Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/13/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10 set forth in the preliminary amendment submitted 4/18/2024 form the basis of the present examination.
Double Patenting
5. The claims of the present application # 18604095 and the Claims of the copending application #18472567 (PGPUB NO. US 20240011801 A1) is reviewed and it is found that there is no Double Patenting. Therefore, a Double Patenting rejection is not being made.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first voltage output unit”, “a second voltage output unit”, “a detection unit”, “an operation decision unit” in claim 1 and “a third voltage output unit”, in claim 2, “a selection unit” in claim 5 and “a holding unit” in claim 7.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “a first voltage output unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to output a first AC voltage”.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “a second voltage output unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to output a second AC voltage”.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “a detection unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to detect a capacitance of the at least one front-side electrode”.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “an operation decision unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to determine a motion of the detection target”.
In this application in claim 2 the recited “a third voltage output unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to output a third AC voltage”.
In this application in claim 5 the recited “a selection unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to select the at least one detection electrode”.
In this application in claim 7 the recited “a holding unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to hold the plurality of detection outputs”.
All these limitations in claim 1, 2, 5 and 7 have no structural meaning and are considered a generic placeholder.
In the present application (PGPUB NO: US 20240219210 A1) discloses:
In Paragraph 23, “[0023] FIG. 2: A combination of the amplification circuit 140A and power supply circuit 145 is an example of a first voltage output unit. A combination of the amplification circuit 140B and power supply circuit 145 is an example of a third voltage output unit. A combination of the variable amplification circuit 140C and power supply circuit 145 is an example of a second voltage output unit. The control device 170 includes an operation decision unit 171 and a holding unit 172.”
In Paragraph 45, “[0045] The control device 170 is implemented by a computer that includes a central processing unit (CPU), a random-access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), an input/output interface, an internal bus, and the like. The control device 170 has the operation decision unit 171 and holding unit 172. In addition to the operation decision unit 171 and holding unit 172, the control device 170 has processing units and the like that perform switching of the amplification ratio of the variable amplification circuit 140C (ratio according to which amplification to the alternating-current voltage V.sub.C1 or V.sub.C2 is performed), switching by the selection units 160A and 160B, and the like. However, descriptions of these units will be omitted here. The operation decision unit 171 represents one function of the control device 170 as a block. The holding unit 172 functionally represents the RAM in the control device 170.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “wherein the at least one or plurality of front-side electrodes includes are a plurality of front-side electrodes, and wherein the driving unit is at least one of front side electrode included in the plurality of front-side electrodes which is not the at least one detection electrode” is unclear. It is not clear if the driving unit is the part of at least one front side electrode. Is driving unit a front side electrode? It is not clear what the limitation, “the driving unit is at least one of front side electrode included in the plurality of front-side electrodes” means. Claim limitation is therefore not clear.
For purposes of the present examination the limitation “the driving unit is at least one of front side electrode” is construed to mean as the driving unit as a front side electrode. Clarification is required so that the scope of the claim is clear.
Claim10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of its dependence from claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NEEL et al. (Hereinafter, “Neel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190302304 A1 in view of SUZUKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Suzuki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20190102020 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Neel teaches a capacitive sensor for detecting a motion of a detection target [102] (control object 102 as the target) (a device for detecting on the one hand the approach of an object towards a surface, and/or the contact of said object with said surface, and on the other hand the pressure of said object on said surface. It also relates to a method utilizing such a device; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-5; the capacitive detection of objects for an electronic device, making it possible for said device to detect neighbouring objects, in particular in the field of robotics; Paragraph [0002] Line 2-4; The device 100, represented diagrammatically in FIG. 1, is intended to detect the approach, the contact and the pressure exerted by a control object 102 on a detection surface 104; Paragraph [0194] Line 1-4) comprising:
an elastic dielectric body [118] (a layer 118 as the elastic body) having a front surface and a back surface (To this end, the measurement 106 and guard 108 electrodes are placed on either side of (or in) a layer 118 formed by an elastically compressible dielectric material, such as for example foam or plastic or also a liquid dielectric; Paragraph [0208] Line 7-11);
at least one of front-side electrode [106] provided on the front surface of the
elastic dielectric body [118] (To this end, the device 100 comprises at least an electrode 106, called measurement electrode, placed level with, or opposite, the detection surface 104; Paragraph [0195] Line 1-3; To this end, the measurement 106 and guard 108 electrodes are placed on either side of (or in) a layer 118 formed by an elastically compressible dielectric material, such as for example foam or plastic or also a liquid dielectric; Paragraph [0208] Line 7-11), the at least one front-side electrode including at least one detection electrode [106] (measurement electrode 106 as the detection electrode);
