DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 01/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 and 8-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PROEBER (US 2018/0119935), and in view of FLESCH (US 2019/0032867), GARCIA (US 8,853,951), DRAKE (US 2013/0094211), and WANG (US 2019/0380189).
Regarding claim 1, PROEBER discloses a light tower (FIG.s 1-3) comprising
a frame (46, 58, Fig.32);
an extendible mast (18, Fig.32) coupled to the frame, wherein the extendible mast is configured to move between a lowered position (Fig.31) and a raised position (Fig.32);
a battery pack (180, Fig.10) supported on the frame;
a plurality of light assemblies (22, 420, Fig.32), each including a light emitting diode (492, Fig.30; para[0116]), wherein the light assemblies are each coupled to the extendible mast and the light emitting diodes electrically coupled to the battery pack (as seen in Fig.32 and para[0120], the light assemblies 22/LEDs 492 are electrical coupled to the battery pack 180);
a user interface (4026, Fig.49) configured to receive an input runtime, wherein the user interface is arranged on an external surface of the frame and a plurality of light inputs (as seen in para[0134], the user interface 4026 include actual or virtual controls to control the light assemblies 4010);
a charger (512, Fig.6) in communication with the battery pack (para[0120]); and
switch the battery pack into a charge state to allow for charging of the battery pack from the charger (as seen in para[0120], the battery pack 180 is charged by the charger 512).
PROEBER fails to disclose a battery pack including a plurality of lithium ion battery cells; a user interface includes a screen, wherein each of the light inputs is in communication with a respective one of the light assemblies and is configured to adjust a brightness of the respective one of the light assemblies; a lid pivotably coupled to a hinge, wherein the lid is pivotably movably between an open position and a closed position where the user interface is covered by the lid; a controller in communication with the battery pack, the light assemblies, and the user interface, the controller being configured to receive the input runtime from the user interface; determine an available power output of the battery pack; determine a light intensity of the light assemblies based on the input runtime and the available power output of the battery pack to ensure the light assemblies operate for the input runtime; receive a charging schedule that controls an interval, date, or time when the battery pack is charged by the charger; and instruct the charger to charge the battery pack according to the charging schedule.
However, FLESCH discloses a battery pack (180, Fig.10) including a plurality of lithium ion battery cells (para[0011]); a controller (28, 34, Fig.1) in communication with the battery pack, light assemblies (20, Fig.1), and an user interface (52, Fig.1), the controller being configured to receive the input runtime from the user interface (as seen in para[0015], the controller 28 receives input from the user interface 52); determine an available power output of the battery pack (as seen in para[0018], the controller 28 determines available power output of the battery pack 26); switch the battery pack into a charge state to allow for charging of the battery pack from the charger (as seen in para[0016]-para[0018], the controller 28 switches the battery pack 26 to allow charging of the battery pack 26 from the charger 32); receive a charging schedule that controls an interval, date, or time when the battery pack is charged by the charger (as seen in para[0017], the controller 28 receives a charging schedule [e.g. charging the battery pack 26 at a specific time]); and instruct the charger to charge the battery pack according to the charging schedule.
However, GARCIA discloses a controller configured to receive an input runtime from a user interface (first box in Fig.1), determine an available power output of a battery pack (second box in Fig.1), and determine a light intensity of a light assembly based on the input runtime and the available power output of the battery pack to ensure the light assembly operates for the input runtime (third box in Fig.1).
However, DRAKE discloses a user interface (62, Fig.12) includes a screen (62, Fig.12), each light input is in communication with a respective light assembly and is configured to adjust a brightness of the respective light assembly (as seen in Fig.1 and para[0037], the “light input” was considered to be the light input for each zones 1-4 to control a respective light assembly 40; the screen 62 displays the brightness of each light assembly 40/zone 1-4 and each light assembly 40/zone 1-4 is independently controlled by a light input).
However, WANG discloses a lid (26, Fig.3) pivotably coupled to a hinge (para[0035]), and the lid is pivotably movably between an open position and a closed position where an user interface (18, Fig.3) is covered by the lid.
Therefore, in view of FLESCH, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate lithium ion battery cells as taught by FLESCH to the battery pack of PROEBER in order to provide a typical type of battery.
However, in view of FLESCH, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a controller (and the operation) as taught by FLESCH to the light tower of PROEBER in order to control the peripheral electrical components (e.g. the power/battery pack, the LEDs, light inputs from the user interface).
