Status of Claims
This is in response to applicant’s filing date of March 13, 2024. Claims 1-19 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 8, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority to Prior-Filed Application
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, 63/452113 filed on 3/14/2023, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections -- 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over She et al (NPL: "Exoskeleton-covered soft finger with vision-based proprioception and tactile sensing”)(“She”), provided by Applicant in IDS filed on 5/08/2025, and Young et al (KR-20160001933-A)(“Young”), machine translation of KR20160001933A is attached.
Publication of She Process Flow for Finger Assembly 1
As per claim 1, She discloses a robotic finger (Figures 3 & 2) comprising:
a first endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, finger assembly, and Page 10077 disclosing that finger comprises various segments:” We first make the finger exoskeleton with the 3D printer and assemble the finger segments, before pressing the soft silicone trunk into the exoskeleton {F1}.”);
a second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, finger assembly, and Page 10077 disclosing that finger comprises various segments:” We design a highly underactuated exoskeleton that is comprised of 7 segments and 6 joints to actuate the soft finger.”);
a flexure connecting the first endoskeleton segment and the second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 3, joints at finger connecting various segments, and Page 10078 disclosing flexing the finger at each joint:” To obtain proprioception of the finger, we utilized the 2-dimensional position of the individual joints of the finger exoskeleton. This allowed us to simplify the learning problem and use the mechanical constraints of the exoskeleton to reduce the dimensionality of the soft robot. Taking the first stationary joint as the world reference frame origin, we calculated the absolute angle (relative to the world reference frame) of each joint for a total of six numbers (Fig. 3).” ),;
a transparent elastomeric pad disposed on the first endoskeleton segment and the second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, C5 casting silicone, and Page 10077 disclosing that the segment with a camera is made with a transparent material to use the embedded camera:” Since we use cameras for both proprioception and tactile sensing, the soft finger body must be optically transparent. To give our finger this property, we made it out of platinum-catalyzed translucent silicone (XP-565, Silicones, Inc.) {C5}.”), wherein the transparent elastomeric pad has a palmar portion configured to contact an object during use of the robotic finger (She at Figure 2, P4 and C4 camera lens creating a soft silicon trunk called GelFlex, and Page 10078 disclosing that the GelFlex portion is configured to contact an object for obtaining information about the contacted object:” Using the center camera embedded in the GelFlex finger, we were able to obtain highly detailed images of objects the silicone finger came into contact with, such as golf balls and keys (Fig. 5).”);
at least one light source disposed on at least one of the first endoskeleton segment and the second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, assembled LEDs at F3.), wherein the at least one light source is configured to emit light into the transparent elastomeric pad (She at Page 10076 disclosing that LED light is captured by the embedded camera for at least tactile sensing:” we design a semi-specular paint layer at the bottom surface of the finger and illuminate the finger body using LEDs assembled on the top surface of the finger. To the authors’ knowledge, this novel design allows us to obtain vision-based proprioception and tactile sensing in soft robots for the very first time.”); and
at least one photosensitive detector disposed on at least one of the first endoskeleton segment and the second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, at least two photodetectors in terms of cameras at F2.), wherein the at least one photosensitive detector is oriented toward the palmar portion of the transparent elastomeric pad (She at Figure 5, view of object facing the camera, and Page 10078 (tactile sensing) which discloses taking detailed images of an object which indicates that the camera is facing the object, thus palmar as defined in Para. [0020] of the PgPub of the instant application:” Using the center camera embedded in the GelFlex finger, we were able to obtain highly detailed images of objects the silicone finger came into contact with, such as golf balls and keys (Fig. 5). We could also quantitatively observe the difference between the finger touching sharp corners (i.e. boxes) versus it touching smoother surfaces (i.e. cylinders).).
While She measures the deformation of a gripper’s finger when it rotates using “the cameras “ In She, the rotation of the finger is determined based on “the surface of each joint in the finger and on the tip of the finger to define the individual positions of each rotation joint.” See Page 10079. While the joint at the fingers give provide flexure, She does not explicitly discloses wherein the flexure is configured to elastically deform to allow the first endoskeleton segment to move relative to the second endoskeleton segment in a first degree of freedom.