a cover placed on a front side of the at least one front-side electrode [104] (cover of the detection surface 104) (In the embodiments shown, the detection surface 104 is represented by a face of the measurement electrode or electrodes 106, preferably covered with a thin layer of electrically insulating material (polyimide, insulating varnish, etc.) in order to avoid short-circuits with the control object 102; Paragraph [0196] Line 1-6; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Neel below shows a cover);
a shield electrode [108] (guard electrode 108 as the shield electrode) disposed on the back surface side of the elastic dielectric body [118] ( an electrode 108, called guard electrode, placed opposite the measurement electrode 106 according to the face thereof opposite to the detection surface 104, and at a distance from this measurement electrode 106; Paragraph [0195] Line 3-5; To this end, the measurement 106 and guard 108 electrodes are placed on either side of (or in) a layer 118 formed by an elastically compressible dielectric material, such as for example foam or plastic or also a liquid dielectric; Paragraph [0208] Line 7-11);
a unit provided on the front surface of the elastic dielectric body and capacitively coupled to the at least one detection electrode to form a capacitance therebetween (Under these conditions, the approach and the contact of the control object 102 with the detection surface 104 can be detected and/or measured by measuring a value representative of a capacitance C.sub.eo, called electrode-object capacitance, formed between the measurement electrode 106 and the control object 102. Once in contact with the detection surface 104, the load exerted by the control object 102 can be detected and/or measured by measuring a value of a capacitance C.sub.eg, called electrode-guard capacitance, formed between the measurement electrode 106 and the guard electrode 108; Paragraph [0209] Line 1-11; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Neel below shows a capacitance is formed);
a first voltage output unit [V] (a second electrical source V as the first voltage output unit) configured to output a first AC voltage (In the example shown, the device 100 also comprises a second electrical source V, placed between the positive input of the OA 110 and the guard source E, and supplying an alternating electrical potential difference V1; Paragraph [0204] Line 1-4);
a second voltage output unit [E] (first electrical source E as the second voltage output unit) configured to output a second AC voltage [Vg], to the shield electrode [108] (The device 100 also comprises a first electrical source E, which supplies a first alternating potential Vg. The first electrical source E is also called guard electrical source, and the first alternating potential Vg is also called guard potential Vg, for reasons that will be explained hereinafter; Paragraph [0198] Line 1-5; The first electrical source E is connected at the input to the ground potential G and at the output in particular to the guard electrode 108; Paragraph [0198] Line 9-11),
Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Neel
the second AC voltage [E] having a same frequency and a same phase as the first AC voltage [V] (alternating potentials having one and the same temporal shape (sinusoidal, square, triangular, etc.), one and the same variation amplitude and one and the same phase (or in other words varying synchronously); Paragraph [0028] Line 1-4; alternating potentials which comprise at least one spectral component with identical amplitude and phase at least one working frequency; Paragraph [0029] Line 1-3; It is also possible to implement a guard electrical source E and a second source V that use the same excitation frequency or generate a signal of the same shape, which simplifies the detection electronics; Paragraph [0221] Line 1-5);
a detection unit [110] (electronic circuit in the form of operational amplifier 110 as the detection unit) (The device 100 also comprises an electronic circuit which can be represented in the form of an operational amplifier (OA) 110, whose output is looped on its negative input by an impedance 112; Paragraph [0197] Line 1-4) connected to the at least one detection electrode [106] (In this embodiment, the measurement electrode 106 is connected to the negative input of the OA 110, and the guard electrode 108 is connected at a point between the guard source E and the second source V; Paragraph [0205] Line 1-4), configured to
detect a capacitance of the at least one front-side electrode [106] and output a detection output (first signal and the second signal as the detection output) corresponding to the detected capacitance [electrode-object capacitance Ceo] (The signal Vs measured at the output of the OA 110 comprises a combination of a first signal Vsa, and a second signal Vsp which depend respectively on the electrode-object capacitance Ceo, and a sum of the electrode-object and electrode-guard Ceg capacitances; Paragraph [0211] Line 1-5; According to a mode of implementation, a first electrical potential Vg and a potential difference V1 are generated with different fundamental frequencies sufficiently spaced apart in order to be capable of being separated by demodulation and/or by filtering. These signals can be for example sinusoidal or square. In this case, the first and second signals Vsa and Vsp obtained also have different fundamental frequencies. It is then possible to obtain the respective amplitude of these first and second signals Vsa and Vsp by demodulating the signal Vs around, respectively, the fundamental frequency of the first electrical potential Vg for the first signal Vsa, and the fundamental frequency of the potential difference V1 for the second signal V. It is then possible to deduce from the amplitude of these signals, respectively, the electrode-object capacitance Ceo and the sum of the electrode-object and electrode-guard capacitances Ceo+C.sub.eg, thus the electrode-guard capacitance Ceg. Thus there is obtained simultaneously, a first signal with respect to the value of the electrode-object capacitance Ceo, and a second signal with respect to the value of the electrode-guard capacitance; Paragraph [0212] Line 1-11); and
an operation decision unit [114] (a module 114 shown in the form of a differential amplifier 114 as the operation decision unit) (In order to obtain a voltage Vs referenced to the general ground potential G, the device comprises a module 114 shown in the form of a differential amplifier 114, electrically referenced to the general ground potential G, and connected at the input respectively to the output of the OA 110 and to the guard potential; Paragraph [0203] Line 1-6) configured to determine a motion of the detection target [102] according to the detection output (Thus an image signal of V.sub.s is obtained at the output of this differential amplifier 114, referenced to the general ground potential G; Paragraph [0203] Line 7-9; [0078] The device according to the invention can also comprise at least one calculation module configured in order to: [0079] determine a distance or a contact between the object and the detection surface as a function of the first signal (and/or a speed, a path, a movement, a gesture, etc.); and/or [0080] determine a load applied by said object on the detection surface as a function of the second signal; Paragraph [0078]-[0080]),
