DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
1. The following is a FINAL Office action upon examination of application number 18/603,862 filed on 03/13/2024. Claims 1-25 are pending in the application and have been examined on the merits discussed below.
Priority
3. Application 18/603,862 filed 03/13/2024 claims Priority from Provisional Application 63/490,380, filed 03/15/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 08/12/2026 has been acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
5. In the response filed August 12, 2026, Applicant amended claims 1-3, 9-10, 13, 17-18, and 22-23, and did not cancel any claims. No new claims were presented for examination.
6. Applicant’s amendments to claims 1-3, 9-10, 13, 17-18, and 22-23 are hereby acknowledged. The amendments are not sufficient to overcome the previously issued claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101; accordingly, this rejection has been maintained.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed August 12, 2026, have been fully considered.
8. Applicant submits “The § 101 Rejection Was Previously Withdrawn on the Merits and No Basis for Its Reinstatement Has Been Identified As a threshold matter, Applicant respectfully submits that the present § 101 rejection should be withdrawn because the Office has already determined, on the merits, that claims 1-25 are eligible. In the final Office Action mailed November 21, 2025, the Office Action stated: "Applicant's amendments to claims 1, 17, and 22 are hereby acknowledged. The amendments are sufficient to overcome the previously issued claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101; accordingly, this rejection has been withdrawn." Final Office Action, 11/21/2025, p. 3. The Final Office Action set out a reasoned Step 2A Prong Two analysis, expressly identifying the additional elements that render the claims eligible: As amended, the claim currently recites: automated instrumentation configured to prepare a product, determining an occurrence of the event during preparation of the product pursuant to the automated operation in response to a parameter being applied to the product during the supply chain process, and identifying a modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation in the supply chain process that adjusts application of the parameter to inhibit occurrences of the event rendering the product inoperable for use during subsequent preparations of the product in the supply chain process. These limitations tie the claimed method to specific technological equipment performing physical operations on a product and identifying machine-level operational adjustments. Unlike the previously rejected claims, the amended claim cannot be performed mentally or through human judgment. The claim limitations now require the use of automated, physical instrumentation and involve detecting and mitigating physical changes that render a product inoperable. Accordingly, amended claims 1, 17, and 22 integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Final Office Action, 11/21/2025, p. 4 (emphasis added). The Final Office Action reiterated that conclusion multiple times throughout the Final Office Action. See id. p. 5 ("the claims recite additional elements that, when evaluated under Step 2A Prong Two of the eligibility inquiry, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application"); p. 5 ("In response to the claim amendments filed October 23, 2025, the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection applied to claims 1-25 in the previous Office Action is withdrawn."); p. 6 ("Applicant's arguments have been considered and are found persuasive. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 has been withdrawn."). In light of the foregoing, the mental process ground of subject matter eligibility rejection of the Non-Final Office Action contradicts the Final Office Action's determination that the claims "cannot be performed mentally or through human judgment." Final Office Action, 11/21/2025, p. 4.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, pages 1-2]
In response to Applicant’s argument, it is acknowledged that the Final Office action mailed November 21, 2025, withdrew the prior rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101. However, following the Pre-Appeal Conference decision mailed on April 06, 2026, prosecution a reopened and the rejection under §101 was reapplied based on the determination that the claims remain ineligible.
Although claim 1 recites instrumentation and determining and originating source of the event, the claim broadly encompasses identifying an undesirable condition affecting a product, determine its source, and identifying a corrective action. These steps, at the level of generality recited, constitute a mental process and method of organizing human activity. Moreover, the recitation of instrumentation does not, by itself, establish integration of the judicial exception into a practical application. Claim 1 requires identifying a modification but does not require implementing it or recite a specific technical mechanism for determining the modification. Nor do the added limitations, without further technical specificity, establish a particular improvement to the operation of the instrumentation. Examiner suggest that Applicant consider amending claim 1 to recite actual implementation of the identified modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation, rather than merely identifying the modification. For the reasons above, in addition to the reasons provided in the updated §101 rejection below, Applicant’s amendment and supporting arguments are not sufficient to overcome the §101 rejection.
9. Applicant submits “i) Preliminarily, the Prong One analysis is internally inconsistent and does not satisfy MPEP § 2106.07(a) MPEP § 2106.07(a) requires that a Prong One rejection "identify the judicial exception by referring to what is recited in the claim and explain why it is considered an exception," and that it "point to the specific claim limitation(s) that recites the judicial exception." The Office Action does not do SO with respect to the asserted commercial-interaction grouping. It asserts that the claims set forth "steps for sales/marketing purposes" (Office Action, p. 4) and recite "an abstract idea of managing supply chain interactions, which falls under the realm of managing commercial interactions (e.g., marketing or sales activities or behaviors)" (Office Action, pp. 4- 5), but it does not identify any claim language reciting a sale, an offer, an advertisement, a marketing activity, a price, a customer, or a contract, because the claims contain none. A conclusory label unaccompanied by the identification of corresponding claim language does not establish a prima facie case of ineligibility. See MPEP § 2106.07 (the initial burden is on the examiner to explain ineligibility "clearly and specifically, so that applicant has sufficient notice and is able to effectively respond")... Applicant respectfully submits that the automated operation of the instrumentation, and the physical preparation of the product pursuant thereto, are properly treated as additional elements, as the Office itself concluded in the final Office Action of November 21, 2025, pp. 3-4.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, pages 5-6]
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to Applicant’s argument, it is noted that the Office Action did not identify the “prepare” step as part of the abstract idea, rather this limitation was identified as and additional element in the Prong Two analysis. Accordingly, the is no inconsistency between the Prong One and Prong Two analyses. The identified abstract idea concerns determining an event and its originating source and identifying a modification to prevent recurrency, which is considered in the context of managing supply chain activities. The recitation of automated instrumentation and product preparation does not, without more, establish that the abstract idea is integrated into the practical application. For the reasons above, this argument is found unpersuasive.
10. Applicant submits “The claimed steps are not methods of organizing human activity.” More specifically, Applicant submits “The Office Action, at page 4, alleges that the claims disclose an "abstract idea of managing supply chain interactions, which falls under the realm of managing commercial interactions (e.g., marketing or sales activities or behaviors), thus falling under the "Certain methods of organizing human activity' grouping set forth in MPEP 2101…Applicant respectfully disagrees.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, page 6]
With particular respect to the §101 rejection, Applicant first argues with respect to Step 2A of the eligibility inquiry “the Office Action characterizes the claims as directed to a "method of organizing human activity", managing personal behavior or interactions between people. Applicant respectfully disagrees.” In response the Examiner maintains that claim 1 has been found to recite an abstract idea that falls into the “Certain methods of organizing human activity” by reciting limitations for managing supply chain activities. The limitations reciting “determining an occurrence of the event during preparation of the product in response to a parameter being applied to the product by the instrumentation during the supply chain process, wherein the event causes a change to the product rendering the product inoperable for use; determining an originating source of the event in the supply chain process; and identifying a modification to the supply chain process that adjusts application of the parameter to inhibit occurrences of the event rendering the product inoperable for use during subsequent preparations of the product in the supply chain process, wherein the modification is directed to a characteristic of the originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during the subsequent preparations” are reasonably understood as setting forth activities of managing supply chain activities. The steps broadly involve managing supply chain activities and interactions, which fall under the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” abstract idea grouping, including managing commercial interactions. The recitation of instrumentation does not, by itself, remove the claim from this abstract idea grouping
As stated in MPEP 2106, the phrase “certain methods of organizing human activity” is used to describe concepts relating to fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). The claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recites limitations within the Abstract idea grouping of “certain methods of organizing human activity.” Clearly, organizing human activities is applicable to the processes of managing supply chain activities, including identifying events affecting a product determined tehri source, and identifying modification to prevent recurrence. Accordingly, when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One of the eligibility inquiry, the claims recite limitations falling within both the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping as set forth in MPEP 2106. For the reasons above, this argument is found unpersuasive.
11. Applicant submits “The claimed steps are not "Mental Processes”.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, page 7]
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted above, “with respect to the “Mental Processes” grouping, the Examiner maintains that the determining, determining, and identifying can be accomplished mentally with the assistance of pen and paper, which therefore qualifies as a mental process. For example, a human user could easily observe an undesirable change to a product, determine the likely source of the event, and identify and adjustment to the process to prevent the event from recurring by making the determination based on mental evaluation, judgment, or opinion and therefore the “evaluating” falls under the “Mental Processes. The steps can be performed in the human mind such as by merely making a choice/decision based on mental evaluation, judgment, or opinion, or with the aid of pen and paper, and therefore also falls under the “Mental Processes” abstract idea grouping. For the reasons above, this argument is found unpersuasive.
12. Applicant submits “that the limitations set forth above are in fact integrated into a practical application. In addition, 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance emphasizes that "using the.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, page 8]
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under Step 2A, Prong Two of the eligibility inquiry, Applicants argue “that Applicants' claims are not "directed to" a judicial exception, and thus are patent eligible, for at least the reason that Applicants' claims as a whole integrates any alleged judicial exception into a practical application of that exception.” The additional elements in exemplary claim 1 are: automated operation of an instrumentation, which merely serve to tie the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (computer-based operating environment) via generic computing hardware, software/instructions, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application, as noted in MPEP 2106.
Furthermore, it is noted that Applicants’ claims are devoid of any discernible change, transformation, or improvement to a computer (software or hardware) or any existing technology. Applicant has not shown that any specific technological improvement is achieved within the scope of the claims. It bears emphasis that no instrumentation, or technological elements are modified or improved upon in any discernible manner. Instead, the result produced by the claims is simply information identifying a modification, which is not a technical result or improvement thereof. Nevertheless, even assuming arguendo that an improvement was achieved, improving the process of supply chain planning, at most, seems to provide an improvement to a business process using generic computing elements, such that any incidental improvement achieved by automating the claim steps would come from the capabilities of a general-purpose computer rather than the sequence of steps/activities recited in the method itself, which does not materially alter the patent eligibility of the claim. See Bancorp Servs., L.L.C. v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Can. (U.S.), 687 F.3d 1266, 1278 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (“[T]he fact that the required calculations could be performed more efficiently via a computer does not materially alter the patent eligibility of the claimed subject matter.”) (cited in the Federal Circuit's FairWarning decision).
13. Applicant submits “The determination of the event and of its originating source is used to identify a modification to the automated operation of the very instrumentation that applied the parameter, for the purpose of minimizing that parameter during subsequent preparations. As in Diehr, the claim as a whole is directed to an industrial process for preparing a physical article, not to the underlying determination in the abstract.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, pages 11-12]
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Unlike Diehr, claim 1 does not recite controlling or adjusting the operation of the instrumentation based on the determination. Rather, the claim requires determining an event and its originating source, and identifying a modification to the automated operation. Identifying a modification is a determination than can be performed using human observation. Although the claim recites preparing a product during the supply chain process based on an automated operation of an instrumentation configured for preparing the product, this steps does not change the focus of the claim, which is determining the source of an event and identifying a potential modification. Contrary to Applicant’s assertions, the claim as a whole is not directed to an industrial process for preparing a physical article. The claims do nothing to modify, reconfigure, manipulate, or transform materials into a product in any discernible manner. While the claim recites “preparing a product during the supply chain process based on an automated operation of an instrumentation configured for preparing the product”, the claim does not describe how the product is changed to a different state or thing. The claims are devoid of any discernible transformation. Applicant has not shown that a transformation is achieved within the scope of the claims.
Moreover, this argument is found unpersuasive because the amended claims are unlike the claims at issue in Diehr, where the claim limitations provided improvements to any other technology or technical field, e.g., a modification of conventional rubber-molding processes to utilize a thermocouple inside the mold to constantly monitor the temperature and thus reduce under- and over-curing problems common in the art, as discussed in Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981) (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)). Here, unlike Diehr, the claim does not provide a process that transforms raw, uncured synthetic rubber into precision-molded synthetic rubber products, as discussed in Diamond v. Diehr. For the reasons detailed above, this argument is found unpersuasive.
