The present Office Action is responsive to communication received 5/7/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments received on 5/7/2026 are addressed as follows:
Regarding the objection to claim 7, the amendment to claim 7 obviates the objection, the objection is removed.
Regarding the prior art rejection of the pending claims, Applicant’s arguments are persuasive. However, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200249898 to Ko et al., hereinafter Ko, in view of US 20210294926 to Duffy et al., hereinafter Duffy.
Regarding claim 1, Ko discloses : a method, applied to an electronic device comprising a first screen and a second screen, wherein the first screen and the second screen form a foldable screen of the electronic device and the first screen and the second screen are respectively located on two sides of a folding edge of the foldable screen; or the first screen and the second screen form a double-sided screen of the electronic device, the first screen is disposed on a front surface of the electronic device, and the second screen is disposed on a back surface of the electronic device; and the method comprises: (Ko paras [0036], [0046], [0050]- [0051], [0089], [0153], fig. 1A-C, 2B-D: an electronic device that comprises a flexible display (i.e. foldable screen) that divides a display area into a plurality of areas; when folded (i.e. the first screen and the second screen form a double-sided screen), the electronic device is divided as front area (i.e. first screen) and second area (i.e. second screen) as the front surface (i.e. disposed on a front surface) and back surface (i.e. disposed on a back surface), and when in its unfolded state both the first area (i.e. first screen) and second area (i.e. second screen) form a separate display according to the fold (i.e. located on two sides of a folding edge))
acquiring a first operation (Fig. 1A [0037] holding the phone open);
acquiring a second operation (Fig. 1C: phone wide open)
While Ko discloses different postures of the first or second screen (Ko paras [0034], [0043], [0056], [0096], [0140], [0151], fig. 6B: the electronic device being in a second orient state (i.e. third preset posture) is based on the first area (i.e. first screen) faces the second direction (i.e. second posture of the first screen) and the second area (i.e. second screen) faces the first direction (i.e. second posture of the second screen)
Ko does not explicitly disclose the rest of the limitation as follows:
in response to acquiring the first operation and the electronic device being in a first preset posture, disabling M preset privacy information obtaining modules, wherein M is a positive integer,
acquiring a second operation;
in response to acquiring the second operation and the electronic device being in a third preset posture,
recovering normal use of the M preset privacy information obtaining modules in response to the second operation.
However, Duffy discloses:
acquiring a first operation (Fig. 2A, folding phone as presented in 203);
in response to acquiring the first operation and the electronic device being in a first preset posture ([0061]:user keeps phone open at a wide angle in a relatively safe space), disabling M preset privacy information obtaining modules, wherein M is a positive integer ([0061]: “The as-seen-by-user UI 203 is the user interface that looks smaller than the full area of the display (e.g., as compared to UI 201) but undistorted to the user at the optimum folding angle in a relatively safe space” meaning disabling the full display in 201 by an amount, to protect sensitive data from onlookers), and the first preset posture is determined based on a first included angle between the first screen and the second screen falling within a first preset range, wherein a lower bound of the first preset range is greater than zero degrees ([0061]: angle of 135 degrees or more);
acquiring a second operation (Fig. 2A, 201: action to fully opening the phone);
in response to acquiring the second operation and the electronic device being in a third preset posture, recovering normal use of the M preset privacy information obtaining modules in response to the second operation ([0060]: in a private space, opening the phone to achieve fully open screens (third posture) utilizes the whole display area (recover normal use)).
Ko and Duffy are both directed to electronic devices with foldable screens. It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the instant application was filed to modify Ko by Duffy by implementing privacy measures according to the opening angle of the folding screens as taught by Duffy because it would prevent unscrupulous onlookers from stealing sensitive personal and financial information from the user by looking at user's information from the sides of the device and taking a mental or actual picture (Duffy [0004]).
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites substantially the same content as claim 1 and is rejected using the rationale set forth fir claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2, Ko in view of Duffy discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first preset posture is determined by the electronic device based on at least one of an included angle between the first screen and a horizontal plane, an included angle between the second screen and the horizontal plane, an included angle between an orientation of the first screen and a Z axis of a geographic coordinate system, or an included angle between an orientation of the second screen and the Z axis of the geographic coordinate system. (Duffy ([0045]: folding angle between screen orientation and hinge axis (Z axis); Ko paras [0041], [0060]-[0063], [0072], [0106], [0125], [0138], fig. 4A, 5A: the first orient state (i.e. first preset posture) is determined using data from sensors by whether the areas (i.e. first screen and the second screen) on the electronic device form an angle based on folding at the hinge (i.e. first included angle between the first screen and the second screen) , on the intensity of magnetic force (i.e. the horizontal plane), or comparing an angle between an axis and the ground (i.e. a Z axis of a geographic coordinate system)).