wherein the second voltage output unit is further configured to change an amplitude of the second AC voltage [Vg], thereby outputting the second AC voltage with a plurality of amplitudes (To this end, the device 100 comprises two synchronous demodulators 115 which carry out the functions of multiplication of the signal Vs originating from the OA 110 with respectively, a carrier signal corresponding to the first electrical potential Vg, and a carrier signal corresponding to the potential difference V1, then low-pass filtering; Paragraph [0213] Line 1-6; These demodulations of first and second signals Vsa and Vsp at different frequencies can also be carried out with an asynchronous demodulator comprising rectification followed by a low-pass filter; Paragraph [0214] Line 1-4), and
wherein the operation decision unit is further configured to determine that the detection target has performed a pressing operation against the cover, based on a plurality of detection outputs corresponding to, the plurality of amplitudes of the second AC voltage to a plurality of amplitudes (Claim 10: The device according to claim 1, characterized in that it comprises at least one calculation module configured in order to: determine a distance or a contact between the object and the detection surface as a function of the first signal; and/or - determine a load or a pressure applied by said object on the detection surface as a function of the second signal; Thus, the device according to the invention makes it possible to measure, with a single measurement electronics and a set of (at least) two electrodes, on the one hand a first signal depending on (or representative of) a first item of information which is the approach and/or the contact of an object with the detection surface, and on the other hand, a second signal depending on (or representative of) a second item of information which is the pressure, or the load, exerted by the object on the detection surface. It is thus possible to obtain measurements of approach and contact on the one hand, and load on the other hand, separately and unambiguously; Paragraph [0032] Line 1-12).
Neel fails to teach a driving unit provided on the front surface of the elastic dielectric body.
Suzuki teaches a detection apparatus and a display apparatus (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-2), wherein
a driving unit [11a] provided on the front surface of the body [10] (The detection controller 11 is a circuit that supplies control signals to the first electrode selection circuit 15, the detection electrode selection circuit 16, and the detector 40 to control their operations. The detection controller 11 includes a driver 11a and a clock signal output unit 11b. The driver 11a supplies a power source voltage Vdd to the first electrode selection circuit 15. The detection controller 11 supplies various control signals Vctr1 to the first electrode selection circuit 15 based on clock signals supplied from the clock signal output unit 11b; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-10). The purpose of doing so is to select at least one of the first electrode blocks in a time-division manner in a first detection period and to select at least one of the first electrodes in a second detection period, can detect contact or proximity of the external proximity object CQ or an uneven shape on the surface of the external proximity object CQ facing the detection surface, can increase the detection accuracy.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neel by introducing a driving unit on the front surface of the elastic dielectric body as disclosed by Suzuki, because Suzuki teaches to include a driving unit can select at least one of the first electrode blocks in a time-division manner in a first detection period and selects at least one of the first electrodes in a second detection period (Paragraph [0006]), can detect contact or proximity of the external proximity object CQ or an uneven shape on the surface of the external proximity object CQ facing the detection surface (Paragraph [0152]), can increase the detection accuracy (Paragraph [0153]).
Regarding claim 2, Neel teaches a capacitive sensor according to Claim 1, further comprising:
a third voltage output unit configured to output a third AC voltage having a same frequency and a same phase as the first AC voltage (In order to apply the alternating electrical potential difference (or the difference in alternating electrical potential), the polarization means are arranged in order to apply, respectively, a third potential to the measurement electrode, and a fourth potential to the guard electrode. These third and fourth potentials can be defined (or referenced), non-limitatively, with respect to the ground potential. The alternating electrical potential difference therefore corresponds to the difference between these third and fourth potentials, or, in other words, to a differential potential applied between the measurement electrode and the guard electrode; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-11), wherein
the detection unit includes an operational amplifier [110] (In this embodiment, the measurement electrode 106 is connected to the negative input of the OA 110, and the guard electrode 108 is connected at a point between the guard source E and the second source V; Paragraph [0205] Line 1-4) comprising:
an output terminal (Figure 1 (a): Modified Figure 1 of Neel below shows the output terminal);
an inverting input terminal connected to the at least one detection electrode (In this embodiment, the measurement electrode 106 is connected to the negative input of the OA 110, and the guard electrode 108 is connected at a point between the guard source E and the second source V; Paragraph [0205] Line 1-4); and
Figure 1 (a): Modified Figure 1 of Neel
a non-inverting input terminal connected to the third voltage output unit (These third and fourth potentials can be defined (or referenced), non-limitatively, with respect to the ground potential and therefore third potential is connected to the non-inverting input terminal),
and
wherein the operational amplifier [110] performs a negative feedback operation via a capacitor and a resistor (According to embodiments, the measurement electronics can comprise a circuit utilizing an operational amplifier with an impedance comprising a feedback capacitive component, the measurement electrode or electrodes being connected to the negative input of said operational amplifier; Paragraph [0127] Line 1-5; Claim 18. The device according to claim 1, characterized in that the measurement electronics comprise a circuit utilizing an operational amplifier with an impedance comprising a feedback capacitive component, the measurement electrode or electrodes being connected to the negative input of said operational amplifier).
