DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Pub No.: 20180055219 (“Lim et al.”) in view of 20230189985 ("Doherty et al.").
Regarding Claim 1, Lim et al. discloses a storage cabinet (10) defining a storage chamber, the storage cabinet (10) comprising:
a frame (11, 12, 13, 14) having a front end comprising:
a back panel (11) having a first end and a second end;
a first side panel (12) rotatably connected to the first end of the back panel (11) by at least one first panel hinge (23), the first side panel (12) comprising first vertically-extending hollow channel at the front end of the frame (hallow channel left side), and
a second side panel (12) rotatably connected to the second end of the back panel (11) by at least one second panel hinge (23), the second side panel (12) comprising second vertically-extending hollow channel at the front end of the frame (hallow channel right side) and
a top panel (13) connected to an upper end of the frame (11, 12, 13, 14);
a bottom panel (14) connected to a bottom end of the frame (11, 12, 13, 14);
a first door (61) rotatably connected to the first side panel (12) by at least one first door (61) hinge comprising a hinge component on an interior surface of the first door (61) coupled with the mounting plate (piano hinge plate, see Fig. 2) on the interior surface of the first side panel (12); and
a first door having an exterior surface and an interior surface opposite the exterior surface, wherein the interior surface faces toward and opposes the back panel in a closed position of the first door, the first door rotatably connected to the first side panel by at least one first door hinge,
a second door (61) rotatably connected to the second side panel (12) by at least one second door (61) hinge comprising a hinge component on an interior surface of the second door (61) coupled with the mounting plate (piano hinge plate, see Fig. 2) on the interior surface of the second side panel (12).
a second door having an exterior surface and an interior surface opposite the exterior surface, wherein the interior surface faces toward and opposes the back panel in a closed position of the second door, the second first door rotatably connected to the second side panel by at least one second door hinge.
Lim et al. discloses wherein the side (12) and rear panel (12); are joined by a first hinge mounting plate and the second door hinge plate mounting plate (piano hinge plate, see Fig. 2) on the interior surface of the first side panel (12) is attached to an interior-facing side of the rear vertically-extending hollow channels at each side but does not expressly disclose the door having first and second hinge attached the interior surface of the first and second vertically-extend in hallow channels.
Doherty et al. discloses a similar cabinet with a first door hinge mounting plate (left hinge at 104, as seen in Fig. 6A); attached to an interior-facing side of the first vertically-extending hollow channel(left side); a second door hinge mounting plate (right side hinge ) attached to an interior-facing side of the first vertically-extending hollow channel).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the first and second door hinge mounting plate could be mounted along an interior facing side of the first and second vertically-extending hallow channels, to order to provide a door with a concealed hinge, as an extra security measure, as is well known in the art to one of ordinary skill in the art as demonstrated by Doherty et al. As modified, the first door hinge mounting plate and a hinge component on an interior surface of the first door coupled with the first door hinge mounting plate on the interior surface of the first side panel; the second door hinge mounting plate and a hinge component on an interior surface of the second door coupled with the second door hinge mounting plate on the interior surface of the second side panel.
Regarding Claim 2, Lim et al. discloses wherein the back panel (11) comprises, wherein the first side panel (12) is rotatably connected to the first end extension panel by the at least one first panel hinge (23) and the second side panel (12) rotatably connected to the second end extension panel by the at least one second panel hinge (23) (As seen in Figs. 1-5). Lim et al. substantially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the back panel with a first and second extension panel.