Regarding Claim 3, Ko in view of Duffy discloses: the method according to claim 1, wherein disabling the M preset privacy information obtaining modules in response to the acquiring the first operation and the electronic device being in the first preset posture, comprises: enabling a privacy mode of the electronic device, and disabling the M preset privacy information obtaining modules indicated by the privacy mode of the electronic device ( Duffy [0065]: adjust display based on folding angle to maintain privacy)).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Ko in view of Duffy discloses: the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending a disabling message to an associated device of the electronic device in response to the acquired first operation and the electronic device being in the first preset posture, wherein the disabling message is used to prompt the associated device to disable N preset privacy information obtaining modules, and N is a positive integer (Duffy, [0065], Fig. 2B, element 252).
Regarding Claim 5, Ko in view of Duffy discloses: the method according to claim 4, wherein the disabling message is used to prompt the associated device to enable a privacy mode, and is used to disable the N privacy information obtaining modules indicated by the privacy mode of the associated device. (Duffy, Fig. 2B, element 252 “please fold your phone to a narrower folding angle …).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Ko in view of Duffy discloses: the method of claim 1, and the device of claim 14, wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following operations: an operation of switching the electronic device from a fourth preset posture to the first preset posture, wherein the first preset posture is different from the fourth preset posture ;an operation of switching the electronic device from the first preset posture to the fourth preset posture, and then switching back to the first preset posture ((Ko paras [0056], [0089], [0106]- [0109], [0151], [0189], fig. 9A: a physical change (i.e. an operation) done to the electronic device by the user involving folding (i.e. switching) from one oriented state to a original oriented state; Duffy suggests switching from different scenarios for instance from the office a public space such as a park (Fig. 2A, 205) to relatively safe space i.e office (Fig. 2A, 203);); an input operation performed on one or more preset function buttons ; an operation of performing a preset gesture, wherein a first camera of the electronic device is configured to detect, in response to the electronic device being in the first preset posture, whether the preset gesture is received, and the first camera is visible to a user in the first preset posture (Duffy [0104]); or an input operation performed on a virtual control displayed on a first preset display, wherein the first preset display is visible to the user in the first preset posture (Duffy Fig. 2C [0071]: virtual slider to view shrinking display area). See claim 1 for motivation to combine Ko and Duffy.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Ko in view of Duffy discloses the method claim 1, and the device of claim 14, further comprising: before receiving the first operation: displaying a first operation prompt on a first preset display in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the first preset posture (Duffy Fig. 2B, 252, [0069] prompt user to adjust position; Ko, paras. [0096], [0110], [0130]-[0131], [0175], [0184], Figs. 7 & 10A: displaying on a surface (i.e. first preset display) of the user electronic device an event notification (i.e. first operation prompt) in response to detecting that the electronic device is a first oriented state) or displaying the first operation prompt on the first preset display in response to the electronic device detecting that the electronic device is in the first preset posture and the first included angle does not change within first preset duration, wherein the first operation prompt is used to prompt that the first operation is used to disable the M preset privacy information obtaining modules, and the first preset display is visible to a user in the first preset posture. (Duffy Fig. 2B, 252, [0069] prompt user to adjust position based on item 250) See claim 1 for motivation to combine Ko and Duffy.
Regarding Claim 8, Ko in view of Duffy discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising, before receiving the first operation: displaying a first control on a first preset display in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the first preset posture, wherein the first preset display is visible to a user in the first preset posture (Ko [0096], [0110], [0130]-[0131], [0175], [0184], Figs. 7 & 10A: displaying on a surface (i.e. first preset display) of the user electronic device an event notification (i.e. first operation prompt) in response to detecting that the electronic device is a first oriented state, where the surface is visible to the user in the first oriented state) and in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the first preset posture, receiving the first operation performed on the first control. (Duffy Fig. 2B, 252, [0069] prompt user to adjust position based on displayed oval 250, user changes position until oval becomes circle) See claim 1 for motivation to combine Ko and Duffy.