Young discloses a finger movement measuring apparatus that comprises an elastic stretching part which is disposed on a first segment of each finger, and elastically changes a length thereof according to a bending motion of the finger. See Abstract and Figure 2.
In particular, Young discloses wherein the flexure is configured to elastically deform to allow the first endoskeleton segment to move relative to the second endoskeleton segment in a first degree of freedom (Young at Figure 3, extension part 111 and articulating part 112, and Para. [0032] disclosing a flexure unit that deforms when the finger segments move relative to one another:” elastic extension part 111 is located on the first node of the finger, and is connected to the back of the hand wearing part 120, the length of which is elastically deformed according to the bending operation of the finger. The finger motion measuring device according to the present invention can be used as a data input device of various types by detecting the motion of a finger”.).
Young’s elastic extension part could be substituted by the linking joint of She in order to enhance the rotation of the segments of a finger forming part of a gripper. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to make the mere substitution and the outcome would have been predictable to that same person.
Based on the above findings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the linking joint of She for the elastic extension part of Young according to known methods to yield the predictable result of providing a mechanism for bending segments of a finger.
As per claim 2, She and Young disclose a robotic finger of claim 1, further comprising at least one cable connected to the first endoskeleton segment, the second endoskeleton segment, and the flexure (She at Figure 2, F5 actuation strings.), wherein the at least one cable is configured to move the first endoskeleton segment relative to the second endoskeleton segment in the first degree of freedom in response to tension applied through the at least one cable (She at Page 10077 discloses the function of the strings for moving the segments of the fingers to cause rotation:” we add actuation strings through holes on each segment of the exoskeleton {F5}. One end of the string is tied to the last exoskeleton segment and the other end of the string is attached to a motor disk. This yields a highly underactuated exoskeleton-covered soft finger with a tendon-driven system. Note, here the soft silicon trunk with its surface painting as well as the associated cameras and LEDs are referred to the GelFlex.”).
As per claim 3, She and Young disclose a robotic finger of claim 1, further comprising a base and a second flexure, wherein the second flexure connects the base to the first endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 3, joints at finger connecting various segments, and Page 10078 disclosing flexing the finger at each joint:” To obtain proprioception of the finger, we utilized the 2-dimensional position of the individual joints of the finger exoskeleton. This allowed us to simplify the learning problem and use the mechanical constraints of the exoskeleton to reduce the dimensionality of the soft robot. Taking the first stationary joint as the world reference frame origin, we calculated the absolute angle (relative to the world reference frame) of each joint for a total of six numbers (Fig. 3).” ),
She does not disclose but Young discloses wherein the second flexure is configured to elastically deform to allow the first endoskeleton segment to move relative to the base in the first degree of freedom (Young at Figure 3, extension part 111 and articulating part 112 further note first 11a and second 128 flexure, and Para. [0032] disclosing a flexure unit that deforms when the finger segments move relative to one another:” elastic extension part 111 is located on the first node of the finger, and is connected to the back of the hand wearing part 120, the length of which is elastically deformed according to the bending operation of the finger. The finger motion measuring device according to the present invention can be used as a data input device of various types by detecting the motion of a finger”.).
Young’s elastic extension part could be substituted by the linking joint of She in order to enhance the rotation of the segments of a finger forming part of a gripper. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to make the mere substitution and the outcome would have been predictable to that same person.
Based on the above findings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the linking joint of She for the elastic extension part of Young according to known methods to yield the predictable result of providing a mechanism for bending segments of a finger.
