DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KITO (US 2022/0236631 A1) in view of ITO et al. (US 2020/0392401 A1; ITO) and further in view of MATSUKURA et al. (US 2022/0384681 A1; MATSUKURA) and further in view of MURAI et al. (US 2020/0386386 A1; MURAI).
As of claim 1, KITO teaches a phosphor 20 [fig 3] comprising: a phosphor phase 25 [fig 3] [0047] made of A3B5O12: Ce having a garnet structure (yttrium aluminum garnet ((YAG (Y.sub.3Al.sub.5O.sub.12): Ce)) [0047]; and a matrix phase 26 [fig 3] [0047] and the phosphor phase, A is at least one selected from the group consisting of Lu, Gd, Tb, Ga, and Y, and B is Al.
KITO does not teach a content of the phosphor phase is 56 vol% or more and 70 vol% or less in terms of a volume ratio with respect to a total including the matrix phase.
ITO teaches a light-emitting device 21 [fig 3] having a content of the phosphor phase is 56 vol% or more and 70 vol% or less in terms of a volume ratio with respect to a total including the matrix phase ((the amount of YAG (Y.sub.3Al.sub.5O.sub.12) was 1 to 60 vol. % in a ceramic sintered body)) [0112].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a content of the phosphor phase is 56 vol% or more and 70 vol% or less in terms of a volume ratio with respect to a total including the matrix phase as taught by ITO to the phosphor as disclosed by KITO to produce a wavelength conversion layer of a fluorescent body for increasing the efficiency of light extraction from the wavelength conversion layer (ITO; [0007]).
KITO in view of ITO teaches the invention except for matrix phase having a refractive index higher than a refractive index of the phosphor phase.
MURAI teaches a wavelength converter 14 [fig 3(a)] having a refractive index of the phosphor phase (yttrium aluminum garnet (YAG: Ce) phosphor) is 1.82. MURAI does not specifically teach a refractive index higher than a refractive index of the phosphor phase. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the matrix phase having a refractive index higher than a refractive index of the phosphor phase in order to have the matrix phase having a refractive index (refractive index of AlN is over 2.0) higher than a refractive index of the phosphor phase (1.82) as a routine optimization (MPEP 2144.05 (II)) to facilitate cooling of the luminescent concentrator.
As of claim 2, KITO teaches A is Y ((YAG (Y.sub.3Al.sub.5O.sub.12): Ce)) [0047].
As of claim 3, KITO teaches the matrix phase is AlN [0058].
As of claim 5, KITO teaches wavelength conversion device 20 [fig 3] comprising: a substrate 21 [fig 3] [0045]; the phosphor 22 [fig 3] provided on the substrate 21 [fig 3] and configured to convert an incident excitation light E [fig 3] [0031] into fluorescence 22 [fig 3]; and a reflective layer (phosphor 22 and serves as a reflective layer that reflects light having a specific wavelength) [0056] provided at an opposite side of a light incident side (of excitation light E) [fig 3] of the phosphor 22 [fig 3].
As of claim 6, KITO teaches wavelength conversion device 20 [fig 3] comprising: a substrate 21 [fig 3] [0045]; the phosphor 22 [fig 3] provided on the substrate 21 [fig 3] and configured to convert an incident excitation light E [fig 3] [0031] into fluorescence 22 [fig 3]; and an optical layer 23 ((dichroic layer (optical layer)) [fig 3] [0044] provided on a light incident side of the phosphor 22 [fig 3] and configured to transmit the excitation light E [fig 3] and reflect the fluorescence (phosphor 22 and serves as a reflective layer that reflects light having a specific wavelength) [0056].
As of claim 7, KITO teaches an illumination device 2 [fig 2] comprising: a light source 10 [fig 2] configured to emit the excitation light [0031]; and the wavelength conversion device 20 [fig 2] on which the excitation light is incident (from the excitation light source 10 is incident) [fig 2].
As of claim 8, KITO teaches an illumination device 2 [fig 2] comprising: a light source 10 [fig 2] configured to emit the excitation light [0031]; and the wavelength conversion device 20 [fig 2] on which the excitation light is incident (from the excitation light source 10 is incident) [fig 2].
As of claim 9, KITO teaches a projector 1 [fig 1] comprising: the illumination device 2 [fig 2]; a light modulation device 4 R, G, B [fig 1] configured to modulate a light emitted from the illumination device [0024]; and a projection optical device 6 [fig 1] configured to project the light modulated by the light modulation device 4 R, G, B [fig 1].
As of claim 10, KITO teaches a projector 1 [fig 1] comprising: the illumination device 2 [fig 2]; a light modulation device 4 R, G, B [fig 1] configured to modulate a light emitted from the illumination device [0024]; and a projection optical device 6 [fig 1] configured to project the light modulated by the light modulation device 4 R, G, B [fig 1].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KITO (US 2022/0236631 A1) in view of ITO et al. (US 2020/0392401 A1; ITO) and further in view of MATSUKURA et al. (US 2022/0384681 A1; MATSUKURA) and MURAI et al. (US 2020/0386386 A1; MURAI) and further in view of Irie et al. (US 2012/0045634 A1; Irie).
KITO in view of ITO and MATSUKURA and MURAI teaches the invention as cited above except for an average particle diameter of the phosphor phase is 3 μm or more.
Irie teaches a phosphor phase 5 [fig 2] having an average particle diameter of the phosphor phase is 3 μm or more (the particle size of YAG particles containing Ce constituting the phosphor phase is 0.5 μm to 10.0 μm) [0041].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an average particle diameter of the phosphor phase is 3 μm or more as taught by Irie to the phosphor as disclosed by KITO in view of ITO and MATSUKURA and MURAI to improve the emission intensity and heat conductivity as a ceramics composite (Irie; [0011]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art YASUMATSU et al. (US 20210286245 A1) teaches a wavelength conversion layer; a first substrate; a second substrate; a first intermediate layer; and a second intermediate layer. A linear expansion coefficient of the first substrate is smaller than a linear expansion coefficient of the wavelength conversion layer. The linear expansion coefficient of the wavelength conversion layer is smaller than a linear expansion coefficient of the second substrate. The linear expansion coefficient of the first substrate is smaller than the linear expansion coefficient of the second substrate. A thermal conductivity of the first substrate is larger than a thermal conductivity of the wavelength conversion layer. A thermal conductivity of the second substrate is larger than the thermal conductivity of the wavelength conversion layer;
- Prior Art HASHIZUME (US 20190075276 A1) teaches a wavelength conversion element includes a wavelength conversion layer having a first surface on which excitation light is incident, a second surface located on the side opposite the first surface, a plurality of phosphor particles that convert the excitation light in terms of wavelength to produce fluorescence, and a binder that holds the plurality of phosphor particles. The plurality of phosphor particles has a particle diameter distribution, and the minimum particle diameter in the particle diameter distribution of a plurality of the phosphor particles contained in a first region located on the side facing the first surface is greater than the minimum particle diameter in the particle diameter distribution of a plurality of the phosphor particles contained in a second region located on the side facing the second surface.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882