Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10 set forth in the amendment submitted 7/06/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
The interpretation of the claim limitation(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 3/19/2026 has been maintained because there is no amendment filed on 7/06/2026 regarding the claim interpretation.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7, filed 7/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7, of the remarks, filed on 7/06/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention, that “Claim 9 has been amended to more clearly recite that the plurality of front-side electrodes include a plurality of driving electrodes, along with replacing "the driving unit" with --at least one driving electrode--, and amending claim 1 to more clearly recite that the plurality of front-side electrodes include at least one detection electrode and at least one driving electrode.
With this amendment, it is respectfully requested that the rejections to the claims be withdrawn.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7 (stated above), filed 7/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 3/19/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive because applicant has amended claim 9 and made the limitation, “driving unit” clear. Therefore, the rejection of Claims 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 3/19/2026 has been withdrawn, as set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-11, filed 7/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NEEL et al. (Hereinafter, “Neel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190302304 A1 in view of SUZUKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Suzuki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20190102020 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 9-11, of the remarks, filed on 7/06/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NEEL et al. (Hereinafter, “Neel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190302304 A1 in view of SUZUKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Suzuki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20190102020 A1, that “However, in Neel, the measurement electrode 106 (the alleged detection electrode, or the alleged front-side electrode) is only connected to the negative input of the OA 110 (the alleged detection unit), and thus no alternating electrical potential is supplied to the measurement electrode 106 or any electrode disposed on the detection surface 104 (the alleged front surface of the elastic dielectric body). By the same token, in Neel, both of the guard source E and the second electrical source V (the alleged second voltage output unit) are connected to the guard electrode 108 (the alleged shield electrode) and/or the positive input of the OA 110, not to the measurement electrode 106 or any other electrode disposed on the detection surface 104 (the alleged front surface of the elastic dielectric body).
Accordingly, Neel's device 100 lacks the claimed driving electrode which is provided on the detection surface 104 (the alleged front surface) and to which the first AC voltage is applied, and also lacks the claimed first voltage output unit which outputs the first AC voltage to the driving electrode provided on the front surface, as recited in claim 1 (Remarks-Page 9).
…….
Niel's device 100 does not have any element that possibly changes an amplitude of the guard potential Vg or the alternating electrical potential difference V1 output to the guard electrode 108 (the alleged shield electrode) such that such an alternating potential has a plurality of different amplitudes, failing to disclose, teach or suggest changing an amplitude of the second AC voltage so as to output the second AC voltage to the shield electrode with a plurality of different amplitudes, as recited in claim 1.
In addition, in the claimed invention, the operation decision unit determines that the detection target has performed a pressing operation against the cover, based on a difference between two detection outputs among a plurality of detection outputs which are obtained correspondingly to the plurality of different amplitudes of the second AC voltage. There is no mention or suggestion in Niel that a plurality of output voltages Vs (the alleged detection outputs) are obtained correspondingly to a plurality of different amplitudes of the alternating potential applied to the guard electrode 108 (the alleged shield electrode), or determining a pressing operation based on a difference between two of such a plurality of detection outputs.
Accordingly, Niel also fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the claimed capacitive sensor comprising the operation decision unit which is configured to determine that the detection target has performed a pressing operation against the cover, based on a difference between two detection outputs among a plurality of detection outputs which are obtained correspondingly to the plurality of different amplitudes of the second AC voltage, as recited in claim 1.
………
In addition, Suzuki's detection (Remarks-Page 10) electrode E2 is the only electrode provided on the front surface of a dielectric D, and an AC signal Sg is applied to a drive electrode El disposed on the back surface of the dielectric D, as shown in FIG. 4 thereof (see also paragraphs [0090]-[0091] thereof). Accordingly, Suzuki is not applicable, and does not supplement the deficiencies of Neel, either.
Accordingly, it is respectfully requested that the rejections based on Neel and Suzuki be withdrawn (Remarks-Page 11).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-11 (stated above), filed 7/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NEEL et al. (Hereinafter, “Neel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190302304 A1 in view of SUZUKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Suzuki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20190102020 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 3/19/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive because applicant has amended the claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2 and 5-10 has been withdrawn. However, applicant has amended the claim 1, and added the limitation, “a plurality of front-side electrodes provided on the front surface of the elastic dielectric body, the plurality of front-side electrodes electrode including: at least one detection electrode; and at least one driving electrode capacitively coupled to the at least one detection electrode adjacent thereto to form a capacitance therebetween; a cover placed on a front side of the at least one front-side electrode; a shield electrode disposed on the back surface of the elastic dielectric body; a first voltage output unit configured to output a first AC voltage to the at least one driving electrode; a second voltage output unit configured to output a second AC voltage to the shield electrode, the second AC voltage having a same frequency and a same phase as the first AC voltage; a detection unit connected to the at least one detection electrode, configured to detect a capacitance of the at least one front-side electrode and output a detection output corresponding to the detected capacitance; and an operation decision unit configured to determine a motion of the detection target according to the detection output, wherein the second voltage output unit is further configured to change an amplitude of the second AC voltage, thereby outputting the second AC voltage to the shield electrode with a plurality of different amplitudes, and wherein the operation decision unit is further configured to determine that the detection target has performed a pressing operation against the cover, based on a difference between two detection outputs among a plurality of detection outputs which are obtained correspondingly to the plurality of different amplitudes of the second AC voltage, which necessitates a new ground of rejection. FUJIYOSH in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20190384457 A1 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NEEL et al. (Hereinafter, “Neel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190302304 A1 in view of SUZUKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Suzuki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20190102020 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 3/19/2026 has been withdrawn. Claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NEEL et al. (Hereinafter, “Neel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190302304 A1 in view of FUJIYOSH in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20190384457 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 11, filed 7/06/2026, with respect to the Allowable subject matter for dependent claims 3-4 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 11, of the remarks, filed on 7/06/2026, regarding the Allowable subject matter for dependent claims 3-4, that “Allowable claim 3 has been rewritten into independent form, including all of the limitations of intervening claim 2. Accordingly, it is believed that claim 3 is in condition for allowance.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 11 (stated above), filed 7/06/2026, with respect to the Allowable subject matter for dependent claims 3-4, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 3/19/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended claim 3 and added all the limitations from base claim 1-2. Therefore claim 3 is allowed and dependent claim 4 is also allowed as being dependent on claim 3. The reason for allowance is explained after the rejection. See below.