As per claim 4, She and Young disclose a robotic finger of claim 1, wherein the flexure is configured to resist movements of the first endoskeleton segment and the second endoskeleton segment in directions perpendicular to the first degree of freedom (Young at Para. [0035] discloses that the flexure imparts resistance during bending which is when the segments become perpendicular to each other:” joint wearing part 112 preferably has a joint protrusion 113 for minimizing deformation of the finger wearing part 110 with respect to bending of the finger joint to minimize resistance to hand movement of the wearer. Since the finger wearing part 110 is located on the finger or the like, the most deformation occurs when the finger is bent, and the portion where the resistance is greatest is the joint wearing part 112.”).
As per claim 5, She and Young disclose a robotic finger of claim 1, wherein the flexure comprises a corrugated structure (Young at Para. [0040] discloses that the flexure is a meandering structure which under the broadest interpretation is corrugated since able to bend:” between the back of the hand wearing portion and the elastic portion 111 of the thumb wearing portion (110a) between the hand elastic waist portion having a pair of meander structure to elastically deform according to the movement of the hand waist portion of the thumb ( 118) more preferably.”).
As per claim 6, She and Young disclose a robotic finger of claim 1, wherein the transparent elastomeric pad comprises an at least partially reflective layer disposed on a palmar surface of the transparent elastomeric pad (She at Figure 2, reflective paint coating at P5, and Page 10077 disclosing the coating with reflective paint:” spray a reflective ink at the bottom surface of the finger for tactile sensing {P5}. We opted to use semi-specular painting material (silver silicone ink) so that we could observe a higher-level of intricate details.”), wherein light from the at least one light source is configured to reflect off of the at least partially reflective layer (She at Page 10076 discloses using the reflected LED light to perform sensing:” we design a semi-specular paint layer at the bottom surface of the finger and illuminate the finger body using LEDs assembled on the top surface of the finger. To the authors’ knowledge, this novel design allows us to obtain vision-based proprioception and tactile sensing in soft robots for the very first time.”).
As per claim 7, She and Young disclose a robotic finger of claim 6, wherein the at least partially reflective layer comprises a plurality of wrinkles (She at Page 10076 discloses using the reflected LED light to perform sensing, “illuminate the finger body using LEDs assembled on the top surface of the finger”, which follows that if the body contains wrinkles, liked disclosed in Young, it would reflect those wrinkles to be picked-up by the cameras).
As per claim 8, She and Young disclose a robotic finger of claim 1, wherein the at least one light source comprises: a first plurality of light sources configured to emit a plurality of wavelength bands of light, wherein the first plurality of light sources is disposed on the first endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, F3 light emitting diode (LED) at the first segment. LEDs are known for emitting multi-spectrum light.); and
a second light source configured to emit plurality of wavelength bands of light, wherein the second plurality of light sources is disposed on the second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, F3 light emitting diode at the second segment.).
As per claim 9, She and Young disclose a robotic finger of claim 1, wherein the at least one photosensitive detector includes a first photosensitive detector disposed on the first endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, a first segment camera at F2.) and a second photosensitive detector disposed on the second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, a second segment camera at F2.), wherein the first photosensitive detector and the second photosensitive detector have overlapping fields of view (She at Page 10077 discloses using a wide angle lens at each camera which would produce overlapping field of view:” allow for the integration of fish eye camera lenses {C4}. These hemispheres provide wide view angles for the camera and hide the camera within the finger.”).
