DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 08/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polster et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0256132).
Regarding claim 1, Polster et al. teaches a plant for the steam reformation of a hydrocarbonaceous feedstock by releasing export steam comprising a reformer furnace with burners and a multitude of catalyst-containing reformer tubes at least one heat exchanger for cooling a hot synthesis-gas product gas stream by indirect heat exchange against a stream of water by forming a cooled hot synthesis-gas product gas stream and a first partial vapor stream which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of a process for cooling a flue gas stream from reformer furnace of a steam reformer for steam reforming a hydrocarbon containing feed stream with a reforming steam stream to produce a crude synthesis gas stream (paragraph 35). Polster et al. teaches reformer furnace contains a multitude of reformer tubes filled with catalyst and via conduits the reformer tubes are charged with preheated, hydrocarbonaceous natural gas as reformer feedstock and after conversion of the feedstock in the reformer tubes, the gaseous reformer product containing hydrogen, CO and non-converted natural gas constituents is withdrawn via conduit which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of (a) providing a steam reformer, comprising:(a1) a plurality of catalyst filled reformer tubes with a means for introducing the hydrocarbon containing feed stream and the reforming steam stream into the reformer tubes, and a means for discharging the crude synthesis gas stream from the reformer tubes (paragraph 45). Polster et al. teaches a reformer furnace in which numerous catalyst-containing reformer tubes are arranged in parallel, in which the steam reforming reaction takes place wherein the outer walls of the reformer furnace are lined or provided with several layers of refractory material which withstands temperatures up to 1200 ̊C and the reformer tubes mostly are fired by means of burners which are mounted on the upper or lower surface of the reformer furnace and directly fire the space between the reformer tubes which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of a reformer furnace with a floor, a ceiling and side walls which form a furnace interior, with the reformer tubes being arranged inside of the furnace interior and being heated by a plurality of burners arranged inside the reformer furnace (paragraph 4). Polster et al. teaches the flue gases enter into the waste heat part of the reformer furnace wherein the conveyance of the flue gases through the waste heat part of the reformer furnace is effected in the suction draft of the blower which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of a flue gas duct being arranged in fluid connection to the furnace interior through one of the side walls, and being arranged in fluid connection to a flue gas stack (paragraphs 27, 28, 43, 46 and 47). Polster et al. teaches hydrocarbon-steam mixture enters into the reformer tubes after final heating to about 500 to 800 ˚C and is converted there at the reforming catalyst to obtain carbon monoxide and hydrogen and while higher hydrocarbons are completely converted to carbon monoxide and hydrogen, a partial conversion usually is effected in the case of methane which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of providing a hydrocarbon containing feed stream and a reforming steam stream and introducing the hydrocarbon containing feed stream and the reforming steam stream into the reformer tubes, converting the hydrocarbon containing feed stream with the reforming steam stream under steam reforming conditions in the reformer tubes, discharging a crude synthesis gas stream comprising hydrogen, carbon oxides, and unconverted steam from the reformer tubes (paragraph 5). Polster et al. teaches preheated air and hydrocarbons before addition to the burners which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of providing a fuel gas stream and a preheated oxygen containing oxidant stream and introducing the fuel gas stream and the preheated oxygen containing oxidant stream into the burners, combusting the fuel gas stream with the preheated oxygen containing oxidant stream in the burners and thereby heating the reformer tubes and generating a hot flue gas stream (paragraphs 31, 34 and 45). Polster et al. teaches conveying the combustion air using a blower and conveyance of the flue gases through the waste heat part of the reformer furnace is effected in the suction draft of the blower which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of discharging the hot flue gas stream from the reformer furnace using the flue gas duct and a flue gas blower (paragraphs 46 and 47). Polster et al. teaches cooling of the flue gases is effected by a plurality of heat exchangers in the flue gas path, wherein the enthalpy of the flue gases is utilized for generating a second partial vapor stream and for the multistage preheating of the reformer feedstock and the combustion air in which the hot flue gases are cooled by indirect heat exchange which meets a broad and seasonable interpretation of cooling the hot flue gas stream by indirect heat exchange against a cool oxygen containing oxidant stream using a first heat exchanger, discharging a cooled flue gas stream and the preheated oxygen containing oxidant stream from the first heat exchanger;(f) routing the cooled flue gas stream to the flue gas stack, wherein (g) the first heat exchanger comprises at least two separate heat exchange zones, with a first heat exchange zone and a last heat exchange zone in flow direction of the flue gas stream, wherein the temperature of the flue gas stream passing the separate heat exchange zones decreases stepwise in flow direction of the flue gas stream (paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 2, Polster et al. teaches cooling of the flue gases is effected by a plurality of heat exchangers in the flue gas path, wherein the enthalpy of the flue gases is utilized for generating a second partial vapor stream and for the multistage preheating of the reformer feedstock and the combustion air in which the hot flue gases are cooled by indirect heat exchange which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of wherein by passing the first heat exchanger, the temperature of the flue gas stream is reduced in such a manner that the temperature of the flue gas stream falls below the dew point only in the last heat exchange zone (paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 3, Polster et al. teaches in which the hot flue gases are cooled by indirect heat exchange against a stream of water supplied via conduit which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of wherein the last heat exchange zone is arranged in fluid connection to a liquid condensate separation device configured to discharge a liquid condensate stream (paragraph 47).
Claim(s) 4-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polster et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Peng et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0110708).
