DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 9 have been amended.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 10 – 13, 15, 16 19 and 20/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grubmueller et al (US 2019/0244469) in view of Hercog (WO 2007/102788).
As per claim 1, Grubmueller discloses:
a roulette wheel comprising a rotatable rim and a plurality of pockets; (Grubmueller discloses a physical roulette wheel with a rim wherein the wheel is rotatable and may comprise a plurality of pockets and multiple displays visible through the roulette wheel. The system comprises e.g. a protective cover include: a transparent covering panel (such as glass, perspex, acrylic glass/plexiglass, any form of plastic, sapphire crystal, mineral glass), para [0066]; e.g. the projector is arranged below, under or behind the screen the screen preferably has a certain transparency or is fully transparent with a layer capable to display the light signal coming from the beamer, The screen could be the mechanical wheel and/or the roulette bowl, para [0016]; para [0057]; Fig. 1);
an optical display system comprising a plurality of lighting elements configured to provide a lighting effect visible on a top surface of the rotatable rim; and (Grubmueller discloses e.g. projector is arranged below, under or behind the screen the screen preferably has a certain transparency or is fully transparent with a layer capable to display the light signal coming from the beamer. The screen could be the mechanical wheel and/or the roulette bowl. .. display the information on the mechanical wheel one projector could be used which projects symbols or number on the outer rim area of the wheel as well as an image of the pockets or a plurality of electronic displays could be used to display symbols or numbers adjacent to each pocket, para [0016); and
a controller providing signal content to the optical display system, the signal content producing at least a first lighting effect corresponding to gaming information. (Grubmueller discloses e.g. display the information on the mechanical wheel one projector could be used which projects symbols or number on the outer rim area of the wheel as well as an image of the pockets or a plurality of electronic displays could be used to display symbols or numbers adjacent to each pocket, para [0016]; e.g. When the ball position in the outer rim section or in the pocket section of the mechanical wheel 20 is detected step d) matches the symbol displayed by the roulette display system 1O to the pocket or to the position of the ball by means of the label controller 44, the display controller 50 and the roulette-display-system 1 O by adjusting the spinning velocity of the image to the spinning velocity of the mechanical wheel 20, para [0072]; para [0018).
In the event that it could be argued that Grubmueller fails to disclose a plurality of lighting elements, the Examiner points to Hercog, wherein Hercog teaches the user use of a light sources under a transparent rim of a roulette wheel that comprise a plurality of lighting sources such as bulbs (Hercog par 12).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Grubmueller in view of Hercog to use a known technique to modify similar devices in the same way by means of utilizing multiple lighting elements or sources under to illuminate a portion of a roulette wheel. The use of multiple light sources would be beneficial as it would provide a measure of granularity when applying lighting effects to only certain portions of the wheel to draw the players attention to those portions
As per claim 2, wherein the first lighting effect communicates at least one of a roulette ball position, a number, a symbol, a color, a bonus, a winning outcome, and an animation. (Grubmueller para (0016], [0020]-(0028], [0057] (0059).
As per claim 3, wherein the optical display system comprises at least one of: an LED array, a projection device, and a liquid crystal display. (Grubmueller para [0057)-(0059]).