Therefore, in view of GARCIA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate power optimization as taught by GARCIA to the controller, the battery pack, and the light assembly of PROEBER modified by FLESCH in order to optimize illumination based on the runtime and power output of the battery pack.
Therefore, in view of DRAKE, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a screen as taught by DRAKE to the user interface of PROEBER modified by FLESCH and GARCIA in order to display information of the LEDs such as the brightness.
Therefore, in view of DRAKE, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate adjusting a brightness of each light assembly as taught by DRAKE to the user interface of PROEBER modified by FLESCH and GARCIA in order to independently control each light assembly.
Therefore, in view of WANG, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a lid as taught by WANG to the user interface of PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, and DRAKE in order to protect the user interface.
Regarding claim 3, PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, DRAKE, and WANG fails to explicitly disclose wherein a power supplied by the battery pack is less than or equal to 1000 watts.
Regarding “a power supplied by the battery pack is less than or equal to 1000 watts”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a power supplied by the battery pack is less than or equal to 1000 watts to the power of PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, DRAKE, and WANG in order to provide a desired wattage to the light assembly.
Regarding claim 4, PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, DRAKE, and WANG as discussed above for claim 1 fails to disclose a plurality of dimmable drivers coupled to the light assembly; and a light sensor configured to detect a brightness of the light assembly.
However, GARCIA further discloses a dimmable driver coupled to the light assembly (as seen in col.1, lines 41-60, the user interface 306, 308 changes the light intensity of the light assembly 208 [e.g. brighter or dimmer]), and a light sensor configured to detect a brightness of the light assembly (see claims 4-5).
Therefore, in view of GARCIA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a dimmable driver and a light sensor as taught by GARCIA to the light assembly of PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, DRAKE, and WANG in order to control the light assembly based on the ambient light.
Regarding “a plurality of dimmable drivers”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the dimmable driver of PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, DRAKE, and WANG in order to drive multiple light sources.
Regarding claim 5, PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, DRAKE, and WANG as discussed above for claim 4 further discloses wherein the controller is configured to receive the brightness of the light assembly from the light sensor and, in response, instruct the plurality of dimmable drivers to change the brightness of the light assembly (as seen in claims 4-5 of GARCIA, the light sensor instructs the dimmable driver to change the brightness of the light assembly).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PROEBER (US 2018/0119935) modified by FLESCH (US 2019/0032867), GARCIA (US 8,853,951), DRAKE (US 2013/0094211), and WANG (US 2019/0380189), and in view of PANOPOULOS (US 2015/0035437).
Regarding claim 2, PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, DRAKE, and WANG fails to disclose a motion sensor configured to detect motion within a field of view; and a plurality of electric motors coupled to the light assembly and configured to selectively reposition the light assembly; wherein the controller is configured to receive an indication of motion detected within the field of view from the motion sensor and, in response, reposition the light assembly and to track the motion within the field of view.
However, PANOPOULOS discloses a motion sensor configured to detect motion within a field of view, electric motors coupled to a light assembly and selectively reposition the light assembly, the controller receives an indication of motion detected within the field of view from the motion sensor and, in response, reposition the light assembly and to track the motion within the field of view (as seen in para[0059], para[0230]-para[0231], and para[0243], a motion sensor detects an object and, in response, the controller controls a light source to track and illuminate the object ).
Therefore, in view of PANOPOULOS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a motion sensor as taught by PANOPOULOS to the light tower of PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, DRAKE, and WANG in order to provide a typical sensor for illumination devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a motion sensor is a typical sensor for illumination devices to conserve power when no motion is detected in the area.
Therefore, in view of PANOPOULOS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate electric motors as taught by PANOPOULOS to the light assembly of PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, DRAKE, and WANG in order to redirect illumination to occupied area of motion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a motion sensor and electric motors to move the light assembly is a typical combination to redirect illumination devices to occupied area of motion such as people.
Claims 8-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PROEBER (US 2018/0119935), and in view of FLESCH (US 2019/0032867), GARCIA (US 8,853,951), ZHANG (US 11,589,434), DRAKE (US 2013/0094211), and SHARRAH (US 2015/0192243).
