DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-13, filed 01/15/2026, with respect to Claims 1-8, 10 and 18-19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC § 103 rejections of Claims 1-8, 10 and 18-19 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claims 11-17, filed 01/15/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 11, Applicant argues that Thornton in view of Cioffi does not disclose features of the connections of the movable units in relationship to other independently movable units, wherein there is energy transmission from further movable units to the movable unit in response to the coupling of the energy transmitting elements of the movable units, wherein further movable units are positioned, based upon control signals, on the guide rail in front of or behind the movable unit in order to provide a temporary connection for energy transmission. In response, Examiner agrees with the Applicants arguments in view of the claim limitations noted but would like to make note that Claim 11 does not contain these specific limitations as argued. Claim 11 contains much broader limitations and does not appear to reference the positionable relationship of the moveable units in response to a further need for energy transmission between movable units, and is therefore able to be rejected in view of Thornton and Cioffi as shown below.
Regarding Claims 12-17, Applicant does not provide any arguments based upon the claims respective rejections other than to state these claim rejections should be traversed under Claim 1.
For the foregoing reasons, the claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 is unclear in the way they are written whether they are independent claims or dependent claims. If they are intended to be independent claims, they should include all the limitations of the claims they are referring to, without reference of another claim. If they are dependent, they should include the same preamble as the independent claim from which they depend.
Claim 10 combines two statutory classes, i.e. method and apparatus, in one claim. The combination of different statutory classes in one claim is improper, correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thornton (United States Patent US 6,499,701 B1) in view of Cioffi (International Patent Application WO 2020091721 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Thornton discloses A movable unit for a linear transport system, wherein the movable unit comprises a rotor having one or a plurality of magnets, wherein the movable unit is drivable by drive coils of stationary units of the linear transport system along a guide rail of the stationary units via the rotor,(Columns 11-12, lines 61-4: "FIG. 11 shows the stator of a long stator linear synchronous motor (LSM). A ferromagnetic core 113 is constructed with slots 114 and teeth 115. The slotted printed circuit board 120 mounts inside the slots above the power winding in the slots; the power winding is not shown. FIG. 12 shows the winding on the printed circuit board 120 of FIG. 11. The board 120 includes windings 4a, 4b for indicating position. This winding and board may be similar to the board shown in FIG. 9 except that the board is designed to fit in the slots of the motor. Multi-turn windings can be constructed in this same way.").
However, Thornton does not disclose wherein the movable unit comprises at least one energy-transmitting element, wherein the at least one energy-transmitting element is couplable to an energy-transmitting element of a further movable unit, and wherein an energy transmission between the movable units is responsive to a coupling of the respective energy-transmitting elements..
Cioffi discloses a similar movable unit wherein the movable unit comprises at least one energy-transmitting element, wherein the at least one energy-transmitting element is couplable to an energy-transmitting element of a further movable unit, and wherein an energy transmission between the movable units is responsive to a coupling of the respective energy-transmitting elements.(Paragraph 0024: " Also, in the exemplary embodiment, energy storage array 100 includes connectors 110 coupled to transportable storage containers 102 and/or electrical power devices, such as electrical power inverters 104, solar arrays, wind arrays and other power utilization and/or generation devices. Connectors 110 include, without limitation, cables, bus bars, conductive wires, fiber-optics, and/or any other suitable connectors. Connectors 110 are utilized to transport one or more of the following: power from a power producing array such as a solar or wind farm, power to an electrical power inverter, auxiliary power to components within transportable storage container 102, and communication signals. In the exemplary embodiment, at least some connectors 110 extend from each transportable storage container 102 to one of electrical power inverters 104 and are positioned within channels 112 in transportable storage containers 102. Specifically, connectors 110 extend from a respective transportable storage container 102 to electrical power inverter 104 through channels 112 positioned between the transportable storage container 102 and electrical power inverter 104. For example, connectors 110 from a first transportable storage container 114 extend through respective channels 112 of a second transportable storage container 116, a third transportable storage container 118, and a fourth transportable storage container 120. Accordingly, connectors 110 are able to extend from first transportable storage container 114 to electrical power inverter 104 within channels 112 without being substantially exposed on the exterior of transportable storage containers 102. In addition, channels 112 and connectors 110 do not require extensive on site setup. In some embodiments, connectors 110 are positioned within channels 112 prior to installation of transportable storage containers 102 at an installation site. In such embodiments, connectors 110 are stored within transportable storage container 102 and are shipped with transportable storage container 102 so they can be coupled to power inverter 104 as well as power utilization and/or generation devices such as solar arrays and wind arrays at the site. In some embodiments, connectors 110 have a length that is greater than a determined distance between electrical power inverter 104 and the respective transportable storage container 102. For example, in some embodiments, the length of connector 110 is greater than a total length of the number of transportable storage container(s) 102 positioned between the respective transportable storage container 102 and electrical power inverter 104. Accordingly, transportable storage containers 102 are set in position at the site and connectors 110 extended from channels 112 to a desired connection point during assembly of energy storage array 100.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thornton to include the connectable energy transfer as taught by Cioffi. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a transportable container system that provides the transferring of energy between locations to allow for the providing of stored energy to power utilization devices at different containers (Paragraph 0035).