Regarding claims 4-7 and 11, Polster et al. teaches a plant for the steam reformation of a hydrocarbonaceous feedstock by releasing export steam comprising a reformer furnace with burners and a multitude of catalyst-containing reformer tubes at least one heat exchanger for cooling a hot synthesis-gas product gas stream by indirect heat exchange against a stream of water by forming a cooled hot synthesis-gas product gas stream and a first partial vapor stream which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of a process for cooling a flue gas stream from reformer furnace of a steam reformer for steam reforming a hydrocarbon containing feed stream with a reforming steam stream to produce a crude synthesis gas stream (paragraph 35). Polster et al. teaches reformer furnace contains a multitude of reformer tubes filled with catalyst and via conduits the reformer tubes are charged with preheated, hydrocarbonaceous natural gas as reformer feedstock and after conversion of the feedstock in the reformer tubes, the gaseous reformer product containing hydrogen, CO and non-converted natural gas constituents is withdrawn via conduit which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of (a) providing a steam reformer, comprising:(a1) a plurality of catalyst filled reformer tubes with a means for introducing the hydrocarbon containing feed stream and the reforming steam stream into the reformer tubes, and a means for discharging the crude synthesis gas stream from the reformer tubes (paragraph 45). Polster et al. teaches a reformer furnace in which numerous catalyst-containing reformer tubes are arranged in parallel, in which the steam reforming reaction takes place wherein the outer walls of the reformer furnace are lined or provided with several layers of refractory material which withstands temperatures up to 1200 ̊C and the reformer tubes mostly are fired by means of burners which are mounted on the upper or lower surface of the reformer furnace and directly fire the space between the reformer tubes which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of a reformer furnace with a floor, a ceiling and side walls which form a furnace interior, with the reformer tubes being arranged inside of the furnace interior and being heated by a plurality of burners arranged inside the reformer furnace (paragraph 4). Polster et al. teaches the flue gases enter into the waste heat part of the reformer furnace wherein the conveyance of the flue gases through the waste heat part of the reformer furnace is effected in the suction draft of the blower which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of a flue gas duct being arranged in fluid connection to the furnace interior through one of the side walls, and being arranged in fluid connection to a flue gas stack (paragraphs 27, 28, 43, 46 and 47). Polster et al. teaches hydrocarbon-steam mixture enters into the reformer tubes after final heating to about 500 to 800 ˚C and is converted there at the reforming catalyst to obtain carbon monoxide and hydrogen and while higher hydrocarbons are completely converted to carbon monoxide and hydrogen, a partial conversion usually is effected in the case of methane which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of providing a hydrocarbon containing feed stream and a reforming steam stream and introducing the hydrocarbon containing feed stream and the reforming steam stream into the reformer tubes, converting the hydrocarbon containing feed stream with the reforming steam stream under steam reforming conditions in the reformer tubes, discharging a crude synthesis gas stream comprising hydrogen, carbon oxides, and unconverted steam from the reformer tubes (paragraph 5). Polster et al. teaches preheated air and hydrocarbons before addition to the burners which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of providing a fuel gas stream and a preheated oxygen containing oxidant stream and introducing the fuel gas stream and the preheated oxygen containing oxidant stream into the burners, combusting the fuel gas stream with the preheated oxygen containing oxidant stream in the burners and thereby heating the reformer tubes and generating a hot flue gas stream (paragraphs 31, 34 and 45). Polster et al. teaches conveying the combustion air using a blower and conveyance of the flue gases through the waste heat part of the reformer furnace is effected in the suction draft of the blower which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of discharging the hot flue gas stream from the reformer furnace using the flue gas duct and a flue gas blower (paragraphs 46 and 47). Polster et al. teaches cooling of the flue gases is effected by a plurality of heat exchangers in the flue gas path, wherein the enthalpy of the flue gases is utilized for generating a second partial vapor stream and for the multistage preheating of the reformer feedstock and the combustion air in which the hot flue gases are cooled by indirect heat exchange which meets a broad and seasonable interpretation of cooling the hot flue gas stream by indirect heat exchange against a cool oxygen containing oxidant stream using a first heat exchanger, discharging a cooled flue gas stream and the preheated oxygen containing oxidant stream from the first heat exchanger;(f) routing the cooled flue gas stream to the flue gas stack, wherein (g) the first heat exchanger comprises at least two separate heat exchange zones, with a first heat exchange zone and a last heat exchange zone in flow direction of the flue gas stream, wherein the temperature of the flue gas stream passing the separate heat exchange zones decreases stepwise in flow direction of the flue gas stream (paragraph 47. Polster et al. does not teach corrosion resistant material.
Peng et al. teaches a catalytic steam-hydrocarbon reforming process (paragraph 14). Peng et al. teaches the heat recovery equipment may be replaced regularly (i.e. using sacrificial heat exchangers) and/or corrosion resistant materials may be used in the construction of the heat exchange equipment (paragraph 112). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing could determine through routine experimentation the optimal configuration for the heat recovery equipment taught by Polster et al. wherein modules can either be replaced regularly (i.e. using sacrificial heat exchangers) and/or corrosion resistant materials (paragraph 112).
Regarding claims 8-10, Polster et al. teaches the recirculation of the flue gas recirculation stream preferably is made possible by installation of an additional conveying device wherein the recirculation of the flue gas recirculation stream is effected by means of a conveying device with adjustable conveying capacity using a controllable blower or a controllable compressor (paragraph 26). Polster et al. teaches to adapt the mass flow of the recirculated flue gas to the decreasing mass flow of the synthesis-gas product gas or to further increase or decrease the same in full load operation of the reformer in accordance with the invention, a blower with controllable conveying capacity is used for adjusting the mass flow of the recirculated flue gas and a control valve downstream of a blower with fixed conveying capacity can alternatively also be used, wherein it then is recommendable to provide a bypass around the blower, in order to be able to operate the same with approximately constant inlet pressure (paragraph 27).
Conclusion
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 09/21/2026