Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 set forth in the amendment submitted 3/09/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 6-9, filed 3/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-12, 14-15 and 17-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knierim et al. (Hereinafter, “Knierim”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20210318361 A1 in view of KINOSHITA SHIGEMI (Hereinafter, “Kinoshita”) in the Patent Publication Number JP 2006047111 A (Publication Date 2006-02-16) and the rejection of claim(s) 2, 5-6, 13, 16 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knierim ‘361 A1 in view of Kinoshita ‘111 A, as applied to claims 1, 11 and 18 above, and further in view of Silva in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090295531 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7-8, of the remarks, filed on 3/09/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1, 11 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knierim et al. (Hereinafter, “Knierim”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20210318361 A1 in view of KINOSHITA SHIGEMI (Hereinafter, “Kinoshita”) in the Patent Publication Number JP 2006047111 A (Publication Date 2006-02-16), that “As shown in the modified Fig. 1, the Examiner considers one of the individual strands 11 of wire as teaching the "sense lead" recited in claim 1. Kinoshita teaches that the first ends of each strand 11 of wire are connected together at connection terminal 12, and the second ends of each strand 11 of wire are connected together at connection terminal 13. Kinoshita paragraph [0012] lines 1-3 ("the strands 11 are connected to the connection terminals (crimp terminals) 12 and 13 so as to be connected in parallel").
Thus, any one of the strands 11 of wire taught by Kinoshita forms a portion of the current path through the shunt 10 between connection terminals 12 and 13, and carries the same amount (Remarks-Page 7) of current as any of the other strands 11. Therefore, the "sense lead" identified by the Examiner is merely an individual wire strand 11, which forms a portion of the current path through Kinoshita's shunt 10.
In contrast, amended claim 1 recites "wherein the sense lead forms no portion of the current path" between the first end and the second end of the shunt. As shown in applicant's Figs. 6-9 and the discussion in paragraphs [0023] - [0026], the "sense lead" as recited in amended claim 1 does not carry current and does not form any portion of the current path through the shunt. Because each of Kinoshita's strands 11 do form a portion of the current path through Kinoshita's shunt, Kinoshita actually teaches the opposite of this feature of amended claim 1.
Moreover, amended claim 1 recites "a second electrical contact electrically connected to the wires of the wire bundle at the second end, and not electrically connected to the sense lead at the second end." Kinoshita also fails to teach this feature of amended claim 1. Looking back at the modified Kinoshita figure 1 above, all of the first ends of wire strands 11 are electrically connected together at connection terminal 12, and all of the second ends of wire strands 11 are electrically connected together at connection terminal 13. The second electrical contact of Kinoshita (i.e. connection terminal 13) is electrically connected to the sense lead (i.e. one strand 11) at the second end of the shunt 10. Therefore, Kinoshita actually teaches the opposite of this feature of amended claim 1.
Thus, as admitted by the Office Action, Knierim fails to teach features of amended claim 1, and, as discussed above, Kinoshita also fails to teach these features of amended claim 1.
Therefore, the combination of Knierim and Kinoshita necessarily fails to teach or suggest these features of amended claim 1. Amended claim 1 is patentable for at least these reasons.
Accordingly, the applicant respectfully requests the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 be withdrawn.
Independent claims 11 and 18 are each amended to recite similar features as amended claim 1. Therefore, amended claims 11 and 18 are patentable over the combination of Knierim and Kinoshita for the same reasons, as discussed above. Accordingly, the applicant respectfully requests the rejection of claims 11 and 18 under 35 USC 103 be withdrawn (Remarks-Page 8).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-8, of the remarks, filed on 3/09/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-12, 14-15 and 17-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knierim et al. (Hereinafter, “Knierim”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20210318361 A1 in view of KINOSHITA SHIGEMI (Hereinafter, “Kinoshita”) in the Patent Publication Number JP 2006047111 A (Publication Date 2006-02-16) and the rejection of claim(s) 2, 5-6, 13, 16 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knierim ‘361 A1 in view of Kinoshita ‘111 A, as applied to claims 1, 11 and 18 above, and further in view of Silva in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090295531 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 10/08/2025 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in claim 1, a shunt configured to be located in a current path including a device under test, the shunt having a first end and a second end, the shunt forming at least a portion of the current path between the first end and the second end, the shunt comprising a wire bundle of individually insulated wires as a resistive portion and a sense lead, the wire bundle and the sense lead electrically connected at the first end, wherein the sense lead forms no portion of the current path; a first electrical contact electrically connected to the sense lead at the second end; and a second electrical contact electrically connected to the wires of the wire bundle at the second end, and not electrically connected to the sense lead at the second end, to allow measurement of a voltage drop across the shunt between the first end and the second end” and similar amendment for independent claims 11 and 18, which makes to reapply Kinoshita. Kinoshita is reapplied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim a 1 as set forth below.
Claim 1 now recites, “wherein the sensing lead forms no portion of the current path” which changes the scope of the claim and therefore Knierim and Kinoshita is reapplied to meet the amended limitation of claims 1, 11 and 18. Knierim is reapplied to meet the limitation sensing lead. Figure 5: Modified Figure 5 of Knierim below shows the sensing lead as amended and all other amended limitation. Kinoshita is also reapplied to meet the amended limitation of the sensing lead which is shown in modified Figure 1 and 2 of Kinoshita. Applicant argument regarding the rejection of claims 1, 11 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knierim et al. (Hereinafter, “Knierim”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20210318361 A1 in view of KINOSHITA SHIGEMI (Hereinafter, “Kinoshita”) in the Patent Publication Number JP 2006047111 A (Publication Date 2006-02-16) as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 10/08/2025 is therefore persuasive and therefore the rejection has been withdrawn. However, as applicant has amended the claims therefore claim 1, 11 and 18 is now under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reapplied Knierim et al. (Hereinafter, “Knierim”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20210318361 A1 in view of reapplied KINOSHITA SHIGEMI (Hereinafter, “Kinoshita”) in the Patent Publication Number JP 2006047111 A (Publication Date 2006-02-16) as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly reapplied combination of references.
Therefore Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-12, 14-15 and 17-18 is now under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knierim et al. (Hereinafter, “Knierim”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20210318361 A1 in view of KINOSHITA SHIGEMI (Hereinafter, “Kinoshita”) in the Patent Publication Number JP 2006047111 A (Publication Date 2006-02-16) and claim(s) 2, 5-6, 13, 16 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knierim ‘361 A1 in view of Kinoshita ‘111 A, as applied to claims 1, 11 and 18 above, and further in view of Silva in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090295531 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-12, 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knierim et al. (Hereinafter, “Knierim”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20210318361 A1 in view of KINOSHITA SHIGEMI (Hereinafter, “Kinoshita”) in the Patent Publication Number JP 2006047111 A (Publication Date 2006-02-16).
