DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nebesnak (US Patent No 7,638,180) in view of Shah (US Patent No 7,614,194).
Referring to claim 1: Nebesnak teaches a roof panel repair device for sealing seams between roof panels or for repairing damage to the roof panels, said device comprising: a panel (item 10) being appliable to a seam between roof panels on a roof, said top layer being comprised of a fluid impermeable material (col 2, lines 48-50) wherein said top layer is configured to inhibit precipitation from passing through said seam between said roof panels, said bottom layer being comprised of an adhesive material (item 18) thereby facilitating said bottom layer to adhere to said roof panels for retaining said panel over said seam; and a protective sheet (item 20) being removably applied to said bottom layer of said panel such that said protective sheet inhibits said bottom layer from adhering. Nebesnak does not teach said panel has a length being greater than a width of said panel thereby facilitating said panel to extend along a full length of said seam while covering a minimum area of said pair of roof panels. However, Shah teaches said panel has a length being greater than a width of said panel thereby facilitating said panel to extend along a length of said seam while covering a minimum area of said pair of roof panels (figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to create the device taught by Nebesnak with the shape and size taught by Shah in order to cover a particular seam or opening. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to create the panel of Shah in whatever length necessary in order to cover a desired length of seam.
Regarding claim 4: Nebesnak teaches a roof panel repair device for sealing seams between roof panels or for repairing damage to the roof panels, said device comprising: a panel (item 10) being appliable to a seam between roof panels on a roof, said top layer being comprised of a fluid impermeable material wherein said top layer is configured to inhibit precipitation from passing through said seam between said roof panels, said bottom layer being comprised of an adhesive material (item 18) thereby facilitating said bottom layer to adhere to said roof panels for retaining said panel over said seam, and a protective sheet (item 20) being removably applied to said bottom layer of said panel such that said protective sheet inhibits said bottom layer from adhering, said protective sheet being positioned on a bottom surface of said bottom layer having said protective sheet completely covering said bottom surface of said bottom layer (figure 2). Nebesnak does not teach wherein said panel has a length being greater than a width of said panel such that said panel has sufficient length to extend along a full length of said seam while covering a minimum area of said pair of roof panels. However, Shah teaches said panel having a length being greater than a width of said panel (figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to create the device taught by Nebesnak with the shape and size taught by Shah in order to cover a particular seam or opening. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to create the panel of Shah in whatever length necessary in order to cover a desired length of seam.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that Shah teaches the joining of three membranes to make a T joint and therefore would not teach the length covering the whole seam. However, as noted above it would have been obvious to choose any specific length in order to sufficiently cover an designated joint length. Shah is meant to seal a joint between two or more membranes. One of ordinary skill would not use Shah to only cover a portion of the joint. One of ordinary skill would look to seal the complete joint and therefore it would have been obvious to interpret Shah to allow for complete joint sealing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK J MAESTRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635