Dependent Claim(s) 2 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NEEL et al. (Hereinafter, “Neel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190302304 A1 in view of FUJIYOSH in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20190384457 A1, and dependent claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NEEL et al. (Hereinafter, “Neel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190302304 A1 in view of Fujiyoshi ‘457 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of SUZUKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Suzuki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20190102020 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first voltage output unit”, “a second voltage output unit”, “a detection unit”, “an operation decision unit” in claim 1 and 3 and “a third voltage output unit”, in claim 2, “a selection unit” and “a third voltage output unit” in claim 5 and “a holding unit” in claim 7, “a first selection unit” and “a second selection unit” in claim 10.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “a first voltage output unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to output a first AC voltage”.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “a second voltage output unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to output a second AC voltage”.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “a detection unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to detect a capacitance of the at least one front-side electrode”.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “an operation decision unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to determine a motion of the detection target”.
In this application in claim 2 the recited “a third voltage output unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to output a third AC voltage”.
In this application in claim 5 the recited “a selection unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to select the at least one detection electrode”.
In this application in claim 7 the recited “a holding unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to hold the plurality of detection outputs”.
In this application in claim 10 the recited “a first selection unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to sequentially select one of the plurality of front-side electrodes”.
In this application in claim 10 the recited “a second selection unit” coupled with the functional language “configured to select a pair of front-side electrodes”.
All these limitations in claim 1, 3, 2, 5, 7 and 10 have no structural meaning and are considered a generic placeholder.
In the present application (PGPUB NO: US 20240219210 A1) discloses:
In Paragraph 23, “[0023] FIG. 2: A combination of the amplification circuit 140A and power supply circuit 145 is an example of a first voltage output unit. A combination of the amplification circuit 140B and power supply circuit 145 is an example of a third voltage output unit. A combination of the variable amplification circuit 140C and power supply circuit 145 is an example of a second voltage output unit. The control device 170 includes an operation decision unit 171 and a holding unit 172.”
In Paragraph 45, “[0045] The control device 170 is implemented by a computer that includes a central processing unit (CPU), a random-access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), an input/output interface, an internal bus, and the like. The control device 170 has the operation decision unit 171 and holding unit 172. In addition to the operation decision unit 171 and holding unit 172, the control device 170 has processing units and the like that perform switching of the amplification ratio of the variable amplification circuit 140C (ratio according to which amplification to the alternating-current voltage V.sub.C1 or V.sub.C2 is performed), switching by the selection units 160A and 160B, and the like. However, descriptions of these units will be omitted here. The operation decision unit 171 represents one function of the control device 170 as a block. The holding unit 172 functionally represents the RAM in the control device 170.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NEEL et al. (Hereinafter, “Neel”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190302304 A1 in view of FUJIYOSH in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20190384457 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Neel teaches a capacitive sensor for detecting a motion of a detection target [102] (control object 102 as the target) (a device for detecting on the one hand the approach of an object towards a surface, and/or the contact of said object with said surface, and on the other hand the pressure of said object on said surface. It also relates to a method utilizing such a device; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-5; the capacitive detection of objects for an electronic device, making it possible for said device to detect neighbouring objects, in particular in the field of robotics; Paragraph [0002] Line 2-4; The device 100, represented diagrammatically in FIG. 1, is intended to detect the approach, the contact and the pressure exerted by a control object 102 on a detection surface 104; Paragraph [0194] Line 1-4) comprising:
an elastic dielectric body [118] (a layer 118 as the elastic body) having a front surface and a back surface (To this end, the measurement 106 and guard 108 electrodes are placed on either side of (or in) a layer 118 formed by an elastically compressible dielectric material, such as for example foam or plastic or also a liquid dielectric; Paragraph [0208] Line 7-11);
at least one of front-side electrode [106] provided on the front surface of the
elastic dielectric body [118] (To this end, the device 100 comprises at least an electrode 106, called measurement electrode, placed level with, or opposite, the detection surface 104; Paragraph [0195] Line 1-3; To this end, the measurement 106 and guard 108 electrodes are placed on either side of (or in) a layer 118 formed by an elastically compressible dielectric material, such as for example foam or plastic or also a liquid dielectric; Paragraph [0208] Line 7-11), the at least one front-side electrode including at least one detection electrode [106] (measurement electrode 106 as the detection electrode);
a cover placed on a front side of the at least one front-side electrode [104] (cover of the detection surface 104) (In the embodiments shown, the detection surface 104 is represented by a face of the measurement electrode or electrodes 106, preferably covered with a thin layer of electrically insulating material (polyimide, insulating varnish, etc.) in order to avoid short-circuits with the control object 102; Paragraph [0196] Line 1-6; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Neel below shows a cover);
a shield electrode [108] (guard electrode 108 as the shield electrode) disposed on the back surface side of the elastic dielectric body [118] ( an electrode 108, called guard electrode, placed opposite the measurement electrode 106 according to the face thereof opposite to the detection surface 104, and at a distance from this measurement electrode 106; Paragraph [0195] Line 3-5; To this end, the measurement 106 and guard 108 electrodes are placed on either side of (or in) a layer 118 formed by an elastically compressible dielectric material, such as for example foam or plastic or also a liquid dielectric; Paragraph [0208] Line 7-11);
a unit provided on the front surface of the elastic dielectric body and capacitively coupled to the at least one detection electrode to form a capacitance therebetween (Under these conditions, the approach and the contact of the control object 102 with the detection surface 104 can be detected and/or measured by measuring a value representative of a capacitance C.sub.eo, called electrode-object capacitance, formed between the measurement electrode 106 and the control object 102. Once in contact with the detection surface 104, the load exerted by the control object 102 can be detected and/or measured by measuring a value of a capacitance C.sub.eg, called electrode-guard capacitance, formed between the measurement electrode 106 and the guard electrode 108; Paragraph [0209] Line 1-11; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Neel below shows a capacitance is formed);