Regarding claim 1, Knierim teaches a test and measurement accessory (systems and methods related to test and measurement systems, and in particular, to a test and measurement instrument probe for measuring a current in a device under test (DUT); Paragraph [0002] Line 1-4; FIG. 1 is an example block diagram of a test and measurement system according to some examples of the disclosure. In the test and measurement system, an isolated current-shunt measurement probe 102 connects a test and measurement instrument 104 to a DUT 106; Paragraph [0013] Line .2-7), comprising:
a shunt [110] in Figure 1/[502+504] in Figure 5 configured to be located in a current path [I] including a device under test [106] (To measure a current, I, flowing through a load R.sub.L 108 in the DUT 106, a precision current shunt resistor 110, R.sub.S, is placed in series with the load 108; Paragraph [0014] Line 1-3),
the shunt [502+504] having a first end and a second end (Figure 5: Modified Figure 5 of Knierim below shows the shunt having a first end and a second end),
the shunt forming at least a portion of the current path between the first end and the second end (Figure 5: Modified Figure 5 of Knierim below shows the shunt forming at least a portion of the current path between the first end and the second end),
the shunt [110] comprising a wire [502] (resistive portion Rs is the wire) in Figure 5 as a resistive portion [Rs] (As shown in FIG. 4, in some examples, two parallel current shunts 402 can be connected to the load 108 of the DUT 106. The probe 102 may include two measurement leads 406 and 408 in the input 202; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-4; FIG. 5 illustrates another example for canceling or reducing the inductance generated by a current shunt 504. In some examples, at least one of the measurement leads 502 of the input 202 of the probe 102 may include one or more twists or loops, etc; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-6) and a sense lead [502] (measurement lead 502 as the sense lead) (FIG. 5 illustrates another example for canceling or reducing the inductance generated by a current shunt 504. In some examples, at least one of the measurement leads 502 of the input 202 of the probe 102 may include one or more twists or loops, etc.; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-7);
the wire and the sense lead electrically connected at the first end (Figure 5: Modified Figure 5 of Knierim below shows the wire and the sense lead electrically connected at the first end), wherein the sense lead [502] forms no portion of the current path (Figure 5: Modified Figure 5 of Knierim below shows the sense lead forms no portion of the current path);
Figure 5: Modified Figure 5 of Knierim
a first electrical contact in Figure 1 and a second electrical contact electrically connected to the wires 110/[502] (As shown in FIG. 4, in some examples, two parallel current shunts 402 can be connected to the load 108 of the DUT 106. The probe 102 may include two measurement leads 406 and 408 in the input 202; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-4; Figure 1 also shows two contacts connect with shunt 102 and figure 5 shows two contact) to allow measurement of a voltage drop across the first and second electrical contacts (Positioning the measurement leads in a manner where they enclose some of the induced magnetic field from the current flowing through the shunt can induce additional voltage in the leads that either bucks or enforces the transient voltage generated by the shunt; Paragraph [0030] Line 5-9; To measure a current, I, flowing through a load R.sub.L 108 in the DUT 106, a precision current shunt resistor 110, R.sub.S, is placed in series with the load 108. To minimize the voltage divider effect and resultant performance impact on the DUT, generally the current shunt resistor 110 is much smaller than the load 108 to minimize the voltage drop across the current shunt 110. Two input leads of the probe 102 are coupled across the current shunt 110 to measure the resulting voltage drop; Paragraph [0014] Line 1-9).
However, Knierim fails to teach that the shunt comprising a wire bundle of individually insulated wires as a resistive portion, the wire bundle; the first electrical contact electrically connected to the sense lead at a second end; and the second electrical contact electrically connected to the wires of the wire bundle at the second end and not electrically connected to the sense lead at the second end to allow measurement of a voltage drop across the shunt between the first end and the second end.
Kinoshita teaches a current measuring shunt capable of measuring a current even in a high frequency alternating current (that is, in a wide band) in addition to a direct current region (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2), wherein
the shunt [10] comprising a wire bundle [11] of individually insulated wires (each strand is an insulated conductor, and is preferably folded in the middle, and further the folded strand is wound; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-2; In this embodiment, an enameled copper wire (an example of an insulated conductor) having an enamel insulating film on the surface thereof is used as the element wire 11, but other insulation-coated wires may be used; Paragraph [0011] Line 8-10) as a resistive portion and a sense lead (As shown in FIG. 1, the current measuring shunt 10 according to the first embodiment of the present invention is connected to a plurality of strands 11 having the same length and the same wire diameter, and both ends of each strand 11 are connected together; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-3; In the current measurement shunt 10 shown in FIG. 1, the strand 11 has a total length of 15 to 45 cm (more preferably 20 to 40 cm) and is folded back into two at the center and 1 to 4 times / cm (preferably Is twisted (that is, twisted) at a rate of 1.5 to 3 times / cm). Then, the insulation film on both ends of the twisted strand 11 is peeled off (as the sense lead), and the strands 11 are connected to the connection terminals (crimp terminals) 12 and 13 so as to be connected in parallel; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita below shows a wire bundle of individually insulated wires as a resistive portion and a sense lead 15a),
Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita
the wire bundle [11] and the sense lead [15a] electrically connected at a first end (As shown in FIG. 1, the current measuring shunt 10 according to the first embodiment of the present invention is connected to a plurality of strands 11 having the same length and the same wire diameter, and both ends of each strand 11 are connected together; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-3; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows the wire bundle and the sense lead electrically connected at a first end);
a first electrical contact [13] electrically connected to the sense lead at a second end (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows a first electrical contact [13] electrically connected to the sense lead at a second end by the wire bundle 11); and
a second electrical [12] contact electrically connected to the wires of the wire bundle [11] at the second end (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows a second electrical contact [13] electrically connected to the sense lead at a second end) and not electrically connected to the sense lead at the second end (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows a second electrical [12] contact not directly electrically connected to the sense lead at the second end) to allow measurement of a voltage drop across the shunt between the first end and the second end (Similar to the conventional shunt, there is a method in which the current V is obtained from the entire resistance R of the current measurement shunt 10 by measuring the voltage V between the connection terminals 12 and 13 without using the current sensor 15; Paragraph [0015] Line 1-3). The purpose of doing so is to provide a current measurement shunt capable of measuring a current even at a high frequency and having a good transient response, to prevent the skin effect from occurring, to apply a method for measuring a current passing indirectly, to cancel the inductance generated by the strand and to keep the impedance constant even in the high frequency region, to reduce the power consumption of the electric circuit and to prevent the current measuring shunt from generating heat and therefore even if the temperature of each strand rises, the temperature of each strand rises at the same temperature, so the error during current measurement is very small.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wire bundle of Knierim in view of Kinoshita, because Kinoshita teaches to include a wire bundle of individually insulated wires as a resistive portion and a sense lead and to connect the wire bundle and the sense lead electrically at a first end provides a current measurement shunt capable of measuring a current even at a high frequency and having a good transient response (Paragraph [0005]), prevents the skin effect from occurring, to apply a method for measuring a current passing indirectly (Paragraph [0006]), cancels the inductance generated by the strand and to keep the impedance constant even in the high frequency region, reduces the power consumption of the electric circuit and prevents the current measuring shunt from generating heat and therefore even if the temperature of each strand rises, the temperature of each strand rises at the same temperature, so the error during current measurement is very small (Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 3, Knierim fails to teach a test and measurement accessory, wherein the sense lead comprises one or more wires from the wire bundle.
