DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“a second side extender” in line 11 of claim 1 appears to have misuse “a” instead of “the” to account of antecedent basis;
“a first tie down rail” and “a second tie down rail” in lines 1-2 of claim 2 appears to have misuse “a” instead of “the” to account of antecedent bases. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “the side extender” in line 12. It is unclear which one of the plurality of side extenders this is referring to.
Claims 11-13 are rejected due to their dependency on the rejected claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer (US 6764121 B1) in view of Anderson et al. (US 8550757 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Bauer discloses a truck (Bauer, Fig. 11) comprising: a truck bed (Bauer, 1 in Fig. 11), the truck bed includes a bed deck (Bauer, Fig. 11, bed floor), a first sidewall and a second sidewall (Bauer, 3R and 3L in Fig. 11); and a truck bed extender (Bauer, 10 in Fig. 3) comprising a divider wall (Bauer, 12 in Fig. 3) that extends in a vehicle lateral direction (Bauer, Fig. 3, left-right direction) and side extenders (Bauer, 11L and 11R in Fig. 3) on opposite sides of the divider wall that are configured to slidably connect to tie down rails (Bauer, Fig. 11 and Col. 4 lines 60-65, bed lip on the sidewalls, slidable when the clamp is loosen by the screw 36 in Fig. 10) within the truck bed, the side extenders pivotally connected to the divider wall (Bauer, Fig. 3 and 11, by hinges 15) so that the side extenders pivot against the divider wall in a stowed configuration (Bauer, Fig. 11); wherein the first side extender includes a first connector (Bauer, clamp assembly of Fig. 10, also shown in Fig. 11) connected to the first side extender that is configured to slide along a first tie down rail when connected thereto (Bauer, slidable when the clamp is loosen by the screw 36 in Fig. 10).
Bauer fails to disclose the bed located rearward of a passenger cabin in a vehicle longitudinal direction; the first connector connected directly to the first side extender; and the second side extender comprises a second connector connected directly to the second side extender that is configured to slide along a second tie down rail when connected thereto.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate a second connector on the other side for the second side extender, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.04 VI. Doing so allows the connection between the extender and the bed to be more secured and prevents unintentional separation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the second end of the connector to connect directly with the rungs of the side extenders (Bauer, Col. 5 lines 10-13 teaches the clamp assembly second end can attach to either the hinge or the rungs), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), see MPEP 2144.04 VI. Doing so prevents over exerting forces on the hinge part, and protects the hinge.
Anderson teaches the bed located rearward of a passenger cabin in a vehicle longitudinal direction (Anderson, Fig. 1, bed 100 behind cabin 120).
Anderson is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of truck bed with tie down rails, divider, and extender as Bauer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the truck as taught by Bauer to incorporate the teachings of Anderson with a reasonable expectation of success and have a cabin such that the bed is behind the cabin. Doing so provides passenger accommodation space for increased comfort, convenience, and protection.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bauer in view of Anderson teaches the truck of claim 1 further comprising a first tie down rail (Bauer, Fig. 11, bed side wall lip) extending longitudinally along the first sidewall and a second tie down rail (Bauer, Fig. 11, both walls have bed side wall lips) extending longitudinally along the second sidewall.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bauer in view of Anderson teaches the truck of claim 2, wherein the first tie down rail comprises a first slot (Bauer, see annotated Fig. 11, slot where the clamp jaw 30 inserted into), the first connector comprising an anchor body (Bauer, 30 in Fig. 10-11) that is sized to be received within the first slot (Bauer, Fig. 11, since it is received in the bed lip rail/slot).
Figure 1 Annotated Fig. 11 from Bauer
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Bauer in view of Anderson teaches the truck of claim 4, wherein the first connector comprises an anchor knob (Anderson, 516 in Fig. 8, also for a clamp assembly) that is operatively connected to the anchor body (after combination) such that turning the anchor knob tightens the anchor body against the first tie down rail (Anderson, Col. 5 lines 9-10, 516 is a threaded knob that can be used for tightening) at a desired location (Bauer, Fig. 11, or other locations along the rail).