Doherty et al. teaches a similar a similar invention with a first and second extension panel (50c, 50d) the projects forwardly of the interior surface.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the back panel could be configured with a first and second end extension panel similar to the one taught by Doherty et al, to provide a strong stable structure to mount the rear panel hinge so that side panels can easily pivot along the extension panel.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination discloses (Doherty et al.) wherein the back panel (11) comprises a rear panel defining the interior surface, and the first and second end extension panels are coupled to the rear panel and the first and second end extension panels extend perpendicularly to the rear panel.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination discloses (Doherty et al.) wherein the at least one first panel hinge (104) comprises a mortise hinge (flush fit hinge) comprising a first leaf coupled to an interior surface of the first end extension panel and a second leaf coupled to an interior surface of the first side panel (12), wherein the first leaf and the second leaf form a barrel that is received within a barrel slot formed in the first end extension panel. Doherty teaches it would be obvious to use any variety of hinge so that the respective side panels can pivot, one having skill in the art would know how to configure a mortise hinge for the extension panel.
Regarding Claim 5, Lim et al. discloses wherein the frame (11, 12, 13, 14) comprises a plurality of adjustable feet (62), each adjustable foot (62) including a base and a stem extending from the base, the base including an outer contact surface, wherein each stem is a threaded rod, and the frame (11, 12, 13, 14) comprises a threaded aperture cooperable with each threaded rod (via 14).
Regarding Claim 6, Lim et al. discloses wherein at least one of the top panel (13) and the bottom panel (14) comprises a pair of spaced, downwardly extending lateral side walls, each lateral side wall having a plurality of downwardly extending tabs (31), and wherein the first and second side panels (12) comprise a corresponding plurality of apertures (32) aligned with and receiving the plurality of downwardly extending tabs (31), with each one of the plurality of downwardly extending tabs (31) received in one of the plurality of apertures (32).
Regarding Claim 7, Lim et al. discloses wherein the plurality of apertures (32) are formed by closed loops on an interior surface of the top panel (13), wherein the loops extend in a front-to-back direction such that the apertures formed by the loops open in a top-to-bottom direction.
Regarding Claim 8, Lim et al. discloses wherein the top panel (13) comprises a front surface that is flush with a front edge of the first side panel (12) and a front edge of the second side panel (12) and the bottom panel (14) comprises a front surface that is flush with the front edge of the first side panel (12) and the front edge of the second side panel (12).
Regarding Claims 9, Lim et al. discloses wherein the frame (11, 12, 13, 14) comprises an at least partially hollow construction including:
a first vertically-extending hollow channel in the first side panel (12);
a second vertically-extending hollow channel in the second side panel (12);
a third vertically-extending hollow channel in the first end of the back panel (11);
a fourth vertically-extending hollow channel in the second end of the back panel (11); and a plurality of slots (43) formed in interior-facing sides of the first, second, third, and fourth vertically-extending hollow channels, the plurality of slots (43) configured to receive one or more shelf (41) clips (42) to support a shelf (41) within the storage chamber. Lim et al. discloses a side panel with hallow channels along the side frame, but does not disclose the back panel with a hallow channel in the same way.
Doherty et al. teaches a similar invention with vertically extending hallow channels
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the back panel could be configured with hallow channel along each side similar to the one taught by Lim et al. or Doherty et al, to provide a strong stable structure to mount the rear panel hinge so that side panels can easily pivot along the hallow channel.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination discloses (Lim et al.) discloses the frame (11, 12, 13, 14) comprises
a fifth vertically-extending hollow channel in the first side panel (12);
a sixth vertically-extending hollow channel in the second side panel (12);
wherein the first panel hinge (23) comprises a portion mounted on an interior-facing side of the fifth vertically-extending hollow channel and a portion mounted on an interior-facing side of the third vertically-extending hollow channel to rotatably connect the first side panel (12) and the first end of the back panel (11); and
wherein the second panel hinge (23) comprises a portion mounted on an interior-facing side of the sixth vertically-extending hollow channel and a portion mounted on an interior-facing side of the fourth vertically-extending hollow channel to rotatably connect the second side panel (12) and the second end of the back panel (11).