a first voltage output unit [V] (a second electrical source V as the first voltage output unit) configured to output a first AC voltage (In the example shown, the device 100 also comprises a second electrical source V, placed between the positive input of the OA 110 and the guard source E, and supplying an alternating electrical potential difference V1; Paragraph [0204] Line 1-4);
a second voltage output unit [E] (first electrical source E as the second voltage output unit) configured to output a second AC voltage [Vg], to the shield electrode [108] (The device 100 also comprises a first electrical source E, which supplies a first alternating potential Vg. The first electrical source E is also called guard electrical source, and the first alternating potential Vg is also called guard potential Vg, for reasons that will be explained hereinafter; Paragraph [0198] Line 1-5; The first electrical source E is connected at the input to the ground potential G and at the output in particular to the guard electrode 108; Paragraph [0198] Line 9-11),
Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Neel
the second AC voltage [E] having a same frequency and a same phase as the first AC voltage [V] (alternating potentials having one and the same temporal shape (sinusoidal, square, triangular, etc.), one and the same variation amplitude and one and the same phase (or in other words varying synchronously); Paragraph [0028] Line 1-4; alternating potentials which comprise at least one spectral component with identical amplitude and phase at least one working frequency; Paragraph [0029] Line 1-3; It is also possible to implement a guard electrical source E and a second source V that use the same excitation frequency or generate a signal of the same shape, which simplifies the detection electronics; Paragraph [0221] Line 1-5);
a detection unit [110] (electronic circuit in the form of operational amplifier 110 as the detection unit) (The device 100 also comprises an electronic circuit which can be represented in the form of an operational amplifier (OA) 110, whose output is looped on its negative input by an impedance 112; Paragraph [0197] Line 1-4) connected to the at least one detection electrode [106] (In this embodiment, the measurement electrode 106 is connected to the negative input of the OA 110, and the guard electrode 108 is connected at a point between the guard source E and the second source V; Paragraph [0205] Line 1-4), configured to
detect a capacitance of the at least one front-side electrode [106] and output a detection output (first signal and the second signal as the detection output) corresponding to the detected capacitance [electrode-object capacitance Ceo] (The signal Vs measured at the output of the OA 110 comprises a combination of a first signal Vsa, and a second signal Vsp which depend respectively on the electrode-object capacitance Ceo, and a sum of the electrode-object and electrode-guard Ceg capacitances; Paragraph [0211] Line 1-5; According to a mode of implementation, a first electrical potential Vg and a potential difference V1 are generated with different fundamental frequencies sufficiently spaced apart in order to be capable of being separated by demodulation and/or by filtering. These signals can be for example sinusoidal or square. In this case, the first and second signals Vsa and Vsp obtained also have different fundamental frequencies. It is then possible to obtain the respective amplitude of these first and second signals Vsa and Vsp by demodulating the signal Vs around, respectively, the fundamental frequency of the first electrical potential Vg for the first signal Vsa, and the fundamental frequency of the potential difference V1 for the second signal V. It is then possible to deduce from the amplitude of these signals, respectively, the electrode-object capacitance Ceo and the sum of the electrode-object and electrode-guard capacitances Ceo+C.sub.eg, thus the electrode-guard capacitance Ceg. Thus there is obtained simultaneously, a first signal with respect to the value of the electrode-object capacitance Ceo, and a second signal with respect to the value of the electrode-guard capacitance; Paragraph [0212] Line 1-11); and
an operation decision unit [114] (a module 114 shown in the form of a differential amplifier 114 as the operation decision unit) (In order to obtain a voltage Vs referenced to the general ground potential G, the device comprises a module 114 shown in the form of a differential amplifier 114, electrically referenced to the general ground potential G, and connected at the input respectively to the output of the OA 110 and to the guard potential; Paragraph [0203] Line 1-6) configured to determine a motion of the detection target [102] according to the detection output (Thus an image signal of V.sub.s is obtained at the output of this differential amplifier 114, referenced to the general ground potential G; Paragraph [0203] Line 7-9; [0078] The device according to the invention can also comprise at least one calculation module configured in order to: [0079] determine a distance or a contact between the object and the detection surface as a function of the first signal (and/or a speed, a path, a movement, a gesture, etc.); and/or [0080] determine a load applied by said object on the detection surface as a function of the second signal; Paragraph [0078]-[0080]),
wherein the second voltage output unit is further configured to change an amplitude of the second AC voltage [Vg], thereby outputting the second AC voltage with a plurality of amplitudes (To this end, the device 100 comprises two synchronous demodulators 115 which carry out the functions of multiplication of the signal Vs originating from the OA 110 with respectively, a carrier signal corresponding to the first electrical potential Vg, and a carrier signal corresponding to the potential difference V1, then low-pass filtering; Paragraph [0213] Line 1-6; These demodulations of first and second signals Vsa and Vsp at different frequencies can also be carried out with an asynchronous demodulator comprising rectification followed by a low-pass filter; Paragraph [0214] Line 1-4), and
wherein the operation decision unit is further configured to determine that the detection target has performed a pressing operation against the cover, based on difference (a module 114) between two detection outputs among a plurality of detection outputs (In order to obtain a voltage V.sub.s referenced to the general ground potential G, the device comprises a module 114 shown in the form of a differential amplifier 114, electrically referenced to the general ground potential G, and connected at the input respectively to the output of the OA 110 and to the guard potential. Thus an image signal of V.sub.s is obtained at the output of this differential amplifier 114, referenced to the general ground potential G; Paragraph [0203] Line 1-8) which are obtained correspondingly to, the plurality of different amplitudes of the second AC voltage to a plurality of amplitudes (Claim 10: The device according to claim 1, characterized in that it comprises at least one calculation module configured in order to: determine a distance or a contact between the object and the detection surface as a function of the first signal; and/or - determine a load or a pressure applied by said object on the detection surface as a function of the second signal; Thus, the device according to the invention makes it possible to measure, with a single measurement electronics and a set of (at least) two electrodes, on the one hand a first signal depending on (or representative of) a first item of information which is the approach and/or the contact of an object with the detection surface, and on the other hand, a second signal depending on (or representative of) a second item of information which is the pressure, or the load, exerted by the object on the detection surface. It is thus possible to obtain measurements of approach and contact on the one hand, and load on the other hand, separately and unambiguously; Paragraph [0032] Line 1-12; Claim 20 and claim 22).