Regarding claim 5, Neel in Figure 1 and 2 teaches a capacitive sensor.
The combination of Neel in Figure 1 and 2 and Suzuki fails to teach that the capacitive sensor, further comprising: a selection unit configured to select the at least one detection electrode from among the at least one front-side electrode, wherein the third voltage output unit is configured to output the third AC voltage to the at least one detection electrode selected by the selection unit.
However, Neel in Figure 9 teaches a capacitive sensor, further comprising:
a selection unit [1001] (electrode switch 1001 as the selection unit) configured to select the at least one detection electrode [1061-106N] from among the at least one front-side electrode [1061-106N] (The electrode switch 1001 is connected at the output to the measurement input (negative input) of the OA 110. It makes it possible to select a measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with which the measurements of the first and second signal are carried out as described above. This electrode switch 1001 is also arranged so that each measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N is connected, either to the measurement input of the OA 110 in order to constitute an active (measuring) electrode, or to a potential that is identical or substantially identical to that applied to the active electrode or electrodes; Paragraph [0299] Line 1-11),
wherein the third voltage output unit (identical potential is applied to the detection electrode) is configured to output the third AC voltage to the at least one or more detection electrode selected by the selection unit [1001] (In all the embodiments presented, the measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N which are not active are connected by the electrode switch 1001 to the positive input of the OA 110, which as explained above is at the same potential as the active measurement electrode 106; Paragraph [0300] Line 1-5; The fact of polarizing the measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N which are not active at a potential identical or substantially identical to that applied to the active electrode or electrodes; Paragraph [0301] Line 1-4). The purpose of doing so is to make it possible to avoid any crosstalk between the selected measuring electrode or electrodes and the non-measuring electrodes, to take measurements sequentially with a plurality of measurement electrodes, to constitute an active (measuring) electrode, or to a potential that is identical or substantially identical to that applied to the active electrode or electrodes.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Figure 1 and 2 of Neel and Suzuki in view of Figure 9 of Neel by including a selection unit to select the at least one detection electrode from among the at least one front-side electrode, because Neel in Figure 9 teaches to include a selection unit makes it possible to avoid any crosstalk between the selected measuring electrode or electrodes and the non-measuring electrodes (Paragraph [0301]), takes measurements sequentially with a plurality of measurement electrodes (Paragraph [0297]), constitutes an active (measuring) electrode, or to a potential that is identical or substantially identical to that applied to the active electrode or electrodes (Paragraph [0299]).
Regarding claim 6, Neel teaches a capacitive sensor,
wherein the operation decision unit [114] is further configured to determine that the detection target has approached or contacted the cover based on the detection output from the detection unit when the second voltage output unit outputs the second AC voltage having a predetermined amplitude (an amplitude less than ½, or ⅕, or 1/10, or 1/100 of the amplitude of the first alternating electrical potential as the predetermined amplitude) (In particular, the means for electrical polarization of the electrodes can be arranged in order to generate an alternating electrical potential difference with an amplitude less than the amplitude of the first alternating electrical potential. The alternating electrical potential difference can for example have an amplitude less than ½, or ⅕, or 1/10, or 1/100 of the amplitude of the first alternating electrical potential. Such an amplitude difference makes it possible to compensate for the difference in values between the electrode-guard capacitance and the electrode-object capacitance (the electrode-guard capacitance can have a higher value, for example of the order of 2 to 100 times higher, than the electrode-object capacitance) and detect the two capacitances under good conditions with the measurement electronics. It should be noted that a similar result can be obtained with an alternating electrical potential difference with an amplitude greater than the amplitude of the first alternating electrical potential, in as much as it is the difference in obtained potentials that produces the compensation effect; Paragraph [0063] Line 1-20; capacitance is determined based on the amplitude of the voltage and object is determined based on the capacitance; Paragraph [0203]).
Regarding claim 7, Neel in Figure 1 and 2 teaches a capacitive sensor.
The combination of Neel in Figure 1 and 2 and Suzuki fails to teach that the capacitive sensor, further comprising: a holding unit configured to hold the plurality of detection outputs from the detection unit when the second voltage output unit changes the amplitude of the second AC voltage, wherein the operation decision unit determines the pressing operation of the detection target based on the plurality of detection outputs held in the holding unit.