Anderson is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of truck bed with tie down rails, divider, extender, and clamp as Bauer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the truck as taught by Bauer to incorporate the teachings of Anderson with a reasonable expectation of success and have an anchor knob. Doing so allows users to tightening/loosening without separate tools, as opposed to the screws disclosed by Bauer.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer (US 6764121 B1).
Regarding claim 6, Bauer discloses a truck bed extender (Bauer, 10 in Fig. 3) for use in a bed (Bauer, 1 in Fig. 11) of a truck (Bauer, Fig. 11), the truck bed extender comprising: a divider wall (Bauer, 12 in Fig. 3) that extends in a vehicle lateral direction (Bauer, Fig. 3, left-right direction) and side extenders (Bauer, 11L and 11R in Fig. 3) on opposite sides of the divider wall that are configured to slidably connect to tie down rails (Bauer, Fig. 11 and Col. 4 lines 60-65, bed lip on the sidewalls, slidable when the clamp is loosen by the screw 36 in Fig. 10) within a truck bed of the truck, the side extenders pivotally connected to the divider wall (Bauer, Fig. 3 and 11, by hinges 15) so that the side extenders pivot against the divider wall in a stowed configuration (Bauer, Fig. 11); wherein the side extenders include a first side extender and a second side extender (Bauer, 11L and 11R in Fig. 3), wherein the first side extender includes a first connector (Bauer, clamp assembly of Fig. 10, also shown in Fig. 11) connected to the first side extender that is configured to slide along a first tie down rail when connected thereto (Bauer, slidable when the clamp is loosen by the screw 36 in Fig. 10).
Bauer fails to disclose the first connector connected directly to the first side extender; and the second side extender comprises a second connector connected directly to the second side extender that is configured to slide along a second tie down rail when connected thereto.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate a second connector on the other side for the second side extender, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.04 VI. Doing so allows the connection between the extender and the bed to be more secured and prevents unintentional separation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the second end of the connector to connect directly with the rungs of the side extenders (Bauer, Col. 5 lines 10-13 teaches the clamp assembly second end can attach to either the hinge or the rungs), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), see MPEP 2144.04 VI. Doing so prevents over exerting forces on the hinge part, and protects the hinge.
Regarding claim 8, Bauer discloses the truck of claim 6, wherein the first tie down rail comprises a first slot (Bauer, see annotated Fig. 11, slot where the clamp jaw 30 inserted into), the first connector comprising an anchor body (Bauer, 30 in Fig. 10-11) that is sized to be received within the first slot (Bauer, Fig. 11, since it is received in the bed lip rail/slot).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Anderson et al. (US 8550757 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Bauer discloses the truck bed extender of claim 8, but fails to disclose an anchor knob that is operatively connected to the anchor body such that turning the anchor knob tightens the anchor body against the first tie down rail.
Anderson teaches an anchor knob (Anderson, 516 in Fig. 8, also for a clamp assembly) that is operatively connected to the anchor body (after combination) such that turning the anchor knob tightens the anchor body against the first tie down rail (Anderson, Col. 5 lines 9-10, 516 is a threaded knob that can be used for tightening).
