DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending, claims 1-9 and 19-20 have been withdrawn from consideration, and claims 10-18 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because “936” does not point to the first optical safety fiber in figure 9 ([0049]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a computing device in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the limitation “wherein the optical switch receives the safety light from the optical switch via a second optical safety fiber” is unclear. It is unclear how the optical switch can receive the safety light from itself via a second optical safety fiber. For examination purposes, the Examiner interpreted the optical receiver receives the safety light from the optical switch via a second optical safety fiber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hopkins (US 7,556,414), in view of Ito (US 2009/0040598).
Regarding claim 10, Hopkins discloses a system (110, figure 5) for supplying illumination light (see illumination path 124, figure 5) to a surgical instrument (illuminator attenuator 140, figure 5 | i.e., endoscope; Col. 4, lines 18-19), the system comprising: a first light source (112, figure 5), the first light source configured to supply the illumination light to the surgical instrument via a light port (500, figures 5-6) and a light guide (130, figure 5) coupled between the light port and the surgical instrument (see figure 5), wherein the illumination light is supplied from the light port to the surgical instrument via a first light channel (see 130, figure 5); a second light source (180 in 500, figure 6c) configured to supply, from a light source-side of the light guide and separate from the illumination light (see 500, figure 5), a safety light (530, figure 6c) via the light guide, wherein the safety light is supplied from the light port to the surgical instrument (see 180 in 500, figure 6c), and a computing device (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as individual circuit components, ASIC, microcontroller with controlling software, RISC, DSP, a processor with controlling software, PLD, FPGA, PSOC [0024] | detectors 182, figure 6c; Col. 3, lines 14-21) configured to determine whether the safety light is received at the light source-side of the light guide from an instrument-side of the light guide (detector further generates a signal indicative of the receipt of visible light…signal is provided to control the amount of visible light provided by an illuminator; Col. 3, lines 14-21 | interpreted as a circuit component), and in response to the determining, control the first light source to selectively deactivate or reduce an intensity of the illumination light (control the amount of visible light…; Col. 3, lines 14-21). Hopkins is silent regarding wherein the safety light is supplied from the light port to the surgical instrument via a first optical safety fiber that is separate from the first light channel used to provide the illumination light.
Ito teaches an optical fiber lighting apparatus with multiple light sources (semiconductor lasers 10-1, 10-2, and 10-3, figure 10). There are single fibers (20-1, 20-2, and 20-3, figure 10) that respectively guide exciting light beams emitted from the semiconductor lasers ([0048]). The exciting light beams exit from the single fibers are led to the fiber bundle (40, figures 10-11), where the fiber bundle comprises partial fiber bundles (40-1, 40-2, and 40-3, figure 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the system with individual fibers for each illumination path and reflected illumination path as taught by Ito (see 20-1, 20-2, and 20-3, figure 10). Doing so would provide light beams and reflected light beams independently of one another ([0053]). The modified system would have wherein the safety light is supplied from the light port to the surgical instrument via a first optical safety fiber (see single fibers 20-1, 20-2, and 20-3, figure 10; Ito) that is separate from the first light channel used to provide the illumination light (light from 112 and 180 would be supplied via separate fibers).
Regarding claim 11, Hopkins further discloses the surgical instrument is an arthroscope of an endoscopy system (endoscope; abstract | determining the present of an endoscope or any other illumination attenuator; Col. 1, lines 66-67 | can be an arthroscope), the arthroscope including a light post (see 150, figure 5; Hopkins).
Regarding claim 12, Hopkins further discloses the second light source is arranged in the light port (see 180 in 500, figures 5 and 6c).
Regarding claim 13, Hopkins further discloses the light port is arranged in an endoscopic console (see illumination supply device 110, figure 5).
Regarding claim 14, Hopkins further discloses the light port includes an optical receiver (182, figures 5 and 6c; Hopkins) configured to receive the safety light and generate an output indicating whether the safety light is received by the optical receiver (detector further generates a signal indicative of the receipt of visible light…signal is provided to control the amount of visible light provided by an illuminator; Col. 3, lines 14-21).
Regarding claim 15, Hopkins further discloses the instrument-side of the light guide includes an optical switch (see reflector 250, figure 3; Hopkins) configured to receive the safety light from the second light source and supply the safety light to the optical receiver (reflected radiation 262, figure 3).
Regarding claim 16, Hopkins further discloses the determining includes determining, based on the output, whether the safety light is received by the optical receiver (detector further generates a signal indicative of the receipt of visible light…; Col. 3, lines 14-21), and wherein the controlling the light source includes deactivating or reducing the intensity of the first light source in response to a determination that the optical receiver is not receiving the safety light (signal is provided to control the amount of visible light provided by an illuminator…; Col. 3, lines 14-21).
