DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, “liner” should be replaced with - -linear- -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Theis (DE 20 2020 105 492 U1).
As for claim 1, Theis discloses a boarding device (20) comprising a shiftably arranged sliding step, having a step plate (2) and a slide-out unit (11, 12) operatively connected to the step plate, wherein the slide-out unit is embodied to be variable in length in the slide-out direction of the step plate.
As for claim 2, Theis discloses a front first linear element (11 or 12) in the slide-out direction and of a rear second linear element (see vehicle frame, Fig. 2) in the slide-out direction, wherein the two linear elements are connected to one another via a linear element connection (6, 7) and are arranged essentially next to one another.
As for claim 9, Theis discloses a slide out unit (11 and 12) on both sides of the step plate (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 – 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theis (DE 20 2020 105 492 U1) in view of Hirtenlehner (US 7,793,596).
Theis meets all the limitations of the claimed invention but does not disclose the rollers as claimed.
As for claim 3, Theis disclose an elongated hole (6) extending in a slide out direction, but discloses a sliding pin (7) rather than a guide roller. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute a roller for the pin to facilitate sliding. Note that Hirtenlehner discloses the use of guide rollers (8, 9).
As for claims 4 – 7, Hirtenlehner discloses a first roller (8) arranged in a stationary manner on a base frame (Fig. 1) and a second roller (9) on a free rear end which rolls on a guideway (10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the boarding device of Theis to include the rollers of Hirtenlehner to support the stop plate when sliding from the vehicle.
As for claim 8, it would have been obvious to merely duplicate the linear element connections of Theis to enable additional extension of the step plate.
As for claim 10, It has been held that, where the only difference between the claimed device and the prior art device is a recitation of the dimensions of the claimed device, and the claimed device would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984). It would have been obvious to configure the maximum relative movement distance to bridge the desired gap.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Katy M Ebner/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613