14. Applicant submits “In view of Berkheimer, the Office bears the burden of establishing, with evidence, that the additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP §§ 2106.05(d), 2106.07(a). No such evidence has been provided. In particular, the Office has not identified any evidence that it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to determine that a particular instrumentation within a supply chain process is the originating source of a parameter applied to a product, and then to identify a modification to a characteristic of that particular instrumentation for the purpose of minimizing the value of that parameter experienced by subsequently prepared products.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, page 12]
Specifically, regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101, Applicant submits that “No such evidence has been provided. In particular, the Office has not identified any evidence that it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to determine that a particular instrumentation within a supply chain process is the originating source of a parameter applied to a product, and then to identify a modification to a characteristic of that particular instrumentation for the purpose of minimizing the value of that parameter experienced by subsequently prepared products.” As best understood by the Examiner, Applicant’s reliance on the Berkheimer Memo is based on Applicant’s misunderstanding of the Berkheimer decision, which is germane only to Step 2B eligibility inquiry into whether certain additional claim limitations are well-understood, routine, and conventional and the evidentiary requirements to support factual findings related thereto. Berkheimer v. HP Inc., 881 F.3d 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
Accordingly, the Examiner emphasizes that a §101 rejection, including one based on a judicial exception, does not hinge on whether or not any particular limitation or the entire claimed subject matter is directed to “well-understood, routine, and conventional activities.” Notably, a §101 rejection may be proper even none of the claim limitations are deemed well-understood, routine, and conventional. We may assume that the techniques claimed are “[g]roundbreaking, innovative, or even brilliant,” but that is not enough for eligibility. Ass’n for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., 569 U.S. 576, 591 (2013); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1352 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Nor is it enough for subject-matter eligibility that claimed techniques be novel and nonobvious in light of prior art, passing muster under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103. See Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 89–90 (2012); Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1151 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“[A] claim for a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea. The search for a § 101 inventive concept is thus distinct from demonstrating §102 novelty.”); Intellectual Ventures LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1315 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (same for obviousness) (Symantec).
Moreover, it is noted that the addition of non-conventional components to an abstract idea does not necessarily turn an abstraction into something concrete. Further, the Examiner points out that limitations that were found not to be enough to qualify as "significantly more" when recited in a claim with a judicial exception also include: adding the words “apply it” or equivalent with the judicial exceptions, or mere instruction to implement an abstract idea on a computer, simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, of the judicial exception. As described below, the claims of the instant application are drawn to an abstract idea. It is noted that for the role of a computer in a computer-implemented invention to be deemed meaningful, it must involve more than performance of "well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry.” Claim 1 is directed to performing the method steps, but these limitations add nothing of substance to the underlying abstract idea.
Furthermore, it is noted that only those additional elements (analyzed under 2B) that are deemed “conventional” need to comply with Berkheimer. When elements are just part of “apply it” [abstract idea] on a computer, under MPEP 2106.05(f), no evidence is needed. Citations for conventionality to MPEP 2106.05 were already provided. Arguing abstract elements for Berkheimer is not persuasive. See BSG Tech, LLC v. Buyseasons, Inc., 899 F.3d 1281,1290 (Fed. Cir. 2018) states “Our precedent has consistently employed this same approach. If a claim’s only “inventive concept” is the application of an abstract idea using conventional and well-understood techniques, the claim has not been transformed into a patent-eligible application of an abstract idea. See, e.g., Berkheimer, 881 F.3d at 1370 (holding claims lacked an inventive concept because they “amount to no more than performing the abstract idea of parsing and comparing data with conventional computer components”). For the reasons above, this argument is found unpersuasive.
15. Applicant submits “The claimed combination is accordingly analogous to Example 40 of the Office's eligibility examples, in which claim 2 was eligible because the additional element of collecting network traffic data only in response to a detected abnormal condition constituted a non- conventional and non-generic arrangement solving a technical problem.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, page 13]
In response to the Applicant’s arguments that the claims are similar to Example 40, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to Applicant's comparison to Example 40, Examiner points out that the claims in Example 40 involved a method for adaptive monitoring of traffic data through a network appliance connected between computing devices in a network, the method comprising: collecting, by the network appliance, traffic data relating to the network traffic passing through the network appliance, the traffic data comprising at least one of network delay, packet loss, or jitter; comparing, by the network appliance, at least one of the collected traffic data to a predefined threshold; and collecting additional traffic data relating to the network traffic when the collected traffic data is greater than the predefined threshold, the additional traffic data comprising Netflow protocol data. As stated in Example 40, the combination of additional elements of collecting at least one of network delay, packet loss, or jitter relating to the network traffic passing through the network appliance, and collecting additional Netflow protocol data relating to the network traffic when the collected network delay, packet loss, or jitter is greater than the predefined threshold is directed to a particular improvement in collecting traffic data. Specifically, the method limits collection of additional Netflow protocol data to when the initially collected data reflects an abnormal condition, which avoids excess traffic volume on the network and hindrance of network performance. The collected data can then be used to analyze the cause of the abnormal condition. This provides a specific improvement over prior systems, resulting in improved network monitoring. The claim as a whole integrates the mental process into a practical application. The claims at issue are far different from the claims in Example 40. The claims of the present case involve a method and system for identifying an event during a supply chain process. The additional elements of the instant application do not recite a specific improvement over prior art systems by providing improved network monitoring. Accordingly, this argument is found unpersuasive.
For the reasons above, in addition to the reasons provided in the updated §101 rejection below, Applicant’s amendment and supporting arguments are not sufficient to overcome the §101
rejection.
16. Applicant submits “The cited references fail to disclose or suggest, and the rejection fails to otherwise consider, each and every element of the rejected claims. For example, the cited references fail to disclose or suggest, inter alia, "determining an occurrence of an event to a product in response to a parameter being applied to the product by the instrumentation that prepares the product," "determining an originating source of the event that includes the instrumentation that applied the parameter to the product during the event," or "identifying a modification directed to a characteristic of that originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during subsequent preparations" as recited in amended independent claim 1.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, page 14]
In response to the Applicant’s argument that “The cited references fail to disclose or suggest, and the rejection fails to otherwise consider, each and every element of the rejected claims. For example, the cited references fail to disclose or suggest, inter alia, "determining an occurrence of an event to a product in response to a parameter being applied to the product by the instrumentation that prepares the product," "determining an originating source of the event that includes the instrumentation that applied the parameter to the product during the event," or "identifying a modification directed to a characteristic of that originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during subsequent preparations" as recited in amended independent claim 1,” it is noted that this argument is a mere allegation of patentability by the Applicant with no supporting rationale or explanation. Merely stating that the claims do not teach a feature does not offer any insight as to why the specific sections of the prior art relied upon by the Examiner fail to disclose the claimed features. Applicant's arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Moreover, the Examiner notes the limitations being argued by Applicant as being newly amended to the claims in the response filed 08/12/2026, which have been addressed in the updated rejection below. Applicant’s argument has been considered, but it pertains to amendments to independent claims 1, 17, and 22 that are believed to be addressed via the updated ground of rejection under §103 set forth in the instant Office action, which incorporates a new reference and new citations to address the amended limitations in claims 1, 7, and 22 and supports a conclusion of obviousness of the amended claims.
17. Applicant submits “Iskandar does not disclose, however, that the parameter is applied to the product by the instrumentation that prepares the product, or that an originating source of the event is determined, wherein the originating source includes the instrumentation that applied the parameter to the product during the event, as recited in amended claim 1.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, page 16]
In response to Applicant’s argument, the Examiner notes the limitations being argued by Applicant as being newly amended to the claims in the response filed 08/12/2026, which have been addressed in the updated rejection below. Applicant’s argument has been considered, but it pertains to amendments to independent claims 1, 17, and 22 that are believed to be addressed via the updated ground of rejection under §103 set forth in the instant Office action, which incorporates a new reference and new citations to address the amended limitations in claims 1, 7, and 22 and supports a conclusion of obviousness of the amended claims.
18. Applicant submits “Iskandar accordingly also does not disclose identifying a modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation, wherein "the modification is directed to a characteristic of the originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during the subsequent preparations," as recited in amended claim 1.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, page 16]
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Iskandar accordingly also does not disclose identifying a modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation, wherein "the modification is directed to a characteristic of the originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during the subsequent preparations," as recited in amended claim 1,” the Examiner notes the limitation being argued by Applicant as being newly amended to the claims in the response filed 08/12/2026, which has been addressed in the updated rejection below. Applicant’s argument has been considered, but it pertains to amendments to independent claims 1, 17, and 22 that are believed to be addressed via the updated ground of rejection under §103 set forth in the instant Office action, which incorporates a new reference and new citations to address the amended limitations in claims 1, 7, and 22 and supports a conclusion of obviousness of the amended claims.
19. Applicant submits “Brown does not disclose, however, "determining an occurrence of the event during preparation of the product pursuant to the automated operation in response to a parameter being applied to the product by the instrumentation," wherein "the event causes a change to the product rendering the product inoperable for use," nor "determining an originating source of the event in the supply chain process, wherein the originating source includes the instrumentation that applied the parameter to the product during the event.”.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, page 17]
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Brown does not disclose, however, "determining an occurrence of the event during preparation of the product pursuant to the automated operation in response to a parameter being applied to the product by the instrumentation," wherein "the event causes a change to the product rendering the product inoperable for use," nor "determining an originating source of the event in the supply chain process, wherein the originating source includes the instrumentation that applied the parameter to the product during the event”,” the Examiner notes the limitations being argued by Applicant as being newly amended to the claims in the response filed 08/12/2026, which have been addressed in the updated rejection below. Applicant’s argument has been considered, but it pertains to amendments to independent claims 1, 17, and 22 that are believed to be addressed via the updated ground of rejection under §103 set forth in the instant Office action, which incorporates a new reference and new citations to address the amended limitations in claims 1, 7, and 22 and supports a conclusion of obviousness of the amended claims.
20. Applicant submits “Brown maintains a target parameter value within a single treatment run rather than "minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during the subsequent preparations”.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, page 17]
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Brown maintains a target parameter value within a single treatment run rather than “minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during the subsequent preparations”,” the Examiner notes the limitation (i.e., wherein the modification is directed to a characteristic of the originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during the subsequent preparations) being argued by Applicant as being newly amended to the claims in the response filed 08/12/2026, which has been addressed in the updated rejection below. Applicant’s argument has been considered, but it pertains to amendments to independent claims 1, 17, and 22 that are believed to be addressed via the updated ground of rejection under §103 set forth in the instant Office action, which incorporates a new reference and new citations to address the amended limitations in claims 1, 7, and 22 and supports a conclusion of obviousness of the amended claims.
21. Applicant submits “Prater does not disclose, however, that a parameter is applied to the product by the instrumentation that prepares the product, nor that an event causes a change to the product rendering the product inoperable for use.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, page 18]
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Prater does not disclose, however, that a parameter is applied to the product by the instrumentation that prepares the product, nor that an event causes a change to the product rendering the product inoperable for use,” the Examiner notes the limitation being argued by Applicant as being newly amended to the claims in the response filed 08/12/2026, which has been addressed in the updated rejection below. Applicant’s argument has been considered, but it pertains to amendments to independent claims 1, 17, and 22 that are believed to be addressed via the updated ground of rejection under §103 set forth in the instant Office action, which incorporates a new reference and new citations to address the amended limitations in claims 1, 7, and 22 and supports a conclusion of obviousness of the amended claims.
22. Applicant submits “Prater likewise does not disclose identifying a modification directed to a characteristic of such an originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during subsequent preparations.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, page 19]
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Prater likewise does not disclose identifying a modification directed to a characteristic of such an originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during subsequent preparations,” the Examiner notes the limitation being argued by Applicant as being newly amended to the claims in the response filed 08/12/2026, which has been addressed in the updated rejection below. Applicant’s argument has been considered, but it pertains to amendments to independent claims 1, 17, and 22 that are believed to be addressed via the updated ground of rejection under §103 set forth in the instant Office action, which incorporates a new reference and new citations to address the amended limitations in claims 1, 7, and 22 and supports a conclusion of obviousness of the amended claims.