Regarding Claim 12, Lim et al. discloses wherein the frame (11, 12, 13, 14) comprises wherein the first panel hinge (23) comprises a first leaf mounted on an interior-facing side of the first vertically-extending hollow channel and a second leaf mounted on an interior-facing side of the second vertically-extending hollow channel to rotatably connect the first side panel (12) and the first end of the back panel (11); and
wherein the first leaf and the second leaf form a barrel that is received within a barrel slot formed in an interior edge of the second vertically-extending hollow channel. Lim et al. discloses a side panel with hallow channels along the side frame, but does not disclose the back panel with a third vertically extending hallow channel.
Doherty et al. teaches a similar invention with vertically extending hallow channels (50c, 50 d). It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the back panel could be configured with hallow channel along each side extension similar to the one taught by Lim et al or Doherty et al, to provide a strong stable structure to mount the rear panel hinge so that side panels can easily pivot along the hallow channel.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination discloses (Doherty et al.) discloses wherein the first and second door (61) hinges are at least one of concealed door hinges ([0044]) hinges are concealed as seen in Fig. and soft close door hinges.
Regarding Claim 15, Lim et al. discloses wherein a third door (61) rotatably connected to the first side panel (12); and a fourth door (61) rotatably connected to the second side panel (12).
Regarding Claim 16, Lim et al. discloses wherein comprising a third door (61) rotatably connected to the frame (11, 12, 13, 14) and a fourth door (61) rotatably connected to the frame (11, 12, 13, 14).
Regarding Claim 17, Lim et al. discloses wherein the frame (11, 12, 13, 14) comprises: an upper frame (11, 12, 13, 14) sub-assembly comprising the back panel (11), first side panel (12), and second side panel (12), wherein the back panel (11) is an upper back panel (11);
a lower frame (11, 12, 13, 14) sub-assembly comprising:
a lower back panel (11) having a first end and a second end;
a third side panel rotatably connected to the first end of the lower back panel (11) by at least one third panel hinge, the first side panel (12) comprising a mounting plate (piano hinge plate, see Fig. 2) on an interior surface of the third side panel; and
a fourth side panel rotatably connected to the second end of the lower back panel (11) by at least one fourth panel hinge, the second side panel (12) comprising a mounting plate (piano hinge plate, see Fig. 2) on an interior surface of the fourth side panel;
a third door (61) rotatably connected to the third side panel by at least one third door (61) hinge comprising a hinge component on an interior surface of the third door (61) coupled with the mounting plate (piano hinge plate, see Fig. 2) on the interior surface of the third side panel; and
a fourth door (61) rotatably connected to the fourth side panel by at least one fourth door (61) hinge comprising a hinge component on an interior surface of the fourth door (61) coupled with the mounting plate (piano hinge plate, see Fig. 2) on the interior surface of the fourth side panel; wherein the top panel (13) is connected to an upper end of the upper frame (11, 12, 13, 14) sub-assembly; and wherein the bottom panel (14) is connected to a bottom end of the lower frame (11, 12, 13, 14) sub-assembly.
Regarding Claim 18, Lim et al. discloses wherein a kit for assembling a storage cabinet (10) defining a storage chamber, the kit including:
a pre-assembled frame (11, 12, 13, 14) comprising:
a back panel (11) having an interior surface, a first end and a second end;
a first side panel (12) rotatably connected to the first end of the back panel (11) by at least one first panel hinge (23), the first side panel (12) comprising a first vertically-extending hollow channel (along the front left);
a second side panel (12) rotatably connected to the second end of the back panel (11) by at least one second panel hinge (23), the second side panel (12) comprising a second vertically-extending hollow channel (along the front right)
wherein the pre-assembled frame (11, 12, 13, 14) comprises a folded position in which the first and second side panels (12) are oriented substantially parallel to the interior surface of the back panel (11) and the interior-facing sides of the first and second vertically-extending hollow channels face the interior surface of the back panel, and an unfolded position in which the first and second side panel (12)s are oriented substantially orthogonally to the interior surface of the back panel (11);
a top wall (13) connectable to an upper end of the pre-assembled frame (11, 12, 13, 14) in the unfolded position;
a bottom wall connectable to a bottom end of the pre-assembled frame (11, 12, 13, 14) in the unfolded position;
a first door (61) rotatably connectable to the first side panel (12) by at least one first door (61) hinge comprising a hinge component on an interior surface of the first door (61) that is couplable with the first door hinge mounting plate (piano hinge plate, see Fig. 2) ;
a second door (61) rotatably connectable to the second side panel (12) by at least one second door (61) hinge comprising a hinge component on an interior surface of the second door (61) coupled with the second door hinge mounting plate (piano hinge plate, see Fig. 2).
