DETAILED ACTION
The current office action is in response to the communication filed on 3/13/24.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
The Examiner recommends filing a written authorization for Internet communication in response to the present action. Doing so permits the USPTO to communicate with Applicant using Internet email to schedule interviews or discuss other aspects of the application. Without a written authorization in place, the USPTO cannot respond to Internet correspondence received from Applicant. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at: https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP § 502.03 for other methods of providing written authorization.
Paper Submitted
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file:
Information Disclosure Statement(s) as received on 7/19/24 and 10/10/24 are considered by the Examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the Objections to the Specification and the Claim Objections listed in the paragraph(s) below are corrected and the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Typically abbreviations/acronyms are used after an expansion is provided to the abbreviations/acronyms. However, in the Specification, “CD” is used before it is expanded. It is suggested to use expansions before using their abbreviations/acronyms. Appropriate correction is required.
“…access pint 102.” on page 8, [0031], should be “…access point 102.” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 8-20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Typically abbreviations/acronyms are used after an expansion is provided to the abbreviations/acronyms. However, in claims 4, 8, 11, 14-17 and 20, the abbreviations/acronyms “MAC,” and “IP” are used before they are expanded. It is suggested to use expansions before using their abbreviations/acronyms. Appropriate correction is required.
All dependent claims are objected to as having the same deficiencies as the claims they depend from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Karimaruthumkal et al.” (US PGPUB 2021/0368439) (Hereinafter Karimaruthumkal) in view of “Lee et al.” (US PGPUB 2016/0077573) (Hereinafter Lee).
With respect to claim 1, Karimaruthumkal teaches an apparatus (device 300; Fig. 3, [0065]) comprising:
one or more memories (memory 308; Fig. 3, [0066]); and
one or more processors (processor 306; Fig. 3, [0066]) communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (Fig. 3, [0066]), a combination of the one or more processors configured to:
determine an address for a backscattering device (an access point (AP) transmits the wake up radio (WUR) trigger packet containing backscattering parameters to a backscattering device, the backscattering parameters comprises an address of the backscattering device; Fig. 8, [0012], [0018], [0089]-[0090]. The determination of the address of the backscattering device is made when the AP generates the WUR packet comprising the address of the backscattering device);
generate a header comprising the address (the WUR trigger packet comprises a 6-bit field indicating the address of the backscatter device; Fig. 8, [0012], [0018], [0089]-[0090]);
communicate a first energizing frame to the backscattering device, wherein the first energizing frame comprises the header (an access point (AP) transmits the wake up radio (WUR) trigger packet containing backscattering parameters to a backscattering device, the backscattering parameters comprises an address of the backscattering device; Fig. 8, [0012], [0018], [0089]-[0090]); and
receive a message from the backscattering device, wherein the message comprises the header (the backscattering device sends one or more backscattered transmissions on a second frequency channel based on one or more power packets and the one or more backscattering parameters. Backscattered transmissions comprise 802.11 packets; [0006], [0018], [0085], [0090]).
Karimaruthumkal does not teach a header comprising an Internet protocol (IP) address.
However, Lee teaches a header comprising an Internet protocol (IP) address (generating a wake-up packet comprising a header, the header includes the IP address of the reception device; Figs. 5-6, [0098], [0106]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate generating a header comprising an IP address to Karimaruthumkal because Karimaruthumkal discloses sending wakeup packets comprising address information ([0090]) and Lee suggests generating a header comprising an IP address ([0106]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Lee in the Karimaruthumkal system in order to provide a more accurate routing and delivery of packets.
With respect to claim 2, Karimaruthumkal as modified teaches the apparatus of Claim 1. Lee further teaches wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to determine a media access control (MAC) address for the backscattering device and wherein the header further comprises the MAC address (generating a wake-up packet comprising a header, the header includes the IP address and the MAC address of the reception device; Figs. 5-6, [0098], [0106]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate generating a header comprising IP and MAC addresses to Karimaruthumkal because Karimaruthumkal discloses sending wakeup packets comprising address information ([0090]) and Lee suggests generating a header comprising IP and MAC addresses ([0106]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Lee in the Karimaruthumkal system in order to provide a more accurate routing and delivery of packets.
The limitations of claims 8-9 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1-2 respectively and these claims are rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 15 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above and this claim is rejected on that basis. Furthermore, Karimaruthumkal discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions (Fig. 3, [0071]) as recited in claim 15.