Regarding Claim 9, Ko in view of Duffy discloses: the method according to claim 1, further comprising, before receiving the first operation: displaying a first control on a first preset display in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the first preset posture, wherein the first preset display is visible to a user in the first preset posture; and (Ko, paras. [0096], [0110], [0130]-[0131], [0175], [0184], Figs. 7 & 10A: displaying on a surface (i.e. first preset display) of the user electronic device an event notification (i.e. first operation prompt) in response to detecting that the electronic device is a first oriented state, where the surface is visible to the user in the first oriented state); and the receiving the first operation in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the first preset posture comprises: in response to the electronic device being in the first preset posture, receiving a third operation of switching the electronic device from the first preset posture to another posture; and receiving a fourth operation performed on the first control, wherein the first operation comprises the third operation and the fourth operation. (Duffy Fig. 2B, 252, [0069] prompt user to adjust position based on displayed oval 250, user changes position until oval becomes circle). See claim 1 for motivation to combine Ko and Duffy.
Regarding Claims 12 and 19, Ko in view of Duffy discloses the method of claim 1, and the device of claim 14, further comprising: receiving, by the electronic device, a fifth operation; and disabling K preset privacy information obtaining modules in response to the receiving the fifth operation and the electronic device being in a second preset posture, wherein K is a positive integer, at least one of the M preset privacy information obtaining modules is different from at least one of the K preset privacy information obtaining modules, and the first preset posture and the second preset posture are different postures (Duffy [0109]: disable displaying of undistorted characters (type of distortion), disable angle of pixel light to view sensitive characters (K=2), while M =1 (disable full area viewing), for different postures (from a folded viewing posture to an open posture). See claim 1 for motivation to combine Ko and Duffy.
Regarding Claims 13 and 20, Ko in view of Duffy discloses the method of claim 1, and the device of claim 14, wherein the M preset privacy information obtaining modules of the electronic device comprises one or more of the following: a camera, a microphone, a positioning module, a Wi-Fi module, a Bluetooth module, or a mobile data network module (Duffy [0104]). See claim 1 for motivation to combine Ko and Duffy.
Claim 10 is unpatentable under U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ko and Duffy as applied to claim 1, further in view of US 11490248 B2 to Baker et al., hereinafter Baker.
Regarding Claim 10, Ko in view of Duffy discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: before receiving the first operation, the method further comprises:
displaying a time setting control in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the first preset posture or displaying the time setting control in response to the electronic device detecting that the electronic device is in the first preset posture and a first included angle does not change within first preset duration (Ko [0130]-[0131], [0134]: displaying event information such as an alarm time, user-customized information and real time information in a user setting mode displaying user-controlled set time information (i.e. time setting control) in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the first oriented state) . Duffy teaches a visual setting control ([0066],[0069]) that allows the user to switch between postures and control the optimum folding angle to prevent data leakage.
Ko in view of Duffy does not explicitly teach the rest of the claims, however Baker teaches: a time setting control (Baker col. 26, lines 11- 35, lines 38- 54, fig. 12: configuration controls for a timeout period (i.e. time setting control) in privacy mode done though a GUI); receiving, by the time setting control, first disabling duration set by a user (Baker col. 2, lines 36-43, col. 26, lines 11- 35, lines 38- 54, fig. 12: the configuration controls for a timeout period (i.e. time setting control) may be configurable by a user (i.e. set by a user) and may add a timeout length (i.e. first disabling duration) when enabling the privacy mode); and setting disabling duration of the M preset privacy information obtaining modules to the first disabling duration, wherein the first disabling duration indicates the electronic device to recover the normal use of the M preset privacy information obtaining modules in response to the second operation not being received within the first disabling duration within which the M preset privacy information obtaining modules are disabled. (Baker col. 2, lines 36-43, col. 6, lines 9- 15, col. 23, lines 6-20, col. 26, lines 11- 35, lines 38- 54, fig. 12: configuring a timeout counter (i.e. a setting disabling duration) of the disablement of transmitting privacy data (i.e. privacy information) for the camera and microphone (i.e. M preset privacy information obtaining modules), where the countdown of the timeout length (i.e. first disabling duration) sends a command to the device (i.e. indicates the electronic device) to the exit privacy mode and reengage; this happens when the user does not manually disengage privacy mode (i.e. second operation not received), causing the timeout length countdown (i.e. first disabling duration) to continue the disablement of the camera ad microphone).