Lim et al. discloses wherein the side (12) and rear panel (12); are joined by a first hinge mounting plate and the second door hinge plate mounting plate (piano hinge plate, see Fig. 2) on the interior surface of the first side panel (12) is attached to an interior-facing side of the rear vertically-extending hollow channels at each side but does not expressly disclose the door having first and second hinge attached the interior surface of the first and second vertically-extend in hallow channels.
Doherty et al. discloses a similar cabinet with a first door hinge mounting plate (left hinge at 104, as seen in Fig. 6A); attached to an interior-facing side of the first vertically-extending hollow channel(left side); a second door hinge mounting plate (right side hinge ) attached to an interior-facing side of the first vertically-extending hollow channel).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the first and second door hinge mounting plate could be mounted along an interior facing side of the first and second vertically-extending hallow channels, to order to provide a door with a concealed hinge, as an extra security measure, as is well known in the art to one of ordinary skill in the art as demonstrated by Doherty et al. As modified, the first door hinge mounting plate and a hinge component on an interior surface of the first door coupled with the first door hinge mounting plate on the interior surface of the first side panel; the second door hinge mounting plate and a hinge component on an interior surface of the second door coupled with the second door hinge mounting plate on the interior surface of the second side panel.
Regarding Claim 19, Lim et a. discloses, wherein the back panel (11) comprises: and the first side panel (12) is rotatably connected to the first end extension panel by the at least one first panel hinge (piano hinge) and the second side panel rotatably connected to the second end extension panel by the at least one second panel hinge .
Regarding Claim 19, Lim et al. substantially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the back panel with a first and second extension panel.
Doherty teaches a similar a similar invention with a first and second extension panel (50c, 50d) the projects forwardly of the interior surface.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the back panel could be configured with a first and second end extension panel similar to the one taught by Doherty et al, to provide a strong stable structure to mount the rear panel hinge so that side panels can easily pivot along the extension panel.
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lim et al and Doherty as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 20220395092 (Holland).
Regarding Claim 14, Lim et al. discloses wherein the hinge component on the interior surface of the first door (61) comprises a hinge cup mounted to the interior surface of the first door and hinge arm coupled to hinge cup.
Holland demonstrates it is well known in the art to assembled a door to a cabinet with a hinge cup mounted to the interior surface of the first door and hinge arm coupled to hinge cup. It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to mount the door to the cabinet utilizing a hinge cup and hinge arm, as they are easy to assemble and disassemble as needed ([0043]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 and 12-19 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art, in combination, both the side panel and rear panels have hallow vertically- extending channels such that the a third vertically-extending hollow channel in the first end of the back panel; a fourth vertically-extending hollow channel in the second end of the back panel; a fifth vertically-extending hollow channel in the first side panel; a sixth vertically-extending hollow channel in the second side panel; wherein the first panel hinge comprises a portion mounted on an interior-facing side of the fifth vertically-extending hollow channel and a portion mounted on an interior-facing side of the third vertically-extending hollow channel to rotatably connect the first side panel and the first end of the back panel; and wherein the second panel hinge comprises a portion mounted on an interior-facing side of the sixth vertically-extending hollow channel and a portion mounted on an interior-facing side of the fourth vertically-extending hollow channel to rotatably connect the second side panel and the second end of the back panel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637