As per claim 10, She discloses a method of operating a robotic finger, the method comprising:
elastically deforming a flexure connecting a first endoskeleton segment and a second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 3, joints at finger connecting various segments, and Page 10078 disclosing flexing the finger at each joint:” To obtain proprioception of the finger, we utilized the 2-dimensional position of the individual joints of the finger exoskeleton. This allowed us to simplify the learning problem and use the mechanical constraints of the exoskeleton to reduce the dimensionality of the soft robot. Taking the first stationary joint as the world reference frame origin, we calculated the absolute angle (relative to the world reference frame) of each joint for a total of six numbers (Fig. 3).” ), ;
emitting light from at least one light source disposed on at least one of the first endoskeleton segment and the second endoskeleton segment into a transparent elastomeric pad disposed on the first endoskeleton segment and the second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, F3 light emitting diode at the first and second segment.), wherein the transparent elastomeric pad has a palmar portion configured to contact an object during use of the robotic finger (She at Figure 1, fingers touching object and each finger is embedded with 2 intraphalangeal cameras.);
and receiving light at at least one photosensitive detector disposed on least one of the first endoskeleton segment and the second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 1, gripper with two (2) intraphalangeal cameras.), wherein the at least one photosensitive detector is oriented toward the palmar portion of the transparent elastomeric pad (She at Figure 2, P4 and C4 camera lens creating a soft silicon trunk called GelFlex, and Page 10078 disclosing that the GelFlex portion is configured to contact an object for obtaining information about the contacted object:” Using the center camera embedded in the GelFlex finger, we were able to obtain highly detailed images of objects the silicone finger came into contact with, such as golf balls and keys (Fig. 5).”).
While She measures the deformation of a gripper’s finger when it rotates using “the cameras “ In She, the rotation of the finger is determined based on “the surface of each joint in the finger and on the tip of the finger to define the individual positions of each rotation joint.” See Page 10079. While the joint at the fingers give provide flexure, She does not explicitly discloses wherein elastically deforming the flexure moves the first endoskeleton segment relative to the second endoskeleton segment in a first degree of freedom.
Young discloses a finger movement measuring apparatus that comprises an elastic stretching part which is disposed on a first segment of each finger, and elastically changes a length thereof according to a bending motion of the finger. See Abstract and Figure 2.
In particular, Young discloses wherein elastically deforming the flexure moves the first endoskeleton segment relative to the second endoskeleton segment in a first degree of freedom (Young at Figure 3, extension part 111 and articulating part 112, and Para. [0032] disclosing a flexure unit that deforms when the finger segments move relative to one another:” elastic extension part 111 is located on the first node of the finger, and is connected to the back of the hand wearing part 120, the length of which is elastically deformed according to the bending operation of the finger. The finger motion measuring device according to the present invention can be used as a data input device of various types by detecting the motion of a finger”.).
Young’s elastic extension part could be substituted by the linking joint of She in order to enhance the rotation of the segments of a finger forming part of a gripper. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to make the mere substitution and the outcome would have been predictable to that same person.
Based on the above findings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the linking joint of She for the elastic extension part of Young according to known methods to yield the predictable result of providing a mechanism for bending segments of a finger.
As per claim 11, She and Young disclose a method of claim 10, wherein the robotic finger comprises at least one cable connected to the first endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, F5 actuation strings.), the second endoskeleton segment, and the flexure, wherein the at least one cable is configured to move the first endoskeleton segment relative to the second endoskeleton segment in the first degree of freedom in response to tension applied through the at least one cable (She at Page 10077 discloses the function of the strings for moving the segments of the fingers to cause rotation:” we add actuation strings through holes on each segment of the exoskeleton {F5}. One end of the string is tied to the last exoskeleton segment and the other end of the string is attached to a motor disk. This yields a highly underactuated exoskeleton-covered soft finger with a tendon-driven system. Note, here the soft silicon trunk with its surface painting as well as the associated cameras and LEDs are referred to the GelFlex.”).
As per claim 12, She and Young disclose a method of claim 10, wherein the robotic finger comprises a base and a second flexure, wherein the second flexure connects the base to the first endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 3, joints at finger connecting various segments, and Page 10078 disclosing flexing the finger at each joint:” To obtain proprioception of the finger, we utilized the 2-dimensional position of the individual joints of the finger exoskeleton. This allowed us to simplify the learning problem and use the mechanical constraints of the exoskeleton to reduce the dimensionality of the soft robot. Taking the first stationary joint as the world reference frame origin, we calculated the absolute angle (relative to the world reference frame) of each joint for a total of six numbers (Fig. 3).” ),
She does not disclose, but Young discloses wherein the second flexure is configured to elastically deform to allow the first endoskeleton segment to move relative to the base in the first degree of freedom (Young at Figure 3, extension part 111 and articulating part 112 further note first 11a and second 128 flexure, and Para. [0032] disclosing a flexure unit that deforms when the finger segments move relative to one another:” elastic extension part 111 is located on the first node of the finger, and is connected to the back of the hand wearing part 120, the length of which is elastically deformed according to the bending operation of the finger. The finger motion measuring device according to the present invention can be used as a data input device of various types by detecting the motion of a finger”.).
