DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant filed a response and amended claims 1, 5, 9, 25-26, 3025, 28-30 on 07/07/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are primarily drawn to the amended claims. The revised rejection below addresses the amended claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“a second lateral” should read –a second lateral wall--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, 12, 21-24, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, 5 and 9 recite an/the “electronic control device programmed to …”.
Based on the written description, there appears to be no disclosure of a programmable electronic control device. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Examiner suggests amending the limitation to “electronic control device configured to …”.
Claim 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 28-29, there appears to be a lack of antecedent basis for “the separation device”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a separation device configured to increase a distance between the first section and second section” in claim 1 and its dependents;
“a movable member configured to apply a force to push the first section or the second section” in claim 24; and
“a movable member configured to apply a force pushing the opposed lateral walls apart from eachother” in claim 30.
Based on the specification, the above limitations are interpreted as hydraulic cylinder [0046], springs [0044]; mechanical screw mechanism [0045]; scissor mechanism [0048] (Figures 7-10) and their equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirabayashi (PG-PUB 2020/0055266).
Regarding claim 25, Hirabayashi teaches the mold assembly, comprising:
a first section (Figure 3 and 10, item 3E and [0106]-[0108]);
a second section coupled to the first section (Figure 3 and 10, item 3D and [0106]-[0108]), forming a seam where the first section abuts the second section (Figure 12, item 12 and 14);
a cavity to receive a part, the cavity being defined by a first lateral wall (Figure 3 and 10, surface of 3D), a second lateral wall (Figure 3 and 10, surface of 3E), and a floor (Figure 3 and 10, surface of 3B), the first wall fixedly connected (Figure 12); and
a sealing material between the first section and the second section (Figure 13 and 14, item 60 and [0136]-[0137], [0141]-[0142]), the sealing material is capable of maintaining a seal for a part placed in the cavity when the first section and second section abut each other (Figure 13 and 14 and [0108], [0137]), and releasing the seal causes the first and second lateral walls move farther apart from each other by removing the seal from a sealing cavity (Figure 13 and 14 and [0106]).
Hirabayashi does not explicitly teach releasing the seal during expansion of the part. However, the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Given that the mold assembly of Hirabayashi is identical to the claimed mold assembly, the mold assembly of Hirabayashi would be capable of removing the seal during expansion.
Regarding claim 26, Hirabayashi teaches the mold assembly as applied to claim 25, wherein the cavity is open in a direction extending away from the opposed lateral walls (Figure 12 and [0119]).
Regarding claim 27, Hirabayashi teaches the mold assembly as applied to claim 26, wherein the sealing material is disposed outside of the cavity (Figure 12 and 15 and [0141]).
Regarding claim 28, Hirabayashi teaches the mold assembly as applied to claim 25, further including a hydraulic cylinder (i.e., mechanism) that couples the first section to the second section (Figure 13 and 14 and [0096]).
Regarding claim 29, Hirabayashi teaches the mold assembly as applied to claim 25, further including a mechanical device configured to separate the first section and the second section based on temperatures within an autoclave (Figure 13 and 14 and [0096]).
Regarding claim 30, Hirabayashi teaches the mold assembly as applied to claim 25, wherein the separation device includes a rod (i.e., movable member) configured to apply a force pushing the opposed lateral walls apart from eachother (Figure 10 and 14 and [0096], [0099]-[0100], [0139]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3, 5-6, 9, 10, 12, and 21-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 9, and 29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application, except for an electronic control device to cause the separation device to increase a distance between the first section and second section during expansion of a part.
U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 claim a separation device, but is silent to how the separation device is operated.
To provide a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity, which accomplishes the same result, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claimed assembly of US Patent No. 11,207,808 with a controller configured to operate the separation device.
The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Because the controller of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 is configured to cause the separation device to increase a distance between the first section and second section, the controller would be capable of activating this function at any time during the molding process, such heating of the mold assembly.
Claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 of the instant application.
Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 discloses all of the limitations of claim 3, 6, 21, and 22 of the instant application.
Claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 of the instant application, except for an electronic control device to cause the separation device to increase a distance between the first section and second section during expansion of a part.
U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 claim a separation device, but is silent to how the separation device is operated.
To provide a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity, which accomplishes the same result, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claimed assembly of US Patent No. 11,207,808 with a controller configured to operate the separation device.
The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Because the controller of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 is configured to cause the separation device to increase a distance between the first section and second section, the controller would be capable of activating this function at any time during the molding process.
Claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 discloses all of the limitations of claim 9, 10, 12, 23, and 24 of the instant application.
Claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 discloses all of the limitations of claim 25 -28 and 30 of the instant application.
Related to instant claim 25, the release of the seal when a separation device causes the opposed lateral walls to move farther apart from eachother during expansion of the part is not a structural limitation, except for an electronic control device to cause the separation device to increase a distance between the first section and second section during expansion of a part.
U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 claim a separation device, but is silent to how the separation device is operated.
The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Because the mold assembly of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 is identical to the claimed mold assembly, the mold assembly of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 would be capable of activating this function at any time during the molding process, such during expansion of the part.
In regards to claim 29, U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 does not disclose a separation of the first section and the second section based on temperatures within an autoclave.
However, given that the apparatus of the U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 is identical to the instant claimed apparatus, the apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 would also be operating the mechanical device to separate the first section and second section based on temperatures within an autoclave.
Claim 7 and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 in view of Hirabayashi and Dupen.
In regards to claims 7 and 31, U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 does not recite disclose the separation device includes a resilient member and the movable member is actuated by a hydraulic cylinder.
U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 discloses a sliding rod for actuating the scissor mechanism (Claims 8-10).
Hirabayashi teaches hydraulic cylinders coupled to a controlling device for actuation for the purpose of separating molds [0096]-[0099].
Both U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 and Hirabayashi are drawn to the same field of endeavor pertaining actuating separation between molds. Hirabayashi teaches a known suitable mechanism of actuating a hydraulic cylinder to separate components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the sliding rod of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 with the known suitable technique of using a hydraulic cylinder as taught by Hirabayashi for the purpose of actuating the scissor mechanism with the benefit of automating the actuation with a controlled configured to control the hydraulic cylinder as taught by Hirabayashi.
Dupen teaches there are various types of hydraulic cylinders, such as single-acting cylinders comprising a piston, rod, and cylinder, wherein the cylinder retracts under the force of a spring (i.e., resilient member) (Page 1).
U.S. Patent No. 11,207,808 in view of Hirabayashi does not explicitly teach a resilient member or a movable member configured to apply a force pushing the opposed lateral walls apart from each other.
Dupen teaches there are various types of hydraulic cylinders, such as single-acting cylinders comprising a piston, rod, and cylinder, wherein the cylinder retracts under the force of a spring (i.e., resilient member) (Page 1).
Both Hirabayashi and Dupen are drawn to the same field of endeavor pertaining to hydraulic cylinders. Hirabayashi is silent to the specific configuration of the hydraulic cylinder, prompting one to look elsewhere in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a hydraulic cylinder with a spring mechanism as taught by Dupen for the purpose of providing a suitable hydraulic cylinder as desired by Hirabayashi.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, 12, 23-24, and 31 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, the closest prior art has been applied. The cited art do not teach or suggest an electronic control device programmed to: during heating of the mold assembly, operate the separation device and cause the separation device to increase a distance between the first and the second section during a molding process while heat is applied to the part.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/HANA C PAGE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/MICHAEL A TOLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745