Regarding claim 8, PROEBER discloses a light tower comprising
a frame (46, 58, Fig.1);
an extendible mast (18, Fig.32) coupled to the frame, wherein the extendible mast is configured to move between a lowered position (Fig,.31) and a raised position (Fig.32);
a battery pack (180, Fig.10) coupled to the frame;
a plurality of light assemblies (22, 420, Fig.32), each including a light emitting diode (492, Fig.30; para[0116]), wherein the light assemblies are each coupled to the extendible mast and the light emitting diodes electrically coupled to the battery pack (as seen in Fig.32 and para[0120], the light assemblies 22/LEDs 492 are electrical coupled to the battery pack 180);
a user interface (4026, Fig.49) arranged on an external surface of the frame and including a plurality of light inputs (as seen in para[0134], the user interface 4026 include actual or virtual controls to control the light assemblies 4010);
a charger (512, Fig.6) in communication with the battery pack (para[0120]); and
switch the battery pack into a charge state to allow for charging of the battery pack from the charger (as seen in para[0120], the battery pack 180 is charged by the charger 512).
PROEBER fails to disclose a battery pack including a plurality of lithium-ion battery cells; a user interface including a screen, wherein each of the light inputs is in communication with a respective one of the light assemblies and is configured to adjust a brightness of the respective one of the light assemblies; wherein the battery pack is coupled to the frame in a location that is between the user interface and the extendible mast; a controller in communication with the light assemblies, the user interface, and the battery pack, the controller being configured to switch the battery pack into a charge state to allow for charging of the battery pack from the charger; receive a charging schedule that controls an interval, date, or time when the battery pack is charged by the charger; communicate, to the user interface, a runtime based on a light intensity of the light emitting diodes; receive an available power output of the battery pack and, in response, operate the battery pack between a normal operating mode and an increased operating mode, and display, on the user interface, an updated runtime resulting from a switch between the normal operating mode and the increased operating mode.
However, FLESCH discloses a battery pack (180, Fig.10) including a plurality of lithium-ion battery cells (para[0011]); a controller (28, 34, Fig.1) in communication with light assemblies (20, Fig.1), an user interface (52, Fig.1), and the battery pack, the controller being configured to switch the battery pack into a charge state to allow for charging of the battery pack from the charger (as seen in para[0016]-para[0018], the controller 28 switches the battery pack 26 to allow charging of the battery pack 26 from the charger 32); receive a charging schedule that controls an interval, date, or time when the battery pack is charged by the charger (as seen in para[0017], the controller 28 receives a charging schedule [e.g. charging the battery pack 26 at a specific time]); communicate, to the user interface (as seen in para[0015], the controller 28 receives input from the user interface 52); receive an available power output of the battery pack (as seen in para[0018], the controller 28 determines available power output of the battery pack 26); and display, on the user interface (as seen in Fig.1, the user interface 52 was considered to have a display).
However, GARCIA a controller configured to a runtime based on a light intensity of light emitting diodes (as seen in col.1, lines 41-60, the battery is monitored based on the current battery charge, the selected numeric runtime, and the selected light intensity to calculate current the dimmable driver drives the light assembly), and display, on the user interface, an updated runtime resulting from a switch between the normal operating mode and the increased operating mode (as seen in col.1, lines 41-60, the display 304 shows the numeric runtime based on a light intensity of the light assembly).
However, ZHANG discloses a controller configured to receive an available power output of the battery pack and, in response, operate the battery pack between a normal operating mode and an increased operating mode (as seen in Figs.10-14, a controller measures the battery charge of the battery pack and, in response, operate the battery pack between a normal operating mode [LOW mode] and an increased operating mode [HIGH mode]).
However, DRAKE discloses a user interface (62, Fig.12) includes a screen (62, Fig.12), each light input is in communication with a respective light assembly and is configured to adjust a brightness of the respective light assembly (as seen in Fig.1 and para[0037], the “light input” was considered to be the light input for each zones 1-4 to control a respective light assembly 40; the screen 62 displays the brightness of each light assembly 40/zone 1-4 and each light assembly 40/zone 1-4 is independently controlled by a light input).
However, SHARRAH discloses a battery pack (B2, Fig.4B) is coupled to a frame (20, Fig.4B) in a location between a user interface (96, Fig.4B) and an extendible mast (42e, Fig.4B; as seen in Fig.4B, a portion of the battery pack B2 was considered to be in a location generally between the user interface 96 and the extendible mast 42e).
However, in view of FLESCH, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate lithium ion battery cells as taught by FLESCH to the battery pack of PROEBER in order to provide a typical type of battery.
