Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. All of these claims recite the term “approximately” when describing the upper and lower limits of the range. The usage of “approximately” renders the subject matter indefinite because the exact endpoints of the range are not distinctly claimed. Furthermore, the specification as filed does not define the term “approximately”. For the sake of this Office Action, the term “approximately” will not be considered with respect to patentability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2014/0308565 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 10, 16, and 17, Lee teaches a separator comprising a porous base material and a coating layer comprising a binder composition (abstract) wherein said binder composition may comprise magnesium fluoride, MgF2 [0035]. MgF2’s physical presence in the coating layer necessarily affects the surface energy of the porous separator (as required by claims 1, 10, and 16). Similarly, MgF2’s presence affects the porosity of the separator because it takes up space in the coating layer (as required by claims 1, 8, and 17). Lee, however, explicitly teaches that the inorganic particles’ capacity to prevent shrinkage improves the porosity of the separator [0123].
Regarding claims 2, 12, and 18, Lee teaches that another layer may be layered atop the previously disclosed coating layer [0139] and other layer may contain inorganic particles [0148] that may include other inorganic particles [0149], including alumina [0035].
Regarding claims 3, 13, and 19, Lee teaches that the coating layer may contain multiple kinds of inorganic particles, including both MgF2 and MgO [0035].
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Lee discloses that the porous carrier may comprise an organic polymer such polyethylene and/or polypropylene [0131].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yushin (US 2012/0202112 A1). Lee fails to explicitly teach the presence of a magnesium oxyfluoride in the coating layer, but they teach that any inorganic particles commonly used in the art may also be used [0035]. Yushin is analogous art to Lee because both discuss batteries (Yushin, title; Lee, title). Yushin teaches that ceramic/inorganic particles, such as magnesium oxyfluoride and magnesium oxide, can be used in a coating layer in batteries for the purpose of mechanical stability/support ([0061],[0065]). This suggests that magnesium oxyfluoride, an inorganic particle, is well-known and commonly used in the art in coating layers for batteries. Therefore, magnesium oxyfluoride is suitable for intended use as an inorganic particle in Lee’s coating layer. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use magnesium oxyfluoride in Lee’s coating layer in order to increase the mechanical strength of the layer.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kamon (WO 2022/239548 A1). Lee fails to teach the claimed range of surface energy of the separator. Kamon is analogous art to Lee because both discuss batteries (Kamon, title; Lee, title). Kamon teaches a porous film containing inorganic and organic resin particles formed on a surface of a porous substrate [0025], similar to Lee’s disclosure. Kamon teaches that the surface free energy of the porous layer is preferably between 10 mN/m – 80 mN/m [0027]. When the surface free energy is in this range, the coating stability is improved [0027]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to configure the surface energy of Lee’s separator such that it is within the range taught by Kamon in order to improve the coating layer’s stability. This range overlaps with the claimed range of 35 mN/m – 1000 mN/m. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee. Lee fails to specifically teach the claimed range but teaches a broader range of the porosity of the separator. Lee teaches that the porosity of the of the separator may be between 0.01 µm – 20 µm [0135], which overlaps with the claimed range of 2 nm – 1000 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kamon. Lee fails to teach the claimed range of surface energy of the separator. Kamon teaches a porous film containing inorganic and organic resin particles formed on a surface of a porous substrate [0025], similar to Lee’s disclosure. Kamon teaches that the surface free energy of the porous layer is preferably between 10 mN/m – 80 mN/m [0027]. When the surface free energy is in this range, the coating stability is improved [0027]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to configure the surface energy of Lee’s separator such that it is within the range taught by Kamon in order to improve the coating layer’s stability. This range overlaps with the claimed range of 35 mN/m – 1000 mN/m. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kamon (WO 2022/239548 A1). Lee fails to teach the claimed range of surface energy of the separator. Kamon teaches a porous film containing inorganic and organic resin particles formed on a surface of a porous substrate [0025], similar to Lee’s disclosure. Kamon teaches that the surface free energy of the porous layer is preferably between 10 mN/m – 80 mN/m [0027]. When the surface free energy is in this range, the coating stability is improved [0027]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to configure the surface energy of Lee’s separator such that it is within the range taught by Kamon in order to improve the coating layer’s stability. This range overlaps with the claimed range of 35 mN/m – 1000 mN/m. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yushin. Lee fails to explicitly teach the presence of a magnesium oxyfluoride in the coating layer, but they teach that any inorganic particles commonly used in the art may also be used [0035]. Yushin teaches that ceramic/inorganic particles, such as magnesium oxyfluoride and magnesium oxide, can be used in a coating layer in batteries for the purpose of mechanical stability/support ([0061],[0065]). This suggests that magnesium oxyfluoride, an inorganic particle, is well-known and commonly used in the art in coating layers for batteries. Therefore, magnesium oxyfluoride is suitable for intended use as an inorganic particle in Lee’s coating layer. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use magnesium oxyfluoride in Lee’s coating layer in order to increase the mechanical strength of the layer.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Yushin. Lee fails to explicitly teach the presence of a magnesium oxyfluoride in the coating layer, but they teach that any inorganic particles commonly used in the art may also be used [0035]. Yushin teaches that ceramic/inorganic particles, such as magnesium oxyfluoride and magnesium oxide, can be used in a coating layer in batteries for the purpose of mechanical stability/support ([0061],[0065]). This suggests that magnesium oxyfluoride, an inorganic particle, is well-known and commonly used in the art in coating layers for batteries. Therefore, magnesium oxyfluoride is suitable for intended use as an inorganic particle in Lee’s coating layer. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use magnesium oxyfluoride in Lee’s coating layer in order to increase the mechanical strength of the layer.
Conclusion
/R.B.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722