DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2024 and 06/24/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 repeats the term “the” in line 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-5, 34, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2021/030946 A1 by You et al. (hereafter referred to as You).
Regarding claim 1, You teaches A method for performing re-allocation of a UE from an initial core network element to a target core network element in a communication network, performed by the initial core network element (see at least pg. 3; “Fig. 4 illustrates a flow diagram of an example environment of a 5G system with AMF re-allocation, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure.” Also see at least Fig. 4: “UE” “Initial AMF” “Target AMF”), the method comprising:
receiving, from a first network element, a first message comprising a list of candidate core network elements (see at least Fig. 4 step 13 and pg. 20 3rd paragraph; “In some embodiments, the NSSF 414 sends to the initial AMF 406 a response to Nnssf_NSSelection_Get. The Nnssf_NSSelection_Get includes AMF Set or list of AMF addresses”, wherein the “NSSF” is the first network element and wherein the “AMF Set or list of AMF addresses” is the list of candidate core network elements); and
transmitting, to a second network element, a second message comprising the target core network element selected from the list of candidate core network elements;
wherein each of the initial core network element and the target core network element comprises an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (see at least Fig. 4 step 14 and pg. 21 last two paragraphs: “the initial AMF 406 may send to the NRF 416 a Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request. The Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request may include an NF type, and/or an AMF Set. The NRF 416 replies with the list of potential target AMF (s) […] a target AMF 410 is selected by the initial AMF 406.”).
Regarding claim 2, You teaches the method of claim 1.
In addition, You teaches wherein before receiving the first message, the method further comprises: transmitting, to the first network element, a third message requesting the list of candidate core network elements, wherein the first message is a response to the third message (see at least Fig. 4 step 13 and pg. 20-21, wherein the list of candidate cells is sent with Get/Response signaling which corresponds to requesting the list of candidate core network elements and getting a response with the list of the candidate core network elements.).
Regarding claim 3, You teaches the method of claim 2.
In addition, You teaches wherein transmitting, to the first network element, the third message requesting the list of candidate core network elements comprises: in response to the initial core network element not supporting at least one of: a network slice subscribed by the UE or a network function subscribed by the UE, transmitting, to the first network element, the third message requesting the list of candidate core network elements, wherein the first message is a response to the third message (see at least pg. 20 last paragraph “e.g. the initial AMF 406 cannot serve all the S-NSSAI (s) from the Requested NSSAI permitted by the subscription information, the initial AMF 406 invokes the Nnssf_NSSelection_Get service operation” and at least Fig. 4 step 14 and pgs. 21-22 ).
Regarding claim 4, You teaches the method of claim 2.
In addition, You teaches wherein: the first message comprises a NnrfNFDiscoveryresponse message; and the third message comprises a NnrfNFDiscoveryrequest message (see at least Fig. 4; Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request/Response).
Regarding claim 5, You teaches the method of claim 1.
In addition, You teaches wherein:
the first network element comprises a Network Repository Function (NRF); and
the second network element comprises at least one of:
an NRF;
a Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF); or
an authentication server function (AUSF) (see at least Fig. 4; “NSSF,” “NRF,” “AUSF”).
Regarding claim 34, You teaches an initial core network element comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the computer instructions (see at least Fig. 2), the processor is configured to cause the initial core network element to:
receive, from a first network element, a first message comprising a list of candidate core network elements (see at least Fig. 4 step 13 and pg. 20 3rd paragraph; “In some embodiments, the NSSF 414 sends to the initial AMF 406 a response to Nnssf_NSSelection_Get. The Nnssf_NSSelection_Get includes AMF Set or list of AMF addresses”, wherein the “NSSF” is the first network element and wherein the “AMF Set or list of AMF addresses” is the list of candidate core network elements); and
transmit, to a second network element, a second message comprising a target core network element selected from the list of candidate core network elements;
wherein each of the initial core network element and the target core network element comprises an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (see at least Fig. 4 step 14 and pg. 21 last two paragraphs: “the initial AMF 406 may send to the NRF 416 a Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request. The Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request may include an NF type, and/or an AMF Set. The NRF 416 replies with the list of potential target AMF (s) […] a target AMF 410 is selected by the initial AMF 406.”), and wherein a UE is to be re-allocated from the initial core network element to the target core network element (see at least pg. 3; “Fig. 4 illustrates a flow diagram of an example environment of a 5G system with AMF re-allocation, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure.” Also see at least Fig. 4: “UE” “Initial AMF” “Target AMF”).