23. Applicant submits “Prater likewise does not disclose identifying a modification directed to a characteristic of such an originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during subsequent preparations.” [Applicant’s Remarks, 08/12/2026, page 19]
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Prater likewise does not disclose identifying a modification directed to a characteristic of such an originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during subsequent preparations,” the Examiner notes the limitation being argued by Applicant as being newly amended to the claims in the response filed 08/12/2026, which has been addressed in the updated rejection below. Applicant’s argument has been considered, but it pertains to amendments to independent claims 1, 17, and 22 that are believed to be addressed via the updated ground of rejection under §103 set forth in the instant Office action, which incorporates a new reference and new citations to address the amended limitations in claims 1, 7, and 22 and supports a conclusion of obviousness of the amended claims.
24. Applicant's remaining arguments either logically depend from the above-rejected arguments, in which case they too are unpersuasive for the reasons set forth above, or they are directed to features which have been newly added via amendment. Therefore, this is now the Examiner's first opportunity to consider these limitations and as such any arguments regarding these limitations would be inappropriate since they have not yet been examined. A full rejection of these limitations will be presented later in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
26. Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
27. Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The eligibility analysis in support of these findings is provided below, in accordance with MPEP 2106.
With respect to Step 1 of the eligibility inquiry (as explained in MPEP 2106), it is first noted that the methods (claims 1-25) is directed to at least one potentially eligible category of subject matter (i.e., process). Thus, Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility test for claims 1-25 is satisfied.
With respect to Step 2A Prong One, it is next noted that the claims recite an abstract idea that falls into the “Mental Processes” abstract idea set forth in MPEP 2106 since the claims set forth steps for sales/marketing purposes, which amounts to sales or marketing activities or behaviors (under “commercial or legal interactions” in MPEP 2106) within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” abstract idea grouping, and steps that can be performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), and therefore fall under the “Mental Processes” abstract idea grouping. With respect to independent claim 1, the limitations reciting the abstract idea are indicated in bold below: preparing a product during the supply chain process based on an automated operation of an instrumentation configured for preparing the product; determining an occurrence of the event during preparation of the product pursuant to the automated operation in response to a parameter being applied to the product by the instrumentation during the supply chain process, wherein the event causes a change to the product rendering the product inoperable for use; determining an originating source of the event in the supply chain process, wherein the originating source includes the instrumentation that applied the parameter to the product during the event; and identifying a modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation in the supply chain process that adjusts application of the parameter by the instrumentation to inhibit occurrences of the event rendering the product inoperable for use during subsequent preparations of the product in the supply chain process, wherein the modification is directed to a characteristic of the originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during the subsequent preparations. Considered together, these steps set forth an abstract idea of managing supply chain interactions, which falls under the realm of managing commercial interactions (e.g., marketing or sales activities or behaviors), thus falling under the “Certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping set forth in MPEP 2101, as well as the “Mental Processes” abstract idea grouping via recitation of activities that be performed in the human mind.
Because the above-noted limitations recite steps falling within the “Certain methods of organizing human activity” abstract idea grouping and the “Mental Processes” abstract idea grouping, they have been determined to recite at least one abstract idea when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One of the eligibility inquiry. Independent claims 17 and 22 recite similar limitations as those recited in claim 1 and therefore are found to recite the same abstract idea(s) as claim 1.
Therefore, because the limitations above set forth activities falling within the “Certain methods of organizing human activity” and “Mental Processes” abstract idea groupings described in MPEP 2106, the additional elements recited in the claims are further evaluated, individually and in combination, under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B below.
With respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. With respect to the independent claims, the additional elements are: the automated operation of an instrumentation, and wherein the originating source includes the instrumentation (claim 1), automated operation of an instrumentation and wherein the originating source includes the instrumentation (claim 17), automated operation of an instrumentation, and wherein the originating source includes the instrumentation (claim 22). These elements have been considered individually and in combination, but fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they amount to using generic computing elements or instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), which merely serves to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (network computing environment). See MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h). Even if the step for preparing is not deemed part of the abstract idea, this step is at most directed to insignificant extra-solution activity, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).In addition, these limitations fail to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field, fail to apply the exception with a particular machine, fail to apply the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, fail to effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, and fail to apply/use the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, because the Step 2A Prong One and Prong Two analysis resulted in the conclusion that the claims are directed to an abstract idea, additional analysis under Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry must be conducted in order to determine whether any claim element or combination of elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry, it has been determined that the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. With respect to the independent claims, the additional elements are: the automated operation of an instrumentation, and wherein the originating source includes the instrumentation (claim 1), automated operation of an instrumentation and wherein the originating source includes the instrumentation (claim 17), automated operation of an instrumentation, and wherein the originating source includes the instrumentation (claim 22). These elements have been considered individually and in combination, but fail to add significantly more to the claims because they amount to using generic computing elements or instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), which merely serves to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (network computing environment) and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Notably, Applicant’s Specification acknowledges that the claimed invention relies on nothing more than a general purpose computer executing instructions to implement the invention (Specification at paragraphs 0025, 0054). Therefore, the additional elements merely describe generic computing elements or computer-executable instructions (software) merely serve to tie the abstract idea to a particular operating environment, which does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. See, e.g., Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. 2347, 110 USPQ2d 1976; Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Even if the step for preparing is not deemed part of the abstract idea, this step is at most directed to insignificant extra-solution activity, which has been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional, and thus insufficient to add significantly more to the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(d) - Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that, as an ordered combination, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claims 2-16, 18-21, and 23-25 recite the same abstract idea as recited in the independent claims, and when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One are found to merely recite details that serve to narrow the same abstract idea recited in the independent claims accompanied by the same generic computing elements or software as those addressed above in the discussion of the independent claims, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, or other additional elements that fail to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, as noted above. In particular, dependent claims 2-16, 18-21, and 23-25 recite the limitations “wherein determining the originating source of the event comprises identifying a location of the instrumentation within the supply chain process at which the event occurred,” “wherein the characteristic of the originating source comprises a position of the instrumentation, a location of the instrumentation, or the automated operation of the instrumentation,” “detect the parameter applied to the product during the occurrence of the event,” “wherein prior to identifying the modification, the method comprises: transmitting the parameter, determine a value of the parameter,” “wherein prior to identifying the modification, the method comprises: comparing the value of the parameter to a threshold; and identifying the modification in response to the value of the parameter exceeding the threshold, and forgoing identification of the modification in response to the value of the parameter not exceeding the threshold,” “wherein the parameter includes a temperature, a pressure, a force, a velocity, a light intensity, a fluid level, an impedance, a compression, a tilt, or a rotation experienced by the product during the event,” “wherein: the product includes a device, a tool, a machine, an instrument, a mechanism, an appliance, a gadget, or an apparatus; and performing operations in the supply chain process to prepare the product,” “wherein the product includes a medical device, such that identifying the modification to the supply chain process includes an adjustment,” “wherein the medical device includes an autoinjector or a syringe,” “wherein preparing the product during the supply chain process includes one or more of manufacturing, assembling, testing, sterilizing, packaging, labeling or marking, storing, shipping, selling, or delivering the product,” “wherein the event is a first event occurring during a first stage of the supply chain process for preparing the product,” “further comprising: determining an occurrence of a second event during preparation of the product during a second stage of the supply chain process, wherein the second stage is different than the first stage of the supply chain process; and determining a second source in the supply chain process causing the occurrence of the second event, wherein the second source is different than the first source,” “identifying a second modification to an operation in the supply chain process to inhibit occurrences of the second event during subsequent preparations of the product in the supply chain process,” “wherein the change includes a structural change to the product, a change in a level of sterility of the product, or a change in a level of fluid stored in the product,” “wherein prior to determining the modification, the method comprises: determining the parameter applied to the product by the originating source during the occurrence of the event; comparing a value of the parameter to a threshold; and determining the modification in response to the value of the parameter exceeding the threshold, and forgoing determination of the modification in response to the value of the parameter not exceeding the threshold,” “wherein the product includes a device, a tool, a machine, an instrument, a mechanism, an appliance, a gadget, or an apparatus; performing operations in the supply chain process to prepare the product; and wherein the parameter includes a temperature, a pressure, a force, a velocity, a light intensity, a fluid level, an impedance, a compression, a vibration, a shock, a tilt, or a rotation experienced by the product during the event,” “wherein preparing the product during the supply chain process includes one or more of manufacturing, assembling, testing, sterilizing, packaging, labeling or marking, storing, shipping, selling, or delivering the product,” “wherein the change to the product includes a structural change, a change in a level of sterility, or a change in a level of fluid stored in the product,” “wherein prior to identifying the modification, the method comprises: comparing the parameter to a threshold; and identifying the modification when the parameter exceeds the threshold, and forgoing identification of the modification when the parameter does not exceed the threshold,” “wherein preparing the product during the supply chain process includes one or more of manufacturing, assembling, testing, sterilizing, packaging, labeling or marking, storing, shipping, selling, or delivering the product; and performs operations in the supply chain process for preparing the product,” “wherein the change to the product includes a structural change, a change in a level of sterility, or a change in a level of fluid stored in the product,” however, these limitations fall under the same “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and “Mental Processes” abstract idea groupings by describing additional details for organizing human activity and mental activity that can be accomplished via human observation, judgment, or evaluation. The additional elements recited in the dependent claims include: the source including the instrumentation (claim 3), a sensing device (claim 4), a remote processor that is communicatively coupled to the sensing device (claim 5), wherein the sensing device includes an accelerometer, a gyro sensor, a temperature probe, a pressure sensor, a fluid level sensor, a vaporized hydrogen peroxide (VHP) sensor, a photometer sensor, a photodetector, or a chemical sensor (claim 8), the instrumentation includes a surface, a tool, an assembly, a machinery, an equipment, or a system (claim 9), the originating source includes the instrumentation for manufacturing the medical device, such that identifying the modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation includes an adjustment to computer-executable instructions defining the automated operation of the instrumentation (claim 10), the originating source of the event is a first source (claim 13), a second instrumentation, wherein the second source includes the second instrumentation (claim 15), wherein the instrumentation includes a surface, a tool, an assembly, a machinery, an equipment, or a system (claim 19), wherein the instrumentation includes a surface, a tool, an assembly, a machinery, an equipment, or a system (claim 24). However, when evaluated under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B, these additional elements rely on generic computing elements or software for generally linking the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, which does not amount to a practical application. MPEP 2106.05(g)/(h). Under Step 2B, the use of such generic computing elements has been recognized by courts as insufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. See, Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. 2347, 110 USPQ2d 1976; Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQe2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015). Next, the step for transmitting is considered insignificant extra-solution activity, which has been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional, and thus insufficient to add significantly more to the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(d).
The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Accordingly, the subject matter encompassed by the dependent claims fails to amount to a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
For more information, see MPEP 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
32. Claims 1, 9, 12-13, 17, 19-20, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iskandar et al., Pub. No.: US 2017/0343999 A1, [hereinafter Iskandar], in view of Brown et al., Pub. No.: US 2003/0147770 A1, [hereinafter Brown], in further view of Hsu, Pub. No.: US 2017/0032281 A1, [hereinafter Hsu].