Kinoshita teaches a current measuring shunt capable of measuring a current even in a high frequency alternating current (that is, in a wide band) in addition to a direct current region (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2), wherein
wherein the sense lead comprises one or more wires from the wire bundle (As shown in FIG. 1, the current measuring shunt 10 according to the first embodiment of the present invention is connected to a plurality of strands 11 having the same length and the same wire diameter, and both ends of each strand 11 are connected together; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-3; Figure 1(a): Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita below shows the sense lead comprises one or more wires from the wire bundle). The purpose of doing so is to cancel the inductance generated by the strand and to keep the impedance constant even in the high frequency region, to reduce the power consumption of the electric circuit and to prevent the current measuring shunt from generating heat and therefore even if the temperature of each strand rises, the temperature of each strand rises at the same temperature, so the error during current measurement is very small.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wire bundle of Knierim in view of Kinoshita, because Kinoshita teaches to have the sense lead comprising one or more wires from the wire bundle cancels the inductance generated by the strand and keeps the impedance constant even in the high frequency region, reduces the power consumption of the electric circuit and prevents the current measuring shunt from generating heat and therefore even if the temperature of each strand rises, the temperature of each strand rises at the same temperature, so the error during current measurement is very small (Paragraph [0007]).
Figure 1(a): Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita
Regarding claim 4, Knierim teaches a test and measurement accessory,
wherein the wire bundle is one of braided, woven, or twisted ((In other examples, the twisted measurement lead 502 may be provided in the input 202 of the probe 102 and connect to the current shunt 110 already located on the circuit board of the DUT 106; Paragraph [0031] Line 5-9; FIG. 5 illustrates another example for canceling or reducing the inductance generated by a current shunt 504. In some examples, at least one of the measurement leads 502 of the input 202 of the probe 102 may include one or more twists or loops, etc.; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, Knierim fails to teach a test and measurement accessory, wherein the first and second electrical contacts comprise one of contact pads, directly soldered, or part of a connector.
Kinoshita teaches a current measuring shunt capable of measuring a current even in a high frequency alternating current (that is, in a wide band) in addition to a direct current region (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2),
wherein the first and second electrical contacts comprise one of contact pads, directly soldered, or part of a connector (Then, the insulation film on both ends of the twisted
strand 11 is peeled off, and the strands 11 are connected to the connection terminals (crimp terminals) 12 and 13 so as to be connected in parallel; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; As shown in FIG. 2, the current measurement shunt 18 according to the second embodiment includes a plurality of strands 11 and connection terminals 19 and 20 to which end portions of the strands 11 are respectively connected. ing. The connection terminals 19 and 20 are formed in a long plate shape, and are provided with terminal portions 21 and 22 projecting to a part on the center side in the length direction. The terminal portions 21 and 22 are provided with through holes 23 and 24, respectively. In this embodiment, each of the connection terminals 19 and 20 has one terminal portion 21 and 22 respectively. However, when the connection terminals are long, it is preferable to provide a plurality of terminal portions; Paragraph [0016] Line 3-11). The purpose of doing so is to employ one that is fixed accurately and reliably, such as brazing or welding, to provide a current measurement shunt capable of measuring a current even at a high frequency and having a good transient response, to prevent the skin effect from occurring, to apply a method for measuring a current passing indirectly, to cancel the inductance generated by the strand and to keep the impedance constant even in the high frequency region.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wire bundle of Knierim in view of Kinoshita, because Kinoshita teaches to have the first and second electrical contacts comprising one of contact pads, directly soldered, or part of a connector employs one that is fixed accurately and reliably, such as brazing or welding (Paragraph [0016]), provides a current measurement shunt capable of measuring a current even at a high frequency and having a good transient response (Paragraph [0005]), prevents the skin effect from occurring, to apply a method for measuring a current passing indirectly (Paragraph [0006]), cancels the inductance generated by the strand and keeps the impedance constant even in the high frequency region (Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 8, Knierim fails to teach a test and measurement accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the individually insulated wires of the wire bundle comprise a resistive metal alloy having at least one of a temperature coefficient of resistance of less than or equal to one half the temperature coefficient of resistance of copper, and a bulk resistivity of more than or equal to twice the bulk resistivity of copper.
Kinoshita teaches a current measuring shunt capable of measuring a current even in a high frequency alternating current (that is, in a wide band) in addition to a direct current region (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2),
wherein the individually insulated wires of the wire bundle comprise a resistive metal alloy having at least one of a temperature coefficient of resistance of less than or equal to one half the temperature coefficient of resistance of copper, and a bulk resistivity of more than or equal to twice the bulk resistivity of copper (In this embodiment, an enameled copper wire (an example of an insulated conductor) having an enamel insulating film on the surface thereof is used as the element wire 11, but other insulation-coated wires may be used; Paragraph [0011] Line 8-10; In this case, since each strand 11 has the same temperature, the impedance of each strand 11 is As a result, a current corresponding to 1 / n of the current passing through the shunt flows through each strand 11. Therefore, it can be seen that unlike conventional shunts, it is less susceptible to temperature rise; Paragraph [0014] Line 6-8; Kinoshita discloses the alloy is copper and therefore it has at least one of a temperature coefficient of resistance of less than or equal to one half the temperature coefficient of resistance of copper). The purpose of doing so is to provide the advantage of there is almost no increase in impedance due to the skin effect and self-inductance even at about 10 kHz, to have good high frequency characteristics and transient response.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wire bundle of Knierim in view of Kinoshita, because Kinoshita teaches to have the individually insulated wires of the wire bundle comprising a resistive metal alloy provides the advantage of there is almost no increase in impedance due to the skin effect and self-inductance even at about 10 kHz, have good high frequency characteristics and transient response (Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 9, Knierim fails to teach a test and measurement accessory as claimed in claim 8, wherein the individually insulated wires of the wire bundle comprise a resistive metal alloy comprised of one of a copper alloy, manganin, or nichrome.
Kinoshita teaches a current measuring shunt capable of measuring a current even in a high frequency alternating current (that is, in a wide band) in addition to a direct current region (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2),
wherein the individually insulated wires of the wire bundle comprise a resistive metal alloy comprised of one of a copper alloy, manganin, or nichrome (In this embodiment, an enameled copper wire (an example of an insulated conductor) having an enamel insulating film on the surface thereof is used as the element wire 11, but other insulation-coated wires may be used; Paragraph [0011] Line 8-10; FIG. 3c shows a folded length of 0.5 mm
diameter enamelled copper wire (an example of an element wire) folded at the center and wound at 1.5 turns / cm (ie, twisted). 48 of 20 cm are prepared and soldered to the connection terminals 19 and 20 as shown in FIG. 2; Paragraph [0018] Line 6-9). The purpose of doing so is to provide the advantage of there is almost no increase in impedance due to the skin effect and self-inductance even at about 10 kHz, to have good high frequency characteristics and transient response.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wire bundle of Knierim in view of Kinoshita, because Kinoshita teaches to have the individually insulated wires of the wire bundle comprising a resistive metal alloy comprised of one of a copper alloy, manganin, or nichrome provides the advantage of there is almost no increase in impedance due to the skin effect and self-inductance even at about 10 kHz, have good high frequency characteristics and transient response (Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 10, Knierim fails to teach a test and measurement accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the first and second ends comprises one or more of a connector, a crimp, and have the wires in the wire bundle soldered together.