However, Neel in Figure 9 teaches a capacitive sensor, further comprising:
a holding unit [902] (guard plane 902 as the holding unit as it holds all the electrodes) configured to hold the plurality of detection outputs [1002] (output from the connecting tracks 1002) from the detection unit [1061-106N] when the second voltage output unit [V] changes the amplitude of the second AC voltage (The electrode switch 1001 is connected at the output to the measurement input (negative input) of the OA 110. It makes it possible to select a measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with which the measurements of the first and second signal are carried out as described above. This electrode switch 1001 is also arranged so that each measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N is connected, either to the measurement input of the OA 110 in order to constitute an active (measuring) electrode, or to a potential that is identical or substantially identical to that applied to the active electrode or electrodes; Paragraph [0299] Line 1-11),
wherein the operation decision unit determines the pressing operation of the detection target based on the plurality of detection outputs held in the holding unit (In this configuration, it is possible to have several guard electrodes 108.sub.1-108.sub.N connected together, each being opposite a different measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N. Inasmuch as the measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N are “polled” sequentially, the same spatial resolution is obtained for the load or pressure measurements, while still limiting the number of tracks or channels necessary for the guard electrode switch 1101; Paragraph [0324] Line 1-8). The purpose of doing so is to eliminate the capacitive leaks from this connection (said connection can be a cable, an extension of the active surface, a flexible connection, a printed circuit element, etc.), to retain measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with a more extensive surface area, allowing a better sensitivity for the distance measurements with a reasonable spatial resolution, and a finer spatial resolution for the load measurements, for which the spatial resolution is important.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Figure 1 and 2 of Neel and Suzuki in view of Figure 9 of Neel by including a holding unit to hold the plurality of detection outputs from the detection unit, because Neel in Figure 9 teaches to include a holding unit eliminates the capacitive leaks from this connection (said connection can be a cable, an extension of the active surface, a flexible connection, a printed circuit element, etc.) (Paragraph [0308]), retains measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with a more extensive surface area, allowing a better sensitivity for the distance measurements with a reasonable spatial resolution, and a finer spatial resolution for the load measurements, for which the spatial resolution is important (Paragraph [0323]).
Regarding claim 8, Neel in Figure 1 and 2 teaches a capacitive sensor.
The combination of Neel in Figure 1 and 2 and Suzuki fails to teach that the capacitive sensor, wherein the at least one detection electrode includes a plurality of detection electrodes, and the at least one front-side electrode includes a plurality of front-side electrodes including the plurality of detection electrodes, wherein the capacitive sensor further comprises: a selection unit configured to sequentially select one of the plurality of detection electrodes and connect the selected detection electrode to the detection unit one at a time, wherein the detection unit is further configured to detect the capacitance of the selected detection electrode, when the second voltage output unit changes the amplitude of the second AC voltage while the selected detection electrode is connected to the detection unit, by outputting a plurality of detection outputs corresponding to the plurality of amplitudes of the second AC voltage, and wherein the operation decision unit is further configured to determine if that the pressing operation has been performed at a position on the cover corresponding to the selected detection electrode based on the plurality of detection outputs.
However, Neel in Figure 9 teaches a capacitive sensor,
wherein the at least one detection electrode [106] includes a plurality of detection electrodes (The device comprises a plurality of measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N connected respectively to an electronic electrode switch (switch) 1001 by connecting tracks 1002; Paragraph [0313] Line 1-3), and the at least one front-side electrode includes a plurality of front-side electrodes including the plurality of detection electrodes (The device also comprises a plurality of guard electrodes 108.sub.1-108.sub.N placed respectively opposite the measurement electrodes 1061-106N. These guard electrodes 108.sub.1-108.sub.N are individually connected by connecting tracks to a guard electrode switch 1101 the operation of which is explained hereinafter. The measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N and the guard electrodes 108.sub.1-108.sub.N are represented diagrammatically in a cross section view. They are placed on either side of a layer 118, formed by an elastically compressible dielectric material; Paragraph [0314] Line 1-10),
wherein the capacitive sensor [1000] further comprises:
a selection unit [1001] (The device comprises a plurality of measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N connected respectively to an electronic electrode switch (switch) 1001 by connecting tracks 1002; Paragraph [0313] Line 1-3) configured to sequentially select one of the plurality of detection electrodes and connect the selected detection electrode to the detection unit one at a time (The electrode switch 1001 is connected at the output to the measurement input (negative input) of the OA 110. It makes it possible to select a measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with which the measurements of the first and second signal are carried out as described above. This electrode switch 1001 is also arranged so that each measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N is connected, either to the measurement input of the OA 110 in order to constitute an active (measuring) electrode, or to a potential that is identical or substantially identical to that applied to the active electrode or electrodes. Preferably, a single active electrode is selected at a time; Paragraph [0299] Line 1-12),
wherein the detection unit is further configured to detect the capacitance of the selected detection electrode, when the second voltage output unit changes the amplitude of the second AC voltage while the selected detection electrode is connected to the detection unit, by outputting a plurality of detection outputs corresponding to the plurality of amplitudes of the second AC voltage (A measurement of the second signal is carried out in order to obtain the electrode-guard capacitance C.sub.eg between the active measurement electrode and the excited guard electrode; Paragraph [0321] Line 1-4), and
wherein the operation decision unit is further configured to determine if that the pressing operation has been performed at a position on the cover corresponding to the selected detection electrode based on the plurality of detection outputs (In this configuration, it is possible to have several guard electrodes 108.sub.1-108.sub.N connected together, each being opposite a different measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N. Inasmuch as the measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N are “polled” sequentially, the same spatial resolution is obtained for the load or pressure measurements, while still limiting the number of tracks or channels necessary for the guard electrode switch 1101; Paragraph [0324] Line 1-8). The purpose of doing so is to eliminate the capacitive leaks from this connection (said connection can be a cable, an extension of the active surface, a flexible connection, a printed circuit element, etc.), to retain measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with a more extensive surface area, allowing a better sensitivity for the distance measurements with a reasonable spatial resolution, and a finer spatial resolution for the load measurements, for which the spatial resolution is important.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Figure 1 and 2 of Neel and Suzuki in view of Figure 9 of Neel by including a plurality of detection electrodes and a selection unit to sequentially select one of the plurality of detection electrodes, because Neel in Figure 9 teaches to include a plurality of detection electrodes and a selection unit eliminates the capacitive leaks from this connection (said connection can be a cable, an extension of the active surface, a flexible connection, a printed circuit element, etc.) (Paragraph [0308]), retains measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with a more extensive surface area, allowing a better sensitivity for the distance measurements with a reasonable spatial resolution, and a finer spatial resolution for the load measurements, for which the spatial resolution is important (Paragraph [0323]).
