DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 as written allows for three possible options regarding which liquid is dispensed: 1) only the first liquid, 2) only the second liquid, or 3) both the first liquid and the second liquid. Since the second liquid is optional, any further limitation regarding the second liquid is also optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giller et al (US 2007/0241482; herein Giller). Regarding claim 1:
Giller teaches creating a layer of powder (the powder can contain a plant derived fiber), applying a infrared absorber (which can be mixed with a binder) to the layer, applying heat to the layer, and where the heating temperature is between the melting and boiling points of the binder in paragraphs 0045, 0056-0057, 0132, 0177, and claim 43. The claimed second fluid is optional.
Regarding claim 2:
Giller teaches the three steps in order in paragraphs 0056-0057
Regarding claim 3:
Giller teaches the powder and absorber/binder application can be repeated before the application of the heat in paragraph 0059.
Regarding claim 5:
Giller teaches the absorber is carbon black in paragraph 0143.
Regarding claim 6:
Giller teaches temperature control in order to preserve the materials used in paragraphs 0127 and 0192.
Regarding claims 7-11:
Claims 7-11 are directed to the limitations regarding the second liquid, and as previously discussed the second liquid is optional, thus any further limitation regarding the second liquid is also optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giller, in view of Dadvar (US 2022/0315495). Regarding claim 4:
Gillar is silent to the claimed resin impregnation step.
In the same field of endeavor Dadvar teaches resin infiltrating a part made with cellulose (paragraph 0061-003 and 0090-0095).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary sill in the art at the time the invention was filed to resin impregnate as taught by Dadvar, since doing so increase part density, strength, wear, and water proofness.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-5 of copending Application No. 18/600868 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because one cannot perform the instant method without also performing the method of Application No. 18/600868.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the cited references are related to 3D printing with plant based fibers, binders, and absorbers.
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743