However, in view of FLESCH, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a controller (and the operation) as taught by FLESCH to the light tower of PROEBER in order to control the peripheral electrical components (e.g. the power/battery pack, the LEDs, light inputs from the user interface).
Therefore, in view of GARCIA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a runtime based on a light intensity of LEDs and displaying a numeric runtime as taught by GARCIA to the light tower of PROEBER modified by FLESCH in order to inform the user the runtime of the light assembly based on the light intensity and the current battery charge. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that displaying the runtime or how long the light assembly will operate is a typical user interface to inform the user of the duration of the operation.
Therefore, in view of ZHANG, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate power optimization as taught by ZHANG to the controller, the battery pack, and the light assembly of PROEBER modified by FLESCH and GARCIA in order to optimize illumination based on the runtime and power output of the battery pack.
Therefore, in view of DRAKE, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a screen as taught by DRAKE to the user interface of PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, and ZHANG in order to display information of the LEDs such as the brightness.
Therefore, in view of DRAKE, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate adjusting a brightness of each light assembly as taught by DRAKE to the user interface of PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, and ZHANG in order to independently control each light assembly.
Therefore, in view of SHARRAH, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a battery pack in a location between a user interface and an extendible mast as taught by SHARRAH to the battery pack of PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, ZHANG, and DRAKE in order to merely rearrange the battery and the user interface such that the battery is between the user interface and the extendible mast.
Regarding claim 9, PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, ZHANG, DRAKE, and SHARRAH as discussed above for claim 8 further discloses the controller is configured to determine an amount of power needed from the battery pack to run for a time period based on the updated runtime (as seen in col.1, lines 41-60 of GARCIA, the battery is monitored based on the current battery charge, the selected numeric runtime, and the selected light intensity to calculate current the dimmable driver drives the light assembly).
Regarding claim 11, PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, ZHANG, DRAKE, and SHARRAH fails to explicitly disclose wherein a power supplied by the battery pack is less than or equal to 1000 watts.
Regarding “a power supplied by the battery pack is less than or equal to 1000 watts”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a power supplied by the battery pack is less than or equal to 1000 watts to the power of PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, ZHANG, DRAKE, and SHARRAH in order to provide a desired wattage to the light assembly.
Regarding claim 12, PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, ZHANG, DRAKE, and SHARRAH as discussed above for claim 8 fails disclose a plurality of dimmable drivers coupled to the light assembly; and a light sensor configured to detect a brightness of the light assembly.
However, GARCIA further discloses a dimmable driver (208, Fig.2) coupled to a light assembly, and a light sensor configured to detect a brightness of the light assembly (see claims 4-5).
Therefore, in view of GARCIA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a dimmable driver and a light sensor as taught by GARCIA to the light tower of PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, ZHANG, DRAKE, and SHARRAH in order to control the light assembly based on the ambient light.
Regarding “a plurality of dimmable drivers”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the dimmable driver of PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, ZHANG, DRAKE, and SHARRAH in order to drive multiple light sources.
Regarding claim 13, PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, ZHANG, DRAKE, and SHARRAH as discussed above for claim 12 further discloses wherein the controller is configured to receive the brightness of the light assembly from the light sensor and, in response, instruct the plurality of dimmable drivers to change the brightness of the light assembly (see claims 4-5 of GARCIA).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PROEBER (US 2018/0119935) modified by FLESCH (US 2019/0032867), GARCIA (US 8,853,951), ZHANG (US 11,589,434), DRAKE (US 2013/0094211), and SHARRAH (US 2015/0192243), and in view of PANOPOULOS (US 2015/0035437).
Regarding claim 10, PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, ZHANG, DRAKE, and SHARRAH fails to disclose a motion sensor configured to detect motion within a field of view; and a plurality of electric motors coupled to the light assembly and configured to selectively reposition the light assembly; wherein the controller is configured to receive an indication of motion detected within the field of view from the motion sensor and, in response, reposition the light assembly and to track the motion within the field of view.
However, PANOPOULOS discloses a motion sensor configured to detect motion within a field of view, electric motors coupled to a light assembly and selectively reposition the light assembly, the controller receives an indication of motion detected within the field of view from the motion sensor and, in response, reposition the light assembly and to track the motion within the field of view (as seen in para[0059], para[0230]-para[0231], and para[0243], a motion sensor detects an object and, in response, the controller controls a light source to track and illuminate the object ).