Kinoshita teaches a current measuring shunt capable of measuring a current even in a high frequency alternating current (that is, in a wide band) in addition to a direct current region (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2),
wherein at least one of the first and second ends comprises one or more of a connector, a crimp, and have the wires in the wire bundle soldered together (In the current measurement shunt 10 shown in FIG. 1, the strand 11 has a total length of 15 to 45 cm
(more preferably 20 to 40 cm) and is folded back into two at the center and 1 to 4 times / cm (preferably Is twisted (that is, twisted) at a rate of 1.5 to 3 times / cm). Then, the insulation film on both ends of the twisted strand 11 is peeled off, and the strands 11 are connected to the connection terminals (crimp terminals) 12 and 13 so as to be connected in parallel; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3). The purpose of doing so is to provide a current measurement shunt capable of measuring a current even at a high frequency and having a good transient response, to prevent the skin effect from occurring, to apply a method for measuring a current passing indirectly, to cancel the inductance generated by the strand and to keep the impedance constant even in the high frequency region.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wire bundle of Knierim in view of Kinoshita, because Kinoshita teaches to include one or more of a connector, a crimp, and have the wires in the wire bundle soldered together provide a current measurement shunt capable of measuring a current even at a high frequency and having a good transient response (Paragraph [0005]), prevents the skin effect from occurring, to apply a method for measuring a current passing indirectly (Paragraph [0006]), cancels the inductance generated by the strand and to keep the impedance constant even in the high frequency region (Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 11, Knierim teaches a test and measurement system (systems and methods related to test and measurement systems, and in particular, to a test and measurement instrument probe for measuring a current in a device under test (DUT); Paragraph [0002] Line 1-4; FIG. 1 is an example block diagram of a test and measurement system according to some examples of the disclosure. In the test and measurement system, an isolated current-shunt measurement probe 102 connects a test and measurement instrument 104 to a DUT 106; Paragraph [0013] Line 2-7), comprising:
a test and measurement instrument [104] having a probe [102] to connect to a device under test [106] (FIG. 1 is an example block diagram of a test and measurement system according to some examples of the disclosure. In the test and measurement system, an isolated current-shunt measurement probe 102 connects a test and measurement instrument 104 to a DUT 106; Paragraph [0013] Line 2-7); and
a test and measurement accessory (Figure 4/ Figure 5), comprising:
a shunt [110] in Figure 1/[502+504] in Figure 5 configured to be located in a current path [I] including a device under test [106] (To measure a current, I, flowing through a load R.sub.L 108 in the DUT 106, a precision current shunt resistor 110, R.sub.S, is placed in series with the load 108; Paragraph [0014] Line 1-3),
the shunt [502+504] having a first end and a second end (Figure 5: Modified Figure 5 of Knierim below shows the shunt having a first end and a second end),
the shunt forming at least a portion of the current path between the first end and the second end (Figure 5: Modified Figure 5 of Knierim above shows the shunt forming at least a portion of the current path between the first end and the second end),
the shunt [110] comprising a wire [502] (resistive portion Rs is the wire) in Figure 5 as a resistive portion [Rs] (As shown in FIG. 4, in some examples, two parallel current shunts 402 can be connected to the load 108 of the DUT 106. The probe 102 may include two measurement leads 406 and 408 in the input 202; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-4; FIG. 5 illustrates another example for canceling or reducing the inductance generated by a current shunt 504. In some examples, at least one of the measurement leads 502 of the input 202 of the probe 102 may include one or more twists or loops, etc; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-6) and a sense lead [502] (measurement lead 502 as the sense lead) (FIG. 5 illustrates another example for canceling or reducing the inductance generated by a current shunt 504. In some examples, at least one of the measurement leads 502 of the input 202 of the probe 102 may include one or more twists or loops, etc.; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-7);
the wire and the sense lead electrically connected at the first end (Figure 5: Modified Figure 5 of Knierim below shows the wire and the sense lead electrically connected at the first end), wherein the sense lead [502] forms no portion of the current path (Figure 5: Modified Figure 5 of Knierim above shows the sense lead forms no portion of the current path);
a first electrical contact in Figure 1 and a second electrical contact electrically connected to the wires 110/[502] (As shown in FIG. 4, in some examples, two parallel current shunts 402 can be connected to the load 108 of the DUT 106. The probe 102 may include two measurement leads 406 and 408 in the input 202; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-4; Figure 1 also shows two contacts connect with shunt 102 and figure 5 shows two contact) to allow measurement of a voltage drop across the first and second electrical contacts (Positioning the measurement leads in a manner where they enclose some of the induced magnetic field from the current flowing through the shunt can induce additional voltage in the leads that either bucks or enforces the transient voltage generated by the shunt; Paragraph [0030] Line 5-9; To measure a current, I, flowing through a load R.sub.L 108 in the DUT 106, a precision current shunt resistor 110, R.sub.S, is placed in series with the load 108. To minimize the voltage divider effect and resultant performance impact on the DUT, generally the current shunt resistor 110 is much smaller than the load 108 to minimize the voltage drop across the current shunt 110. Two input leads of the probe 102 are coupled across the current shunt 110 to measure the resulting voltage drop; Paragraph [0014] Line 1-9).
However, Knierim fails to teach that the shunt comprising a wire bundle of individually insulated wires as a resistive portion, the wire bundle; the first electrical contact electrically connected to the sense lead at a second end; and the second electrical contact electrically connected to the wires of the wire bundle at the second end and not electrically connected to the sense lead at the second end to allow measurement of a voltage drop across the shunt between the first end and the second end.
Kinoshita teaches a current measuring shunt capable of measuring a current even in a high frequency alternating current (that is, in a wide band) in addition to a direct current region (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2), wherein
the shunt [10] comprising a wire bundle [11] of individually insulated wires (each strand is an insulated conductor, and is preferably folded in the middle, and further the folded strand is wound; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-2; In this embodiment, an enameled copper wire (an example of an insulated conductor) having an enamel insulating film on the surface thereof is used as the element wire 11, but other insulation-coated wires may be used; Paragraph [0011] Line 8-10) as a resistive portion and a sense lead (As shown in FIG. 1, the current measuring shunt 10 according to the first embodiment of the present invention is connected to a plurality of strands 11 having the same length and the same wire diameter, and both ends of each strand 11 are connected together; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-3; In the current measurement shunt 10 shown in FIG. 1, the strand 11 has a total length of 15 to 45 cm (more preferably 20 to 40 cm) and is folded back into two at the center and 1 to 4 times / cm (preferably Is twisted (that is, twisted) at a rate of 1.5 to 3 times / cm). Then, the insulation film on both ends of the twisted strand 11 is peeled off (as the sense lead), and the strands 11 are connected to the connection terminals (crimp terminals) 12 and 13 so as to be connected in parallel; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows a wire bundle of individually insulated wires as a resistive portion and a sense lead 15a),
the wire bundle [11] and the sense lead [15a] electrically connected at a first end (As shown in FIG. 1, the current measuring shunt 10 according to the first embodiment of the present invention is connected to a plurality of strands 11 having the same length and the same wire diameter, and both ends of each strand 11 are connected together; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-3; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows the wire bundle and the sense lead electrically connected at a first end);
a first electrical contact [13] electrically connected to the sense lead at a second end (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows a first electrical contact [13] electrically connected to the sense lead at a second end by the wire bundle 11); and
a second electrical [12] contact electrically connected to the wires of the wire bundle [11] at the second end (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows a second electrical contact [13] electrically connected to the sense lead at a second end) and not electrically connected to the sense lead at the second end (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows a second electrical [12] contact not directly electrically connected to the sense lead at the second end) to allow measurement of a voltage drop across the shunt between the first end and the second end (Similar to the conventional shunt, there is a method in which the current V is obtained from the entire resistance R of the current measurement shunt 10 by measuring the voltage V between the connection terminals 12 and 13 without using the current sensor 15; Paragraph [0015] Line 1-3). The purpose of doing so is to provide a current measurement shunt capable of measuring a current even at a high frequency and having a good transient response, to prevent the skin effect from occurring, to apply a method for measuring a current passing indirectly, to cancel the inductance generated by the strand and to keep the impedance constant even in the high frequency region, to reduce the power consumption of the electric circuit and to prevent the current measuring shunt from generating heat and therefore even if the temperature of each strand rises, the temperature of each strand rises at the same temperature, so the error during current measurement is very small.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wire bundle of Knierim in view of Kinoshita, because Kinoshita teaches to include a wire bundle of individually insulated wires as a resistive portion and a sense lead and to connect the wire bundle and the sense lead electrically at a first end provides a current measurement shunt capable of measuring a current even at a high frequency and having a good transient response (Paragraph [0005]), prevents the skin effect from occurring, to apply a method for measuring a current passing indirectly (Paragraph [0006]), cancels the inductance generated by the strand and to keep the impedance constant even in the high frequency region, reduces the power consumption of the electric circuit and prevents the current measuring shunt from generating heat and therefore even if the temperature of each strand rises, the temperature of each strand rises at the same temperature, so the error during current measurement is very small (Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 12, Knierim teaches a test and measurement system,
wherein the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact reside on a connector configured to connect to the probe [102] (As shown in FIG. 4, in some examples, two parallel current shunts 402 can be connected to the load 108 of the DUT 106. The probe 102 may include two measurement leads 406 and 408 in the input 202; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-4; Figure 1 also shows two contacts connect with shunt 102 and figure 5 shows the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact reside on a connector configured to connect to the probe [102]).