Regarding claim 9, Neel in Figure 1 and 2 teaches a capacitive sensor.
Neel in Figure 1 and 2 fails to teach that the capacitive sensor, wherein the at least one or plurality of front-side electrodes includes are a plurality of front-side electrodes, and wherein the driving unit is at least one of front side electrode included in the plurality of front-side electrodes which is not the at least one detection front electrode being other than the one or more detection electrodes.
However, Neel in Figure 9 teaches a capacitive sensor,
wherein the at least one or plurality of front-side electrodes includes are a plurality
of front-side electrodes [106.sub.1-106.sub.N] (The device comprises a plurality of measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N connected respectively to an electronic electrode switch (switch) 1001 by connecting tracks 1002; Paragraph [0313] Line 1-3). The purpose of doing so is to eliminate the capacitive leaks from this connection (said connection can be a cable, an extension of the active surface, a flexible connection, a printed circuit element, etc.), to retain measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with a more extensive surface area, allowing a better sensitivity for the distance measurements with a reasonable spatial resolution, and a finer spatial resolution for the load measurements, for which the spatial resolution is important.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Figure 1 and 2 of Neel in view of Figure 9 of Neel by including plurality of front-side electrodes, because Neel in Figure 9 teaches to include a plurality of front-side electrodes eliminates the capacitive leaks from this connection (said connection can be a cable, an extension of the active surface, a flexible connection, a printed circuit element, etc.) (Paragraph [0308]), retains measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with a more extensive surface area, allowing a better sensitivity for the distance measurements with a reasonable spatial resolution, and a finer spatial resolution for the load measurements, for which the spatial resolution is important (Paragraph [0323]).
Neel in Figure 1 and 2 and 9 fails to teach wherein the driving unit is at least one of front side electrode included in the plurality of front-side electrodes which is not the at least one detection front electrode being other than the one or more detection electrodes.
Suzuki teaches a detection apparatus and a display apparatus (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-2), wherein
the driving unit [11] is at least one of front side electrode included in the plurality of front-side electrodes which is not the at least one detection front electrode being other than the one or more detection electrodes (The detection controller 11 is a circuit that supplies control signals to the first electrode selection circuit 15, the detection electrode selection circuit 16, and the detector 40 to control their operations. The detection controller 11 includes a driver 11a and a clock signal output unit 11b. The driver 11a supplies a power source voltage Vdd to the first electrode selection circuit 15. The detection controller 11 supplies various control signals Vctr1 to the first electrode selection circuit 15 based on clock signals supplied from the clock signal output unit 11b; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-10; driving unit is included in the sensor and in the front side electrode is in the sensor circuit). The purpose of doing so is to select at least one of the first electrode blocks in a time-division manner in a first detection period and to select at least one of the first electrodes in a second detection period, can detect contact or proximity of the external proximity object CQ or an uneven shape on the surface of the external proximity object CQ facing the detection surface, can increase the detection accuracy.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neel by introducing a driving unit on the front surface as disclosed by Suzuki, because Suzuki teaches to include a driving unit can select at least one of the first electrode blocks in a time-division manner in a first detection period and selects at least one of the first electrodes in a second detection period (Paragraph [0006]), can detect contact or proximity of the external proximity object CQ or an uneven shape on the surface of the external proximity object CQ facing the detection surface (Paragraph [0152]), can increase the detection accuracy (Paragraph [0153]).
Regarding claim 10, Neel fails to teach in Figure 1, 2 and 9 a capacitive sensor, further comprising: a first selection unit configured to sequentially select one of the plurality of front-side electrodes as the detection electrode and connect the selected detection electrode to the detection unit; and a second selection unit configured to select a pair of front-side electrodes adjacent to the selected detection electrode from among the plurality of front-side electrodes as the driving unit and connect the selected driving unit to the first voltage output unit.