As per claim 1, Iskandar teaches a method for identifying an event during a supply chain process (paragraphs 0016, 0017, 0079), comprising:
preparing a product during the supply chain process based on an automated operation of an instrumentation configured for preparing the product (paragraph 0002, discussing that manufacturing facilities across many different industries are responsible for producing products that are used in every facet of life; paragraph 0018, discussing monitoring a plurality of runs of a plurality of recipes for fabricating one or more devices within a manufacturing environment; paragraph 0024, discussing that a software component monitors a plurality of runs of a recipe for fabricating one or more semiconductor devices within a manufacturing environment and collects runtime data from a plurality of sensors within the manufacturing environment; paragraph 0025, discussing that each recipe can include multiple distinct steps that are executed in order to manufacture the product; paragraph 0039);
determining an occurrence of the event during preparation of the product pursuant to the automated operation during the supply chain process, wherein the event causes a change to the product rendering the product inoperable for use (paragraph 0006, discussing that problems can periodically arise in manufacturing environments that result in faulty runs of the product being manufactured. For example, equipment failures can result in a product being manufactured outside of a designated range of tolerances, rendering the manufactured product inoperable or unsuitable for its intended purposes; paragraph 0019, discussing that production flows within manufacturing facilities are often uncertain, loading within the manufacturing facilities can change frequently (e.g., due to equipment failures, processing speeds of different tools, etc.), different products can require different amounts of resources, and so on. Additionally, problems can occur within the manufacturing environment, resulting in faulty, unsuitable or otherwise less desirable manufactured products. For example, worn parts within the manufacturing equipment, gas leaks, and the like can all negatively impact the products being manufactured; paragraph 0020, discussing determining that a problem has occurred within the manufacturing environment (e.g., resulting in defective products being manufactured); paragraph 0029, discussing that the data model could specify that a particular temperature sensor within the manufacturing environment reaching or exceeding a predefined level is indicative of a faulty run; paragraph 0031, discussing that the software component could classify the subsequent run of the recipe into one of multiple groups (e.g., good run, faulty run, etc.) through the use of compressed sensor data; paragraph 0036, discussing a fault detection component. In one embodiment, the fault detection component is configured to generate a data model by analyzing compressed historical recipe run data and to use such a data model for detecting anomalous runs of the recipe (e.g., good, faulty, etc.); paragraph 0037, discussing that the data model could specify conditions for multiple sensors within the manufacturing environment that, when satisfied by sensor readings from a current run, are indicative of a particular anomalous classification for the current run (e.g., a faulty run); paragraph 0039, discussing that a particular rate of temperature increase detected by a particular sensor could be indicative of a faulty run…; paragraph 0044, discussing that the fault detection component can be configured to generate a data model from the compressed sensor data for use in detecting anomalous runs of a recipe);
determining an originating source of the event in the supply chain process (paragraph 0006, discussing that problems can periodically arise in manufacturing environments that result in faulty runs of the product being manufactured. For example, equipment failures can result in a product being manufactured outside of a designated range of tolerances, rendering the manufactured product inoperable or unsuitable for its intended purposes; paragraph 0019, discussing that problems can occur within the manufacturing environment, resulting in faulty, unsuitable or otherwise less desirable manufactured products. For example, worn parts within the manufacturing equipment, gas leaks, and the like can all negatively impact the products being manufactured; paragraph 0020, discussing determining that a problem has occurred within the manufacturing environment (e.g., resulting in defective products being manufactured) …further disusing determine the source of the problem; paragraph 0030, discussing that the data model could describe a relative importance of each of a plurality of sensor types of the plurality of sensors in indicating the respective group. For example, the data model could indicate that while the temperature sensor data reaching or exceeding the predefined level is indicative of a particular classification, a gas sensor detecting a gas leak of a particular type of gas is greatly indicative of the particular classification; paragraph 0029, discussing specifying that a particular temperature sensor within the manufacturing environment reaching or exceeding a predefined level is indicative of a particular classification of run (e.g., a faulty run); paragraphs 0037, 0039); and
identifying a modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation in the supply chain process to inhibit occurrences of the event rendering the product inoperable for use during subsequent preparations of the product in the supply chain process (paragraph 0047, discussing that upon classifying the subsequent run as a faulty run, the fault detection component could determine one or more maintenance operations that have historically influenced the classification of runs of the recipe within the manufacturing environment from the faulty group into normal group. For example, for a particular type of faulty run, the fault detection component could access predefined data describing maintenance operations that have historically been performed to correct the fault(s) causing runs to be classified as the particular type of faulty run. The fault detection component could then initiate the performance of the one or more maintenance operations within the manufacturing environment, without requiring user interaction [i.e., identifying a modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation in the supply chain process]. For example, the one or more maintenance operations could include (i) an auto-calibration operation for one or more pieces of equipment within the manufacturing environment and (ii) initiating a run of a maintenance recipe, distinct from the recipe, within the manufacturing environment. Doing so enables the fault detection component to perform automated maintenance operations to correct problems within the manufacturing environment, without requiring user intervention, improving the performance of the manufacturing environment itself).
While Iskandar teaches determining an occurrence of the event during preparation of the product pursuant to the automated operation, it does not explicitly teach that the determining is in response to a parameter being applied to the product by the instrumentation during the supply chain process; wherein the originating source includes the instrumentation that applied the parameter to the product during the event; and identifying a modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation in the supply chain process that adjusts application of the parameter by the instrumentation, wherein the modification is directed to a characteristic of the originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during the subsequent preparations. Brown in the analogous art of product management systems teaches:
determining an occurrence of the event during preparation of the product pursuant to the automated operation in response to a parameter being applied to the product during the supply chain process (paragraph 0126, discussing that the system is able to measure the pressure of the fluid flow at the input and the output of the treatment chamber, as well as monitor any changes in the temperature of the fluid flow due to the light treatment. It is noted that Xenon gas flashlamps and other pulsed light sources may generate significant heat, which may increase the temperature of the fluid. Thus, depending on the sensitivity to heat of the fluid being tested, the fluence of the light source may be adjusted in response to the measurements taken by the pressure transducers and thermocouples; paragraph 0406, discussing that the control system uses feedback from use to implement the settings, or to fine tune the settings during use, or to maintain the settings throughout the test or treatment. In some embodiments, the control system operates fully automatically…; paragraph 0413, discussing that the control system is a computer-based system that inputs settings as desired by the user and automatically implements these settings for the appropriate test or treatment. The system uses feedback from use to initialize and implement the settings; paragraph 0197, discussing that with some products that are treated, such shifts in the absorption profile indicate when a product is overtreated. Particularly with sensitive biological fluid products, too much light treatment damages the product itself. For example, in blood products, such as BSA, the absorption of wavelengths around 320 nm increases as proteins within the product are damaged. With careful monitoring of the absorption profile by being able to simultaneously measure the fluence at each wavelength across the spectrum of light and generate real time absorption profiles, overtreatment of a product may be avoided; paragraph 0385, discussing that the viscosity of the fluid product also affects the variances in particle flows across the thickness of the treatment chamber. The mass flow rate of the fluid is another factor. For example, altering the velocity at which a fluid is flowed through the treatment chamber may affects the variances in particle flow velocities within the fluid flow; paragraph 0397, discussing that the mass flow rate is adjusted such that the particular velocity is increased or decreased to better match the flash rate. In another example, the viscosity of the fluid product is adjusted. Furthermore, the flash rate and one or more of the fluid viscosity, the treatment chamber thickness or the mass flow rate may be adjusted together; paragraph 0426, discussing that once the product to be treated is flowing, the parameters of the light treatment are again checked. Thus, measurements of the fluence across multiple wavelengths of the light treatment illuminating the product and transmitting through the product are measured. Again, this calibration data is input to the calibration data input module and analyzed by the analysis module of the control software. If need be, additional adjustments may be made in response to the measurements to ensure uniform treatment due to changes in the system or changes in properties of the fluid product, such as concentration may be changing); and
identifying a modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation in the supply chain process that adjusts application of the parameter (paragraph 0413, discussing that the system uses feedback from use to initialize and implement the settings, or to fine tune the settings during use, or to maintain the settings throughout the test or treatment. The system operates fully automatically in response to initial user input. Additionally, the system stores all test data and performs analysis of the results; paragraph 0327, discussing that the fluence level of a light treatment for treating a product is adjustable by an automatic adjustment of the distance of the light source to a product to be treated. In one embodiment, the steps may be performed by the apparatus in use within a treatment system using light as described…; paragraph 0342, discussing that the fluence level of the light treatment is adjusted over time (during the flowing) as the initial property of the fluid product changes in order to maintain a preselected level of treatment. In preferred embodiments, the adjustment is an automatic adjustment is response to system measurements and/or light treatment measurements. In many embodiments, the fluence level is adjusted by automatically adjusting a distance from the one or more light sources providing the light treatment to the product, such as variously described herein. Advantageously, by adjusting the distance of the light source(s) to the product, the fluence is uniformly adjusted across the spectrum of wavelengths of the light treatment; paragraph 0343, disusing that a control signal is sent to the actuator assemblies to control the flow of fluid product and buffer fluid appropriately. Any of the controller devices described may be configured to analyze light treatment measurements and automatically cause changes in the concentration of the fluid product. A system implementing such a controller should have one or more light sources, a treatment chamber for flowing the fluid product, one or more detectors to measure a portion of the light treatment, a controller, and means to adjust the concentration of the fluid product within the fluid flow; paragraph 0409, discussing that the control system receives calibration data, e.g., measurements taken during use in order to implement or maintain the system settings. For example, before a product is flowed through the treatment zone and illuminated, the treatment zone is illuminated with a flash of light. In preferred embodiments, a spectrometer is used to determine measurements of the fluence and spectrum of the emitted light, which are fed back to the control system of the computer operating system/user interface to verify the proper parameters and to make the necessary changes to implement the proper settings….In some applications, particularly in applications treating sensitive biological products, precise treatment is required in order to achieve the proper inoculation level without damaging the fluid product itself; paragraph 0417, discussing that all implementation of user inputs is automated, i.e., the user does not make any manual adjustments to implement the settings. Further in contrast to known control systems for light treatment devices, feedback measurements are used to verify and fine tune such settings automatically).