Regarding claim 14, Knierim fails to teach a test and measurement system, wherein the sense lead comprises one or more wires from the wire bundle.
Kinoshita teaches a current measuring shunt capable of measuring a current even in a high frequency alternating current (that is, in a wide band) in addition to a direct current region (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2), wherein
wherein the sense lead comprises one or more wires from the wire bundle (As shown in FIG. 1, the current measuring shunt 10 according to the first embodiment of the present invention is connected to a plurality of strands 11 having the same length and the same wire diameter, and both ends of each strand 11 are connected together; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-3; Figure 1(a): Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows the sense lead comprises one or more wires from the wire bundle). The purpose of doing so is to cancel the inductance generated by the strand and to keep the impedance constant even in the high frequency region, to reduce the power consumption of the electric circuit and to prevent the current measuring shunt from generating heat and therefore even if the temperature of each strand rises, the temperature of each strand rises at the same temperature, so the error during current measurement is very small.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wire bundle of Knierim in view of Kinoshita, because Kinoshita teaches to have the sense lead comprising one or more wires from the wire bundle cancels the inductance generated by the strand and keeps the impedance constant even in the high frequency region, reduces the power consumption of the electric circuit and prevents the current measuring shunt from generating heat and therefore even if the temperature of each strand rises, the temperature of each strand rises at the same temperature, so the error during current measurement is very small (Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 15, Knierim teaches a test and measurement system,
wherein the shunt is configured to be connected to a board upon which the device under test resides, and the first and second electrical contacts reside on the board (In some examples, the two parallel current shunts 402 can be provided within the input 202 of the probe 102 and are attached to a circuit board of the DUT 106. In other examples, the current shunts 402 may already be connected to the circuit board of the DUT 106 and one of the leads 406 and 408 of the input 202 is placed symmetrically between the parallel current shunts 402; Paragraph [0029] Line 1-7; In other examples, the twisted measurement lead 502 may be provided in the input 202 of the probe 102 and connect to the current shunt 110 already located on the circuit board of the DUT 106; Paragraph [0031] Line 5-9).
Regarding claim 17, Knierim fails to teach a test and measurement system, wherein at least one of the first and second ends comprises one or more of a connector, a crimp, and have the wires in the wire bundle soldered together.
Kinoshita teaches a current measuring shunt capable of measuring a current even in a high frequency alternating current (that is, in a wide band) in addition to a direct current region (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2),
wherein at least one of the first and second ends comprises one or more of a connector, a crimp, and have the wires in the wire bundle soldered together (In the current measurement shunt 10 shown in FIG. 1, the strand 11 has a total length of 15 to 45 cm
(more preferably 20 to 40 cm) and is folded back into two at the center and 1 to 4 times / cm (preferably Is twisted (that is, twisted) at a rate of 1.5 to 3 times / cm). Then, the insulation film on both ends of the twisted strand 11 is peeled off, and the strands 11 are connected to the connection terminals (crimp terminals) 12 and 13 so as to be connected in parallel; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3). The purpose of doing so is to provide a current measurement shunt capable of measuring a current even at a high frequency and having a good transient response, to prevent the skin effect from occurring, to apply a method for measuring a current passing indirectly, to cancel the inductance generated by the strand and to keep the impedance constant even in the high frequency region
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wire bundle of Knierim in view of Kinoshita, because Kinoshita teaches to include one or more of a connector, a crimp, and have the wires in the wire bundle soldered together provide a current measurement shunt capable of measuring a current even at a high frequency and having a good transient response (Paragraph [0005]), prevents the skin effect from occurring, to apply a method for measuring a current passing indirectly (Paragraph [0006]), cancels the inductance generated by the strand and to keep the impedance constant even in the high frequency region (Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 18, Knierim teaches a method of measuring a current in a device under test (DUT) [102] (systems and methods related to test and measurement systems, and in particular, to a test and measurement instrument probe for measuring a current in a device under test (DUT); Paragraph [0002] Line 1-4; FIG. 1 is an example block diagram of a test and measurement system according to some examples of the disclosure. In the test and measurement system, an isolated current-shunt measurement probe 102 connects a test and measurement instrument 104 to a DUT 106; Paragraph [0013] Line 2-7), comprising:
electrically connecting a test accessory [104] in a current path of the DUT [106] (FIG. 1 is an example block diagram of a test and measurement system according to some examples of the disclosure. In the test and measurement system, an isolated current-shunt measurement probe 102 connects a test and measurement instrument 104 to a DUT 106; Paragraph [0013] Line 2-7);
the test accessory (Figure 4/ Figure 5) comprising:
a shunt [110] in Figure 1/[502+504] in Figure 5 configured to be located in a current path [I] including a device under test [106] (To measure a current, I, flowing through a load R.sub.L 108 in the DUT 106, a precision current shunt resistor 110, R.sub.S, is placed in series with the load 108; Paragraph [0014] Line 1-3),
the shunt [502+504] having a first end and a second end (Figure 5: Modified Figure 5 of Knierim above shows the shunt having a first end and a second end),
the shunt forming at least a portion of the current path between the first end and the second end (Figure 5: Modified Figure 5 of Knierim above shows the shunt forming at least a portion of the current path between the first end and the second end),
the shunt [110] comprising a wire [502] (resistive portion Rs is the wire) in Figure 5 as a resistive portion [Rs] (As shown in FIG. 4, in some examples, two parallel current shunts 402 can be connected to the load 108 of the DUT 106. The probe 102 may include two measurement leads 406 and 408 in the input 202; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-4; FIG. 5 illustrates another example for canceling or reducing the inductance generated by a current shunt 504. In some examples, at least one of the measurement leads 502 of the input 202 of the probe 102 may include one or more twists or loops, etc; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-6) and a sense lead [502] (measurement lead 502 as the sense lead) (FIG. 5 illustrates another example for canceling or reducing the inductance generated by a current shunt 504. In some examples, at least one of the measurement leads 502 of the input 202 of the probe 102 may include one or more twists or loops, etc.; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-7);
the wire and the sense lead electrically connected at the first end (Figure 5: Modified Figure 5 of Knierim below shows the wire and the sense lead electrically connected at the first end), wherein the sense lead [502] forms no portion of the current path (Figure 5: Modified Figure 5 of Knierim above shows the sense lead forms no portion of the current path);