As per claim 4, wherein the first lighting effect produces visible symbols along a perimeter of the plurality of pockets. (Grubmueller discloses lighting effects along a plurality of pockets) (Grubmueller 0016)
As per claim 10, Grubmueller discloses:
receiving gaming information from at least one sensor associated with a roulette wheel system, the roulette wheel system comprising a plurality of pockets and a rotatable rim along a perimeter of the plurality of pockets; (Grubmueller discloses a physical roulette wheel with a rim wherein the wheel is rotatable and may comprise a plurality of pockets and multiple displays visible through the roulette wheel. The system comprises e.g. a protective cover include: a transparent covering panel (such as glass, perspex, acrylic glass/plexiglass, any form of plastic, sapphire crystal, mineral glass), para [0066]; e.g. the projector is arranged below, under or behind the screen the screen preferably has a certain transparency or is fully transparent with a layer capable to display the light signal coming from the beamer, The screen could be the mechanical wheel and/or the roulette bowl, para [0016]; para [0057]; Fig. 1) and receiving data from sensors [0021, 0029]
determining, by a controller, a first lighting effect responsive to the gaming information; and (Grubmueller discloses e.g. display the information on the mechanical wheel one projector could be used which projects symbols or number on the outer rim area of the wheel as well as an image of the pockets or a plurality of electronic displays could be used to display symbols or numbers adjacent to each pocket, para [0016]; e.g. When the ball position in the outer rim section or in the pocket section of the mechanical wheel 20 is detected step d) matches the symbol displayed by the roulette display system 1O to the pocket or to the position of the ball by means of the label controller 44, the display controller 50 and the roulette-display-system 1 O by adjusting the spinning velocity of the image to the spinning velocity of the mechanical wheel 20, para [0072]; para [0018).
producing, by an optical display system, the lighting effect on a top surface of the rotatable rim. (Grubmueller discloses e.g. projector is arranged below, under or behind the screen the screen preferably has a certain transparency or is fully transparent with a layer capable to display the light signal coming from the beamer. The screen could be the mechanical wheel and/or the roulette bowl. .. display the information on the mechanical wheel one projector could be used which projects symbols or number on the outer rim area of the wheel as well as an image of the pockets or a plurality of electronic displays could be used to display symbols or numbers adjacent to each pocket, para [0016); and
As per claim 11, wherein the optical display system comprises a plurality of lighting elements, and at least one set of lighting elements corresponding to a pocket. (Grubmueller discloses lighting effects along a plurality of pockets) (Grubmueller 0016)
As per claim 12, wherein the lighting effect displays at least one of a roulette ball position, a number, a symbol, a color, a bonus, a winning outcome, and an animation. (Grubmueller para (0016], [0020]-(0028], [0057] (0059).
As per claim 13, generating a sequence of lighting effects throughout a game cycle. (Grubmueller discloses a sequence of lighting effect that can cause pockets to dynamically change or remove displayed roulette numbers) (Grubmueller 0016, 0067-0069)
As per claim 15, further comprising receiving the gaming information in real-time from the at least one sensor comprising at least one of an optical sensor, a proximity sensor, a pressure sensor, and a position sensor. (Grubmueller 0021 – 0022, 0029 – 0032)
As per claim 16, wherein the gaming information is indicative of at least one of: a roulette ball position, a game timing, a roulette ball launch, and a gaming outcome. (Grubmueller 0029 – 0032)
As per claim 19, wherein the optical display system generates the first lighting effect using at least one of: an LED array, a projection device, and a liquid crystal display. (Grubmueller para [0057)-(0059]).
As per claim 20, wherein the optical display system is positioned beneath the rotatable rim. (Grubmueller discloses e.g. projector is arranged below, under or behind the screen the screen preferably has a certain transparency or is fully transparent with a layer capable to display the light signal coming from the beamer. The screen could be the mechanical wheel and/or the roulette bowl. .. display the information on the mechanical wheel one projector could be used which projects symbols or number on the outer rim area of the wheel as well as an image of the pockets or a plurality of electronic displays could be used to display symbols or numbers adjacent to each pocket, para [0016); and
Claim(s) 5 – 9, 14, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grubmueller et al (US 2019/0244469) in view of Hercog (WO 2007/102788) in view of Grubmueller (EP2940664) (hereinafter “Grubmueller ‘664”).
As per claim 5, further comprising a … rim positioned above and sloping downwards towards the roulette wheel, wherein the optical display system provides a second lighting effect visible on a top surface of the … rim. (Grubmueller discloses applying of lighting effects towards the outer rim of the roulette wheel) (Grubmueller 0057), wherein the roulette system comprises a roulette apparatus that is bowl shaped and slopes downward. (Grubmueller 0060)
Grubmueller fails to disclose that the rim is stationary, wherein lighting effects are applied to the stationary rim.