Therefore, in view of PANOPOULOS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a motion sensor as taught by PANOPOULOS to the light tower of PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, ZHANG, DRAKE, and SHARRAH in order to provide a typical sensor for illumination devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a motion sensor is a typical sensor for illumination devices to conserve power when no motion is detected in the area.
Therefore, in view of PANOPOULOS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate electric motors as taught by PANOPOULOS to the light assembly of PROEBER modified by FLESCH, GARCIA, ZHANG, DRAKE, and SHARRAH in order to redirect illumination to occupied area of motion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a motion sensor and electric motors to move the light assembly is a typical combination to redirect illumination devices to occupied area of motion such as people.
Claims 14, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PROEBER (US 2018/0119935), and in view of GARCIA (US 8,853,951), DRAKE (US 2013/0094211), and SHARRAH (US 2015/0192243).
Regarding claim 14, PROEBER discloses a method capable of controlling a battery-powered light tower, the method comprising a user interface (4026, Fig.49) arranged on an external surface of a frame.
PROEBER fails to explicitly disclose installing a battery pack on a frame location between an extendible mast and a user interface; displaying, on the user interface, a numeric runtime based on a light intensity of a light assembly; receiving, from a light input on the user interface, a light intensity change input; detecting, via a light sensor, a brightness of the light assembly; instructing a plurality of dimmable drivers to change a brightness of the light assembly by adjusting a power provided by the battery pack to the light assembly; displaying, on a screen of the user interface, an updated numeric runtime resulting from the change in the brightness of the light assembly.
However, GARCIA discloses displaying, on a user interface, a numeric runtime based on a light intensity of a light assembly (as seen in col.1, lines 41-60, the display 304 shows the numeric runtime based on a light intensity 210 of a light assembly 208); receiving, from a light input on the user interface, a light intensity change input (as seen in col.1, lines 41-60, the user interface 306, 308 changes the light intensity of the light assembly 208 [e.g. brighter or dimmer]); detecting, via a light sensor, a brightness of the light assembly (see claims 4-5); instructing a dimmable driver (208, Fig.2) to change a brightness of the light assembly by adjusting a power provided by a battery pack to the light assembly (as seen in col.1, lines 41-60, the battery is monitored based on the current battery charge, the selected numeric runtime, and the selected light intensity to calculate current the dimmable driver drives the light assembly); displaying, on the user interface, an updated numeric runtime resulting from the change in the brightness of the light assembly (as seen in col.1, lines 41-60, the display 304 shows the numeric runtime based on the selected light intensity of the light assembly 208).
However, DRAKE discloses displaying, on a screen (62, Fig.12) of the user interface, an updated numeric runtime resulting from the change in the brightness of a light assembly (as seen in Fig.1 and para[0037], the screen 62 displays the brightness of each light assembly 40/zone 1-4).
However, SHARRAH discloses a battery pack (B2, Fig.4B) on a frame (20, Fig.4B) location between an extendible mast (42e, Fig.4B) and a user interface (96, Fig.4B; as seen in Fig.4B, a portion of the battery pack B2 was considered to be in a location generally between the user interface 96 and the extendible mast 42e).
Therefore, in view of GARCIA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate displaying a numeric runtime, receiving a light intensity change, and dimming the light assembly as taught by GARCIA to the light tower of PROEBER in order to inform the user of the runtime of the light assembly based on the light intensity and the current battery charge. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the method is a typical method to adjust the light intensity: receiving an input to change the light intensity and then adjusting the power to the light assembly. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that displaying the runtime or how long the light assembly will operate is a typical user interface to inform the user of the duration of the operation.
Therefore, in view of GARCIA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a light sensor as taught by GARCIA to the light tower of PROEBER in order to control the light assembly based on the ambient light.
Regarding “a plurality of dimmable drivers”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the dimmable driver of PROEBER modified by GARCIA in order to drive multiple light sources.
Therefore, in view of DRAKE, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a screen as taught by DRAKE to the user interface of PROEBER modified by GARCIA in order to display information of the LEDs such as the brightness.
Therefore, in view of SHARRAH, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a battery pack in a location between an extendible mast and a user interface as taught by SHARRAH to the battery pack of PROEBER modified by GARCIA and DRAKE in order to merely rearrange the battery and the user interface such that the battery is between the user interface and the extendible mast.