a first electrical contact in Figure 1 and a second electrical contact electrically connected to the wires 110/[502] (As shown in FIG. 4, in some examples, two parallel current shunts 402 can be connected to the load 108 of the DUT 106. The probe 102 may include two measurement leads 406 and 408 in the input 202; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-4; Figure 1 also shows two contacts connect with shunt 102 and figure 5 shows two contact) to allow measurement of a voltage drop across the first and second electrical contacts (Positioning the measurement leads in a manner where they enclose some of the induced magnetic field from the current flowing through the shunt can induce additional voltage in the leads that either bucks or enforces the transient voltage generated by the shunt; Paragraph [0030] Line 5-9; To measure a current, I, flowing through a load R.sub.L 108 in the DUT 106, a precision current shunt resistor 110, R.sub.S, is placed in series with the load 108. To minimize the voltage divider effect and resultant performance impact on the DUT, generally the current shunt resistor 110 is much smaller than the load 108 to minimize the voltage drop across the current shunt 110. Two input leads of the probe 102 are coupled across the current shunt 110 to measure the resulting voltage drop; Paragraph [0014] Line 1-9); and
determining the current in the device under test by measuring the voltage difference between the first and second electrical contacts (The test and measurement instrument 104 receives the measured voltage signal and then can determine the current flowing through the DUT 106 based on the known current shunt resistance and the measured voltage; Paragraph [0021] Line 11-15).
However, Knierim fails to teach that the shunt comprising a wire bundle of individually insulated wires as a resistive portion, the wire bundle; the first electrical contact electrically connected to the sense lead at a second end; and the second electrical contact electrically connected to the wires of the wire bundle at the second end and not electrically connected to the sense lead at the second end to allow measurement of a voltage drop across the shunt between the first end and the second end.
Kinoshita teaches a current measuring shunt capable of measuring a current even in a high frequency alternating current (that is, in a wide band) in addition to a direct current region (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2), wherein
the shunt [10] comprising a wire bundle [11] of individually insulated wires (each strand is an insulated conductor, and is preferably folded in the middle, and further the folded strand is wound; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-2; In this embodiment, an enameled copper wire (an example of an insulated conductor) having an enamel insulating film on the surface thereof is used as the element wire 11, but other insulation-coated wires may be used; Paragraph [0011] Line 8-10) as a resistive portion and a sense lead (As shown in FIG. 1, the current measuring shunt 10 according to the first embodiment of the present invention is connected to a plurality of strands 11 having the same length and the same wire diameter, and both ends of each strand 11 are connected together; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-3; In the current measurement shunt 10 shown in FIG. 1, the strand 11 has a total length of 15 to 45 cm (more preferably 20 to 40 cm) and is folded back into two at the center and 1 to 4 times / cm (preferably Is twisted (that is, twisted) at a rate of 1.5 to 3 times / cm). Then, the insulation film on both ends of the twisted strand 11 is peeled off (as the sense lead), and the strands 11 are connected to the connection terminals (crimp terminals) 12 and 13 so as to be connected in parallel; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-3; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows a wire bundle of individually insulated wires as a resistive portion and a sense lead 15a),
the wire bundle [11] and the sense lead [15a] electrically connected at a first end (As shown in FIG. 1, the current measuring shunt 10 according to the first embodiment of the present invention is connected to a plurality of strands 11 having the same length and the same wire diameter, and both ends of each strand 11 are connected together; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-3; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows the wire bundle and the sense lead electrically connected at a first end);
a first electrical contact [13] electrically connected to the sense lead at a second end (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows a first electrical contact [13] electrically connected to the sense lead at a second end by the wire bundle 11); and
a second electrical [12] contact electrically connected to the wires of the wire bundle [11] at the second end (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows a second electrical contact [13] electrically connected to the sense lead at a second end) and not electrically connected to the sense lead at the second end (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kinoshita above shows a second electrical [12] contact not directly electrically connected to the sense lead at the second end) to allow measurement of a voltage drop across the shunt between the first end and the second end (Similar to the conventional shunt, there is a method in which the current V is obtained from the entire resistance R of the current measurement shunt 10 by measuring the voltage V between the connection terminals 12 and 13 without using the current sensor 15; Paragraph [0015] Line 1-3). The purpose of doing so is to provide a current measurement shunt capable of measuring a current even at a high frequency and having a good transient response, to prevent the skin effect from occurring, to apply a method for measuring a current passing indirectly, to cancel the inductance generated by the strand and to keep the impedance constant even in the high frequency region, to reduce the power consumption of the electric circuit and to prevent the current measuring shunt from generating heat and therefore even if the temperature of each strand rises, the temperature of each strand rises at the same temperature, so the error during current measurement is very small.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wire bundle of Knierim in view of Kinoshita, because Kinoshita teaches to include a wire bundle of individually insulated wires as a resistive portion and a sense lead and to connect the wire bundle and the sense lead electrically at a first end provides a current measurement shunt capable of measuring a current even at a high frequency and having a good transient response (Paragraph [0005]), prevents the skin effect from occurring, to apply a method for measuring a current passing indirectly (Paragraph [0006]), cancels the inductance generated by the strand and to keep the impedance constant even in the high frequency region, reduces the power consumption of the electric circuit and prevents the current measuring shunt from generating heat and therefore even if the temperature of each strand rises, the temperature of each strand rises at the same temperature, so the error during current measurement is very small (Paragraph [0007]).
Claim(s) 2, 5-6, 13, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knierim ‘361 A1 in view of Kinoshita ‘111 A, as applied to claims 1, 11 and 18 above, and further in view of Silva in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090295531 A1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Knierim and Kinoshita teaches a test and measurement accessory, comprises sense lead and wire bond.
However, the combination of Knierim and Kinoshita fails to teach that wherein the sense lead is separate from the wire bundle, the wire bundle surrounding the sense lead.