Iskandar is directed toward a system and method for fault detection for manufacturing environments. Brown relates to product management systems. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward product management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Iskandar with Brown because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for product monitoring and management, which falls within applicant's field of endeavor (systems and methods for identifying occurrence of an event), and because modifying Iskandar to include Brown’s features for determining an occurrence of the event during preparation of the product pursuant to the automated operation in response to a parameter being applied to the product during the supply chain process and identifying a modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation in the supply chain process that adjusts application of the parameter, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of not to damage the products since they may be unusable if damaged too much, and determining the optimal set of parameters that will effectively treat a given product (Brown at paragraphs 0009, 0411); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
The Iskandar-Brown combination does not explicitly teach a parameter being applied to the product by the instrumentation during the supply chain process; wherein the originating source includes the instrumentation that applied the parameter to the product during the event; and adjusts application of the parameter by the instrumentation, wherein the modification is directed to a characteristic of the originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during the subsequent preparations. However, Hsu in the analogous art of manufacturing systems teaches these concepts. Hsu teaches:
a parameter being applied to the product by the instrumentation during the supply chain process (paragraph 0071, discussing that the one or more sensors may be positioned throughout the welding station (a/k/a weld cell) to measure and collect welding data, which may be used for weld production knowledge purposes. For instance, the one or more sensors may be positioned adjacent the weld and/or operable to capture one or more attributes of a weld (e.g., physical features of the weld) and/or one or more parameters of the weld (e.g., settings used when forming the weld), whether during fabrication of the weld or upon completion of the weld; paragraph 0111, discussing that the welding process data and the weld quality data may be organized such that certain welding data features are deemed to be indicative of, or representative of, one or more of set points; set conditions; fault classification; and/or quality classifications; paragraph 0121);
wherein the originating source includes the instrumentation that applied the parameter to the product during the event (paragraph 0071, discussing that the one or more sensors may be positioned throughout the welding station (a/k/a weld cell) to measure and collect welding data, which may be used for weld production knowledge purposes. For instance, the one or more sensors may be positioned adjacent the weld and/or operable to capture one or more attributes of a weld (e.g., physical features of the weld) and/or one or more parameters of the weld (e.g., settings used when forming the weld), whether during fabrication of the weld or upon completion of the weld. The one or more sensors or transducers may include any sensor useful in identifying defects, or measuring attributes/parameters, of a weld in a weldment. Examples of suitable sensors include, without limitation, current/LEM sensor, voltage and power sensors/calorimeter, encoders, photodiodes, cameras, microphones, seam finders, temperature sensors (e.g., positioned inside the welding equipment, or on the work piece), infrared (IR) detectors, proximity sensors, laser ranging and scanning devices, pressure sensors, inertial sensors, humidity sensors, airflow sensors,…, etc. In certain aspects, some of the one or more sensors may be integral with, or coupled to, the welding equipment and configured to measure and/or provide, for example, the arc current, wire drive current, arc voltage, power source input line voltage, tracker output, switch mode power source, pulse width modulation pulse width, or another parameter of the welding equipment. In certain aspects, the output from the one or more sensors may be stored to a non-transitory medium for later analysis, where the data may be communicated in batches to a remote analytics system; paragraph 0073, discussing that the fault classification may include one or more of, for example, torch fault, wire fault, gas fault, weld cable fault, communications fault, sensor fault, robot fault, fixture fault, safety device fault, power supply fault, wire feeder fault, chiller or cooler fault, reamer fault, tool changer fault, etc. In certain aspects, a tree of specific fault classifications can be provided under each system component; paragraph 0117, discussing that the analytics computing platform's centralized weld production knowledge system allows the fabricator, or a third party (e.g., service provider to the fabricator), to remotely monitor and/or manage one or more welding systems (or welding equipment). For example, machine learning analysts and weld engineers may be situated at a remote analyst labor center with access to the analytics computing platform…Weld engineers at the Labor Center may remotely query the weld data stores, accessing the weld process data, as well as corresponding weld quality data at the big data analytics computing platform, and remotely perform welding engineering tasks such as identifying the root cause of porosity, lack of fusion or solidification cracking; paragraph 0120, discussing indicating any equipment fault classification and/or quality classification; paragraph 0121, discussing that the welding equipment may be configured to report programmed set points and set up conditions to the analytics computing platform with traceability to the weldments. Monitored aspects may include, but are not limited to: arc start performance, arc stability, spatter and fume level, liner monitor, weld cable life monitor, contact tip life monitor, shielding gas leak monitor, wire quality monitor, penetration monitor, interpass temperature and cooling rate monitor, surface contamination and coating monitor, etc.; paragraphs 0127, discussing that the weld production knowledge system determines whether there has been a fault based at least in part on the processed raw process signals. In instances where there is a fault (e.g., by the robot), the process proceeds to step 718; paragraph 0132, discussing that at step 718, the fault code associated with the detected fault from steps 708 is recorded into the “y.”); and
adjusts application of the parameter by the instrumentation (paragraph 0094, discussing that one object of machine learning is to simplify the weld parameter programming to achieve certain desired weld bead and penetration profile. This objective was exemplified by Miller Electric “AutoSet” feature on some of its products, such as Millermatic. Instead of programming the welding equipment with conventional voltage and current, Auto-Set allows programming by plate thickness. In more complicated welding such as, pulse welding, up to, for example, 3 dozen weld parameters is meticulously programmed by a welding expert through experience and experimentation…The neural network output comes from the welding process parameters in the robot weld cell. Tagged weld geometry vectors x1 and x2 and tagged weld process parameter vector y1 will be pre-processed to provide training sets in back-propagation neural net training; and validation sets and test sets to assess the training errors. Once the neural network is trained with acceptable error, it may be used for programming the welding equipment to achieve the desired weld profile: user interface 238 in FIG. 2 may display a web page served out of Analytics computing platform(s) that runs the “Weld parameter prediction” virtual machine. The web page may comprise a weld profile similar to 408Eb in FIG. 4e for user to draw or specify a desired weld geometrical shape and size, and a button to generate the conventional weld parameters such as volts and amps. Another machine learning method could be flipping the inputs and outputs shown in FIG. 4e. In other words, weld parameters (x1, tag) and weld conditions (x2, tag) will be input and weld geometry will be output (y1, y2, tag)…Other conditions could be weldment surface condition, weldment material chemistry data, welding consumables data, etc. The model will predict weld geometry based on weld parameters…The web page may comprise a graphical representation of the weld macro similar to 408Eb in FIG. 4e to show user what the expected weld looks like with the weld parameters programmed in the welding equipment. The user may play out “what-if” scenarios to see possible parameter optimization routes. For example, the user may change the gap size of the joint and see the effect on the bead profile. Although FIG. 4e only illustrates two dimensional weld measurements (bead profile and penetration profile), other dimensions may be measured and used for machine learning, e.g., spatter level, distortion, residual stress, microstructure, hardness, mechanical properties of the weld, discoloration, surface blemish, etc.; paragraph 0112, discussing that the tooling or fixture may wear out over time, thus causing drift. The parameters in the weld production knowledge machine learning algorithms may adapt and compensate for the drift),
wherein the modification is directed to a characteristic of the originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during the subsequent preparations.(paragraph 0092, discussing that an objective is to identify conditions from welding process signals out of the sensors and welding equipment to predict when failure or fault may occur, prior to its happening, so that PM or preventative maintenance may be optimized and downtime may be minimized. FIG. 4d illustrates an operator interface to capture data, which may be provided via operator interface for service or maintenance personnel or robot operator to log the service event. The operator interface may be a screen on robot teach pendent, which may be positioned in each robot cell (e.g., at welding cell) or shared among a group of welding cells in a production line…; paragraph 0109, discussing that the analytics computing platform, of which multiple may be provided/available, may include any system configured to receive, control, manage, monitor, and/or otherwise use, data sent to (or from) the welding equipment, including, without limitation, welding information management systems and/or weld production knowledge systems and/or preventative/predictive maintenance (PPM) and condition-based maintenance (CBM) systems and/or human operator performance taxonomy and skill training systems (for example correlate weld results to operator ID as an input feature in the hypothesis) and/or production control systems (for example correlate an upstream pre-weld stamping operation change to a change in weld quality)).
The Iskandar-Brown combination describes features related to supply chain and product management. Hsu is directed toward process monitoring systems. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward monitoring systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Iskandar-Brown combination with Hsu because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for supply chain management, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (supply chain management system), and because modifying the Iskandar-Brown combination to include Hsu’s features for including a parameter being applied to the product by the instrumentation during the supply chain process, wherein the originating source includes the instrumentation that applied the parameter to the product during the event; and adjusts application of the parameter by the instrumentation, wherein the modification is directed to a characteristic of the originating source for minimizing a value of the parameter experienced by the product during the subsequent preparations, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of providing a more cost effective manner to address any issues (Hsu at paragraph 0059); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 9, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination teaches the method of claim 1. Iskandar further teaches wherein: the product includes a device, a tool, a machine, an instrument, a mechanism, an appliance, a gadget, or an apparatus (paragraph 0002, discussing that manufacturing facilities across many different industries are responsible for producing products that are used in every facet of life; paragraph 0018, discussing monitoring a plurality of runs of a plurality of recipes for fabricating one or more devices within a manufacturing environment; paragraph 0024, discussing that a software component monitors a plurality of runs of a recipe for fabricating one or more semiconductor devices within a manufacturing environment and collects runtime data from a plurality of sensors within the manufacturing environment); and
the instrumentation includes a surface, a tool, an assembly, a machinery, an equipment, or a system responsible for performing operations in the supply chain process to prepare the product (paragraph 0003, discussing that the semiconductor manufacturing production process is generally divided into two parts, “front-end” and “back-end,” both of which use different types of semiconductor manufacturing equipment. Front-end typically refers to wafer fabrication. For example, front-end manufacturing facilities generally start with blank semiconductor wafers (e.g., silicon wafers) and perform various processes, such as photolithography, deposition, etching, cleaning, ion implantation, chemical and mechanical polishing, etc., to fabricate a completed wafer with many semiconductor die on the wafer. Back-end typically refers to the assembly and testing of individual semiconductor devices. For example, once the front-end production process is completed, the completed wafers are transferred to a back-end manufacturing facility, which typically performs functions such as dicing the completed wafer into individual semiconductor die, testing, assembly, packaging, etc.; paragraph 0006, discussing that equipment failures can result in a product being manufactured outside of a designated range of tolerances, rendering the manufactured product inoperable or unsuitable for its intended purposes; paragraph 0047, discussing that the one or more maintenance operations could include (i) an auto-calibration operation for one or more pieces of equipment within the manufacturing environment; paragraph 0034).
As per claim 12, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination teaches the method of claim 9. Iskandar further teaches wherein preparing the product during the supply chain process includes one or more of manufacturing, assembling, testing, sterilizing, packaging, labeling or marking, storing, shipping, selling, or delivering the product (paragraph 0002, discussing that manufacturing facilities across many different industries are responsible for producing products that are used in every facet of life; paragraph 0003, discussing that each manufacturing environment is unique and extremely complex, often requiring immense amounts of capital for the necessary equipment, tools, facilities, etc. In semiconductor manufacturing environments, for example, the semiconductor manufacturing production process is generally divided into two parts, “front-end” and “back-end,” both of which use different types of semiconductor manufacturing equipment. Front-end typically refers to wafer fabrication. For example, front-end manufacturing facilities generally start with blank semiconductor wafers and perform various processes to fabricate a completed wafer with many semiconductor die on the wafer. Back-end typically refers to the assembly and testing of individual semiconductor devices. For example, once the front-end production process is completed, the completed wafers are transferred to a back-end manufacturing facility, which typically performs functions such as dicing the completed wafer into individual semiconductor die, testing, assembly, packaging, etc.; paragraph 0018, discussing monitoring a plurality of runs of a plurality of recipes for fabricating one or more devices within a manufacturing environment; paragraph 0025, discussing that each recipe can include multiple distinct steps that are executed in order to manufacture the product).
As per claim 13, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination teaches the method of claim 1. Iskandar further teaches wherein the event is a first event occurring during a first stage of the supply chain process for preparing the product, and the originating source is a first source in the supply chain process for preparing the product at the first stage (paragraph 0006, discussing that problems can periodically arise in manufacturing environments that result in faulty runs of the product being manufactured. For example, equipment failures can result in a product being manufactured outside of a designated range of tolerances, rendering the manufactured product inoperable or unsuitable for its intended purposes; paragraph 0019, discussing that problems can occur within the manufacturing environment, resulting in faulty, unsuitable or otherwise less desirable manufactured products. For example, worn parts within the manufacturing equipment, gas leaks, and the like can all negatively impact the products being manufactured; paragraph 0020, discussing determining that a problem has occurred within the manufacturing environment (e.g., resulting in defective products being manufactured); paragraph 0029, discussing that the data model could specify that a particular temperature sensor within the manufacturing environment reaching or exceeding a predefined level is indicative of a faulty run; paragraph 0030, discussing that the data model could describe a relative importance of each of a plurality of sensor types of the plurality of sensors in indicating the respective group. For example, the data model could indicate that while the temperature sensor data reaching or exceeding the predefined level is indicative of a particular classification, a gas sensor detecting a gas leak of a particular type of gas is greatly indicative of the particular classification; paragraph 0037, discussing that the data model could specify conditions for multiple sensors within the manufacturing environment that, when satisfied by sensor readings from a current run, are indicative of a particular anomalous classification for the current run (e.g., a faulty run); paragraph 0039, discussing that a particular rate of temperature increase detected by a particular sensor could be indicative of a faulty run…).