Neel fails to teach at least one driving electrode capacitively coupled to the at least one detection electrode adjacent thereto to form a capacitance therebetween; a first voltage output unit configured to output a first AC voltage to the at least one driving electrode; outputting the second AC voltage to the shield electrode with a plurality of different amplitudes.
Fujiyoshi teaches an input device that can concurrently perform detection of self-capacitance type and detection of mutual capacitance type and capable of obtaining superior detection sensitivity and also providing a method of controlling the input device (Paragraph [0009] Line 2-6; FIG. 1 illustrates an example of the structure of an input device according to this embodiment; Paragraph [0055] Line 1-2); wherein the capacitive sensor [10] comprising
at least one driving electrode [X1 to X5] (For example, the sensor unit 10 may have a plurality of detection electrodes (Y1 to Y4), a plurality of driving electrodes (X1 to X5); Paragraph [0056] Line 4-6) capacitively coupled to the at least one detection electrode [Y1 to Y4] adjacent thereto to form a capacitance therebetween (The plurality of detection electrodes (Y1 to Y4) and the plurality of driving electrodes (X1 to X5) are placed so as to intersect like a grid. In the vicinity of each intersection, a capacitor is formed between the detection electrode and the driving electrode.; Paragraph [0056] Line 14-18; FIG. 3 illustrates an example of the structures of the sensor unit 10 and capacitance detecting unit 20 in the input device according to this embodiment. The drawing indicates a circuit that detects capacitance for one detection electrode Y and one driving electrode X; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-5);
a first voltage output unit [24] configured to output a first AC voltage [V2] to the at least one driving electrode [X] (a driving unit 24 that applies a second alternating current voltage V2 to each of the plurality of driving electrodes X, a charge detecting unit 22 connected to the detection electrode Y; Paragraph [0061] Line 3-6);
outputting the second AC voltage [V1] to the shield electrode [AS] (The capacitance detecting unit 20 has a voltage generating unit 25 that applies a first alternating current voltage V1 to the shield electrode AS; Paragraph [0061] Line 1-3) with a plurality of different amplitudes (The voltage generating unit 25 generates the first alternating current voltage V1, the level of which periodically changes, and applies the first alternating current voltage V1 to the shield electrode AS; Paragraph [0062] Line 1-4). The purpose of doing so is to concurrently perform detection of self-capacitance type and detection of mutual capacitance type and capable of obtaining superior detection sensitivity and also providing a method of controlling the input device, to detect whether the object has come close to the detection electrode and the degree of proximity between the object and the detection electrode, to easily increase detection sensitivity, Therefore, the different detection signals make possible to detect a change in mutual capacitance in the one driving electrode with superior sensitivity.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neel by introducing a driving electrode to capacitively coupled to the at least one detection electrode as disclosed by Fujiyoshi, because Fujiyoshi teaches to include a driving electrode concurrently performs detection of self-capacitance type and detection of mutual capacitance type and capable of obtaining superior detection sensitivity and also providing a method of controlling the input device (Paragraph [0009]), detects whether the object has come close to the detection electrode and the degree of proximity between the object and the detection electrode (Paragraph [0012]), easily increases detection sensitivity (Paragraph [0014]), Therefore, the different detection signals make possible to detect a change in mutual capacitance in the one driving electrode with superior sensitivity (Paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Neel teaches a capacitive sensor, further comprising:
a third voltage output unit configured to output a third AC voltage having a same frequency and a same phase as the first AC voltage (In order to apply the alternating electrical potential difference (or the difference in alternating electrical potential), the polarization means are arranged in order to apply, respectively, a third potential to the measurement electrode, and a fourth potential to the guard electrode. These third and fourth potentials can be defined (or referenced), non-limitatively, with respect to the ground potential. The alternating electrical potential difference therefore corresponds to the difference between these third and fourth potentials, or, in other words, to a differential potential applied between the measurement electrode and the guard electrode; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-11), wherein
the detection unit includes an operational amplifier [110] (In this embodiment, the measurement electrode 106 is connected to the negative input of the OA 110, and the guard electrode 108 is connected at a point between the guard source E and the second source V; Paragraph [0205] Line 1-4) comprising:
an output terminal (Figure 1 (a): Modified Figure 1 of Neel below shows the output terminal);
an inverting input terminal connected to the at least one detection electrode (In this embodiment, the measurement electrode 106 is connected to the negative input of the OA 110, and the guard electrode 108 is connected at a point between the guard source E and the second source V; Paragraph [0205] Line 1-4); and
Figure 1 (a): Modified Figure 1 of Neel
a non-inverting input terminal connected to the third voltage output unit (These third and fourth potentials can be defined (or referenced), non-limitatively, with respect to the ground potential and therefore third potential is connected to the non-inverting input terminal),
and
wherein the operational amplifier [110] performs a negative feedback operation via a capacitor and a resistor (According to embodiments, the measurement electronics can comprise a circuit utilizing an operational amplifier with an impedance comprising a feedback capacitive component, the measurement electrode or electrodes being connected to the negative input of said operational amplifier; Paragraph [0127] Line 1-5; Claim 18. The device according to claim 1, characterized in that the measurement electronics comprise a circuit utilizing an operational amplifier with an impedance comprising a feedback capacitive component, the measurement electrode or electrodes being connected to the negative input of said operational amplifier).
Regarding claim 5, Neel in Figure 1 and 2 teaches a capacitive sensor.
The combination of Neel in Figure 1 and 2 and Fujiyoshi fails to teach that the capacitive sensor, further comprising: a selection unit configured to select the at least one detection electrode from among the at least one front-side electrode, wherein the third voltage output unit is configured to output the third AC voltage to the at least one detection electrode selected by the selection unit.