Suzuki teaches a detection apparatus and a display apparatus (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-2), further comprising:
a first selection unit [15] in Figure 3 configured to sequentially select one of the plurality of front-side electrodes [Tx] as the detection electrode and connect the selected detection electrode to the detection unit (The first electrode selection circuit 15 selects a plurality of first electrodes Tx simultaneously based on the various control signals Vctr1. The first electrode selection circuit 15 supplies the first drive signals Vtx1 or the second drive signals Vtx2 to the selected first electrodes Tx. The first electrode selection circuit 15 changes the state of selecting the first electrodes Tx, whereby the sensor 10 can perform a plurality of detection mode, that is, a first detection mode M1, a second detection mode M2, a third detection mode M3, and a fourth detection mode M4 (refer to FIGS. 8 to 11); Paragraph [0081] Line 1-10); and
a second selection unit [16] in Figure 3 configured to select a pair of front-side electrodes adjacent to the selected detection electrode from among the plurality of front-side electrodes as the driving unit and connect the selected driving unit to the first voltage output unit (The detection electrode selection circuit 16 is a switch circuit that selects a plurality of second electrodes Rx (refer to FIG. 5) simultaneously. The detection electrode selection circuit 16 performs CDM drive based on second electrode selection signals Vhsel supplied from the detection controller 11. As a result, the detection electrode selection circuit 16 selects a plurality of second electrodes Rx; Paragraph [0082] Line 1-7). The purpose of doing so is to detect the shape of a fingerprint or a palm print, to perform detection on the whole detection region FA.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neel by introducing a first selection unit and a second selection unit on the front surface as disclosed by Suzuki, because Suzuki teaches to include a first selection unit and a second selection unit detects the shape of a fingerprint or a palm print (Paragraph [0078]), performs detection on the whole detection region FA (Paragraph [0079]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3:
Closest prior art of record, Neel (US 20190302304 A1) and Suzuki (US 20190102020 A1) do not disclose the limitation cited in claim 3 “wherein an output voltage V₀ from the output terminal of the operation amplifier is represented by Equation (1) below, in which Cf denotes a capacitance between the detection electrode and the detection target, Cp denotes the capacitance between the detection electrode and the driving unit, Cs denotes a capacitance between the detection electrode and the shield electrode, VA denotes the first AC voltage, Vc denotes the second AC voltage, VB denotes the third AC voltage, and Cq denotes a capacitance of the capacitor connected between the output terminal and the inverting input terminal of the operational amplifier:
” in combination with other limitations recited in claim 1, upon which this claim depends. Neel discloses, “a device for detecting on the one hand the approach of an object towards a surface, and/or the contact of said object with said surface, and on the other hand the pressure of said object on said surface. It also relates to a method utilizing such a device (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-5). The capacitive detection of objects for an electronic device, making it possible for said device to detect neighbouring objects, in particular in the field of robotics (Paragraph [0002] Line 2-4). The device 100, represented diagrammatically in FIG. 1, is intended to detect the approach, the contact and the pressure exerted by a control object 102 on a detection surface 104 (Paragraph [0194] Line 1-4). To this end, the device 100 comprises at least an electrode 106, called measurement electrode, placed level with, or opposite, the detection surface 104 (Paragraph [0195] Line 1-3). In the embodiments shown, the detection surface 104 is represented by a face of the measurement electrode or electrodes 106, preferably covered with a thin layer of electrically insulating material (polyimide, insulating varnish, etc.) in order to avoid short-circuits with the control object 102 (Paragraph [0196] Line 1-6). The device 100 also comprises an electronic circuit which can be represented in the form of an operational amplifier (OA) 110, whose output is looped on its negative input by an impedance 112 (Paragraph [0197] Line 1-4). The device 100 also comprises a first electrical source E, which supplies a first alternating potential Vg. The first electrical source E is also called guard electrical source, and the first alternating potential Vg is also called guard potential Vg, for reasons that will be explained hereinafter (Paragraph [0198] Line 1-5). The first electrical source E is connected at the input to the ground potential G and at the output in particular to the guard electrode 108 (Paragraph [0198] Line 9-11). In order to obtain a voltage Vs referenced to the general ground potential G, the device comprises a module 114 shown in the form of a differential amplifier 114, electrically referenced to the general ground potential G, and connected at the input respectively to the output of the OA 110 and to the guard potential (Paragraph [0203] Line 1-6). In the example shown, the device 100 also comprises a second electrical source V, placed between the positive input of the OA 110 and the guard source E, and supplying an alternating electrical potential difference V1 (Paragraph [0204] Line 1-4). In this embodiment, the measurement electrode 106 is connected to the negative input of the OA 110, and the guard electrode 108 is connected at a point between the guard source E and the second source V (Paragraph [0205] Line 1-4). To this end, the measurement 106 and guard 108 electrodes are placed on either side of (or in) a layer 118 formed by an elastically compressible dielectric material, such as for example foam or plastic or also a liquid dielectric (Paragraph [0208] Line 7-11). Under these conditions, the approach and the contact of the control object 102 with the detection surface 104 can be detected and/or measured by measuring a value representative of a capacitance C.sub.eo, called electrode-object capacitance, formed between the measurement electrode 106 and the control object 102. Once in contact with the detection surface 104, the load exerted by the control object 102 can be detected and/or measured by measuring a value of a capacitance C.sub.eg, called electrode-guard capacitance, formed between the measurement electrode 106 and the guard electrode 108 (Paragraph [0209] Line 1-11). The signal Vs measured at the output of the OA 110 comprises a combination