Young’s elastic extension part could be substituted by the linking joint of She in order to enhance the rotation of the segments of a finger forming part of a gripper. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to make the mere substitution and the outcome would have been predictable to that same person.
Based on the above findings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the linking joint of She for the elastic extension part of Young according to known methods to yield the predictable result of providing a mechanism for bending segments of a finger.
As per claim 13, She and Young disclose a method of claim 10, wherein the flexure is configured to resist movements of the first endoskeleton segment and the second endoskeleton segment in directions perpendicular to the first degree of freedom (Young at Para. [0035] discloses that the flexure imparts resistance during bending which is when the segments become perpendicular to each other:” joint wearing part 112 preferably has a joint protrusion 113 for minimizing deformation of the finger wearing part 110 with respect to bending of the finger joint to minimize resistance to hand movement of the wearer. Since the finger wearing part 110 is located on the finger or the like, the most deformation occurs when the finger is bent, and the portion where the resistance is greatest is the joint wearing part 112.”).
As per claim 14, She and Young disclose a method of claim 10, wherein the flexure comprises a corrugated structure (Young at Para. [0040] discloses that the flexure is a meandering structure which under the broadest interpretation is corrugated since able to bend:” between the back of the hand wearing portion and the elastic portion 111 of the thumb wearing portion (110a) between the hand elastic waist portion having a pair of meander structure to elastically deform according to the movement of the hand waist portion of the thumb ( 118) more preferably.”).
As per claim 15, She and Young disclose a method of claim 10, wherein the transparent elastomeric pad comprises an at least partially reflective layer disposed on a palmar surface of the transparent elastomeric pad (She at Figure 2, reflective paint coating at P5, and Page 10077 disclosing the coating with reflective paint:” spray a reflective ink at the bottom surface of the finger for tactile sensing {P5}. We opted to use semi-specular painting material (silver silicone ink) so that we could observe a higher-level of intricate details.”), wherein light from the at least one light source is configured to reflect off of the at least partially reflective layer (She at Page 10076 discloses using the reflected LED light to perform sensing:” we design a semi-specular paint layer at the bottom surface of the finger and illuminate the finger body using LEDs assembled on the top surface of the finger. To the authors’ knowledge, this novel design allows us to obtain vision-based proprioception and tactile sensing in soft robots for the very first time.”).
As per claim 16, She and Young disclose a method of claim 15, wherein the at least partially reflective layer comprises a plurality of wrinkles (She at Page 10076 discloses using the reflected LED light to perform sensing, “illuminate the finger body using LEDs assembled on the top surface of the finger”, which follows that if the body contains wrinkles, liked disclosed in Young, it would reflect those wrinkles to be picked-up by the cameras).
As per claim 17, She and Young disclose a method of claim 10, wherein the at least one light source comprises:
a first plurality of light sources configured to emit a plurality of wavelength bands of light, wherein the first plurality of light sources is disposed on the first endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, F3 light emitting diode (LED) at the first segment. LEDs are known for emitting multi-spectrum light.); and
a second light source configured to emit plurality of wavelength bands of light, wherein the second plurality of light sources is disposed on the second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, F3 light emitting diode at the second segment.).
As per claim 18, She and Young disclose a method of claim 10, wherein the at least one photosensitive detector includes a first photosensitive detector disposed on the first endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, a first segment camera at F2.) and a second photosensitive detector disposed on the second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, a second segment camera at F2.), wherein the first photosensitive detector and the second photosensitive detector have overlapping fields of view (She at Page 10077 discloses using a wide angle lens at each camera which would produce overlapping field of view:” allow for the integration of fish eye camera lenses {C4}. These hemispheres provide wide view angles for the camera and hide the camera within the finger.”).