However, Neel in Figure 9 teaches a capacitive sensor, further comprising:
a selection unit [1001] (electrode switch 1001 as the selection unit) configured to select the plurality of detection electrode [1061-106N] from among the at least one front-side electrodes [1061-106N] (The electrode switch 1001 is connected at the output to the measurement input (negative input) of the OA 110. It makes it possible to select a measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with which the measurements of the first and second signal are carried out as described above. This electrode switch 1001 is also arranged so that each measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N is connected, either to the measurement input of the OA 110 in order to constitute an active (measuring) electrode, or to a potential that is identical or substantially identical to that applied to the active electrode or electrodes; Paragraph [0299] Line 1-11),
wherein the third voltage output unit (identical potential is applied to the detection electrode) is configured to output the third AC voltage to the at least one or more detection electrode selected by the selection unit [1001] (In all the embodiments presented, the measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N which are not active are connected by the electrode switch 1001 to the positive input of the OA 110, which as explained above is at the same potential as the active measurement electrode 106; Paragraph [0300] Line 1-5; The fact of polarizing the measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N which are not active at a potential identical or substantially identical to that applied to the active electrode or electrodes; Paragraph [0301] Line 1-4). The purpose of doing so is to make it possible to avoid any crosstalk between the selected measuring electrode or electrodes and the non-measuring electrodes, to take measurements sequentially with a plurality of measurement electrodes, to constitute an active (measuring) electrode, or to a potential that is identical or substantially identical to that applied to the active electrode or electrodes.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Figure 1 and 2 of Neel and Fujiyoshi in view of Figure 9 of Neel by including a selection unit to select the at least one detection electrode from among the at least one front-side electrode, because Neel in Figure 9 teaches to include a selection unit makes it possible to avoid any crosstalk between the selected measuring electrode or electrodes and the non-measuring electrodes (Paragraph [0301]), takes measurements sequentially with a plurality of measurement electrodes (Paragraph [0297]), constitutes an active (measuring) electrode, or to a potential that is identical or substantially identical to that applied to the active electrode or electrodes (Paragraph [0299]).
Regarding claim 6, Neel teaches a capacitive sensor,
wherein the operation decision unit [114] is further configured to determine that the detection target has approached or contacted the cover based on the detection output from the detection unit when the second voltage output unit outputs the second AC voltage having a predetermined amplitude (an amplitude less than ½, or ⅕, or 1/10, or 1/100 of the amplitude of the first alternating electrical potential as the predetermined amplitude) (In particular, the means for electrical polarization of the electrodes can be arranged in order to generate an alternating electrical potential difference with an amplitude less than the amplitude of the first alternating electrical potential. The alternating electrical potential difference can for example have an amplitude less than ½, or ⅕, or 1/10, or 1/100 of the amplitude of the first alternating electrical potential. Such an amplitude difference makes it possible to compensate for the difference in values between the electrode-guard capacitance and the electrode-object capacitance (the electrode-guard capacitance can have a higher value, for example of the order of 2 to 100 times higher, than the electrode-object capacitance) and detect the two capacitances under good conditions with the measurement electronics. It should be noted that a similar result can be obtained with an alternating electrical potential difference with an amplitude greater than the amplitude of the first alternating electrical potential, in as much as it is the difference in obtained potentials that produces the compensation effect; Paragraph [0063] Line 1-20; capacitance is determined based on the amplitude of the voltage and object is determined based on the capacitance; Paragraph [0203]).
Regarding claim 7, Neel in Figure 1 and 2 teaches a capacitive sensor.
The combination of Neel in Figure 1 and 2 and Fujiyoshi fails to teach that the capacitive sensor, further comprising: a holding unit configured to hold the plurality of detection outputs from the detection unit when the second voltage output unit changes the amplitude of the second AC voltage, wherein the operation decision unit determines the pressing operation of the detection target based on the plurality of detection outputs held in the holding unit.
However, Neel in Figure 9 teaches a capacitive sensor, further comprising:
a holding unit [902] (guard plane 902 as the holding unit as it holds all the electrodes) configured to hold the plurality of detection outputs [1002] (output from the connecting tracks 1002) from the detection unit [1061-106N] when the second voltage output unit [V] changes the amplitude of the second AC voltage (The electrode switch 1001 is connected at the output to the measurement input (negative input) of the OA 110. It makes it possible to select a measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with which the measurements of the first and second signal are carried out as described above. This electrode switch 1001 is also arranged so that each measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N is connected, either to the measurement input of the OA 110 in order to constitute an active (measuring) electrode, or to a potential that is identical or substantially identical to that applied to the active electrode or electrodes; Paragraph [0299] Line 1-11),
wherein the operation decision unit determines the pressing operation of the detection target based on the plurality of detection outputs held in the holding unit (In this configuration, it is possible to have several guard electrodes 108.sub.1-108.sub.N connected together, each being opposite a different measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N. Inasmuch as the measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N are “polled” sequentially, the same spatial resolution is obtained for the load or pressure measurements, while still limiting the number of tracks or channels necessary for the guard electrode switch 1101; Paragraph [0324] Line 1-8). The purpose of doing so is to eliminate the capacitive leaks from this connection (said connection can be a cable, an extension of the active surface, a flexible connection, a printed circuit element, etc.), to retain measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with a more extensive surface area, allowing a better sensitivity for the distance measurements with a reasonable spatial resolution, and a finer spatial resolution for the load measurements, for which the spatial resolution is important.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Figure 1 and 2 of Neel and Fujiyoshi in view of Figure 9 of Neel by including a holding unit to hold the plurality of detection outputs from the detection unit, because Neel in Figure 9 teaches to include a holding unit eliminates the capacitive leaks from this connection (said connection can be a cable, an extension of the active surface, a flexible connection, a printed circuit element, etc.) (Paragraph [0308]), retains measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with a more extensive surface area, allowing a better sensitivity for the distance measurements with a reasonable spatial resolution, and a finer spatial resolution for the load measurements, for which the spatial resolution is important (Paragraph [0323]).
Regarding claim 8, Neel in Figure 1 and 2 teaches a capacitive sensor.
The combination of Neel in Figure 1 and 2 and Fujiyoshi fails to teach that the capacitive sensor, wherein the at least one detection electrode includes a plurality of detection electrodes, and the at least one front-side electrode includes a plurality of front-side electrodes including the plurality of detection electrodes, wherein the capacitive sensor further comprises: a selection unit configured to sequentially select one of the plurality of detection electrodes and connect the selected detection electrode to the detection unit one at a time, wherein the detection unit is further configured to detect the capacitance of the selected detection electrode, when the second voltage output unit changes the amplitude of the second AC voltage while the selected detection electrode is connected to the detection unit, by outputting a plurality of detection outputs corresponding to the plurality of amplitudes of the second AC voltage, and wherein the operation decision unit is further configured to determine if that the pressing operation has been performed at a position on the cover corresponding to the selected detection electrode based on the plurality of detection outputs.
