor distillation apparatus (figure 14A) comprising: an evaporator condenser (items 200 and 600) configured to receive a source fluid via a source fluid input and to transform the source fluid into a vapor (paragraph [0103]); a compressor (item 100) configured to compress the vapor into a compressed vapor (paragraphs [0061]-[0062]); and a heat exchanger (item 400) comprising a source fluid termination and a tube termination (figure 14A).
Bednarek fails to teach a leak path is defined between the source fluid termination and the tube termination to an outside of the heat exchanger whereby leaking fluid is directed out from the heat exchanger.
Wollbeck teaches a heat transfer device in which a bore in the house allows for leaking liquid to drain to the outside thereby short circuiting between the different liquid chambers of the housing will be prevented (Wollbeck, abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have added a leak path between the source fluid termination and the tube termination to an outside of the heat exchanger because it would prevent short circuiting between the different liquid chambers of the housing will be prevented (Wollbeck, abstract).
Regarding claim 32, Bednarek teaches a steam chest (item 55) that receives concentrate fluid and vapor and provides vapor to the compressor (paragraph [0103]).
Regarding claim 33, Bednarek teaches the evaporator condenser apparatus further comprises: a sump (paragraph [0106]); a plurality of tube(paragraph [0103]); and an outer shell (figure 15), the tubes being fluidly connected to the sump and the steam chest and defining the evaporator (figure 15), the condenser being defined by an exterior of the tubes and an inside surface of the outer shell (figure 15).
Claim 22 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bednarek and Wollbeck as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of United States Patent No. 5,154,051, hereinafter Mouritzen.
Regarding claim 22, Bednarek and Wollbeck teach all limitations of claim 21; however, they fail to teach the heat exchanger is wrapped in a spiral around the evaporator condenser apparatus.
Mouritzen teaches a heat exchanger which has spiral concentric tubes of a heat exchanger wrapped in a spiral arrangement as it would provide a compact heat exchanger design with long tube lengths (Mouritzen, abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the heat exchanger wrapped in a spiral around the evaporator condenser apparatus because it would provide a compact heat exchanger design with long tube lengths (Mouritzen, abstract).
Claims 23-25 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bednarek and Wollbeck as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of United States Patent No. 4,344,777, hereinafter Siposs.
Regarding claim 23, Bednarek and Wollbeck teach all limitations of claim 21; however, they fail to teach the tube termination includes barb fittings.
Siposs teaches a device for connecting tubes to inlets in which the inlet fitting has a barb to easily and securely receive a tube (Siposs, column 2, lines 66-68).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have added barb fittings to the tube termination because it would allow for the barb to easily and securely receive a tube (Siposs, column 2, lines 66-68).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, Bednarek and Wollbeck teach all limitations of claim 21; however, they fail to teach the source fluid termination includes at least a first part and a second part, wherein the first part and the second part are mechanically coupled to one another.
Siposs teaches a device for connecting tubes to inlets in which the inlet fitting has a barb to easily and securely receive a tube (Siposs, column 2, lines 66-68).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have added barb fittings (second part) to the tube termination (first part) because it would allow for the barb to easily and securely receive a tube (Siposs, column 2, lines 66-68).
Claims 26-31 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bednarek and Wollbeck as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of United States Patent No. 5,143,151, hereinafter Pain.
Regarding claims 26-31, Bednarek teaches the heat has a first end and a second end (figure 14A) and a product fluid output (item 41)
Bednarek is silent as to how the inner and outer tubes of the heat exchanger are connected to the rest of the system.
Pain provides this teaching for an end connector of a heat exchanger which has a connector (Pain, item 2) which is connected to and end of a heat exchanger (Pain, abstract) comprising: a first portion physically connected to the outer tube (Pain, figure 3), the first portion having a first port fluidly connected to the inside of the outer tube (Pain, figure 3) and a seal to the outer surface of the at least one inner tube (there are multiple seals which seal between each of the outer surfaces of the device); a second portion having a second port fluidly connected to the inside of the at least one inner tube port (Pain, figure 3) and a seal to the outer surface of the at least one inner tube (there are multiple seals which seal between each of the outer surfaces of the device).
Examiner further finds that the prior art included each element claimed (as set forth above), although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements within a single reference. Moreover, an ordinarily skilled artisan could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., utilizing the concentric heat exchanger connector of Pain), and that in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately (i.e., performing heat exchange and allowing for a connection to the heat exchanger), and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to combine the heat exchanger of reference Bednarek with the heat exchanger connector of reference Pain, since the result would have been predictable.
Claims 34 and 35 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bednarek and Wollbeck as applied to claim 33 above, and further in view of United States Application Publication No. 2005/0183832, hereinafter Owens.
Regarding claims 34 and 35, Bednarek and Wolbeck teach all limitations of claim 33; however, they fail to teach the evaporator condenser tubes comprising packing inside the tubes which is rod.
Owens teaches an apparatus for phase change enhancement which utilizes packing material in the evaporator condenser which is a rod (Owens, paragraph [0009]) for the purpose of having a benefit of a highly efficient device (Owens, paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have including a rod as a packing material inside of the evaporator condenser tubes because it would make the evaporator condenser highly efficient (Owens, paragraph [0036]).
Claims 36-40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bednarek and Wollbeck as applied to claim 33 above, and further in view of United States Patent No. 3,216,480, hereinafter Schilt
Regarding claims 36-40, Bednarek and Wollbeck teach all limitations of claim 33; however they fail to teach the evaporator condenser further comprising a tube sheet that separates the steam chest from the condenser and is sealed to the plurality of tubes; the evaporator condenser further comprising a compressed steam conduit that passes through the steam chest and the tube sheet to fluidly connect the compressor to the condenser; and where the compressed steam conduit passes into the condenser section and includes openings to distribute the compressed steam along the length of the condenser.
Schilt teaches the evaporator condenser further comprising a tube sheet that separates the steam chest from the condenser and is sealed to the plurality of tubes (Schilt, columns 1-2, lines 69-9); the evaporator condenser further comprising a compressed steam conduit that passes through the steam chest and the tube sheet to fluidly connect the compressor to the condenser (Schilt, columns 1-2, lines 69-9); and where the compressed steam conduit passes into the condenser section and includes openings to distribute the compressed steam along the length of the condenser (Schilt, columns 1-2, lines 69-9).
Examiner further finds that the prior art included each element claimed (as set forth above), although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements within a single reference. Moreover, an ordinarily skilled artisan could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., add a tube sheet with compressed steam conduit to the evaporator condenser of Bednarek), and that in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately (i.e., evaporating and condensing steam), and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to combine the evaporator condenser of reference Bednarek with the tube sheet with compressed steam conduit of reference Schilt, since the result would have been predictable.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-23 and 26-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,939,237 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim anticipates or renders obvious the examined claim.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796