Claim 17 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 1, as discussed above. Further, as per claim 17 the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination teaches determining a modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation in the supply chain process that reduces the occurrence of the event in the supply chain process during subsequent preparations of the product, thereby reducing the occurrence of the change to the product (Iskandar, paragraph 0047, discussing that upon classifying the subsequent run as a faulty run, the fault detection component could determine one or more maintenance operations that have historically influenced the classification of runs of the recipe within the manufacturing environment from the faulty group into normal group. For example, for a particular type of faulty run, the fault detection component could access predefined data describing maintenance operations that have historically been performed to correct the fault(s) causing runs to be classified as the particular type of faulty run. The fault detection component could then initiate the performance of the one or more maintenance operations within the manufacturing environment, without requiring user interaction [i.e., identifying a modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation in the supply chain process]. For example, the one or more maintenance operations could include (i) an auto-calibration operation for one or more pieces of equipment within the manufacturing environment and (ii) initiating a run of a maintenance recipe, distinct from the recipe, within the manufacturing environment. Doing so enables the fault detection component to perform automated maintenance operations to correct problems within the manufacturing environment, without requiring user intervention, improving the performance of the manufacturing environment itself), but it does not explicitly teach determining a modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation in the supply chain process that adjusts application of the parameter. However, Brown in the analogous art of product management systems teaches this concept. Brown teaches:
determining a modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation in the supply chain process that adjusts application of the parameter (paragraph 0413, discussing that the system uses feedback from use to initialize and implement the settings, or to fine tune the settings during use, or to maintain the settings throughout the test or treatment. The system operates fully automatically in response to initial user input. Additionally, the system stores all test data and performs analysis of the results; paragraph 0327, discussing that the fluence level of a light treatment for treating a product is adjustable by an automatic adjustment of the distance of the light source to a product to be treated. In one embodiment, the steps may be performed by the apparatus in use within a treatment system using light as described…; paragraph 0342, discussing that the fluence level of the light treatment is adjusted over time (during the flowing) as the initial property of the fluid product changes in order to maintain a preselected level of treatment. In preferred embodiments, the adjustment is an automatic adjustment is response to system measurements and/or light treatment measurements. In many embodiments, the fluence level is adjusted by automatically adjusting a distance from the one or more light sources providing the light treatment to the product, such as variously described herein. Advantageously, by adjusting the distance of the light source(s) to the product, the fluence is uniformly adjusted across the spectrum of wavelengths of the light treatment; paragraph 0343, disusing that a control signal is sent to the actuator assemblies to control the flow of fluid product and buffer fluid appropriately. Any of the controller devices described may be configured to analyze light treatment measurements and automatically cause changes in the concentration of the fluid product. A system implementing such a controller should have one or more light sources, a treatment chamber for flowing the fluid product, one or more detectors to measure a portion of the light treatment, a controller, and means to adjust the concentration of the fluid product within the fluid flow; paragraph 0409, discussing that the control system receives calibration data, e.g., measurements taken during use in order to implement or maintain the system settings. For example, before a product is flowed through the treatment zone and illuminated, the treatment zone is illuminated with a flash of light. In preferred embodiments, a spectrometer is used to determine measurements of the fluence and spectrum of the emitted light, which are fed back to the control system of the computer operating system/user interface to verify the proper parameters and to make the necessary changes to implement the proper settings….In some applications, particularly in applications treating sensitive biological products, precise treatment is required in order to achieve the proper inoculation level without damaging the fluid product itself; paragraph 0417, discussing that all implementation of user inputs is automated, i.e., the user does not make any manual adjustments to implement the settings. Further in contrast to known control systems for light treatment devices, feedback measurements are used to verify and fine tune such settings automatically).
Iskandar is directed toward a system and method for fault detection for manufacturing environments. Brown relates to product management systems. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward product management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Iskandar with Brown because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for product monitoring and management, which falls within applicant's field of endeavor (systems and methods for identifying occurrence of an event), and because modifying Iskandar to include Brown’s feature for determining a modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation in the supply chain process that adjusts application of the parameter, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of not to damage the products since they may be unusable if damaged too much, and determining the optimal set of parameters that will effectively treat a given product (Brown at paragraphs 0009, 0411); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 19 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 9, as discussed above. As per claim 19, although not explicitly taught by Iskandar, Brown in the analogous art of product management systems teaches wherein the parameter includes a temperature, a pressure, a force, a velocity, a light intensity, a fluid level, an impedance, a compression, a vibration, a shock, a tilt, or a rotation experienced by the product during the event (paragraph 0126, discussing that the system is able to measure the pressure of the fluid flow at the input and the output of the treatment chamber, as well as monitor any changes in the temperature of the fluid flow due to the light treatment. It is noted that Xenon gas flashlamps and other pulsed light sources may generate significant heat, which may increase the temperature of the fluid. Thus, depending on the sensitivity to heat of the fluid being tested, the fluence of the light source may be adjusted in response to the measurements taken by the pressure transducers and thermocouples; paragraph 0413, discussing that the control system is a computer-based system that inputs settings as desired by the user and automatically implements these settings for the appropriate test or treatment…; paragraph 0197, discussing that with some products that are treated, such shifts in the absorption profile indicate when a product is overtreated. Particularly with sensitive biological fluid products, too much light treatment damages the product itself. For example, in blood products, such as BSA, the absorption of wavelengths around 320 nm increases as proteins within the product are damaged. With careful monitoring of the absorption profile by being able to simultaneously measure the fluence at each wavelength across the spectrum of light and generate real time absorption profiles, overtreatment of a product may be avoided; paragraph 0385, discussing that the viscosity of the fluid product also affects the variances in particle flows across the thickness of the treatment chamber. The mass flow rate of the fluid is another factor. For example, altering the velocity at which a fluid is flowed through the treatment chamber may affects the variances in particle flow velocities within the fluid flow; paragraph 0397, discussing that the mass flow rate is adjusted such that the particular velocity is increased or decreased to better match the flash rate. In another example, the viscosity of the fluid product is adjusted. Furthermore, the flash rate and one or more of the fluid viscosity, the treatment chamber thickness or the mass flow rate may be adjusted together; paragraph 0426, discussing that once the product to be treated is flowing, the parameters of the light treatment are again checked. Thus, measurements of the fluence across multiple wavelengths of the light treatment illuminating the product and transmitting through the product are measured. Again, this calibration data is input to the calibration data input module and analyzed by the analysis module of the control software. If need be, additional adjustments may be made in response to the measurements to ensure uniform treatment due to changes in the system or changes in properties of the fluid product, such as concentration may be changing).
Iskandar is directed toward a system and method for fault detection for manufacturing environments. Brown relates to product management systems. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward product management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Iskandar with Brown because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for product monitoring and management, which falls within applicant's field of endeavor (systems and methods for identifying occurrence of an event), and because modifying Iskandar to include Brown’s feature for including wherein the parameter includes a temperature, a pressure, a force, a velocity, a light intensity, a fluid level, an impedance, a compression, a vibration, a shock, a tilt, or a rotation experienced by the product during the event, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of not to damage the products since they may be unusable if damaged too much, and determining the optimal set of parameters that will effectively treat a given product (Brown at paragraphs 0009, 0411); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 20 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 12, as discussed above.
Claim 22 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 1, as discussed above. Further, as per claim 22 the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination teaches a method for identifying an event causing a change to a product during a supply chain process (Iskandar, paragraph paragraphs 0006, 0016, 0017, 0079).
Claim 24 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claims 9 and 12, as discussed above.
33. Claims 2, 3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iskandar in view of Brown, in view of Hsu, in further view of Hanebeck, Pub. No.: US 2021/0272037 A1, [hereinafter Hanebeck].
As per claim 2, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination teaches the method of claim 1, but it does not explicitly teach wherein determining the originating source of the event comprises identifying a location of the instrumentation within the supply chain process at which the event occurred. However, Hanebeck in the analogous art supply chain event management system teaches this concept (paragraph 0004, discussing a system for supply chain event management; paragraph 0075, discussing that events may be captured by devices or computers that are temporarily attached to a supply chain asset or material. Examples of temporary devices or computers may include, but are not limited to, wireless sensors to measure conditions such as shock, acceleration, deceleration, temperature, humidity or physical location. Other temporary devices may include, but are not limited to, RFID tag readers, barcode readers, BLE devices or other wireless devices that allow for the identification of items through the scan of a barcode or electronic tag. A temporary device or computer may be attached to materials being transported, to packaging materials, or to a supply chain asset. The data generated by temporary devices may be available immediately, or it may only become available after a period of time has passed; paragraph 0077, discussing that events that occur during a supply chain transaction and the resulting event data include, but are not limited to, a date, a time, a physical location, a supply chain asset identifier, a supply chain asset owner identifier, a supply chain asset operator identifier, a device identifier, a computer identifier, a material identifier,…, a location identifier, a device identifier).
The Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination describes features related to supply chain and product management. Hanebeck is directed toward a system for supply chain event management. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward product management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination with Hanebeck because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for supply chain management, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (supply chain management system), and because modifying the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination to include Hanebeck’s feature for including wherein determining the originating source of the event comprises identifying a location of the instrumentation within the supply chain process at which the event occurred, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of providing an effective way for all parties to access and view event data (Hanebeck at paragraph 0135); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 3, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination teaches the method of claim 1. Although not explicitly taught by the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination, Hanebeck in the analogous art of supply chain event management systems teaches wherein the characteristic of the originating source comprises a position of the instrumentation, a location of the instrumentation, or the automated operation of the instrumentation (paragraph 0004, discussing a system for supply chain event management; paragraph 0075, discussing that events may be captured by devices or computers that are temporarily attached to a supply chain asset or material. Examples of temporary devices or computers may include, but are not limited to, wireless sensors to measure conditions such as shock, acceleration, deceleration, temperature, humidity or physical location. Other temporary devices may include, but are not limited to, RFID tag readers, barcode readers, BLE devices or other wireless devices that allow for the identification of items through the scan of a barcode or electronic tag. A temporary device or computer may be attached to materials being transported, to packaging materials, or to a supply chain asset. The data generated by temporary devices may be available immediately, or it may only become available after a period of time has passed; paragraph 0077, discussing that events that occur during a supply chain transaction and the resulting event data include, but are not limited to, a date, a time, a physical location, a supply chain asset identifier, a supply chain asset owner identifier, a supply chain asset operator identifier, a device identifier, a computer identifier, a material identifier,…, a location identifier, a device identifier).
The Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination describes features related to supply chain and product management. Hanebeck is directed toward a system for supply chain event management. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward product management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination with Hanebeck because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for supply chain management, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (supply chain management system), and because modifying the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination to include Hanebeck’s feature for including wherein the characteristic of the originating source comprises a position of the instrumentation, a location of the instrumentation, or the automated operation of the instrumentation, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of providing an effective way for all parties to access and view event data (Hanebeck at paragraph 0135); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 7, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu-Hanebeck combination teaches the method of claim 3. Although not explicitly taught by Iskandar, Brown in the analogous art product management systems teaches wherein the parameter includes a temperature, a pressure, a force, a velocity, a light intensity, a fluid level, an impedance, a compression, a tilt, or a rotation experienced by the product during the event (paragraph 0126, discussing that the system is able to measure the pressure of the fluid flow at the input and the output of the treatment chamber, as well as monitor any changes in the temperature of the fluid flow due to the light treatment. It is noted that Xenon gas flashlamps and other pulsed light sources may generate significant heat, which may increase the temperature of the fluid. Thus, depending on the sensitivity to heat of the fluid being tested, the fluence of the light source may be adjusted in response to the measurements taken by the pressure transducers and thermocouples; paragraph 0413, discussing that the control system is a computer-based system that inputs settings as desired by the user and automatically implements these settings for the appropriate test or treatment…; paragraph 0197, discussing that with some products that are treated, such shifts in the absorption profile indicate when a product is overtreated. Particularly with sensitive biological fluid products, too much light treatment damages the product itself. For example, in blood products, such as BSA, the absorption of wavelengths around 320 nm increases as proteins within the product are damaged. With careful monitoring of the absorption profile by being able to simultaneously measure the fluence at each wavelength across the spectrum of light and generate real time absorption profiles, overtreatment of a product may be avoided; paragraph 0385, discussing that the viscosity of the fluid product also affects the variances in particle flows across the thickness of the treatment chamber. The mass flow rate of the fluid is another factor. For example, altering the velocity at which a fluid is flowed through the treatment chamber may affects the variances in particle flow velocities within the fluid flow; paragraph 0397, discussing that the mass flow rate is adjusted such that the particular velocity is increased or decreased to better match the flash rate. In another example, the viscosity of the fluid product is adjusted. Furthermore, the flash rate and one or more of the fluid viscosity, the treatment chamber thickness or the mass flow rate may be adjusted together; paragraph 0426, discussing that once the product to be treated is flowing, the parameters of the light treatment are again checked. Thus, measurements of the fluence across multiple wavelengths of the light treatment illuminating the product and transmitting through the product are measured. Again, this calibration data is input to the calibration data input module and analyzed by the analysis module of the control software. If need be, additional adjustments may be made in response to the measurements to ensure uniform treatment due to changes in the system or changes in properties of the fluid product, such as concentration may be changing).
Iskandar is directed toward a system and method for fault detection for manufacturing environments. Brown relates to product management systems. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward product management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Iskandar with Brown because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for product monitoring and management, which falls within applicant's field of endeavor (systems and methods for identifying occurrence of an event), and because modifying Iskandar to include Brown’s feature for including wherein the parameter includes a temperature, a pressure, a force, a velocity, a light intensity, a fluid level, an impedance, a compression, a tilt, or a rotation experienced by the product during the event, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of not to damage the products since they may be unusable if damaged too much, and determining the optimal set of parameters that will effectively treat a given product (Brown at paragraphs 0009, 0411); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
34. Claims 4-6, 8, 10-11, 18, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iskandar in view of Brown, in view of Hsu, in further view of Mirov, Pub. No.: US 2018/0165422 A1, [hereinafter Mirov].