However, Neel in Figure 9 teaches a capacitive sensor,
wherein the at least one detection electrode [106] includes a plurality of detection electrodes (The device comprises a plurality of measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N connected respectively to an electronic electrode switch (switch) 1001 by connecting tracks 1002; Paragraph [0313] Line 1-3), and the at least one front-side electrode includes a plurality of front-side electrodes including the plurality of detection electrodes (The device also comprises a plurality of guard electrodes 108.sub.1-108.sub.N placed respectively opposite the measurement electrodes 1061-106N. These guard electrodes 108.sub.1-108.sub.N are individually connected by connecting tracks to a guard electrode switch 1101 the operation of which is explained hereinafter. The measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N and the guard electrodes 108.sub.1-108.sub.N are represented diagrammatically in a cross section view. They are placed on either side of a layer 118, formed by an elastically compressible dielectric material; Paragraph [0314] Line 1-10),
wherein the capacitive sensor [1000] further comprises:
a selection unit [1001] (The device comprises a plurality of measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N connected respectively to an electronic electrode switch (switch) 1001 by connecting tracks 1002; Paragraph [0313] Line 1-3) configured to sequentially select one of the plurality of detection electrodes and connect the selected detection electrode to the detection unit one at a time (The electrode switch 1001 is connected at the output to the measurement input (negative input) of the OA 110. It makes it possible to select a measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with which the measurements of the first and second signal are carried out as described above. This electrode switch 1001 is also arranged so that each measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N is connected, either to the measurement input of the OA 110 in order to constitute an active (measuring) electrode, or to a potential that is identical or substantially identical to that applied to the active electrode or electrodes. Preferably, a single active electrode is selected at a time; Paragraph [0299] Line 1-12),
wherein the detection unit is further configured to detect the capacitance of the selected detection electrode, when the second voltage output unit changes the amplitude of the second AC voltage while the selected detection electrode is connected to the detection unit, by outputting a plurality of detection outputs corresponding to the plurality of amplitudes of the second AC voltage (A measurement of the second signal is carried out in order to obtain the electrode-guard capacitance C.sub.eg between the active measurement electrode and the excited guard electrode; Paragraph [0321] Line 1-4), and
wherein the operation decision unit is further configured to determine if that the pressing operation has been performed at a position on the cover corresponding to the selected detection electrode based on the plurality of detection outputs (In this configuration, it is possible to have several guard electrodes 108.sub.1-108.sub.N connected together, each being opposite a different measurement electrode 106.sub.1-106.sub.N. Inasmuch as the measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N are “polled” sequentially, the same spatial resolution is obtained for the load or pressure measurements, while still limiting the number of tracks or channels necessary for the guard electrode switch 1101; Paragraph [0324] Line 1-8). The purpose of doing so is to eliminate the capacitive leaks from this connection (said connection can be a cable, an extension of the active surface, a flexible connection, a printed circuit element, etc.), to retain measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with a more extensive surface area, allowing a better sensitivity for the distance measurements with a reasonable spatial resolution, and a finer spatial resolution for the load measurements, for which the spatial resolution is important.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Figure 1 and 2 of Neel and Fujiyoshi in view of Figure 9 of Neel by including a plurality of detection electrodes and a selection unit to sequentially select one of the plurality of detection electrodes, because Neel in Figure 9 teaches to include a plurality of detection electrodes and a selection unit eliminates the capacitive leaks from this connection (said connection can be a cable, an extension of the active surface, a flexible connection, a printed circuit element, etc.) (Paragraph [0308]), retains measurement electrodes 106.sub.1-106.sub.N with a more extensive surface area, allowing a better sensitivity for the distance measurements with a reasonable spatial resolution, and a finer spatial resolution for the load measurements, for which the spatial resolution is important (Paragraph [0323]).
Regarding claim 9, Neel fails to teach a capacitive sensor, wherein the plurality of front-side electrodes, includes a plurality of driving electrodes which are not the at least one detection electrode.
Fujiyoshi teaches an input device that can concurrently perform detection of self-capacitance type and detection of mutual capacitance type and capable of obtaining superior detection sensitivity and also providing a method of controlling the input device (Paragraph [0009] Line 2-6; FIG. 1 illustrates an example of the structure of an input device according to this embodiment; Paragraph [0055] Line 1-2);
wherein the plurality of front-side electrodes, includes a plurality of driving electrodes [X1 to X5] which are not the at least one detection electrode [Y1 to Y4] (For example, the sensor unit 10 may have a plurality of detection electrodes (Y1 to Y4), a plurality of driving electrodes (X1 to X5); Paragraph [0056] Line 4-6; The plurality of detection electrodes (Y1 to Y4) and the plurality of driving electrodes (X1 to X5) are placed so as to intersect like a grid. In the vicinity of each intersection, a capacitor is formed between the detection electrode and the driving electrode.; Paragraph [0056] Line 14-18; FIG. 3 illustrates an example of the structures of the sensor unit 10 and capacitance detecting unit 20 in the input device according to this embodiment. The drawing indicates a circuit that detects capacitance for one detection electrode Y and one driving electrode X; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to concurrently perform detection of self-capacitance type and detection of mutual capacitance type and capable of obtaining superior detection sensitivity and also providing a method of controlling the input device, to detect whether the object has come close to the detection electrode and the degree of proximity between the object and the detection electrode, to easily increase detection sensitivity, Therefore, the different detection signals make possible to detect a change in mutual capacitance in the one driving electrode with superior sensitivity.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neel by introducing a plurality of driving electrodes which are not the at least one detection electrode as disclosed by Fujiyoshi, because Fujiyoshi teaches to include a driving electrode concurrently performs detection of self-capacitance type and detection of mutual capacitance type and capable of obtaining superior detection sensitivity and also providing a method of controlling the input device (Paragraph [0009]), detects whether the object has come close to the detection electrode and the degree of proximity between the object and the detection electrode (Paragraph [0012]), easily increases detection sensitivity (Paragraph [0014]), Therefore, the different detection signals make possible to detect a change in mutual capacitance in the one driving electrode with superior sensitivity (Paragraph [0022]).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neel ‘304 A1 in view of Fujiyoshi ‘457 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of SUZUKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Suzuki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20190102020 A1.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Neel and Fujiyoshi fails to teach in Figure 1, 2 and 9 a capacitive sensor, further comprising: a first selection unit configured to sequentially select one of the plurality of front-side electrodes as the detection electrode and connect the selected detection electrode to the detection unit; and a second selection unit configured to select a pair of front-side electrodes adjacent to the selected detection electrode from among the plurality of front-side electrodes as the driving unit and connect the selected driving unit to the first voltage output unit.