Anderson is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of truck bed with tie down rails, divider, extender, and clamp as Bauer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the truck as taught by Bauer to incorporate the teachings of Anderson with a reasonable expectation of success and have an anchor knob. Doing so allows users to tightening/loosening without separate tools, as opposed to the screws disclosed by Bauer.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer (US 6764121 B1) in view of Wood et al. (US 20090074532 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Bauer in view of Wood teaches a device that performs the function disclosed in the method claim 10 when used in normal and usual operation. Bauer discloses stowing a truck bed extender (Bauer, 10 in Fig. 3) within a truck bed (Bauer, 1 in Fig. 11) of a truck (Bauer, Fig. 11), detaching a connector of the truck bed extender (Bauer, Fig. 11, detach connector/clamp of Fig. 10 so that the extender is in position of Fig. 11; connector can be the clamp assembly of Fig. 10 as described in Col. 5 lines 33-35) from a tie down rail (Bauer, Fig. 11 and Col. 4 lines 60-65, bed lip on the sidewalls) that extends along a sidewall (Bauer, 3R/3L in Fig. 11) of the truck bed, the truck bed extender comprising a divider wall (Bauer, 12 in Fig. 3) that extends in a vehicle lateral direction (Bauer, Fig. 3, left-right direction) and side extenders (Bauer, 11L and 11R in Fig. 3) on opposite sides of the divider wall that are configured to slidably connect to tie down rails (Bauer, Fig. 11 and Col. 4 lines 60-65, bed lip on the sidewalls, slidable when the clamp is loosen by the screw 36 in Fig. 10) within the truck bed, the side extenders pivotally connected to the divider wall (Bauer, Fig. 3 and 11, by hinges 15) so that the side extenders pivot against the divider wall in a stowed configuration (Bauer, Fig. 11); and rotating the side extenders relative to the divider wall (Bauer, Fig. 11, side extenders rotatable by hinges 15, which is shown in Fig. 3 as well) such that the side extenders extend alongside the divider wall; wherein the side extender is a first side extender (Bauer, 11R in Fig. 3), the connector is a first connector (Bauer, clamp assembly of Fig. 10, also shown in Fig. 11) and the tie down rail is a first tie down rail, the truck bed extender comprising a second side extender (Bauer, 11L in Fig. 3), wherein the first side extender includes the first connector connected to the first side extender that is configured to slide along the first tie down rail when connected thereto (Bauer, slidable when the clamp is loosen by the screw 36 in Fig. 10).
Bauer fails to disclose rotating the truck bed extender such that the divider wall is adjacent a front wall of the truck bed; the first connector connected directly to the first side extender; and the second side extender comprises a second connector connected directly to the second side extender that is configured to slide along the second tie down rail when connected thereto.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate a second connector on the other side for the second side extender, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.04 VI. Doing so allows the connection between the extender and the bed to be more secured and prevents unintentional separation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the second end of the connector to connect directly with the rungs of the side extenders (Bauer, Col. 5 lines 10-13 teaches the clamp assembly second end can attach to either the hinge or the rungs), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), see MPEP 2144.04 VI. Doing so prevents over exerting forces on the hinge part, and protects the hinge.
Wood teaches rotating the truck bed extender such that the divider wall is adjacent a front wall of the truck bed (Wood, Fig. 7, adjacent front wall 20; truck bed extender is rotated since the extender 18 is facing rearward).
Wood is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of truck bed with rails, divider, and extender as Bauer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the truck as taught by Bauer to incorporate the teachings of Wood with a reasonable expectation of success and rotating the truck bed extender such that the divider wall is adjacent a front wall of the truck bed. Doing so frees up a greater space in the truck bed when the bed extender is not needed for large items that fit within the bed.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Bauer in view of Wood teaches method of claim 10 further comprising lifting the truck bed extender (Wood, paragraph 26) such that the divider wall is above wheel wells (Bauer, Fig. 3 and 11 shows the wheel wells; bed extender would have to be lifted above the wheel wells in order to change from the extender position to be adjacent the front wall) extending into the truck bed.
Wood is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of truck bed with rails, divider, and extender as Bauer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the truck as taught by Bauer to incorporate the teachings of Wood with a reasonable expectation of success and allows lifting. Doing so lets the user to move the extender between multiple desired location as desired and creates a versatile product.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bauer in view of Wood teaches method of claim 11 further comprising inserting the first connector (Bauer, clamp assembly of Fig. 10, also shown in Fig. 11) into a slot (Bauer, see annotated Fig. 11, slot where the clamp jaw 30 inserted into) extending along the first tie down rail.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Bauer in view of Wood teaches method of claim 12 further comprising locking (Bauer, Col. 4 line 65 – Col. 5 line 1, by tightening the clamp jaws) the first connector within the slot at a desired location (Bauer, Fig. 11 location, or other locations along the rail) along a length of the first tie down rail.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the last paragraph on page 6 of Applicant’s Reply, Applicant argues that Bauer fails to disclose the amended limitation in claims 1, 6, and 10. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As illustrated in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection above, Bauer in Col. 5 lines 10-13 discloses that the clamp assembly second end can attach to either the hinge or the rungs. The side extenders of Bauer has rungs on them suitable for such direct connection with the connector (clamp assembly). It is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the connection such that the connectors connect directly with the side extenders by the rungs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references that are not relied upon all disclose truck bed extenders with foldable side extenders.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WENWEI ZHUO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612