DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the arguments and amendments filed on 4/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11-15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jensen et al. (US 2019/0372564). Regarding claim 1, Jensen et al. discloses (see fig. 6-7) a drive circuit (415, 430, 455, 470) for a load (460), the circuit comprising: a switch (455); a storage capacitor (430) coupled to the switch on one side (connection to 455) and configured to supply power to the switch (430 discharge to 455), the switch configured to alternately connect and disconnect the storage capacitor to the load (operation of 455); and a control circuit (470) coupled to the switch (output from 470 to control operation of 455), configured to control an operation of the switch to provide a drive cycle to the load (operation of 470 controlling the on/off operation of 455), the drive cycle having a series of pulses (on/off pulses). Regarding claim 4, Jensen et al. discloses (see fig. 6-7) the control circuit (470) comprises a request port configured to receive a pulse request signal (input receiving output from 465), wherein the control circuit initiates a drive cycle in response to receiving the pulse request signal (470 operation based on output from 465). Regarding claim 11, Jensen et al. discloses (see fig. 6-7) a pre-charge circuit (415/435, controller 470, 605, 610) coupled to a power supply (405) on one side and to the storage capacitor on an other side (415/435 connection between 405 and 430) configured to charge the storage capacitor with power from the power supply (operation of pre-charge circuit 415/435). Regarding claim 12, Jensen et al. discloses (see fig. 6-7) a voltage detector (465) is coupled to the pre-charge circuit (connection to controller 470), wherein the pre-charge circuit comprises a charge switch (415) between the storage capacitor and the power supply (415 is located between 405 and 430), and wherein the pre-charge circuit is configured to close the charge switch to charge the storage capacitor when the detected voltage is below a capacitor fill threshold (see fig. 7 boxes 705-720). Regarding claim 13, Jensen et al. discloses (see fig. 6-7) that the pre-charge circuit (415/435, controller 470, 605, 610) is configured to disconnect a charge switch to stop charging the storage capacitor when the detected voltage is above a capacitor fill threshold (see fig. 5 box 720). Regarding claim 14, Jensen et al. discloses (see fig. 6-7) the pre-charge circuit (415/435, controller 470, 605, 610) comprises a resistor (605) coupled at one end to the storage capacitor (connection to same ground as 430) and coupled to a power supply at an opposite end (connection to 405 through 415/435) configured to limit a current from the power supply to the storage capacitor (operation of 605). Regarding claim 15, Jensen et al. discloses (see fig. 6-7) that the pre-charge circuit comprises a DC (Direct Current) - DC converter (415/435, 420, controller 470, 605, 610, 450) or a current-limited continuous-time voltage regulator configured to control a current to the storage capacitor. Regarding claims 18 and 20, Jensen et al. discloses (see fig. 6-7) a method comprising: receiving a drive cycle request at a control circuit (470 receiving indication that the energy in inductor 435 added to the energy in 430 equals the desired energy level. See paragraph 0062); connecting a storage capacitor to a load through a switch between the storage capacitor and the load in response to the drive cycle request (closing 455 to connect 430 to 460, once the energy level is met. See paragraph 0063), the storage capacitor being coupled to the control circuit (connection to 470 through 465), the control circuit operating the switch in the drive cycle having a series of pulses to provide power to the load (470 on/off pulses); and enabling a pre-charge circuit (415/435, controller 470) to provide current to the storage capacitor during the drive cycle (415/435, controller 470) pre-charging 430 during the charging phase of the cycle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 8, 10, 16-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen et al. (US 2019/0372564) in view of Noguchi et al. (US Patent 10033372). Regarding claim 2, Jensen et al. does not disclose that the control circuit further comprises a stop port configured to receive a stop signal from the load, the control circuit to cause the switch to disconnect the storage capacitor from the load in response to the stop signal. Noguchi et al. discloses (see fig. 9) that a control circuit (33) further comprises a stop port (input to 33a) configured to receive a stop signal from a load (signal indicating that the load is not fully activated), the control circuit to cause a switch (SW1) to disconnect a storage capacitor (C1) from the load in response to the stop signal (operation of 33 turning SW! off). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circuit of Jensen et al. to include the features of Noguchi et al. because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 5, Jensen et al. discloses the claimed invention except for each pulse of the series of pulses being a voltage greater than a minimum effective voltage of the load. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to have each pulse of the series of pulses comprise a voltage greater than a minimum effective voltage of the load, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circuit of Jensen et al. to include the features of having each pulse of the series of pulses comprise a voltage greater than a minimum effective voltage of the load, because it provides for a reduction in component/operation variances, which can increase operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 8, Jensen et al. does not disclose that the control circuit comprises a logic circuit to start a pulse when a storage capacitor voltage exceeds a threshold, a pulse request is received, and no stop signal is received. Noguchi et al. discloses (see fig. 9) that a control circuit comprises a logic circuit (33a) to start a pulse (output from 33a to control SW1) when a storage capacitor voltage exceeds a threshold (output from 22a), a pulse request is received (input to 33a), and no stop signal is received (signal not indicating that load is fully activated). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circuit of Jensen et al. to include the features of Noguchi et al. because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 10, Jensen et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the power supply comprising a battery having one or more cells. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the power supply comprise a battery having one or more cells, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circuit of Jensen et al. to include the features of having the power supply comprise a battery having one or more cells, because it allows for a specific design choice, which can provide a reduction in component variance, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 16, Jensen et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the load comprising a shape memory alloy wire coupled to a workpiece. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the load comprise a shape memory alloy wire coupled to a workpiece, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circuit of Jensen et al. to include the features of having the load comprise a shape memory alloy wire coupled to a workpiece, because it allows for a specific design choice, which can provide a reduction in component variance, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 17, Jensen et al. does not disclose that the load comprises a plurality of loads, the drive circuit further comprising a multiplexing switch coupled to the control circuit to connect the storage capacitor to different ones of the loads in response to the control circuit. Noguchi et al. discloses (see fig. 12) that a the load comprises a plurality of loads (14/16), a drive circuit further comprising a multiplexing switch (SWx1/SWx2) coupled to a control circuit (52) to connect a storage capacitor (Cx) to different ones of the loads in response to the control circuit (operation of 52 connecting Cx to loads 14/16 by controlling SWx1 and SWx2). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circuit of Jensen et al. to include the features of Noguchi et al. because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 19, Jensen et al. discloses (see fig. 6-7) detecting a voltage at the storage capacitor (465), wherein enabling the pre-charge circuit comprises enabling the pre-charge circuit to provide current to the storage capacitor in response to detecting a voltage that is below a capacitor fill threshold and disabling the pre-charge circuit to stop providing current to the storage capacitor in response to detecting a voltage that is above the capacitor fill threshold (see fig. 7 boxes 705-720). Jensen et al. does not disclose that operating the switch comprises disconnecting the storage capacitor from the load in response to detecting a voltage that is below a low voltage drive threshold and reconnecting the storage capacitor to the load in response to detecting a voltage that is above a high voltage drive threshold. Noguchi et al. discloses (see fig. 9) that operating a switch (operation of SWx) comprises disconnecting a storage capacitor (Cx) from a load (!4) in response to detecting a voltage that is below a low voltage drive threshold (operation of 22) and reconnecting the storage capacitor (Cx) to the load (14) in response to detecting a voltage that is above a high voltage drive threshold (operation of 22). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circuit of Jensen et al. to include the features of Noguchi et al. because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen et al. (US 2019/0372564) in view of Wei et al. (US Patent 9401637). Regarding claim 9, Jensen et al. does not disclose that the control circuit comprises a time reference and logic to determine a duration of a pulse, the frequency of the pulses within the drive cycle and a number of pulses within the drive cycle. Wei et al. discloses (see fig. 4) that a control circuit (64) comprises a time reference (clock input to 64) and logic (64 is a logic circuit) to determine a duration of a pulse, the frequency of the pulses within a drive cycle and the number of pulses within a drive cycle (PWM/PFM operation of 64). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circuit of Jensen et al. to include the features of Wei et al. because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 2, the applicant argues that “The Office Action on page 7 states Noguchi "control circuit (33) cause a switch (SW1) to disconnect a storage capacitor (C1) from the load in response to the stop signal (operation of 33 turning SW! off)." Applicant respectfully notes that Noguchi's capacitor (C1) is not Claim 2's "storage capacitor configured to supply power to the switch and the load'. Instead Noguchi's capacitor (C1) drains power from load 14 as can be seen in Noguchi Figure 8 where each time switch (SW1) is turned on (between T4 to T5, and T6 to T7) to couple capacitor (C1) to the load 14 the voltage (VDD/Vx) drops. Only Noguchi's capacitor (Cx) supplies power to load 14, while capacitor (C1) does not. For at least the reasons presented, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of this rejection and Allowance of Claim 2”. The examiner does not agree with the applicant’s arguments regarding the Noguchi reference. Claim 2 does not state that the storage capacitor is configured to supply power to the switch and the load. Claim 2 states “…the control circuit further comprises a stop port configured to receive a stop signal from the load, the control circuit to cause the switch to disconnect the storage capacitor from the load in response to the stop signal”. It appears that the applicant is arguing limitations that are not present in claim 2. Therefore, Noguchi does disclose (see fig. 9) that a control circuit (33) further comprises a stop port (input to 33a) configured to receive a stop signal from a load (signal indicating that the load is not fully activated), the control circuit to cause a switch (SW1) to disconnect a storage capacitor (C1) from the load in response to the stop signal (operation of 33 turning SW! off). Regarding claim 16, the applicant argues that “The Office Action on page 10 states "It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the load comprise a shape memory alloy wire coupled to a workpiece, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.". Applicant respectfully notes that the above statement is a type of "Official Notice" covered by MPEP$2144.03 "Reliance on Common Knowledge in the Art or "Well Known" Prior Art" (e.g. "Official Notice", "Matter of Design Choice", etc.)”. The examiner does not agree with the applicant’s arguments regarding claim 16. Nowhere in the rejection of claim 16 does it state that the examiner takes official notice regarding the limitations of claim 16. The rejection of claim 16 clearly recites case law (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416) in regards to the limitations of claim 16 (Jensen et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the load comprising a shape memory alloy wire coupled to a workpiece. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the load comprise a shape memory alloy wire coupled to a workpiece, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY A GBLENDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838