Regarding Claim 12, Thornton in view of Cioffi discloses a similar movable unit according to claim 11, as seen above. Cioffi further discloses wherein the at least one energy-transmitting element is configured as a plug connection and comprises a plug element and/or a socket element.(Paragraph 0024: "Also, in the exemplary embodiment, energy storage array 100 includes connectors 110 coupled to transportable storage containers 102 and/or electrical power devices, such as electrical power inverters 104, solar arrays, wind arrays and other power utilization and/or generation devices. Connectors 110 include, without limitation, cables, bus bars, conductive wires, fiber-optics, and/or any other suitable connectors. ")
Regarding Claim 13, Thornton in view of Cioffi discloses a similar movable unit according to claim 12, as seen above. Cioffi further discloses wherein the plug element is configured at a first end and the socket element is configured at a second end of the movable unit arranged opposite to the first end.(Paragraph 0024: "Also, in the exemplary embodiment, energy storage array 100 includes connectors 110 coupled to transportable storage containers 102 and/or electrical power devices, such as electrical power inverters 104, solar arrays, wind arrays and other power utilization and/or generation devices. Connectors 110 include, without limitation, cables, bus bars, conductive wires, fiber-optics, and/or any other suitable connectors. ")
Regarding Claim 14, Thornton in view of Cioffi discloses a similar movable unit according to claim 12, as seen above. Cioffi further discloses wherein the plug element and/or the socket element are spring-mounted in a longitudinal direction and/or a transverse direction of the plug element and/or of the socket element.(Paragraph 0024: "Also, in the exemplary embodiment, energy storage array 100 includes connectors 110 coupled to transportable storage containers 102 and/or electrical power devices, such as electrical power inverters 104, solar arrays, wind arrays and other power utilization and/or generation devices. Connectors 110 include, without limitation, cables, bus bars, conductive wires, fiber-optics, and/or any other suitable connectors. ", wherein a spring mount is another type of suitable connector)
Regarding Claim 15, Thornton in view of Cioffi discloses a similar movable unit according to claim 12, as seen above. Cioffi further discloses wherein the plug element is elastically deformable or spring-mounted in a transverse direction of the plug element.(Paragraph 0024: "Also, in the exemplary embodiment, energy storage array 100 includes connectors 110 coupled to transportable storage containers 102 and/or electrical power devices, such as electrical power inverters 104, solar arrays, wind arrays and other power utilization and/or generation devices. Connectors 110 include, without limitation, cables, bus bars, conductive wires, fiber-optics, and/or any other suitable connectors. ", wherein a flexible mount is another type of suitable connector)
Regarding Claim 16, Thornton in view of Cioffi discloses a similar movable unit according to claim 11, as seen above. Cioffi further discloses wherein the movable unit comprises an application for carrying out a process, wherein the at least one energy-transmitting elements is connected to application electronics of the application via a coupling circuit, and wherein the coupling circuit comprises at least one rectifying element preventing a current flow from the application electronics into the at least one energy-transmitting element.(Paragraph 0025: " In addition, in the exemplary embodiment, connectors 110 include at least one of a bus bar and/or a cable. Accordingly, connectors 110 are configured to allow transportable storage containers 102 to send and/or receive electrical power and/or communicate with external devices. In the exemplary embodiment, connectors 110 conduct direct current (DC) electrical power. Power inverter 104 converts the DC electrical power to alternating current (AC) electrical power. In alternative embodiments, energy storage array 100 includes any number of connectors 110 that enable energy storage array 100 to operate as described herein.", wherein diodes are a common component in electrical transferring devices)