In a similar field of endeavor, Grubmueller ‘664 discloses the application of lighting effects by means of a video display is applied to all areas of the roulette wheel assembly including a stationary rim, bowl, ball track, wheelhead, and/or ball pockets. (Grubmuller’644 0011).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Grubmueller in view of Grubmueller ‘664 to utilize a known technique to modify similar devices in the same way by applying lighting effects by means of video displays incorporated into any part of the roulette assembly, such as a stationary rim. This would be beneficial as it would provide dynamic content to players of the game and thus increase their enjoyment such as by being able modify the odds of the game (Grubmueller ‘664, 007 – 0010)
As per claim 6, wherein the stationary rim is transparent, and the optical display system generates the second lighting effect through the stationary rim using a second plurality of lighting elements. (Combination of Grubmueller and Grubmueller ‘664 as applied above, wherein Grubmueller discloses the applying of multiple different lighting effects wherein one may be towards through the outer rim of the roulette wheel and video displays that comprise a transparent cover) (Grubmueller 0016, 0057, 0059, 0060).
As per claim 7, wherein the stationary rim is positioned beneath a roulette ball launch point and is tilted at an angle above a horizontal plane of the roulette wheel. (Combination of Grubmueller and Grubmueller ‘664 as applied above, wherein Grubmueller discloses the applying of multiple different lighting effects wherein one may be towards through the outer rim of the roulette wheel and video displays that comprise a transparent cover) (Grubmueller 0016, 0057, 0059, 0060) (Grubmueller ‘644 teaches that the bowl rim and/or ball track which is below a ball launch point can be utilize as a video display portion wherein the bowl rim and/or ball track is angled and positioned above the roulette wheel.) (Grubmueller ‘664, claim 2, 0011)
As per claim 8, further comprising a cone covering a central portion of the roulette wheel, and wherein the optical display system produces, based on the signal content from the controller, a third lighting effect. (Combination of Grubmueller and Grubmueller ‘664 as applied above, wherein video display effects are applied to the cone and/or wheelhead of the roulette wheel) (Grubmueller ‘664 0011).
As per claim 9, wherein the third lighting effect shows at least one of a pocket symbol, a winning amount, and a bonus value. (Combination of Grubmueller and Grubmueller ‘664 as applied above, wherein video display effects are applied to a pocket symbol of the roulette wheel) (Grubmueller ‘664 0011).
As per claim 14, further comprising producing, by the optical display system, a second lighting effect on a cone covering a central portion of the roulette wheel system. (Combination of Grubmueller and Grubmueller ‘664 as applied above, wherein video display effects are applied to the cone and/or wheelhead of the roulette wheel) (Grubmueller ‘664 0011).
As per claim 17, further comprising generating a third lighting effect on a top surface of a stationary rim positioned above and sloping downwards towards the roulette wheel. (Combination of Grubmueller and Grubmueller ‘664 as applied above to claim 5, wherein Grubmueller discloses the applying of multiple different lighting effects wherein one may be towards through the outer rim of the roulette wheel and video displays that comprise a transparent cover) (Grubmueller 0016, 0057, 0059, 0060).
As per claim 18, wherein the stationary rim is transparent. (Combination of Grubmueller and Grubmueller ‘664 as applied above, wherein Grubmueller discloses the applying of multiple different lighting effects wherein one may be towards through the outer rim of the roulette wheel and video displays that comprise a transparent cover) (Grubmueller 0016, 0057, 0059, 0060).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 - 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please see above rejection in view of newly applied reference to Hercog.
Regarding the rejection of claims 5 – 7, 17 and 18, the Applicant alleges that Grubmueller ‘664 “only offers generic listing of display locations without teaching this arrangement” (Remarks page 7). Examiner respectfully disagree and notes that Grubmueller does teach the arrangements of the claims specifically as pointed out in the above rejection.
Conclusion
/RAW/ Examiner, Art Unit 3715
9/16/2026
/KANG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715