Suzuki teaches a detection apparatus and a display apparatus (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-2), further comprising:
a first selection unit [15] in Figure 3 configured to sequentially select one of the plurality of front-side electrodes [Tx] as the detection electrode and connect the selected detection electrode to the detection unit (The first electrode selection circuit 15 selects a plurality of first electrodes Tx simultaneously based on the various control signals Vctr1. The first electrode selection circuit 15 supplies the first drive signals Vtx1 or the second drive signals Vtx2 to the selected first electrodes Tx. The first electrode selection circuit 15 changes the state of selecting the first electrodes Tx, whereby the sensor 10 can perform a plurality of detection mode, that is, a first detection mode M1, a second detection mode M2, a third detection mode M3, and a fourth detection mode M4 (refer to FIGS. 8 to 11); Paragraph [0081] Line 1-10); and
a second selection unit [16] in Figure 3 configured to select a pair of front-side electrodes adjacent to the selected detection electrode from among the plurality of front-side electrodes as the driving unit and connect the selected driving unit to the first voltage output unit (The detection electrode selection circuit 16 is a switch circuit that selects a plurality of second electrodes Rx (refer to FIG. 5) simultaneously. The detection electrode selection circuit 16 performs CDM drive based on second electrode selection signals Vhsel supplied from the detection controller 11. As a result, the detection electrode selection circuit 16 selects a plurality of second electrodes Rx; Paragraph [0082] Line 1-7). The purpose of doing so is to detect the shape of a fingerprint or a palm print, to perform detection on the whole detection region FA.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neel and Fujiyoshi by introducing a first selection unit and a second selection unit on the front surface as disclosed by Suzuki, because Suzuki teaches to include a first selection unit and a second selection unit detects the shape of a fingerprint or a palm print (Paragraph [0078]), performs detection on the whole detection region FA (Paragraph [0079]).
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claims 3-4 are allowed.
14. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 3-4 are allowed as set forth below.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record as considered and understood by the examiner fails to teach or fairly suggest:
wherein an output voltage V₀ from the output terminal of the operation amplifier is represented by Equation (1) below, in which Cf denotes a capacitance between the detection electrode and the detection target, Cp denotes the capacitance between the detection electrode and the driving unit, Cs denotes a capacitance between the detection electrode and the shield electrode, VA denotes the first AC voltage, Vc denotes the second AC voltage, VB denotes the third AC voltage, and Cq denotes a capacitance of the capacitor connected between the output terminal and the inverting input terminal of the operational amplifier:
Neel (US 20190302304 A1) and Suzuki (US 20190102020 A1) are regarded as the closest prior art to the invention of claim 3. Neel discloses, “a device for detecting on the one hand the approach of an object towards a surface, and/or the contact of said object with said surface, and on the other hand the pressure of said object on said surface. It also relates to a method utilizing such a device (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-5). The capacitive detection of objects for an electronic device, making it possible for said device to detect neighbouring objects, in particular in the field of robotics (Paragraph [0002] Line 2-4). The device 100, represented diagrammatically in FIG. 1, is intended to detect the approach, the contact and the pressure exerted by a control object 102 on a detection surface 104 (Paragraph [0194] Line 1-4). To this end, the device 100 comprises at least an electrode 106, called measurement electrode, placed level with, or opposite, the detection surface 104 (Paragraph [0195] Line 1-3). In the embodiments shown, the detection surface 104 is represented by a face of the measurement electrode or electrodes 106, preferably covered with a thin layer of electrically insulating material (polyimide, insulating varnish, etc.) in order to avoid short-circuits with the control object 102 (Paragraph [0196] Line 1-6). The device 100 also comprises an electronic circuit which can be represented in the form of an operational amplifier (OA) 110, whose output is looped on its negative input by an impedance 112 (Paragraph [0197] Line 1-4). The device 100 also comprises a first electrical source E, which supplies a first alternating potential Vg. The first electrical source E is also called guard electrical source, and the first alternating potential Vg is also called guard potential Vg, for reasons that will be explained hereinafter (Paragraph [0198] Line 1-5). The first electrical source E is connected at the input to the ground potential G and at the output in particular to the guard electrode 108 (Paragraph [0198] Line 9-11). In order to obtain a voltage Vs referenced to the general ground potential G, the device comprises a module 114 shown in the form of a differential amplifier 114, electrically referenced to the general ground potential G, and connected at the input respectively to the output of the OA 110 and to the guard potential (Paragraph [0203] Line 1-6). In the example shown, the device 100 also comprises a second electrical source V, placed between the positive input of the OA 110 and the guard source E, and supplying an alternating electrical potential difference V1 (Paragraph [0204] Line 1-4). In this embodiment, the measurement electrode 106 is connected to the negative input of the OA 110, and the guard electrode 108 is connected at a point between the guard source E and the second source V (Paragraph [0205] Line 1-4). To this end, the measurement 106 and guard 108 electrodes are placed on either side of (or in) a layer 118 formed by an elastically compressible dielectric material, such as for example foam or plastic or also a liquid dielectric (Paragraph [0208] Line 7-11). Under these conditions, the approach and the contact of the control object 102 with the detection surface 104 can be detected and/or measured by measuring a value representative of a capacitance C.sub.eo, called electrode-object capacitance, formed between the measurement electrode 106 and the control object 102. Once in contact with the detection surface 104, the load exerted by the control object 102 can be detected and/or measured by measuring a value of a capacitance C.sub.eg, called electrode-guard capacitance, formed between the measurement electrode 106 and the guard electrode 108 (Paragraph [0209] Line 1-11). The signal Vs measured at the output of the OA 110 comprises a combination of a first signal Vsa, and a second signal Vsp which depend respectively on the electrode-object capacitance Ceo, and a sum of the electrode-object and electrode-guard Ceg capacitances (Paragraph [0211] Line 1-5). According to a mode of implementation, a first electrical potential Vg and a potential difference V1 are generated with different fundamental frequencies sufficiently spaced apart in order to be capable of being separated by demodulation