Silva teaches a conductive cable that is operative conduct current having a plurality of frequency components is provided. The conductive cable includes a plurality of strands each including an inner conductor and an outer insulating layer, wherein at least one of the plurality of strands has a cross-sectional area that is different than a cross-sectional area of another of the plurality of strands (Paragraph [0010] Line 1-7),
wherein the sense lead [134] (conductive strand 134 is the sense lead as the sense lead can be a part of wire 130) is separate from the wire bundle [136+138] (plurality of strands 136 and 138 are the wire bundle) (FIG. 5 illustrates a cross-sectional area an optimized litz (or bunched) wire 130 that may be used for a winding of a PFC inductor (such as the inductor L1) or any other application that may carry multiple harmonics. The wire 130 may include a relatively large conductive strand 134 disposed in the center, and a plurality of strands 136 and 138 disposed around the larger strand 134; Paragraph [0029] Line 1-7; Figure 5 shows that the sense lead [134] (conductive strand 134 is the sense lead as the sense lead can be a part of wire 130) is separate from the wire bundle [136+138]), the wire bundle surrounding the sense lead (FIG. 5 illustrates a cross-sectional area an optimized litz (or bunched) wire 130 wire 130 may include a relatively large conductive strand 134 disposed in the center, and a plurality of strands 136 and 138 disposed around the larger strand 134. Each of the strands 134, 136, and 138 may include an inner conductor made from any suitable conductive material (e.g., copper, silver, or the like). Further, each individual strand may be insulated from each other by an outer insulating layer (e.g., the outer insulating layer 142); Paragraph [0029] Line 1-11; Figure 5 shows the wire bundle surrounding the sense lead). The purpose of doing so is to efficiently conduct current having multiple frequency components, to allow the interior of the litz wire to contribute to the cable's conductivity.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Knierim and Kinoshita in view of Silva, because Silva teaches to separate the sense lead from the wire bundle efficiently conducts current having multiple frequency components (Paragraph [0011]), allows the interior of the litz wire to contribute to the cable's conductivity (Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of fails to teach a test and measurement accessory, wherein the wire bundle comprises a litz wire.
Silva teaches a conductive cable that is operative conduct current having a plurality of frequency components is provided. The conductive cable includes a plurality of strands each including an inner conductor and an outer insulating layer, wherein at least one of the plurality of strands has a cross-sectional area that is different than a cross-sectional area of another of the plurality of strands (Paragraph [0010] Line 1-10),
wherein the wire bundle comprises a litz wire (A type of cable called bunched wire or litz wire (from the German litzendraht, braided wire) may be used to mitigate the skin effect for current with relatively high frequencies, such as a few kilohertz, a few megahertz, or more. A cross-sectional view of a litz wire 10 is shown in FIG. 1. The litz wire 10 includes a number of insulated wire strands 15 woven together in a pattern (e.g., twisted, braided, or the like), so that the overall magnetic field acts substantially equally on all the strands and causes the total current to be distributed equally among them; Paragraph [0006] Line 1-10; FIG. 5 illustrates a cross-sectional area an optimized litz (or bunched) wire 130 that may be used for a winding of a PFC inductor (such as the inductor L1) or any other application that may carry multiple harmonics; Paragraph [0029] Line 1-2). The purpose of doing so is to mitigate the skin effect for current with relatively high frequencies, such as a few kilohertz, a few megahertz, or more, to increase their efficiency by mitigating both skin effect and another phenomenon referred to as proximity effect, which is caused by an interaction of magnetic fields between multiple conductors, to allow the interior of the litz wire to contribute to the cable's conductivity.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wire bundle of Knierim and Kinoshita in view of Silva, because Silva teaches to have the wire bundle comprises a litz wire mitigates the skin effect for current with relatively high frequencies, such as a few kilohertz, a few megahertz, or more (Paragraph [0006]), increases their efficiency by mitigating both skin effect and another phenomenon referred to as proximity effect, which is caused by an interaction of magnetic fields between multiple conductors, allows the interior of the litz wire to contribute to the cable's conductivity (Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Knierim and Kinoshita teaches a test and measurement accessory, wherein the wire bundle and sense lead are encased in a conductive tube, and the wire bundle is connected to the conductive tube at the second end.
Silva teaches a conductive cable that is operative conduct current having a plurality of frequency components is provided. The conductive cable includes a plurality of strands each including an inner conductor and an outer insulating layer, wherein at least one of the plurality of strands has a cross-sectional area that is different than a cross-sectional area of another of the plurality of strands (Paragraph [0010] Line 1-10),
wherein the wire bundle [136+138] and sense lead are encased in a conductive tube [132] (FIG. 5 illustrates a cross-sectional area an optimized litz (or bunched) wire 130 may include a relatively large conductive strand 134 disposed in the center, and a plurality of strands 136 and 138 disposed around the larger strand 134. Each of the strands 134, 136, and 138 may include an inner conductor made from any suitable conductive material (e.g., copper, silver, or the like). Further, the entire wire 130 may include an outer insulation layer 132. It will be appreciated that since the various strands (e.g., strands 134, 136, and 136) have a circular cross-sectional area; Paragraph [0029] Line 1-7), and the wire bundle is connected to the conductive tube at the second end (FIG. 6 illustrates a cross-sectional view of a bobbin 150 that includes a spindle portion 152 and rim portions 154 and 156. The bobbin 150 may be used in conjunction with a core (e.g., an EE-core) to form a magnetic component, such as an inductor or a transformer. In this embodiment, three strands 158, 160, and 162 of wire having multiple cross-sectional areas (different gauges) are wound around the spindle of the bobbin 150. The ends of each strand 158, 160, and 162 are coupled together, such that the strands are connected to each other in parallel; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-10; Figure 6 shows the wire bundle is connected to the conductive tube at the second end). The purpose of doing so is to carry the higher frequency harmonics (e.g., the switching frequency current), to carry the middle and lower frequency harmonics (e.g., the AC source frequency harmonics), respectively, to provide further electrical isolation.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Knierim and Kinoshita in view of Silva, because Silva teaches to encase the wire bundle and sense lead in a conductive tube carries the higher frequency harmonics (e.g., the switching frequency current), carries the middle and lower frequency harmonics (e.g., the AC source frequency harmonics), respectively, provides further electrical isolation (Paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Knierim and Kinoshita teaches a test and measurement system, comprises sense lead and wire bond.
However, the combination of Knierim and Kinoshita fails to teach that wherein the sense lead is separate from the wire bundle, the wire bundle surrounding the sense lead.
Silva teaches a conductive cable that is operative conduct current having a plurality of frequency components is provided. The conductive cable includes a plurality of strands each including an inner conductor and an outer insulating layer, wherein at least one of the plurality of strands has a cross-sectional area that is different than a cross-sectional area of another of the plurality of strands (Paragraph [0010] Line 1-7),
wherein the sense lead [134] (conductive strand 134 is the sense lead as the sense lead can be a part of wire 130) is separate from the wire bundle [136+138] (plurality of strands 136 and 138 are the wire bundle) (FIG. 5 illustrates a cross-sectional area an optimized litz (or bunched) wire 130 that may be used for a winding of a PFC inductor (such as the inductor L1) or any other application that may carry multiple harmonics. The wire 130 may include a relatively large conductive strand 134 disposed in the center, and a plurality of strands 136 and 138 disposed around the larger strand 134; Paragraph [0029] Line 1-7; Figure 5 shows that the sense lead [134] (conductive strand 134 is the sense lead as the sense lead can be a part of wire 130) is separate from the wire bundle [136+138]), the wire bundle surrounding the sense lead (FIG. 5 illustrates a cross-sectional area an optimized litz (or bunched) wire 130 wire 130 may include a relatively large conductive strand 134 disposed in the center, and a plurality of strands 136 and 138 disposed around the larger strand 134. Each of the strands 134, 136, and 138 may include an inner conductor made from any suitable conductive material (e.g., copper, silver, or the like). Further, each individual strand may be insulated from each other by an outer insulating layer (e.g., the outer insulating layer 142); Paragraph [0029] Line 1-11; Figure 5 shows the wire bundle surrounding the sense lead). The purpose of doing so is to efficiently conduct current having multiple frequency components, to allow the interior of the litz wire to contribute to the cable's conductivity.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Knierim and Kinoshita in view of Silva, because Silva teaches to separate the sense lead from the wire bundle efficiently conducts current having multiple frequency components (Paragraph [0011]), allows the interior of the litz wire to contribute to the cable's conductivity (Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Knierim and Kinoshita teaches a test and measurement system, wherein the shunt further comprises a conductive tube encasing the wire bundle and the sense lead, the wire bundle connected to the conductive tube at the second end.