Regarding claim 16, PROEBER modified by GARCIA, DRAKE, and SHARRAH and as discussed above for claim 14 further discloses determining an amount of power required from the battery pack to run for a time period based on a different between the numeric runtime and the updated numeric runtime (as seen in col.1, lines 41-60 of GARCIA, the battery is monitored based on the current battery charge, the selected numeric runtime, and the selected light intensity to calculate current the dimmable driver drives the light assembly).
Regarding claim 17, PROEBER further discloses selectively switching the battery pack into a charge state to allow for charging of the battery pack by a charger (as seen in para[0120], the battery pack 180 is charged by the charger 512).
Regarding claim 19, PROEBER modified by GARCIA, DRAKE, and SHARRAH as discussed above for claim 17 further discloses communicating, to a user device, the numeric runtime (as seen in col.1, lines 41-60 of GARCIA, the display 304 shows the numeric runtime based on a light intensity 210 of a light assembly 208).
Regarding claim 20, PROEBER modified by GARCIA, DRAKE, and SHARRAH as discussed above for claim 19 further discloses operating the battery pack between a normal operating mode and an increased operating mode; and displaying, on the user device, the updated numeric runtime resulting from a switch between the normal operating mode and the increased operating mode (as seen in col.1, lines 41-60 of GARCIA, the battery is monitored based on the current battery charge, the selected numeric runtime, and the selected light intensity to calculate current the dimmable driver drives the light assembly; the normal operating mode was considered to be one level of light intensity and the increased operating mode was considered to be a brighter lighter intensity).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PROEBER (US 2018/0119935) modified by GARCIA (US 8,853,951), DRAKE (US 2013/0094211), and SHARRAH (US 2015/0192243), and in view of PANOPOULOS (US 2015/0035437).
Regarding claim 15, PROEBER modified by GARCIA, DRAKE, and SHARRAH fails to disclose detecting, via a motion sensor, motion within a field of view; and repositioning, via an electric motor, the light assembly to track the motion.
However, PANOPOULOS discloses a motion sensor detecting motion within a field of view, an electric motor repositioning a light assembly to track the motion. (as seen in para[0059], para[0230]-para[0231], and para[0243], a motion sensor detects an object and, in response, the controller controls a light source to track and illuminate the object ).
Therefore, in view of PANOPOULOS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a motion sensor as taught by PANOPOULOS to the light tower of PROEBER modified by GARCIA, DRAKE, and SHARRAH in order to provide a typical sensor for illumination devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a motion sensor is a typical sensor for illumination devices to conserve power when no motion is detected in the area.
Therefore, in view of PANOPOULOS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an electric motor as taught by PANOPOULOS to the light assembly of PROEBER modified by GARCIA, DRAKE, and SHARRAH in order to redirect illumination to occupied area of motion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a motion sensor and electric motors to move the light assembly is a typical combination to redirect illumination devices to occupied area of motion such as people.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PROEBER (US 2018/0119935) modified by GARCIA (US 8,853,951), DRAKE (US 2013/0094211), and SHARRAH (US 2015/0192243), and in view of FLESCH (US 2019/0032867).
Regarding claim 18, PROEBER modified by GARCIA, DRAKE, and SHARRAH fails to disclose receiving a charging schedule that controls an interval, date, or time when the battery pack is charged by a charger.
However, FLESCH discloses receiving a charging schedule that controls an interval, date, or time when the battery pack is charged by a charger (as seen in para[0017], the controller 28 receives a charging schedule [e.g. charging the battery pack 26 at a specific time]).
However, in view of FLESCH, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a charging schedule as taught by FLESCH to the light tower of PROEBER modified by GARCIA, DRAKE, and SHARRAH in order to routinely charge the battery pack.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the presented claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to all of the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
However, Applicant has argued “Claim 8 recites, in part, a battery pack coupled to a frame, and a user interface arranged on an external surface of the frame. The battery pack is coupled to the frame in a location that is between the user interface and the extendible mast”.
In response to applicant’s argument, as seen in Fig.4B of SHARRAH, a portion of the battery pack B2 was considered to be in a location generally between the user interface 96 and the extendible mast 42e. In addition, it is well within one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the user interface (e.g. rearrange the user interface to the back side of the device) such that the battery pack is between user interface and the mast to merely provide an alternative position. Therefore, the references disclose the limitations as currently claimed.
Conclusion
/J.M.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/JONG-SUK (JAMES) LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875