As per claim 19, She discloses a robotic end effector system comprising:
a plurality of the robotic fingers (She Figure 1, gripper with at least two fingers.), each robotic finger comprising:
a first endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, finger assembly, and Page 10077 disclosing that finger comprises various segments:” We first make the finger exoskeleton with the 3D printer and assemble the finger segments, before pressing the soft silicone trunk into the exoskeleton {F1}.”);
a second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, finger assembly, and Page 10077 disclosing that finger comprises various segments:” We design a highly underactuated exoskeleton that is comprised of 7 segments and 6 joints to actuate the soft finger.”);
a flexure connecting the first endoskeleton segment and the second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 3, joints at finger connecting various segments, and Page 10078 disclosing flexing the finger at each joint:” To obtain proprioception of the finger, we utilized the 2-dimensional position of the individual joints of the finger exoskeleton. This allowed us to simplify the learning problem and use the mechanical constraints of the exoskeleton to reduce the dimensionality of the soft robot. Taking the first stationary joint as the world reference frame origin, we calculated the absolute angle (relative to the world reference frame) of each joint for a total of six numbers (Fig. 3).” ),;
a transparent elastomeric pad disposed on the first endoskeleton segment and the second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, C5 casting silicone, and Page 10077 disclosing that the segment with a camera is made with a transparent material to use the embedded camera:” Since we use cameras for both proprioception and tactile sensing, the soft finger body must be optically transparent. To give our finger this property, we made it out of platinum-catalyzed translucent silicone (XP-565, Silicones, Inc.) {C5}.”), wherein the transparent elastomeric pad has a palmar portion configured to contact an object during use of the robotic finger (She at Figure 2, P4 and C4 camera lens creating a soft silicon trunk called GelFlex, and Page 10078 disclosing that the GelFlex portion is configured to contact an object for obtaining information about the contacted object:” Using the center camera embedded in the GelFlex finger, we were able to obtain highly detailed images of objects the silicone finger came into contact with, such as golf balls and keys (Fig. 5).”);
at least one light source disposed on at least one of the first endoskeleton segment and the second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, assembled LEDs at F3.), wherein the at least one light source is configured to emit light into the transparent elastomeric pad (She at Page 10076 disclosing that LED light is captured by the embedded camera for at least tactile sensing:” we design a semi-specular paint layer at the bottom surface of the finger and illuminate the finger body using LEDs assembled on the top surface of the finger. To the authors’ knowledge, this novel design allows us to obtain vision-based proprioception and tactile sensing in soft robots for the very first time.”); and
at least one photosensitive detector disposed on at least one of the first endoskeleton segment and the second endoskeleton segment (She at Figure 2, at least two photodetectors in terms of cameras at F2.), wherein the at least one photosensitive detector is oriented toward the palmar portion of the transparent elastomeric pad (She at Figure 5, view of object facing the camera, and Page 10078 (tactile sensing) which discloses taking detailed images of an object which indicates that the camera is facing the object, thus palmar as defined in Para. [0020] of the PgPub of the instant application:” Using the center camera embedded in the GelFlex finger, we were able to obtain highly detailed images of objects the silicone finger came into contact with, such as golf balls and keys (Fig. 5). We could also quantitatively observe the difference between the finger touching sharp corners (i.e. boxes) versus it touching smoother surfaces (i.e. cylinders).).
wherein the robotic fingers are configured to grasp an object between the robotic fingers with the transparent elastomeric pad of at least some of the robotic fingers in contact with the object (She at Figure 1, robotic gripper is holding a mesh cup, and Figure 7, grippers with markers, and Page 10077 disclosing the grasping of objects and performing tactile sensing through received optical signals through the transparent pad:” design allows the finger to easily adapt to grasping various objects. The exoskeleton is designed with round pegs on the side to fit into the round slots on the side of the soft trunk. This prevents the soft trunk from easily detaching from the exoskeleton.”).