Duffy teaches a visual setting control ([0066],[0069]) that allows the user to switch between postures and control the optimum folding angle to prevent data leakage. It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the instant application was filed to modify the teachings of Ko/Duffy to include the time setting control as taught by Baker, to implement : displaying a time setting control; receiving, by the time setting control, first disabling duration set by a user, wherein disabling the M preset privacy information obtaining modules in response to the detected first preset posture and the first operation comprises: in response to the detected first preset posture and the first operation, disabling the M preset privacy information obtaining modules and setting disabling duration of the M preset privacy information obtaining modules to the first disabling duration, wherein the first disabling duration indicates the electronic device to recover the normal use of the M preset privacy information obtaining modules in response to the second operation not being received within the first disabling duration within which the M preset privacy information obtaining modules are disabled. One would have been motivated to disable duration of the privation information obtaining modules because it would limit the exposure of sensitive user data, blocking the view of potential onlookers from the user's private information (see Duffy [0069]).
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko and Duffy, as applied to claims 1 and 14, further in view of US 20160225343 to Ek et al., hereinafter Ek.
Regarding Claims 11 and 18, Ko in view of Duff discloses the method of claim 1, and the device of claim 14 but does not explicitly teach the rest of the claims.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ek discloses:
before receiving the first operation: in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the first preset posture, displaying, by the electronic device, selection controls respectively corresponding to a plurality of privacy information obtaining modules, wherein the plurality of privacy information obtaining modules comprise a first privacy information obtaining module and a second privacy information obtaining module, the first privacy information obtaining module corresponds to a first selection control, and the second privacy information obtaining module corresponds to a second selection control, wherein in response to the electronic device receiving a selection operation performed on the first selection control before receiving the first operation and not receiving a selection operation performed on the second selection control, the M preset privacy information obtaining modules comprise the first privacy information obtaining module, and do not comprise the second privacy information obtaining module ([0019], [0023], [0050]-[0051], [0058], [0062]: in response to detecting a privacy mode trigger such as a particular location and orientation of the user device as detected by tilt and motion sensors on the device (i.e. device is in a first preset posture), displaying by the user device selections to a user corresponding to privacy mode and normal display mode (plurality of private information obtaining modules comprising a first privacy information obtaining module and a second privacy information obtaining module), where the privacy mode corresponds to implementing a privacy mode and the normal display mode corresponds to implementing less restrictive privacy control).
Ek is combinable with Ko and Duffy because all are from the same field of endeavor of detecting changes in the orientation and position of user devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Ek’s method of prompting the user to select which privacy mode to enable in response to detecting a privacy trigger event with the system of Ko/Duffy in order to increase the flexibility of the system by enabling the user to specify the type of privacy mode they want their user device to enter in response to detecting the trigger event.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Trinh et al US 20210357034 disclose determining a folding state of a foldable device based on a folding angle of the foldable device; detecting an input gesture on one or more touch- sensitive display segments of a flexible display screen of a foldable device; determining a gesture type corresponding to the detected input gesture; determining whether the detected input gesture is a valid gesture or invalid gesture; and responsive to determining that the detected input gesture is a valid gesture, providing the gesture type corresponding to the detected gesture, the folding state of the foldable device, and display information to a software application or an operating system of the foldable device.
Kim et al WO 2022055322 disclose a foldable electronic device comprising: a first housing; a second housing foldable on the first housing with respect to a folding axis; at least one sensor for detecting a folding angle formed between the first housing and the second housing with respect to the folding axis; determining folding angle; in a case where the folding angle is a first angle or less, determines, as a viewing screen, at least a partial area of the screen being displayed on the display; on the basis of the size of the folding angle, determines, as an active area, at least a partial area of the entire area of the display; and displays the determined viewing screen within the determined active area.
Hinckley et al WO 2021257205 disclose adjusting a UI based on angle of the 2 screens of a foldable device. Various tilt- responsive interactions in a window manager shell hosts multiple experiences or use modes. These include automatic or semi-automatic (requiring some user confirmation) transitions based on tilt angle between public vs. private views, shared task vs. person- space in telepresence, reading vs. writing (handwritten annotations) in a word processor, authoring vs. presenting in a presentation program, and other changes in an application’s task focus based on display angle.
Yu et al CN 110417996 disclose a method and terminal for protecting private information, comprising: detecting a folding screen, receiving an unlocking information; determining when the folding angle is in the range of preset angle, entering into the first access mode, without hiding the encrypted information, wherein the encrypted information is pre-encrypted privacy information, when it is determined that folding angle is in a preset range, entering into a second access mode and hiding the encrypted information.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Catherine Thiaw/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2407 9/5/2026