of a first signal Vsa, and a second signal Vsp which depend respectively on the electrode-object capacitance Ceo, and a sum of the electrode-object and electrode-guard Ceg capacitances (Paragraph [0211] Line 1-5). According to a mode of implementation, a first electrical potential Vg and a potential difference V1 are generated with different fundamental frequencies sufficiently spaced apart in order to be capable of being separated by demodulation and/or by filtering. These signals can be for example sinusoidal or square. In this case, the first and second signals Vsa and Vsp obtained also have different fundamental frequencies. It is then possible to obtain the respective amplitude of these first and second signals Vsa and Vsp by demodulating the signal Vs around, respectively, the fundamental frequency of the first electrical potential Vg for the first signal Vsa, and the fundamental frequency of the potential difference V1 for the second signal V. It is then possible to deduce from the amplitude of these signals, respectively, the electrode-object capacitance Ceo and the sum of the electrode-object and electrode-guard capacitances Ceo+C.sub.eg, thus the electrode-guard capacitance Ceg. Thus there is obtained simultaneously, a first signal with respect to the value of the electrode-object capacitance Ceo, and a second signal with respect to the value of the electrode-guard capacitance (Paragraph [0212] Line 1-11). Neel does not disclose a driving unit provided on the front surface of the elastic dielectric body and wherein an output voltage V₀ from the output terminal of the operation amplifier is represented by Equation (1) below, in which Cf denotes a capacitance between the detection electrode and the detection target, Cp denotes the capacitance between the detection electrode and the driving unit, Cs denotes a capacitance between the detection electrode and the shield electrode, VA denotes the first AC voltage, Vc denotes the second AC voltage, VB denotes the third AC voltage, and Cq denotes a capacitance of the capacitor connected between the output terminal and the inverting input terminal of the operational amplifier:
Suzuki teaches, “a detection apparatus and a display apparatus (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-2). The detection controller 11 is a circuit that supplies control signals to the first electrode selection circuit 15, the detection electrode selection circuit 16, and the detector 40 to control their operations. The detection controller 11 includes a driver 11a and a clock signal output unit 11b. The driver 11a supplies a power source voltage Vdd to the first electrode selection circuit 15. The detection controller 11 supplies various control signals Vctr1 to the first electrode selection circuit 15 based on clock signals supplied from the clock signal output unit 11b (Paragraph [0080] Line 1-10)”. However, Suzuki does not disclose wherein an output voltage V₀ from the output terminal of the operation amplifier is represented by Equation (1) below, in which Cf denotes a capacitance between the detection electrode and the detection target, Cp denotes the capacitance between the detection electrode and the driving unit, Cs denotes a capacitance between the detection electrode and the shield electrode, VA denotes the first AC voltage, Vc denotes the second AC voltage, VB denotes the third AC voltage, and Cq denotes a capacitance of the capacitor connected between the output terminal and the inverting input terminal of the operational amplifier:
Therefore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the limitation of
with the invention of Neel and Suzuki.
Claim 4 is also objected as being dependent on claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KAWAGUCHI et al. (US 20110227866 A1) discloses, “SENSOR APPARATUS AND DISPLAY APPARATUS- [0002] The present application relates to a sensor apparatus for detecting, for example, a press operation made by a user, and to a display apparatus including the sensor apparatus. [0053] FIG. 1 is a schematic cross-sectional view showing a sensor apparatus according to an embodiment. A sensor apparatus 1 of this embodiment is structured as a press detection sensor that detects a press input operation made by a user. [0054] The sensor apparatus 1 includes a casing 10 (first member), an input member 11 (second member), a detection mechanism 12 that detects a press operation to the input member 11, and a control unit 13 that drives the detection mechanism 12. 0061] FIG. 2 is a cross-sectional view of a main part schematically showing a basic structure of the detection mechanism 12. A first adhesion layer 121, the elastic member 120, a second adhesion layer 122, a dielectric layer 124, and a third adhesion layer 123 are laminated between the peripheral portion of the input member 11 and the second wall portion 102 of the casing 10. The adhesion layers 121 to 123 are each formed of a pressure-sensitive tape, a coating of an adhesive, or the like. The first adhesion layer 121 bonds the input member 11 and the elastic member 120 to each other, and the second adhesion layer 122 bonds the elastic member 120 and the dielectric layer 124 to each other. Further, the third adhesion layer 123 bonds the dielectric layer 124 and the second wall portion 102 of the casing 10 to each other. [0062] As shown in FIG. 2, the first adhesion layer 121, the dielectric layer 124, and the third adhesion layer 123 are formed to have a width equal to or larger than a width (W1) of the elastic member 120, while the second adhesion layer 122 is formed to have a width (W2) smaller than the width W1. Accordingly, a gap G having a width A (W1-W2) is formed on an inner circumference side of the elastic member 120 and between the elastic member 120 and the dielectric layer 124. The gap G is an air layer and a thickness thereof (size in Z-axis direction) is determined by a thickness of the second adhesion layer 122 (D2=D-D1). Here, "D" represents a lamination thickness of the first adhesion layer 121, the second adhesion layer 122, and the elastic member 120, and "D1" represents a lamination thickness of the first adhesion layer 121 and the elastic member 120-However KAWAGUCHI does not disclose an operation decision unit configured to determine a motion of the detection target according to the detection output, wherein the second voltage output unit is further configured to change an amplitude of
the second AC voltage, thereby outputting the second AC voltage with a plurality of amplitudes, and wherein the operation decision unit is further configured to determine that the detection target has performed a pressing operation against the cover based on a plurality of detection outputs corresponding to the plurality of amplitudes of the second AC voltage.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858