While She measures the deformation of a gripper’s finger when it rotates using “the cameras “ In She, the rotation of the finger is determined based on “the surface of each joint in the finger and on the tip of the finger to define the individual positions of each rotation joint.” See Page 10079. While the joint at the fingers give provide flexure, She does not explicitly discloses wherein the flexure is configured to elastically deform to allow the first endoskeleton segment to move relative to the second endoskeleton segment in a first degree of freedom.
Young discloses a finger movement measuring apparatus that comprises an elastic stretching part which is disposed on a first segment of each finger, and elastically changes a length thereof according to a bending motion of the finger. See Abstract and Figure 2.
In particular, Young discloses wherein the flexure is configured to elastically deform to allow the first endoskeleton segment to move relative to the second endoskeleton segment in a first degree of freedom (Young at Figure 3, extension part 111 and articulating part 112, and Para. [0032] disclosing a flexure unit that deforms when the finger segments move relative to one another:” elastic extension part 111 is located on the first node of the finger, and is connected to the back of the hand wearing part 120, the length of which is elastically deformed according to the bending operation of the finger. The finger motion measuring device according to the present invention can be used as a data input device of various types by detecting the motion of a finger”.).
Young’s elastic extension part could be substituted by the linking joint of She in order to enhance the rotation of the segments of a finger forming part of a gripper. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to make the mere substitution and the outcome would have been predictable to that same person.
Based on the above findings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the linking joint of She for the elastic extension part of Young according to known methods to yield the predictable result of providing a mechanism for bending segments of a finger.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Padir et al (US-20230249368-A1) disclose systems for determining one or more properties of an object where a system includes a gripping element, a light source, a probe element including an optical fiber, a spectrometer, and a processor. See Figures 8 & 10.
TETSUYA NARITA (WO-2023127302-A1) discloses a gripper having a sensor structure to which the flexible layer is attached and which is provided with a built-in imaging device with which it is possible to observe the flexible layer and to observe objects in the outside world through a hole in the flexible layer. See Abstract and Figure 34.
MUTHUSAMY et al (US-20230072207-A1) discloses a robotic manipulator that includes a rigid or semi-rigid end effector that engages with objects and a sensor that detects data associated with the object. For example, the sensor can include an optical sensor or a vision-based tactile sensor that detects data associated with the object.
Buth et al (US-20220250475-A1) discloses a flexible display comprising geometric relief cuts can result in frame having a plurality of pedestals that extend lengthwise (top-to-bottom) across cover substrate to provide support to flexible panel portion. See Figures 4A-7B.
Elias et al (US-20220221357-A1) discloses a tactile sensor includes a first layer formed of flexible material having an outer contact surface and an opposed inner interface surface, a second layer formed of substantially transparent flexible material arranged in substantially continuous contact with the flexible first layer at the interface surface, a camera, and reflective material.
LIONEL BIRGLEN (US-20170252930-A1) discloses a mechanical finger has a base adapted to be connected to an actuator for being displaced in at least one degree of actuation, and has two or more phalanges. A first phalanx is rotationally connected at a proximal end to the base, and a second phalanx is rotationally connected at a proximal end to a distal end of the first phalanx.
Belter et al (US-20170049583-A1) discloses a prosthetic finger units are underactuated both within and between the finger units using a differential mechanism arrangement. The locking movement of the prosthetic thumb unit is coupled to the differential mechanism.
Mark OLEYNIK (US-20160059412-A1) discloses a system for causing robotic humanoid movements, actions, and interactions with tools and the instrumented environment by automatically building movements for the humanoid; actions and behaviors of the humanoid based on a set of computer-encoded robotic movement and action primitives.
Jackson et al (US-8823639-B2) discloses a input device that includes a tracking structure and is in electronic communication with a computing device. The tracking structure is configured so that as the input device is deformed, the tracking structure deforms correspondingly. See Abstract and Figures 1-2.
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3658