Regarding claim 35, You teaches a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable program medium with computer code stored thereupon, the computer code, when executed by one or more processors, causing the one or more processors to implement a method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 and 34 above).
7. Claim(s) 24, 27, 30, 31, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0053446 A1 (English Translation of WO 2020/221175 A1) by Deng et al. (hereafter referred to as Deng).
Regarding claim 24, Deng teaches a method for performing re-allocation of a UE from an initial core network element to a target core network element in a communication network, performed by the target core network element (see at least ¶ [0435]; “An initial AMF determines to initiate AMF reallocation. The initial AMF requests the target AMF,” wherein the “AMF reallocation” is the re-allocation of a UE from an initial core network element to a target core network element, wherein the “target AMF” is the target core network element in a communication network ), the method comprising:
receiving, from a first network element, a first message requesting a UE identifier for the UE (see at least ¶ [0437]; “The initial AMF requests the target AMF to assign a new 5G-GUTI to UE,” wherein the “initial AMF” is the first network element and wherein the “new 5G-GUTI to UE” is the UE identifier for the UE );
generating the UE identifier for the UE (see at least ¶ [0439]; “the target AMF assigns the new 5G-GUTI to the UE”); and
transmitting, to the first network element, a second message as a response to the first message, the second message comprising the UE identifier assigned by the target core network element, wherein the UE identifier comprises a 5G Global Unique Temporary Identifier (5G- GUTI) (see at least ¶ [0439]; “The target AMF sends a message that carries the new 5G-GUTI to the initial AMF.” ).
Regarding claim 27, Deng teaches the method of claim 24.
In addition, Deng teaches wherein: the first network element transmits the first message based on the target core network element carried in a third message received from the initial core network element; the third message is triggered by a first registration request initiated from the UE; and the second message triggers the first network element to transmit a fourth message comprising the UE identifier to the initial core network element (see at least ¶ [0004]; “During initial registration of the UE, the UE first initiates registration request that carries a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI). The registration request information carries only cleartext information element(s) (IE). After receiving the registration request that carries the SUCI, an initial AMF initiates primary authentication to generate an AMF key Kamf and a corresponding key set identifier ngKSI. The initial AMF activates and starts to use the Kamf generated during the primary authentication by using a non-access stratum (NAS) security mode control procedure. The UE also activates and uses the Kamf.”).
Regarding claim 30, Deng teaches the method of claim 27.
In addition, Deng teaches wherein: the fourth message triggers the initial core network element to transmit a fifth message comprising the UE identifier to the UE; and the fifth message triggers the UE to start a subsequent registration with the target core network element based on the UE identifier (see at least ¶ [0004]; “During initial registration of the UE, the UE first initiates registration request that carries a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI). The registration request information carries only cleartext information element(s) (IE). After receiving the registration request that carries the SUCI, an initial AMF initiates primary authentication to generate an AMF key Kamf and a corresponding key set identifier ngKSI. The initial AMF activates and starts to use the Kamf generated during the primary authentication by using a non-access stratum (NAS) security mode control procedure. The UE also activates and uses the Kamf.”).
Regarding claim 31, Deng teaches the method of claim 24.
In addition, Deng teaches further comprising: starting a timer associated with the UE identifier; and in response to no registration request from the UE being received after the time expires, releasing the UE identifier (see at least ¶ [0004]; “During initial registration of the UE, the UE first initiates registration request that carries a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI). The registration request information carries only cleartext information element(s) (IE). After receiving the registration request that carries the SUCI, an initial AMF initiates primary authentication to generate an AMF key Kamf and a corresponding key set identifier ngKSI. The initial AMF activates and starts to use the Kamf generated during the primary authentication by using a non-access stratum (NAS) security mode control procedure. The UE also activates and uses the Kamf.”).
Regarding claim 36, Deng teaches a device comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the computer instructions, the processor is configured to implement a method of claim 24 (see rejection of claim 24 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 7-9, 11, 13, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Deng.
Regarding claim 7, You teaches the method of claim 1.
You does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the second network element has direct accesses to both the initial core network element and the target core network element, and wherein the initial core network element does not have a direct access to the target core network element.