Regarding claim 17, Hopkins and Ito further disclose the optical switch receives the safety light from the optical switch via a second optical safety fiber that is separate from the first optical safety fiber and the first light channel (see 112b rejection above | detector further generates a signal indicative of the receipt of visible light…; Col. 3, lines 14-21; Hopkins | modified system would have a single fiber for the reflected light; [0048] of Ito).
Claim(s) 10-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hopkins (US 7,556,414), in view of Ito (US 2009/0040598).
Regarding claim 10, Hopkins discloses a system (110, figure 5) for supplying illumination light (see illumination path 124, figure 5) to a surgical instrument (illuminator attenuator 140, figure 5 | i.e., endoscope; Col. 4, lines 18-19), the system comprising: a first light source (112, figure 5), the first light source configured to supply the illumination light to the surgical instrument via a light port (500, figures 5-6) and a light guide (130, figure 5) coupled between the light port and the surgical instrument (see figure 5), wherein the illumination light is supplied from the light port to the surgical instrument via a first light channel (see 130, figure 5); a second light source (180 in 500, figure 6c) configured to supply, from a light source-side of the light guide and separate from the illumination light (see 500, figure 5), a safety light (530, figure 6c) via the light guide, wherein the safety light is supplied from the light port to the surgical instrument (see 180 in 500, figure 6c), and a computing device (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as individual circuit components, ASIC, microcontroller with controlling software, RISC, DSP, a processor with controlling software, PLD, FPGA, PSOC [0024] | detectors 182, figure 6c) configured to determine whether the safety light is received at the light source-side of the light guide from an instrument-side of the light guide (detector further generates a signal indicative of the receipt of visible light…signal is provided to control the amount of visible light provided by an illuminator; Col. 3, lines 14-21 | interpreted as a circuit component), and in response to the determining, control the first light source to selectively deactivate or reduce an intensity of the illumination light (control the amount of visible light…; Col. 3, lines 14-21). Hopkins is silent regarding wherein the safety light is supplied from the light port to the surgical instrument via a first optical safety fiber that is separate from the first light channel used to provide the illumination light.
Ito teaches an optical fiber lighting apparatus with multiple light sources ( semiconductor lasers 10-1, 10-2, and 10-3, figure 10). There are single fibers (20-1, 20-2, and 20-3, figure 10) that respectively guide exciting light beams emitted from the semiconductor lasers ([0048]). The exciting light beams exit from the single fibers are led to the fiber bundle (40, figures 10-11), where the fiber bundle comprises partial fiber bundles (40-1, 40-2, and 40-3, figure 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the system with individual fibers for each illumination path as taught by Ito (see 20-1, 20-2, and 20-3, figure 10). Doing so would provide light beams that can be emitted independently ([0053]). The modified system would have wherein the safety light is supplied from the light port to the surgical instrument via a first optical safety fiber (see single fibers 20-1, 20-2, and 20-3, figure 10; Ito) that is separate from the first light channel used to provide the illumination light (light from 112 and 180 would be supplied via separate fibers).
Regarding claim 11, Hopkins further discloses the surgical instrument is an arthroscope of an endoscopy system (endoscope; abstract | determining the present of an endoscope or any other illumination attenuator; Col. 1, lines 66-67; can be an arthroscope), the arthroscope including a light post (see 150, figure 5; Hopkins).
Regarding claim 12, Hopkins further discloses the second light source is arranged in the light port (see 180 in 500, figures 5 and 6c).
Regarding claim 13, Hopkins further discloses the light port is arranged in an endoscopic console (see illumination supply device 110, figure 5).
Regarding claim 14, Hopkins further discloses the light port includes an optical receiver (182, figures 5 and 6c; Hopkins) configured to receive the safety light and generate an output indicating whether the safety light is received by the optical receiver (detector further generates a signal indicative of the receipt of visible light…signal is provided to control the amount of visible light provided by an illuminator; Col. 3, lines 14-21).
Regarding claim 15, Hopkins further discloses the instrument-side of the light guide includes an optical switch (see reflector 250, figure 3; Hopkins) configured to receive the safety light from the second light source and supply the safety light to the optical receiver (reflected radiation 262, figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Hopkins further discloses the safety light is supplied from the second light source to the optical switch (see 530, figure 6c; Hopkins) and the safety light is received at the optical receiver from the optical switch using the first optical safety fiber (see 532, figure 6c).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
June 14, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795