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karimaruthumkal in view of Lee, and further in view of “Qiao et al.” (US PGPUB 2023/0362723) (Hereinafter Qiao).
With respect to claim 3, Karimaruthumkal as modified teaches the apparatus of Claim 1. Karimaruthumkal does not teach wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to compress a portion of the header to generate a compressed portion and wherein the header comprises the compressed portion.
However, Qiao teaches wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to compress a portion of the header to generate a compressed portion and wherein the header comprises the compressed portion (performing ethernet header compression by mapping the destination MAC address and/or the source MAC address to a corresponding header compression index, and transmitting to a device, the mapping information between destination MAC address and/or the source MAC address and the corresponding header compression index; [0188], [0217]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate performing packet header compression to Karimaruthumkal because Karimaruthumkal discloses sending wakeup packets comprising address information ([0090]) and Qiao suggests performing packet header compression ([0188]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Qiao in the Karimaruthumkal system in order to reduce resource consumption and accelerate packet transfer speed.
With respect to claim 4, Karimaruthumkal as modified teaches the apparatus of Claim 3. Qiao further teaches wherein the portion comprises a MAC address for the backscattering device (performing ethernet header compression by mapping the destination MAC address and/or the source MAC address to a corresponding header compression index, and transmitting to a device, the mapping information between destination MAC address and/or the source MAC address and the corresponding header compression index; [0188], [0217]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate performing packet header compression to Karimaruthumkal because Karimaruthumkal discloses sending wakeup packets comprising address information ([0090]) and Qiao suggests performing packet header compression ([0188]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Qiao in the Karimaruthumkal system in order to reduce resource consumption and accelerate packet transfer speed.
The limitations of claims 10-11 are rejected in the analysis of claims 3-4 respectively and these claims are rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claims 16-17 are rejected in the analysis of claims 3-4 respectively and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Claims 5, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karimaruthumkal in view of Lee, and further in view of “Shukla et al.” (US 11,483,766) (Hereinafter Shukla).
With respect to claim 5, Karimaruthumkal as modified teaches the apparatus of Claim 1. Karimaruthumkal does not teach wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to, in response to a flag in the message being set, communicate a second energizing frame to the backscattering device.
However, Shukla teaches wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to, in response to a flag in the message being set, communicate a second energizing frame to the backscattering device (computing device transmits a frame including a header to a wireless access point. The header includes a power management bit set to “0” indicating that the computing device is exiting or has exited the power save mode. As a result, the wireless access point transmits, to the computing device, frames including the address of the computing device; col. 3, lines 38-58).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate using flags in packets/messages to Karimaruthumkal because Karimaruthumkal discloses sending wakeup packets comprising address information ([0090]) and Shukla suggests using flags in packets/messages (col. 3, lines 38-58).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Shukla in the Karimaruthumkal system in order to increase the security and reliability of packet/message transmission.
The limitations of claims 12 and 18 are rejected in the analysis of claim 5 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karimaruthumkal in view of Lee, and further in view of “Li et al.” (US PGPUB 2013/0117586) (Hereinafter Li).
With respect to claim 7, Karimaruthumkal as modified teaches the apparatus of Claim 1. Karimaruthumkal does not teach wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to determine an IP address for a communication destination of the backscattering device and wherein the header further comprises the IP address for the communication destination.
However, Li teaches wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to determine an IP address for a communication destination of the backscattering device and wherein the header further comprises the IP address for the communication destination (a wakeup data frame comprises an IP header field that includes a source IP address field and a destination IP address field; [0032]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate generating a header comprising a destination IP address to Karimaruthumkal because Karimaruthumkal discloses sending wakeup packets comprising address information ([0090]) and Li suggests generating a header comprising a destination IP address ([0032]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Li in the Karimaruthumkal system in order to provide a more accurate routing and delivery of packets.
The limitations of claims 14 and 20 are rejected in the analysis of claim 7 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
He. US 2025/0038842. Discloses obtaining signals used for backscatter communication.
Kim et al. US 2019/0349857. Discloses transmitting and receiving wake-up radio packets.
Wang et al. US 2024/0255634. Discloses enabling backscatter-based positioning measurements.
Wang et al. US 2024/0259090. Discloses indicating timing information for backscattering a signal.
/JOHNNY B AGUIAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447
February 2, 2026