In the same field of endeavor, Deng teaches wherein the second network element has direct accesses to both the initial core network element and the target core network element, and wherein the initial core network element does not have a direct access to the target core network element (see at least ¶ [0004]; “The initial AMF sends the received registration request information to a target AMF that can serve the UE. When there is no direct connection between the initial AMF and the target AMF, the initial AMF sends the received registration request message that carries the SUCI to the target AMF via a (radio) access network ((R)AN).”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify You with Deng in order to a registration method.
Regarding claim 8, You teaches the method of claim 1.
You does not appear to specifically disclose wherein before receiving the first message, the method further comprises: receiving a first registration request message initiated from the UE, the first registration request message indicating a first registration request with the communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, Deng teaches wherein before receiving the first message, the method further comprises: receiving a first registration request message initiated from the UE, the first registration request message indicating a first registration request with the communication network (see at least Fig. 11 step 1103, Fig. 12 step 1209, Fig. 13 step 1307 and ¶ [0435], [0475]-[0476], [0501], [0514]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify You with Deng in order to a registration method.
Regarding claim 9, You in view of Deng teaches the method of claim 8.
In the obvious combination, Deng further teaches the method further comprising: receiving, from the second network element, a fourth message as a response to the second message, the fourth message comprising a UE identifier for the UE assigned by the target core network element, wherein the UE identifier comprises a 5G Global Unique Temporary Identifier (5G-GUTI) (see at least Fig. 11 and ¶ [0435]-[0450]; 5G-GUTI).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify You with Deng in order to a registration method.
Regarding claim 11, You in view of Deng teaches the method of claim 9.
In the obvious combination, Deng teaches the method further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, a fifth message indicating that the first registration request is accepted, the fifth message comprising the UE identifier, wherein the fifth message comprises a registration accept message (see at least ¶ [0474]-[0476]; registration accept message).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify You with Deng in order to a registration method.
Regarding claim 13, You in view of Deng teaches the method of claim 11.
In addition, Deng further teaches transmitting, to the UE, a sixth message triggering the UE to start a subsequent registration procedure with the target core network element based on the UE identifier, wherein the sixth message comprises one of:
a UE configuration update command; or
a de-registration request message (see at least ¶ [0474]-[0476]; de-registration procedure).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify You with Deng in order to a registration method.
Regarding claim 15, You in view of Deng teaches the method of claim 13.
In the obvious combination, Deng further teaches wherein the UE configuration update command or the de-registration request message carries a registration indicator (see at least ¶ [0432]-[0433]; information indicator).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify You with Deng in order to a registration method.
Regarding claim 16, You in view of Deng teaches the method of claim 13.
In addition, Deng further teaches wherein: the sixth message triggers the UE to transmit a second registration request message to an access network element of the communication network for registering with the target core network element, the second registration request message comprising an information element being indicative of the UE identifier, the UE identifier being indicative of the target core network element (see at least ¶ [0004]; “During initial registration of the UE, the UE first initiates registration request that carries a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI). The registration request information carries only cleartext information element(s) (IE). After receiving the registration request that carries the SUCI, an initial AMF initiates primary authentication to generate an AMF key Kamf and a corresponding key set identifier ngKSI. The initial AMF activates and starts to use the Kamf generated during the primary authentication by using a non-access stratum (NAS) security mode control procedure. The UE also activates and uses the Kamf.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify You with Deng in order to a registration method.
Regarding claim 17, You in view of Deng teaches the method of claim 16.
In the obvious combination, Deng further teaches in response to receiving the second registration request message: determining, by the access network element according to the UE identifier, the target core network element; and
forwarding, by the access network element, the second registration request message to the target core network element (see at least ¶ [0004]; “During initial registration of the UE, the UE first initiates registration request that carries a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI). The registration request information carries only cleartext information element(s) (IE). After receiving the registration request that carries the SUCI, an initial AMF initiates primary authentication to generate an AMF key Kamf and a corresponding key set identifier ngKSI. The initial AMF activates and starts to use the Kamf generated during the primary authentication by using a non-access stratum (NAS) security mode control procedure. The UE also activates and uses the Kamf.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify You with Deng in order to a registration method.
Conclusion
12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATASHA W COSME whose telephone number is (571)270-7225. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-4. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465