Regarding Claim 17, Thornton in view of Cioffi discloses a similar movable unit according to claim 12, as seen above. Cioffi further discloses wherein the movable unit comprises an energy tapping element for contacting a contacting element of an energy supply module of at least one of the stationary units of the linear transport system, wherein an energy transmission from the energy transmission module to the movable unit is responsive to a contacting of the energy tapping element with the contacting element.(Paragraph 0024: " Also, in the exemplary embodiment, energy storage array 100 includes connectors 110 coupled to transportable storage containers 102 and/or electrical power devices, such as electrical power inverters 104, solar arrays, wind arrays and other power utilization and/or generation devices. Connectors 110 include, without limitation, cables, bus bars, conductive wires, fiber-optics, and/or any other suitable connectors. Connectors 110 are utilized to transport one or more of the following: power from a power producing array such as a solar or wind farm, power to an electrical power inverter, auxiliary power to components within transportable storage container 102, and communication signals. In the exemplary embodiment, at least some connectors 110 extend from each transportable storage container 102 to one of electrical power inverters 104 and are positioned within channels 112 in transportable storage containers 102. Specifically, connectors 110 extend from a respective transportable storage container 102 to electrical power inverter 104 through channels 112 positioned between the transportable storage container 102 and electrical power inverter 104. For example, connectors 110 from a first transportable storage container 114 extend through respective channels 112 of a second transportable storage container 116, a third transportable storage container 118, and a fourth transportable storage container 120. Accordingly, connectors 110 are able to extend from first transportable storage container 114 to electrical power inverter 104 within channels 112 without being substantially exposed on the exterior of transportable storage containers 102. In addition, channels 112 and connectors 110 do not require extensive on site setup. In some embodiments, connectors 110 are positioned within channels 112 prior to installation of transportable storage containers 102 at an installation site. In such embodiments, connectors 110 are stored within transportable storage container 102 and are shipped with transportable storage container 102 so they can be coupled to power inverter 104 as well as power utilization and/or generation devices such as solar arrays and wind arrays at the site. In some embodiments, connectors 110 have a length that is greater than a determined distance between electrical power inverter 104 and the respective transportable storage container 102. For example, in some embodiments, the length of connector 110 is greater than a total length of the number of transportable storage container(s) 102 positioned between the respective transportable storage container 102 and electrical power inverter 104. Accordingly, transportable storage containers 102 are set in position at the site and connectors 110 extended from channels 112 to a desired connection point during assembly of energy storage array 100.", wherein an Energy tapping device is a common type of power device)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 1-8, 18 and 19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 1-8, 10 and 18-19, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claims 1, 8, 10 and 18. The art alone or in combination did not disclose determining that the movable unit requires an amount of energy to carry out an application that cannot be provided via an energy transmission between the one or plurality of energy-transmitting coils of at least one of the stationary units and the at least one energy-receiving coil of the movable unit; and outputting control signals to at least one of the stationary units for positioning the further movable unit in a transmission position on the guide rail in front of or behind the movable unit and for the coupling of the energy-transmitting elements of the further movable unit and the movable unit. The closest prior art of record Thornton (United States Patent US 6,499,701 B1) and Cioffi (International Patent Application WO 2020091721 A1) teach a similar method, controller, non-transitory machine readable data storage medium, and system for transmitting energy from a stationary unit of a linear transport system to a movable unit of the linear transport system comprising movable units ,stationary units and wherein the movable units comprise energy transmitting elements between one another, but both fail to teach determining that the movable unit requires an amount of energy to carry out an application that cannot be provided via an energy transmission between the one or plurality of energy-transmitting coils of at least one of the stationary units and the at least one energy-receiving coil of the movable unit; and outputting control signals to at least one of the stationary units for positioning the further movable unit in a transmission position on the guide rail in front of or behind the movable unit and for the coupling of the energy-transmitting elements of the further movable unit and the movable unit. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651