Silva teaches a conductive cable that is operative conduct current having a plurality of frequency components is provided. The conductive cable includes a plurality of strands each including an inner conductor and an outer insulating layer, wherein at least one of the plurality of strands has a cross-sectional area that is different than a cross-sectional area of another of the plurality of strands (Paragraph [0010] Line 1-10),
wherein the shunt further comprises a conductive tube [132] encasing the wire bundle [136+138] and the sense lead (FIG. 5 illustrates a cross-sectional area an optimized litz (or bunched) wire 130 may include a relatively large conductive strand 134 disposed in the center, and a plurality of strands 136 and 138 disposed around the larger strand 134. Each of the strands 134, 136, and 138 may include an inner conductor made from any suitable conductive material (e.g., copper, silver, or the like). Further, the entire wire 130 may include an outer insulation layer 132. It will be appreciated that since the various strands (e.g., strands 134, 136, and 136) have a circular cross-sectional area; Paragraph [0029] Line 1-7) the wire bundle is connected to the conductive tube at the second end (FIG. 6 illustrates a cross-sectional view of a bobbin 150 that includes a spindle portion 152 and rim portions 154 and 156. The bobbin 150 may be used in conjunction with a core (e.g., an EE-core) to form a magnetic component, such as an inductor or a transformer. In this embodiment, three strands 158, 160, and 162 of wire having multiple cross-sectional areas (different gauges) are wound around the spindle of the bobbin 150. The ends of each strand 158, 160, and 162 are coupled together, such that the strands are connected to each other in parallel; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-10; Figure 6 shows the wire bundle is connected to the conductive tube at the second end). The purpose of doing so is to carry the higher frequency harmonics (e.g., the switching frequency current), to carry the middle and lower frequency harmonics (e.g., the AC source frequency harmonics), respectively, to provide further electrical isolation.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Knierim and Kinoshita in view of Silva, because Silva teaches to encase the wire bundle and sense lead in a conductive tube carries the higher frequency harmonics (e.g., the switching frequency current), carries the middle and lower frequency harmonics (e.g., the AC source frequency harmonics), respectively, provides further electrical isolation (Paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 19, Knierim teaches a method of measuring a current,
wherein electrically connecting the test accessory comprises providing a co-axial return path (In some examples, a coaxial shunt can replace a wire or surface mount current shunt on a DUT 106. The coaxial shunt can place a return measurement lead through a center of a cylindrical resistive surface which forms the current shunt; Paragraph [0032] Line 1-1-5).
The combination of Knierim and Kinoshita teaches a test and measurement accessory, wherein a conductive tube to encase the wire bundle and the sense lead.
Silva teaches a conductive cable that is operative conduct current having a plurality of frequency components is provided. The conductive cable includes a plurality of strands each including an inner conductor and an outer insulating layer, wherein at least one of the plurality of strands has a cross-sectional area that is different than a cross-sectional area of another of the plurality of strands (Paragraph [0010] Line 1-10),
wherein a conductive tube to encase the wire bundle and the sense lead (FIG. 5 illustrates a cross-sectional area an optimized litz (or bunched) wire 130 may include a relatively large conductive strand 134 disposed in the center, and a plurality of strands 136 and 138 disposed around the larger strand 134. Each of the strands 134, 136, and 138 may include an inner conductor made from any suitable conductive material (e.g., copper, silver, or the like). Further, the entire wire 130 may include an outer insulation layer 132. It will be appreciated that since the various strands (e.g., strands 134, 136, and 136) have a circular cross-sectional area; Paragraph [0029] Line 1-7; Figure 5 shows a conductive tube as the insulation wire 132 to encase the wire bundle 136, 138 and the sense lead 134). The purpose of doing so is to carry the higher frequency harmonics (e.g., the switching frequency current), to carry the middle and lower frequency harmonics (e.g., the AC source frequency harmonics), respectively, to provide further electrical isolation.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Knierim and Kinoshita in view of Silva, because Silva teaches to provide a co-axial return path carries the higher frequency harmonics (e.g., the switching frequency current), carries the middle and lower frequency harmonics (e.g., the AC source frequency harmonics), respectively, to provide further electrical isolation (Paragraph [0033]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rubio (US 20100019733 A1) discloses, “BATTERY MONITORING SYSTEM- 0003] The present invention relates to battery monitoring systems of the type that can be connected to a battery post to measure battery operating conditions. [0016] FIGS. 1-3 illustrate a battery monitoring system (BMS) 10 in accordance with one non-limiting aspect of the present invention. The BMS 10 may be connected to a battery post 14 of a battery 16, such as but not limited to a lead-acid or other energy storage/output device (capacitor, fuel cell, etc.) commonly employed within vehicles. The BMS 10 may be securely connected to the battery post 14 with compressive tightening of a terminal 20 or other suitable connection. The BMS 10 may be configured or otherwise programmed to support any number of operations, such as but not limited to measuring/sensing current, voltage, and temperatures associated with the battery 16. [0018] An arm 38 extends opposite to the side of the screwing system 28 to facilitate electrical connection to a shunt 40 (see FIGS. 7-9). [0020] FIGS. 7-9 illustrate attachment of the shunt 40 to the terminal 20 in accordance with one non-limiting aspect of the present invention. The shunt 40 may comprise any material have properties sufficient to facilitate electrical connectivity between the terminal 20 and the wire 46. The shunt 40 is shown as a bi-metallic object having copper alloy portions 54, 56 and a resistive copper alloy portion 58, such as but not limited to manganin. The copper portions 54, 56 correspond with the ends of the shunt 40 and the resistive copper alloy portion 58 may be arranged therebetween such that current must flow in either direction from through one copper portion, through the resistive copper alloy portion, and finally through the other copper, depending on whether the battery 16 is charging or discharging. [0021] The resistive copper alloy portion 58 may be used as a measuring element suitable for conducting high currents. The other copper allow portions 54, 56 may be positioned on opposite sides of the measurement portion 58. The shunt 40 may first side 40' and a second side 40''. The first side 40' may be facing the second side 38'' of the arm 38. A cross-section of the shunt 40 corresponding with the measurement portion 58 may be less that the non-measurement portions 54, 56 in order to form a slight recess on the first side 40' relative to a plane (not shown) corresponding with the corresponding first side 40' of the non-measurement portions 54, 56-However Rubio does not disclose the shunt having a first end and a second end, the shunt forming at least a portion of the current path between the first end and the second end, the shunt comprising a wire bundle of individually insulated wires as a resistive portion and a sense lead, the wire bundle and the sense lead electrically connected at [[a]] the first end, wherein the sense lead forms no portion of the current path.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858