and/or by filtering. These signals can be for example sinusoidal or square. In this case, the first and second signals Vsa and Vsp obtained also have different fundamental frequencies. It is then possible to obtain the respective amplitude of these first and second signals Vsa and Vsp by demodulating the signal Vs around, respectively, the fundamental frequency of the first electrical potential Vg for the first signal Vsa, and the fundamental frequency of the potential difference V1 for the second signal V. It is then possible to deduce from the amplitude of these signals, respectively, the electrode-object capacitance Ceo and the sum of the electrode-object and electrode-guard capacitances Ceo+C.sub.eg, thus the electrode-guard capacitance Ceg. Thus there is obtained simultaneously, a first signal with respect to the value of the electrode-object capacitance Ceo, and a second signal with respect to the value of the electrode-guard capacitance (Paragraph [0212] Line 1-11). Neel does not disclose a driving unit provided on the front surface of the elastic dielectric body and wherein an output voltage V₀ from the output terminal of the operation amplifier is represented by Equation (1) below, in which Cf denotes a capacitance between the detection electrode and the detection target, Cp denotes the capacitance between the detection electrode and the driving unit, Cs denotes a capacitance between the detection electrode and the shield electrode, VA denotes the first AC voltage, Vc denotes the second AC voltage, VB denotes the third AC voltage, and Cq denotes a capacitance of the capacitor connected between the output terminal and the inverting input terminal of the operational amplifier:
Suzuki teaches, “a detection apparatus and a display apparatus (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-2). The detection controller 11 is a circuit that supplies control signals to the first electrode selection circuit 15, the detection electrode selection circuit 16, and the detector 40 to control their operations. The detection controller 11 includes a driver 11a and a clock signal output unit 11b. The driver 11a supplies a power source voltage Vdd to the first electrode selection circuit 15. The detection controller 11 supplies various control signals Vctr1 to the first electrode selection circuit 15 based on clock signals supplied from the clock signal output unit 11b (Paragraph [0080] Line 1-10)”. However, Suzuki does not disclose wherein an output voltage V₀ from the output terminal of the operation amplifier is represented by Equation (1) below, in which Cf denotes a capacitance between the detection electrode and the detection target, Cp denotes the capacitance between the detection electrode and the driving unit, Cs denotes a capacitance between the detection electrode and the shield electrode, VA denotes the first AC voltage, Vc denotes the second AC voltage, VB denotes the third AC voltage, and Cq denotes a capacitance of the capacitor connected between the output terminal and the inverting input terminal of the operational amplifier:
. Therefore, the invention of Neel and Suzuki, even if modified, do not alone or in combination with the other art of record, teach or fairly suggest, “wherein an output voltage V₀ from the output terminal of the operation amplifier is represented by Equation (1) below, in which Cf denotes a capacitance between the detection electrode and the detection target, Cp denotes the capacitance between the detection electrode and the driving unit, Cs denotes a capacitance between the detection electrode and the shield electrode, VA denotes the first AC voltage, Vc denotes the second AC voltage, VB denotes the third AC voltage, and Cq denotes a capacitance of the capacitor connected between the output terminal and the inverting input terminal of the operational amplifier:
” and also in combination with all other elements in claim 3 distinguish the present invention from the prior art references.
Claim 4 is allowed by virtue of its dependence from claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
OTAGAKI et al. (US 20190004631 A1) discloses, “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR A CAPACITIVE SENSOR- [0006] Various embodiments of the present technology may comprise methods and apparatus for increased sensitivity of a capacitive proximity sensor. The method and apparatus may comprise additional external capacitors coupled in parallel with internal variable capacitors to increase the effective capacitance of a detection circuit allowing for a larger sensing element, and therefore a stronger sensing field, without increasing the applied voltage or the internal capacitance of the proximity sensor. [0032] Referring to FIG. 3, in an exemplary embodiment, the sensing element 105 comprises a first electrode 135a and a second electrode 135b, wherein the first and second electrodes 135a, 135b may be coplanar. In the present embodiment, the first electrode 135a may comprise the transmission electrode 110 and the second electrode 135b may comprise the reception electrode 115, wherein the first and second electrodes 135a, 135b together form the sensing capacitor Cs. For example, the sensing element 105 may comprise a total surface area A, wherein the first electrode 135a may comprise a first surface area Al defined generally by the dimensions of the surface 310 of the sensing element 105. The second electrode 135b may comprise a second surface area A2 that is surrounded by the first electrode 135a and separated by a dielectric 130, wherein the dielectric surrounds the second electrode 135b. The reception electrode 115 may be coupled to a voltage source 510 (FIG. 5). [0046] The detection circuit 500 may be configured to have a preset internal capacitance or a variable internal capacitance. For example. in one embodiment, the detection circuit may comprise a first internal variable capacitorCint1 with an adjustable capacitance CAint1 and a second internal variable capacitor Cint2 with an adjustable capacitance CAint2. As such, the detection circuit 500 will have a potential internal maximum capacitance value CAmax defined as the capacitance value when the first and second internal variable capacitors Cint1, Cint2 are adjusted to their maximum values. Similarly, the detection circuit will have a potential minimum capacitance value CAmin defined as the capacitance value when the first and second internal variable capacitors Cint1, Cint2 are adjusted to their minimum values. In general, a total internal IC capacitance CAint_total may be defined as the capacitance of the first internal capacitor CAint1 plus the capacitance of the second internal capacitor CAint2 (i.e., CAint_total=CAint1 CAint2)-However OTAGAKI does not disclose at least one driving electrode capacitively coupled to the at least one detection electrode adjacent thereto to form a capacitance therebetween; a cover placed on a front side of the at least one front-side electrode;
a shield electrode disposed on the back surface of the elastic dielectric body;…. and wherein the operation decision unit is further configured to determine that the detection target has performed a pressing operation against the cover, based on a difference between two detection outputs among a plurality of detection outputs which are obtained correspondingly corresponding to the plurality of different amplitudes of the second AC voltage.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858