As per claim 4, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination teaches the method of claim 1, but it does not explicitly teach wherein the product includes a sensing device configured to detect the parameter applied to the product during the occurrence of the event. However, Mirov in the analogous art supply chain management teaches this concept. Mirov teaches:
wherein the product includes a sensing device configured to detect the parameter applied to the product during the occurrence of the event (paragraph 0025, discussing that as shown in FIG. 2, the plunger head may include a number of components, including a transducer, a microcontroller, a power source, and an antenna (e.g., for near field communication (NFC)) or a transceiver. In some embodiments, the transceiver may include or incorporate an antenna. As shown in FIG. 2, the plunger head may also include a temperature sensor. The temperature sensor may be configured to measure a temperature of plunger head, which may be affected by the ambient temperature and/or temperature of medication. In some embodiments, additional or other sensors may be provided to measure one or more variables. In addition to temperature, examples of other variables include voltage, current, linear acceleration, angular acceleration, amplitude of sound, light intensity, and gas mixture. Examples of other types of sensors include an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a microphone, a light sensor, and a gas sensor; paragraph 0032, disusing that antenna or a transceiver may be used to communicate with a variety of remote devices (e.g., smart phones, glucose monitors, insulin pumps, computers, etc.). Plunger head may transmit the information via any suitable wireless communication method. For example, in some embodiments, plunger head may utilize radio data transmission, BLUETOOTH or (BLE), near field communication (NFC), infrared data transmission or other suitable method. In some embodiments, information may also be wirelessly transmitted from a remote device to plunger head via the antenna. For example, the date and time may be set by writing to microcontroller 26 via the wireless communication).
The Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination describes features related to supply chain and product management. Mirov is directed toward supply chain management. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward product management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination with Mirov because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for supply chain management, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (supply chain management system), and because modifying the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination to include Mirov’s feature for including wherein the product includes a sensing device configured to detect the parameter applied to the product during the occurrence of the event, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of enabling products to benefit from enhanced functionality and/or reliability (Mirov at paragraph 0004); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 5, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu-Mirov combination teaches the method of claim 4. Although not explicitly taught by the Iskandar-Brown combination, Mirov in the analogous art supply chain management teaches wherein prior to identifying the modification, the method comprises: transmitting the parameter to a remote processor that is communicatively coupled to the sensing device, wherein the remote processor is configured to determine a value of the parameter (paragraph 0008, discussing periodically measuring the at least one variable using the sensor; paragraph 0025, discussing that as shown in FIG. 2, the plunger head may include a number of components, including a transducer, a microcontroller, a power source, and an antenna (e.g., for near field communication (NFC)) or a transceiver. In some embodiments, the transceiver may include or incorporate an antenna. As shown in FIG. 2, the plunger head may also include a temperature sensor. The temperature sensor may be configured to measure a temperature of plunger head, which may be affected by the ambient temperature and/or temperature of medication. In some embodiments, additional or other sensors may be provided to measure one or more variables. In addition to temperature, examples of other variables include voltage, current, linear acceleration, angular acceleration, amplitude of sound, light intensity, and gas mixture. Examples of other types of sensors include an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a microphone, a light sensor, and a gas sensor; paragraph 0032, disusing that antenna or a transceiver may be used to communicate with a variety of remote devices (e.g., smart phones, glucose monitors, insulin pumps, computers, etc.). Plunger head may transmit the information via any suitable wireless communication method. For example, in some embodiments, plunger head may utilize radio data transmission, BLUETOOTH or (BLE), near field communication (NFC), infrared data transmission or other suitable method. In some embodiments, information may also be wirelessly transmitted from a remote device to plunger head via the antenna. For example, the date and time may be set by writing to microcontroller 26 via the wireless communication; paragraph 0050).
The Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination describes features related to supply chain and product management. Mirov is directed toward supply chain management. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward product management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination with Mirov because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for supply chain management, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (supply chain management system), and because modifying the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination to include Mirov’s feature for including wherein prior to identifying the modification, the method comprises: transmitting the parameter to a remote processor that is communicatively coupled to the sensing device, wherein the remote processor is configured to determine a value of the parameter, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of enabling products to benefit from enhanced functionality and/or reliability (Mirov at paragraph 0004); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 6, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu-Mirov combination teaches the method of claim 5. Although not explicitly taught by Iskandar-Brown combination, Mirov in the analogous art supply chain management teaches wherein prior to identifying the modification, the method comprises: comparing the value of the parameter to a threshold (paragraph 0044, discussing that the syringe may be reused to inject the remaining medication at least once after the first injection. In such cases, the syringe may be controlled to transition into the low-power operational state between injections. The syringe may be stored in the refrigerator between the injections, and the syringe may transition into the low-power operational state, for example, when the change in temperature is detected. Alternatively, the syringe may be stored outside the refrigerator between injections, and the syringe may transition into the low-power operational state, for example, when the measured acceleration is below a threshold amount; paragraph 0039); and
identifying the modification in response to the value of the parameter exceeding the threshold, and forgoing identification of the modification in response to the value of the parameter not exceeding the threshold (paragraph 0044, discussing that the syringe may be reused to inject the remaining medication at least once after the first injection. In such cases, the syringe may be controlled to transition into the low-power operational state between injections. The syringe may be stored in the refrigerator between the injections, and the syringe may transition into the low-power operational state, for example, when the change in temperature is detected. Alternatively, the syringe may be stored outside the refrigerator between injections, and the syringe may transition into the low-power operational state, for example, when the measured acceleration is below a threshold amount; paragraph 0039).
The Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination describes features related to supply chain and product management. Mirov is directed toward supply chain management. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward product management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination with Mirov because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for supply chain management, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (supply chain management system), and because modifying the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination to include Mirov’s feature for including wherein prior to identifying the modification, the method comprises: transmitting the parameter to a remote processor that is communicatively coupled to the sensing device, wherein the remote processor is configured to determine a value of the parameter, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of enabling products to benefit from enhanced functionality and/or reliability (Mirov at paragraph 0004); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 8, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu-Mirov combination teaches the method of claim 4. While Iskandar describes temperature sensors (paragraph 0021, discussing that a given manufacturing environment may include hundreds of sensors, each collecting sensor data over multiple steps of multiple runs of a recipe. Examples of such sensors include, without limitation, temperature sensors, gas detection sensors, laser and fiber optic sensors, camera sensors, and so on. Generally, any form of sensor suitable for collecting data within a manufacturing environment can be used, consistent with the disclosure; paragraph 0036, discussing collecting runtime data from a plurality of sensors, e.g., temperature sensors, gas detection sensors, laser and fiber optic sensors, camera sensors, and so on; paragraph 0029), Iskandar does not explicitly teach wherein the sensing device includes an accelerometer, a gyro sensor, a temperature probe, a pressure sensor, a fluid level sensor, a vaporized hydrogen peroxide (VHP) sensor, a photometer sensor, a photodetector, or a chemical sensor. However, Mirov in the analogous art supply chain management teaches this concept. Mirov teaches:
wherein the sensing device includes an accelerometer, a gyro sensor, a temperature probe, a pressure sensor, a fluid level sensor, a vaporized hydrogen peroxide (VHP) sensor, a photometer sensor, a photodetector, or a chemical sensor (paragraph 0025, discussing that as shown in FIG. 2, the plunger head may include a number of components, including a transducer, a microcontroller, a power source, and an antenna (e.g., for near field communication (NFC)) or a transceiver. In some embodiments, the transceiver may include or incorporate an antenna. As shown in FIG. 2, the plunger head may also include a temperature sensor. The temperature sensor may be configured to measure a temperature of plunger head, which may be affected by the ambient temperature and/or temperature of medication. In some embodiments, additional or other sensors may be provided to measure one or more variables. In addition to temperature, examples of other variables include voltage, current, linear acceleration, angular acceleration, amplitude of sound, light intensity, and gas mixture. Examples of other types of sensors include an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a microphone, a light sensor, and a gas sensor).
The Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination describes features related to supply chain and product management. Mirov is directed toward supply chain management. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward product management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination with Mirov because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for supply chain management, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (supply chain management system), and because modifying the Iskandar-Brown combination to include Mirov’s feature for including wherein the sensing device includes an accelerometer, a gyro sensor, a temperature probe, a pressure sensor, a fluid level sensor, a vaporized hydrogen peroxide (VHP) sensor, a photometer sensor, a photodetector, or a chemical sensor, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of enabling products to benefit from enhanced functionality and/or reliability (Mirov at paragraph 0004); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 10, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination teaches the method of claim 9. Iskandar further teaches such that identifying the modification to the automated operation of the instrumentation includes an adjustment to computer-executable instructions defining the automated operation of the instrumentation (paragraph 0047, discussing that upon classifying the subsequent run as a faulty run, the fault detection component could determine one or more maintenance operations that have historically influenced the classification of runs of the recipe within the manufacturing environment from the faulty group into normal group. For example, for a particular type of faulty run, the fault detection component could access predefined data describing maintenance operations that have historically been performed to correct the fault(s) causing runs to be classified as the particular type of faulty run. The fault detection component could then initiate the performance of the one or more maintenance operations within the manufacturing environment, without requiring user interaction.. For example, the one or more maintenance operations could include (i) an auto-calibration operation for one or more pieces of equipment within the manufacturing environment and (ii) initiating a run of a maintenance recipe, distinct from the recipe, within the manufacturing environment. Doing so enables the fault detection component to perform automated maintenance operations to correct problems within the manufacturing environment, without requiring user intervention, improving the performance of the manufacturing environment itself).
The Iskandar-Brown combination does not explicitly teach wherein the product includes a medical device and the originating source includes the instrumentation for manufacturing the medical device. However, Mirov in the analogous art supply chain management teaches this concept. Mirov teaches:
wherein the product includes a medical device and the originating source includes the instrumentation for manufacturing the medical device (paragraph 0026, discussing that the microcontroller may be programmed with instructions to control the overall operation of the components of plunger head 22; paragraph 0035, discussing that at manufacturing stage 410, the syringe is manufactured, assembled, and/or prepared for distribution to a storage facility. As shown in FIG. 4, manufacturing stage 410 may include a number of sub-stages. At a sub-stage 412, for example, plunger head 22 is formed using a molding process, which may involve pouring hot, liquid elastomer over the components to be embedded in plunger head 22 using a mold, etc. In other embodiments, 3-D printing or another additive manufacturing process may be used to form plunger head 22 by, for example, encapsulating the components in an elastomer or other material that forms plunger head 22; paragraph 0030).
The Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination describes features related to supply chain and product management. Mirov is directed toward supply chain management. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward product management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination with Mirov because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for supply chain management, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (supply chain management system), and because modifying the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination to include Mirov’s feature for including wherein the product includes a medical device and the originating source includes the instrumentation for manufacturing the medical device, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of enabling products to benefit from enhanced functionality and/or reliability (Mirov at paragraph 0004); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 11, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu-Mirov combination teaches the method of claim 10. Although not explicitly taught by the Iskandar-Brown combination, Mirov in the analogous art supply chain management teaches wherein the medical device includes an autoinjector or a syringe (paragraph 0035, discussing that at manufacturing stage 410, the syringe is manufactured, assembled, and/or prepared for distribution to a storage facility. As shown in FIG. 4, manufacturing stage 410 may include a number of sub-stages. At a sub-stage 412, for example, plunger head 22 is formed using a molding process, which may involve pouring hot, liquid elastomer over the components to be embedded in plunger head 22 using a mold, etc. In other embodiments, 3-D printing or another additive manufacturing process may be used to form plunger head 22 by, for example, encapsulating the components in an elastomer or other material that forms plunger head 22).
The Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination describes features related to supply chain and product management. Mirov is directed toward supply chain management. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward product management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination with Mirov because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for supply chain management, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (supply chain management system), and because modifying the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination to include Mirov’s feature for including wherein the medical device includes an autoinjector or a syringe, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of enabling products to benefit from enhanced functionality and/or reliability (Mirov at paragraph 0004); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 18 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 6, as discussed above. Further, as per claim 18, Although not explicitly taught by the Iskandar-Brown combination, Hsu in the analogous art of manufacturing systems teaches determining the parameter applied to the product by the originating source during the occurrence of the event (paragraph 0071, discussing that the one or more sensors may be positioned throughout the welding station (a/k/a weld cell) to measure and collect welding data, which may be used for weld production knowledge purposes. For instance, the one or more sensors may be positioned adjacent the weld and/or operable to capture one or more attributes of a weld (e.g., physical features of the weld) and/or one or more parameters of the weld (e.g., settings used when forming the weld), whether during fabrication of the weld or upon completion of the weld. The one or more sensors or transducers 236 may include any sensor useful in identifying defects, or measuring attributes/parameters, of a weld in a weldment. Examples of suitable sensors include, without limitation, current/LEM sensor, voltage and power sensors/calorimeter, encoders, photodiodes, cameras, microphones, seam finders, temperature sensors (e.g., positioned inside the welding equipment), infrared (IR) detectors, proximity sensors, laser ranging and scanning devices, pressure sensors, inertial sensors, humidity sensors, airflow sensors, inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensors,…, GPS, etc. In certain aspects, some of the one or more sensors 236 may be integral with, or coupled to, the welding equipment and configured to measure and/or provide, for example, the arc current, wire drive current, arc voltage, power source input line voltage, tracker output, switch mode power source, pulse width modulation pulse width, or another parameter of the welding equipment; paragraph 0111, discussing that the welding process data and the weld quality data may be organized such that certain welding data features are deemed to be indicative of, or representative of, one or more of set points; set conditions; fault classification; and/or quality classifications; paragraph 0121);
The Iskandar-Brown combination describes features related to supply chain and product management. Hsu is directed toward process monitoring systems. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward monitoring systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Iskandar-Brown combination with Hsu because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for supply chain management, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (supply chain management system), and because modifying the Iskandar-Brown combination to include Hsu’s feature for including determining the parameter applied to the product by the originating source during the occurrence of the event, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of providing a more cost effective manner to address any issues (Hsu at paragraph 0059); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 23 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 18, as discussed above.
35. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iskandar in view of Brown, in view of Hsu, in further view of Zhang et al., Pub. No.: US 2023/0185640 A1, [hereinafter Zhang].
As per claim 14, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination teaches the method of claim 13. Iskandar further teaches further comprising: determining an occurrence of a second event during preparation of the product during a second stage of the supply chain process, wherein the second stage is different than the first stage of the supply chain process (paragraph 0019, discussing that problems can occur within the manufacturing environment, resulting in faulty, unsuitable or otherwise less desirable manufactured products. For example, worn parts within the manufacturing equipment, gas leaks, and the like can all negatively impact the products being manufactured; paragraph 0020, discussing determining that a problem has occurred within the manufacturing environment (e.g., resulting in defective products being manufactured); paragraph 0029, discussing that the data model could specify that a particular temperature sensor within the manufacturing environment reaching or exceeding a predefined level is indicative of a faulty run; paragraph 0030, discussing that the data model could describe a relative importance of each of a plurality of sensor types of the plurality of sensors in indicating the respective group. For example, the data model could indicate that while the temperature sensor data reaching or exceeding the predefined level is indicative of a particular classification, a gas sensor detecting a gas leak of a particular type of gas is greatly indicative of the particular classification; paragraph 0037, discussing that the data model could specify conditions for multiple sensors within the manufacturing environment that, when satisfied by sensor readings from a current run, are indicative of a particular anomalous classification for the current run (e.g., a faulty run); paragraph 0039, discussing that the fault detection component is configured to consider the step of the recipe during which the additional runtime data was collected when comparing the additional runtime data with values in the data model. That is, each recipe can include multiple distinct steps that are executed in order to manufacture the product, and the fault detection component (or a monitoring system within the manufacturing environment) can record which step of the recipe a given unit of data was collected during. The fault detection component could then collect sensor data from the plurality of sensors during each step of the recipe, and could compare the collected sensor data with data within the model for the corresponding step of the recipe in order to classify the current run. For example, the data model could specify a rate of temperature increase for a particular sensor during a particular step of the recipe is indicative of a particular classification, and could specify a much lesser rate of temperature increase for the same sensor during a later step of the recipe is indicative of the same classification. As such, the fault detection component could classify a current run into a different group, depending on the step during which a particular sensor reading was taken. In other words, a particular rate of temperature increase detected by a particular sensor could be indicative of a good run during a certain step of the recipe, while the same rate of temperature increase detected by the same sensor could be indicative of a faulty run during another step [i.e., second stage] of the same recipe. By taking into account which step of the recipe the current production run is executing, embodiments can more accurately classify the current run of the recipe; paragraph 0003).
The Iskandar-Brown combination does not explicitly teach determining a second source in the supply chain process causing the occurrence of the second event, wherein the second source is different than the first source. However, Zhang in the analogous art of event monitoring systems teaches this concept. Zhang teaches:
determining a second source in the supply chain process causing the occurrence of the second event, wherein the second source is different than the first source (paragraph 0042, discussing that the metrics engine may provide one or more metrics service configured to support the definition, computation, and reporting of one or more metrics for consumption by a software application. As shown in FIG. 1, the software application may be a web-based application and/or a cloud-based application hosted at one or more data centers including, for example, a first data center, a second data center, and/or the like. The one or more metrics services may be event-driven in nature. That is, the one or more metrics services may be configured to compute and update metrics based on events occurring at one or more event sources including, for example, a first event source, a second event source, and/or the like).
The Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination describes features related to supply chain and product management. Zhang is directed toward event monitoring systems. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward event management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination with Zhang because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for supply chain management, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (supply chain management system), and because modifying the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination to include Zhang’s feature for including determining a second source in the supply chain process causing the occurrence of the second event, wherein the second source is different than the first source, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving performance (Zhang at paragraph 0040); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
36. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iskandar in view of Brown, in view of Hsu, in view of Zhang, in further view of De et al., Pub. No.: US 2019/0137982 A1, [hereinafter De].
As per claim 15, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu-Zhang combination teaches the method of claim 14. Although not explicitly taught by the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu-Zhang combination, De in the analogous art of product handling systems teaches further comprising: identifying a second modification to an operation of a second instrumentation in the supply chain process to inhibit occurrences of the second event during subsequent preparations of the product in the supply chain process, wherein the second source includes the second instrumentation (paragraph 0034, discussing that the set of controllers may use measurements from one or more sensors to control the operation of one or more actuators. A second set of controllers could be used to optimize the control logic or other operations performed by the first set of controllers. A third set of controllers could be used to perform additional functions; paragraph 0061, discussing that for reducing off-specification production, the iBATCH can monitor a golden batch, a cost of over quality, batch re-processing, etc. To monitor the golden batch, the iBATCH can track the current batch with the golden batch parameters and advise the user on key decisions it can take to make the current batch meet the golden batch trends. The golden batch parameters are parameters or indicators that suggest the product or process is performing optimally, where the optimal performance could be an acceptable threshold for a product or process. In certain embodiments, the iBATCH system monitors the golden batch parameters and can determine if a parameter can be adjusted automatically to improve the product or process. iBATCH can determine a root cause of a deviation of a batch trend against the golden batch trends and assist batch operators in making the right decision to recover the batch. Live tracking of critical batch parameters are used against a reference trend, such as a golden batch trend. Detection and alert deviation in batch performance can be detected early on and assist operators based on process knowledge, equipment knowledge, and historical knowledge on how to recover the batch. When the iBATCH can adjust operating controls to improve the parameter without requiring user assistance, the iBATCH can make the adjustments to components or controls of the manufacturing system; paragraph 0063, discussing that for reducing batch re-processing, iBATCH can provide actionable instructions to the user on how to recover a batch that has not met the quality standards. The iBATCH 305 can also proceed with the instructions when it is determined that a user's interaction is not necessary. In other words, when the iBATCH system determines a solution for reducing batch re-processing that does not require a user to perform a function outside the control of the system, iBATCH can take any necessary steps to automatically reduce the re-processing; paragraph 0098, discussing that the iBATCH system can send data or commands to the different section of the manufacturing system in order to correct and defects or irregularities. The iBATCH system also can operate the batch process to obtain a product level that meets the golden batch trends; paragraph 0084, discussing that as examples when a sudden breakdown of a heating jacket around a process reactor occurs, different design choices could include re-routing a current product from a first reactor to a second reactor by operating a sequence of valves; re-scheduling the batch that was planned on the line of the second reactor to a later point taking into account the planning and scheduling data; and based on the batch quality parameters and historical data to resolve similar the heating jacket problems, make a decision to wait for a threshold time, for example approximately 30 minutes, without having to impact the quality of the batch. The impacts of each of these alternatives can be provided as a process visualization to the user to take an informed decision; paragraph 0038).
The Iskandar-Brown-Hsu-Zhang combination describes features related to supply chain and product management. De relates to industrial process control and automation systems. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward product management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu-Zhang combination with De because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for supply chain management, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (supply chain management system), and because modifying the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu-Zhang combination to include De’s feature for including identifying a second modification to an operation of a second instrumentation in the supply chain process to inhibit occurrences of the second event during subsequent preparations of the product in the supply chain process, wherein the second source includes the second instrumentation, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of facilitating control over components in industrial plants (De at paragraph 0031); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
37. Claims 16, 21, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iskandar in view of Brown, in view of Hsu, in further view of Yamamoto, Pub. No.: US 2019/0035067 A1, [hereinafter Yamamoto].
As per claim 16, the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination teaches the method of claim 1. While Brown describes fluid product changes (paragraph 0016), the Iskandar-Brown combination does not explicitly teach wherein the change includes a structural change to the product, a change in a level of sterility of the product, or a change in a level of fluid stored in the product. However, Yamamoto in the analogous art of production management systems teaches this concepts. Yamamoto teaches:
wherein the change includes a structural change to the product, a change in a level of sterility of the product, or a change in a level of fluid stored in the product (paragraph 0007, discussing that in an actual production factory or the like, the importance of the image sometimes changes after some time. For example, in the case where a shape abnormality of a product is detected and the cause of the abnormality is change in the product shape due to malfunction of a processing machine, sometimes it is necessary to refer to images of the past; paragraph 0031, discussing that a workpiece or a production apparatus serves as the object. Whether the object is in the specific state is determined on the basis of, for example, a result of image processing performed on image data obtained by an image capturing portion. Examples of the specific state include a product being good or defective, and an operation being normal or abnormal. Particularly in the present exemplary embodiment, the object is an industrial product or a part that is being produced, an image of the object is captured by the image capturing portion for product quality inspection of the object, and image processing is performed on the image data thereof; paragraph 0153, discussing deviation of the state of the object that is a workpiece or a production apparatus detected by the sensors from a normal range as a trigger may be performed).
The Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination describes features related to supply chain and product management. Yamamoto relates to a production management system. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous references as they both are directed toward product management systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination with Yamamoto because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for supply chain management, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (supply chain management system), and because modifying the Iskandar-Brown-Hsu combination to include Yamamoto’s feature for including wherein the change includes a structural change to the product, a change in a level of sterility of the product, or a change in a level of fluid stored in the product, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of prevention of releasing a defective product (Yamamoto at paragraph 0077); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 21 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 16, as discussed above.
Claim 25 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 16, as discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wetsch et al., Pub. No.: US 2015/0378352 A1 – describes transmitting machine settings corresponding to packaging for the at least one item to the packaging machine to automatically adjust parameters for the machine.
Foster et al., Pub. No.: US 2024/0144135 A1 – describes systems and methods for risk processing of supply chain management system data.
B. Tomić, Branislav, and V. Spasojević Brkić. "Effective root cause analysis and corrective action process." Journal of Engineering Management and Competitiveness 1.1/2 (2011): 16-20 – describes that Root Cause Analysis and Corrective Action process are absolutely essential for the improvement of the quality management system and increasing the quality of the final product or service. With respect to the limitation “determining an originating source of the event in the supply chain process,” Tomić et al., describes identifying, detecting the cause and successfully rectifying the issues that have been experienced in any field of manufacturing systems.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Darlene Garcia-Guerra/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625